Teamwork Projects Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
123 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Brian Chung | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Not that great

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hello! Teamwork is used for project management for our company. We manufacture art books that have a very complicated process -- teamwork is able to help with that. It's right now used for our product development team, and gives us a roadmap of the steps needed to complete each process of making a book.
  • It's allowed us to see each project zoomed out as well as zoomed in.
  • We've been able to see the different layers that go into each project.
  • I wish I could upload and connect other documents that are part of the project on this platform.
  • The Gantt chart is the most helpful tool for us, not the rest.
For someone who is looking for a beautiful platform for project management where you rely on deadlines and timelines, this is great! However, it's still very limited, and we need to use other tools to make the most out of this. I wish there were more features in Teamwork. The best tool that we use is the Gantt chart, but nothing else.
Customer support was okay. I didn't have much interaction with customer support. There's a learning curve for teamwork, and I wish they were more proactive with my onboarding or at least sent more frequent emails to help with the onboarding process. Other than that, things were pretty standard with their customer support.
Read Brian Chung's full review
Matthew Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Slow but steady wins the race

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork is used by our customer success team to track the progress through our launch workflow with our customers. It was implemented to try to standardize our onboarding process as well as to make tracking the progress of our partners through that process more automated. As a manager, I need to be able to create dashboards where I can check on customer health and the idea with Teamwork is that we can pull that data from there. As well, long-term we wish to move from Trello to Teamwork for shared customer projects.
  • Capturing details.
  • Ensuring process is followed.
  • Time consuming to set-up.
  • Confusing interface.
Teamwork is in the right place as a concept but the execution in my mind is flawed. I would categorize it as more confusing to set up than HubSpot or Salesforce, and those are full CRM tools. As well, it's not straightforward on all of the features, etc. Walkthroughs were lacking. Without someone of experience to help set it up, it would have been a non-starter.
I haven't had to contact support.
Read Matthew Gardner's full review
Nick Marsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Teamwork Makes The Dream Work

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization was introduced to Teamwork as a potential replacement for Microsoft Project about 6 months ago. Right away, the team was very interested in using the platform because it appeared to be much easier to use and more insightful. We immediately began testing it, and after only a few weeks we were able to roll the platform out to the whole company. Teamwork helps us keep track of project tasks big and small and drives continuous improvement initiatives.
  • Easy to use.
  • Inexpensive.
  • Reporting.
  • Interface design.
We are a small organization and Teamwork is perfectly situated to serve a company our size. I can see where it might not be quite ready for a large enterprise - but for us, Teamwork lowers the bar to entry in the project management platform space because it is heaps easier to use than Microsoft Project, it doesn't require SharePoint, and it just works.
Teamwork has world-class support. We discovered an issue with Teamwork's OneDrive integration, so we contacted support and they immediately took ownership of the problem and worked quickly to resolve it. It's night and day from other companies that outsource support or make you jump through many hoops to get to the people who are empowered to solve the problem. We sent one email, and the issue was immediately escalated to Teamwork's development team -- who reached out to let us know the fix would take a few days, but they were on it. Amazing.
Read Nick Marsh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

A Powerful Project Management Tool That is One-Size Fits All (or Most)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork was used by our digital team primarily on web development projects. The team includes the digital director, project managers, designers, developers/programmers, and content specialists. We also provided credentials for clients to use the platform throughout the duration of the project. We were looking for a web-based project management/collaboration tool that allowed us to collect feedback from clients and create/assign tasks to our internal team and do so in an organized manner. We wanted to avoid email as the primary means of collecting/assigning items as a way of avoiding client requests falling through the cracks. Teamwork definitely allowed our team to be much more organized and task-focused while providing a forum to post comments/requests and give clients and the project managers status updates.
  • Create team members and assign tasks
  • Track comments and feedback from clients and create tasks with deadlines
  • Organize project management workflows and keep projects on track
  • Communicate project/task status with clients and internal team members
  • Collaborate with clients and internal teams to ensure project success
  • The UI/UX is less than stellar. It has most of the basic functionality you need, but it is not as slick as it could be.
  • Reporting feature could use more ability to really customize the reports
  • It is a great project collaboration tool, but it isn't specialized to any particular type of project. While its one size fits all approach makes it flexible, it also lacks some specific web development functionality we ultimately needed
If you are looking for something more than Trello, and want to avoid MS Projects or Basecamp, Teamwork would be a great fit. Also, if you don't need project/industry-specific capabilities (e.g. web development, programming, etc.) teamwork is a solid performer. I would guess it is ideally suited for smaller teams and SMBs, but maybe not enough of a platform for large enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Teamwork makes the dream work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses TeamWork, and I highly rely on it every single day. We use it to organize clients as well as projects within each client. It helps us track the progress, know what the next steps are, keep communication organized, and track time for billing purposes. There is a bit of a learning curve at first, but once it is implemented it helps things run so much smoother (especially compared to Zoho, Asana, Basecamp, etc.)!
  • Teamwork allows you to split up a project by task lists. This helps you see the nitty-gritty of what needs to be done.
  • Teamwork has a "milestone" feature so that you can see the larger picture and the core steps to take to complete the project.
  • Teamwork allows you to track time on a task-by-task basis so that you can show clients more detailed reports.
  • Although the time tracking feature is great, it doesn't sync with QuickBooks, which complicates things a bit.
  • Unless you have the setting JUST right, you will get an email about EVERYTHING.
  • Moving milestones is easy once you learn it, but until then it can be very messy and complicated.
If you have a one-off project that only has two or three main tasks, then TeamWork may be a bit too advanced for your needs. If you are working on a medium to large project where there will be several people working on it at different times with 20+ tasks in different categories, then TeamWork is perfect for you! It organizes larger projects so well.
TeamWork support is good, but not great. They meet quarterly to discuss new features they should add, so you don't see things right away. Also, as soon as you are an admin, expect to get annoying emails about upgrading. We have a paid account and it is perfect for us. I just don't like getting more emails than needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Project and Task Automation, just a click away

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a services company, which work via projects and professional support services. For us, Teamwork has been essential to keep track of our numerous project initiatives, always promptly notifying us of approaching milestones and deadlines, slow tasks, worked consultant hours and billing to postpaid contracted clients. We also share Teamwork access with VIP customers, allowing them to engage more directly with their ongoing projects with our team in an Agile fashion.
  • Entirely cloud-based, always available on any browser-equipped device
  • Time tracking per project and task
  • Multiple views for project tasks, including list, Gantt Chart and Kanban Board.
  • A more robust integration platform with third-party products
  • A more robust mobile native application
  • Better guides and how-tos, even full-fledged courses.
Teamwork is very flexible and handy for basic and medium project management tasks and administration, even covering basic invoicing for postpaid projects or outsourcing engagements. There's a trial for it too, so go for it, test it with your day-to-day tasks, and have your conclusions. If you're manually carrying your PM duties today, you will definitely like Teamwork Projects.
We rarely have used any support from Teamworks, being that the system is quite reliable and robust as it is. We haven't experienced any sugnificant service outage (i.e. any outage of more than 20 - 30 minutes that impair us of performing our tasks with it) with TW Projects for at least the last 4 years. However, in the rare occasions on which we have used support - mostly for clarification of functions - they have been quite receptive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Become more efficient with Teamwork Projects

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses Teamwork Projects to manage tasks and track time related to client projects. It's easy to use and works well for our staff and client collaborators.
  • Easy to use - clean interface, intuitive.
  • Great features - notifications, task assignments.
  • Reporting
Teamwork is great for small to medium businesses but may become unwieldy for larger organizations. We've had a lot of success using it with clients as collaborators but, of course, that requires some additional management.
We've received prompt and courteous support when needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Great Tool For Project Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork Projects is being used by everyone in our company. It's our main project management tool and we're using it to manage client projects as well as internal projects. It's a great way to centralize all your efforts in one place so you can analyze capacity, stay on top of the projects and ensure everything gets done on time.
  • It's easy to use and pretty straightforward. It's hierarchy allows for simple yet effective project organization.
  • It has integrated time tracking, helping you manage your team and utilization.
  • You can share/upload files straight in TeamWork to streamline the project.
  • You can easily customize it with different tags, boards, and milestones that you create for yourself and your team.
  • Time tracking can glitch sometimes, causing issues with reporting.
  • There's no way to see your team's capacity when you add a project and the time required to complete it. That'd be an amazing feature.
It's a great tool for project management. You'll be able to learn how to use it pretty quickly, the dashboards are very intuitive and the user's experience is overall very good. It's a great tool for marketing agencies or anyone wanting to organize their projects. I'd say it's a mid-level tool -it's not as robust as Jira, for example, but also much more comprehensive than Basecamp or similar tools.
There's a lot of how-to materials available and those were enough for our team to get a deep understanding of the tool. When they're experiencing technical difficulties, they usually announce that right away, and keep everyone regularly updated.
Read this authenticated review
Amber Callan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Great Project Management Tool with Customizability You'll Love

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, we use Teamwork Projects to manage all of the tasks for our client accounts, personal tasks and internal tasks. It's being used across our whole organization and helps us keep our projects on-time with project templates, task logic and other project management features.

It serves as a hub for our client accounts as well, where we input client contact information, monthly reports, call notes, attachments sent over from the client. If you look in any of our Teamwork Projects for a client, you're able to see a full timeline of history and hard work which comes in handy if you need to go back to an older client account or need to justify anything with proof!
  • Project Features - Milestones, messages, time tracking, billing options, user options, notebooks, useful links, task lists, etc. - Teamwork has many features you can turn on or off for a project to customize it for easy use
  • Task Editing - Change the dates, recurring times, adding in dependents, etc. is all very easy when using Teamwork Projects
  • Customizability - From changing the colors to changing what's available on each project, Teamwork gives you the options to make projects very minimal or very complex.
  • Customizability can be overwhelming at first - If you're a new Teamwork Projects user, there is a bit of a learning curve to discover where everything is and how to customize your projects for best usage.
If you're looking for a robust project management software for your growing small business, my vote is for Teamwork Projects. It helps us manage our small business and our teams internally.

If you need advanced features, like KANBAN boards, GANTT charts, time tracking, billing, etc. in your project management tool, Teamwork is a great option.

I'm personally not sure how it would scale to larger companies where you would need to manage many schedules, just because I haven't experienced using Teamwork at such a scale.
I personally have not needed to use the support team for Teamwork Projects so I don't really have a rating for this section.
Teamwork Projects does have some good help articles online for set-up and best practices, but after that I haven't found I had any questions to ask a support team. Unfortunately I couldn't leave this section as N/A, so I've judged the support articles I needed during set-up as a 10/10.
Read Amber Callan's full review
Miles Baltrusaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Don't sleep on Teamwork

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Teamwork.com for our marketing department. There are many marketing divisions using the tool in different ways to meet their needs. Our organizational use of the platform grew organically from one team in corporate to a handful and eventually all marketing functions. It serves as the system of record for project-related work. We also manage maintenance or "run" tasks for things like our website, social media teams, creative services and more.
  • governance and user access control for partners like vendors and contractors
  • flexible views using task lists, gant charts and kanban boards
  • integration with file management systems of record (Box, Drive, Sharepoint, OneDrive)
  • project portfolios for roll-ups of multiple projects
  • real-time synchronization between devices (phone to desktop to laptop)
  • integrations via Zapier
  • integration with Microsoft Teams
  • Gantt chart view is a little tricky to work with
  • customer success managers could be a bit more proactive
Teamwork Projects has been great for social media management and creating templated task lists of repeatable tasks. The threaded conversations on any task, file or message are a convenient way to communicate with context and reduce our reliance on email. We use the Everything board with custom filters for our daily standup and it provides all the information for us to establish expectations and to hold our teams accountable.
We've been able to meet with the customer success team on multiple occasions to discuss the roadmap and learn about the company culture. Being based in Ireland, we occasionally have to wait until they wake up to get support requests handled in the states and larger conversations about big enhancement requests were politely collected but not followed up on.
Read Miles Baltrusaitis's full review
Luciano Gardesani Marques | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

My experience with Teamwork Projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Teamwork Projects to manage all the projects of our company (internal and for customers). It is used to manage and schedule activities, deadlines, responsible users, hours and costs. It is really helpful to quickly set and adjust timelines and to create an automated flow of notifications that is saving a lot of time and making the process much more consistent. Teamwork improved entirely our vision about the projects and the capacity to manage daily the workload of our team.
  • Timelines: are generated automatically since you have created the project, its activities, deadlines, etc. Is really helpful and easy to adjust.
  • Notifications system: very flexible and complete. It is possible to set key activities and follow them to receive automated notifications about their changes. It is also very flexible to set permissions per project.
  • Easy-to-use: it simply fits perfectly for us. Very easy-to-use and flexible. It can be used by small or big companies. It is intuitive and complete at the same time.
  • We miss the feature to set a calendar of business days and holidays to make it easier the definition of timelines.
  • The feature to define dates/deadlines per activity is a bit confusing. We believe it could be improved altough it has a low impact in terms of productivity.
  • We believe the solution could improve in the future the functionality to manage the workload of each human resource (for planning). It is actually a bit superficial and we understand there is space for improvement in this area.
I believe Teamwork Projects is very well suited for any size or kind of project. Even if a company has hundreds of active projects at the same time (as we do) it is really easy to manage since it is possible to organize them by account, department, team, etc. So, I really do not see any limitating scenario to use the platform.
We rarely ask them for help/support because we did not have to, but at the few times we did, technical support was quick and efficient. So we do not have a great experience in terms of technical support to make an accurate evaluation at this time. We use a lot their digital documentation that is great for educating ourselves about the product.
Read Luciano Gardesani Marques's full review
Aquinov Mathappan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Teamwork makes your Team Work!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Teamwork Projects to manage several small and large products in our organization. It's a very robust, userfriendly and intuitive applications. The learning curve is zero to none, anyone with basic Microsoft application skills can easily start using Teamwork as member of a team or as manager. Single sign-on makes it easier to manage users and the archiving facility is also great to limit user licenses.
  • Easy to use.
  • Cost-effective.
  • Highly scalable.
  • Powerfull.
  • Intuitive.
  • Good reporting.
  • Customization/branding.
  • Filter notification.
  • User tutorials.
It's a great product to manage projects from small to a considerably large size project. Would be great if there was customization for the type of the projects (pre-set templates), average project time from similar projects at other institutions. Also, be nice to have customization/branding features. Additionally, notifications filters would be great as well.
There is still plenty of room for improvement.
Read Aquinov Mathappan's full review
Matt Graf | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2019

Teamwork Projects is a robust and great project management solution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork Projects is a very well designed project management solution. It is very clearly one of those options that people have that is among the creme of the crop among project management solutions. It enables us to have our whole team on the same page and working smoothly together. It makes communication and efficiency easy.
  • Very good design.
  • Makes project management more smooth.
  • Keeping people on the same page.
  • I think price-wise it is toward the upper level of project management.
  • Nothing else comes to mind. It is a great solution.
Teamwork Projects is great for any team that needs to be more organized and communicate better in general. It will help your team know where you are on your progress on every project at all times. It makes project management smooth, simple, and even enjoyable. I would highly recommend it for any business.
I haven't had to contact them, but I've been able to find everything I need by searching online. I can either look on the teamwork projects website, or just by googling my question, and I can generally find the answer I am looking for. It is very easy to figure things out.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Kyle Moloo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Best project management software that I've used in 5 years

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Teamwork Projects internally and to collaborate with contractors for writing, design, development, etc. We have projects set up for each of our clients and are able to build out project templates for each type of service we offer. We really lean on it for time tracking and reporting that time back to our clients--as we typically work on an hourly basis (retainer). It solves lots of potential issues for us, some examples are making sure that everyone can know exactly what they should be working on each day when they get in, knowing when things are in the range of becoming overdue, and being aware of the times when we are spending too few or too many hours on a specific client in a given month.
  • Time tracking is exceptional, especially the reporting functionality of it. Being able to mark time as billable vs. non-billable is a huge plus for ad-hoc work.
  • Assigning tasks to multiple users and attaching followers to specific tasks keeps everyone informed who needs to be. It's nice to have a choice between email and mobile notifications.
  • The commenting feature is one we use a lot, and it's great that you can attach files and @ mention specific users inside of comments on tasks and subtasks.
  • We don't really use the dashboards, so maybe if they were pushed harder by the platform and we saw value in them, we would.
  • It would be nice to have the ability to do more formatting of text in tasks and subtasks without having the lookup markdown language.
  • We don't use milestones and are unsure of how that feature could really help.
I think it's suited in organizations of all sizes as we haven't seen any real limitations of it in our small business or in some of the larger businesses we've helped implement it in. If a company has a team where some members are full-time, some are part-time, some are in the office, some are out and there are contractors who you never see, this tool is a must. From a stakeholder's standpoint, without it, it would be hard to know exactly what was going on in terms of employee productivity from day to day.
It's probably great, but it probably says even more about the platform that I've never had to contact support in my 2 years of using it. I didn't need support for implementation for clients either because it really doesn't require that much to set up. Anything you can't figure out quickly usually has a knowledge base article for, so it's just a google search away.
Read Kyle Moloo's full review
Ryan Beckstead | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Teamwork is a fantastic business solution for project and task management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Teamwork Projects to manage our workflow of media creation. We support over 450 online courses and over 150 conference and workshops with their media and marketing materials. Teamwork allows us to keep up with the demand and is an efficient way to document progress and completion.
  • Teamwork templates are a wonderful feature to allow you to set up a process and then repeat as often as needed in future projects.
  • The ability to be flexible using standard tasks lists of board views (like Kanban boards) is extremely helpful for my team.
  • Using the option to estimate time to completion is also helpful to manage costs.
  • While there is some reporting available, they are working on improving in this area.
  • Capacity management tools are also something that needs some work and they are actively developing in this area as well.
If people have a process that they often follow, setting up these workflows in Teamwork Projects is easy and repeatable. The ability to set up dependencies and to be notified via email when you are able to work on a dependent task is extremely helpful.
They are very responsive, even though they are several time zones away. They answer questions very quickly and efficiently. They also are heavily invested in improving the products and have a robust roadmap for improvements.
Read Ryan Beckstead's full review
Daniel Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

My Favorite Project Management Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Teamwork Projects as our project management and time tracking tool for our marketing agency. It wasn't the tool we used when I first started at the company, but I recommended it after we were looking for ways to improve our efficiency. I had a great experience with Teamwork Projects in the past, so I recommended it.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Easy to pass tasks on to the next person.
  • Integrates easily with other software.
  • Time tracking is convenient.
  • The overall look could be improved.
  • More features could be added.
  • The card-based board could be improved.
Teamwork Projects is great for marketing agencies or any company that deals with multiple clients and has a steady stream of products coming down the pipeline. It might be less appropriate for companies who deal only with fewer large products, or teams of only one or two people. It's more ideal for mid-size companies.
For starters, onboarding and implementation are very thorough, and they've done a great job with instructional videos. Then, whenever you have a problem or issue you're trying to figure out, the team is quick to respond and will give you individual attention and feedback to solve your problem quickly and efficiently.
Read Daniel Berry's full review
Sarah Prom | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Teamwork is a useful project mgmt tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our unit used Teamwork Projects to organize and keep track of our high volume of projects as well as create and track milestones. It helped keep accountability among team members, which created more transparency and overall effective workflow.
  • Customization.
  • Intuitive functionality.
  • Cleaner user interface.
  • Search options could be better.
Suitable for projects between multiple units/team members.
Did not contact customer support.
Read Sarah Prom's full review
Jason Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

Working without Teamwork is like rowing without oars.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage all our tasks across a board range of clients and to manage workloads for our staff. Once we have created the broad strategy then Teamwork Projects ensures we deliver all our tactical executions that fall out from the strategy. From a client perspective, they see stuff being done and can review all work via the WIP reporting.
  • Assigning tasks and sub tasts
  • Task templates
  • Time estimates for tasks
  • Full integrations with a broader range of other apps
  • Reporting needs improvement
Great for client on-boarding, repetitive tasks using templates, and when you need to manage workloads within a broad remote-working team.
They're awesome! Quick to respond as well as being really friendly. It feels like they genuinely love the product and want to share the love.
Read Jason Willis's full review
Jeff Mendelson, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

You can't go wrong with Teamwork!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our central hub for everything. Anyone who touches our projects is on it. It allows us to keep everyone on the same page; whether you're around the corner or half-way around the world, everyone is on the the same page.
  • Time Tracking
  • Tasks and Sub Tasks
  • Integration with other critical apps like Desk, Chat, etc.
  • Their support team is very quick and addresses issues immediately.
  • I wish that the pages would refresh faster
  • I wish that the mobile apps were better designed.
I have placed various businesses on Teamwork. I also use it (a separate project) as my personal to-do list.
I've had support questions handled and resolved at all hours of the day or night.
Read Jeff Mendelson, MBA's full review
Dustin Brackett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2019

Finally a good project management tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork Projects is used as our primary project and client management tool. We have a portal for each of our clients and manage all day-to-day tasks, file management, messages, links, and everything else related to the client's campaigns through it. It's helped our team and our clients stay more organized and efficient.
  • Task management.
  • Organization.
  • File storage.
  • Would love a true content calendar (similar to Airtable).
We are a marketing agency and we use Teamwork Projects for all of our clients as well as our internal marketing. It's great for managing client campaigns including tasks, messages, files, links, milestones, etc. It is the first project management tool that we've found that actually does basically everything that we need.
I haven't had to use the Teamwork Projects support at all. I haven't had a single problem with it.
Read Dustin Brackett's full review
Bart Caylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

Why We Love Teamwork Projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We reviewed several project management tools prior to committing to Teamwork. We often describe it as "Basecamp on steroids." Very impressed and easy to use.
  • Great file management -- integrates with Google Drive.
  • Great calendar management.
  • Perfect task and calendar reliances. When you update one date or task, the others change in relation.
  • Looking forward to understanding more about the CRM.
  • I have not used the integrations from my proposal software, but that might be one area that we can improve.
  • Would like to see a way to turn off some features that we don't use.
Teamwork is very well suited for a remote team and managing a creative department. Not sure where it may not work as well.
The support is excellent. However, the company is based out of Ireland, so some of the support agents are not in the same time zone as here in America.
Read Bart Caylor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Teamwork Makes the Dream Work

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a mid-sized web development and marketing firm, we have various types of projects with different needs. While our web design projects are very process driven and need specific tasks for each phase of the project, our marketing projects last longer and tend to have ongoing goals and objectives—Teamwork accounts for both needs.

We use this platform to not only manage our own tasks and responsibilities, but to assign roles to clients we're working with in order to keep deliverables on track and communicate project updates.
  • Being able to attach milestones to tasks is a huge plus. It's helpful to have all of the individual tasks and subtasks, but to have overall project milestones to look at as a project roadmap.
  • Having subtasks is great! We've used several other platforms before Teamwork and none of them allowed for subtasks or the ability to assign a single task to multiple people.
  • Sending client updates is very easy as the messaging feature works just like email. It's nice because the client's don't have to jump out of their daily routine to learn a whole new project management platform—they can simply respond right from their email, so it's very friendly.
  • While the tagging functionality is nice, it can get a little messy. Part of this might be dependent on the internal processes put in place, but having the ability to add any kind of tag you want can create confusion.
  • The Kanban view can be confusing if projects or tasks haven't been marked as "in progress" and it can look like you don't have any tasks, when really, there's a large task list in the list view that just hasn't been categorized. Overall, it's easy to miss important tasks in the Kanban view.
  • It's very easy to miss tasks if someone doesn't know to check the "Email" box.
Teamwork is great for internal project communication. You can comment on tasks, documents, or messages and loop in other users to the conversation. It's also a great way to communicate with clients. Overall project management and goals can easily be managed within the platform.

Using this as your own personal task list isn't always easy because if you're working in a specific project, you have to drill down quite a bit to see your own personal tasks within a particular project / task list. It's also easy to miss tasks if someone didn't email them to you or properly assign them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Great for Great (in size) Projects

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamwork is being used with a client that has required two different advertising agencies to work together on a massive project. It has helped to align the 30 plus person team and relay the outputs of the project to the client/end-user in a streamlined and efficient way that we wouldn't normally get with other project management software.
  • Multi-Company User Integration
  • Individual Task Assignment
  • Project Hour Logs
  • The software is complicated
  • If training exists for this platform then I don't know about it
  • Lack of overview for all features (I'm probably only scratching the surface of the platform)
The best type of project for Teamwork would involve a large set of people that need to be informed every step of the way. We have a 30-35 person team that is working on the project with various roles from marketing automation to project manager to account manager and all need to be in the know. Teamwork does that for us.
Teamwork is great for what we are using it for but I wouldn't necessarily choose it for my business as it doesn't fit my business needs on a day to day scale. If all of our projects required many many many stakeholders then we would probably shift over to Teamwork full time but for now we are happy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Teamwork is great for collaboration and is a tool your team will actually enjoy using!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web design/development department uses Teamwork Projects to manage our projects where we build new websites, primarily WordPress sites, for clients. It allows us to collaborate externally with clients (gathering assets, collecting feedback, grouping conversations into one place) and internally with all members of the team (tasks, communication, milestones, and assets). It makes all the communication easier since it's centralized in one location, and the tool itself is very easy to use.
  • It's easy to upload and view documents, especially when you need to refer back to them later.
  • It's GREAT to have the chat threads right in the project. I can't tell you how many times I've gone back and searched for a specific client response, and it's way easier than email since the whole team can see it, even if they weren't included in the thread originally (no digging through emails and forwarding them to people who weren't originally included)!
  • It's really easy to get in there and get started. While we're very familiar with it, each client we introduce to it is new to it, so it's important that they can get started right away and not get tripped up by the tool itself. Teamwork really streamlines the onboarding process--you can literally get started using the tool right away.
  • I never use the dashboard view, which isn't necessarily a con, and I don't have specific recommendations, but perhaps there's a way to make that more useful.
  • Sometimes it gets a little confusing about where a comment is. Did the person comment on a file that was uploaded? A thread? Somewhere else? Even then, though, you can usually search to find it, so that's not a real complaint.
It is great for internal communications, but it is especially useful for projects with external clients, particularly if there is a lot of communication, file sharing, and feedback. Sometimes it's just too much for email to handle! Teamwork makes it easy for people to jump in and get the info they need when they need it without being inundated with loads of emails they don't need.
I have not contacted them for support but that already is a good sign -- the tool is so easy to use, I haven't needed any support!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Teamwork helps our design company stay on top of billing and clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as a project manager. Clients contract with us for marketing, advertising, and creative services. All their projects are added to TeamWork, so we can keep track of all tasks that are needed and due dates for those tasks and the entire project. We are also able to store the client's assets for a project and share with the client those assets.
  • Teamwork does a very good job of communication between our company and the client. It helps us keep track of all the communication back and forth so things don't get lost.
  • We can link to all the assets for a client that are stored within TeamWork or in our cloud service providers like Google Drive and Box. Again, it provides a way for us to keep track of all the assets for a client.
  • It keeps track of time very well for a project by our employees. We bill based on our time on a project for a client. If our timekeeping wasn't very good, we would not make any money.
  • Task templates are a little difficult to use. I think an improvement in using task templates would be helpful for things that are always repeated.
  • Project templates would also be very helpful.
  • Marking tasks that are billable or not billable. My employees have a hard time with the billable and not billable parts of the task, so it would be helpful if the administrator could mark the tasks as billable/non-billable upon making the task and the user could not change it.
I have a hard time with scheduling tasks. I don't want all the tasks to show up in someone's to-do list if the task is supposed to be done later on. At the moment, we don't add dates to tasks that will be done a few days later, so those tasks don't show up in the task list of a user. I would like dates to show up once the previous task has been completed.
We always have had a good experience with support. I also like the new webinars.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (59)
9.3
Resource Management (2)
4.1
Gantt Charts (52)
7.8
Scheduling (6)
8.0
Workflow Automation (6)
7.2
Team Collaboration (6)
8.2
Support for Agile Methodology (1)
5
Support for Waterfall Methodology (1)
8
Document Management (52)
8.2
Email integration (46)
8.5
Mobile Access (44)
8.0
Timesheet Tracking (4)
6.0
Change request and Case Management (1)
5
Integration with accounting software (16)
7.8

About Teamwork Projects

Teamwork Projects takes care of the details so teams can focus on delivering results, allowing the user to own the big picture.

Designed to make it easy for everyone to see what they’re working on, who they’re working with, and what comes next — whatever the size of the team. Regardless of methodology, job title, or certifications, Teamwork Projects is designed to be flexible, allowing users to work the way they want to.

Teamwork Projects Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Does not have featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Has featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureMilestones
Has featureGantt ccharts
Has featureUser permissions
Has featureMessages
Has featureBoard view
Has featurePortfolio
Has featureWorkload
Has featureDashboard
Has featureFilters

Teamwork Projects Screenshots

Teamwork Projects Integrations

OneDrive, Dropbox, HubSpot, Xero, Slack, Google Drive, Full list here: https://www.teamwork.com/integrations

Teamwork Projects Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
EnterpriseContact UsContact Us
Pro$9per user/per month
Free Forever$0per user/per month
Premium$15per user/per month

Teamwork Projects Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Teamwork Projects Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web