TrustRadius
TOPdesk is the flagship highly-modular cloud-based or installed ITSM service desk and asset management solution from the Dutch company of the same name, for enterprise companies.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/DY/sg/CARZX2SALMK8.JPEGTopDesk! Can't imagine my work space without it!It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.,500,Very well organized for incident and change management Great way to manage a CMDB,It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific,8,I can't give any specific answer on this question im afraid.,BMC Remedy Asset Management,8TOPdesk - A potentially great product currently burdened by a handful of shortcomingsWhen fully implemented, TOPdesk will be used across my whole organization. It will be primarily used to manage ticketing (help desk, maintenance, etc...), as well as to provide a nice front-end for the user community. We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.,,Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community. Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians). Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.,The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database. The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU. The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet. The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree. Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all. Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information. On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets. The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice. As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications. Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it. UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer. The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.,6,Very negative in terms of the amount of time spent just getting the product ready for implementation. As stated earlier, the prep to get the system ready took about 8 months, and now that we're live we're still fixing AD import issues and not using the inventory system due to its poor implementation. Can't speak to any positive ROI yet because we're not live, though I expect that the knowledgebase will be of some help.,ServiceDesk, Samanage, Zendesk and ServiceDesk Plus,7Implementing a first ticketing system in our organizationWe are using TOPdesk to receive IT Incidents and Change Orders from our users in the Offices in Germany, Spain, Italy, Turkey, and Poland.,500,Easy to enter tickets by mail from the users. TOPdesk could be used directly out of the box. SaaS makes it easy to setup it up and scales within the region. Excellent support during and after the go-live by the people from TOPdesk.,SaaS implementation could be easier if it would be done by TOPdesk as an extra service. My IT department had some difficulties due to lack of knowledge in this area.,10,Eases the handling of J-SOX Replacement of Excel Files The higher efficiency of technicians No user request get lost anymore,Service-Now,10,2,Incidents Change Order SAP Events,Event Management New Employee Employee Departure,Asset Management Self Service Portal Full Change Management,9,Micro Focus ZENworks Suite, Eset Smart Security, IBM Notes,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,No, not at all.,Vendor implemented,Yes,Change management was a major issue with the implementation,SAAS implementation on our side, due to missing experience with SAAS Not up to date nor complete filled AD WAN bandwidth (100-200 MBit/s) upgrade was needed,8,The entire implementation process and the project management was excellent.,Incident Management Change Management Event Management,na na na,Yes, but I don't use it,9TOPdesk is a solid solutionWe originally implemented TOPdesk as a join venture between IT Services and our Estates and Facilities department. Both departments were using separate systems prior to TOPdesk. Since then we have also been able to include 3 others areas of the University as users of TOPdesk. Primarily it is used for call/issue management but we also make use of the change management, asset and property management features. Very soon we are looking to implement the Survey Module. TOPdesk has enabled us to have a more consistent experience for issue management across the areas which are using it. This includes a more streamlined way to pass calls between different areas of the University and track progress. Use of the other features such as asset and property management has allowed us to more tightly couple this data against call data and avoid having to manage them in disparate systems.,9000,Self-service Portal is very good, particularly with the latest version. If you populate the knowledge base well, users can often find the help they need before needing to raise a call Escalation and routing of calls is very straightforward which allows the operators to work efficiently when dealing with calls Separation of different teams within TOPdesk works very well so that they can manage their own calls without seeing each others,The tools for configuring events and actions need improving, especially the tool for events which, whilst very powerful, is cumbersome to use when configuring event criteria The built-in form designer within TOPdesk is adequate but could do with better features to allow for more dynamic forms. It would also benefit from being able to post data to custom fields rather than just into the Action box. There is quite a step up between the built-in form designer and the custom XFG form engine which is the only other solution which TOPdesk provide Asset management could do with some improvements as it can be a little inflexible when needing to customize the data being held as well as build processes around it,8,We have been able to provide a more streamlined experience for staff and students when raising issues We have been able to replace 3 previous separate systems with TOPdesk and are looking to replace a 4th in the near future by using some of the TOPdesk features We have had to use quite a bit of staff time to configure and support TOPdesk which was not expected. Ideally it requires someone with dedicated time to administer which we did not take into account when implementing,9TOPdesk is Top NotchWe currently use TOPdesk as our IT Service Desk ticketing solution. We were looking for a solution that would allow our employees to submit, manage, and review their IT requests from any location. TOPdesk provided flexibility with the configuration and customization on a modular hosted platform. We don't have to worry about server maintenance and upgrades either. Next steps are improved asset management and workflow automation through change management. Additionally, we are looking at expanding the ticketing capabilities to other support areas outside of the IT department.,30,The greatest win for our organization was moving to a managed hosted platform. This gave us improved access for our remote users and increased service availability. The modular nature of the TOPdesk products allows us to only use the features we need. Additionally, the license model gave us increased opportunity with who can use the products. Almost all aspects of the product are customizable which means we can expand the product to other departments for their service needs.,Sometimes desired feature sets are only available with additional modules such as change management module for workflow automation. Process automation can be the trickiest to configure and self-help documentation can be lacking.,9,The quickest gain that we realized was reduced cost from our previous solution in terms of service contracts and on-premise infrastructure costs. Additional gains are also found in standard solution management and service disruption notification. We now have a company dashboard that can inform employees about any large or small service issues. Improved reporting has also allowed the department to focus resources where there are greater needs and monitor costs of service.,Spiceworks, BMC FootPrints Service Core and Zendesk,10
Windows, Linux
TOPdesk
223 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TOPdesk
223 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 223 vetted TOPdesk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 105)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 18, 2018

Review: "TopDesk! Can't imagine my work space without it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a great way to manage incidents and changes. Also, a great product to keep track of a CMDB which makes it all very organized.
  • Very well organized for incident and change management
  • Great way to manage a CMDB
  • It's a bit hard to find all the features if you're an admin and new to the product. Could be a little bit more specific
I can't imagine myself in a support environment without TopDesk. It's plain but very user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Gruett profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk - A potentially great product currently burdened by a handful of shortcomings"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When fully implemented, TOPdesk will be used across my whole organization. It will be primarily used to manage ticketing (help desk, maintenance, etc...), as well as to provide a nice front-end for the user community.

We also hope to implement the project management and change control modules in the near future.
  • Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community.
  • Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians).
  • Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.
  • The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database.
  • The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU.
  • The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet.
  • The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree.
  • Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all.
  • Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information.
  • On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets.
  • The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice.
  • As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications.
  • Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it.
  • UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer.
  • The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.
Absolutely great if you want to provide a nice interface to your end-user community. Also, pretty good ticket management. Decent (not great) form designer.

Horrible if you want to use inventory, write elaborate knowledgebase procedures, or set up any sort of intelligent email notification system without spending years of your life getting things set up. Very poor documentation (getting SSL set up was a chore, installing the product was not easy, etc...).
Read Bob Gruett's full review
Karl Schuele profile photo
April 16, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Implementing a first ticketing system in our organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk to receive IT Incidents and Change Orders from our users in the Offices in Germany, Spain, Italy, Turkey, and Poland.
  • Easy to enter tickets by mail from the users.
  • TOPdesk could be used directly out of the box.
  • SaaS makes it easy to setup it up and scales within the region.
  • Excellent support during and after the go-live by the people from TOPdesk.
  • SaaS implementation could be easier if it would be done by TOPdesk as an extra service. My IT department had some difficulties due to lack of knowledge in this area.
TOPdesk is well suited if you are implementing your first ticketing tool and/or if your organization is less than 2000 users. Also, if your organization has no high ITIL skill level. The TOPdesk team helps a lot to compensate this.
Read Karl Schuele's full review
Ian Short profile photo
April 04, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk is a solid solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally implemented TOPdesk as a join venture between IT Services and our Estates and Facilities department. Both departments were using separate systems prior to TOPdesk. Since then we have also been able to include 3 others areas of the University as users of TOPdesk. Primarily it is used for call/issue management but we also make use of the change management, asset and property management features. Very soon we are looking to implement the Survey Module.

TOPdesk has enabled us to have a more consistent experience for issue management across the areas which are using it. This includes a more streamlined way to pass calls between different areas of the University and track progress. Use of the other features such as asset and property management has allowed us to more tightly couple this data against call data and avoid having to manage them in disparate systems.
  • Self-service Portal is very good, particularly with the latest version. If you populate the knowledge base well, users can often find the help they need before needing to raise a call
  • Escalation and routing of calls is very straightforward which allows the operators to work efficiently when dealing with calls
  • Separation of different teams within TOPdesk works very well so that they can manage their own calls without seeing each others
  • The tools for configuring events and actions need improving, especially the tool for events which, whilst very powerful, is cumbersome to use when configuring event criteria
  • The built-in form designer within TOPdesk is adequate but could do with better features to allow for more dynamic forms. It would also benefit from being able to post data to custom fields rather than just into the Action box. There is quite a step up between the built-in form designer and the custom XFG form engine which is the only other solution which TOPdesk provide
  • Asset management could do with some improvements as it can be a little inflexible when needing to customize the data being held as well as build processes around it
TOPdesk works well for call/issue management and benefits from being based on the ITIL model. It can help if you have different teams/departments which need a service management tool but want to manage their calls separately. Whilst the concept of having a number of modules which link together is good, in practice it can take quite a bit of effort to get them working well together.
Read Ian Short's full review
Jeff Walters profile photo
January 19, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk is Top Notch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use TOPdesk as our IT Service Desk ticketing solution. We were looking for a solution that would allow our employees to submit, manage, and review their IT requests from any location. TOPdesk provided flexibility with the configuration and customization on a modular hosted platform. We don't have to worry about server maintenance and upgrades either. Next steps are improved asset management and workflow automation through change management. Additionally, we are looking at expanding the ticketing capabilities to other support areas outside of the IT department.
  • The greatest win for our organization was moving to a managed hosted platform. This gave us improved access for our remote users and increased service availability.
  • The modular nature of the TOPdesk products allows us to only use the features we need. Additionally, the license model gave us increased opportunity with who can use the products.
  • Almost all aspects of the product are customizable which means we can expand the product to other departments for their service needs.
  • Sometimes desired feature sets are only available with additional modules such as change management module for workflow automation.
  • Process automation can be the trickiest to configure and self-help documentation can be lacking.
TOPdesk is well suited for the medium-sized enterprise that wants to have a customizable solution for their service management. It is fairly scalable and intuitive to use. Some system administration is necessary, but minimal end-user training is needed. Every once in a while you find a limitation with a process where better automation is desired, but usually, those can be addressed by TOPdesk support services.
Read Jeff Walters's full review
Sven van der Waal van Dijk profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk - a winner for standard service management tasks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used for everything concerning service management and ISO-related administration. It's the central point for all operations.
  • Modular
  • Keeps developing
  • Excellent price / quality ratio
  • Needs more rich text options
  • Response time reporting
  • Renaming fields / changing lay-out would be nice
  • Self-service portal has very limited reporting options and no export functions
Ideal for small and midsize organisations with a focus on service management.

Will work fine as a guideline for setting up your business but is a no go for situations where organisations want to deploy very elaborate and customized processes.
Read Sven van der Waal van Dijk's full review
Jean-Marie Adam profile photo
April 17, 2018

Review: "Choose TOPdesk for your Service Management activities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TOPdesk in several departments. Especially the incident and change module. Now I am implementing the Contract and SLM module to maintain and control the contracts with our suppliers. The most important issue to resolve in our organization is to get a commitment from the users.
  • customizing the tool to their own needs
  • flexible, powerful
  • good reporting facilities
  • make it easier to delete records which not being used
  • a better overview of following process steps and show the consequences of doing some actions.
  • improvement of the user guide
TOPdesk is well suited as a complete Service Management tool. All the operational ITIL-processes can easily be configured. On a tactical level, the contracts and their service levels can be stored and triggers can be set. Improvements can be made in defining categories en subcategories. This is less convenient.
Read Jean-Marie Adam's full review
Zeo Smeijsters profile photo
April 10, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "High level of customizability for a out of the box solution."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used to track all customer contacts in the after-sales processes (reporting on issue origin, amount of issues raised and the total response and handle times towards our customers).
  • TOPdesk can be used for contact tracking during support sessions.
  • Support documentation on the self service desk is limited in the options and workflow.
  • Reporting options are limited.
  • Simultaneous updating of one issue by triggers or other representatives gives "Already updates" errors.
If you have limited requirements and are satisfied with a paid out of the box solution for aftersales contact tracking TOPdesk can offer a solution.

For an out of the box solution there is a high level of customability, however as every out of the box solution it will never support your processes fully and there is the risk of altering your well appreciated existing business processes to suit the tool.
Read Zeo Smeijsters's full review
Mike de Lima profile photo
April 10, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk is a good product to use in any kind of industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used by our IT department for the call registration of daily incidents. Also, to have a CMDB of all our assets within the company. Besides IT-related questions, we also register all incidents our students are having with their schoolbooks.
  • Incident management: In my opinion, is the core process for TOPdesk. Call agents can easily register tickets, you can send status updates to your clients and send an information email when the problem is solved.
  • Selfservicedesk: You can give customers access to the SSD so they can apply a new incident, but they can also follow any ticket they applied earlier.
  • Possibility to connect with Azure AD. We run LDAP connection so we can import all our employees and students. In the future, all our users will be known in the Azure AD instead of our on-premise AD.
I worked with other programs that are similar to TOPdesk, but they are not easy to use. You do not need any IT knowledge before you can make use of TOPdesk. If you have a problem with TOPdesk you can send an e-mail to the support desk and they always respond within 1 workday.
Read Mike de Lima's full review
Benthe Duppen profile photo
March 30, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Good support!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk at the reception [desk]. We are using it to register visitors and keep a detailed employee list in order to give out lockers. We are currently in the process of starting to use the self-service portal for tickets and visitors.
  • Very good customer service
  • In general a nice product to use, too bad we do not use it to full extent
  • Honestly, I don't have any examples. if I have to say one thing it is that I have to search often for features in the admin part. Maybe because I don't use it often enough maybe because its a little confusing?
I think it it is suited for a reception [desk] but the rest of the organization should be using it as well then. Since our IT department does not support it it is a little hard to get the whole organization on board.
Read Benthe Duppen's full review
Eddie van der Weide profile photo
March 30, 2018

Review: "How TOPdesk can help you with software development"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use incident management for our customer base to support our AMT Product Suite at Asysco. We use change management for our software development (Extensive changes). We use knowledge base management for news items and feedback.

The self-service desk is used for customers to enter their problems. For projects, we use the operator part.
  • Simplicity in use. Incident management is straightforward.
  • Ease of configuration. Users and permission groups can easily be added. Graphical overview is a pro.
  • Modularity. Incident management and change management.
  • Self-service desk: Option to be able to add more functionality for certain goals. In our situation, we would like to have the possibility to change some fields when the incident is created. For example the customer priority or status. In that way, we can use the self-service desk in projects
  • The Kanban board is new. We would like to have it in Change management also. Extra columns on the board - you should be able to configure it per operator group.
  • The user interface is not the same in all places. In certain cards the edit button is visible while on other cards it muc be chosen from the drop-down menu.
  • Incident management suited for facility management.
  • For use of ticket handling a project, it is less appropriate. There you should log in as an operator.
Read Eddie van der Weide's full review
Marije Snuverink profile photo
November 29, 2017

Review: "TOPdesk is worth considering as both a quick way to start using workflows and improving in depth"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TOPdesk is currently used in some parts of my organization (not linked with each other). Its current focus is to keep track of incidents reported by users.

The application is however capable of much more, of which I had a very good impression at a former employer. TOPdesk is able to support many demands on facility management, incident- and change management and much more. I like working with the application, both as a user and an administrator.

  • TOPdesk handles incident management very well. It is relatively simple to get a good look at which incidents are submitted to various handlers.
  • TOPdesk has an easy to use administrator module, which (with or without help from a consultant) brings you relatively quickly a professional set of communication tools with your users.
  • TOPdesk is easy to integrate in your current IT structure and is able to be hosted both onsite or remote.
  • To be able to use the more intricate features besides incident management takes a lot of study or hours hired from a TOPdesk consultant. However, if you have an organization which requires good facility and IT management (including handling objects, software licenses, company clothing, material, rooms and reservations) it can be your number one application. I even saw it being used for maintenance reports on vehicles!
TOPdesk suits all your needs from basic incident and change management to complete facility management, fleet management and more. It communicates well with third parties.
Read Marije Snuverink's full review
Jon Faulkner profile photo
March 19, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk really is TOP notch!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of the delivery of the IT Strategy to deliver an improved digital, collaborative, optimised and flexible working environment at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine I recommended that we introduce a service management tool for the whole organisation. So far it is in use by IT, Estates, Payroll, Communications, Catering, Library & Archives, Student Registry and parts of Finance. In the coming months, more of HR and Finance together with the Grants Management Office will be using the TOPdesk platform. Through this one successful implementation, the school has benefited from greater customer experience and satisfaction, improved efficiency and collaboration for support services, reduced loss of working time across the staff and student communities, advancement of digital capabilities and much improved management information. Much value has already been gained and there is still more to come.
  • Versatile enough to be usable and add value across multiple support functions - makes ROI and efficiency conversations more obvious
  • Great modular building blocks - enabling progressive development and improvement in planned phases
  • Readily configurable to fit in with desired style and branding - adding to the alignment and common experience for end users
  • Has all the essentials for empowering the end users to self service - shifting support level, delivering more timely and cost effective resolutions
  • The only area of challenge for us with TOPdesk fitting in with our wider technical architecture is that not all of our more obscure tools had existing interfaces or APIs, but this is hardly a bad reflection on TOPdesk
  • TOPdesk provides a clear, cohesive and intuitive customer experience
  • Self-service portal enables reduced contact via less ideal modes i.e. email or phone
  • Promotes effective parallel resolution to complex calls and more effective collaboration between support service areas
  • A customer-focused, people-centric pan-organisation support tool which has done all we were seeking - even though we were seeking a lot!!!
Read Jon Faulkner's full review
Kimberly Wamble profile photo
January 30, 2018

User Review: "TopDesk is Great"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by various departments across our organization mainly as a ticketing system.
  • An employee is able to enter an IT problem or communication request in TopDesk.
  • IT then receives the ticket and services it appropriately.
  • We looked at using it as a project management system but found that it was more cumbersome for the novice user than some other systems that we looked at.
I don't have any areas of less well-suited situations. I think that the ticketing system is excellent and works well for our environment. The project management system is also great. It is very thorough and a great organization tool but was more in-depth than what we need at the moment.
Read Kimberly Wamble's full review
Lance Kimbrell profile photo
January 30, 2018

Review: "TopDesk is not just a helpdesk software. It is much more."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TopDesk in a few different departments on campus. Hopefully expanding that campus-wide. Currently, our IT department, Campus Safety, and Admissions use it to track help requests and admissions.
  • We are able to extend our support by allowing end users to self help. This is done with the use of the knowledge base packaged with TopDesk.
  • We are able to effectively track help requests and meet SLA requirements
  • Topdesk provides our users with a one stop place for all help requests and facilities management requests.
  • We would like the ability to merge tickets. Some times we have multiple tickets come in regarding the same issue and have not been able to merge them together.
  • The events reservation system is nice, but would like it expanded to support more events management instead of just reservations.
We find it well suited for a helpdesk atmosphere for the IT department. We are finding different ways to make it work in other departments. The campus safety department uses it to track room and campus access. The physical plant is now using it track requests for campus repairs. We are still working with the events reservation portion to incorporate into our events management departments.
Read Lance Kimbrell's full review
Jeffrey Ing profile photo
January 29, 2018

"TOPdesk Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by the whole organization. It addresses any ticketing management needs to maintain records and IT/Web/GIS/Design communications with staff.
  • Workflow Managments and uptime.
  • Easily create forms for any new self service desk. Fast implementation of new workflows.
  • Creating new users and archiving old users.
  • Customizing more complicated workflow with different external teams.
  • More options in creating more elaborate forms, adding pictures for example.
  • more integration options for Azure, we currently cannot integrate fully with azure and manually upload everytime we create a new user.
It is well suited in helpdesk ticket management.
It is well suited for ticket history and records retrieval.
It is not suited for team collaboration or collaboration with external users.
It is not suited with integration with office365.
Read Jeffrey Ing's full review
Bo Ring profile photo
January 29, 2018

"Top Bo's TOPDesk Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk to track issues in engineering and information technologies. It is used to track the hiring process for human resources and information technologies. Is used to track information on vehicles. It is also used in conjunction with project management.
  • The tracking of issues is excellent.
  • Data entry is fast and logical.
  • Time tracking is very good.
  • It desperately needs the ability to search multiple categories at the same time.
  • The export tool is very weak and complicated.
  • The ability to edit self-service forms if they are incorrect would be very nice.
I find topdesk very well-suited for break fix situations. It allows me to organize and prioritize very well for those.

It does a very good job of repetitive change management. It is much weaker in off-the-cuff changes for tracking
Read Bo Ring's full review
Bart Breeschoten profile photo
January 18, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk lives up to its name"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After being used solely by the IT-department for two years to keep track of incoming requests and issues, TOPdesk is now being configured to streamline HR processes and primary administration processes as well. A Self Service Portal is being configured, that will make it easy for employees and management to initiate requests that kick off various workflows and that they can monitor keep track of themselves.
  • TOPdesk can be tailored to specific needs, by means of a broad range of functionality modules that can be added when needed or left out when not. This makes TOPdesk versatile and highly configurable, without unneeded clutter and complexity.
  • Elaborate workflows are easy to create, can span various departments and can trigger custom notifications and automated actions at any point in the flow, dependant on any thinkable (set of) criteria.
  • The user interface of TOPdesk is attractive, clear and consistent across modules. The comprehensive search, card (tab) management and personal dashboards make for an idividually customizable experience.
  • The form engine of TOPdesk absolutely needs to improve. As it stands, it is usable only for the most basic of tasks. Conditional questions can only be triggered on the value of a single radio button. Checkboxes, dropdowns and the like cannot be used to steer the flow within a dynamic form, nor is there an option to create composite conditions. Furthermore, the styling is fixed and cannot be altered in any way. This is too bad, as the styling has various spacing flaws that you need to work around using empty text items. Questions cannot be copied within a form, nor from one form to another.
TOPdesk is well suited for any service management scenarios, and in basically any scenario that is helped by the use of workflow management software. With a clever use of filters, the confidentiality of certain information in (say an HR process) can be safeguarded.
Read Bart Breeschoten's full review
Paolo Staal profile photo
January 17, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk, what's in a name?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used by several departments: IT, Facility Management and Quality Management. The top users are the IT employees. The rest of the organization is well known with the SelfServiceDesk to submit incidents or changes and to track the status of their requests. It helps to centralize the support questions (IT, Facility Management ) and accident registration (Quality Management) from the entire organization. The CMDB is leading for the purchased hardware (varying from SIM-cards to beamers etc.) and to keep track of it.
  • The interface is well designed and through the years this has only improved.
  • Reasonably easy to customize for your own needs. The management of the application is not too complex.
  • Good and professional support from the TOPdesk support team.
  • I would like to see more functionality for TOPDesk reports. It is not possible to create a complete report with several indicators from different categories. It would be great if I just could combine everything into one big management report which I could send monthly (automatically).
  • Splitting the use for different departments in one TOPdesk environment is quite difficult. There are possibilities, but there can easily be cross contamination.
  • The SelfServiceDesk is quite basic (but functional). It would be great if you could enrich these with widgets to retrieve realtime information from your environment (like specific uptime or live service status from business applications).
TOPDesk would be great for bigger sized companies where there is a reasonable number of support questions. I think it is less suitable for maintenance departments who want to plan replacements and keep track of (almost) outdated equipment. Instead of TOPDesk, our own organization has chosen another product for this use to fit their requirements.
Read Paolo Staal's full review
Stan Newcomb profile photo
January 16, 2018

User Review: "Punch your ticket with TOPdesk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is currently used as our ticketing tool and knowledge store for user knowledge and internal IT knowledge items. It is available for use throughout the organization. We use it to and document activity and changes and also to manage work supported by custom reports/dashboards I developed to track workload and status.

We also use TOPdesk to track assets, user permissions, and licenses. I wrote some custom reports that enable us to perform quarterly management audit reviews.
  • It is easy to use and enter information. It provides a cost effective way to document and track work activity.
  • It allows for the creation and access of Knowledge Items to support self-service for users and document IT and other processes.
  • Email sweepers allow for the automatic creation of ticket requests.
  • Tickets can be categorized allowing them to be routed to the appropriate teams.
  • It can be hosted internally which makes it more secure.
  • Templates can be created to collect specific information.
  • Email replies can be automatically sent to users alerting them of requests for more information or notification of ticket closure.
  • We have encountered difficulty scheduling the creation of tickets (e.g. create tickets based on a weekly schedule to perform a service).
  • Writing queries for custom reports to query the database is a little difficult since 75% of the column headings are in Dutch.
  • The configuration flexibility is somewhat limited.
TOPdesk does a good job at documenting and tracking work activity, providing knowledge to users as well as team members on internal processes. Email sweepers enable the automatic creation of work requests. Being SQL based, custom reports can be written that enable dashboards and reports to be created to view and manage the workload.
Read Stan Newcomb's full review
Erwin Kroon profile photo
January 02, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk for a Company Wide Service Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used by our whole organization worldwide. At first, we only used it for "IT calls" and CMDB. After a few years, we also started to use the change management module. And in the last years more and more departments adopted it. The financial department was the first one to use it for standardized requests and reporting. Then the drawing department started using it, also for standardized requests which must follow a certain flow. Production is using it for various tasks (maintenance, inventories, calibrations etc.).
  • User-friendly.
  • The possibility to create our own forms.
  • Good performance.
  • Excellent service desk.
  • The email module could use an option when you don't reply to the original request.
Due to the flexibility, TOPdesk will fit most companies.
Read Erwin Kroon's full review
Leo Strikwerda profile photo
April 16, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk: it's all there"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in the whole organization, for Facility (visitors, rooms, reporting malfunctions), and ICT (incidents, changes, problems).
  • Self-service portal functionality
  • Dashboard functionalities
  • Reporting functionalities
  • Search in more than one card type.
  • Customizing change process

Room reservations and incident management works very good.

We don't use TOPdesk for planning purposes, we think it's not really suited for this task.

Read Leo Strikwerda's full review
Hank Smid profile photo
April 14, 2018

"TOPdesk Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk throughout the company for incident management, change management, and asset management.
  • Ticketing: recording and handling IT tickets
  • Self service portal with knowledge articles for employees
  • Asset management can be improved
  • Searching assets in a ticket can be improved (more fields to search instead of only objectID)
For ticketing the tool does what you may expect. Again, asset management can be improved.
Read Hank Smid's full review
Andreas Adam profile photo
December 04, 2017

TOPdesk Review: "A support tool to make your customers happy."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use TOPdesk to support our clients and colleagues. As a service provider, we serve more than 600 customers with more than 10,000 users. We also use the tool for the support of our own staff. It is used here in all support units and is the lead system. Starting with the staff planning knowledge management, support, and material management to invoicing, we have mapped our processes in TOPdesk.


  • The Vendor TOPdesk does an excellent job in Consulting.
  • The tool gave us the possibility to standardize and automate our processes.
  • We think in the SLM-Module there are some things to improve. E.g., in Contracts, you are not able to link the objects to the contract.
TOPdesk is a Support Tool if you support people with your company, you have the right tool. If you miss anything e.g. Voice-Systems, KI-Systems or other subsystems connect it with TOPdesk it will work. If you want to use TOPdesk in other ways, e.g. CRM- or ERP-System let it be and buy the right system!
Read Andreas Adam's full review
Gert de Jong profile photo
March 28, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk View"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by our service desk as a ticket system and for configuration management
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to change settings, so it's helping with doing business with more efficiency
  • Possible to use forms with our own company branding
  • I don't know!
We are using it for our service desk as a ticket system. Is helpfull for this. I don't have point which can be better at this moment.
Read Gert de Jong's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (105)
8.2
Expert directory (70)
6.8
Service restoration (65)
7.4
Self-service tools (96)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (74)
7.6
ITSM collaboration and documentation (80)
7.6
ITSM reports and dashboards (84)
6.8
Configuration mangement (85)
7.0
Asset management dashboard (75)
7.6
Policy and contract enforcement (62)
6.9
Change requests repository (79)
7.8
Change calendar (69)
6.8
Service-level management (69)
7.2

About TOPdesk

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk. For more information: page.topdesk.com/tei

TOPdesk Integrations

BeyondTrust Remote Support (Formerely Bomgar Remote Support), Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios, Okta Workforce Identity, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft BI, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian