TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/592HM8F7THI8.JPEGTIBCO Good SW easy to useWe have a specilized unit with deep knowledge of the whole Tibco's Suite. We use it to implement mostly the middleware/Integration layer of the clients IT infrastructure.,The strength of Tibco is that it can be easly used by someone who never wrote a line of code. Obviously everything you do with BusinessWorks you can do with Java, but having a Software that can make invisible most of the problems of OOP and can be used just with drag and drop make it easier to teach. I think that for SOA Services is one of the best Integration SW. It can easly handle every kind of comunication. There are many plugins, one for every needs.,I think that it should better implement a test suite. Maybe someting for UnitTest Make the IDE (BW Studio) more customizable,7,Online training In-person training Self-taught,I cannot answer because my role do not include review of business objectives,Yes for sure Tibco visual mode is very useful and speed up every integration develop. Comparing it with other technologies it is much better and easy to use. The only problem is that sometimes, to avoid some bugs or some features that are not implemented yet, we should use java or other sw as workaround. Instead it could be better to have the possibilities of customize the sw under tibco itself.,It is the easiest to use. I've tried many WSO2, JBoss Fuse, Software AG. Nothing compared to TIBCO. Off course for a programmer used to write tons of line code, have it substituted with palettes and datamapping can be difficult to accept at the begin. But what I use to say is: A good programmer will create good Tibco SW if he forget that is not writing code but continue to apply every practice he learned in programming.,The integration test are very easy to perform. I do not see any problems. As i said in the some questions ago, I should consider to improve the 'unit test' part.,Ease of use Integration ProcessIn our organization, my team manages TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks for many years for a good number of integration projects. It allows you to quickly and easily connect applications, with reliability and scalability. Our integration platform is made up of thousands of processes of every kind type (eg. finance, banking, assurance, energy, doc manage, etc..). We are also responsible for maintenance and updates. If the integration platform is easy to use, The project will be more scalable.,Ease of use—Integration activities Short deployment Processes Scalability and extensibility of Projects Drag-and-drop graphical development environment,Energy and Utilities area: we faced situations to respond an increasing demand, and through TIBCO BusinessWorks we reduced costs and job time. Bank Area: through TIBCO BusinessWorks we connected and unified banking business processes across applications and data sources. Finance Area: The integration project was ready to go to production within a realistic timeframe and deploying from development to a running project went smoothly.,8,In-person training Self-taught,Scalability and extensibility Reduced Development Timing,The drag-and-drop graphical development environment saves us time and resources. It is more efficient not only for the development, but also to fix bugs that were developed years ago. This feature does not make you lose lines and lines of code. Business Process Design helps you to understand and remember how a process is working. With activities added to the process you can access data from an adapter service, manipulate the data, and send the data elsewhere. Examples include sending email, querying a database, or adding content to a file.,As data flows through your business process, different activities require different components of the data. On the Input tab of each activity, TIBCO Designer displays the available process data and the activity’s input represented as schema trees. • The process data is the list of available data items within the process at the point where the activity is located (an activity has access to all output data from any activity that is executed before it in the process definition). • The activity input is the list of input values that are required or optional for the activity. For each activity, you map the process data to the activity input.,Once the process definition is complete, you can perform preliminary testing from TIBCO Designer. In test mode, a TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks engine is started to perform the processing specified in the process definition. The testing environment allows you to step through your process models and find sources of errors. The testing environment displays the running process definitions and highlights the currently executing activity.,,easy way to develop easy way to fix process analyze and support better develop and analyst,some way to test simulation with parameters debug way,7,SOAP Web Service Oracle and Postgres DataBase Java Application TIBCO Business Process Model,7TIBCO BusinessWorks ReviewIn my current organization, we are using TIBCO BusinessWorks to integrate wide variety of applications like CRM,Mainframes, ERP, Databases, etc.It addresses application integration, data exchange,data transformation, master data synchronization problems and also acts as mediation layer between business layer and events transformation layer. All applications across the organization interact in one or other way with the TIBCO BusinessWorks applications created and deployed currently.,Ease of development, drag and drop approach helps even a beginner to get up to speed quickly and develop integration workflows Due to zero coding approach, developers are not required to learn any programming language in particular A wide variety of ready made connectors/adapters are available from TIBCO to integrate and connect with other applications and systems like Sibel, SAP, Salesforce, databases, mainframes, etc. Clear demarcation between application development and deployment activities, concepts and architecture Support for SOAP and REST based web services creation ,invocation and consumption High performance at run time,The new TIBCO BusinessWorks series 6.x does not have a simple IDE like TIBCO BusinessWorks 5.x series, the new IDE based on eclipse can be made more user friendly The new TIBCO BusinessWorks does not have as clear and simple demarcation between development,deployment,run time components when compared to 5,x series, this part can be improved More samples and variety of examples depicting real world scenarios can be included to get a better understanding of all concepts,10,High positive impact High Return on Investment Long term cost benefits,Time to market is very quick and one of the fastest when compared to other integration technologies. Zero coding approach, drag and drop approach for creating workflows, testing and debugging capabilities in IDE, high availability and fault tolerance deployment capability for applications, horizontal and vertical scaling capability, high runtime performance over very long periods makes it the best Integration framework.,Data Mapping and Data transformation capabilities are very good and cater to all requirements and scenarios which arise in real world problems,No difficulty, can be easily tested within the development IDE using just few clicks,Mule ESB,For integration with third party vendor's APIs API lifecycle management Integration with cloud native applications,Hosting APIs and microservices on cloud Containerization of applications Business to business integration,9,Salesforce SAP Oracle database IBM MQ Apache Kafka Apache Cassandra,10,250,150,Parcels tracking Suppliers and vendors systems integration RESTful APIs development,9,TIBCO Enterprise Message ServiceTIBCO during age of technology disruptionHaving used TIBCO BusinessWorks as a developer, bug fixer, application support professional, designer, analyst for several implementations in Logistics, Transport, Telecom, Energy & Utilities, Malpractice & Insurance domain, I can bet it's one of best No Code Platforms in the current IT landscape where code management, maintenance and deployment are painful to maintain.,REST/JSON and SOAP support JMS compliance is excellent Less development time if design is well thought out and addressed well for use case,Better integrated testing support CI support is progressing well and needs to be made more flexible and easy to integrate,9,Less number of developers required with respect to any other technology Low code maintenance,TIBCO BusinessWorks is very stable and provides a lot of flexibility to developers compared to other integration technologies which need a lot of code management.,They are quite simpler and state forward to map visually compared to other integration products,It can be integrated well SOAPUI (JMS Hermes). Newer version 6.x has better testing support but can be improved. There's a trade off in new version 6.x vs 5.x for designer based testing during compile time.,Webmethods, Intellio and Mulesoft,Integration with open source tooling for load balancing, high availability at entry points As a data migration tool Lighter layer for entry to CEP implementation Monitoring within an integration tool on small capacity resources or infrastructure,As business layer before message processing by Kafka and integration with kafka for heavy stream of messages,8,All systems in company landscape,8,Yes,During Production incident which occurred due to a hardware failure, one of their most capable staff gave us timely support and we were able to solve problem without business getting affected.,New age microservices, Rest Implementation SOA, ESB, EAI, system integration Code maintainability and ease of deployment,Business Studio is still not at its best. Studio could be better optimised like bw5, streambase Administration could be improved with better support for bwagent. Support for databases for bwagent, documentation is only specific to postgress sequel Editting source code is buggy in latest version like older bw5 version,No,7BusinessWorks overviewTIBCO Business Works is used across the Information Systems Department. It is used as part of the Enterprise Service Bus. It provides web services for accessing data, as well as both publishing data and subscribing to data sources and doing transformations on the data.,It provides a palette which makes it very easy to map data from one format to another and do calculations or transformations as part of the mapping. The pallets make it easy to get different listeners and publishers stood up very quickly. It is easy to deploy and manage on application across multiple machines. It provides consistent code across multiple development teams, as there are code is presented as an activity which is simple dragged and dropped.,In BW 5, there is no native JSON parsing, it must first be converted to XML which adds overhead. Native parsing was just added to BW6. Some settings must be editors in a tea text file, and are not editable as a part of the deployment.,9,Self-taught,It helps us develop integrations quickly and in a relatively readable fashion. It provides a standard set of metrics which can be monitored and queries by TIBCO Hawk, which is valuable by having an integration monitoring standard.,I don’t have experience in other integration technologies outside of doing the code in C++, Java, and python. Business works is definitely faster to get something up and running all it takes is dragging and dropping a few activities, and then dragging and dropping how the data fields should be mapped between activities.,I have not used other integration products, but Tibco is very efficient in its data mapping. One improvement it could use is an interface to help with mapping large data sets. For example, if you have 50 fields and don’t want to just map the parent element, you have to drag and drop all 50 fields individually.,The Business Works debugger allows you to set breakpoints and step through each of the transitions and activities. You can easily view the inputs and outputs at each step. The debugger also allows you to specify data at an entry point. This is useful if you need to test why something in a deployed environment is failing. You can turn on logging there to capture the input message and then run that through the debugger in your local environment.,CA SecureSpan Gateway,100,8,Mapping data Performing data transformations Creating REST APIs,8,Not Sure,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO BusinessWorks
275 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO BusinessWorks Reviews

TIBCO BusinessWorks
275 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 275 vetted TIBCO BusinessWorks reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 120)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Silvio Poma profile photo
December 06, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO Good SW easy to use"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a specilized unit with deep knowledge of the whole Tibco's Suite.

We use it to implement mostly the middleware/Integration layer of the clients IT infrastructure.
  • The strength of Tibco is that it can be easly used by someone who never wrote a line of code. Obviously everything you do with BusinessWorks you can do with Java, but having a Software that can make invisible most of the problems of OOP and can be used just with drag and drop make it easier to teach.
  • I think that for SOA Services is one of the best Integration SW. It can easly handle every kind of comunication.
  • There are many plugins, one for every needs.
  • I think that it should better implement a test suite. Maybe someting for UnitTest
  • Make the IDE (BW Studio) more customizable
As I said, in my experience (I've tried different competitors SW) TIBCO is the best suited SW for SOA integration.

Nowaday the business is moving to a different vision of integration and it's moving from SOA to Microservices.
In this field, TIBCO still have to improve even if with the Container Edition the trend is good.
The integration test are very easy to perform.
I do not see any problems. As i said in the some questions ago, I should consider to improve the 'unit test' part.
Read Silvio Poma's full review
Sebastiano Manzella profile photo
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Ease of use Integration Process"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, my team manages TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks for many years for a good number of integration projects. It allows you to quickly and easily connect applications, with reliability and scalability. Our integration platform is made up of thousands of processes of every kind type (eg. finance, banking, assurance, energy, doc manage, etc..). We are also responsible for maintenance and updates. If the integration platform is easy to use, The project will be more scalable.
  • Ease of use—Integration activities
  • Short deployment Processes
  • Scalability and extensibility of Projects
  • Drag-and-drop graphical development environment
  • Energy and Utilities area: we faced situations to respond an increasing demand, and through TIBCO BusinessWorks we reduced costs and job time.
  • Bank Area: through TIBCO BusinessWorks we connected and unified banking business processes across applications and data sources.
  • Finance Area: The integration project was ready to go to production within a realistic timeframe and deploying from development to a running project went smoothly.
Short deployment cycle processes are the best choice for an integration project for lots of reasons. Through TIBCO. BusinessWorks you could connect process to Database or simply Soap Request so the project will be flexible and adaptable and you can potentially adapt it to multiple activities. Of course, it is not used for long deployment running processes (see TIBCO. Active Matrix).


Once the process definition is complete, you can perform preliminary testing from TIBCO Designer. In test mode, a TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks engine is started to perform the processing specified in the process definition. The testing environment allows you to step through your process models and find sources of errors. The testing environment displays the running process definitions and highlights the currently executing activity.
Read Sebastiano Manzella's full review
Ashish Shrivastava profile photo
November 28, 2018

"TIBCO BusinessWorks Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current organization, we are using TIBCO BusinessWorks to integrate wide variety of applications like CRM,Mainframes, ERP, Databases, etc.It addresses application integration, data exchange,data transformation, master data synchronization problems and also acts as mediation layer between business layer and events transformation layer.

All applications across the organization interact in one or other way with the TIBCO BusinessWorks applications created and deployed currently.
  • Ease of development, drag and drop approach helps even a beginner to get up to speed quickly and develop integration workflows
  • Due to zero coding approach, developers are not required to learn any programming language in particular
  • A wide variety of ready made connectors/adapters are available from TIBCO to integrate and connect with other applications and systems like Sibel, SAP, Salesforce, databases, mainframes, etc.
  • Clear demarcation between application development and deployment activities, concepts and architecture
  • Support for SOAP and REST based web services creation ,invocation and consumption
  • High performance at run time
  • The new TIBCO BusinessWorks series 6.x does not have a simple IDE like TIBCO BusinessWorks 5.x series, the new IDE based on eclipse can be made more user friendly
  • The new TIBCO BusinessWorks does not have as clear and simple demarcation between development,deployment,run time components when compared to 5,x series, this part can be improved
  • More samples and variety of examples depicting real world scenarios can be included to get a better understanding of all concepts

Suited:


1. Application Integration and Data Transformation


3. Enterprise Service and SOA implementation


5. collect information from different components and analyse the data for reporting or future analysis.


6. Publication of data on demand and subscription and real time updating of data


7. As a facade to events processing layer applications


8. Microservices implementation


9. API integration


10. Cloud and Internet of Things integration

No difficulty, can be easily tested within the development IDE using just few clicks
Read Ashish Shrivastava's full review
Vivek Kumar profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO during age of technology disruption"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having used TIBCO BusinessWorks as a developer, bug fixer, application support professional, designer, analyst for several implementations in Logistics, Transport, Telecom, Energy & Utilities, Malpractice & Insurance domain, I can bet it's one of best No Code Platforms in the current IT landscape where code management, maintenance and deployment are painful to maintain.
  • REST/JSON and SOAP support
  • JMS compliance is excellent
  • Less development time if design is well thought out and addressed well for use case
  • Better integrated testing support
  • CI support is progressing well and needs to be made more flexible and easy to integrate
More stress should be on application integration than application development.
It can be integrated well SOAPUI (JMS Hermes). Newer version 6.x has better testing support but can be improved. There's a trade off in new version 6.x vs 5.x for designer based testing during compile time.
Read Vivek Kumar's full review
Mark Marwil profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks overview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Business Works is used across the Information Systems Department. It is used as part of the Enterprise Service Bus. It provides web services for accessing data, as well as both publishing data and subscribing to data sources and doing transformations on the data.
  • It provides a palette which makes it very easy to map data from one format to another and do calculations or transformations as part of the mapping.
  • The pallets make it easy to get different listeners and publishers stood up very quickly.
  • It is easy to deploy and manage on application across multiple machines.
  • It provides consistent code across multiple development teams, as there are code is presented as an activity which is simple dragged and dropped.
  • In BW 5, there is no native JSON parsing, it must first be converted to XML which adds overhead. Native parsing was just added to BW6.
  • Some settings must be editors in a tea text file, and are not editable as a part of the deployment.
It is well suited for moving data from single/multiple destinations to single/multiple other destinations. It is especially well suited when the data is well defined and has an existing schema.
The Business Works debugger allows you to set breakpoints and step through each of the transitions and activities. You can easily view the inputs and outputs at each step. The debugger also allows you to specify data at an entry point.

This is useful if you need to test why something in a deployed environment is failing. You can turn on logging there to capture the input message and then run that through the debugger in your local environment.
Read Mark Marwil's full review
Luca de Falco profile photo
December 03, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BW Man"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Business Work is used to build integration layers based on SOA principles.

Main scenario: Integrate internal source systems based on different technologies with SAP C4C CRM. An event based architecture was built using an In-Only pattern based on XML over JMS. Soap over http services exposed by SAP were easily consumed using the out of the box functionality of the product.
The integration layer was built defining a Canonical Data Model to reduce the number of transformations and simplify the code maintenance.
  • Easy web service development (REST & SOAP)
  • Easy mapping transformations : XML/JSON, XPATH
  • Management of run-time entities
  • Simple deployment
  • Many adapters available
  • One IDE for 3 different runtimes (On Premises, Container, Cloud)
  • Improve Business Studio stability
It's well suited for different design solutions, like :
1) Event based architectures based on XML over JMS
2) Synchronus services implementation based on SOA with SOAP
3) REST stateless rest services
4)Implementation of transformations patterns
5)Microservices development
Unit testing is very simple using the eclipse based business studio IDE.
Debugging info for each transformation, mapping, service invoked is available from the debug tab.
OSGI console is available to debug different issues and get low level informations on applications developed, like bundle,dependencies,etc...
OSGI console can be used also a runtime to debug issues with deployed applications.
Tibco enterprise administrator allow to manage runtime entities in a very simple way.
Read Luca de Falco's full review
Salah BENAMIRA profile photo
November 29, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO BW : The rolls royce of integration solutions"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is used as an integration layer in my organization. It resolves all problems to transport data (file, ftp, Web service, API...) inside our organization or with our partners.
  • Quick developement
  • Quick deployment
  • Easy monitoring
  • Easy scaling
  • API Rest and JSON tools are not natively available in the designer V5
  • Sometimes the mapping tab presents some bugs (for example : if statement)
  • Maven cannot be used to build TIBCO BusinessWorks projects
All integration problems can be quickly and easily solved with TIBCO BusinessWorks.
In designing step, the test is very simple. But when the flows are deployed, it is so difficult to debug.
Read Salah BENAMIRA's full review
Joshua Moesa profile photo
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks: "Interconnect everything fast and accurate"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is our main platform for enterprise application Integration within the logistics domain. We successfully implemented integration solutions using the ESB pattern (soapatterns.org) , supporting our core operational processes like parcel sorting. Right now we are in the process of transforming the platform into a cloud native microservices architecture which is feasible mainly due to the zero-code capabilities of the development toolkit.
  • Zero-code development. Model driven which makes it more easy to explain integration solutions to less technical stakeholders.
  • A lot of configuration options to make robust solutions. Think of fault-tolerance, loadbalancing, session pooling etc.
  • Openness so it van be integrated in your own CI/CD pipeline.
  • The (Java fat client) UI of BW5 feels outdated compared to current user interface standards. Successor BW6 is Eclipse based and allthough it's an improvement you still need to cope with the ux quirks. In the future I would like to see a webbased UI.
  • The BW process development tools heavily lean on XML and Xpath. Therefore, processing big documents isn't recommended. You need to consider this upfront.
  • Due to the ease of use of the development tools, you can build robust solutions very quickly. It would be nice if the tooling would provide optimization tips during development.
  • Docker base image of BusinessWorks Container Edition is quite big.
Well suited in environments where solving business or domain problems fast and efficiently is more important than coding a state-of-the-art technical solution. Less suited in organizations that are on a small budget.
Debugging your process flows works very nice. It doesn't kill productivity in the sense that the UI responds as expected. You need to assign enough system memory though. What I miss is a ootb unit testing capability where you can for example use assertions. Newest BWCE version has advanced its unit testing capability which can be integrated into your CI/CD pipeline which improves software quality.
Read Joshua Moesa's full review
yixiang Shan profile photo
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks: "Tibco BW is relatively a very good product for implementing the Enterprise/Corporate level backend data processing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At FedEx EMEA, TIBCO BusinessWorks is used in many IT departments; it is used to address the data consuming/consolidation and distribution of the enterprise data. It is also used to build the SOAP based enterprise service. It is connected with the TIBCO EMS based enterprise messaging main bus, and it persists the transformed data into the various data sources, for example Oracle RAC, IMDG and Cassandra NoSQL.
  • The main strength of Tibco BusinessWorks is the seamless integration of development/testing/deployment.
  • The learning curve of Tibco BusinessWorks Designer is not so steep, which helps to achieve a quick to the market strategy.
  • The many levels configuration overriding possibility makes the solution flexible.
  • The RESTful + JSON support is still not too perfect.
  • The integration with the native self-developed Java modules is still lacking general framework support.
  • It's too flexible to override the configuration properties on domain/engine/process/server levels and sometimes causes project management and maintenance problems.
Back-end data transformation/enhancement and processing are the best scenarios where Tibco BusinessWorks is suited. Service development is too much of an over-kill scenario.
I would like to define the level of difficulty as medium.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Alex Kipkirui profile photo
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "A land of TIBCO Masters"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as the primary ESB solution in the whole organization to address system integration needs. For any new project requiring integration across several systems, we use BusinessWorks to create the needed integration functionalities.
  • Tibco EMS is a very fast and robust solution to assist in processing a huge number of messages and guaranteeing a very high throughput.
  • Ease of deploying a Tibco BusinessWorks project from development to production. It is almost zero deployment time.
  • BusinessWorks designer is easy and intuitive to use.
  • low code platform and therefore much reduced time to market
  • TIBCO has a very strong innovation wing together with strong presence in the market
  • SFTP - currently TIBCO has no palette for performing SFTP operations. We have to write custom Java code which does the SFTP operations and then call the Java code from TIBCO.
  • provision for a palette for performing smpp connections
1.Creation of any web service - Tibco BusinessWorks is suitable for creating any soap/restful API

Less Appropriate scenarios:
- Calling a target service which has no properly defined soap action and has generic schema APIs- this requires a lot of XSLT transformation and calling the target API using send HTTP request palette.This is quite complex and requires quite some skill in Tibco and may not be achieved by a junior developer
Testing in TIBCO is quite simple compared to Oracle SOA. In TIBCO, you can easily trace the data flows and see where it is failing in flight. This is not possible with Oracle SOA.

TIBCO also provides tools like RTView to provide real-time monitoring and interrogate components within the TIBCO project that have performance degradation.
Read Alex Kipkirui's full review
Juan Francisco Tavira profile photo
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks overview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO BusinessWorks across many business cases integrating major systems, many times with BPM applications.
Nowadays we also enjoy the benefits of Businessworks 6 Container Edition on our cloud environments.
  • Performance is awesome
  • Greatest Stability
  • Easy to migrate to higher versions
  • Cloud deployments have room to improve
Real time processing.
Complex processing and multi source data integration.
The different available plug-ins allows to a plethora of integrations, albeit many of them require licensing.
Testing and mockup is a part of the development environment, albeit you have to be careful in Production where error tracking may be not so easy.
Read Juan Francisco Tavira's full review
Ilham AB profile photo
November 28, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO BusinessWorks is SOLID"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks has been used since my current company was opened. We adopt the best practice of the industry for Telecommunication, especially from TM Forum standard. The necessity for integration is mandatory for the Telco company. Especially when we as a company must follow ESB implementation. With TIBCO BW, the company can provide the integration project ready to be used and shorten the time to market process.
The capability of this software to sync the real data across multiple network elements is one of the key factors. Another success story is the API Management feature that provides convenience for configurable parameters and eases to maintain. In terms of performance, it is proven to be powerful.
  • Powerful as per our performance measurement. Supporting for high TPS.
  • Can be running for virtualization. So we don't have any dependency on the physical server anymore and flexibility to add more capacity.
  • Coding Maintainability, it can be integrated with some plugins to provide tools for avoiding any technical defect on the fly.
  • Adding more plugins and tools for monitoring.
  • Older versions of this software should have an update to support recent integration and API technology i.e. REST and JSON.
  • It should have a flexible licensing scheme.
TIBCO BusinessWorks will be working well for System integration using SOAP or XML, for a product that has a short time to market, asynchronous flow, the transaction of high TPS traffic, and real-time transaction. The real-time transaction is most suitable using this tool.

But not suitable for: Batch transaction and Offline Data
It is very easy to create the flow for SIT and UAT test case. Also, if a bug is found, then fixes can be done faster.
The mapping details and the flow configuration are easy to be created and managed. It supports all the test cases required by the end customer.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Jeremy Patag profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Making an Impact on FedEx Business Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO BusinessWorks here at FedEx for enterprise monitoring and reporting of historical and real-time business performance. That statement accurately represents the BW usage in my immediate group. Other teams in my department (FedEx Services) use BW to provide services to other applications across the enterprise. Expounding on its use in my group, BW realizes our business rules. The first application I used it for, as an example, examined 13 months of raw, historical shipment data from a TeraData database. Hovering in the billions of rows worth of data, handing it straight to Spotfire was a moot point. This is where I used BW to apply business rules on and continuously aggregate the data into more condensed, meaningful Oracle tables.
  • BusinessWorks' greatest, obvious strength (to me) is the development process of, essentially, creating UML-diagram-looking processes that actually serve as your code/implementation as well.
  • Another great strength of BusinessWorks is its ability to integrate well with custom Java code or libraries. This adds tremendous amounts of flexibility to what BusinessWorks can accomplish for your application.
  • In 5.x, the test mode becomes unresponsive at times. I don't really have details on this issue, but I'm quite certain it is memory related.
I would recommend BusinessWorks if simple, rapid development is needed. A great example would be a quick job that needs to be run on a schedule.

I would not use BusinessWorks for creating a web application.
Level of difficulty is not difficult at all. I like how tests are just as easy to stand-up as the processes themselves.
Read Jeremy Patag's full review
Atul Gupta profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO Integrations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO BusinessWorks (BW) for providing integration solutions across legacy applications, ERP, CRM and upcoming mobile business solutions. We are also planning to enhance the data layer and REST APIs for a cloud application. TIBCO BW can help us bridge the gaps in the data layer and provide a common integration platform for internal and external applications.
  • Common Integration Platform
  • REST APIs
  • Consolidated Data Layer
  • Data Feed to Analytics
  • Streamlined data access
  • Development should be more intuitive
  • IDE can be improved
Well suited for integrations with multiple data silos, indifferent technology platforms and hybrid environments.
Testing is less painful compared to standard .net solutions
Read Atul Gupta's full review
Kripesh Kutty profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Best tool for Integration projects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used enterprise-wide. It integrated all the core and non-core systems in our organization.
  • Solutions built with BusinessWorks are flexible
  • Learning curve is not too steep
  • Seamless integration, development, testing and deployment
  • Reduce time to market for any deliverable
  • I would like the design time to improve and match that of the designer. The newer versions are getting better.
  • Would like to have web app development and deployment possible through BusinessWorks design time like we had with AMSG.
When workflows come into the project then it's less effective as we have to depend on the BPM product. It would be good if everything can be integrated into one as the licensing costs of maintaining all of it is huge. It's well suited for any integration, the variety of connectors and adapters it has makes it easier to integrate with any system.
It's easier to test any integration component built with BusinessWorks.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
James Glisson II profile photo
November 12, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Appears to be a good product, but poor support, and not enough documentation, examples, and explanations"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to send API data to the signs in our MARTA train stations. The data is being sent with the FTL application.
  • It does help eliminate the need for writing a lot code.
  • It makes it easier to connect to and use data from databases.
  • The support is terrible. It would be better if they had a book that describes how the pallets work with detailed examples. This would make the product easier to learn. The harder the product is, the less likely people will fight to learn it, especially for the price.
I don't highly recommend it because it's difficult getting help or support. So they will be less likely to want to learn how to use the product.
Since I am only doing simple things in TIBCO like moving files, connecting to databases, my testing is extremely simple. Right now, it's just a major effort to get the process to work.
Read James Glisson II's full review
Dibyajit Chatterjee profile photo
September 10, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Integration? Nothing Better than BusinessWorks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The complete Integration of Ingram Micro is using Business Works. It is the heart of Ingram Micro. From ordering to pricing and availability, transport management system, warehouse management.
So complete ordering system is using Business works and 75 % of Ingram Micro revenue goes through our integration platform using BW.
  • EAI
  • B2B integration.
  • Micro service and also SOA enabled implementation.
  • Migration of 5.x to 6.x should be easy. It is currently like doing complete new projects.
  • There should be more in built plugins rather having to buy each and every plugin separately.
Any integration within your organization. It can contribute either way with whatever complexity the integration is.
I feel BusinessWorks should have the ability to do mock-ups and have the ability of an out-of-the-box regression facility. Its unit testing is easy to perform.
Read Dibyajit Chatterjee's full review
Elisa Andujar profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BusinessWorks can do it all!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BusinessWorks is the answer to how we can standardize our integration in the future. It's a big piece of the TIBCO infrastructure that we plan to run our company on. It not only works well, it does it in the best way possible.
  • Messaging
  • Transact SQL
  • Custom Java APIs
  • REST
  • Excel
  • Visibility and Recovery
Anything integration
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
Krishna Gurram profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "TIBCO BW saves the day!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at US Bank use TIBCO Business Works as a middleware tool. It is used as the main integration tool for systems like DB, mainframe messaging and connecting to third-party APIs.
  • BW helps create web services pretty easily
  • BW works well with almost all messaging protocols especially JMS/EMS
  • Packaging projects for deployment is effortless
  • REST API in 5.X needs improvment
TIBCO is all around an amazing middleware tool.
Creating testing stubs is pretty quick and effective in TIBCO BW. It's easy to create on the fly unit testing scenarios.
Read Krishna Gurram's full review
Tejas Modi profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Consultant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are implementing TIBCO BusinessWorks for our customers for setting up a CoRR foundation supporting API, and for Microservices on Cloud platforms with support for containerization.
  • Very strong in messaging
  • Unique platform which supports Microservices and Cloud with enterprise integration
  • Extended support and OOTB integration with APIM platforms and Event processing
  • OOTB Analytics support on integration BW
  • Upgrade from BW 5 to 6 is difficult for customers, which requires redesigning and sometimes re-coding the Integrations to support containers. Need to make it easy
Appropriate for hybrid and Cloud integration
Integration testing in better for developers in Boomi and other products. Developers need to be able to test integrations on any machine and not just on their dedicated laptops
Read Tejas Modi's full review
Srinivasa Rao Velineni profile photo
September 03, 2018

"TIBCO BusinessWorks Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO BusinessWorks in the whole organization. TIBCO BusinessWorks helped us to integrate with various applications at our company. It is a good enterprise integration platform.
  • Nice graphical user interface and works on any platform. Easy to develop/deploy for a programmer.
  • BusinessWorks is forward and backward compatible.
  • It would be helpful to get more plugins (e.g SFTP/REST Plugin) out of the box.
Well suited with enterprise integration with various systems. It might not appropriate for small companies.
Very easy to debug/deploy.
Read Srinivasa Rao Velineni's full review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "Good product with few areas of improvement"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is used at the project account level in the organization I am working in. With TIBCO BusinessWorks, integrating various applications is easy. Also, it helps reduce rework whenever an integrated application gets upgraded or modified.

Development and maintenance work are much easier when compared to integrations made with programming languages like Java. Even people with average skills can understand this tool within one month. I recommend every organization use TIBCO for integration when the main concern is quick development.
  • User-friendly Tool
  • Implementing new business functionality with TIBCO is quick when compared to java
  • Easy maintenance
  • Secure
  • Additional custom activities like word search and replace
Appropriate for integrating applications like mainframe and SharePoint( Webservice).

Inappropriate for data flow via a GUI, where the request flows through an ESB that fetches info from a DB. Because I see some organization uses TIBCO BusinessWorks for reconciliation portal implementation, where BusinessWorks is not the best choice.
While doing unit testing at designer level, if provision to generate automated reports is provided, it helps significantly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "BW from prem to cloud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BusinessWorks is a must for every integration scenario. Being cloud native makes it ideal for on-premises (Business Works 6), on cloud (TIBCO Cloud Integration) or hybrid architectures (Business Works Container Edition).
  • API Implementation
  • Seamless XML/JSON mappings
  • Large set of connectors
  • It would be great to have application templates to further speed-up prototyping and standardized developments
Very well suited for APIs, WebServices orchestration, mapping, enrichment. It also has nice monitoring capabilities.
Testing goes from internal testing via JUnit, not endpoint testing via JMeter or SOAPUI. But don’t forget that you may not need any of those. BW6 provides an automatic testing facility via swagger.io.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "TIBCO BusinessWorks is great middleware"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is used as a middleware between components of the information system. It's being used by our development department to provide the solutions for our clients with complex information system architectures. So, we develop some web services as per as the requirements, and we deploy its in their environment and provide support.
  • Transform Data (Mapping)
  • Ensure the routing
  • It's used for joining some systems or applications developed on different technologies
  • Systems integration
  • SOA Implementation
  • Service quality
  • Transparency of process
  • Maintainability
it is very easy to use and fast. From the designer where it's developed, and then the deployment in administration, every thing is so easy and fast.
Currently we use out-of-the-box designer testing features to do the unit test by the developers. Sometimes, we use SOAP UI for the system testing purpose as well. And in integration testing and performance testing, LISA is being used along with other testing software. I can't determine if there is any testing tool with which BW can't be tested.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

TIBCO BusinessWorks Review: "A full featured tool of yesterday; lacking in automation, testing and support."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO BusinessWorks is being used to integrate a wide variety of tools across all of our units of business.
  • Ease of connecting platforms that use different communication methods.
  • Quick to learn designer interface.
  • Resilience of business data through the use of JMS.
  • Limited support for continuous integration and automated deployment tools.
  • Very limited options for integration testing.
  • The designer tool has a very poor user experience. Lots of basic functionalities that I've come to expect when using tools in the Windows ecosystem are missing.
  • A number of bugs and error codes require reaching out to TIBCO Support due to the limited availability of documentation.
TIBCO BusinessWors is definitely well suited where you need the ability to provide a large number of solutions quickly, which is largely due to the ease of developing with its interface. It provides you a very high level to development and operations. Where it is less appropriate is when you are using a wide range of open source tools, including most continuous integration and automated development tools.
Regrettably, TIBCO BusinessWorks does not offer many options in terms of testing. We use TIBUnit for automated testing, and SmartBear's ReadyAPI for simulating SOAP / REST calls. The tester interface is a nice to have when watching the flow of data through when testing / troubleshooting, but that requires taking the application off the Server and running it locally; more of a reactive approach. When developing code in other platforms it feels as though the IDE's were developed with testing as a core functionality in mind. With TIBCO BusinessWorks, it feels more like an afterthought.
Read this authenticated review

About TIBCO BusinessWorks

TIBCO BusinessWorks™ allows users to quickly and easily connect applications, whether on-premises or in the cloud. The vendor aims to provide efficiency, reliability, and scalability out-of-the-box.

With an easy-to-use drag-and-drop graphical development environment, the goal of TIBCO BusinessWorks is to eliminate the pain and cost of point-to-point application integration, connecting and unifying business processes across applications, data sources, and APIs.

The applications built using TIBCO BusinessWorks give users the freedom to deploy them natively on servers or within the container or PaaS of the user's choice (any platform based on the Docker or Cloud Foundry standards).

TIBCO BusinessWorks Features

Has featureZero Code Graphical Designer
Has featureContainer and PaaS Support
Has featureEnterprise Scale

TIBCO BusinessWorks Screenshots

TIBCO BusinessWorks Video

View this 4-minute whiteboard to learn why integration and choreographing of microservices doesn’t have to be complicated or require highly skilled developers.

TIBCO BusinessWorks Downloadables

TIBCO BusinessWorks Integrations

TIBCO BusinessWorks Competitors

Mulesoft, IBM, Oracle Fusion

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

TIBCO BusinessWorks Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO BusinessWorks Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global