TrustRadius
Toast POS: affordable, but lacking common-sense featuresWe use ToastPOS at our Pizza shop in Boulder, CO. Our partnership with Toast began in October 2015 (we were a very early client of theirs), and I should mention it's the first POS system we've ever used; previously a pen & paper shop. A digital POS allows us to access Sales reporting at any moment so we can find patterns in sales/labor that point to suggested operation modifications much more quickly than before. We also use it as a tool for sales projections that help us with scheduling our staff. We now have easily accessible records of every transaction, and processing our monthly financials is a much more accurate and enjoyable experience.,The Toast POS App itself has a very user-friendly interface. Training staff on the POS is straight-forward. Though expected of any digital POS, they provide quick and mobile access to Sales & Accounting reporting. ToastGo, which is Toast's new handheld order-taking & CC processing device, would be great for table-service restaurants trying to increase their customer turnover. Toast Online Ordering (ToastOO) is an online ordering service offered for an additional monthly charge (we pay $50/mo), that allows your restaurant to put a link on your website where customers can "order direct" that is directly linked to the POS, so there is no manual entry involved. There is also no commission charge associated (as with GrubHub, UberEats, etc), just the flat monthly rate. Accounting General Ledger Report is a life-saver for bookkeepers. Toast has integration with AMEX so as I understand, you can accept AMEX payments without having an actual partnership with AMEX. AND you receive daily deposits from Toast's CC processing settlements quickly, which is always appreciated from a cashflow standpoint!,As a client of ToastPOS since Oct 2015, I have submitted a multitude of feature requests over the years. Some were considered and implemented, some were of course not. But I still have a list of (what I feel are) glaringly obvious features that are missing from the product that, had I known of them, I may not have chosen ToastPOS for my business in the first place (assuming other POS systems do offer these features?). I will lay them all out in detail here: Gift cards are *not redeemable* on Toast's Online Ordering Platform (ToastOO). This includes both physical gift cards purchased in person through the POS *and* e-gift cards purchased online via a website that is directly linked to the POS. Aka a customer goes to our branded website to purchase an e-gift for our pizza shop, but when they go to our branded online ordering website to order pizza Delivery (also provided by Toast), they cannot use their e-gift card to pay. They must either call the shop or show up in person to pay using their gift card. Gift cards not being redeemable online is 100% a missed opportunity that frustrates every customer to whom we issue a gift card. This is also not a good method to entice customers who are loyal to 3rd party website such as Grubhub/UberEats, to switch to ordering direct from ToastOO (saving thousands in commissions). A customer would love FREE money to redeem at a restaurant they already regularly order delivery from, but not at the expense of not being able to order online. At the very least, until there is a solution, Toast should add verbiage to the gift card purchasing page (as well as on the checkout cart page) that states gift cards are not accepted as payment online, to better manage customer expectations. Quote times are too complicated/difficult to manage. This is my staff's biggest pain-point operationally and is management's biggest pain-point since it is so difficult to train something so unintuitive. Say your standard quote time is 30 min Take-out and 60 min Delivery, but these vary all day long every day of the week depending on weather conditions, how busy we are, time of day, etc. Rather than a simple and straightforward "Take-out Quote Time"=30 and "Delivery Quote Time"=60 setting on the POS itself, you have to open a browser, login to the Toast Back-end, set “Default Prep Time (OO/API)”= 30mins & “Default Delivery Time” = 30mins, hit Save, and hit Publish separately. Yes, you have to add the two quotes together in order to come to the Delivery Quote that will be displayed on ToastOO (30 + 30 = 60). If we wanted Take-out to be 45, and Delivery 60, settings would be “Default Prep Time (OO/API)”= 45mins & “Default Delivery Time” = 15mins (45 + 15 = 60 minute delivery time), Save, + Publish. Unnecessarily complicated in a chaotic restaurant environment, especially when most restaurants are managing quote times across multiple 3rd party platforms on top of their own direct ordering website. The online Ordering Schedule is too complicated/difficult to manage. Best explained with an example. If your restaurant is open until 10pm, and you want to accept orders up until 10pm, but your “Default Prep Time (OO/API)” is set to 30 minutes (aka 30 minute Take-out quote), you need to set your Online Ordering Take-out Schedule to be open until 10:30 pm in order to accept Takeout Orders up through 10pm.....and similarly for “Default Delivery Time” = 30 (which actually means a Delivery Quote time of 60 minutes, as explained above), you need to set the Delivery Schedule to close at 11:00pm in order to accept Delivery orders up through 10pm. The frustrating part is that this caveat isn't explained anywhere on the settings page, so you if you didn't happen upon this by attempting to place a Delivery order on your own website past 9pm (and not being allowed to), or noticing a late-night drop in Online Orders, you'd never know your website wasn't accepting orders up through 10pm as you wished. Digital receipts. Toast cannot send digital emailed receipts for $0 orders. Aka if you are making an In-Kind donation (which we do several times per month) and the non-profit requires a receipt (which all do), you have to print the receipt and email them a picture of the paper copy. You cannot just email them a receipt stating the amount of the donation. This is frustrating as Tax Exempt businesses are typically the only customers these days who actually need receipts. It's a shame the ones we send them must look so unprofessional. Toast Loyalty Rewards Program. Pro: purchases are linked to customer Credit Cards so points can add up automatically once they've linked their CC. Con: Because of this, you can only sign-up at the register itself (in-store). I instead would suggest customers be able to enroll online [make it part of the check-out process on ToastOO]. Then customers could enroll, and manage their associated CC's without holding up the line in-store. We are a quick-serve pizza-by-the-slice shop, and the goal is to move the line as quickly as possible, not having customers fumbling to sign up for a rewards program. Bad Hardware. For 3+ years we've had to attach our Elo (think big check-out screen at the front register) to our cash drawer using 6 monster zip-ties, which looks very unprofessional. Toast does not provide any actual hardware (nuts/bolts/etc) to attach the ~$1k+ computer to the cash drawer so it doesn't fall off of the counter when flipped over for signature. Toast has only provided us with Velcro as a solution, which I, of course, do not trust considering the cost to replace the Elo when it inevitably crashes to the floor. ToastOO Delivery Platform does not require a house number, a full 10-digit phone number, and we also have addresses within our delivery zone that get rejected from ordering direct because the system says their address is not in our zone. ToastOO Delivery is currently partnered with Mapbox for address verification. Valid House/Phone numbers are not required, which allows orders through with missing information. It requires our staff to spend unnecessary time on the phone, sometimes not being able to get ahold of the customer. This has been reported to Toast and they claim to be upgrading to a different mapping platform at some point in 2019. The 10-digit phone number issue was discovered as of 1/13/19 and has also been reported to Toast, with no follow-up as of yet. Mapbox rejecting customer addresses within our zone was discovered 10/2/18 and still has not been resolved; forcing those customers who can't get through to order from Grubhub, which of course costs us a hefty commission on orders that should be 0% commission. Promo Codes are not robust enough for a modern digital age. Toast does allow setting up Promo Codes for customer use on ToastOO, but it cannot do basic functions such as limiting the dates/times the promo code can be redeemed, or Limiting the promo code to 1 redemption per user. No branded app. It doesn't seem to me like it would be a far stretch for Toast to offer a branded App option. Restaurants want fewer partners, not more. Partnering with a 3rd party app company just adds one more menu to manage, aka rather than submitting in ToastPOS that we're out of "Green Peppers", and having that translate to ToastOO and a branded Toast App, we'd instead need to login to a 3rd party App provider to mark "out of Green Peppers", along with all other 3rd party online ordering platforms (Grubhub, etc). It gets to be too much for a small staff to manage, and an all-in-one solution with your already-created POS company/Menu, all linked together flawlessly, would be ideal. General Ledger Accounting Report. This is a truly useful report for accounting purposes, but if you accept AMEX payments at your restaurant, this report does not account for AMEX fees, which you must manually calculate separately. Not a huge deal of course, but added time. UPDATE: As of 3/22/2019, Toast has finally updated the General Ledger report to include AMEX fees in your restaurant's accounting reports. It's no longer a separate manual calculation for bookkeepers. Hooray! Menu Set-up Limitations. You cannot make certain items available for Delivery but not for Take-out, or vice versa. No integration with Instagram. There is no partnership between Toast, despite Toast claiming on Twitter to be a restaurant's most important social media platform. Because of this, a restaurant using ToastOO cannot have a "Start an Order" button right on their Instagram page, making it most convenient for customers to order direct.,4,Switching from pen & paper to a digital POS system has been absolutely vital for the growth of our restaurant, and we are grateful for Toast to helping us make that transition. Allowing orders to be placed on a direct online ordering platform that are automatically entered into the POS system saves countless labor. Toast allows us 24/7 access to sales reporting and statistics that help us to make important decisions at the shop every day regarding scheduling staff, ordering food, removing items from our menu that are not selling well, when the best time to close is, etc. Given that ToastPOS is the only POS we've tried, I unfortunately can't speak to whether ToastPOS is better or worse than alternatives. All I know is it was the most affordable option for a small, single-location, locally-owned restaurant, with the best-looking user interface, and I'm glad we made the switch to digital! And all I can compare ToastPOS to what I believe a POS system *should* be. As you can see from my review, I have a myriad of suggestions for improvement that we haven't seen much progress on in our 3+ years with the company, but given their recent funding, I am hoping that will change in 2019.,,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Parallels Desktop,30,Taking customer orders in-store and checking them out quickly Taking customer orders via Phone/3rd party online ordering/ToastOO and getting all orders into the Delivery Queue for Delivery Management. Finance department uses all back-end reports to assure our restaurant gets paid in a timely fashion, and to help with filing our monthly sales tax reports.,8,If you put the time into initial construction of your restaurant's menu, the physical use of the POS devices, placing orders, checking out customers, and even training the system, are all very easy.,Setting Delivery and Take-out Quote estimates Setting up Toast Online Ordering hours Workflow of Shift Reviews is cumbersome as the workflow of some steps kicks you out of the Shift Review, rather than allowing you to simply 'go back' one screen Working with support can also be cumbersome as email correspondence doesn't allow for in-line images, which makes it difficult to quickly respond to an issue and show examples. Having to explain to customers that gift cards purchased at our restaurant, or as e-gift cards via our website, cannot be used to pay for orders online (Toast Online Ordering module).,Yes,6Convenient, Well-Working Tablet Based POS SystemToast is used by the customer service team in each bakery. This includes management and customer service positions. It allows us to efficiently and easily ring guests up, checking them out for their items and allowing them to choose tip amounts, choice of receipt delivery (email, phone number, printed, or no receipt) and more.,The ability for guest to select a receipt type. Allowing to enter in different types of orders (current in-store orders, future orders, house account orders, and more). The convenience of touch screen use and strong calibration. Ability to swivel tablet from employee to guest.,The short cord on the tablet can create difficulty in turning the tablet for guest use. The system occasionally runs slow and causes delays or double or triple entries of the same item. There is a lack of training programs to train new users on Toast.,9,Toast has impacted employee morale with an implemented tip system for credit card charges. This helps us continue to provide excellent guest service when the employees are excited and ready to work for a great guest experience for an additional incentive. Toast has created a more seamless, easy checkout experience for the guest, allowing for better connection with the staff, and a more enjoyable experience, keeping them coming back. Toast has confused some guests that are not tech-savvy and do not understand how the system works, making them uncomfortable when the employee must walk them through how to select a tip option and how to print a receipt. This makes them not want to use cards in our business and could reduce these type of customers.,Aloha POS,Sabre Red Workspace, Aloha POSWorth Every Penny!Our business recently made the switch to Toast after two years with another point-of-sale system and I couldn't be happier. The software is Droid based, which made me uncomfortable at first as I've never operated one before. It is incredibly easy to use and allows me to update the system remotely from my smartphone or my laptop. They offer handheld devices, that even with the card reader, can fit in an apron or back pocket. They do their own credit card processing in-house so there is no dealing with a third party. They have several partners that offer a variety of services - mass texting, payroll processing, etc. that integrate with the system. We've been extremely pleased with the customer service aspect as well. They were able to get everything processed, set up, equipment sent to me, and training completed in less than two weeks. Everyone that I dealt with during the process was extremely easy to work with and incredibly helpful. I've already recommended this system to several of our restaurant friends and I will continue to do so.,We are in a space with 10 other vendors, so the ability to swipe a card, pre-authorize it, and give it back to the customer so helpful! The offline mode is another awesome perk! Should the internet go down, all the transactions are held and processed again once the connection is restored. This also allows us to take one of the handhelds to an event with us to sell drinks or merch. Our previous POS required that my email be logged into the device which meant anyone could read through it. With Toast, it automatically sends out the receipts via text or email without having to have anything logged in. This is one of the few POS systems that allows you to tip on gift cards which is extremely helpful. Most folks these days do not carry cash, so this allows them to still tip staff without having to run a separate card. They also offer electronic gift cards! We were able to put a link to the site on our website and social media to increase visibility.,Though sales details are available in real time, the analytics take 2-3 days to post. So if you are looking for specific modifications you'll have to wait. Though you can edit the menus directly from the devices and move them around like you do on a smartphone, it doesn't give you a sorting option. If you're OCD like me, you have to alphabetize my hand.,10,It's improved customers service by staff being able to log into different devices under the same login. If there is a credit card issue, I only have to deal with Toast rather than having to deal with a third party vendor. No more being on hold with two different companies to see which one can actually help me. You can customize the main terminal with photos of specials which helps staff upsell during the checkout process.,TouchBistro and Square POS,7shifts, DropboxToast POSWe have been using Toast as our POS for almost 3 years. It is deployed in the entire organization and has served us very well. We use it to handle all orders and for our employee time clock.,The backend and menu are easily configurable. Using its API, you can quickly and easily connect other systems to work with your Toast installation. There are excellent enterprise programming controls for the menu and employee management. Pretty much everything in the system is straightforward and great for day-to-day management.,Some of the enterprise reporting features are not great. It is hard to get information broken down by restaurant/category/date. Most reports will only give an aggregate sum. The API ecosystem is still growing so while most features you'd want to be available are built, there are some that we are still waiting on. Sometimes their phone support is a bit lacking in information, especially in the tier-1 support.,10,We've reduced our overall cost of hardware. Our recurring software and hardware maintenance costs have been greatly reduced. We've found that training on the system is much faster and easier than with our legacy big box.,TouchPoint,Compeat, HotSchedules, MONKEYThumbs up!Toast is the POS system we use for all 8 of our locations.,Online ordering. Cloud-based menu allows for real-time menu updates without needing to refresh the POS system. Intuitive menu setup.,Open API with LevelUp and other third parties. Product Mix is very hard to use. Hardware is not kept on site at Toast HQ and there are no technicians that can be sent out when there are issues with the hardware.,8,Allowing online ordering. Online ordering menu syncs with our app. Ease of use with updating menus.,Aloha POSToast is greatToast is our 3rd POS in 3 years & I'm happy to say, our last one! One of the main reasons we selected Toast was for the integrated Online Ordering & it works beautifully. Shows our customized menu on our website, customers order & pay online & their ticket fires directly to the kitchen. It also shows on main terminal, so cashiers know there is an online order too.We also use the fully integrated Loyalty/Gift Card program & that works great also. Customers can purchase gift cards online & a digital card is emailed to recipient & the purchaser gets email when the gift card is opened, so they know the gift card was received. It is also easy to make price changes or edits on the fly with Toast. Very simple to learn & they have well-produced training materials for staff & managers. A lot of data is reported but you're able to customize how you see the data you want. Easy to track employees sign ins & outs too. I pull 1 report to run payroll & its a breeze. Previously, I've had to pull a report from another POS, configure it to a format that made sense & then edit out what I didn't need.Honestly, I can't say enough about how great Toast is; sales process & on-boarding were pretty easy & they even send a person to setup the hardware!!,Easy to use. Easy to train staff. When you need call support a real person answers & you get your answers. Good for price.,Menu setup could be a little less rushed & person who sets up should be available for the first few weeks of going live.,10,Owners are able to monitor what menu items are selling the most making it easier to delete items & add new ones. Gives us a clearer picture of what's going on a daily basis even if we're not there.,TouchBistro,QuickBooks Self-Employed, Adobe Illustrator CC, Constant Contact,10,3Toast, an Excellent robust POS systemWe use Toast as our Point of Sale system. It is an impressive total POS solution that has simplified many of our workflows. It handles time tracking, sales, credit card processing, reporting, customer loyalty programs, and other things it can handle we just have not implemented them yet, like inventory.,Customer loyaty /rewards programs works very well on this POS system. We have had very good sucess with the program and it was easy to setup and implement. Credit Card processing through Toast is extremely affordable. The additional Kitchen Display and printer simplified our work flows and has allowed us to do more with less.,It is still a smaller company and fixes or updates are sometimes slow in arriving. The tech support while complementary and included is not always the best trained. We have been struggling to get the inventory system implemented for months.,9,Credit Card processing through Toast was extremely affordable, our costs for processing dropped by an amount that completely off-set the monthly fees associated with being a Toast customer.,Square POS,Patriot PAYToast - User Friendly - All In One!My company used Toast and to be honest I genuinely loved the service. As their supervisor I spent months learning the system, if I had any questions I could call customer service and I was relieved to find out that Toast has an extensive FAQ section where they cover almost everything! Highly recommend!!,EASE OF USE - Being able to easily split checks is easier this way. The ability to email/track receipts, and easy editing of closed checks. Toast has knowledgeable salespeople, account manager, and great training.,The syncing is off sometimes and will randomly put products as negative stock in the inventory, which is irritating. One downfall to the handheld tablets at our tables is that there is hardly any interaction with the waiter. Occasionally there are some interface issues, but it happens very rarely compared to other systems I've used.,10,Cloud based back office so I can check it on the go makes it easy to check in on accounting numbers throughout the day.,,Square POS, Aloha POS, ShopifyALL IN FOR TOASTWe are using toast as our point of sale. It is great. We used to use Breadcrumb for our POS and Shown for online ordering until we saw that Toast is all in one. It is great for keeping inventory, looking at the breakdown of sales and payments, pretty much all accounting.,Online ordering. Orders come right to the kitchen, so that they can be fulfilled quickly. Accounting. Day breakdowns show what hours sales are larger. It all gives detailed payment breakdowns by merchant and takes all the headache out of deposits. Gift cards. They have the options of electronic gift cards or the traditional card. For other point of sales gifts cards are handled through a third party but with Toast it's included.,Some minor bug fixes here and there. They are only android but would be nice to have mac. Ability to have paper and digital receipts enabled at the same time.,10,We are saving money with Toast. We used to pay 150/mo for Breadcrumb and 150/mo for Chownow (online ordering. Now we pay less than both of them combined for a POS that does it all in one. It has saved us money with the detailed inventory it keeps of our products. It is super easy to log in quantities as well. We are doing so much more in take out business with the online ordering feature and keeping track is so much easier with Toast.,Breadcrumb,Breadcrumb
Unspecified
Toast
14 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Toast Reviews

Toast
14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 14 vetted Toast reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Erin Thorp profile photo
May 08, 2019

Toast POS: affordable, but lacking common-sense features

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ToastPOS at our Pizza shop in Boulder, CO. Our partnership with Toast began in October 2015 (we were a very early client of theirs), and I should mention it's the first POS system we've ever used; previously a pen & paper shop. A digital POS allows us to access Sales reporting at any moment so we can find patterns in sales/labor that point to suggested operation modifications much more quickly than before. We also use it as a tool for sales projections that help us with scheduling our staff. We now have easily accessible records of every transaction, and processing our monthly financials is a much more accurate and enjoyable experience.
  • The Toast POS App itself has a very user-friendly interface. Training staff on the POS is straight-forward.
  • Though expected of any digital POS, they provide quick and mobile access to Sales & Accounting reporting.
  • ToastGo, which is Toast's new handheld order-taking & CC processing device, would be great for table-service restaurants trying to increase their customer turnover.
  • Toast Online Ordering (ToastOO) is an online ordering service offered for an additional monthly charge (we pay $50/mo), that allows your restaurant to put a link on your website where customers can "order direct" that is directly linked to the POS, so there is no manual entry involved. There is also no commission charge associated (as with GrubHub, UberEats, etc), just the flat monthly rate.
  • Accounting General Ledger Report is a life-saver for bookkeepers.
  • Toast has integration with AMEX so as I understand, you can accept AMEX payments without having an actual partnership with AMEX. AND you receive daily deposits from Toast's CC processing settlements quickly, which is always appreciated from a cashflow standpoint!
  • As a client of ToastPOS since Oct 2015, I have submitted a multitude of feature requests over the years. Some were considered and implemented, some were of course not. But I still have a list of (what I feel are) glaringly obvious features that are missing from the product that, had I known of them, I may not have chosen ToastPOS for my business in the first place (assuming other POS systems do offer these features?). I will lay them all out in detail here:
  • Gift cards are *not redeemable* on Toast's Online Ordering Platform (ToastOO). This includes both physical gift cards purchased in person through the POS *and* e-gift cards purchased online via a website that is directly linked to the POS. Aka a customer goes to our branded website to purchase an e-gift for our pizza shop, but when they go to our branded online ordering website to order pizza Delivery (also provided by Toast), they cannot use their e-gift card to pay. They must either call the shop or show up in person to pay using their gift card. Gift cards not being redeemable online is 100% a missed opportunity that frustrates every customer to whom we issue a gift card. This is also not a good method to entice customers who are loyal to 3rd party website such as Grubhub/UberEats, to switch to ordering direct from ToastOO (saving thousands in commissions). A customer would love FREE money to redeem at a restaurant they already regularly order delivery from, but not at the expense of not being able to order online. At the very least, until there is a solution, Toast should add verbiage to the gift card purchasing page (as well as on the checkout cart page) that states gift cards are not accepted as payment online, to better manage customer expectations.
  • Quote times are too complicated/difficult to manage. This is my staff's biggest pain-point operationally and is management's biggest pain-point since it is so difficult to train something so unintuitive. Say your standard quote time is 30 min Take-out and 60 min Delivery, but these vary all day long every day of the week depending on weather conditions, how busy we are, time of day, etc. Rather than a simple and straightforward "Take-out Quote Time"=30 and "Delivery Quote Time"=60 setting on the POS itself, you have to open a browser, login to the Toast Back-end, set “Default Prep Time (OO/API)”= 30mins & “Default Delivery Time” = 30mins, hit Save, and hit Publish separately. Yes, you have to add the two quotes together in order to come to the Delivery Quote that will be displayed on ToastOO (30 + 30 = 60). If we wanted Take-out to be 45, and Delivery 60, settings would be “Default Prep Time (OO/API)”= 45mins & “Default Delivery Time” = 15mins (45 + 15 = 60 minute delivery time), Save, + Publish. Unnecessarily complicated in a chaotic restaurant environment, especially when most restaurants are managing quote times across multiple 3rd party platforms on top of their own direct ordering website.
  • The online Ordering Schedule is too complicated/difficult to manage. Best explained with an example. If your restaurant is open until 10pm, and you want to accept orders up until 10pm, but your “Default Prep Time (OO/API)” is set to 30 minutes (aka 30 minute Take-out quote), you need to set your Online Ordering Take-out Schedule to be open until 10:30 pm in order to accept Takeout Orders up through 10pm.....and similarly for “Default Delivery Time” = 30 (which actually means a Delivery Quote time of 60 minutes, as explained above), you need to set the Delivery Schedule to close at 11:00pm in order to accept Delivery orders up through 10pm. The frustrating part is that this caveat isn't explained anywhere on the settings page, so you if you didn't happen upon this by attempting to place a Delivery order on your own website past 9pm (and not being allowed to), or noticing a late-night drop in Online Orders, you'd never know your website wasn't accepting orders up through 10pm as you wished.
  • Digital receipts. Toast cannot send digital emailed receipts for $0 orders. Aka if you are making an In-Kind donation (which we do several times per month) and the non-profit requires a receipt (which all do), you have to print the receipt and email them a picture of the paper copy. You cannot just email them a receipt stating the amount of the donation. This is frustrating as Tax Exempt businesses are typically the only customers these days who actually need receipts. It's a shame the ones we send them must look so unprofessional.
  • Toast Loyalty Rewards Program. Pro: purchases are linked to customer Credit Cards so points can add up automatically once they've linked their CC. Con: Because of this, you can only sign-up at the register itself (in-store). I instead would suggest customers be able to enroll online [make it part of the check-out process on ToastOO]. Then customers could enroll, and manage their associated CC's without holding up the line in-store. We are a quick-serve pizza-by-the-slice shop, and the goal is to move the line as quickly as possible, not having customers fumbling to sign up for a rewards program.
  • Bad Hardware. For 3+ years we've had to attach our Elo (think big check-out screen at the front register) to our cash drawer using 6 monster zip-ties, which looks very unprofessional. Toast does not provide any actual hardware (nuts/bolts/etc) to attach the ~$1k+ computer to the cash drawer so it doesn't fall off of the counter when flipped over for signature. Toast has only provided us with Velcro as a solution, which I, of course, do not trust considering the cost to replace the Elo when it inevitably crashes to the floor.
  • ToastOO Delivery Platform does not require a house number, a full 10-digit phone number, and we also have addresses within our delivery zone that get rejected from ordering direct because the system says their address is not in our zone. ToastOO Delivery is currently partnered with Mapbox for address verification. Valid House/Phone numbers are not required, which allows orders through with missing information. It requires our staff to spend unnecessary time on the phone, sometimes not being able to get ahold of the customer. This has been reported to Toast and they claim to be upgrading to a different mapping platform at some point in 2019. The 10-digit phone number issue was discovered as of 1/13/19 and has also been reported to Toast, with no follow-up as of yet. Mapbox rejecting customer addresses within our zone was discovered 10/2/18 and still has not been resolved; forcing those customers who can't get through to order from Grubhub, which of course costs us a hefty commission on orders that should be 0% commission.
  • Promo Codes are not robust enough for a modern digital age. Toast does allow setting up Promo Codes for customer use on ToastOO, but it cannot do basic functions such as limiting the dates/times the promo code can be redeemed, or Limiting the promo code to 1 redemption per user.
  • No branded app. It doesn't seem to me like it would be a far stretch for Toast to offer a branded App option. Restaurants want fewer partners, not more. Partnering with a 3rd party app company just adds one more menu to manage, aka rather than submitting in ToastPOS that we're out of "Green Peppers", and having that translate to ToastOO and a branded Toast App, we'd instead need to login to a 3rd party App provider to mark "out of Green Peppers", along with all other 3rd party online ordering platforms (Grubhub, etc). It gets to be too much for a small staff to manage, and an all-in-one solution with your already-created POS company/Menu, all linked together flawlessly, would be ideal.
  • General Ledger Accounting Report. This is a truly useful report for accounting purposes, but if you accept AMEX payments at your restaurant, this report does not account for AMEX fees, which you must manually calculate separately. Not a huge deal of course, but added time. UPDATE: As of 3/22/2019, Toast has finally updated the General Ledger report to include AMEX fees in your restaurant's accounting reports. It's no longer a separate manual calculation for bookkeepers. Hooray!
  • Menu Set-up Limitations. You cannot make certain items available for Delivery but not for Take-out, or vice versa.
  • No integration with Instagram. There is no partnership between Toast, despite Toast claiming on Twitter to be a restaurant's most important social media platform. Because of this, a restaurant using ToastOO cannot have a "Start an Order" button right on their Instagram page, making it most convenient for customers to order direct.
At this time, I would honestly not recommend ToastPOS for a restaurant like ours; a quick-serve pizza-by-the-slice shop, offering Delivery, open late-night, with a lot of rowdy college students as customers. The wear-and-tear on the hardware alone is a big concern, as Toast's hardware solutions are not great (they want us to attach our Register Screen to our Cash Drawer using velcro..?). Support is rarely available when we need them most (3am). The workflow of the Delivery Queue platform needs some work to become more efficient, as there isn't much room for error/fixing mistakes is difficult. And most specifically, I would not recommend adding the Toast Online Ordering feature as it is the most non-user-friendly online ordering front-end & back-end that I have worked with in my 10 years with restaurants. The releasing of improvements/upgrades/features is also incredibly slow as far as tech goes.

I think ToastPOS would be better suited for a more calm, table-service environment, with a bar, and with many food prep stations. Restaurants like this would find some Toast features (that we don't use) very useful, such as Kitchen Display Screens, printing tickets at different Prep Stations, swiping customer payments at their tables, and allowing customers to open bar tabs.
Read Erin Thorp's full review
Jennifer Dryer profile photo
February 11, 2019

Convenient, Well-Working Tablet Based POS System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toast is used by the customer service team in each bakery. This includes management and customer service positions. It allows us to efficiently and easily ring guests up, checking them out for their items and allowing them to choose tip amounts, choice of receipt delivery (email, phone number, printed, or no receipt) and more.
  • The ability for guest to select a receipt type.
  • Allowing to enter in different types of orders (current in-store orders, future orders, house account orders, and more).
  • The convenience of touch screen use and strong calibration.
  • Ability to swivel tablet from employee to guest.
  • The short cord on the tablet can create difficulty in turning the tablet for guest use.
  • The system occasionally runs slow and causes delays or double or triple entries of the same item.
  • There is a lack of training programs to train new users on Toast.
The Toast system is extremely convenient at guest checkouts. This makes the most sense in quick service areas, where there is not a full service sit down experience. This allows for quick checkouts and opportunities for tips for great service. It also makes sense in businesses where guests are at least minimally tech savvy to understand the system when signing with a fingertip, selecting tip, and selecting receipt type. This would not make sense at a fine dining location or a retail outlet. It is definitely created for quick service food outlets that give higher service than a fast food joint.
Read Jennifer Dryer's full review
Jayelynn Willman profile photo
January 19, 2019

Worth Every Penny!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business recently made the switch to Toast after two years with another point-of-sale system and I couldn't be happier.

The software is Droid based, which made me uncomfortable at first as I've never operated one before. It is incredibly easy to use and allows me to update the system remotely from my smartphone or my laptop. They offer handheld devices, that even with the card reader, can fit in an apron or back pocket. They do their own credit card processing in-house so there is no dealing with a third party. They have several partners that offer a variety of services - mass texting, payroll processing, etc. that integrate with the system.

We've been extremely pleased with the customer service aspect as well. They were able to get everything processed, set up, equipment sent to me, and training completed in less than two weeks. Everyone that I dealt with during the process was extremely easy to work with and incredibly helpful.

I've already recommended this system to several of our restaurant friends and I will continue to do so.
  • We are in a space with 10 other vendors, so the ability to swipe a card, pre-authorize it, and give it back to the customer so helpful!
  • The offline mode is another awesome perk! Should the internet go down, all the transactions are held and processed again once the connection is restored. This also allows us to take one of the handhelds to an event with us to sell drinks or merch.
  • Our previous POS required that my email be logged into the device which meant anyone could read through it. With Toast, it automatically sends out the receipts via text or email without having to have anything logged in.
  • This is one of the few POS systems that allows you to tip on gift cards which is extremely helpful. Most folks these days do not carry cash, so this allows them to still tip staff without having to run a separate card. They also offer electronic gift cards! We were able to put a link to the site on our website and social media to increase visibility.
  • Though sales details are available in real time, the analytics take 2-3 days to post. So if you are looking for specific modifications you'll have to wait.
  • Though you can edit the menus directly from the devices and move them around like you do on a smartphone, it doesn't give you a sorting option. If you're OCD like me, you have to alphabetize my hand.
This software simply speeds up the process for staff and customers on all ends.
  • You can be logged into multiple devices at the same time if you are trying to close out multiple tables.
  • You can setup the feedback option so that guests can fill it our immediately after signing. If it's a bad review, the contact person will get an email with the details instantly.
  • You can pre-authorize credit cards so that guests can hold onto them. This decreased our walk-outs tremendously as our guests pay for food separately from a different vendor.
Read Jayelynn Willman's full review
Jonathan Arbitman profile photo
December 19, 2018

Toast POS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Toast as our POS for almost 3 years. It is deployed in the entire organization and has served us very well. We use it to handle all orders and for our employee time clock.
  • The backend and menu are easily configurable.
  • Using its API, you can quickly and easily connect other systems to work with your Toast installation.
  • There are excellent enterprise programming controls for the menu and employee management.
  • Pretty much everything in the system is straightforward and great for day-to-day management.
  • Some of the enterprise reporting features are not great. It is hard to get information broken down by restaurant/category/date. Most reports will only give an aggregate sum.
  • The API ecosystem is still growing so while most features you'd want to be available are built, there are some that we are still waiting on.
  • Sometimes their phone support is a bit lacking in information, especially in the tier-1 support.
I've been working with Toast since an early stage of the product. I've seen it grow from a small, slightly buggy product to a robust, well-built system. They have learned from their misgivings and really stepped up to keep in line with customer needs.
Read Jonathan Arbitman's full review
Tanya Li profile photo
December 24, 2018

Thumbs up!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toast is the POS system we use for all 8 of our locations.
  • Online ordering.
  • Cloud-based menu allows for real-time menu updates without needing to refresh the POS system.
  • Intuitive menu setup.
  • Open API with LevelUp and other third parties.
  • Product Mix is very hard to use.
  • Hardware is not kept on site at Toast HQ and there are no technicians that can be sent out when there are issues with the hardware.
I can only speak to quick service, where it works very well.
Read Tanya Li's full review
Marie Schlump profile photo
August 08, 2018

Toast is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Toast is our 3rd POS in 3 years & I'm happy to say, our last one! One of the main reasons we selected Toast was for the integrated Online Ordering & it works beautifully. Shows our customized menu on our website, customers order & pay online & their ticket fires directly to the kitchen. It also shows on main terminal, so cashiers know there is an online order too.

We also use the fully integrated Loyalty/Gift Card program & that works great also. Customers can purchase gift cards online & a digital card is emailed to recipient & the purchaser gets email when the gift card is opened, so they know the gift card was received.

It is also easy to make price changes or edits on the fly with Toast. Very simple to learn & they have well-produced training materials for staff & managers. A lot of data is reported but you're able to customize how you see the data you want. Easy to track employees sign ins & outs too. I pull 1 report to run payroll & its a breeze. Previously, I've had to pull a report from another POS, configure it to a format that made sense & then edit out what I didn't need.

Honestly, I can't say enough about how great Toast is; sales process & on-boarding were pretty easy & they even send a person to setup the hardware!!


  • Easy to use.
  • Easy to train staff.
  • When you need call support a real person answers & you get your answers.
  • Good for price.
  • Menu setup could be a little less rushed & person who sets up should be available for the first few weeks of going live.
Well suited for Quick Serve Restaurants or Full Dining.
Read Marie Schlump's full review
Nathan Kung profile photo
August 17, 2018

Toast, an Excellent robust POS system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Toast as our Point of Sale system. It is an impressive total POS solution that has simplified many of our workflows. It handles time tracking, sales, credit card processing, reporting, customer loyalty programs, and other things it can handle we just have not implemented them yet, like inventory.
  • Customer loyaty /rewards programs works very well on this POS system. We have had very good sucess with the program and it was easy to setup and implement.
  • Credit Card processing through Toast is extremely affordable.
  • The additional Kitchen Display and printer simplified our work flows and has allowed us to do more with less.
  • It is still a smaller company and fixes or updates are sometimes slow in arriving.
  • The tech support while complementary and included is not always the best trained. We have been struggling to get the inventory system implemented for months.

Solid POS system, love the time tracking and reporting. It has made my life pretty easy from a payroll and accounting standpoint.

Having trouble getting the Inventory system working, I hate that I can't change the time that automatic reports are sent.

Read Nathan Kung's full review
No photo available
August 16, 2018

Toast - User Friendly - All In One!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company used Toast and to be honest I genuinely loved the service. As their supervisor I spent months learning the system, if I had any questions I could call customer service and I was relieved to find out that Toast has an extensive FAQ section where they cover almost everything! Highly recommend!!
  • EASE OF USE - Being able to easily split checks is easier this way.
  • The ability to email/track receipts, and easy editing of closed checks.
  • Toast has knowledgeable salespeople, account manager, and great training.
  • The syncing is off sometimes and will randomly put products as negative stock in the inventory, which is irritating.
  • One downfall to the handheld tablets at our tables is that there is hardly any interaction with the waiter.
  • Occasionally there are some interface issues, but it happens very rarely compared to other systems I've used.
Toast is used best in a more casual dining setting, for instance an Olive Garden or a Chile's with a more family feel. I believe Toast is not suitable for fine dining. The psychographics for this environment are typically people that are looking for and want more of a luxurious face to face interaction.
Read this authenticated review
William Johns profile photo
July 27, 2017

ALL IN FOR TOAST

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using toast as our point of sale. It is great. We used to use Breadcrumb for our POS and Shown for online ordering until we saw that Toast is all in one. It is great for keeping inventory, looking at the breakdown of sales and payments, pretty much all accounting.
  • Online ordering. Orders come right to the kitchen, so that they can be fulfilled quickly.
  • Accounting. Day breakdowns show what hours sales are larger. It all gives detailed payment breakdowns by merchant and takes all the headache out of deposits.
  • Gift cards. They have the options of electronic gift cards or the traditional card. For other point of sales gifts cards are handled through a third party but with Toast it's included.
  • Some minor bug fixes here and there.
  • They are only android but would be nice to have mac.
  • Ability to have paper and digital receipts enabled at the same time.
Toast is great for a small business with not a lot of money. The accounting is so easy that it takes the headache out of figuring it out. Keeps great records of your money and your labor. Also has a very detailed inventory system as well as food cost.
Read William Johns's full review

About Toast

Toast is a restaurant management point-of-sale platform for tablets.

Toast Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No