TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/592HM8F7THI8.JPEGBusinessWorks overviewTIBCO Business Works is used across the Information Systems Department. It is used as part of the Enterprise Service Bus. It provides web services for accessing data, as well as both publishing data and subscribing to data sources and doing transformations on the data.,It provides a palette which makes it very easy to map data from one format to another and do calculations or transformations as part of the mapping. The pallets make it easy to get different listeners and publishers stood up very quickly. It is easy to deploy and manage on application across multiple machines. It provides consistent code across multiple development teams, as there are code is presented as an activity which is simple dragged and dropped.,In BW 5, there is no native JSON parsing, it must first be converted to XML which adds overhead. Native parsing was just added to BW6. Some settings must be editors in a tea text file, and are not editable as a part of the deployment.,9,Self-taught,It helps us develop integrations quickly and in a relatively readable fashion. It provides a standard set of metrics which can be monitored and queries by TIBCO Hawk, which is valuable by having an integration monitoring standard.,I don’t have experience in other integration technologies outside of doing the code in C++, Java, and python. Business works is definitely faster to get something up and running all it takes is dragging and dropping a few activities, and then dragging and dropping how the data fields should be mapped between activities.,I have not used other integration products, but Tibco is very efficient in its data mapping. One improvement it could use is an interface to help with mapping large data sets. For example, if you have 50 fields and don’t want to just map the parent element, you have to drag and drop all 50 fields individually.,The Business Works debugger allows you to set breakpoints and step through each of the transitions and activities. You can easily view the inputs and outputs at each step. The debugger also allows you to specify data at an entry point. This is useful if you need to test why something in a deployed environment is failing. You can turn on logging there to capture the input message and then run that through the debugger in your local environment.,CA SecureSpan Gateway,100,8,Mapping data Performing data transformations Creating REST APIs,8,Not Sure,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the ProductBest tool for Integration projectsIt's being used enterprise-wide. It integrated all the core and non-core systems in our organization.,Solutions built with BusinessWorks are flexible Learning curve is not too steep Seamless integration, development, testing and deployment Reduce time to market for any deliverable,I would like the design time to improve and match that of the designer. The newer versions are getting better. Would like to have web app development and deployment possible through BusinessWorks design time like we had with AMSG.,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,The licensing cost is on the higher side which does become a pain at times while doing budget negotiations for a project The whole enterprise is well aligned on the use of BusinessWorks,This is one of the major values BusinessWorks adds to the enterprise. Building a solution with BusinessWorks is faster than any other tool I know of. The graphical design and development IDE makes development easier and the code is very easy to maintain.,I think it's one of the best tools in the market for data mapping and data transformation. I would like to see the support for NoSQL and graph databases built into it.,It's easier to test any integration component built with BusinessWorks.,Integration? Nothing Better than BusinessWorksThe complete Integration of Ingram Micro is using Business Works. It is the heart of Ingram Micro. From ordering to pricing and availability, transport management system, warehouse management. So complete ordering system is using Business works and 75 % of Ingram Micro revenue goes through our integration platform using BW.,EAI B2B integration. Micro service and also SOA enabled implementation.,Migration of 5.x to 6.x should be easy. It is currently like doing complete new projects. There should be more in built plugins rather having to buy each and every plugin separately.,10,Self-taught,It made all your systems integrate with each other easily.,Yes the process is faster and easy to learn. The first time when I learnt BusinessWorks I was a fresher and learnt all by my own and by using my own POC. This proves how efficient it was back then and even now.,Top notch. I have used other products like Mulesoft or Web methods. But compared to Business Works nothing is better.,I feel BusinessWorks should have the ability to do mock-ups and have the ability of an out-of-the-box regression facility. Its unit testing is easy to perform.,BusinessWorks can do it all!BusinessWorks is the answer to how we can standardize our integration in the future. It's a big piece of the TIBCO infrastructure that we plan to run our company on. It not only works well, it does it in the best way possible.,Messaging Transact SQL Custom Java APIs REST,Excel Visibility and Recovery,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,We haven't implemented it yetTIBCO BW saves the day!We at US Bank use TIBCO Business Works as a middleware tool. It is used as the main integration tool for systems like DB, mainframe messaging and connecting to third-party APIs.,BW helps create web services pretty easily BW works well with almost all messaging protocols especially JMS/EMS Packaging projects for deployment is effortless,REST API in 5.X needs improvment,9,Online training,Because of its ease of creating applications in TIBCO BW, project turnover is pretty quick,Integration has always been a strong suit for TIBCO BW. It works/integrates well with almost any SOR. The integration process is pretty straightforward and quick.,XPath in TIBCO with its inbuilt functionalities is a very powerful tool for data mapping in TIBCO. There is rarely a scenario that we need to resort for other third-party tools for data mapping other than Xpath in TIBCO BW.,Creating testing stubs is pretty quick and effective in TIBCO BW. It's easy to create on the fly unit testing scenarios.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO BusinessWorks
270 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO BusinessWorks Reviews

TIBCO BusinessWorks
270 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 270 vetted TIBCO BusinessWorks reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 117)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks overview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Business Works is used across the Information Systems Department. It is used as part of the Enterprise Service Bus. It provides web services for accessing data, as well as both publishing data and subscribing to data sources and doing transformations on the data.
  • It provides a palette which makes it very easy to map data from one format to another and do calculations or transformations as part of the mapping.
  • The pallets make it easy to get different listeners and publishers stood up very quickly.
  • It is easy to deploy and manage on application across multiple machines.
  • It provides consistent code across multiple development teams, as there are code is presented as an activity which is simple dragged and dropped.
  • In BW 5, there is no native JSON parsing, it must first be converted to XML which adds overhead. Native parsing was just added to BW6.
  • Some settings must be editors in a tea text file, and are not editable as a part of the deployment.
It is well suited for moving data from single/multiple destinations to single/multiple other destinations. It is especially well suited when the data is well defined and has an existing schema.
The Business Works debugger allows you to set breakpoints and step through each of the transitions and activities. You can easily view the inputs and outputs at each step. The debugger also allows you to specify data at an entry point.

This is useful if you need to test why something in a deployed environment is failing. You can turn on logging there to capture the input message and then run that through the debugger in your local environment.
Read Mark Marwil's full review
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Best tool for Integration projects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used enterprise-wide. It integrated all the core and non-core systems in our organization.
  • Solutions built with BusinessWorks are flexible
  • Learning curve is not too steep
  • Seamless integration, development, testing and deployment
  • Reduce time to market for any deliverable
  • I would like the design time to improve and match that of the designer. The newer versions are getting better.
  • Would like to have web app development and deployment possible through BusinessWorks design time like we had with AMSG.
When workflows come into the project then it's less effective as we have to depend on the BPM product. It would be good if everything can be integrated into one as the licensing costs of maintaining all of it is huge. It's well suited for any integration, the variety of connectors and adapters it has makes it easier to integrate with any system.
It's easier to test any integration component built with BusinessWorks.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
September 10, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Integration? Nothing Better than BusinessWorks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The complete Integration of Ingram Micro is using Business Works. It is the heart of Ingram Micro. From ordering to pricing and availability, transport management system, warehouse management.
So complete ordering system is using Business works and 75 % of Ingram Micro revenue goes through our integration platform using BW.
  • EAI
  • B2B integration.
  • Micro service and also SOA enabled implementation.
  • Migration of 5.x to 6.x should be easy. It is currently like doing complete new projects.
  • There should be more in built plugins rather having to buy each and every plugin separately.
Any integration within your organization. It can contribute either way with whatever complexity the integration is.
I feel BusinessWorks should have the ability to do mock-ups and have the ability of an out-of-the-box regression facility. Its unit testing is easy to perform.
Read Dibyajit Chatterjee's full review
September 06, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks can do it all!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BusinessWorks is the answer to how we can standardize our integration in the future. It's a big piece of the TIBCO infrastructure that we plan to run our company on. It not only works well, it does it in the best way possible.
  • Messaging
  • Transact SQL
  • Custom Java APIs
  • REST
  • Excel
  • Visibility and Recovery
Anything integration
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO BW saves the day!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at US Bank use TIBCO Business Works as a middleware tool. It is used as the main integration tool for systems like DB, mainframe messaging and connecting to third-party APIs.
  • BW helps create web services pretty easily
  • BW works well with almost all messaging protocols especially JMS/EMS
  • Packaging projects for deployment is effortless
  • REST API in 5.X needs improvment
TIBCO is all around an amazing middleware tool.
Creating testing stubs is pretty quick and effective in TIBCO BW. It's easy to create on the fly unit testing scenarios.
Read Krishna Gurram's full review
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Consultant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are implementing TIBCO BusinessWorks for our customers for setting up a CoRR foundation supporting API, and for Microservices on Cloud platforms with support for containerization.
  • Very strong in messaging
  • Unique platform which supports Microservices and Cloud with enterprise integration
  • Extended support and OOTB integration with APIM platforms and Event processing
  • OOTB Analytics support on integration BW
  • Upgrade from BW 5 to 6 is difficult for customers, which requires redesigning and sometimes re-coding the Integrations to support containers. Need to make it easy
Appropriate for hybrid and Cloud integration
Integration testing in better for developers in Boomi and other products. Developers need to be able to test integrations on any machine and not just on their dedicated laptops
Read Tejas Modi's full review
September 03, 2018

"TIBCO BusinessWorks Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO BusinessWorks in the whole organization. TIBCO BusinessWorks helped us to integrate with various applications at our company. It is a good enterprise integration platform.
  • Nice graphical user interface and works on any platform. Easy to develop/deploy for a programmer.
  • BusinessWorks is forward and backward compatible.
  • It would be helpful to get more plugins (e.g SFTP/REST Plugin) out of the box.
Well suited with enterprise integration with various systems. It might not appropriate for small companies.
Very easy to debug/deploy.
Read Srinivasa Rao Velineni's full review
September 11, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO BW...you need this!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BW is being used company wide to process many important workflows that support our membership.
  • BW is a great engine to use along with other TIBCO softwares to make proper use of business flows to get data from point A to point B throughout the lifecycle
  • BW upgrade paths are typically cumbersome and quite frankly much easier to do a complete parallel build and cutover which can be time consuming and costly
BW is a great tool to push your organization more to an event driven real-time org versus a batch oriented one.
Testing is a breeze and can be easily done so in an automated fashion with BW
Read this authenticated review
April 16, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Tibco BW5 is a great productivity tool, but the new version, BW6, is not."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tibco Business Works to integrate and automate global and local enterprise systems -- ERPs, databases, SaaS, REST and SOAP APIs, and legacy systems of numerous types. Our organization has over 200 global locations and our work includes many critical business processes. We use a service oriented architecture (SOA) and have become a little famous in our organization for speed and quality.
  • TIBCO Business Works does field mapping well. I often have projects that include ERPs like SAP, which can often use large and complex XML schema. BW makes it easy to map fields between these cumbersome documents, loop over repeating nodes, apply xpath... I think this is where BW has the biggest advantage over other tools.
  • BW also makes it easy to establish logical flow. When it's just code on a page, you have to rely on UML diagrams. BW offers an icon based designer to design the logical flow, which is pretty nice and intuitive.
  • TIBCO BW runs very efficiently. People are often surprised at how quickly our systems move, especially when components like the database adapter are used. We have many integrations quickly moving large amount of data.
  • Training developers new to Tibco BW5 easy. This might be my favorite thing about it these days. If someone already has experience with app development, or is otherwise familiar with business processes, sql, xml, ems, etc., BW5 is very easy to be productive on.
  • General development time on BW5 is quick. From a business perspective, I would say this is the strongest advantage. Creating new processes and making adjustments is fast and reliable -- not prone to creating new issues.
  • When discussing needed improvements to BW, we have to make a clear discrepancy between BW5 and BW6. BW5 is stable, tried-and-true, and easy to train people on. BW6 is the total opposite. Also, BW6 offers no significant advantage over BW5. I began using BW6 almost two years ago now. Our original intention was to make use of its REST activities first thing, then transition all our processes to BW6. Today I still only use it for REST, but I don't use the REST activities because they can't do complex queries. I have to use HTTP activities... We also have NO plans to move anything other than REST interfaces to BW6.
  • The main issue with BW6 is the dreadful bugs. It's a sophisticated system but very immature, so it's loaded with dangerous surprises. I even took the BW6 bootcamp class, intending to get a good start. But the class was mostly worthless because the instructor couldn't even run the example solutions. We just fumbled though numerous introductions to features. The best advice I can give is, first learn BW5. Then, if you really want to learn BW6, go ahead, but don't use it for any projects with critical deadlines. Also, push to the repo often, and understand that your workspaces are basically disposable. Things go wrong that just aren't worth all the XML editing to fix, so it's better to just backup an hour or two and start again. Also, delete and recreate if anything starts to act funny. When the designer crashes, start it up, shut it down, then start it up again. Also, you're not alone. Everyone knows this thing is buggy.
  • The BW6 designer is built on Eclipse. I was optimistic about this, and anticipated a more efficient interface compared to BW5's designer, which is clunky. BW6 designer looks more slick, but it offers no real advantages over BW5, and is heavy and unstable. It crashes often, is painfully slow, corrupts project files, and otherwise requires a lot more time than BW5 for even simple tasks.
  • Testing is more difficult on BW6 than on BW5. Setting up a whole integration and running it locally is an easy task with BW5. Things run quickly. It's easy to see the input and out put data from each process. Errors are quickly evident. BW6 -- just getting it to build and run can be difficult. The big issue is that there are numerous run time hazards that BW6 will not indicate after compilation. You just have to run the thing and sift through terminal output. Here's a tip. It always say every process is imparted. The gobs of red text that poor out, that's normal and OK. Neither of these sections are describing your error. Your error will be in black text somewhere.
  • Once you get your integration running, examining the input and output is challenging. The designer will take your focus for various reasons. For example, if you have http debugging enabled, you simply can't look at anything else. The focus is repeatedly returned to the standard output terminal. Or, even with minimal debugging and nothing trying to grab focus, just digging up the data can be difficult, especially if you're dealing with large objects. You can't click on an activity to see its output, as with BW5. You have to sift through the nested lists of processes and down into activities. It's actually hard to even explain how to see input/output without an image.... But you can't really even see the data from within the designer itself. You have to copy it out and paste it into a text editor.
TIBCO BusinessWorks 5 is good for any situation where you need to move a lot of data between different systems. It's fast once deployed and development is fast too. BusinessWorks 6 is still very immature. I wish we would have waited at least another year before getting tangled up with it. I think I've made five necessary upgrades in that time, and I'm currently behind by at least one.
The advantage of Tibco BW5 is that it's easy to watch the data flow through the process. If there is an issue with the database query, it runs fine until it hits that process, and fails with the error message. It's very easy to run tests and analyse the data going through. You can even run multiple instances of the designer and watch data pass between them.

With BW6 it's a more cumbersome process and you'd better have plenty of memory on your machine and a lot of patience waiting for everything to start up. Good eyes is also essential because BW6 dumps a huge amount of standard output, which often includes run-time errors that may or may not be actual issues.
Read Benjamin Warrick's full review
January 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO BusinessWorks: Simplicity and power of data management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of the TIBCO BusinessWorks I do is for multiple customers, and only in a particular industry of these companies, I work for. One of the problems that can be encountered is the difficulty of migration from BW 5. X to BW 6. X, which does not have optimal backward compatibility.
  • Easy programming
  • Code reuse
  • Well documented
  • Extending the choice of adapter
  • Multilanguage being
  • Create a plugin for automatic job creation
The strong point of TIBCO BusinessWorks is to be a very strong middleware. Useful for integration between heterogeneous systems that need to communicate with each other. It is important to create republication processes through JMS or RV protocols (proposing a protocol of TIBCO). In a scenario where you want to bring processes to the cloud, RV usage is impossible and this is an unfavorable point.
The level of difficulty in testing a tibco flow is relatively low because Tibco offers the Tester function within the Designer package. The Tester function shows how the flow takes a certain direction by visually showing and colouring in green or red the transition that follows the process and colouring the activities that are correctly processed or making them turn red if they raise some errors.
Read Mariano Pagliarulo's full review
November 14, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BW 5.x Developer Interested in BW 6.x's Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use BusinessWorks to integrate TIBCO Master Data Management with other systems using TIBCO Enterprise Message Service for messaging. This is used across two primary business units in North America, however this platform is intended to scale to be a global solution across the entire organization.TIBCO BusinessWorks provides web service endpoints that orchestrate data transformations for the mastering of customers across different systems used within each business unit.
  • Reduces the number of trivial tasks that are often associated with other programming languages.
  • Enterprise friendly for both multi user development and deployment solutions. Also fully capable of running a highly available infrastructure.
  • Extensible out-of-the-box and through plug-ins.
  • BW 5.x and the run-time agent both feel very dated, though this has been addressed with BW 6.x.
  • BW 5.x is not as friendly to CI, though this has been addressed with BW 6.x.
  • While the tool doesn't require specific programming language knowledge, it is still necessary to become familiar with BusinessWorks which is most effective with training. This does require that developers to have knowledge of the tool and has lead to some difficulties finding skilled software developers.
Overall it can bring an application to market easier and quicker than coding something from scratch. With how extensible BW 6.x framework is, there are even more capabilities to perform effective quality assurance when doing development. However, I find it difficult to define and ensure best practices are being achieved.
I've only used BW 5.x for this and have found it to be fairly difficult. I've used other debuggers and found there to be much more detail about what is happening with data structures that I have not been able to figure out with TIBCO BusinessWorks. This is likely better in BW 6.x, but I do not know due to my lack of experience with it. I've also found it to require quite a bit of work to implement into CI for building and testing of BW 5 applications, though it appears BW 6 simplifies this greatly.
Read John Rensberger's full review
November 06, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Ease of use Integration Process"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, my team manages TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks for many years for a good number of integration projects. It allows you to quickly and easily connect applications, with reliability and scalability. Our integration platform is made up of thousands of processes of every kind type (eg. finance, banking, assurance, energy, doc manage, etc..). We are also responsible for maintenance and updates. If the integration platform is easy to use, The project will be more scalable.
  • Ease of use—Integration activities
  • Short deployment Processes
  • Scalability and extensibility of Projects
  • Drag-and-drop graphical development environment
  • Energy and Utilities area: we faced situations to respond an increasing demand, and through TIBCO BusinessWorks we reduced costs and job time.
  • Bank Area: through TIBCO BusinessWorks we connected and unified banking business processes across applications and data sources.
  • Finance Area: The integration project was ready to go to production within a realistic timeframe and deploying from development to a running project went smoothly.
Short deployment cycle processes are the best choice for an integration project for lots of reasons. Through TIBCO. BusinessWorks you could connect process to Database or simply Soap Request so the project will be flexible and adaptable and you can potentially adapt it to multiple activities. Of course, it is not used for long deployment running processes (see TIBCO. Active Matrix).


Once the process definition is complete, you can perform preliminary testing from TIBCO Designer. In test mode, a TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks engine is started to perform the processing specified in the process definition. The testing environment allows you to step through your process models and find sources of errors. The testing environment displays the running process definitions and highlights the currently executing activity.
Read Sebastiano Manzella's full review
November 03, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BW Maniac"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In TalkTalk we use BusinessWorks for building standalone applications with Oracle Database as data storage. We have many stand alone applications built using Tibco BusinessWorks and we also use Tibco BW for applications integration. 2 different departments use Tibco BusinessWorks, EAI - Enterprise applications Integration and OMP - Order Management and Provisioning. Quick development cycle and easy to debug and fix.
  • Good support for various modes of communications, Java JMS, Tibco EMS, HTTP, Restful, SOAP etc. With easy to develop interfaces.
  • Acts as a good data transformation layer with excellent interfaces for cross mapping the data with easy to implement new custom x-path functions and complex data mapping between the complex XML structures.
  • Easily Scalable
  • Needs more support to customize SOAP interfaces. Although the SOAP based interfaces are very easy to implement, they are not Java like. It is hard to add any custom headers, need to define new port to allow the SOAP clients to download and the wsdl etc.
  • I am using BW 5.13, Restful support is not available out of the box in this version. Although the parallel version BW 6.x has the support for restful interfaces, BW 5,13 needs a new plugin. Which is annoying and expensive.
  • Most databases and SQLs has been supported by TIBCO. But still they cannot support a prepared statements with "in" clauses like "select * from employee where workplace in ( ?, ?, ? ... )". TIBCO needs to implement the in clause more cleverly where the developers can have any number for values in the "in" clause.
  • I have to either write a database stored procedure or use SQL direct for this purpose. I have SQL direct as this is tagged as a security vulnerability and we have no track of what sql is been executed ?
Tibco BusinessWorks is far more experienced, stable and superior than it's competitor products. The product is very intuitive, easy to develop and design. easy to provide instructions to the team and more. It takes far less man hours to develop a functionality in Tibco BW than to do the same in Java or Pega etc.
Business Works is easy to test using the debug options and in the 5.x version we can test easily using the BW "tester" option. Never had any trouble to unit test or debug the process.

On the other hand I have had multiple requests from other application owners like Pega requesting me and team to build triggers and stubs using tibco BW, so they can test their stuff !!
Read Mani Venugopal's full review
November 02, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO during age of technology disruption"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having used TIBCO BusinessWorks as a developer, bug fixer, application support professional, designer, analyst for several implementations in Logistics, Transport, Telecom, Energy & Utilities, Malpractice & Insurance domain, I can bet it's one of best No Code Platforms in the current IT landscape where code management, maintenance and deployment are painful to maintain.
  • REST/JSON and SOAP support
  • JMS compliance is excellent
  • Less development time if design is well thought out and addressed well for use case
  • Better integrated testing support
  • CI support is progressing well and needs to be made more flexible and easy to integrate
More stress should be on application integration than application development.
It can be integrated well SOAPUI (JMS Hermes). Newer version 6.x has better testing support but can be improved. There's a trade off in new version 6.x vs 5.x for designer based testing during compile time.
Read Vivek Kumar's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWork: simple impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is used within the whole organization. It's used to realize applications for big companies such as banks, telephone companies, supermarket chains and so on. Typically, we establish business logics and expose services which are then used by third party software, we take care of legacy environments migration and new functionalities implementation. It improves timings, simplifies maneuverability and scalability.
  • TIBCO does well on data manipulation and on heterogeneous systems integration. We were able to perform messaging between several different systems, without developing custom APIs. With TIBCO BusinessWorks it's easier transform and analyze data, including managing of error cases.
  • It would be great to have dedicated regex functions, such as search and replace, match and so on. For data or strings manipulation it's strongly recommended.
It surely recommended on projects with high frequency of data analysis, on legacy systems migration or simply on several systems integration. For example, it's great for data and services handling centralization to improve security or just for master data managing. It may not be suited on front-end oriented applications, because BusinessWorks performs better as a back-end agent.
Local testing is not a big problem. Mainly, difficulties are caused by environmental conditions, but there are cases in which TIBCO testers encounter technical obstacles. For example, huge data moles can easily fill virtual machine memory, making it hard to test. These problems do not occur on deployed application, but this is obvious because BusinessWorks testers include visual workflow simulations and other stuff, stressing machines more than normal.
Read Marco Rappa's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO BW a good alternative"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant I use BusinessWorks for almost all my clients. It usually offers a middleware approach for the entire company or their customers. Leveraging existing services or developing new ones, we are capable of quickly and efficiently developing modern integrations. Thanks to the evolution of the product we are capable of either offering on-premise or cloud integration for clients who look for robustness and reliability in their software provider.

TIBCO BusinessWorks is a powerful solution for homogeneous integration with a large choice of connectors and the possibility of developing custom ones.
  • Develop and deploy fast. The drag and drop approach allows experts and beginners to develop consistent services, based on common practices. The latest version of BW offers the possibility of easily integrating DevOps standards (CI/CD)
  • BW contains a lot of standard connectors that enable connection to the majority of applications or services. It's very easy to develop custom adapters that will fit our ad-hoc requirements.
  • With a Java backend and XML knowledge, everyone can quickly ramp up in a BW team.
  • Better Integration with the Big Data world
  • More visibility into features planned for release in future versions
  • Extend the possibility of developing customer adapters in every language running within the JVM (e.g. Scala)
Pros:
  • Development of REST services (TIBCO is following open API standards).
  • Integration of legacy systems (not too old such as mainframe)
  • Short time to market
Cons:
  • Developing batch jobs is out of scope of BW
  • Cost might be a blocker for companies thart don't want to invest too much
  • High volumes of data (big data)
I'm not an expert in this domain, but JUnit is supported. TIBCO should provide better support for such test frameworks or for others.
Read Hugo Romani Cortes's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "The case for BusinessWorks"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Mainly used in the MES department for system integration. Limited use on business system level as yet, with the exception of some business systems being integrated with SAP.

Mainly used for process orchestration during integration. It allows us to use a standardized platform for building, deploying and monitoring our integration solutions.

  • Platform independence, although we are using just MS Windows
  • Powerful, with a great set of components (activities) available, yet also being able to customize and extend according to our needs
  • Runs quite stable within deployment
  • Deployed process can become quite resource intensive, with each deployment running within its own JVM
  • Licensing cost is quite high
  • The version we are using does not yet support newer technologies like REST and JSON natively

We find it is well suited for integration solutions using messaging with XML as protocol.

A possible issue could that it may be used for solutions where BW is not really needed and its power does not come through. We have seen it being used as a tool for moving files around, which it can do but is a waste of the tool's power. It is too expensive to use for such trivial actions.

The development environment includes a testing tool which is quite easy to use. There is no compiling needed as seen from some other vendors. The tester is quite powerful and allows you to test selected processes. It give you debugging options like breakpoints and stepping through the process. At each point in the process you can inspect the data entering and leaving each activity.
Read Elrick du Toit's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Wanna go digital-use tibco"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO BusinessWorks as a common EAI platform to connect multiple system and facilitate information flow. It helps my customer to modernize their IT infrastructure without much disruption to their legacy operations.
  • Less development effort
  • Stable environment
  • Require much less deployment downtime
  • More xslt editing and testing support
  • Need enhanced JSON support
  • Adapter configuration could be simplified
I will prefer TIBCO BusinessWorks when legacy systems need to be integrated. I will probably evaluate other options where REST with JSON connectivity is required.
For testing, you need to rely on external client tools. Not JUnit and other test automation support, partially because it is not based on Eclipse and works differently.
Read Amit Kumar's full review
October 26, 2017

Review: "TIBCO BUSINESSWORKS - More than just an Integration tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BusinessWorks is used in many ways starting from automation of a simple file manipulation, to acting as the primary mediation layer.
  • Zero Coding
  • Fast delivery
  • Robust framework
  • Almost anything can be done
  • Caching of service response
  • Built-in cache support
  • It's still pretty heavy , should be a lightweight product
Ideal for fast development, development of interfaces can be started immediately with minimal knowledge. There is no limitation on the possibilities of use case, it can fit in almost everywhere.
Assertions do help in BusinessWorks 6.X, but the traditional method of integration testing is still a walk in the park with the built-in debug, logs and monitoring tools.
Read Abdul Kader Jailani Haja Mohideen's full review
October 26, 2017

"TIBCO BusinessWorks, Integrate the incompatible"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO BW is used across the whole organization. It is an efficient software to ease the integration process of backend and front-end systems. It supports a wide variety of technology like SAP,Siebel,PeopleSoft,Facebook etc etc. Someone using TIBCO BW does not have to worry about data conversion issues between front-end and back-end systems or incompatible software products. It seamlessly converts the data via the use of XML as a standard.


It is a highly scalable and reliable software that has many supporting technologies like JDBC, JMS, different databases, messaging systems, data conversion system. It is extremely user friendly using the Eclipse UI as a standard and is highly customizable.


It is certainly a leader in the integration software industry.

  • Data conversion
  • Data transfer
  • Integration
  • Can be less heavy on memory use
  • Should be accessible for students for further enhancement
  • Can be expanded for use with more open source products
- Well suited to integrate plugins for any software.
- Process large volume of data in real time
- Suited for data conversion for systems that follow different data conventions
- Suited for cloud deployment

- Not suited for low processing capability systems
TIBCO BW is slightly rigorous to test as there are several UI and runtime components involved for the end to end process of creation and deployment.

Also, stability and concurrent testing has to be extensively done hence is time consuming.
Read Nachiket Kulkarni's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Good Job Tibco BW"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is used to integrate a very large number of streams, which have a sender and recipient both internal and external to the business client.

The software used is TIBCO BusinessWorks and more precisely streams are integrated with EMS, Web Services and Files, for customers in the energy and banking sectors.
  • Flexibility as it is possible to customize flows for any need
  • Compatibility with a large number of drivers
  • Highly customizable
  • SFTP - currently TIBCO has no palette for performing SFTP operations. We have to write custom Java code which does the SFTP operations and then call the Java code from TIBCO.
  • Cloud interaction is not that well explored while using TIBCO BusinessWorks, BC and adapters etc.
  • The RESTful + JSON support is still not too perfect.
Tibco BusinessWorks is very useful for most integration flows, which are basically used by this product in a very comprehensive way, covering many areas of influence. In my domain I try to exploit the software by leveraging all of its potentialities such as EMS, WebService, file transfers via FTP / SFTP or its various oracle database interfaces. Many other integration software products are not so complete and customizable.

TIBCO BusinessWorks 5 has a very simple and useful testing phase unlike the BW 6 where the testing is very tricky. Logging using breakpoints is still very useful as each palette allows you to see in real time the data transmitted in input or output of the palettes to the designer. The testing phase on IBM Sterling for example does not allow you to see all the steps of file transfer and this results in a more complicated debugging phase


Read Domenico Bellifemine's full review
November 14, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks, a New Integration Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses BusinessWorks most to develop finance or energy-related processes, but another group deals with the systémistic part (Installation, Maintenance and Configuration of Environments).
The issues faced for the infrastructure section are property configurations that block the start of the process, and on the development side the issues encountered are on the REST processes.
  • You do not have to learn a new language to be able to develop it.
  • The ability to have a container that can meet my project needs (see Cloud option).
  • Creating services and integrating the visual applications used, developing the "model-driven" environment, then releasing with TIBCO BusinessWorks in runtime.
  • The ability to add a new machine to the domain without having to run commands so you can decide if you want to deploy everything on the new added node
  • You can improve the management of property modules on BusinessStudio
  • You could also improve the part of drag and drop activity on BusinessWorks since in order to add an activity, you must first click and then move inside the process, I find it a very tricky passage.
BusinessWorks can be used to integrate different systems and communicate with each other through processes, as well as simplify process development.
Testing of BusinessWorks processes, the fantastic thing is the ability to directly test the newly developed flow, as well as decide to debug and control the values ​​present in each single activity present in the flow of the process. There are other tools that can be used to test BusinessWorks processes (eg Soap UI, etc ..) but make direct calls to the service without having access to the entire flow of the process.
Read Gabriele Marrocco's full review
November 11, 2017

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BW Man"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Business Work is used to build integration layers based on SOA principles.

Main scenario: Integrate internal source systems based on different technologies with SAP C4C CRM. An event based architecture was built using an In-Only pattern based on XML over JMS. Soap over http services exposed by SAP were easily consumed using the out of the box functionality of the product.
The integration layer was built defining a Canonical Data Model to reduce the number of transformations and simplify the code maintenance.
  • Easy web service development (REST & SOAP)
  • Easy mapping transformations : XML/JSON, XPATH
  • Management of run-time entities
  • Simple deployment
  • Many adapters available
  • Improve Business Studio stability
It's well suited for different design solutions, like :
1) Event based architectures based on XML over JMS
2) Synchronus services implementation based on SOA with SOAP
3) REST stateless rest services
4)Implementation of transformations patterns
5)Microservices development
Unit testing is very simple using the eclipse based business studio IDE.
Debugging info for each transformation, mapping, service invoked is available from the debug tab.
OSGI console is available to debug different issues and get low level informations on applications developed, like bundle,dependencies,etc...
OSGI console can be used also a runtime to debug issues with deployed applications.
Tibco enterprise administrator allow to manage runtime entities in a very simple way.
Read Luca de Falco's full review
November 08, 2017

"TIBCO BusinessWorks Review by Leonardo Cruz Mesa"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is an agile solution for integration needs, allowing you to have real time information for strategic decision making. With TIBCO BW, organizations can take their IT Architectures to an SOA Architecture, allowing them to improve their business processes, and allowing companies to have a digital transformation.
  • It is a product that allows distributed solutions that complies with SOA principles
  • With the principle of non-code, it helps companies have more agility and better understand their processes and fulfill the business objectives.
  • Manage real-time information for new business decision-making strategies
  • There are few customers with the product in my country Colombia. So the potential of the platform is not known.
  • Not much documentation for independent developers.
Agile Platform for SOA Implementation, In strategy of encapsulating legacy systems is the best alternative, It offers different adapters that do not need coding. For horizontal growth scenarios BW is listed, as well as load-balancing or fault-tolerant strategists for business environments that need business continuity to failures. As well as the ceter of monitoring and traceability as security are covered.

BW has one of the easiest and most intuitive testing mechanisms. It allows the tests to be agile on the flows, in this way, it allows identifying the paths that the flow takes with the information, as well as being able to know what information was in each stage of the flow, in order to have a clear solution of errors.
Read Leonardo Cruz's full review
November 07, 2017

Review: "My experience with using TIBCO BusinessWorks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the fact that the project I used TIBCO BusinessWorks on is a secure account and cannot give much information, it is used for the internal business processing of applications submitted by UK citizens all over the world. It is also used for backend processes for an online application. It handles millions of users.
  • It is a very good integration platform. Easily used to model a business process and integrate data sources and services.
  • It is easy to learn and one does not have to learn a different programming language. It provides loads of built-in services that are dragged and dropped to build processes.
  • Deployment of its services are very simple and well managed my the administrator.
  • It integrates very well with other TIBCO software to build more robust development platform.
  • Extension of build-in services/APIs.
  • Improvement could made in its integration with iProcess.
  • Improvement is the information logged by the inbuilt-services in cases of errors.
It is very good in handling business processes. It has worked well for us so far and [I] do not have a scenario where I can say that it is less appropriate.

Test integration flow is relatively simple and compares well with the other products that I have used.
Read Ola Amos's full review

About TIBCO BusinessWorks

TIBCO BusinessWorks™ allows users to quickly and easily connect applications, whether on-premises or in the cloud. The vendor aims to provide efficiency, reliability, and scalability out-of-the-box.

With an easy-to-use drag-and-drop graphical development environment, the goal of TIBCO BusinessWorks is to eliminate the pain and cost of point-to-point application integration, connecting and unifying business processes across applications, data sources, and APIs.

The applications built using TIBCO BusinessWorks give users the freedom to deploy them natively on servers or within the container or PaaS of the user's choice (any platform based on the Docker or Cloud Foundry standards).

TIBCO BusinessWorks Features

Has featureZero Code Graphical Designer
Has featureContainer and PaaS Support
Has featureEnterprise Scale

TIBCO BusinessWorks Screenshots

TIBCO BusinessWorks Video

View this 4-minute whiteboard to learn why integration and choreographing of microservices doesn’t have to be complicated or require highly skilled developers.

TIBCO BusinessWorks Downloadables

TIBCO BusinessWorks Integrations

TIBCO BusinessWorks Competitors

Mulesoft, IBM, Oracle Fusion

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

TIBCO BusinessWorks Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO BusinessWorks Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global