The Raisers Edge Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
171 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Lena Trubnikova | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

The Raisers Edge as the core software in our integrated solution for fundraising and gift processing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RE is being used by the Fundraising department to keep records of all constituents, gifts and events, track relationships, volunteers. The fundraisers use the proposals to track major gift prospects. We record all donations in it, import donations from Luminate Online and other online platforms into Raisers Edge using either RE import tool, RELO plugin or other plugins. The programming department uses it to record constituents. Marketing uses it to pull queries to communicate with constituents.
  • Records various aspects of constituent involvement with the organization.
  • Keeps record of all gifts.
  • Data posting to Financial Edge (FE) is limited and complicated to understand (took us time to adjust). The posting report does not have enough info: Appeal, campaign and who posted to FE. In genereral, RE/FE integration is not explained by Blackbaud properly, we had to figure out everything on the go.
  • Volunteer module is a bit cumbersome; some fields have duplicate fields in the event module; the identical information ends up being recorded in two different places.
I would recommend that people use The Raisers Edge (RE) as the main depository of information about the organization's constituent base, gifts, pulling queries. I find that the interface is becoming really dated and some features are not user-friendly for fundraisers, but I guess NXT is solving this issue.
Read Lena Trubnikova's full review
Kourtney Kirkpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

We love Raisers Edge!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Raisers Edge when I worked for Drake University. We used the platform within our University Advancement team for fundraising purposes. I was 1 of 25 users who worked on the platform daily. We did, however, have a team of 50 with some individuals using it on once in a while. I was a huge fan of the NXT version as I started right when it was released. It was much more user-friendly and easier to navigate. I did use the database version to run reports.
  • Easy to navigate.
  • Intuitive.
  • Expensive.
  • Had to bounce between two versions.
Raisers Edge was perfect to house a university database. Since there were many different schools, programs, and organizations within the University, our donors wanted to be able to give to specific areas on campus and Raisers Edge made it easy to track donors and their giving across campus. We loved Raisers Edge!
Read Kourtney Kirkpatrick's full review
Jesse Thill | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2020

The Raisers Edge Review from an Alumni Relations Perspective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Division of Advancement is currently using the Raisers Edge at UCA, which the Office of Alumni Relations falls under. Our department is one of five under the division's umbrella. The Raisers Edge serves as our CRM and houses the alumni database for the university. It allows for a collaborative effort between our department and the others as engage with alumni and friends of the university while doing our best to maintain an up-to-date record of our constituents.
  • Customize the profile view to ensure the most pertinent information is featured first.
  • The map feature allows us to see where the densest concentrations of our alumni are easy.
  • We're still waiting on queries to be built that allow us to view membership reports through the web version. As of today, you still have to access the database version for these reports.
  • The web version can lag occasionally leaving you to wait for data to appear onscreen.
I've been using The Raisers Edge for five years now. The NXT version is vastly improved over RE7. Other than the lack of membership reports through the web version and the load time for some of the data, I have no real complaints with The Raisers Edge. It's been an outstanding CRM tool for our division. Before The Raisers Edge, I used Advance at another institution, and I would rate The Raisers Edge much higher. It's an excellent tool for a collaborative team like ours, where multiple notes and contact reports for individual constituents can be added and reviewed quickly. Perhaps the most significant improvement fro RE7 to NXT is the map feature. When you host a lot of events like we do, location can make or break attendance in a large metropolitan area. The map feature allows up to narrow in on a location most convenient to our alumni. That feature is used daily. I highly recommend The Raisers Edge as a CRM tool for alumni relations and advancement teams.
Read Jesse Thill's full review
Jenny Physioc, bCRE | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

The Raiser's Edge Enterprise is the only way to Fundraise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Raiser's Edge Enterprise is used by the following offices: Development, Marketing and Communications, Accounting, Alumni Relations, Career & Professional Dept. and Scholarships. We store all students, parents of students, graduates, donors, professional companies, and so much more. Raisers Edge is a fantastic software that I have been using for 24 years or more, so long I don't remember.
  • The Prospect information storage is very helpful. We can store proposal and wealth information and keep a history of our steps with each constituent record.
  • RE is very versatile for all users and the way they think and process information. There are many ways to get the information needed.
  • I like all the integration services available from Target Analytics a Blackbaud company. We don't have to go outside to get NCOA processed and figure how to get it back in the database.
  • We have a website which integrates with RE called NetCommunity. This is a Blackbaud product.
  • I cannot express enough how great I think the customer service is. You can choose to chat with support or find your answers through the knowledge base or go to forums or communities and get the answers or information you are seeking.
  • Consecutive giving is an area where it is hard to get the information in a timely manner. There are work arounds but this is an area that needs to be addressed because it is a very common and frequent need.
  • Export the Ratings is a challenge if you only want a specific source. You have to export all of them and then delete the ones you don't want and sometimes they are jumbled up in the export meaning the different sources are not in the same columns.
I love it! There is always a way to get what you want.
Read Jenny Physioc, bCRE's full review
Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Couldn't Imagine a Better Fundraising Database!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge is obviously primarily used by our Fundraising department, but we use it to pull lists and reports for the whole organization. It holds employee information that is more detailed than HR's database. The gifts are integrated with Financial Edge to facilitate reconciliation. It is the master database for constituent data for most of the school.
  • There are so many fields, almost all of which are options in query, export, and report.
  • The integration with Crystal Reports is critical. It is very convenient being able to run Crystal Reports directly from Raiser's Edge.
  • Th batch and mail functions also make gift entry and acknowledgement a breeze!
  • Query is missing a couple useful options. Most recently, I wished that it included being able to query on whether an address was shared or not.
  • Export is missing a couple useful options. We rely heavily on relationships, but you can't query or export at a very detailed degree on a relationship's record.
  • It would be really cool if Crystal Reports could be integrated into the dashboards.
If you want to have excellent segmentation in solicitations, or other communications, Raiser's Edge is probably more than capable of providing you with what you need. More often than not, any handicaps are probably from data integrity, rather than the software itself. It doesn't integrate well with solutions for other independent school needs, so that's where I'd hesitate giving a glowing endorsement.
Read Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE's full review
Salvador Orochena | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

The Raisers Edge has good core functionality, but needs an update to web and to allow customization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge was used to collect interactions with constituents, perform fundraising, record event participation, and extract email lists for marketing material. It allowed us to centralize information into one system.
  • It organizes information about constituents and organizations well.
  • It allows for complex exporting of information.
  • Allow for customization or UI and functionality.
  • More integrations with other SAAS tools.
The application focuses on fundraising, move management, events, and interactions. If this is your core business then it will suit you well. Customization is limited though, and you end up using Attributes to fill in gaps.
Read Salvador Orochena's full review
Danielle Siemons | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

The Raisers Edge (not RE NXT)

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raisers Edge is used by alumni relations/advancement (one department). It is not used university-wide. This database holds all our alumni contact information.
  • Database management.
  • Integration with BBNC.
  • Not user-friendly.
  • Query/export are difficult to create.
I would not recommend The Raisers Edge. Please note this review is for Raisers Edge and not RE NXT. I've worked in other non-profits that have used more functional and diverse database management systems. This seems like what most universities always stick with, but it does get the job done at the end of the day. It just takes a while and a lot of training to figure out all the intricacies.
Read Danielle Siemons's full review
Maryam Qureshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

The Raisers Edge - one of the easier data bases to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Raisers Edge is used by the college as a database to store constituent information, create queries, exports, create events, track attendance of events, track RSVPs, and use with BlackBaud in order to send out event invites. Raisers edge is also used to ensure that all communication, such as phone and email addresses are all current.
  • Queries
  • Exports
  • Data
  • Events
  • User friendly
  • Easy to learn
For events, it is very hard to use at all times, since the system is slower at times when we are using it to track RSVPs, we cannot update at the same time if another user is in it. This makes it harder to ensure that two users can use it at the same time.
Read Maryam Qureshi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Two for one but careful what you wish for

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Raisers Edge is used primarily by our fundraising department to track gifts, memberships, event participation, (paid and free), pipelined cultivation. It addresses the needs of major gift cultivation, patron groups, membership programs, institutional giving (from foundations, corporations, government agencies). However, there are other departments outside of fundraising that also use RE, under our guidance for their relationship management needs which typically involve tracking lists and other populations.
  • The latest version is cloud-based and has unlimited users
  • Very extensive functionality, almost anything that one could ever want to track, could be traced in The Raisers Edge.
  • There is a lot of documentation and a robust user community
  • In the new version, there are two ways to access your data, The Raisers Edge 7 database view and The Raisers Edge nxt, which is browser-based. This means DBAs have to manage two systems whose interfaces are distinctly different
  • The Raisers Edge 7 handicaps are that it is very old looking and its reporting capabilities are some very old looking and minimally insightful dashboards, exporting into Excel or publishing Crystal Reports thru a very old embedded version
  • The Raisers Edge nxt handicaps are that the system is not fully built and there is a lot of functionality missing
Suited for tracking donors, attributes, interactions, contact information, memberships
  • Suited for organizations that can hire a database admin
  • Suited for front line fundraising and management of small to medium donor portfolios
  • Not very well suited for dynamic reporting, most reports need to be massaged by a database administrator
  • Not very user-friendly, not at all plug and play
  • Not suitable for quickly reporting performance or AB testing
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

As good a tool as you make it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Development Department uses Raiser's Edge on a daily basis to manage relationships with donors including entering gift data, tracking action items, and pulling queries. This CRM allows our team to work together and have access to the same information. Having everything in one place is essential for managing donor relationships across changing teams.
  • Manage donor records.
  • Track actions and upcoming actions.
  • NXT is always getting new features, but there are still some that require you to go to the database view.
  • Many improvements are happening on the NXT side, but not so many on the database side.
If your organization can afford Raiser's Edge and other software that communicates with Raiser's Edge, such as Financial Edge and Volunteer Hub, then it is a great investment. Investment in a CRM is essential for any development team as you need a central location to store donor information from gift history to actions to opportunities. Excel just won't cut it!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Great Overall Fundraising CRM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Raiser’s Edge as our primary fundraising CRM and financial fundraising production reporting tool. It is used by over 40 staff members with responsibilities that include all levels of giving solicitation, major gifts, direct mail, online contributions, and corporate and foundation grants. Stewardship, research, prospect development, gift entry, reporting, events all use the tool in everyday work.
  • Query/export of data.
  • Integration with Luminate Online.
  • Providing easy access to constituent information.
  • Contains all the necessary tools for an organization to manage fundraising efficiently.
  • Latency in online NXT product.
  • The user interfaces could be more intuitive.
  • The costs for additional module and customization are high.
For identifying potential high-level donors Raiser’s Edge offers a built-in rating system. There's no need to buy additional tools if you have a small department. These tools can help in the development of major//medium gift portfolios for staff. It can often be hard to learn best practices across different companies, as it is very customizable and unique to each organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Great support from Raisers Edge!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge is used only in the fundraising department of the organization. It helps to track donor records, donations, and event registrations.
  • Financial reporting.
  • Donor records.
  • Gift batching.
  • Dated interface.
  • Reporting is hard to personalize.
  • Lots of clicking.
Compared to other donor relations software, Raiser's Edge is the best I have used. I am happy with the support they provide when having issues, and there is a lot of resources available online, and all necessary data fields are included.
Read this authenticated review
Rachel Slager | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2018

Good, bad, and ugly

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raisers Edge is used by our fundraising department and accessed by departments throughout the university. We use it primarily to track alumni and donors.
  • This integrates very well with Microsoft Office products, which for reporting, letter writing and syncing to Outlook calendars sets it apart from many fundraising software options.
  • The complex architecture means that there are standards built-in for many different types of data one might need to track. Many software options are customizable to each organization, but having many different standard fields means that many organizations are tracking data by the same standard. This also makes it easier to onboard new staff who have prior experience with the software.
  • The Blackbaud Knowledge base is great, but the user community puts it above the rest. If Raisers Edge is number 1 in anything, the forums are tops. They have a community of active users who share their software policies and processes, but also best business practices for others to adopt. What Blackbaud did is incentivize users to respond, and then organized responses by needs, indexed it for easy searching, and even when I'm not an org. using their software, I still go to their users to seek creative solutions.
  • Additional modules are not tied to additional Query types. This means if I pay extra so we can have unique records to track each major gift proposal, we can still only group by the people we are soliciting and then report on all of their proposals, rather than being able to target by type or date and so forth.
  • In places where they are lacking, people have created plug-ins. It would be nice if the function of these plug-ins was then incorporated into future upgrades, but they never are. It often seems as though once someone else solves a Raiser's Edge problem, the company deems the problem solved and pays no more attention to it.
  • The technical support staff are beginner to intermediate users and it shows. They lack experience using the software at an actual non-profit, they quote from the user guides and often, they are wrong about what the software cannot do. They often say the software can't do it, or they don't have a solution yet, but frequently they are underestimating the software, or don't know how to trick it.
  • The user guides and support are often experts in Raiser's Edge, but not in the other Blackbaud integrated software, so if you have issues with how one of their solutions (like NetCommunity) speaks/integrates to Raiser's Edge, you can speak to people who are experts in one or the other but not both. So neither are able to solve the problem because neither knows how the other piece works, yet they all work for the same company!
  • There are huge issues with gift reporting, and if you check out user forums you'll find that regardless of years of complaints, nothing has changed in the software architecture. Issue one is that there is no way to report on soft credits that come from a spouse gift as opposed to an corportate/foundation gift. Two is that there is no way good way to report on split gifts. You can get the data, sort of, and you can somersault in external reporting software like Crystal Reports, but at the end of the day it has never worked well. Three is that the built-in gift reports are extremely limited in the type of data they can display. Fourth is that the built-in analytical reports are limited in how they allow you to target data; for instance, there is a strong desire to be able to report on consistent giving rather than consecutive years giving - and here you encounter issues with the way soft credits are attributed, how the analysis makes no acceptions for one missed year out of 25 giving years, and so forth. Though these things can be built in custom reports, it'd be nice if more of the built-in reports met the needs of the average fundraising office.
  • Perhaps the biggest problem with Raiser's Edge stems from the customer expectation. It is the top of the line software in non-profits, it is very expensive yet widely used. It is very complex software, and every customer should have staff who are dedicated to managing the software, maintaining and cleaning the data. Three years after converting to RE, many clients find themselves scrambling to hire database managers or outside consultants to clean up the disasterous mess of data scattered, hidden, throughout the database. This seems like a very common occurrence, especially in mid-size to small organizations.
Large non-profits are great clients for this software. Anyone investing in a custom database should consider Raisers Edge (RE) first, as custom databases are only as good as the staff who built it and the likelihood that they won't get a different job. Mid-size organizations who are donor funded more than grant funded should take a good look at this, especially if they can invest in training for a staff person solely dedicated to managing the software. Small organizations, particularly those with a fundraising department of fewer than 10, should look elsewhere at software like Salesforce. Any organization who relies heavily on grant funding or needs to do extensive endowment management/reporting should look for an alternative as Raiser's Edge has never successfully created grant management tools, nor do they have integrated software for this.
Read Rachel Slager's full review
Amy Dana, bCRE | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Top-Line Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge is the fundraising and alumni tracking database for the advancement department. It is also used by staff in the president's office and the business office for constituent and gift management. RE houses all current information on students, alumni, parents, and donors, including contact information, giving history, work and education information, and other data from across the university.
  • Ease of use: While there is a steep learning curve for database admins, the system is relatively easy for a user who simply wants to look up information on a constituent. The interface is clean and intuitive and the system allows a number of ways to search (partial names, street address, phone, etc).
  • Reporting: If you put it in to RE, there is a way to get it out. And 95% of the time there is already a canned report created that will give you what you need. If not, you can create your own report in Crystal Reports or use a query and Excel to further manipulate that data.
  • Support: Don't know how to do something? You've got user manuals, an online knowledge base , an entire Blackbaud Community site, and BB Support to help you out. The annual bbcon is also invaluable for picking up tips and pointers from experts and peers.
  • Learning Curve: This isn't a database you can become an expert on overnight. If your organization is interested in adopting RE, I definitely recommend training (formal or informal). It will be helpful for your organization to have someone dedicated to RE. I know there are organizations that purchase it and expect to either have everyone be an expert or for one person with an already full plate to take on the DBA functions.
  • Cost: It's not cheap by any means. I know the price can throw a lot of people but I truly believe that in this case you get what you pay for.
  • The upsell: I understand Blackbaud is a company but I feel like there is a lot of pressure put on people to upgrade/purchase additional BB products.
I honestly believe that The Raisers Edge (RE) can be used for any organization. It is extremely adaptable as long as you have the staffing to support it.
Read Amy Dana, bCRE's full review
Lily Barger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

Raiser's Edge Makes Sense for Fundraising

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge is primarily used by one org within the university, but we do have some outside users. In all, we have about 160 users of Raiser's Edge.
  • Raiser's Edge houses a large variety of data points regarding constituents.
  • The query and export tools are fairly easy to use.
  • Great for keeping a long and detailed history of constituents and gifts.
  • We recently moved to Blackbaud hosting for Raiser's Edge. That has been challenging because we no longer have control over when updates are made. While Blackbaud does communicate these updates, it can be frustrating if the updates break a process.
  • There are inconsistencies in exports in that some of the fields available in query are not available in export and that can be challenging.
  • As Raiser's Edge is migrated to NXT, some functionality exists in Raiser's Edge (database view) that does not exist in NXT (webview) and that frustrates our users.
Raiser's Edge is very well suited for a fundraising organization, especially one in higher ed, like ours. Especially a larger shop with many users where various permission levels are needed.
Read Lily Barger's full review
KaLeigh Hurley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Raisers Edge and Efficiency

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Raisers Edge daily for reporting, data analysis, and gift entry.
  • Easy to learn: The system is somewhat self-explanatory, but there are so many courses offered online to learn. I learned how to use the system optimally within a few weeks.
  • Easy to manipulate: The grouping and reporting tools can customize how you present your data. It is very simple.
  • Great resources: The system has helpful tips and explanations on the screen. You don't have to go far to find a quick answer.
  • We are hosted, and there are limits to how much data we can put into the database. It can be frustrating at times to figure out what to keep and what to get rid of.
Raisers Edge is great for any data storage. It is not necessarily the best to analyze prospects.
Read KaLeigh Hurley's full review
Elora Tocci | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Great database for basic functions of donor and gift management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Raisers Edge is used by the Development department to keep track of important donor and constituent information, such as contact information and relationships with other constituents. It is also used to track gifts made by donors and as a quick point of reference to answer questions about dates contributions were made, addresses to send thank you notes to, and other important information.
  • The Raisers Edge makes it easy to quickly look up a name and find out information about that person all in one place.
  • The Raisers Edge is fairly intuitive for basic functions and does not require much training to get started.
  • The Raisers Edge allows information tracking for multiple pieces of data about a single constituent or gift, which is helpful for understanding trends and big-picture analyses.
  • The Raisers Edge feels very outdated and could benefit from a refreshed look and feel.
  • Running reports is not intuitive and could be made more user-friendly.
  • Raisers Edge is often slow to run, which can be very frustrating.
The Raisers Edge is great for basic functionalities such as tracking and looking up information about donors and gifts. It is also great for people who will not need the database for more than basic tracking or do not have time or capacity for an extended training. For a situation that requires more in-depth analysis or for someone who will spend a lot of time with the system on a daily basis, I might recommend looking elsewhere.
Read Elora Tocci's full review
Michelle Hidalgo | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Raisers is a must for your CRM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for the Development department and we have a team of four that uses Raisers Edge for our donor database. I am a site admin. We also have Raisers NXT as an additional resource which takes the database view and turns it into an attractive and user friendly view. We are able to easily and efficiently track donor records and run reports. We are able to run consecutive year reports and other detailed reports.
  • Running reports and queries is user friendly and intuitive. It could get complicated to run detailed donor reports however they offer some already created reports you may customize.
  • Blackbaud support is available daily to assist in screen sharing , reports, queries.
  • Raisers' dashboard makes it easy to track new donors, lapsed donors and you could customize what you are looking for in the results.
  • The consecutive year report is pre-made however it’s not always the most accurate with years of giving.
  • The NXT version consecutive years of giving is sometimes different then the database years.
  • The dashboard is usually off by a small number as far as donor number accuracy compared to query donor count.
The Raisers Edge is a great donor record management database and NXT is an intuitive and attractive edition. NXT is necessary for reminders on major giving prospects and the mobile view is great for donor visits. Raisers is quite costly so for companies looking to spend less there are other alternatives.
Read Michelle Hidalgo's full review
Amber Manning | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Raisers Edge is too expensive for the functionality

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Raiser's Edge to manage all of our donations. It helps us have a single place to locate all donor and giving data.
  • The reporting is good and robust you can slice and dice the data anyway you want.
  • You can capture a lot of information about your constituents and their giving history.
  • It supports planned giving and recurring giving out of the box.
  • The UX is very old and outdated looking.
  • There are several usability issues like you can't copy certain fields like the ID since it isn't text. You also can't use some of the standard keyboard shortcuts like Ctr+A to select all. These small things can really slow you down when you are working.
  • In order to search you have to select what you are searching for gift, fund, constituent. In other more modern databases like Salesforce you can search across all objects at once which is very helpful. Furthermore, when you are searching certain data can’t be searched on. For example you can’t search on an email address if the individual is logged as a relationship of an organization record
  • When you are querying RE it will often pull duplicate results. If a certain gift or constituent meets more than one criterion it will appear in the query twice. As such, in order to get deduped results you have to run a query through an export or a report so most data sets that you need have to be found in a two step process.
  • You can't add custom fields to RE. Instead you have to rely on attributes in order to add additional information. This works relatively well but it keeps the data segregated onto the attributes tab rather than appearing immediately where you need the information.
  • It is annoying that you can't upload documents and attachments to gifts. Instead, you have to put gift backup onto the media area of the constituent record. This makes it much harder to identify the correct backup document(s) for gifts.
  • This database is extremely expensive. As a nonprofit it's hard to justify the costs.
  • The old versions are not hosted so you have to host them yourself which can be costly and updates are not rolled out automatically. Instead you have to manually update the tool. If there are compatibility issues with the data you have to fix that before upgrading.
I think it does the majority of functionality that people need to log their gifts, run acknowledgements, and record constituent and event data. If you want to be doing more sophisticated stuff, running automatic communications or reminders, etc. it doesn't have that functionality.
Read Amber Manning's full review
Catherine Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Raisers Edge

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raisers Edge is our fundraising database, used by our entire Institutional Advancement department. Raisers Edge allows us to securely and accurately track our contributions and pledges and accurately reconcile with our finance department. There are many tools within the database that allow for additional customer relationship management tracking, including recognition preferences, event participation, and corporate and interpersonal relationships.
  • Detailed relationship management modules.
  • Easy to pull giving histories for individual donors.
  • Flexible Query and Export capabilities.
  • Not able to easily "suppress" information from a query/export pull.
  • Not able to easily put together reports that pull based on different criteria (i.e. event attendees and contributors).
  • Confusion for event revenue based on tax deductibility.
  • Lack of integration with a ticketing database.
Raisers Edge is well-suited in a fundraising environment for an organization that does not have ticketing needs. It is much less well-suited for a performance organization that regularly sells tickets. There is no way to manage any ticketing needs within the database. Our museum sells tickets and we do not have access to this data for donor pipeline pulling.
Read Catherine Miller's full review
Sydney Graczyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2017

RaisersEdge for Non-Profit Use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses The Raisers Edge. It is a great way to store, access, and organize information. It addresses the business problem of being able to sort donors, volunteers, and program users within the organization. The Raisers Edge is also used to store financial data both for expenses and revenue.
  • Storing in-depth information and being able to organize it
  • Exporting data in a way that makes sense for your organization
  • Easily accessible by all staff members at any time
  • While the in-depth functions are nice, it can be difficult to maintain that amount of information
  • The Raisers Edge could improve the issues of duplicates
  • The Raisers Edge requires in-depth training to be able to be user-friendly
The Raisers Edge is well suited for an organization that deals with multiple streams of intake and outtake. It is well suited for organizations that have a large base of people to track. The Raisers Edge is not appropriate for businesses that do not need to organize information in different forms or to manipulate data.
Read Sydney Graczyk's full review
Katalin Sankowich | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Definitely one of the best

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser’s Edge is used by both the development and accounting departments at my organization. We use it to track, record, and report constituent giving, as well as event attendance and prospect information. The Raiser's Edge, in combination with Financial Edge, allows us to keep detailed financial records and generate detailed reports.
  • The reporting functions in Raiser's Edge (both the canned and customizable reports) are very versatile and robust.
  • The integration with Financial Edge allows for easy reconciliation between development and accounting.
  • The administrative functions in Raiser's Edge make global changes, security changes and imports very simple.
  • The default fillable fields in Raiser's Edge aren't, for the most part, customizable or removable. If you don't use a particular field in a donor record, for instance, you can't remove it for a more streamlined UI.
  • Queries and export can be cumbersome for individuals who aren't especially computer savvy.
  • I find particular issues with reporting of split gifts - issues that Blackbaud is aware of, but hasn't made any improvements upon in years.
If you want a fairly user-friendly interface and pretty decent, albeit simple, reports, Raiser's Edge is a great tool. If you're looking for more complex reporting and analysis, it isn't fantastic (in my opinion).
Read Katalin Sankowich's full review
Jenna Cronin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2016

Raise the bar with your fundraising!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser’s Edge is used by the advancement division at my organization, which includes the development, events, and membership departments. Raiser’s Edge is used to track and report on constituent giving whether it’s an outright donation, an event ticket, or a membership purchase. The software allows us to keep a detailed giving history on each constituent, track communications, pull segmented mailing lists, and store many other useful attributes about each individual constituent.
  • Raiser’s Edge has over 100 canned reports to assist with all aspects of reporting in the system. These reports are fairly customizable to your organizations individual needs and if there’s not a report that matches your needs you can write custom reports.
  • The export tool is very developed and robust for extracting information from the system. You can extract almost every field in the system, which is hundreds. One of the most useful tools in export is extracting giving history summaries, which are completely customizable.
  • The batch tool for entering constituents and/or gifts makes entering mass amounts of information quick and easy.
  • Database administrators have some really powerful tools such as Global Change and Imports to perform mass changes and cleanup in the system.
  • You can set security within the system by groups or by individual users. This is really helpful for organizations that have many users of all different abilities and roles.
  • The tables and fields within Raiser's Edge are extremely customizable to your organization's individual needs. This means that business decisions should be well thought out, written policies need to be in place, and you need to have a dedicated database administrator to keep your data clean and streamlined.
  • There is no batch functionality for memberships, which makes memberships quite labor intensive to enter in large quantities. Additionally, the membership tool is so advanced/customized that it doesn’t easily integrate with services like Import Omatic out of the box.
  • Raiser’s Edge as a whole is not very user friendly and requires training for users. The system will seem very intuitive to a data minded individual but not super functional for a front line fundraiser for example. The query, export, and reporting tools are difficult to use without training and interest in learning. Blackbaud is addressing this issue with the release of Raiser’s Edge NXT.
  • I'd like to see more user friendly guides and best practices guidelines within the system. It's often hard to locate the exact help topic you're looking for when in the online knowledge base. Although, support is very responsive if you can't help yourself!
Raiser's Edge is well suited for medium to large organizations that require a robust system for collecting data, running reports, and managing relationships with their constituents. The system does require upkeep, customizations, and constant managing so it's best suited for an organization that has the personnel resources to commit time to database management.
Read Jenna Cronin's full review
Brent Troth, bCRE-Pro | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

Raiser's Edge - A Sophisticated Donor Relationship Management Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Raiser's Edge (RE) to better enable us to build a relationship with our donors at all levels, but especially the relationship with our major donors. Raiser's Edge enables us to track the donor throughout their donor lifecycle, to monitor progress through the Moves Management process. The advent of Raiser's Edge NXT has even provided our major gift officers with proactive suggestions of donors who may need more attention or who may be in danger of lapsing. We also use Raiser's Edge's Events Module to manage a wide range of events from small house parties of less than 50 guests to large dinner/luncheon events of 250+ attendees. Finally, our data in Raiser's Edge has been deemed so accurate that our RE database is used as a sub-ledger of our finance department's general ledger - which means that we are no longer have staff in two departments enter the same individual gift data into two different software systems.
  • Raiser's Edge provides opportunity to not only track a lot of information about an individual donors, but also allows us to "connect the dots" by helping us to track the relationships between our donors - donors who have connections to foundations that may increase our chances of getting a grant funded, donors who have connections to significant major donors who can help us to increase their friend's relationship with our organization, donors who have significant political connections who can help us to make sure that our issues are heard by our representatives.
  • Raiser's Edge provides many modules - events, volunteers, planned giving, that help to manage, track, and report on those activities.
  • Raiser's Edge is constantly making improvements in the software. Much of it based on customer feedback.
  • Raiser's Edge can be a little overwhelming for some users who are not as comfortable with computers and software. Building queries and exports can be particularly intimidating to some. A skilled and knowledgeable database support infrastructure is really a must have - even if this is one person who really knows the software inside and out in small shops.
  • It would be great if Raiser's Edge could increase the pace at which new improvements are made to Raiser's Edge 7 in much the same way that new functionality is rolled out frequently for Raiser's Edge NXT.
  • Raiser's Edge could use some streamlining of screens/tabs for data entry to make routine tasks more efficient.
Raiser's Edge is really essential for large shop development departments, especially those with sophisticated multi-channel fundraising programs. It may not be the best fit for small shop development departments with limited resources in terms of both budget allocations for software and personnel resources that can be dedicated to data hygiene activities.
Read Brent Troth, bCRE-Pro's full review
Lindsay Boughey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2016

Raisers Edge - IF you are good to it, it will give you GOLD

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raisers Edge is being used by the development department to track donations and our constituents relationship to us as an organization. Our database is not large but the relationships are long and often complicated. A database like this allows us to see the constituent and all of the interactions we have had with them over the years. The Raisers Edge in combination with some of the add-ons like Online Express have been helpful for seamless tracking of newsletter readership and conversions from our website and online publications.
  • Queries are what we use to create lists of constituents with particular behaviors or similarities that we can use for creating mailings, invitations or actions. An amazing tool with endless possibilities.
  • Raisers Edge is a beast of a program. It can do just about anything you could want for a donor database and Blackbaud offers several supplemental solutions that seamlessly integrate.
  • Donor stewardship, from first contact, to donation, to acknowledgement letter, is a process that is handled particularly well with Raisers Edge
  • The program is quite complicated and if data is not entered correctly than the program just won't work well. "bad in, bad out'. But that is not unique to this program.
  • That some of the features that I like to use like global changes for adding appeals is pretty buried and the way of finding it convoluted.
  • Attributes could be more flexible: like I would prefer to have all events under one table (which it can do now) but then there is no step further where I can then say whether they RSVP and then also whether they attended and their name for easy export for nametags.
Raiser's Edge is great for development departments of medium to large nonprofits, schools, etc., especially those with sophisticated fundraising programs. It may not be the best fit for small nonprofits with limited resources in the budget. The Raiser's Edge is an excellent software for cultivation, solicitation, and stewardship and allows for easy tracking of each constituent's relationship with your organization.
Read Lindsay Boughey's full review

About The Raisers Edge

Categories:  Nonprofit CRM

The Raisers Edge Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No