TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6C/b9/XR09NAFJA7EB.JPEGTreasure Data will let you fully, and EASILY, understand your data.Treasure Data is being used across the entire organization. We are using it to define churn probability of subscribers, behavioral analysis of our online readers, event attendees that have attended multiple events, digital advertising reports, multiple integrations with our CRM and email automation systems. We have connected it to Tableau to give us a strong data visualization element of our raw data. The biggest business problem that Treasure Data addresses is that it gives us a single platform for data collection and analysis.,Treasure Data is very flexible for ingesting different data sets. The native integrations that they have built are among the majority of the systems that we have, therefore creating a data lake was relatively simple. The product team at Treasure Data was able to build a new connector, as a partner to us as a client, for managing our event attendees and revenue impact.,One of the issues that we faced, when onboarding, was the lack of understanding around what we were trying to accomplish as a company, and not being made aware of some of the functionality in Treasure Data. The documentation doesn't always have all of the steps, from a layman's perspective, to be able to set up more intricate custom connections. We had an issue, specific to our needs, where the Doubleclick For Publishers (DFP) API connection wouldn't use a dynamic date range for data ingestion, therefore we have to change the date query each month, on the last day of the month, to pull in the latest digital advertiser information.,10,Treasure Data has provided an immediate positive impact on seeing the details of the business, without having to aggregate multiple spreadsheets and use pivot tables. Treasure Data has helped to provide a positive predictive model for potential customers to upgrade their spending with the company, providing an immediate list of prospective leads to provide to the sales team. Treasure Data has now allowed us to define our LTV and 360-degree view of our customers, where we struggled with this before.,We are still working towards being data-driven. Treasure Data has been a significant factor in that transition, for us. We are now able to share reports, do real-time queries and analysis, and showcase the data into a more manageable standpoint, using visualization to executive leadership and general staff. This has led to more questions about other areas of data that we haven't had in the past and aligns the corporate interests in growth using data.,Currently, we were pulling analytics reports from DFP and creating a new client report, each month, for a digital advertising client, having a very manual process. We didn't know that Treasure Data had a Reporting tool until after we were onboard. We were able to leverage that tool and use an integration to pull in the analytics information, at near real-time, to have dynamic Dashboards for our clients. Being able to cross-query multiple data sets was an expectation from the beginning, but what we found, prior to Treasure Data, is that most systems made this a complicated process. Treasure Data made it much simpler. Being able to use predictive scoring was an unexpected benefit for us, helping to leverage the insights regarding subscribers to our products.,Looker and Stitch,Google Analytics, Parse.ly, Tableau OnlineMake sure you give Treasure Data a tryAt Exostatic, we help companies run their data pipelines and successfully implemented Treasure Data in some of them. Treasure Data is a solid partner with a truly effective ETL platform.,Flexibility Power Ability to connect to multiple data sources,Nothing I think of at the moment, Treasure Data is always responsive when an improvement is needed,10,Treasure Data is a powerful data platform and definitely increases our effectiveness.,It is our mission to encourage our clients to become more data-driven, to show them how data analysis can help them reach new heights with their business. Treasure Data is our partner of choice in implementing a powerful data platform to suit our clients' needs.,Use it as an intermediary to pre-process data before piping it in Salesforce, Marketo, Hubspot,...,Upsight, Swrve and Domo,App Annie, Chartboost, Fyber, Apptopia, Tableau Server, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online,8,7A Great Way to Kickstart Data Engineering and AnalyticsWe use Treasure Data to collect and transform data from multiple sources for the purpose of product analytics.,Great library of connectors Workflow engine is simple, but in a good way Presto query performance is very good Support is very good, especially with live chat,Presto support is missing key types making it surprisingly verbose to do this as you need to cast things back and forth Lack of support for deploying our own connectors Cannot write Ruby or Python code in workflows,9,We were able to create a true product analytics capability in record time We we able to democratise product analytics by exposing it in our BI tools and in Salesforce thanks to Treasure Data,Yes, we have definitely become more data driven since adopting Treasure Data. The main benefit is first having the data, and then being able to distribute it to where it is needed to make data-driven decisions. For us, that is in Salesforce for customer success and account management, Tableau for exec reporting, and Amplitude for our product managers and designers.,Send product metrics to Salesforce Centralised digital analytics using Treasure Data Javascript SDK, then syndicate to other tools like Amplitude As a data warehouse using Presto,Alooma, Astronomer, Segment, Sisense and Keboola Connection,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, LookerGood product but can improve some functionalityIt is used by BI department to fill the gap between transactional database and data warehouse.,API connection for multi sources are made very user friendly Workflow option makes it easy to manage day to day manual activities Easy to join multiple datasources in one code,User access can be more layered Some of the programming language functionality are not available which makes it hard for developers to find work arounds.,8,None None None,Linking our internal database and TD Api data sources are very helpful to achieve better results in understanding of company's over all progress in certain area.,none,Google BigQuery and Azure SQL Database,Amazon Relational Database Service, MySQL, Azure SQL DatabaseLet's my team focus on the value we can bring, not building data pipelinesTreasure Data is used by the Data and Analytics team to act as the basis for our entire data infrastructure. Treasure Data makes the process of ingesting, organising, processing and then outputting data extremely easy, centralised and reliable. It allows our small data team to focus on the outcomes that the data supports, the use-cases, instead of dev-ops. As such, the data inside of TD is used by everyone in the organisation in some form or another, from making data available to Looker, our BI tool, to pushing audiences out to Advertising Platforms, to generating complicated reporting for specific management stakeholders. The easy of not having to build connectors into services, or a workflow management system is a major benefit to us.,Workflow Management -> Easy to integrate saved queries, centralised, good debugging, powerful Directed Acyclic Graph functionality Support -> Absolutely outstanding support, I have never had an issue which has been put in the "too hard, cannot fix, work around" pile. Effective Management of Hadoop Clusters -> Interactive querying of our Hadoop clusters, never having to think about the dev-ops, availability or CPU load of our queries is an incredible force multiplier for us,The breadth of connectors to APIs is good, but some of the connectors are at best confusing, and at worst outright hostile to users. Some of the errors and connection settings are incomprehensible. I would like to be able to run simple arbitrary scripts in the workflows, though I understand why this is hard. I would like a breakdown of utilisation by query, to allow me to understand which elements of my workflows are potentially so inefficient as to be causing problems. While TD's compute power is (to me) effectively infinite this isn't a blocking problem. However on the understanding that it actually is finite, this is important. This will get more important the more we set up.,10,It enables us to do things that no one else our size can do, and which cause bigger vendors like Google with BigQuery to get very uncomfortable when I tell them we can do everything they consider core USPs. The most direct impact on ROI is supporting the creation and syndication of audiences to ad platforms based upon behavioural data which can only be stitched together between several sources (Shopify and Zendesk and Segment).,Treasure Data allows our marketing to both answer more complicated questions about our customers and to reliably and consistently push data to our tools for stakeholders to do their own reporting. As such, the ad-hoc request workload for the Data and Analytics team has significantly lightened, and the appetite for hypothesis driven marketing campaigns and testing has increased in the Marketing Team.,The JS API allows us to easily connect Node and Python scripts, which perform scraping and data analysis tasks, directly to our storage. This was surprisingly easy and painless Easy access to GA reporting connectors allows you to hack together more complicated reports by querying the endpoint frequently and retaining data, than a single report would allow.,Snowflake and Amazon Redshift,Looker, Segment, Amazon Redshift, Klaviyo
Unspecified
Arm Treasure Data
73 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Arm Treasure Data Reviews

Arm Treasure Data
73 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 73 vetted Arm Treasure Data reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 42)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 21, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data will let you fully, and EASILY, understand your data."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is being used across the entire organization. We are using it to define churn probability of subscribers, behavioral analysis of our online readers, event attendees that have attended multiple events, digital advertising reports, multiple integrations with our CRM and email automation systems. We have connected it to Tableau to give us a strong data visualization element of our raw data. The biggest business problem that Treasure Data addresses is that it gives us a single platform for data collection and analysis.
  • Treasure Data is very flexible for ingesting different data sets.
  • The native integrations that they have built are among the majority of the systems that we have, therefore creating a data lake was relatively simple.
  • The product team at Treasure Data was able to build a new connector, as a partner to us as a client, for managing our event attendees and revenue impact.
  • One of the issues that we faced, when onboarding, was the lack of understanding around what we were trying to accomplish as a company, and not being made aware of some of the functionality in Treasure Data.
  • The documentation doesn't always have all of the steps, from a layman's perspective, to be able to set up more intricate custom connections.
  • We had an issue, specific to our needs, where the Doubleclick For Publishers (DFP) API connection wouldn't use a dynamic date range for data ingestion, therefore we have to change the date query each month, on the last day of the month, to pull in the latest digital advertiser information.
Treasure Data is well suited for pulling in multiple data sets, to help define and understand your audience, business, predictive scoring and having a central platform for doing data analysis and data science.

What it's not well suited for, however, is heavy charting and data visualization. We've had limitations using Treasure Reporting.
Read Mark Chiles's full review
July 29, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Make sure you give Treasure Data a try"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Exostatic, we help companies run their data pipelines and successfully implemented Treasure Data in some of them. Treasure Data is a solid partner with a truly effective ETL platform.
  • Flexibility
  • Power
  • Ability to connect to multiple data sources
  • Nothing I think of at the moment, Treasure Data is always responsive when an improvement is needed
Treasure Data is particularly useful when companies have numerous data sources to connect in order to be able to make strategic decisions.
Read Nicolas Nadeau's full review
July 13, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "A Great Way to Kickstart Data Engineering and Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data to collect and transform data from multiple sources for the purpose of product analytics.
  • Great library of connectors
  • Workflow engine is simple, but in a good way
  • Presto query performance is very good
  • Support is very good, especially with live chat
  • Presto support is missing key types making it surprisingly verbose to do this as you need to cast things back and forth
  • Lack of support for deploying our own connectors
  • Cannot write Ruby or Python code in workflows
If you are a mid-size company with disparate data sources and you want to build a data lake and/or data warehouse, Treasure Data may be a good fit. If you want to syndicate data to other data sources, when supported by Treasure Data, beyond a data warehouse, such as to Salesforce or Amplitude, Treasure Data is also a great fit.

For most of your data collection and analytical needs, Treasure Data is a great stack.

If you have very complex privacy requirements, esoteric data stores or have a capable and unconstrained infrastructure team, a better path may be to build instead of buy in this space.
Read Scott Arbeitman's full review
August 04, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Good product but can improve some functionality"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by BI department to fill the gap between transactional database and data warehouse.
  • API connection for multi sources are made very user friendly
  • Workflow option makes it easy to manage day to day manual activities
  • Easy to join multiple datasources in one code
  • User access can be more layered
  • Some of the programming language functionality are not available which makes it hard for developers to find work arounds.
Bringing Google Analytics data via API into the environment was very helpful as we were able to utilized GA attributes with our internal KPIs.
Read Zankhana Shah's full review
July 13, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Let's my team focus on the value we can bring, not building data pipelines"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used by the Data and Analytics team to act as the basis for our entire data infrastructure.

Treasure Data makes the process of ingesting, organising, processing and then outputting data extremely easy, centralised and reliable. It allows our small data team to focus on the outcomes that the data supports, the use-cases, instead of dev-ops.

As such, the data inside of TD is used by everyone in the organisation in some form or another, from making data available to Looker, our BI tool, to pushing audiences out to Advertising Platforms, to generating complicated reporting for specific management stakeholders. The easy of not having to build connectors into services, or a workflow management system is a major benefit to us.
  • Workflow Management -> Easy to integrate saved queries, centralised, good debugging, powerful Directed Acyclic Graph functionality
  • Support -> Absolutely outstanding support, I have never had an issue which has been put in the "too hard, cannot fix, work around" pile.
  • Effective Management of Hadoop Clusters -> Interactive querying of our Hadoop clusters, never having to think about the dev-ops, availability or CPU load of our queries is an incredible force multiplier for us
  • The breadth of connectors to APIs is good, but some of the connectors are at best confusing, and at worst outright hostile to users. Some of the errors and connection settings are incomprehensible.
  • I would like to be able to run simple arbitrary scripts in the workflows, though I understand why this is hard.
  • I would like a breakdown of utilisation by query, to allow me to understand which elements of my workflows are potentially so inefficient as to be causing problems. While TD's compute power is (to me) effectively infinite this isn't a blocking problem. However on the understanding that it actually is finite, this is important. This will get more important the more we set up.
The only scenario where I would not suggest Treasure Data, is either in organisations which are too small to pay the fee and must resort to open source solutions, or organisations so large and sophisticated that limitations around workflows and connectors are more critical than the overwhelming efficiency saving.

TD is good for any team which does not wish to invest significant resources in developing and maintaining their data infrastructure. Even teams with dedicated Data Engineers should benefit from those engineers working on more interesting issues than "keeping the lights on".
Read this authenticated review
July 10, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "TreasureData might be the right choice for the right environment."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TreasureData is being used across about half of the organization. It gives us the ability to ingest, store and analyze a very large volume of gaming events. It also helps us to get near instantaneous data events from our games. Ability to handle large volume of events is why we went with TreasureData in the first place.
  • TreasureData is excellent in integration with various software and services.
  • Implementation of the their SDK is also very easy.
  • TreasureData SDK works well in our applications and does not crush.
  • Data management is very challenging with TreasureData (can't delete records, update tables, create indexes, etc).
  • Analyzing and queries tables with very large number of records is near impossible or takes a very long time.
  • To effectively visualize data we need to first export it to SQL and the run our viz tools due to the reason above.
TreasureData is well suited for small to medium companies who don't have a very large data sets, and need to be able to integrate with a variety of various software or services. For very big companies with large amounts of data and a decent Data Engineering team, Treasure data might not the right fit.
Read this authenticated review
January 22, 2018

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Disruption in Data Services - Unveiling the true potential of Treasure Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data within our mobile games to track in-app events. The entire company uses the data however the major use is within monetization. Treasure Data’s platform is very much misunderstood. TD is not just a cloud storage or hosted middleware solution, it is an entire information management platform which offers cradle to grave data services from ETL to Stats. TD SDK + Digdag + TD workflow + TD storage + TD Connections + TD machine learning = IT/BI/DA off the shelf
  • It is reliable- uptime is 99.99%
  • Job processing is easy
  • The new workflow tool is outstanding. It allows various data processing options with extensive metadata surrounding the success of the workflow. 100% dynamic including options for parallel processing jobs. One of the best features in my option. And with digdag
  • Easy integration
  • Td needs to focus on increased processing speed. Not by adding more resources but rather indexing partitioning or allowing primary keys outside of time
  • WhatTreasure Data offers requires a change of mindset with a focus on the big picture. I believe it is largely misunderstood. More education and really- you need a solution architect to ask how the technology is used and not why
  • Data mapping from their sdk to Treasure Data should be more flexible
Treasure Data is meant to be used for large data. If your collecting over 100gb of data daily Treasure Data is your plan form to support. The best scenario is to connect Treasure Data directly to the source of data. Relaying data from source to internal then to Treasure Data is not recommended.
Read Cody Jannetti's full review
October 31, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "It's OK, I like it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data as the one of/main data warehouse used by the company. It's mostly used by the analytics team. Raw data is processed/aggregated here to be pushed to other downstream data sources for mainstream use/reporting. One use case is that we use it to analyze events triggered by our products to determine content correctness and trends.
  • JSON data parsing in SQL. Coming from MySQL, I found that being able to parse JSON data is very useful.
  • Product support. Their support team is exceptional.
  • Growing list of data connectors. Treasure Data has data connectors to multiple external systems like Redshift and Tableau.
  • Product not 100% polished. We're still encountering bugs/unexpected behavior.
  • The SQL console, being the main medium I use to interact with the data, can use more dev/query features like saved query templates and ability to search through saved queries.
Treasure Data is good at data ingestion, having built-in data connectors to a growing list of external systems. It also has decent scheduling and workflow capabilities but if your job workflow is complex, it might not be the ideal tool.
Read Rolando Bernabe Tribo's full review
October 30, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "TD Revew"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure data is used by a select analysts and data engineers as the main ETL platform for event based data.

Our company includes two main sets of data, app analytics events logged when users interact with our apps and static data that is more business/inventory/finance focused.

Treasure data deals with the former (in correlation with the rest of the datasets that we house at our company) to aggregate and transform raw data into actionable usable tables
  • Connecting with other platforms. Love the connectors that TD offers and how easy they are to use
  • Scheduled queries are also very easy to manage and incorporate in workflos
  • TD UDFs are particularly handy and a great way to simplify code
  • Searching for past older jobs can be tedious sometimes. wish there was a more robust ability to search oder queries
Well suited for:
- workflow management
- aggregation an transformation layer

Not well suited for:
- Quick check queries
Read Johnny Kamel's full review
October 25, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data gave us superpowers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure data to collect and store information from all departments within the business, including web analytics, marketing spend, email activity, and customer engagement. The data is also used to build reports from board level reporting to day to day actionable reports for marketing, customer services, and product development. It helps us solve a range of data-driven problems across our whole business.
  • Easily stores a large amount of data - meaning you're not put off collecting things that may be useful in the future. We don't have to be conservative with what we store.
  • Connects to multiple data sources - so data generated outside platforms we control - like Facebook, Google Adwords - we can pull key data from these places too.
  • Quick querying - the query writing in Treasure data is helpful, they are also good UDFs that speed up and simplify queries.
  • We want to see our data, so to visualise it we need to use another tool on top, or export it.
  • At the moment, you can't search saved queries by the tables they use - I think it would be useful.
Treasure data is suitable for large-scale collection, storage, and analysis of information where users have a reasonable level of technical know how. If you're not capable of learning SQL, it would not be for you.
Read Sean Thompson's full review
October 18, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Reliable data warehouse as a service"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a data warehouse. Raw data containing operative business information is continuously ingested to Treasure Data. Different batch jobs are continuously running to aggregate data based on a different number of dimension to achieve relevant granularities for specific use cases. The data is used across the whole organisation for: reporting to customers, troubleshooting by tech support, analysis and feature design by R&D, etc.
  • Very reliable data ingestion to their warehouse
  • Fast querying capabilities using Presto and Hive
  • Good API for programatic access to the data
  • Adding support for not only batch processing but also streaming data
  • Better grouping and organization of saved queries and jobs
It is very well suited for use cases where the main requirement is to process store data in a scalable warehouse as a service and do batch processing of the data. It is less appropriate if the main business requirement is to be able to process streaming data in real time.
Read Igor Pernek's full review
October 02, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data - definitely some hidden gems here"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Shortening the time to market for getting data in the hands of users and easily integrating it into other platforms to centralize this data in a single place was a huge win for us. The ability to then query across data sets from different source systems at a large scale was great. The performance on very large data sets (billions of rows) was pretty good as well.
  • Very easy to get up to speed on the platform, the web interface was simple and easy to use and we were quickly able to leverage our teams existing SQL based skill set without having to know a ton about the underlying HDFS based platform Treasure Data sits on top of.
  • Speed of development was great and built-in connectors for various cloud data sources and destinations were excellent.
  • The ability to write directly to data sets for Tableau Online was a nice feature.
  • The workflow scheduling piece, while very robust was still too code/script heavy for what other integration platforms do easily in a simple UI. The UI will need to improve here to accommodate all the underlying features and functionality that can be implemented via the scripting language.
  • Updating data does not exist as part of the platform features so you just have to know what you want to use the platform for before implementation. This would be a nice feature enhancement.
It is very well suited when you have a need for a simple way to integrate both cloud and on premise software into a central data repository. Do not try to use this as a data warehouse replacement However, it could work nicely as a compliment to any data warehouse considering it's built in snapshot capabilities of all data by default. I was impressed with its "schema-less" design in which changes in upstream systems of source data don't break downstream integrations like many other platforms.
Read Mike Galvin's full review
September 29, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data - it's pretty good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a huge amount of data that requires processing, and treasure data provides the big data solutions required to handle it all. We have hundreds of terabytes of data that needs aggregation and filtering before it is in a state that can be meaningfully used by our analysts to make business decisions.
  • Handles queries on big data well
  • Easy to use in conjunction with other data warehousing and data processing tools.
  • Web application often not responsive when the database grows to too large a size.
Good if you want to run big hive queries on gigabytes to terabytes of data. Good in conjunction with other data stores and data warehouses.

Not as good when you want your database to be easily accessible to your business analysts.
Read Michael Yang Chen's full review
September 27, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Great platform to ingest large amounts of data with lots of easy to use integration points."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used at the department level. It allows us to perform analytics on huge amounts of data. We load realtime data as well as very large batch files. It integrates really well with Amazon S3.
  • Treasure Data provides a large portfolio of integration points, very easy to use and manage. Ingestion of data is easy, flexible.
  • Treasure data has really great support, whenever there is an issue they are quick at responding and fixing the problem, or guiding us to resolve the problems.
  • Scalability is never an issue, ingestion of large amounts of data is so easy.
  • Auditing could be improved. It is critical to know the metadata around the ingestion process.
Treasure data is well suited for analytics of large amounts of data. Ingesting the data using their workflows is made easy.
Read Jean-Michel Cabrera's full review
October 06, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data for small businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data has become our primary data store. It has the backbone of our data.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Very communicative on problems/service interruption
  • Support staff is very quick and attentive
  • A little costly
Great for a small team that needs real-time access to a lot of data. If a company had the staff, they could probably have a homegrown solution.
Read Michael Pedersen's full review
September 22, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Driving a Data Driven Culture via Product Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today, we use Treasure Data to manage the ingestion of our product data across the organization. It allows us to unify event data, metadata around our customers, and external data we may collect via surveys, etc. Treasure Data powers daily reports that are used internally by 200+ people throughout our organization to get a pulse of how our products are being used and tracking towards success.
  • Workflows is a fantastic product that is configurable to bypass the need for specific extraction APIs, but flexible enough to chain together and manage jobs.
  • The GUI allows you to easily switch between Presto/Hive, share queries with other analysts and maintain an audit trail of past jobs.
  • The Bulk Integration library allows you to easily add on additional datasets that may further enhance the 360-view of the customer.
  • Today, Treasure Data does require some technical expertise, especially as it relates to new features. I appreciate that the approach allows a quick time to value but does require coding expertise.
  • I would love if Treasure Data had the ability to connect workflows with Github easily via the GUI.
  • Additionally, I would love better search functionality to easily mine past jobs rather than paging through them via the console.
Treasure Data is well suited if you are an organization that has limited Data Engineering / Analytics resources and want to shift the focus of those team members from ingesting/processing data to driving toward insight and strategic decisions. Treasure Data is less suited for teams that are less technical and data-focused.
Read this authenticated review
November 01, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data: Data infrastructure as a Service"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are e-commerce startup without a data engineer. It's quite hard to find a good one and it also takes time to set up the infrastructure ourselves. However, the urgency of processing data is critical for us. We spend a lot on paid e-marketing and we need a way to measure the ROI daily.

Using Treasure Data, we started fast. We could track all user actions and which paid channel the users come from just by using Treasure Data's JS library. Since Treasure Data also has a connector to Postgres (our transaction DB), Facebook Ads, and Google Ads, data ingestion becomes much easier. Moreover, since Treasure Data already has a cron scheduler, we can easily run the queries (we have over hundreds Treasure Data queries) repetitively. The output is fed to Periscope data to be visualized and accessible across the organization any time. Now, all decision-makers in our company monitor the dashboard and make decisions based on it.

Yet, all that is done only by 2 data analyst and no data engineers.
  • Data engineering as a service. It's like PaaS but for data infrastructure.
  • Rich end-points. Almost all major services are connected to Treasure Data.
  • Easy to use the web UI, yet feature rich.
  • Pricing, a bit too expensive. Also hoping more flexible pricing plans
Treasure Data is well suited if your company wants to move fast (is data-oriented), without having to worry about data infrastructure. How much time and cost would be needed for planning, development, tweaking, and maintenance if you consider implementing it by yourself? Consider the opportunity costs as well.

However, Treasure Data is not really suitable if you do need to build a complex data infrastructure. If your company is familiar - and willing to set up Kafka, Spark, Hadoop, Apache Beam, HBase, Presto, etc., Treasure Data is not suitable for you.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "How much data can you handle?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure data is used by my organization to log lots of data points such as: events, device type, device OS, app version, and many others. Using the results we get from Treasure Data, our product owners are able to see what areas of the game people are using frequently and which areas they are not. Armed with this data we are able to make determinations of what features to include in other titles or what features may need some re-working. From the engineers incorporating Treasure data into the game code to the Data Analysts decoding the data to the QA team making sure events fire when they are supposed to; Treasure Data is used widely across our game studio.
  • Provides an immense amount of detail into customers and their uses of the application.
  • Verification of the new features added into the products and if customers are using them or not.
  • Provides a great tool for determining which bucket customers fall into while running an A/B Test
  • Amount of time it takes to get data to populate columns after recently adding them to Treasure Data, could definitely be improved upon.
  • A simple quick Query system that can be use by not programmers to quickly confirm data is being retained by Treasure Data.
Treasure Data is very well suited for a high demand data driven market like mobile applications; where trends and markets change constantly. With the data your team would be able to have a great snapshot of where and when people are doing what in your application. The amount of data that can come back can be very overwhelming and too much to sift through, but with fairly easy changes you can remove columns of data and reduce the time it takes to get the data back and read it.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data works well"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly storage of web pageview data, which we retrieve, filter and pull back into our own system. It's good, fast and easily queryable. We also use it for logging of application errors within our own dashboard and other interesting events that may occur, such as successful logins, etc. We've been able to query it via the JavaScript SDK for testing, verifying code/tag deployments.
  • JavaScript SDK works very well
  • Ease of creating new data structures easily
  • Ease of user management - setting up specific queries for non-techincal users to access queries of interest.
  • The javascript sdk returns data in jsonlines format when json is chosen, would prefer using actual json
  • https://treasure-data.ideas.aha.io/ideas/SQL-I-107 - my request for a default sql statement when opening a table
  • Speed, speed speed, we have about a 2-3 minute lag time between posting data and seeing it in the dashboard, there would always be room for improvement here
Great for storage of large amounts of data, web traffic etc to be manipulated later - fire and forget scenarios Good for slicing and dicing data, analysis of potential usage of data. Not for fast, dynamic retrieval of information or backing source for an application
Read this authenticated review
October 20, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Simple to use and a good solution to build a pipeline but a bit low on performance"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used across the whole organization. We use it to create reports to help management making business decisions. We also use its Treasure Workflow feature to schedule tasks and workflows. It allows us to run big computations during the night and create custom denormalized data sets used to feed some of our in house or third party apps.
  • I love Treasure data workflows. Thanks to them I can run all my computations at night and when I arrive in the morning my clean data sets are ready to be analysed.
  • Treasure Data has good customer service. When I ask a question I always get a reply very quickly.
  • The UI is fairly easy to use.
  • The third party connectors to ingest data and the possibility to drop CSVs are great features.
  • My struggle is with the performance. There are some pages on their site that give advice on how to tune the queries.
  • However once you apply those to good practice, it is hard to understand what happens under the hood and to make further improvements.
  • I wish there is a more detailed documentation about this.
If you want to use one platform to manage your whole data pipeline from collecting the data on your app, to importing third party data using using external APIs, to running your queries and scheduling workflows Treasure Data is very good.

If you already have some mature tooling that performs one or several of those tasks it may be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Troves of treasure"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is used for all of our server-side logging. We use it to debug issues that have arisen with our APIs and processes, as well as a way to collect data, which we then build into data pipelines to draw inferences about user behaviors.
  • Scalability - we have so many tables, so much data and it's organized quite well. Easy to pull from various tables.
  • The console is very clear and easy to use - makes onboarding easy, especially so for people that aren't as familiar with hive ql.
  • Could provide a way to easily view or visualize metrics. We currently move data from treasure data to Looker for this purpose - would be cool if there were business insight tools built in.
  • Would be nice if there was search functionality in the console. Some simple wrappers around queries would be beneficial for operational people to look up the relevant data, rather than them needing to ask engineers to do a data pull for them.
Perfect for application logging - scales really well and easy interface for engineers to use to debug various issues that could arise.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data is a great product!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data across the whole company. For engineers, we use it to store important production logs, like request and response to a third party service. We also use it to store business data so that we can analyze user behavior...etc. Our fraud team and some other teams are also using the business data our engineers stored to generate all kinds of reports.
  • It is easy to quickly check what the columns for a specific table are.
  • It is easy to check all the previous queries I ran earlier so that I don't need to keep a record for myself.
  • It is also easy to check other people's queries and it is easy to share your queries with others. My teammates shared several links like this with me, I found it is super helpful.
  • It is pretty slow to load a database which includes lots of tables.
It is well suited as a place to store really important production log data. It is easy to query. It will make your life easier if you need to debug some production issue. It is well suited as a place to store production business data. It is not wise to rely on a production database to do this. It is easy to store those data into Treasure Data and share with other teams.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data will Increase your productivity!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data to ingest multiple data sources and once processed export them to Tableau dashboards.
One of our clients has data in more than 10 places (API, websites, local files), we use Python to gather all these sources and ingest them to Treasure Data. We also use Unity SDK and Unreal SDK to track user behavior in games.

After a processing passes we export the datasets to Tableau.
  • Treasure Data has a lot of connectors that allow for ingesting and exporting data easily.
  • Treasure Data has a Python library to easily interface with TD SQL queries to Pandas DataFrames.
  • Treasure Data has a very powerful workflow tool named DigDag that simplifies the multiple ETL processes we use.
  • The website UI and especially the searching option of some queries should be improved. The user should be able to create labels to group queries.
When working in a diverse data ecosystem where multiple data sources and outputs coexist, Treasure Data is a very good option. If the data pipeline is mainly powered by Python TD can be easily leveraged to move quickly data from one source to another. The web UI can be easily used by SQL newbies but also by experienced Analyst with the workflow and Python options.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Promising Tool for Data Analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Treasure Data extensively in the analytics team. As an analyst, I deal with data every day. Running those complex queries consumed a lot of my daily work time. But with treasure data's functions and support, I find it easy to run long and complex queries and export my results to any other platform like Tableau.

I am particularly impressed with the active online support they provide. Any concerns with the tool and queries are very well addressed and answered.
  • Online help/support
  • In built functions for faster query operations
  • Integration with other tools
  • Auto select functionality was easier, they stopped suggestions being automatically selected
  • Query optimizing tricks
- Long queries
- Scheduling Queries
- Creating temp tables
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2017

Arm Treasure Data Review: "Treasure Data Enables Your Data Driven Org"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Treasure Data is being used across the organization by analytics, engineering, and product management, with Analytics being the main user group. We use Treasure Data to query large data sets and complicated queries. Because treasure data can handle these much better than our current solution via parallel processing and table chunking.
  • Very fast querying engine
  • Easy for analysts to create their own customized tables with auto updates
  • Can easily integrate with our BI tools
  • Easier to access and start working on data
  • Web based application so any device can access with credentials
  • Keeping records of all queries ran
  • Great customer support
  • Presto syntax takes a little to get used to
  • Some UDF takes time to get used to
  • Smaller queries takes slightly longer than traditional SQL
  • UIUX could improve. Make it easier for users to start new query, find jobs ran, etc.
It's appropriate when processing very large data sets. More than an order of tens of millions of records. Especially complicated operations with many different joins and conditions.

It's not appropriate if you want to do table exploration. With small data sets and simple queries, traditional SQL workbench would do the job faster.
Read this authenticated review

About Arm Treasure Data

Arm Treasure Data manages customer data for global brands and Fortune 500 enterprises like Mattel, Subaru, Canon, LG and disruptive startups like Wish.com, Fivestars, and Zoom.
Categories:  Data Warehouse,  Customer Data

Arm Treasure Data Features

Arm Treasure Data Screenshots

Arm Treasure Data Videos (3)

Watch Transforming Your Digital Advertising With the Power of First Party Data

Watch Accelerating business operations with Treasure Data - featuring Kapost

Watch Data Stack Considerations - Build vs Buy at Tout

Arm Treasure Data Downloadables

Arm Treasure Data Integrations

Marketo, Segment, Mixpanel, TUNE Marketing Console, Google Analytics, AppsFlyer, adjust, Amplitude Analytics, Chartio, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Looker, Domo, Adobe Analytics, Heap, Hadoop, Amazon Redshift, App Annie, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Online, Pentaho, Metric Insights, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Storage, Google Drive, Intercom, Zendesk, Elasticsearch, MongoDB, Google BigQuery, Microsoft SQL Server, PostgreSQL, Snowflake, MySQL, MariaDB, Docker, Heroku, Stripe, MailChimp, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Oracle Eloqua, Pardot, HubSpot, Oracle Responsys, NetSuite, Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick), Facebook for Business, Sizmek, AdRoll, LiveRamp IdentityLink, Datorama, Twitter Ads, Google Tag Manager, Branch, salesforce sales cloud, kafka, Amazon Kinesis, hive mall, jupyter, pandas, R, mLab, fluentd, JDBC, Luigi, Python, Rest API, informatica, ruby, eyeota, instagram Ads, xbee, MQTT, RaspberryPi, Serial Devices, CSV, FTP, Webhooks, mysql workbench, razorSQL, SQuirreL SQL, iOS, Android, Unity, Unreal Engine

Arm Treasure Data Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Arm Treasure Data Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

Arm Treasure Data Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Arm Treasure Data Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Japanese