Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 26, 2021
Shannon Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It does not eat up computer resources like other vendors do
  • Upgrades and patching seem to go well and are easy to apply
  • Software coverage is outstanding; peace of mind at the end of the day
  • Only thing I would have to say that's negative is the reporting aspect. Basic reporting is good but still lacks some details. This is a problem with many of the software vendors I have encountered in the past as well. Reporting is still much better than most.
Read Shannon Johnson's full review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Blocks malicious websites.
  • Behavior monitoring module terminates suspicious processes.
  • Quarantines suspicious files.
  • Allows file restore from central quarantine.
  • Reports/Logs.
  • 2 separate web consoles - 1 for policies and main config, 1 for agents management. Would be nice to have just 1.
  • More customization.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Adam Barreno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Protects against viruses
  • Protects User data
  • Protects email servers from spam and other harmful emails.
  • Tech support could be a little more customer friendly
  • More detailed report from users logs
  • Officescan is spotty sometimes will not reflect when users get stuff blocked
Read Adam Barreno's full review
July 01, 2019
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Centralized management: control all your users and see threat activity throughout your environment
  • Comprehensive security suite: I have been using Trend Micro products for nearly two decades and this is their most feature-packed security product ever
  • Minimal user impact: security solutions shouldn't disrupt work or annoy the user, just do their job in the background and only become apparent when warranted. Apex One accomplishes this beautifully.
  • Easy to use: it's an easy (and free) upgrade from OfficeScan, and even easier to deploy and use.
  • Inexpensive. Pricing is very competitive for what you get.
  • There has really not been anything about this product I haven't liked, believe it or not.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
June 20, 2019
David Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • End point implementation: the roll-out of Trend Micro was extremely easy!
  • Server/Device policies: creating both endpoint and server device policies is something we were looking for in a system, since we have a variety of both endpoints with users, as well as several unattended servers needing specific limitations.
  • License Management: removing Trend Micro from machines before destruction or retirement is done in a pinch. There's no struggling to free up an unused license
  • Threat Removal: we've encountered several times when Trend Micro will point out some kind of threat, but lacks the ability to handle the removal itself, and typically still requires some kind of manual intervention.
  • It's small, but I do wish you could rename the endpoint agent names after they're assigned in the system.
  • Greater view and visibility into some of the standard reports offered would be nice.
Read David Schwartz's full review
June 20, 2019
Lee Ludlum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stays on top of security threats.
  • Constantly pushing out updates to stay ahead of the bad guys.
  • I have not come across anything that needs improved.
Read Lee Ludlum's full review
November 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We were able to stand up an apex one server and migrate all of our settings from the current officescan server without any issues
  • The upgrades for apex one actually work without an issue, as compared to how they would constantly fail in officescan
  • The console is very similar so there was no learning curve
  • The method of upgrading the software from older versions to newer versions is much easier and no longer forces all the systems to reboot, it now gives an option for the end user to choose when to reboot
  • OfficeScan has a fault, if you use the msi to install it on you clients then you have to use the same name for the msi the next time you push the msi to upgrade the clients to latest version. This was supposedly fixed in apex one
  • OfficeScan forces the clients to reboot immediately when you enable upgrading of the agent through console, this is so far fixed in apex one
  • Enabling the firewall is confusing and the instructions on the website don't match up with how your supposed to enable it.
  • It seems to constantly need updates every few months, due to vulnerabilities or issues being found with the client
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2019
Jorge Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Central Management
  • Light Client
  • Application Filtrer
  • More dlexibility for the end user to choose what to run or not.
  • Maybe more alerts in order to make it feel safe for the end user.
  • Lack of remote control to the clients
Read Jorge Flores's full review
June 01, 2018
Breanna Walsemann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scans for viruses
  • Finds Trojans
  • Finds potential threats and quarantines them
  • Complete removal of the trojans and viruses
  • Assisting with older models of computers
  • Customer service
Read Breanna Walsemann's full review
February 28, 2018
Tom Parker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It takes up less resources on the endpoint to run in real time.
  • Easy to install and uninstall.
  • Very easy to manage the endpoints from the console.
  • Add more features to the console.
Read Tom Parker's full review
September 15, 2017
Nathan Venno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to install - via script or just manual install
  • Run with little intervention once installed
  • Seems to stick to its scheduled runs pretty well
  • Sucks at detecting virus - I've had a number of viruses in the last year and Trend Micro has discovered exactly zero. I have a FortiGate firewall with AV and it has caught all of my users' viruses.
  • Reporting is garbage - I understand if there were no incidents for the week, but when your report just says N/A for every category that does tell me anything.
  • Their dashboard, while well designed, provides no more information than their weekly reports. When I log in and see 'X' number of incidents, check the log and find zero listed - I don't know what that is telling [me].
  • Alerting - almost non-existent. In the 1 year, I've had it in my office, it has not once told me when a user has a virus. It does however FREQUENTLY tell me that a client has disconnected - 90% of the time it's because the user has not turned on their laptop in 2 days.
Read Nathan Venno's full review
October 20, 2015
Ratulsnigdha Saha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The product has two important aspects, centralized console and an agent which is typically installed on every machine. When the product is installed on a dedicated server then all computers can readily get updated while in the same network (provided the agent is installed on every machine). This helps the machine to avoid any kind of virus attacks.
  • Even if the machines are not in the same network where the console is being run it can directly get all updates from the Trend Micro server directly and the machine is still protected. Hence, it is not necessary that users have to visit the office or internal network to get the update, once the agent is installed on the machine then they can get the update from anywhere as long as the machine has access to the Internet.
  • Once the agent is installed on the machine the users can themselves do a full scan and even check the logs themselves.
  • Version update variation: If a computer gets updated from the centralized console and another machine gets updated in its agent version from the main Trend Micro server then sometimes it affects certain applications on the computer. Especially if there are additional VPN software agents installed on the machine then a version upgrade acquired by Trend Micro can affect the connectivity. This is tough seems like a faint issue but still needs to be addressed.
  • Trend Micro does a great job in protecting the machines but still some malwares are difficult to get rid of - especially the ones that block internet usage or disable a browser completely.
  • It may sound too ambitious but I feel that the web filtering (specially URL) needs to be integrated with the firewall especially open source ones like a Linux based. The centralized console provides web filtering but for this to happen one has to manually add the machines using their private IP addresses in the console to stop access to the specific URL or sites. Instead if the centralized console somehow integrates the filtering with the firewall (Open Source) then perhaps it will be far more efficient.
Read Ratulsnigdha Saha's full review
July 22, 2014
Aaron Myers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ease of management of Trend is something that allows our IT department to setup new computers without having to worry about the version or settings that are pushed out to users.
  • While no enterprise option is cheap, Trend is priced better than most, especially if you are coming from a competing program.
  • We have had a good experience with Trend and its effectiveness in finding threats and notifying our admins of problems before it is an issue to the company.
  • The browser support is limited simply to Internet Explorer, so if you have linux admins or mac admins, they will not be able to manage the machines except through a VM or an RDP session. And if you use Chrome or Firefox as your primary browser, you are stuck with jumping back to IE for managing policies.
  • Many of the more refined settings are buried extremely deep, causing you to look at multiple lists before finding settings you want, if they are there at all.
Read Aaron Myers's full review
July 28, 2014
Joe Barnett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to deploy
  • Updates quickly throughout the installed base
  • Effective tecnical support
  • SQL database connections could be improved as it is difficult to upgrade
Read Joe Barnett's full review
April 05, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real time protection against viruses from local or network file sources.
  • Real time protection against malicious file links.
  • Real time protection against malware.
  • Would like to see even better protection against ransomware.
  • Licensing can sometimes be confusing with all the different features.
Read this authenticated review
March 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Light in memory
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to configure
  • Virus protection is not very good with trend micro. It's in the bottom of the list in antiviruses comparison tests like: https://www.av-comparatives.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/avc_sum_201612_en.pdf
  • Sometime, for no obvious reason the trend micro client stops working and is difficult to uninstall
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The UI for administration and setup is much better in version 11 than in previous versions, as it is more material in design and the dashboard is more customizable and clearly laid out.
  • Deployment of the client is relatively easy and is offered in a few different methods, depending on your needs. UNC\E-mail\Web and offline installers.
  • Detection seems to be good, as I haven't had any outbreaks in the 5 years I have been using the product. This includes previous versions.
  • The licensing of the product is overly-complex because they have so many product variations.
  • The offline installer creation needs to be much simpler.
  • Performance could use some improvement. I have found that some programs install just fine while Trend Micro OfficeScan is running and others require me to offload it, in order to install. The main indicator of this is extremely slow progress.
  • Management of remote clients needs improvement. They must connect to the network where the OfficeScan server is located to be updated with policy information but do update from Trend Micro's servers for virus definitions and heuristics information.
  • Documentation is sometimes confusing and gets mixed up with another product, which is for specifically for small business and I am never sure if it is accurate and applies to my product.
Read this authenticated review
September 04, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stopped drive by installs
  • Stopped network viruses
  • Decentralized software updating
  • Better zero day exploit protection
Read this authenticated review
July 29, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Updating OfficeScan was a very straightforward process
  • The email scanning software always did a good job of catching malicious messages
  • Our servers were very well protected using OfficeScan
  • The overall management interface took a while to get used to
  • Initiating definition updates and scans from the client side could be tricky
Read this authenticated review

Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (6)
9.5
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (5)
9.7
Centralized Management (6)
8.6
Hybrid Deployment Support (5)
8.6
Infection Remediation (6)
9.6
Vulnerability Management (6)
8.0
Malware Detection (6)
9.8

What is Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan)?

The Trend Micro Endpoint Security platform Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) provides antivirus and malware detection, and endpoint visibility. The product suite can be extended with associated applications that cover mobile endpoint protection, endpoint encryption, as well as network and server vulnerability protection.
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) Video

Trend Micro Apex One Introduction

Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan)?

The Trend Micro Endpoint Security platform Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) provides antivirus and malware detection, and endpoint visibility. The product suite can be extended with associated applications that cover mobile endpoint protection, endpoint encryption, as well as network and server vulnerability protection.

What is Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Malware Detection highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan)?

The most common users of Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan) are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.