TIBCO Data Virtualization Reviews

32 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 16, 2021
Jim Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Data Virtualization to combine transactional data from our warehouse and Azure Cloud solution with different Marketing data sources.
  • Connecting to traditional relational databases.
  • Administration and setting up new data sources.
  • Managing users and access.
  • The user interface is lacking.
  • Compared to competitors such as Domo, there are no incorporated analytics.
  • First-time setup is somewhat burdensome.
It would depend on the depth of their analytics team. Because competitors have some predetermined analytics tools, especially for marketing, there are some disadvantages in TIBCO. However, an analytics user will appreciate the data flexibility and underlying power in Data Virtualization.
There was very little installation support other than their online guides. Installation videos would have been more productive. But once installed it had good support.
Read Jim Putnam's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[TIBCO Data Virtualization] is used across the whole company as a central repository of data. We use it to connect to all of our primary data sources and manipulate that data to provide spotfire with clean data connections. TDV also allows us to join different data sources together so that we can analyze data that is not natively found in one system. We also use a fair amount of caching in [TIBCO Data Virtualization] so that data pulls into spotfire are more efficient.
  • Data management: being able to pull and manipulate massive amounts of data in real time makes analysis much easier
  • Availability of data connectors: we can connect to virtually any data source, including databases, APIs, flat files, and other web sources.
  • Caching: storing standard data pulls in memory means better performance when that data is used in other sources
  • seamless connection to spotfire means getting data into spotfire for analysis a breeze
  • We did have some issues with API authentication in the past that slowed down our progress on some data, but that was eventually rectified with the latest version of TDV
  • Price: we use TDV exclusively to push data into spotfire, but we did investigate if we could use it to push to other systems (excel, power BI, etc.) The cost to push to spotfire is incredibly economical, but scaling to push to other systems was too much for us.
  • Not exactly user friendly. a strong db/sql background is pretty much essential to use TDV to the level it should be,
If you use spotfire, [TIBCO Data Virtualization] is pretty much essential to manage the data coming in. Information links in spotfire to [TIBCO Data Virtualization] makes data analysis so much easier. And it means that someone can work with all that data in spotfire without needed the background in database management to pull that information. We have not used it for anything other than spotfire, so I [can't] comment on how well it would work integrating with other systems.
We have not needed support for [TIBCO Data Virtualization] very often, so this is based on a very small sample size. We were having trouble authenticating against an API in [TIBCO Data Virtualization]. It turns out that the authentication functionality we needed to use was not in the version of [TIBCO Data Virtualization] we were using. Support was friendly and responded very quickly, and we were able to develop a workaround. The next version of [TIBCO Data Virtualization] had the functionality we needed, and it was a simple upgrade to get that functionality.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have begun utilizing Data Virtualization while implementing a Data Governance framework. We are in the initial phases of implementation presently. The goal will be to use Data Virtualization across the organization for consumption of data. It will allow us to pull together disparate data sources, transform data when needed, push the data to downstream TIBCO products (ex: Clarity, EBX), ingest the data into an on-premise data warehouse, and reflect the data back to end users.
  • User interface is straight-forward and easy.
  • Ability to connect to data sources is not difficult.
  • Implementation has been seamless.
  • Setup of security is difficult within the tool, as there are nuances.
Data Virtualization is well-suited to redirect users to a single application and/or data source for reporting needs. It can be integrated with other toolsets offered by the vendor, but other 3rd party applications as well. It can address business logic and data governance issues. The primary conflict we have had is when to use Data Virtualization versus TIBCO Clarity.
TIBCO Support is a great resource. They assume ownership, are responsive, and are able to resolve issues effectively.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our IT team and it helps to make access to data faster as well to integrate different databases.
  • Help in reusing data easily.
  • Help in integrating different databases.
  • Allows for more time to analyze the data.
  • A cleaner interface.
  • More clarifications or help options.
Well suited for organizations that have disparate data sources in traditional and cloud platforms - to tie them together. Less appropriate for businesses that have cleaner data to begin with.
Friendly people and helpful staff.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We resell this software but in most cases we actively use on customer's behalf. That means creating content for customer's end users who consume that from TDV.
  • Fast federated queries from different data sources.
  • Optimization of data queries from different data sources.
  • Linkage of data flow.
  • A little bit obsolete design of UI.
Well suited - company wants to query data from different data sources. If they use mostly one data base, then other tools are good enough to handle this.
TIBCO has good and responsive support in case some issues arise.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is being used by the analyst team in our organization. Currently, we have data in multiple sources. We are using TIBCO Data Virtualization to connect to all different data sources and queries against the different data sources. We didn't go with the traditional method of data warehousing, because we didn't want to duplicate the data, so we started using TIBCO Data Virtualization to avoid duplication.
  • Reduce duplication of data
  • Easy to use and run queries on different data sources
  • It is versatile but it also makes it quite complex if you haven't already thought it out fully before you start writing the views.
  • Performance is highly dependent on queries used
We started using TIBCO recently. We have multiple data sources that we want to connect and run queries. We are still exploring the tool and learning new things every day. So far I have learned one thing, it is extremely important to plan ahead on how the query is going to be and from where it is going to fetch the data.
They have very good customer support; their response is quick. Whenever I raise a support ticket they are quick enough to respond to our ticket and resolve the issue.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2018
Sofie Hönen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Cloetta’s data was mainly stored in an enterprise data warehouse (EDW). The time needed to make new data available for reporting through the EDW was relatively long. Local and external data comes in high volumes, is scattered in many parts or objects, and is unstructured. The business expects a fast time to solution, thus eventually data needs to be retrieved in real time.

The business was manually creating reports, which was time consuming, inefficient, exposed to errors, and sometimes impossible due to large amounts of data. Data and reports were not readily available for everyone who needed them.

Cloetta wanted to find a way to combine global, local, internal, and external data into one comprehensive report. The limited number of users on some of these reports required that any solution be cost-efficient.

  • Faster Time to Solution
  • We can combine new data that we made available through data virtualization with the data that we had before in the enterprise data warehouse. It’s a strong combination.
  • No integrated version management and no possibility for tem based development (with check-out and check-in)
  • Performance, more out of the box query optimization
  • 'Type ahead' and auto correction / detection of table and field names on script is not there, so requires ot of maual / textual work

Well suited to read data from Excel files, although to set up an efficient and error-proof process it requires you to create a foundation and that is quite time consuming, but once it's there, it works well.

Solution is structured nicely in a folder hierarchy.

Less apppropriate when you need to add a lot of business logic to the data, if you need to enrich the data. Such logic is hard to implement and slows down a lot.

Less appropriate for creating real-time insights, caching or storing on database is almost always required to get good performance.


Read Sofie Hönen's full review
November 24, 2018
Erik Fransen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have been involved with reselling and implementing TIBCO Data Virtualization since 2014, when it was still owned by Cisco. Since November 2017 we have been reselling and implementing TIBCO Data Virtualization under the new TIBCO partnership. Numerous organizations, all with challenges around data management and analytics (complex data engineering, replication of data getting out of control, compliance and regulations that cannot be met anymore and long time-to-market for Analytical solutions as data is not easy to find, integrate, enrich and use), selected TIBCO Data Virtualization to make any data available, in a secure, fast and flexible way, for analytics. While leveraging the existing data solutions like data warehouses, data lakes and data services. The virtual layers approach makes it very easy to make any data available in any form or structure that is needed. The API-interface makes it possible to integrate TIBCO Data Virtualization in an existing data architecture.
  • Rich data connectivity and intelligent analysis to discover explicit and implicit relations between data in various sources.
  • Intelligent and rich query optimization algorithms to minimize pressure on source systems and make use of the performance enhancements capabilities of the source systems.
  • There is one version of the TDV- tool that holds all functionality. No additional licenses needed, everything is included.
  • MPP-functionality (TDV 8.0.0) makes automatic query distribution over large (big data) clusters possible and guarantees very high performance with querying 100's of millions of rows.
  • The TDV Studio application combines the use of ANSI-SQL (you can script for more complex tasks) with a graphical user interface for modeling the data layers, both supporting fast development of data and web services. TDV Server is a complete package with all the enterprise grade functionality an organization may need.
  • We would love to see an upgrade of the general look-and-feel of the user interface.
TIBCO Data Virtualization is very well suited for scenarios in which various data sources, on-premise or in the cloud, should be accessible, integrated and published for use by analytical users or other applications. It is not a replacement for the data warehouse, nor is it an MDM-tool or data lifecycle management solution on its own.

Read Erik Fransen's full review
December 22, 2018
Lenin Babu Madala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization mainly to manage reporting security, where TDV is providing its best native functionality and ease of implementing
  • Security
  • Flexibility
  • Access to multiple data sources
  • SSO user identification and mapping
  • enable logging at user/Query level
  • Purging idle sessions functionality
If we have multiple reporting and Data warehouses/Databases, TDV is a good tool that overcomes the database Vs Reporting tool limitations and provides access to a variety of data sources
Read Lenin Babu Madala's full review
September 07, 2018
Elisa Andujar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used by a department but with the goal to take it company wide. Our current architecture map includes a vast set of databases with specific audiences. Having all these in one place to manage would make my group's life easier.
  • Group multiple data clusters together
  • Have a common point of access for information
  • Ease of system maintenance
  • User friendliness
  • Data cleansing features
  • Collaboration
Well suited for our needs since we are a smaller organisation with limited resources.

Data cleansing features before virtualisation features would need to be added.
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
December 07, 2017
Micaiah Kaseke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It combines different data sources into a single virtual layer and multiple databases can be integrated into a single business customized application. It promotes easy data access and management and it helps in minimizing costs by not having items that you won't need.
  • For insurance companies, it is easy to link the client's bank account with the insurance company database
  • Service Level Agreements such as product licenses can be linked with the companies employee databases
  • Helpdesk Systems are easy to manage since one interface can provide information from multiple company databases that are related to a single account
  • Sales and Marketing departments can make an assessment of their penetration level and environmental analysis
  • Hospitals need Databases if the client has gone through multiple specialists and I think it'll be better if you add specialized platforms that are on centered for the health industry
  • Businesses that are in partnership need to share resources and Accounting information e.g software development,
  • Manufacturing industries to administer environmental climate changes in business analysis
I recommend Cisco Data Virtualization mainly in the Health industry because in multiple treatments medical doctors require previous records that the client's illness and the medication that he/she was given from different specialists or hospitals, and that would call for a database integration from different surgeries and hospitals. They need to get into a single interface with the reports of the XRAYs, scans etc in just one click that would save time for inquiries.
Read Micaiah Kaseke's full review
May 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Allows integration of data sources of various types from different departments, so that it can be accessed without actual retrieval of data.
  • Drag and drop feature.
  • The large variety of data source adapters.
  • Works with Spotfire for analytics.
  • Cost.
  • Sometimes not as easy to deploy as expected.
The drag and drop feature makes it very visual for combining elements across various data sources, and with that, the plethora of data adapters make that straightforward. If your organization uses other TIBCO products like Spotfire, they will work well together. Otherwise, it can be pricey. Sometimes it is also not as easy to deploy as expected.
It has a drag-and-drop feature and a good list of data adapters which makes it easy to thread across elements of various data sources.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within several departments and supports several use cases. It's also used asa real-time federated query engine. Another operation - periodically refreshed cache, primarily database-based cache. It is also used for prototyping in ETL projects. It is also used for provisioning of data from systems of record, systems of origin and other authorized data sources to downstream applications and data marts.
  • Scales out horizontally and vertically to support federated queries against growing data volumes
  • Integrates well with BI/Reporting technologies like Tableau and MicroStrategy
  • Supports a wide range of data sources, including relational, no-SQL, message queues/streaming, and big data
  • No very robust metadata and data lineage support
  • Poor integration with data modeling tools, for forward- and reverse-engineering
  • Response times are not always consistent and adequate in real-time queries

It is well suited in cases when there are many upstream heterogeneous sources, and the data sets are persisted in periodically refreshed cache, preferably database-based cache (although file-system or in-memory cache are options as well).

It is less appropriate for time-series analysis because the history is limited to the amount of history in he underlying source data repositories.

Read this authenticated review

What is TIBCO Data Virtualization?

TIBCO® Data Virtualization (formerly Composite Software/Cisco Information Server) aims to break down data silos and makes complex, distributed data environments simple – placing a business-friendly layer over data – that makes it easier to find, understand, and use. Users focus on data’s business value, while data engineers take care of the rest. The vendor states users can build and manage virtualized datasets and IT curated data services with breakthrough speed and cost-effectiveness.

According to the vendor, TIBCO® Data Virtualization’s differentiating out-of-the-box data sources supports the most demanding connectivity needs, providing nearly four times more data sources than any competitor.

TIBCO® Data Virtualization is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, healthcare, government, transportation, communications and technology, and more.

TIBCO Data Virtualization Features

Has featureSelf-service UI
Has featureData Catalog
Has featureMetadata Repository
Has featureModeling & Transformation
Has featureSecuirty
Has featureCaching
Has featureQuality
Has featureGovernance
Has featureManagement
Has featurePerformance Optimization
Has featureVersion Control
Has featureRuntime Environment
Has featureData Access
Has featureData Delivery
Has featureActive Cluster
Has featureDeployment Manager

TIBCO Data Virtualization Screenshots

TIBCO Data Virtualization Videos (2)

Watch 2 Minute Explainer Video

Watch Product Demonstration

TIBCO Data Virtualization Downloadables

TIBCO Data Virtualization Integrations

TIBCO Data Virtualization Competitors

Denodo, Dremio, AtScale, IBM Cloud Pak for Data, Microsoft, SAP

TIBCO Data Virtualization Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

TIBCO Data Virtualization Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Data Virtualization Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is TIBCO Data Virtualization?

Cisco Data Virtualization, formerly Composite (acquired July 2013) is, as the name might suggest, a data or datacenter virtualization platform.

What are TIBCO Data Virtualization's top competitors?

Denodo, Dremio, and AtScale are common alternatives for TIBCO Data Virtualization.

What is TIBCO Data Virtualization's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses TIBCO Data Virtualization?

The most common users of TIBCO Data Virtualization are from Enterprises and the Oil & Energy industry.