TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/UW8UTXZF42SL.JPEGA RAD system to boost your back-end data processingMy company uses Tibco StreamBase on a few projects. We employee it mainly as a back-end development tool. The processes we set up with it perform data transformations and feed our analytics dashboards.,This is a rapid development tool that spares us days of raw coding. It is very easy to access external data sources, filter, aggregate and expose the result back. Multi-threading features, memory and CPU utilizations are exceptional,Despite StreamBase allows writing custom adapters, it is very difficult to manage third party library dependencies. None of the major dependency tools are supported, and one should manage that manually. The security and authorization system implemented in StreamBase is not extensible and does not fit out of the box our needs The system designs was not built with modularization and generalization in mind, hence it is difficult to build reusable modules. Logging system is harder to manage, compared to plain j4log implementations.,8,,Reduced significantly our development time Allowed us to focus on business logic and spared raw coding,We don't use StreamBase as a query server in production due to its lack of compatible security.,Using TIBCO Streambase in banking for real time data processingStreamBase is being used by our foreign exchange department for data processing, real-time pricing, and risk management.,StreamBase does well for real-time data processing. It is easy and fast to build a robust application. Developers can focus on business logic and don't have to worry regular programming details.,Lack of security control for sbc connection,8,In-person training,It is easy to deploy and has positive impact on our business objectives,Yes, our business has benefited from the capability. We built business logic to handle continuously incoming price data and transactions.TIBCO StreamBase ReviewWe use it for real-time processing of logs and sudo-logs (records created in a database table are fed in real-time to a StreamBase app). We have apps to monitor the performance of our infrastructure, our processes, and catching fraudulent activity.,Windowing and aggregation Ease the UI tool (SBStudio) to create apps which means much faster turn around than coding Tools for debugging App to app communication Fantastic support,Not sure it can handle sliding windows and watermark for late arrivals of data (after the window is closed),9,Self-taught,Efficient development Expensive, though excellent, support Ability to create custom components for our specific irregular process requirement,Sounds like a feature we have not explored, but could be very beneficial.,DataflowManagerial feedback from the R&D teamTIBCO StreamBase has helped us understand the world and benefits of streaming data. It's difficult to comprehend just how you can use this kind of information until you have it at your fingertips.,The baked-in adapters let us get started quickly with several different datasources. The development team enjoyed the built in dev platform. The TIBCO community is a great resource for both getting started and getting deeper into StreamBase functionality.,EventFlow could use some iteration, but is a good starting point.,7,Online training,While we haven't specifically integrated StreamBase into our product development, it has allowed us to see the benefits of real-time streaming data. We have much more visibility into how our longer term roadmap will look and what we should focus on.,We have ideas as to where we may leverage StreamBase in the future, however we haven't currently implemented it in any of our actual product development. It's mostly been promising proof of concept projects so far. It has definitely showed us that our foray into IOT/streaming data is a good approach and that we should focus on it moving forward.,,TIBCO Spotfire, Hortonworks Data Platform, Amazon Web ServicesEvent Streaming platform built rightI'm building a stock trading/securities trading solution using TIBCO Streambase for one of our local customers. We have also built a solution around a stock trading platform which can be readily used by any Indian Stock Broking firm(s). The solution along with other Tibco and non-Tibco technologies thrives to achieve millisecond-level latency to beat the industry stalwarts.,Event Streaming Capabilties Low level latency Improved Java - JRE for the best performance UML Like coding which reduces dependency on hard-core developers Hundreds of connectivity options by way of providing adapters. Building custom adapters are also easy. Provides industry standards and scientific functions out of the box.,A web-based UI for canvas Hot deploy available out of the box Tighter web-service coupling Deploying on docker/kubernetes containers,9,Self-taught,Extremely positive as business of the customer grew very well. It allowed central monitoring of the entire trading floor It also reduces the amount of hardware required for the solution to run.,Yes, we have used the feature of Continuous Queries at multiple places which exposed as web-socket to client provides the real-time update of their price feed, order and trade information along with their positions. This feature helps us quite distinct then current solution providers as they need to use pull/refresh mechanism instead of continuous query.,Drools and Oracle Streaming Analytics,TIBCO FTL, MongoDB, Drools
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO StreamBase
29 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO StreamBase Reviews

TIBCO StreamBase
29 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 29 vetted TIBCO StreamBase reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Lyubomir Simeonov profile photo
January 18, 2018

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "A RAD system to boost your back-end data processing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Tibco StreamBase on a few projects. We employee it mainly as a back-end development tool. The processes we set up with it perform data transformations and feed our analytics dashboards.
  • This is a rapid development tool that spares us days of raw coding.
  • It is very easy to access external data sources, filter, aggregate and expose the result back.
  • Multi-threading features, memory and CPU utilizations are exceptional
  • Despite StreamBase allows writing custom adapters, it is very difficult to manage third party library dependencies. None of the major dependency tools are supported, and one should manage that manually.
  • The security and authorization system implemented in StreamBase is not extensible and does not fit out of the box our needs
  • The system designs was not built with modularization and generalization in mind, hence it is difficult to build reusable modules.
  • Logging system is harder to manage, compared to plain j4log implementations.
Taking data from various sources including files, databases, web services, applying some complex rules, transforming, aggregating and producing a result. This is what SB does best.
- If one needs connectivity to special services as secured databases or web services, building interactive web apps, those are probably tasks that shall be addressed with different tools.
Read Lyubomir Simeonov's full review
Sonny Zhang, CFA profile photo
January 18, 2018

Review: "Using TIBCO Streambase in banking for real time data processing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StreamBase is being used by our foreign exchange department for data processing, real-time pricing, and risk management.
  • StreamBase does well for real-time data processing. It is easy and fast to build a robust application. Developers can focus on business logic and don't have to worry regular programming details.
  • Lack of security control for sbc connection
It is well suited for back end data processing. It is less appropriate for any UI application.
Read Sonny Zhang, CFA's full review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

"TIBCO StreamBase Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for real-time processing of logs and sudo-logs (records created in a database table are fed in real-time to a StreamBase app). We have apps to monitor the performance of our infrastructure, our processes, and catching fraudulent activity.
  • Windowing and aggregation
  • Ease the UI tool (SBStudio) to create apps which means much faster turn around than coding
  • Tools for debugging
  • App to app communication
  • Fantastic support
  • Not sure it can handle sliding windows and watermark for late arrivals of data (after the window is closed)
Suited very well for real-time processing. Problem is one needs to either write an adapter or pay for an adapter component to consume logs from some sources like Kafka. It doesn't come as part of the package unless you pay for it separately.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2017

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Managerial feedback from the R&D team"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO StreamBase has helped us understand the world and benefits of streaming data. It's difficult to comprehend just how you can use this kind of information until you have it at your fingertips.
  • The baked-in adapters let us get started quickly with several different datasources.
  • The development team enjoyed the built in dev platform.
  • The TIBCO community is a great resource for both getting started and getting deeper into StreamBase functionality.
  • EventFlow could use some iteration, but is a good starting point.
High volume, consistent data flow is perfectly suited for StreamBase. If you're looking for a larger, long-time trend visualization, you probably want to stick with vanilla Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Event Streaming platform built right"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm building a stock trading/securities trading solution using TIBCO Streambase for one of our local customers. We have also built a solution around a stock trading platform which can be readily used by any Indian Stock Broking firm(s). The solution along with other Tibco and non-Tibco technologies thrives to achieve millisecond-level latency to beat the industry stalwarts.
  • Event Streaming Capabilties
  • Low level latency
  • Improved Java - JRE for the best performance
  • UML Like coding which reduces dependency on hard-core developers
  • Hundreds of connectivity options by way of providing adapters. Building custom adapters are also easy.
  • Provides industry standards and scientific functions out of the box.
  • A web-based UI for canvas
  • Hot deploy available out of the box
  • Tighter web-service coupling
  • Deploying on docker/kubernetes containers
Suitable: 1) Stock Trading, 2) Gaming, 3) Reasoning Skills, 4) IoT Integrations, 5) RealTime monitoring, 6) Gambling, 7) Vehicle/Traffic Monitoring solutions can easily be built with StreamBase

Less Appropriate: 1) Solutions which can't execute on lower footprint like Raspberry Pi 2) Dynamic Rules where business changes are on-demand or frequent. 3) Cost is a huge factor in decision 4) Process Monitoring solutions are less appropriate for StreamBase's usage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 19, 2018

TIBCO StreamBase: "StreamBase Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StreamBase is used in a variety of aspects of the business. It is used in front office trading, to middle office reporting, to back-office data processing and aggregation.
  • StreamBase is best at rapid prototyping
  • Real time market data processing and signal generation
  • Processing table based data
  • Cannot achieve ultra low latency
  • Great for small applications, but does not scale elegantly
  • Makes multithreading easy, but does not allow fine controls
StreamBase is great at rapid prototyping. This can be a great tool for analysts without an in-depth programming background and allows them to quickly write efficient programs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

"TIBCO Streambase Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by several teams across different departments. Unique use cases for each time. Mine is to process market data events.
  • many adapters for other technologies
  • short time to market
  • runs in jvm
  • hard to optimize fo low latency
  • no fine grained threading controls
  • hard to diff changes
It is well suited for event processing that is not latency sensitive. Not as well suited for an application that requires fine-grained thread controls or low latency.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Powerful and reliable tool."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organisation uses TIBCO as an offering to clients who require it in their solution. The business problems we use StreamBase to address would be to process complex and large sets of business rules.
  • Simple GUI allows easy visual/drag-and-drop programming
  • Handles complex and large amounts of business rules well
  • Ability to deal with large amounts of data processing from large inputs
  • Customising each drag and drop element is hard to use as the GUI controls for the element settings are vague
  • A more navigable customisation GUI for the elements would allow easy/intuitive out-of-box use without the need to consult the help/manuals.
Large amounts of business rules, data and high level of business rule complexity.
Read this authenticated review
Johanes Siregar profile photo
October 27, 2017

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Visually engaging and minimal time and effort to use."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO StreamBase is being used by multiple departments in our company. We use it to cater our needs of processing large amounts of streamed events, which are generated by our business. It allows us to implements sophisticated logic to process an enormous amount of transaction data that is generated by multiple streams throughout the company. The graphical user interface to create the event flow is very easy to use with a minimal learning curve.
  • Real-time event processing minimizes time to market and saves the time and processing power to process a large amount of data being streamed.
  • Easy to use and user-friendly GUI enables a business user to directly test and apply business logic.
  • Great value and highly scalable.
  • So far, StreamBase has always been able to answer all of our needs to analyze a data stream.
StreamBase is suitable for real-time high throughput data stream, although it allows the user to process large flat file data. However, it is not recommended due to I/O overhead to read the text file.
Read Johanes Siregar's full review
Hamilton Araujo profile photo
June 07, 2017

Review: "TIBCO StreamBase From Financial Services Perspective To Support Customers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
TIBCO StreamBase is used in financial and capital market applications by the customers we support.
Common applications are market data management, pricing financial instruments, routing orders to execution venues and exchanges, algorithmic trading, high frequency trading, pre- and post-risk management and FX liquity pool.
  • Processing events in real-time with real low latency and high throughput.
  • 100% visual program language, which can be extended by common languages like Java, Python and .NET.
  • Reduced time to prototype, create an application and deployment, which reduces the software lifecycle.
  • Real robust engine and server. Barely heard of customers having issues in production.
  • Overusing can be a problem sometimes when someone forgets the architectural project.
  • Event processing technology has a different development workflow than other languages and technologies, which would require an understanding from the developer to abstract different ways to accomplish applications.
TIBCO StreamBase is pretty well suited in applications dealing with thousands of messages per second and at the same time you can analyze and take any action in real-time. Analyzing and aggregating market data, executing orders in venues or exchanges based on rules, pricing financial instruments, basically anything that 'ticks' is a good use for TIBCO StreamBase. Scenarios where real-time processing has a dependency on slow conventional technologies or architectures that take long to process and respond data are not a good fit.
Read Hamilton Araujo's full review
Dawid Rogaczewski profile photo
October 25, 2017

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "TibcoStream experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StreamBase is our part of big data solution. It is part of complicated environment where we are analyzing a lot of data generated by our infrastructure and customers
  • Real time analysis
  • Capable to work with huge data
  • High performance
  • More detailed documentation
  • Increase integration possibilities with 3rd party vendors and products
  • Support for containers like Docker and etc.
It is recommended when we got huge data generation which we want analyze. It is great addition to Hadoop flow which can catch most important data in near real time.
Read Dawid Rogaczewski's full review
Saurabh Gaba profile photo
June 06, 2017

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Quick & Easy with StreamBase"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We focus on real-time fleet data/large volume of streaming data. We utilize StreamBase for pattern matching and duplicate detection /removals, provide adaptive/resilient solutions for both OEMs and internal initiatives.

We required a high throughput and resilient CEP solution and StreamBase is a perfect fit to kick start highly critical initiatives.

  • Event processing (10,000 events every second ) pattern matching, event correlation, and in-flight event processing.
  • StreamBase has a robust run-time environment with custom HA zones to set up highly available applications. The StreamBase Feed simulation was really helpful in accessing the performance of the solution.
  • Rapid development, drag - drop ( minimal coding ) UI is easy to understand and build.
  • StreamBase Component Exchange, sample projects are really helpful with real situations. Many technology adapters are available for kick starting the integration projects. (MQTT, RabitAMQP, Cassandra).
  • An enhanced AdministrationUI will be a plus plus; command line is equally needed though.
  • Application packaging/bundling can be enhanced.
Best suited for event correlation & processing, large volumes of events.
Read Saurabh Gaba's full review
No photo available
June 02, 2017

TIBCO StreamBase Review: "Rapid Real-Time Development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our primary focus is trading automation. We rely on StreamBase for rapid development of real time event driven systems, providing tailored solutions to internal and external clients.
  • Rapid development of real time, event driven systems, solving many concurrency problems by design.
  • Drag and drop development interface is intuitive.
  • Robust run time. We have not had a single incident where a deployed StreamBase application has fallen over of its own accord.
  • Easy integration with any other system though well defined APIs.
  • Not all problems are suited to the event driven paradigm.
  • As the complexity of an application grows, finding your way around code in the GUI takes some getting used to.
  • The StreamBase development environment is built in Eclipse, which is not everyone's cup of tea.
Real time, event driven system development.
Read this authenticated review

TIBCO StreamBase Scorecard Summary

About TIBCO StreamBase

The TIBCO StreamBase® platform is a high-performance system for rapidly building applications that analyze and act on real-time streaming data. Using StreamBase, users can rapidly build real-time systems and deploy them at a fraction of the cost and risk of other alternatives.

TIBCO StreamBase Features

Has featureLow-latency, high throughput complex event processing
Has featureGraphical development language, EventFlow, using Eclipse-powered IDE
Has featureNative clustering built-in for out-of-the-box distributed scaling and/or fault tolerance

TIBCO StreamBase Screenshots

TIBCO StreamBase Videos (3)

TIBCO StreamBase Downloadables

TIBCO StreamBase Integrations

TIBCO StreamBase Competitors

IBM Streaming Analytics, SQLstream Blaze, Software AG Apama, SAP Smart Data Streaming, Oracle Stream Explorer, DataTorrent RTS Apache Apex, Striim

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TIBCO StreamBase Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English