Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite, with XGen Reviews

10 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Ravinder Beniwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

A complete suite for your security needs in your business - Highly Recommended

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trend Micro Smart Protection, with XGen is used by our organization to reduce the risk of sensitive information loss. In today's world, information is the biggest asset for each company and keeping it secure is the biggest challenge for every organization. Being a legal industry, our clients expect that their data remain secure and we live up to their expectations by utilizing the most advanced security solutions such as Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite. In our organization, the software suite is used across the whole organization. The software provides threat detection and prevention across our network devices including gateways, mobile devices, endpoints, servers, and other apps.
  • Real time threat intelligence using updates from global threat intelligence network.
  • Advanced built-in threat detection and response capabilities.
  • Ability to detect advanced malware, behavior and communications.
  • Flexibility to deploy with on-premise or cloud or hybrid.
  • Single management console to manage all layers of security.
  • During run-time you would feel that systems are slow.
  • Ability to detect cyber attack and response to cyber attacks can be improved.
  • Support for advanced malware, botnets can be improved.
  • Some investigation module are provided as optional add-on, so they should be integrated.
1. For malware, botnet threat detection, and prevention.
2. To reduce the risk of information loss.
3. To monitor communication within your network.
4. To assess potential vulnerabilities and proactively protect endpoints, servers and applications.
Read Ravinder Beniwal's full review
Melissa Cartee | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Trend Micro is my new go-to trend!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three users across our office who use Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite--two laptops and one desktop. The product has served us well, being integrated across the three Windows platforms. It is the main virus protection that we use, and we appreciate the fact that we can have up to five pieces of equipment on our license.
  • Integration amongst platforms
  • Automatic, resettable scan times
  • Password manager is an excellent tool with all the passwords that we maintain
  • Issues with setting time
  • Difficult to interrupt a file scan
  • Have had to reinstall it several times
Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite is more than handy and helpful to store passwords for websites and applications. In our Finance Department, there are literally hundreds of passwords to keep organized and it is difficult to maintain, particularly with changes. The ability to schedule scans during non-peak work times is another great feature that puts the Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite on my top ten list!
Read Melissa Cartee's full review
Aaron Hatcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2020

Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite as a computer protection software. When we purchase new computers for our teachers or staff, we always add Trend Micro to provide protection. Trend Micro is currently being used on each computer that is used on our network. We will continue to utilize this service with each new computer.
  • Customer service
  • Ease of use
  • Expense
For our school, Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite is a perfect fit. As new computers are purchased, Trend Micro is purchased at the same time and it updates regularly. I would think that Trend Micro is well suited for any company that uses technology. We will continue to use it with each of our computers.
Read Aaron Hatcher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

We are using this software to protect all our PCs, desktops and servers endpoints.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used throughout my whole organization on each computer being used in our network basically for security against any kind of malware or virus. It provides a better defense against any virus for your PC, mail server, data centers, cloud environments, networks, and endpoints, etc.
  • Provides better integration across multiple platforms.
  • Automatic and re-settable time for scan.
  • Includes a message security gateway for specific applications like Office 365 SharePoint.
  • Documentation is something that can be improved here.
  • Licensing is overly complex and needs to be improved for different features/variations.
  • Install is difficult.
Protection against malware, ransomware. Easy to use. A password manager is a good tool with all the passwords that we maintain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Trend Micro Smart Protection Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Trend Micro Worry Free and are looking to move forward with Trend Micro's next line of protection. We have been using Trend Micro products for many years and have always been happy with their service and quality. In this day and age, a security solution that had advanced threat detection and behavior monitoring is a must.
  • Advanced detection and behavior monitoring
  • Multiple platform choices, on-premise or in the cloud
  • Customer service has always been top-notch.
  • Tend Micro is one of the leaders in security.
  • Mobile platform
1. Overall a well-rounded platform for small to medium-sized businesses. I don't think this would be a good solution for a large business.
2. Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite with XGen helps decrease critical data loss.
3. The Sandbox option is optional.
4. Office 365 security is only included in Smart Protection Complete.
5. Gives you the option to store passwords for applications in your environment and also URL passwords.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2020

Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Trend Micro products for over 10 years now, only to find each version is better than the next. There is always an inspiration to grow as a company to fulfill the needs of customers and growing times.
Configuration and setup is straightforward. Management is easy and captures all the data you need.
I only ran into issues with upgrades and breaking the database sometimes. But Trend Micro support is always awesome and helps fix the problem. I would recommend the product if it doesn't break the bank $$.
  • Virus and Malware Protection
  • Monitoring and Definition Updates
  • Management Reporting
  • The ability to use more third-party apps and OS Support
  • Check patches before deploying
  • More remote features
A scenario where Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite did well was when a virus was found in the system and blocked from further spreading in the network due to Trend Micro.
Some less appropriate issues would be flagging legit items as virus. I see a lot of spyware and adware issues but there are no specifics on the issue, only that it was found and removed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Trend Micro Smart Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is not being used any longer. It was so difficult to install, and initially unstable with poor customer experience the decision was made to move to another platform. The install process was a nightmare, having to utilize multiple reinstalls, calls to support and ultimate frustration. Had it installed, but it was quite unstable. I uninstalled it and went with a new product despite the cost.
  • Price was attractive.
  • Improved installation.
  • Better trained support staff.
If you need just a quick, easy product to install, this would not be the product. If you have extensive time, staff, and no other deadlines, you might give this a try. But if you are short-staffed and only have the TM instructions, it might be tougher. I would recommend having staff on hand that has prior TM experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

I enjoy the software when it works, but it does do its job.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite to secure our endpoints for a long time now. We are currently working to upgrade to Trend Micro APEX ONE at this point. But we are very happy with our use of Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite.

We are using it across our whole company on our endpoints and servers to protect against malware, viruses, and ransomware.
  • Protect against links that are malicious.
  • Protection against malware.
  • Protections against ransomware.
  • Multiple agents for different pieces of the software and they don't talk.
  • Mac install is super difficult and if I update the OS on a Mac it breaks the OS if Trend Micro Smart is not compatible with that version.
  • Communication drops to the server randomly and has to work with tech support to get it working again.
Suited for small businesses and medium businesses with someone to be able to manage the software. But it has some drawbacks and with larger sized environments, and it may be an issue to get this to work for on a normal basis because of the drawbacks. It's a lot of work to keep this software moving and communicating.
Read this authenticated review

Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite, with XGen Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (6)
8.2
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (7)
7.6
Centralized Management (8)
7.7
Hybrid Deployment Support (6)
8.5
Infection Remediation (7)
7.0
Vulnerability Management (8)
7.2
Malware Detection (8)
7.6

About Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite, with XGen

Trend Micro offers the Smart Protection Suite with XGen, an endpoint security suite including data loss prevention and mobile device protection. The Smart Prtection Endpoint Suite is the basic edition. The Smart Protection Complete Suite also includes a message security gateway for specific applications (e.g. Office 365, Skye, Sharepoint, etc.) and web security gateway for extended capabilities.

Trend Micro Smart Protection Suite, with XGen Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No