TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6C/b9/XR09NAFJA7EB.JPEGTreasure Data will let you fully, and EASILY, understand your data.Treasure Data is being used across the entire organization. We are using it to define churn probability of subscribers, behavioral analysis of our online readers, event attendees that have attended multiple events, digital advertising reports, multiple integrations with our CRM and email automation systems. We have connected it to Tableau to give us a strong data visualization element of our raw data. The biggest business problem that Treasure Data addresses is that it gives us a single platform for data collection and analysis.,Treasure Data is very flexible for ingesting different data sets. The native integrations that they have built are among the majority of the systems that we have, therefore creating a data lake was relatively simple. The product team at Treasure Data was able to build a new connector, as a partner to us as a client, for managing our event attendees and revenue impact.,One of the issues that we faced, when onboarding, was the lack of understanding around what we were trying to accomplish as a company, and not being made aware of some of the functionality in Treasure Data. The documentation doesn't always have all of the steps, from a layman's perspective, to be able to set up more intricate custom connections. We had an issue, specific to our needs, where the Doubleclick For Publishers (DFP) API connection wouldn't use a dynamic date range for data ingestion, therefore we have to change the date query each month, on the last day of the month, to pull in the latest digital advertiser information.,10,Treasure Data has provided an immediate positive impact on seeing the details of the business, without having to aggregate multiple spreadsheets and use pivot tables. Treasure Data has helped to provide a positive predictive model for potential customers to upgrade their spending with the company, providing an immediate list of prospective leads to provide to the sales team. Treasure Data has now allowed us to define our LTV and 360-degree view of our customers, where we struggled with this before.,We are still working towards being data-driven. Treasure Data has been a significant factor in that transition, for us. We are now able to share reports, do real-time queries and analysis, and showcase the data into a more manageable standpoint, using visualization to executive leadership and general staff. This has led to more questions about other areas of data that we haven't had in the past and aligns the corporate interests in growth using data.,Currently, we were pulling analytics reports from DFP and creating a new client report, each month, for a digital advertising client, having a very manual process. We didn't know that Treasure Data had a Reporting tool until after we were onboard. We were able to leverage that tool and use an integration to pull in the analytics information, at near real-time, to have dynamic Dashboards for our clients. Being able to cross-query multiple data sets was an expectation from the beginning, but what we found, prior to Treasure Data, is that most systems made this a complicated process. Treasure Data made it much simpler. Being able to use predictive scoring was an unexpected benefit for us, helping to leverage the insights regarding subscribers to our products.,Looker and Stitch,Google Analytics, Parse.ly, Tableau OnlineMake sure you give Treasure Data a tryAt Exostatic, we help companies run their data pipelines and successfully implemented Treasure Data in some of them. Treasure Data is a solid partner with a truly effective ETL platform.,Flexibility Power Ability to connect to multiple data sources,Nothing I think of at the moment, Treasure Data is always responsive when an improvement is needed,10,Treasure Data is a powerful data platform and definitely increases our effectiveness.,It is our mission to encourage our clients to become more data-driven, to show them how data analysis can help them reach new heights with their business. Treasure Data is our partner of choice in implementing a powerful data platform to suit our clients' needs.,Use it as an intermediary to pre-process data before piping it in Salesforce, Marketo, Hubspot,...,Upsight, Swrve and Domo,App Annie, Chartboost, Fyber, Apptopia, Tableau Server, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online,8,7A Great Way to Kickstart Data Engineering and AnalyticsWe use Treasure Data to collect and transform data from multiple sources for the purpose of product analytics.,Great library of connectors Workflow engine is simple, but in a good way Presto query performance is very good Support is very good, especially with live chat,Presto support is missing key types making it surprisingly verbose to do this as you need to cast things back and forth Lack of support for deploying our own connectors Cannot write Ruby or Python code in workflows,9,We were able to create a true product analytics capability in record time We we able to democratise product analytics by exposing it in our BI tools and in Salesforce thanks to Treasure Data,Yes, we have definitely become more data driven since adopting Treasure Data. The main benefit is first having the data, and then being able to distribute it to where it is needed to make data-driven decisions. For us, that is in Salesforce for customer success and account management, Tableau for exec reporting, and Amplitude for our product managers and designers.,Send product metrics to Salesforce Centralised digital analytics using Treasure Data Javascript SDK, then syndicate to other tools like Amplitude As a data warehouse using Presto,Alooma, Astronomer, Segment, Sisense and Keboola Connection,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, LookerGood product but can improve some functionalityIt is used by BI department to fill the gap between transactional database and data warehouse.,API connection for multi sources are made very user friendly Workflow option makes it easy to manage day to day manual activities Easy to join multiple datasources in one code,User access can be more layered Some of the programming language functionality are not available which makes it hard for developers to find work arounds.,8,None None None,Linking our internal database and TD Api data sources are very helpful to achieve better results in understanding of company's over all progress in certain area.,none,Google BigQuery and Azure SQL Database,Amazon Relational Database Service, MySQL, Azure SQL DatabaseLet's my team focus on the value we can bring, not building data pipelinesTreasure Data is used by the Data and Analytics team to act as the basis for our entire data infrastructure. Treasure Data makes the process of ingesting, organising, processing and then outputting data extremely easy, centralised and reliable. It allows our small data team to focus on the outcomes that the data supports, the use-cases, instead of dev-ops. As such, the data inside of TD is used by everyone in the organisation in some form or another, from making data available to Looker, our BI tool, to pushing audiences out to Advertising Platforms, to generating complicated reporting for specific management stakeholders. The easy of not having to build connectors into services, or a workflow management system is a major benefit to us.,Workflow Management -> Easy to integrate saved queries, centralised, good debugging, powerful Directed Acyclic Graph functionality Support -> Absolutely outstanding support, I have never had an issue which has been put in the "too hard, cannot fix, work around" pile. Effective Management of Hadoop Clusters -> Interactive querying of our Hadoop clusters, never having to think about the dev-ops, availability or CPU load of our queries is an incredible force multiplier for us,The breadth of connectors to APIs is good, but some of the connectors are at best confusing, and at worst outright hostile to users. Some of the errors and connection settings are incomprehensible. I would like to be able to run simple arbitrary scripts in the workflows, though I understand why this is hard. I would like a breakdown of utilisation by query, to allow me to understand which elements of my workflows are potentially so inefficient as to be causing problems. While TD's compute power is (to me) effectively infinite this isn't a blocking problem. However on the understanding that it actually is finite, this is important. This will get more important the more we set up.,10,It enables us to do things that no one else our size can do, and which cause bigger vendors like Google with BigQuery to get very uncomfortable when I tell them we can do everything they consider core USPs. The most direct impact on ROI is supporting the creation and syndication of audiences to ad platforms based upon behavioural data which can only be stitched together between several sources (Shopify and Zendesk and Segment).,Treasure Data allows our marketing to both answer more complicated questions about our customers and to reliably and consistently push data to our tools for stakeholders to do their own reporting. As such, the ad-hoc request workload for the Data and Analytics team has significantly lightened, and the appetite for hypothesis driven marketing campaigns and testing has increased in the Marketing Team.,The JS API allows us to easily connect Node and Python scripts, which perform scraping and data analysis tasks, directly to our storage. This was surprisingly easy and painless Easy access to GA reporting connectors allows you to hack together more complicated reports by querying the endpoint frequently and retaining data, than a single report would allow.,Snowflake and Amazon Redshift,Looker, Segment, Amazon Redshift, Klaviyo
Unspecified
Arm Treasure Data
73 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Arm Treasure Data Reviews

Arm Treasure Data
73 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 73 vetted Arm Treasure Data reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 42)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mark Chiles profile photo
August 21, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data will let you fully, and EASILY, understand your data."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is being used across the entire organization. We are using it to define churn probability of subscribers, behavioral analysis of our online readers, event attendees that have attended multiple events, digital advertising reports, multiple integrations with our CRM and email automation systems. We have connected it to Tableau to give us a strong data visualization element of our raw data. The biggest business problem that Treasure Data addresses is that it gives us a single platform for data collection and analysis.
  • Treasure Data is very flexible for ingesting different data sets.
  • The native integrations that they have built are among the majority of the systems that we have, therefore creating a data lake was relatively simple.
  • The product team at Treasure Data was able to build a new connector, as a partner to us as a client, for managing our event attendees and revenue impact.
  • One of the issues that we faced, when onboarding, was the lack of understanding around what we were trying to accomplish as a company, and not being made aware of some of the functionality in Treasure Data.
  • The documentation doesn't always have all of the steps, from a layman's perspective, to be able to set up more intricate custom connections.
  • We had an issue, specific to our needs, where the Doubleclick For Publishers (DFP) API connection wouldn't use a dynamic date range for data ingestion, therefore we have to change the date query each month, on the last day of the month, to pull in the latest digital advertiser information.
Treasure Data is well suited for pulling in multiple data sets, to help define and understand your audience, business, predictive scoring and having a central platform for doing data analysis and data science.

What it's not well suited for, however, is heavy charting and data visualization. We've had limitations using Treasure Reporting.
Read Mark Chiles's full review
Nicolas Nadeau profile photo
July 29, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Make sure you give Treasure Data a try"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Exostatic, we help companies run their data pipelines and successfully implemented Treasure Data in some of them. Treasure Data is a solid partner with a truly effective ETL platform.
  • Flexibility
  • Power
  • Ability to connect to multiple data sources
  • Nothing I think of at the moment, Treasure Data is always responsive when an improvement is needed
Treasure Data is particularly useful when companies have numerous data sources to connect in order to be able to make strategic decisions.
Read Nicolas Nadeau's full review
Scott Arbeitman profile photo
July 13, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "A Great Way to Kickstart Data Engineering and Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data to collect and transform data from multiple sources for the purpose of product analytics.
  • Great library of connectors
  • Workflow engine is simple, but in a good way
  • Presto query performance is very good
  • Support is very good, especially with live chat
  • Presto support is missing key types making it surprisingly verbose to do this as you need to cast things back and forth
  • Lack of support for deploying our own connectors
  • Cannot write Ruby or Python code in workflows
If you are a mid-size company with disparate data sources and you want to build a data lake and/or data warehouse, Treasure Data may be a good fit. If you want to syndicate data to other data sources, when supported by Treasure Data, beyond a data warehouse, such as to Salesforce or Amplitude, Treasure Data is also a great fit.

For most of your data collection and analytical needs, Treasure Data is a great stack.

If you have very complex privacy requirements, esoteric data stores or have a capable and unconstrained infrastructure team, a better path may be to build instead of buy in this space.
Read Scott Arbeitman's full review
Zankhana Shah profile photo
August 04, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Good product but can improve some functionality"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by BI department to fill the gap between transactional database and data warehouse.
  • API connection for multi sources are made very user friendly
  • Workflow option makes it easy to manage day to day manual activities
  • Easy to join multiple datasources in one code
  • User access can be more layered
  • Some of the programming language functionality are not available which makes it hard for developers to find work arounds.
Bringing Google Analytics data via API into the environment was very helpful as we were able to utilized GA attributes with our internal KPIs.
Read Zankhana Shah's full review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Let's my team focus on the value we can bring, not building data pipelines"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used by the Data and Analytics team to act as the basis for our entire data infrastructure.

Treasure Data makes the process of ingesting, organising, processing and then outputting data extremely easy, centralised and reliable. It allows our small data team to focus on the outcomes that the data supports, the use-cases, instead of dev-ops.

As such, the data inside of TD is used by everyone in the organisation in some form or another, from making data available to Looker, our BI tool, to pushing audiences out to Advertising Platforms, to generating complicated reporting for specific management stakeholders. The easy of not having to build connectors into services, or a workflow management system is a major benefit to us.
  • Workflow Management -> Easy to integrate saved queries, centralised, good debugging, powerful Directed Acyclic Graph functionality
  • Support -> Absolutely outstanding support, I have never had an issue which has been put in the "too hard, cannot fix, work around" pile.
  • Effective Management of Hadoop Clusters -> Interactive querying of our Hadoop clusters, never having to think about the dev-ops, availability or CPU load of our queries is an incredible force multiplier for us
  • The breadth of connectors to APIs is good, but some of the connectors are at best confusing, and at worst outright hostile to users. Some of the errors and connection settings are incomprehensible.
  • I would like to be able to run simple arbitrary scripts in the workflows, though I understand why this is hard.
  • I would like a breakdown of utilisation by query, to allow me to understand which elements of my workflows are potentially so inefficient as to be causing problems. While TD's compute power is (to me) effectively infinite this isn't a blocking problem. However on the understanding that it actually is finite, this is important. This will get more important the more we set up.
The only scenario where I would not suggest Treasure Data, is either in organisations which are too small to pay the fee and must resort to open source solutions, or organisations so large and sophisticated that limitations around workflows and connectors are more critical than the overwhelming efficiency saving.

TD is good for any team which does not wish to invest significant resources in developing and maintaining their data infrastructure. Even teams with dedicated Data Engineers should benefit from those engineers working on more interesting issues than "keeping the lights on".
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 10, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "TreasureData might be the right choice for the right environment."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TreasureData is being used across about half of the organization. It gives us the ability to ingest, store and analyze a very large volume of gaming events. It also helps us to get near instantaneous data events from our games. Ability to handle large volume of events is why we went with TreasureData in the first place.
  • TreasureData is excellent in integration with various software and services.
  • Implementation of the their SDK is also very easy.
  • TreasureData SDK works well in our applications and does not crush.
  • Data management is very challenging with TreasureData (can't delete records, update tables, create indexes, etc).
  • Analyzing and queries tables with very large number of records is near impossible or takes a very long time.
  • To effectively visualize data we need to first export it to SQL and the run our viz tools due to the reason above.
TreasureData is well suited for small to medium companies who don't have a very large data sets, and need to be able to integrate with a variety of various software or services. For very big companies with large amounts of data and a decent Data Engineering team, Treasure data might not the right fit.
Read this authenticated review
Cody Jannetti profile photo
January 22, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Disruption in Data Services - Unveiling the true potential of Treasure Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data within our mobile games to track in-app events. The entire company uses the data however the major use is within monetization. Treasure Data’s platform is very much misunderstood. TD is not just a cloud storage or hosted middleware solution, it is an entire information management platform which offers cradle to grave data services from ETL to Stats. TD SDK + Digdag + TD workflow + TD storage + TD Connections + TD machine learning = IT/BI/DA off the shelf
  • It is reliable- uptime is 99.99%
  • Job processing is easy
  • The new workflow tool is outstanding. It allows various data processing options with extensive metadata surrounding the success of the workflow. 100% dynamic including options for parallel processing jobs. One of the best features in my option. And with digdag
  • Easy integration
  • Td needs to focus on increased processing speed. Not by adding more resources but rather indexing partitioning or allowing primary keys outside of time
  • WhatTreasure Data offers requires a change of mindset with a focus on the big picture. I believe it is largely misunderstood. More education and really- you need a solution architect to ask how the technology is used and not why
  • Data mapping from their sdk to Treasure Data should be more flexible
Treasure Data is meant to be used for large data. If your collecting over 100gb of data daily Treasure Data is your plan form to support. The best scenario is to connect Treasure Data directly to the source of data. Relaying data from source to internal then to Treasure Data is not recommended.
Read Cody Jannetti's full review
Chikashi Kato profile photo
September 13, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Comprehensive data analytics platform coming with a great customer support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Treasure Data as our main data analysis platform and its main users are Analytics team and Engineering team. We are actively using it for large data analysis such as traffic log analysis of our web site. It helps us to understand customers' needs based on the data in order to provide a better user experience.
  • Treasure Data provides a comprehensive tool set necessary for the big data analysis such as a bulk data loader, data import/export connectors and a workflow engine along with powerful SQL based query engine (Presto).
  • Treasure Data's support is amazing. They provided us the initial setup support as well as conducted the user training sessions. Also, their support engineers are almost always online and super responsive for any type of questions.
  • Since Treasure Data is a managed service, we don't have to worry about the maintenance much. They keep their system up-to-date and make it accessible 24/7 for you. So we can focus on the analysis.
  • Since Treasure Data's product is mainly open source based, it's updated very frequently. So, Treasure Data's documentation was outdated from time to time. It would be great if they can keep their documentation fresh and accurate.
  • This is also related to Treasure Data's frequent update, but they are not providing a release note for each new release. They only provide a release note about the high-level updates happened in the past month. Most of the time, it's not a big issue. But when their update breaks our existing functionalities, it's pretty annoying to find out the root cause of the issue because we cannot know which modules are updated.
  • Treasure Data has a bunch of functionalities, but not all of them have many users. So, when you use their unpopular functionalities, you might face some weird bugs or performance issues and need to work with their support engineers to find out solutions. Basically, they are addressing the issues very quickly, though.
Since Treasure Data is designed to process a large amount of the time series data, it works very well for analyzing system logs such as web servers' access log. But if the data is very sparse or not the time series data, Treasure Data cannot fully provide an expected performance.

Treasure Data allows us to import the data from multiple sources very easily through their variety of data connectors. This is very helpful for analyzing the correlation between the data of isolated systems (e.g. connecting Amplitude's data to Zendesk's data). However, if the data source provides denormalized data (e.g Array of the data or JSON string), you need to spend extra effort to parse it.

Read Chikashi Kato's full review
Drew Johnson profile photo
September 01, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Taking our data platform to the next level!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is being used as an ETL platform and analytical database across the organization at Silvercar. Treasure Data supports three different business units within the company (our B2C airport car rental business, our B2B dealership hardware/software business and our B2B2C corporate product). At Silvercar we use Treasure Data to ingest data directly from our business systems (GA, AppAnnie, Salesforce, Netsuite, JIRA, etc.) and internal databases (mySQL) to create a data lake and run all our data transformation jobs accordingly. We also use Treasure Data as an analytical database to process our largest jobs.

We choose to use Treasure Data for this process because we can create, manage and schedule these jobs without the need for a data engineer or developer to create these custom scripts for us.
  • API/Connectors to a number of different business systems
  • Easy to use analytical database
  • Great customer support (direct chat, etc.)
  • Does not integrate directly with our BI system (Looker) yet, although we can push data to Looker indirectly.
Treasure Data offered us a simple solution to our biggest data challenges which were creating API/connectors to our business systems and standing up an analytical database without the need for hiring a data engineer or involving our development team. The platform is also SQL based which is aligned with the skillsets of our BI/Analytics team.
Read Drew Johnson's full review
Rolando Bernabe Tribo profile photo
October 31, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "It's OK, I like it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data as the one of/main data warehouse used by the company. It's mostly used by the analytics team. Raw data is processed/aggregated here to be pushed to other downstream data sources for mainstream use/reporting. One use case is that we use it to analyze events triggered by our products to determine content correctness and trends.
  • JSON data parsing in SQL. Coming from MySQL, I found that being able to parse JSON data is very useful.
  • Product support. Their support team is exceptional.
  • Growing list of data connectors. Treasure Data has data connectors to multiple external systems like Redshift and Tableau.
  • Product not 100% polished. We're still encountering bugs/unexpected behavior.
  • The SQL console, being the main medium I use to interact with the data, can use more dev/query features like saved query templates and ability to search through saved queries.
Treasure Data is good at data ingestion, having built-in data connectors to a growing list of external systems. It also has decent scheduling and workflow capabilities but if your job workflow is complex, it might not be the ideal tool.
Read Rolando Bernabe Tribo's full review
Johnny Kamel profile photo
October 30, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "TD Revew"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure data is used by a select analysts and data engineers as the main ETL platform for event based data.

Our company includes two main sets of data, app analytics events logged when users interact with our apps and static data that is more business/inventory/finance focused.

Treasure data deals with the former (in correlation with the rest of the datasets that we house at our company) to aggregate and transform raw data into actionable usable tables
  • Connecting with other platforms. Love the connectors that TD offers and how easy they are to use
  • Scheduled queries are also very easy to manage and incorporate in workflos
  • TD UDFs are particularly handy and a great way to simplify code
  • Searching for past older jobs can be tedious sometimes. wish there was a more robust ability to search oder queries
Well suited for:
- workflow management
- aggregation an transformation layer

Not well suited for:
- Quick check queries
Read Johnny Kamel's full review
Sean Thompson profile photo
October 25, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data gave us superpowers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure data to collect and store information from all departments within the business, including web analytics, marketing spend, email activity, and customer engagement. The data is also used to build reports from board level reporting to day to day actionable reports for marketing, customer services, and product development. It helps us solve a range of data-driven problems across our whole business.
  • Easily stores a large amount of data - meaning you're not put off collecting things that may be useful in the future. We don't have to be conservative with what we store.
  • Connects to multiple data sources - so data generated outside platforms we control - like Facebook, Google Adwords - we can pull key data from these places too.
  • Quick querying - the query writing in Treasure data is helpful, they are also good UDFs that speed up and simplify queries.
  • We want to see our data, so to visualise it we need to use another tool on top, or export it.
  • At the moment, you can't search saved queries by the tables they use - I think it would be useful.
Treasure data is suitable for large-scale collection, storage, and analysis of information where users have a reasonable level of technical know how. If you're not capable of learning SQL, it would not be for you.
Read Sean Thompson's full review
Igor Pernek profile photo
October 18, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Reliable data warehouse as a service"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a data warehouse. Raw data containing operative business information is continuously ingested to Treasure Data. Different batch jobs are continuously running to aggregate data based on a different number of dimension to achieve relevant granularities for specific use cases. The data is used across the whole organisation for: reporting to customers, troubleshooting by tech support, analysis and feature design by R&D, etc.
  • Very reliable data ingestion to their warehouse
  • Fast querying capabilities using Presto and Hive
  • Good API for programatic access to the data
  • Adding support for not only batch processing but also streaming data
  • Better grouping and organization of saved queries and jobs
It is very well suited for use cases where the main requirement is to process store data in a scalable warehouse as a service and do batch processing of the data. It is less appropriate if the main business requirement is to be able to process streaming data in real time.
Read Igor Pernek's full review
Mike Galvin profile photo
October 02, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data - definitely some hidden gems here"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Shortening the time to market for getting data in the hands of users and easily integrating it into other platforms to centralize this data in a single place was a huge win for us. The ability to then query across data sets from different source systems at a large scale was great. The performance on very large data sets (billions of rows) was pretty good as well.
  • Very easy to get up to speed on the platform, the web interface was simple and easy to use and we were quickly able to leverage our teams existing SQL based skill set without having to know a ton about the underlying HDFS based platform Treasure Data sits on top of.
  • Speed of development was great and built-in connectors for various cloud data sources and destinations were excellent.
  • The ability to write directly to data sets for Tableau Online was a nice feature.
  • The workflow scheduling piece, while very robust was still too code/script heavy for what other integration platforms do easily in a simple UI. The UI will need to improve here to accommodate all the underlying features and functionality that can be implemented via the scripting language.
  • Updating data does not exist as part of the platform features so you just have to know what you want to use the platform for before implementation. This would be a nice feature enhancement.
It is very well suited when you have a need for a simple way to integrate both cloud and on premise software into a central data repository. Do not try to use this as a data warehouse replacement However, it could work nicely as a compliment to any data warehouse considering it's built in snapshot capabilities of all data by default. I was impressed with its "schema-less" design in which changes in upstream systems of source data don't break downstream integrations like many other platforms.
Read Mike Galvin's full review
Michael Yang Chen profile photo
September 29, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data - it's pretty good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a huge amount of data that requires processing, and treasure data provides the big data solutions required to handle it all. We have hundreds of terabytes of data that needs aggregation and filtering before it is in a state that can be meaningfully used by our analysts to make business decisions.
  • Handles queries on big data well
  • Easy to use in conjunction with other data warehousing and data processing tools.
  • Web application often not responsive when the database grows to too large a size.
Good if you want to run big hive queries on gigabytes to terabytes of data. Good in conjunction with other data stores and data warehouses.

Not as good when you want your database to be easily accessible to your business analysts.
Read Michael Yang Chen's full review
Jean-Michel Cabrera profile photo
September 27, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Great platform to ingest large amounts of data with lots of easy to use integration points."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used at the department level. It allows us to perform analytics on huge amounts of data. We load realtime data as well as very large batch files. It integrates really well with Amazon S3.
  • Treasure Data provides a large portfolio of integration points, very easy to use and manage. Ingestion of data is easy, flexible.
  • Treasure data has really great support, whenever there is an issue they are quick at responding and fixing the problem, or guiding us to resolve the problems.
  • Scalability is never an issue, ingestion of large amounts of data is so easy.
  • Auditing could be improved. It is critical to know the metadata around the ingestion process.
Treasure data is well suited for analytics of large amounts of data. Ingesting the data using their workflows is made easy.
Read Jean-Michel Cabrera's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu profile photo
September 11, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure your data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data solves the most challenging connectivity problems between data acquisition and data formatting to relational databases. It is not just limited to cloud analytics but even more. Some of the best features that are really helpful for a data engineer like me is to reuse the results rather than re-execute. Treasure Data provides an option of a persist job_id for each query and retrieve the results within the 90 days using a unique job_id. It is used all over the organization including the developers, analysts and business users. Storage of data in Treasure Data is flexible which has a metadata to define. This helps to scale and accommodate the changing needs.
  • Unique Job_id to persist results for a duration of 90 days.
  • Metadata driven data structure to store importing data.
  • Multiple Analytical engines to process the query based on the performance and need.
  • Automated deletion of unwanted data by using an expiration configuration. This reduces the maintenance and monitoring of tables.
  • Persist required job_id for more than 90 days
  • More client APIs to ease the developers
  • Good in computing but lot of scope for improvements in performance tuning
Best suited: Get historical computed results to the code using job_id.
Less suited: Real time computation and processing
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
Giacomo Vannucchi profile photo
September 01, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Built end-to-end Big Data pipeline in few months without dedicated engineering team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data has allowed us to build an end-to-end Big Data pipeline in only few months, without a dedicated data engineering team. The main business problem we were able to address was how to unlock value from our 150+ million records MySQL Database, updated at a rate of 1 billion events per month. The Data team needed a quick and flexible way to explore, interrogate and train models with minimum impact on the company's development team.

In addition to this, we have used Treasure Data as an in-house web tracking and analytics solution by leveraging their Google Tag Manager integration. This has allowed the us to support Product Marketing teams in providing an independent and flexible way to track website usage and marketing campaigns performance.
  • Flexible, easy and really schema free data landing/ingestion part. No need to worry about changes in the data. Treasure Data storage solutions adapt very well and gives you a lot of flexibility.
  • Amazing Support! The guys are really great and available to answer most of the questions. Most of the time within less than an hour from when tickets are opened.
  • Support for a lot of data integration solutions and continuous development of new solutions.
  • Some documentation can be improved. Would be good to have more practical examples
  • Website homepage/UX are changing all the time. I would like it to be a bit more consistent simple and minimal. Also, why do I have to log in again every time I open an new tab? It wasn't like this before.
  • It would be nice if it was easier to work with fields which has been saved as a Json. Would be great to have more support on this. Not sure if this is a limitation with Hive and Presto or with Treasure Data.
A mid-sized start up is an ideal scenario because it allows you to build data pipelines without having to maintain infrastructure internally, without the need of too many dedicated resources, and at the same time offers a lot of flexibility and it is ideal for an environment where there is a lot of different technologies used.
Read Giacomo Vannucchi's full review
Kevin Fitzgerald profile photo
September 01, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Do it – Find the Treasure in your Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TreasureData to make wielding inconceivable amounts of data blissful. We store and query massive amounts of time series data, and mirror other data sources to build complete, near-realtime reports that deliver insights for our customers.
  • Customer Service
  • API and User Interface
  • Technical Expertise
  • Keeping Presto up to date
TreasureData is well suited for anyone looking for a managed solution for dealing with massive amounts of data. Trying to roll your own Hadoop/Presto farm takes lots of time and resources, so leveraging a firm who deal with these sorts of things is a no-brainer.
Read Kevin Fitzgerald's full review
Michael Pedersen profile photo
October 06, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data for small businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data has become our primary data store. It has the backbone of our data.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Very communicative on problems/service interruption
  • Support staff is very quick and attentive
  • A little costly
Great for a small team that needs real-time access to a lot of data. If a company had the staff, they could probably have a homegrown solution.
Read Michael Pedersen's full review
Nadene Evans profile photo
September 13, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Deep-Dive Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data has allowed our team to make data-driven decisions for product enhancements. Mining data efficiently means the difference between spending time on projects we know our users will want vs. hoping we deliver. Our students want products to help them be more successful and it is our job to deliver.
  • Parallel processing
  • Machine learning options
  • Easy SQL
  • Easier quick tips
  • Q&A
  • On-the-fly help
  • Seeking trends for product development
  • Search analytics for SEO
Read Nadene Evans's full review
Andy Wu profile photo
August 29, 2017

Arm Treasure Data: "Andy Wu's Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is basically our hadoop solution. Log files are stored on Treasure Data. Data engineers/data scientists/analysts use Treasure Data for their day-to-day analysis.
  • Interaction with support.
  • Add more ways [to contact support] such as [Cisco] Spark.
Well suited for smaller data-driven organizations that are not ready to host their own hadoop clusters.
Read Andy Wu's full review
No photo available
September 22, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Driving a Data Driven Culture via Product Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today, we use Treasure Data to manage the ingestion of our product data across the organization. It allows us to unify event data, metadata around our customers, and external data we may collect via surveys, etc. Treasure Data powers daily reports that are used internally by 200+ people throughout our organization to get a pulse of how our products are being used and tracking towards success.
  • Workflows is a fantastic product that is configurable to bypass the need for specific extraction APIs, but flexible enough to chain together and manage jobs.
  • The GUI allows you to easily switch between Presto/Hive, share queries with other analysts and maintain an audit trail of past jobs.
  • The Bulk Integration library allows you to easily add on additional datasets that may further enhance the 360-view of the customer.
  • Today, Treasure Data does require some technical expertise, especially as it relates to new features. I appreciate that the approach allows a quick time to value but does require coding expertise.
  • I would love if Treasure Data had the ability to connect workflows with Github easily via the GUI.
  • Additionally, I would love better search functionality to easily mine past jobs rather than paging through them via the console.
Treasure Data is well suited if you are an organization that has limited Data Engineering / Analytics resources and want to shift the focus of those team members from ingesting/processing data to driving toward insight and strategic decisions. Treasure Data is less suited for teams that are less technical and data-focused.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data: Data infrastructure as a Service"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are e-commerce startup without a data engineer. It's quite hard to find a good one and it also takes time to set up the infrastructure ourselves. However, the urgency of processing data is critical for us. We spend a lot on paid e-marketing and we need a way to measure the ROI daily.

Using Treasure Data, we started fast. We could track all user actions and which paid channel the users come from just by using Treasure Data's JS library. Since Treasure Data also has a connector to Postgres (our transaction DB), Facebook Ads, and Google Ads, data ingestion becomes much easier. Moreover, since Treasure Data already has a cron scheduler, we can easily run the queries (we have over hundreds Treasure Data queries) repetitively. The output is fed to Periscope data to be visualized and accessible across the organization any time. Now, all decision-makers in our company monitor the dashboard and make decisions based on it.

Yet, all that is done only by 2 data analyst and no data engineers.
  • Data engineering as a service. It's like PaaS but for data infrastructure.
  • Rich end-points. Almost all major services are connected to Treasure Data.
  • Easy to use the web UI, yet feature rich.
  • Pricing, a bit too expensive. Also hoping more flexible pricing plans
Treasure Data is well suited if your company wants to move fast (is data-oriented), without having to worry about data infrastructure. How much time and cost would be needed for planning, development, tweaking, and maintenance if you consider implementing it by yourself? Consider the opportunity costs as well.

However, Treasure Data is not really suitable if you do need to build a complex data infrastructure. If your company is familiar - and willing to set up Kafka, Spark, Hadoop, Apache Beam, HBase, Presto, etc., Treasure Data is not suitable for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "How much data can you handle?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure data is used by my organization to log lots of data points such as: events, device type, device OS, app version, and many others. Using the results we get from Treasure Data, our product owners are able to see what areas of the game people are using frequently and which areas they are not. Armed with this data we are able to make determinations of what features to include in other titles or what features may need some re-working. From the engineers incorporating Treasure data into the game code to the Data Analysts decoding the data to the QA team making sure events fire when they are supposed to; Treasure Data is used widely across our game studio.
  • Provides an immense amount of detail into customers and their uses of the application.
  • Verification of the new features added into the products and if customers are using them or not.
  • Provides a great tool for determining which bucket customers fall into while running an A/B Test
  • Amount of time it takes to get data to populate columns after recently adding them to Treasure Data, could definitely be improved upon.
  • A simple quick Query system that can be use by not programmers to quickly confirm data is being retained by Treasure Data.
Treasure Data is very well suited for a high demand data driven market like mobile applications; where trends and markets change constantly. With the data your team would be able to have a great snapshot of where and when people are doing what in your application. The amount of data that can come back can be very overwhelming and too much to sift through, but with fairly easy changes you can remove columns of data and reduce the time it takes to get the data back and read it.
Read this authenticated review

About Arm Treasure Data

Arm Treasure Data manages customer data for global brands and Fortune 500 enterprises like Mattel, Subaru, Canon, LG and disruptive startups like Wish.com, Fivestars, and Zoom.
Categories:  Data Warehouse,  Customer Data

Arm Treasure Data Features

Arm Treasure Data Screenshots

Arm Treasure Data Videos (3)

Watch Transforming Your Digital Advertising With the Power of First Party Data

Watch Accelerating business operations with Treasure Data - featuring Kapost

Watch Data Stack Considerations - Build vs Buy at Tout

Arm Treasure Data Downloadables

Arm Treasure Data Integrations

Marketo, Segment, Mixpanel, TUNE Marketing Console, Google Analytics, AppsFlyer, adjust, Amplitude Analytics, Chartio, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Looker, Domo, Adobe Analytics, Heap, Hadoop, Amazon Redshift, App Annie, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Online, Pentaho, Metric Insights, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Storage, Google Drive, Intercom, Zendesk, Elasticsearch, MongoDB, Google BigQuery, Microsoft SQL Server, PostgreSQL, Snowflake, MySQL, MariaDB, Docker, Heroku, Stripe, MailChimp, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Oracle Eloqua, Pardot, HubSpot, Oracle Responsys, NetSuite, Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick), Facebook for Business, Sizmek, AdRoll, LiveRamp IdentityLink, Datorama, Twitter Ads, Google Tag Manager, Branch, salesforce sales cloud, kafka, Amazon Kinesis, hive mall, jupyter, pandas, R, mLab, fluentd, JDBC, Luigi, Python, Rest API, informatica, ruby, eyeota, instagram Ads, xbee, MQTT, RaspberryPi, Serial Devices, CSV, FTP, Webhooks, mysql workbench, razorSQL, SQuirreL SQL, iOS, Android, Unity, Unreal Engine

Arm Treasure Data Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Arm Treasure Data Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

Arm Treasure Data Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Arm Treasure Data Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Japanese