TrustRadius
Tipalti is a cloud-based platform that enables mass payment management and execution to networked partners (e.g. affiliates, suppliers, vendors, crowdsource, freelancers, and content publishers) across international borders. Payment can be in any local currency, through a variety of methods (e.g. ACH, Global ACH, wire, pre-paid debit card, live check, cash, etc.). All tax and regulatory (OFAC/AML fraud protection) is streamlined by Tipalti.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/br/x9/9H9QQ4TBIRUT.PNGExcellent Customer SupportWe pay numerous photographers around the world on a weekly basis. Tipalti helps coordinate these payments and helps resolve coordinating queries from individual financial institutions. The main benefit we realized with Tipalti over other payment services is the breadth of coverage on a global scale. The fees are cheaper for transfers to many countries which is one of the main benefits.,Whenever I have a payment related questions, I have reached out to the Support team and received a near instant response from a customer service representative. They have managed to resolve all of my issues. Tipalti has a very clean user interface. Payment file uploads are easy. Detailed reports are very easily exported which I directly upload into my accounting software for easy bookkeeping and reconciliations.,We pay numerous photographers around the world on a weekly basis. Tipalti helps coordinate these payments and helps resolve coordinating queries from individual financial institutions. The main benefit we realized with Tipalti over other payment services is the breadth of coverage on a global scale.,10,Our vendors are our number 1 resource. Ensuring that their payments are consistently timed, reliable and appropriate support is received when the need arises is key to our success in maintaining these resources.,Xero, Dropbox Business, Receipt Bank Practice PlatformEasy-to-use AP SystemOur Accounting department mainly uses Tipalti but we would like to spread it across other departments. We used Tipalti to pay 90% of our payees and validate their tax information to avoid any penalties from the IRS for submitting incorrect information.,Amazing customer service! We have come across issues but our Account Manager and support have always made sure that we felt like we were a priority. I have always felt comfortable asking any question with a really quick response time. Reporting and Easy-to-use interface. Logging in to Tipalti is very simple and the interface and user-friendly. Quicker payment processing. It has been great approving and processing payments.,I suggest some improvements in the way we can search for payees information. This is something I had already brought up and has been forwarded t their Dev teams.,10,Positive is the ease of being able to schedule payments to payees.,Bill.com,NetSuite, Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Adobe Acrobat DCWhy we use Tipalti and Why you do notWe use it for one department and Tipalti helps us to perform monthly mass payments to our customers.,Fast and professional support team Easy to implement and integrate,Not a very user-friendly interface Price is quite high There is no ability to pay with Paypal if you're in a country where it is not supported,9,We just set it up and check monthly to approve some payments. We do not need a bunch of people to do this.,PayPro and 2Checkout,2CheckoutTipalti - a godsend for Finance Teams!We use Tipalti as our sole payment processor for paying off hundreds of our game developer partners. It is primarily used by the finance department on a monthly basis. Tipalti is a tool that helps us pay a large number of partners in different currencies in various countries with a simple process.,The Tipalti portal is easy to use and provides a simple online site that allows me to process payments easily. Tipalti's portal archives reports and payment details that allows me to reconcile our payments at month end quickly and effortlessly. Tipalti tracks our partner's payment information and facilitates the payment process by communicating with our partners of banking information.,Tipalti could provide more tax knowledge and guidance on their website. They do have information on their website and offer training. However, it would be helpful if they provide more guidance on the tax impact of their services. Their support team is quite responsive and always helpful. However, they do need to research issues from time to time. Thus, if they had an FAQ section on their site or sent out a list of common questions, that would be helpful. Tipalti does do a solid job of communicating changes - if they can provide more of a roadmap of future changes, that would be helpful.,10,Tipalti has saved at least 2-3 days worth of work in terms of setting up banking information and processing payments. During month end close, we utilize the reports they provide to expedite reconciling our cash balances. Because of the detail in their reports, we can reconcile our cash payments in less than an hour. At the end of the year, the Tipalti generated reports also provide us with more than enough information to process our 1099 reports.,,NetSuite, ADP ResourceTipalti tips the scales in your favorWe use Tipalti to pay our worldwide crowd of patent and technology researchers. This is a core function in our organization. Tipalti solves the business problem of payments to people in many different countries and sometimes at relatively high dollar amounts up to $10K per payment. It also supports compliance with international money transfer laws.,Captures payee information in a seamless and easy to integrate system Provides payees with a variety of payment options Integrates the money transfer process with our current process,The UI is improving but still seems somewhat dated Some new functionality options have been somewhat hidden,10,We cut our AP processing time to researchers by 90% after implementing Tipalti.,PayPal Payments
Unspecified
Tipalti
11 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tipalti Reviews

Tipalti
11 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 11 vetted Tipalti reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
November 18, 2018

Tipalti Review: "Excellent Customer Support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We pay numerous photographers around the world on a weekly basis. Tipalti helps coordinate these payments and helps resolve coordinating queries from individual financial institutions. The main benefit we realized with Tipalti over other payment services is the breadth of coverage on a global scale. The fees are cheaper for transfers to many countries which is one of the main benefits.
  • Whenever I have a payment related questions, I have reached out to the Support team and received a near instant response from a customer service representative. They have managed to resolve all of my issues.
  • Tipalti has a very clean user interface. Payment file uploads are easy.
  • Detailed reports are very easily exported which I directly upload into my accounting software for easy bookkeeping and reconciliations.
  • We pay numerous photographers around the world on a weekly basis. Tipalti helps coordinate these payments and helps resolve coordinating queries from individual financial institutions. The main benefit we realized with Tipalti over other payment services is the breadth of coverage on a global scale.
Tipalti is well suited for paying vendors on a large scale. The vendor manages their account and there is no work on my end whenever they want to update their account details. There is a significant increase in time spent managing vendors where they are not set up on Tipalti. This time saved is critical to managing our business and keeping vendors happy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Tipalti Review: "Easy-to-use AP System"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Accounting department mainly uses Tipalti but we would like to spread it across other departments. We used Tipalti to pay 90% of our payees and validate their tax information to avoid any penalties from the IRS for submitting incorrect information.
  • Amazing customer service! We have come across issues but our Account Manager and support have always made sure that we felt like we were a priority. I have always felt comfortable asking any question with a really quick response time.
  • Reporting and Easy-to-use interface. Logging in to Tipalti is very simple and the interface and user-friendly.
  • Quicker payment processing. It has been great approving and processing payments.
  • I suggest some improvements in the way we can search for payees information. This is something I had already brought up and has been forwarded t their Dev teams.
Tipalti is perfect if you work with multiple contractors, as it will validate their tax forms info. I would say that Tipalti will work 95% of the time with your payees. Invoice information is directly synced to your Accounting software, which would be ideal to everyone; however, if Tipalti does not sync with your Accounting software then it may not be appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Oleg Mikhel profile photo
August 22, 2017

User Review: "Why we use Tipalti and Why you do not"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for one department and Tipalti helps us to perform monthly mass payments to our customers.
  • Fast and professional support team
  • Easy to implement and integrate
  • Not a very user-friendly interface
  • Price is quite high
  • There is no ability to pay with Paypal if you're in a country where it is not supported
It will help if you are a company that has to pay many users that are using different payments methods. Just set up Tipalti and you will be free of mass payments problems.
Read Oleg Mikhel's full review
No photo available
September 07, 2017

User Review: "Tipalti - a godsend for Finance Teams!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tipalti as our sole payment processor for paying off hundreds of our game developer partners. It is primarily used by the finance department on a monthly basis. Tipalti is a tool that helps us pay a large number of partners in different currencies in various countries with a simple process.
  • The Tipalti portal is easy to use and provides a simple online site that allows me to process payments easily.
  • Tipalti's portal archives reports and payment details that allows me to reconcile our payments at month end quickly and effortlessly.
  • Tipalti tracks our partner's payment information and facilitates the payment process by communicating with our partners of banking information.
  • Tipalti could provide more tax knowledge and guidance on their website. They do have information on their website and offer training. However, it would be helpful if they provide more guidance on the tax impact of their services.
  • Their support team is quite responsive and always helpful. However, they do need to research issues from time to time. Thus, if they had an FAQ section on their site or sent out a list of common questions, that would be helpful.
  • Tipalti does do a solid job of communicating changes - if they can provide more of a roadmap of future changes, that would be helpful.
Tipalti is well suited for companies that have to pay out hundreds of partners in multiple currencies in different formats (e.g. Paypal, ACH, wires, eChecks.) They provide a very intuitive portal that has a simple yet effective UI to process payments.

If your company has minimal payment needs, Tipalti could be helpful but I think it's best suited for companies that have many payment streams. That would allow your company to fully tap the potential of this tool.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Baer profile photo
September 06, 2016

User Review: "Tipalti tips the scales in your favor"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tipalti to pay our worldwide crowd of patent and technology researchers. This is a core function in our organization. Tipalti solves the business problem of payments to people in many different countries and sometimes at relatively high dollar amounts up to $10K per payment. It also supports compliance with international money transfer laws.
  • Captures payee information in a seamless and easy to integrate system
  • Provides payees with a variety of payment options
  • Integrates the money transfer process with our current process
  • The UI is improving but still seems somewhat dated
  • Some new functionality options have been somewhat hidden
Tipalit is well suited for international payments and payments to large groups of people.
Read Eric Baer's full review
Jonathan Wu profile photo
September 23, 2015

Review: "Tipalti scaled our financial operations without needing additional hires for 3 years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tipalti as a our automated accounts payable system for all of our product vendors that we work with. We add hundreds of new vendors each month which makes it very difficult to keep up with on a manual basis. Basically when a new vendor agrees to work with us, they complete their financial information in a Tipalti iFrame as well as their tax information, allowing us to automatically set up payments when we receive invoices from them. When vendors enter incorrect financial information which happens frequently, Tipalti is able to catch this and help our vendors correct it with minimal interruption to our business.

For retail, it is incredibly important to maintain accurate records of our accounts payable to vendors. Because we have millions of dollars moving each day, removing the human element from accounts payable allows us to eliminate the risk of human error, greatly improving accounting accuracy and efficiency. In addition, automating the accounts payable element helps the company scale its finance team more efficiently as we do not require additional headcount in processing invoices as we work with additional vendors.
  • The most important thing to look for when selecting an enterprise partner is customer service. The support team at Tipalti is extremely prompt and helpful when responding to questions, no matter how dumb they might be. Their executive team also monitors support inquiries for broader account questions so the are able to handle them promptly with the right perspective. Being able to get a quick response for any question is exceptionally valuable.
  • Tipalti's core feature is enabling payments in a very streamlined manner. They were the first provider that we found that was able to process payments in any currency across any payment method, allowing us to provide the maximum convenience to the vendors that we work with. Because of this, Touch of Modern is known as one of the easiest retail partners to work with.
  • A feature we didn't even realize would be so valuable is the tax compliance piece. When we started the company, we had no idea that we needed to collect tax information for every vendor we sent a payment to. Tipalti's platform requires this and ensures no payments are sent without the proper compliance.
  • One frustrating problem we've had with payments is when payments bounce. Now this is not necessarily a problem with using Tipalti vs. using any payment processor, but sometimes it takes 1-2 weeks to even find out a payment has bounced and then another week or so for the payment to return to our account. It would be incredibly valuable to know as soon as possible when a payment has bounced so we can take the proper corrective action.
  • The functionality that I would love to see is the ability to send a credit card payment token, with the idea of generating individual single use credit card numbers to pay our vendors by that method. With this payment method, Tipalti would be fully complete in my mind in the ability to send money.
  • Paper checks are a little slow to send out, but then again, it's called "snail mail" for a reason.
Tipalti's platform is well suited for anyone looking to automate payments towards vendors or partners. The types of businesses that it works well with are any types of intermediaries - marketplaces, ticketing companies, advertising platforms, as well as retailers that work with a variety of supply partners. It is not very useful for small businesses that do not conduct many outgoing payments such as a consulting firm for example.
Read Jonathan Wu's full review
Austin Harrison profile photo
September 18, 2015

Review: "Tipalti has saved our team DAYS of work each month"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tipalti for our publisher payments. Tipalti's iframe is seamlessly integrated with our website so users can easily fill out their payment and tax information, and update them at any time without any work to update on our end. Before implementing Tipalti, we only offered PayPal, ACH and wires, and each of those payment methods required separate processes. Also, when a publisher decided to change their payment method, manual updates were required. Now with Tipalti, we only need to upload one payment file to Tipalti's dashboard without the need to specify payment type, since the publisher selects that themselves. This alone saves us many hours of work every month.
  • Mass payments are very easy since Tipalti manages all of the payee's payment details.
  • Their payment reporting is very detailed which is great for accountants doing reconciliations for mass payments with several different payment methods and fee structures.
  • The seamless integration with our website gives our users a great experience and makes it easy for them to manage their payment methods.
  • Tipalti's payer dashboard, where we submit payments and check payee details, is sometimes slow. However, we haven't experienced any downtime or had any issues with the Tipalti's iframe where the publishers enter their info.
Tipalti is a great solution if you are paying a large number of payees/vendors with multiple payment methods. Also, if you are having trouble keeping track of the payees' payment details or tax forms, Tipalti can save many hours of work for your team by collecting and tracking them for you. Also, if you have international payees who are asking to be paid in foreign currencies, Tipalti can also handle that seamlessly.
Read Austin Harrison's full review
No photo available
August 30, 2016

Tipalti Review: "Excellent 3rd party payer - top notch Customer Support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tipalti to pay our developers (weekly and monthly - total of payments in the thousands monthly). Tipalti has excellently solved our problem of paying thousand of developers in countries throughout the world using various payment methods.
  • Ability to link seamlessly to company's webpage
  • Excellent Customer Support
  • Ease of use
  • It's sometimes hard to determine if a payee is indeed payable (but this seems to occur only on a seldom basis and for recipients in hard-to-pay countries)
Tipalti is excellent if you need to pay parties in countries all over the world and in different payment methods and currencies.
Read this authenticated review

Tipalti Scorecard Summary

About Tipalti

Tipalti is a payables automation solution that automates all phases of the accounts payable and payments workflow in one holistic cloud platform. Tipalti makes it painless for finance departments to manage their entire global payables operation by streamlining:

  • Supplier onboarding and vetting
  • Tax and regulatory compliance
  • Invoice processing, PO matching, and approvals
  • Global payment remittance, allowing a range of payment methods and currencies
  • Early payments
  • Proactive communications of supplier payment status, issue resolution, and fraud detection
  • Enterprise-grade financial controls
  • Real-time payment reconciliation
  • ERP integration
  • AP and tax reporting

Tipalti's value proposition includes the following:

  1. Reduce AP workload by 80% so your company can scale efficiently.

  2. Generate revenue for AP and better manage cash flow with early payments.

  3. Accelerate the financial close by 25%+ with detailed payment reconciliation reports.

  4. Strengthen financial and compliance controls to mitigate risk and increase visibility.

  5. Improve supplier relationships through a self-service payment experience.

Some of Tipalti’s customers include: Amazon Twitch, Twitter, GoPro, Vimeo, and GoDaddy.

Tipalti Features

Has featureAutomate the Entire Payment Management Process, from Supplier Onboarding to Invoice Processing, Remittance, and Payment Reconciliation
Has featureScale for Global Growth by Eliminating up to 80% of Accounts Payable Workload
Has featureMake Mass Payments to Suppliers and Partners in Any Country
Has featureCut Costs and Waste Caused by Payment Processing Errors
Has featureEnhance the Supplier Payment Experience to Retain and Attract the Best Providers
Has featurePay in Wide Range of Supplier-Selected Payment Methods and Currencies
Has featureEnsure Complete Tax and Regulatory Compliance
Has featureTransform AP to Cost-Neutral or a Revenue Center by Offering Early Payments

Tipalti Screenshots

Tipalti Integrations

NetSuite, QuickBooks Online, HasOffers, CAKE, HitPath, Paladin, LinkTrust

Tipalti Competitors

AvidXchange, MineralTree, Bill.com, Hyperwallet, PayPal Mass Payments, Payoneer

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Tipalti Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Tipalti Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Tipalti Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish