TrustRadius
The Tenrox Professional Services Automation (PSA) solution is a modular cloud project management, service delivery and billing solution that is designed to support globally dispersed customers and project workers who are operating in multiple remote locations, currencies, tax jurisdictions and time zones.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ox/st/H8OVOZP4C7XK.PNGWouldn't recommend TenroxTenrox is being used by my company to keep track of billable and non-billable hours across all departments across the company. This is used for us to see billable utilization numbers and to hire against this. Since we implemented Tenrox, we have a better idea of how team members across the board are being utilized in a billable or non-billable way.,Tenrox makes it easy to put in your time accurately across the board. It's easy to track hours and enter your time at the SVP level or coordinator level. Tenrox is also great at sending automated emails about when someone fills out their sheets or when someone isn't filling out their sheets. It's great at letting management know either way!,Tenrox needs improvement in the reporting area. It is extremely difficult to report off of and to pull individual or client reports. It's hard to enter projects to show up on the sheets and it's difficult to change project names where you enter your time in. There are other tools out there where this is a lot easier to enter specific line items and projects. Automated reporting is something that they also need to make easier and more efficient to install. It takes a while to get this going today!,1,Tenrox has caused headaches across offices and the frustrations with reporting is huge. It's been great to have a starting point to track hours and try to see what is billable and non-billable, but after this was implemented across our company where are seeing the negative ROI as its been so difficult to pull these reports accurately across teams, individuals, and clients!,Haydle Enterprise Q&A,Microsoft Access, Salesforce Analytics CloudTenrox Time and Labor for NonprofitsOur entire agency uses Tenrox as our timesheet and labor distribution tool which we export to Paychex for payroll purposes. Basically our Tenrox timesheet looks like a glorified Excel spreadsheet where our employees manually input their hours worked on various contracts to the nearest quarter hour every pay period which is semi-monthly.,We love that our timesheets are pre-populated with all our employee's assigned contracts and we get to control what is on their timesheet as far as funder and contract codes. Tenrox did very well with our integration and getting a timesheet that exports well with our payroll provider. Tenrox has a great email reminder system for when people need to submit or approve timesheets.,Their customer service is horrible, every email I send they insist on following up with a scheduled phone conference to tell me they can't help me. I have wasted hours on conference calls over the years. They upgrade their products but none of their upgrades will work with their current customer's system or "customizations". We are stuck with a 5 year old product that will only work with Internet Explorer on a PC and only when the browser is in compatibility mode. Even this functionality is touch and go. They have continuously failed to make time off accruals for a semi-monthly payroll a possibility. Anytime you ask them to upgrade you to their latest product they first tell you that will be another $3,000 and then they find out their upgrade isn't compatible with your settings.,1,Tenrox has streamlined our payroll process as far as timesheets are concerned.I like it and I know it's being improvedIt was used for resource management and project time tracking. Agency wide for time tracking PM/AM team for resource management,Allows for detailed day to day hours allocation Data can be pulled into excel and provided pie charts for resource allocation Reporting,I was using the IE version until we were supposed to upgrade. Using VM ware sucked It could have performed faster and been more modern looking,6,It has helped streamline and provide accurate reliable resource planning allowed for PM teams to address over allocation issues before it could become a problem,,8Tenrox TImekeepingUsed for the internal audit department of automating our capture of time-data assigned to audits.,Web-based Reporting Customization flexibility User maintenance,Integrate with other systems such as audit systems Reporting was a bit unintuitive Skip timesheets,7,Automated manual time capture across vast geography Enaled dynamic reporting,9Deb ReviewWe used it to do time and expenses and it interfaced to our AR,User Friendly,Need to automate pulling receipts to invoicing,9,Better emplyee customer service uick to approve time and expenses,,9
Unspecified
Tenrox Professional Services Automation
12 Ratings
Score 4.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tenrox Reviews

Tenrox
12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 4.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 12 vetted Tenrox reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Wouldn't recommend Tenrox"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tenrox is being used by my company to keep track of billable and non-billable hours across all departments across the company. This is used for us to see billable utilization numbers and to hire against this. Since we implemented Tenrox, we have a better idea of how team members across the board are being utilized in a billable or non-billable way.
  • Tenrox makes it easy to put in your time accurately across the board. It's easy to track hours and enter your time at the SVP level or coordinator level.
  • Tenrox is also great at sending automated emails about when someone fills out their sheets or when someone isn't filling out their sheets. It's great at letting management know either way!
  • Tenrox needs improvement in the reporting area. It is extremely difficult to report off of and to pull individual or client reports. It's hard to enter projects to show up on the sheets and it's difficult to change project names where you enter your time in. There are other tools out there where this is a lot easier to enter specific line items and projects. Automated reporting is something that they also need to make easier and more efficient to install. It takes a while to get this going today!
I would have recommended this higher if I didn't see other platforms that were way easier to implement and report on. It's not efficient for large businesses that need to pull hours across offices easily. Right now we have admins working with the Tenrox team to get managers what they need since it takes up too much time to pull reports. It's easy to enter your time but hard to get the names of the projects installed where you need to enter your time, and then pulling reports is a huge hassle.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Kramer profile photo
March 13, 2015

User Review: "Tenrox Time and Labor for Nonprofits"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire agency uses Tenrox as our timesheet and labor distribution tool which we export to Paychex for payroll purposes. Basically our Tenrox timesheet looks like a glorified Excel spreadsheet where our employees manually input their hours worked on various contracts to the nearest quarter hour every pay period which is semi-monthly.
  • We love that our timesheets are pre-populated with all our employee's assigned contracts and we get to control what is on their timesheet as far as funder and contract codes.
  • Tenrox did very well with our integration and getting a timesheet that exports well with our payroll provider.
  • Tenrox has a great email reminder system for when people need to submit or approve timesheets.
  • Their customer service is horrible, every email I send they insist on following up with a scheduled phone conference to tell me they can't help me. I have wasted hours on conference calls over the years.
  • They upgrade their products but none of their upgrades will work with their current customer's system or "customizations". We are stuck with a 5 year old product that will only work with Internet Explorer on a PC and only when the browser is in compatibility mode. Even this functionality is touch and go.
  • They have continuously failed to make time off accruals for a semi-monthly payroll a possibility.
  • Anytime you ask them to upgrade you to their latest product they first tell you that will be another $3,000 and then they find out their upgrade isn't compatible with your settings.
Tenrox has been the only solution we can find that can make a simple timesheet that basically turns the old Excel timesheet into an online cloud based glorified Excel sheet. No drop downs for employees to pick through and little room for error. The reporting could be great but not in the way we have customized it. The reports are useless most of the time and writing a report is very difficult. If you want a nonprofit adapted timesheet for multiple funders and contracts without any frills or reporting then this is it!
Read Christopher Kramer's full review
Caitlin Hurley profile photo
April 12, 2014

Tenrox Review: "I like it and I know it's being improved"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used for resource management and project time tracking. Agency wide for time tracking PM/AM team for resource management
  • Allows for detailed day to day hours allocation
  • Data can be pulled into excel and provided pie charts for resource allocation
  • Reporting
  • I was using the IE version until we were supposed to upgrade. Using VM ware sucked
  • It could have performed faster and been more modern looking
Does it allow me to adjust day to day time for individuals.
This was very helpful for agency creative/UX/tech team resource planning
Was less appropriate for budget tracking that was client facing
Read Caitlin Hurley's full review
Orang Demehry, CPA, CISA, CITP, ACDA profile photo
May 03, 2014

User Review: "Tenrox TImekeeping"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for the internal audit department of automating our capture of time-data assigned to audits.
  • Web-based
  • Reporting
  • Customization flexibility
  • User maintenance
  • Integrate with other systems such as audit systems
  • Reporting was a bit unintuitive
  • Skip timesheets
Read Orang Demehry, CPA, CISA, CITP, ACDA's full review
Deborah Donley profile photo
April 12, 2014

Tenrox: "Deb Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to do time and expenses and it interfaced to our AR
  • User Friendly
  • Need to automate pulling receipts to invoicing
I liked Tenrox. It was user friendly and we had good feed back from our users. Automation to pull receipts to invoices would have been nice
Read Deborah Donley's full review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Review: "Tenrox: for richer or poorer, in good times and bad..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tenrox is being used for timekeeping and expense reporting against projects. We use Tenrox as a billing software mainly. Tenrox is one of three systems that we have to use and was chosen to be implemented when the previous Access Database reached capacity. It is being used across all of one of the divisions of our company, and I am currently evaluating the needs to be able to add another division. We are able to track employee billable hours, project totals, project profitability, and avoid lost billable time/expenses with the reporting abilities offered in Tenrox.
  • User interface on time entry is simple to use.
  • Reporting abilities are basically unlimited. If you put the information in to Tenrox, there is a way to report on it.
  • Customer Service/Support not only at implementation but even after [becoming] an established user.
  • Simple to set up new clients/projects/billing rules/rates/tasks/users/etc.
  • The expense user interface and entry is not simple to use.
  • I would like to see all entries needed by a user if multiple licensing features are purchased to be available at one screen. For example, if you have time and expense licenses in Tenrox, then the user can make entries for both features on the same screen.
  • Ability to report on time and expense on the same reports without having to pay Tenrox for a custom report. You can only report on time or on expense. To get the information on one combined report, you have to have a custom report created.

We have discovered over the last few years using Tenrox that we could adapt our needs or processes to fit in the Tenrox box rather than adapting Tenrox to fit in ours completely. I feel like Tenrox would be better suited for a company that has fewer clients and projects over the course of a year, as well as fewer users. We have approximately 350 clients, 21,077 projects in Tenrox at this exact moment (we close projects as we can), 188 active users currently, and 415,635 tasks (some of course assigned to now closed projects).


With this much information hosted through the Tenrox cloud server, we experience increased lag time frequently. This causes a lot of unwanted rejection towards Tenrox in our company.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2015

"Tenrox Review - If the shoe fits..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is primarily a Staffing and Recruiting firm (and when including that portion of the business we have many more employees than indicated), however the division in which we use Tenrox performs project-based work. We perform project-based work with a wide variety of project types and are able to create several different structures in the system to manage them all in one place. One of the reasons we have kept Tenrox is that it houses our full data even when smaller groups within our organization have to use other systems as is often dictated by our clients. We use many smaller systems for more specific and/or granular project management, and Tenrox houses 'it all' as our go-to.
  • As a systems administrator, I enjoy the Tenrox system itself. I would say of the systems I have worked with in the past and those that I currently work with, Tenrox is one of my favorites relative to my current business needs.
  • Tenrox has a huge range of capabilities and options and its very easy to select and use particular components and ignore those that aren't valuable based on the need.
  • It is a well-structured system and once you understand the basic mapping it is very logical.
  • When our PMs and hourly resources are first presented with Tenrox they often feel overwhelmed at a glance, but the vast majority of the time after only a small amount of training they are able to use the system quite well.
  • Tax calculation per state tax rules. Tenrox's current capabilities relative to tax codes is extremely limited and we have to do several time-consuming work-arounds in order to apply the tax as needed for our business. What is particularly frustrating about this aspect is that our need is based on tax laws and codes set by states and I feel a financial system should be able to sufficiently structure for legally-defined tax codes.
  • Tenrox Project Planning add-on module. This portion of the system has never worked as seamlessly as you would assume given they were designed to work together. We've run in to many bugs and just oddities over the years. It's very finicky in my experience. We only use TPP for a small portion of our projects - those being our smaller or need to have huge task lists per client naming requirements.
  • (The bad that became the good!) In the past, we have had significant customer-service challenges with Tenrox and then Upland, however over the past several months we have noticed a marked change in this. If we had not previously experienced issues with the customer service, I would not have any issue with the level of service that we are currently receiving. Given the history, I am cautiously optimistic that our current level of customer service will continue. I think our service concerns finally reached the 'right' people and I am reasonably confident the positive changes are here to stay!
If you are trying to house a large volume of relatively small projects or clients who need granular reporting on a large volume of small deliverables, Tenrox might not be the best solution. We do have one group that utilizes Tenrox Project Planning (TPP) for a client that has such deliverables, however as mentioned elsewhere in this review we have found TPP to be problematic when synching with the Tenrox system. The administrative time it would take to manage those projects directly out of Tenrox is simply not worth the small dollar value of the individual projects.

The level/proficiency of project managers relative to administrative support. Tenrox is a bit more robust and more complex to figure out than a lot of systems out there that might have a very simple interface for project managers that might have different levels of proficiency and need in the system. When evaluating if Tenrox would be good for your business, I would suggest considering your administrative support team and how much they can handle in conjunction with the system's proficiency of your project managers and how much you will need them to use Tenrox (i.e. will your administrators be doing the majority of the system work, or will actual project managers be expected to setup and maintain projects, resources, etc. etc. From there, do you have enough admin bandwidth relative to the number of systems-minded project managers, resource managers, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 04, 2015

User Review: "Tenrox - leader of time management"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tenrox is being used as a resource management tool in our information's department only. We are looking into rolling it out to other departments in our company. It helps reconcile actual hours worked on specific projects or O&M tasks. This tool is a great database for capturing project hours that can be capitalized and used for backup.
  • Detail for capital projects.
  • Shows associate work capacity throughout the year.
  • Helps clarify projects misses and gains by allowing to reconcile to forecast.
  • Does not connect to SAP.
  • New upgrade caused us to lose many reporting features.
  • Upgrades 1-4 times per year.
I was not part of the selection process but we were only in the market for a time management system. I know now Tenrox provides a lot more features now than what we currently use the tool for.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2014

Tenrox Review: "strong tool that could be excellent with improved customer support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tenrox is used across our organization to monitor project activity against budgets, to meet our resource planning needs, and to track timesheets and expenses.
  • You can create a report combining virtually any field that the application tracks, so in this way it's a very flexible tool. There are also very flexible workflows and security settings within the app so that you can really make it fit your organizational structure, whatever that may be.
  • You can download the report into Excel and work with the data in Pivot tables to get even more customized reports.
  • The upgrades have been particularly frustrating. We have often lost useful functionality as a result of the software being upgraded, and have experienced some dissatisfaction around the communication about exactly what features are being changed/added/removed.
  • Especially in the beginning there were lots of bugs in the application. Many of these bugs have been worked out in upgraded versions but some still remain.
Key questions to ask during the selection process: how often will you be running reports in Tenrox (daily, weekly, monthly?) and which of the reporting tools (OLAP or AdHoc) would meet your report needs? In our experience - OLAP is more flexible but takes more time to run a report. If you use AdHoc you can't combine as many fields into one report but the reports run more quickly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 04, 2014

Review: "Is Tenrox Worth It? Read more to find out."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tenrox is being used to track hours on project plans, and it syncs with Microsoft Project. The Project Management, Development, and Quality Assurance Teams input their hours worked on a certain task into the Tenrox website. Once hours are entered, Microsoft Project is updated in an instant when Updating via the Tenrox Add-In on Microsoft Project. This product works with ease, as long as the users are set-up and are under the right tasks and have the appropriate time frame then Tenrox works like a charm.
  • Tenrox synchronizes well with Microsoft Project. There is a seamless connection between both products.
  • The Tenrox website is easy to use and is very simple. This leaves room for little error when inputting your time spent on tasks.
  • Tenrox is easy to pick up, and you can train someone in less than 5 minutes. The learning curve is minimal so it is not hard to implement.
  • Integration with Salesforce would be nice. It looks like this product exists, but is not a part of the Tenrox product that I am using. It would be nice if this were a default feature.
  • I believe the web portal takes up too much screen real estate, and it would be cool if it was configurable to lower the resolution for smaller screens.
  • An overview on who is assigned to what task that can be seen via the Tenrox portal would be perfect. Sometimes I am not sure what dates the developers put their times in. However, this is something that the Tenrox admin here can see, so maybe it is configurable for all users to see.
Tenrox works great for our Project Management team and it is well suited when being used in conjunction with Microsoft Project. For the way Tenrox works in our case, it may not be as useful for Project Management departments that do not use Microsoft Project, or different departments within an organization.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (4)
3.0
Resource Management (3)
3.0
Gantt Charts (1)
8
Scheduling (2)
3.0
Workflow Automation (3)
2.0
Team Collaboration (3)
1.0
Support for Agile Methodology (2)
7.9
Support for Waterfall Methodology (2)
6.9
Document Management (3)
2.0
Email integration (3)
2.0
Mobile Access (2)
4.5
Timesheet Tracking (5)
2.0
Change request and Case Management (3)
5.2
Budget and Expense Management (5)
1.0
Invoicing (1)
10
Project & financial reporting (1)
10

About Tenrox

The Tenrox Professional Services Automation (PSA) solution is a modular cloud project management, service delivery and billing solution that is designed to support globally dispersed customers and project workers who are operating in multiple remote locations, currencies, tax jurisdictions and time zones. Tenrox automates project requests and approvals, resource scheduling and management, time and expense tracking, and project billing and invoicing. Tenrox also includes configurable cost and billing rules with full support for time and material, fixed bid, recurring, and milestone-based projects. Also supported are general, requisite features common to most project management software (e.g. document management, skill set allocation, time management, etc).

As Tenrox is modular and contains a relatively wide variety of features that can be implemented, pricing is variable. A free demo is available, as well as live support.

Tenrox Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tenrox Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No