TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/d7/Fw/0RW1ZGH1JU3A.JPEGOne TrendKite to Rule Them AllOur organization uses TrendKite across the entire team as a means of tracking the mentions in the press for each of our PR clients, staying alert on high volume mentions and potential crises, as well as keeping track of the value of our work for our clients.,TrendKite has detailed graphics to show in an easy-to-understand manner the comparison and status of each company/individual we are keeping track of. TrendKite has wonderful, fast, helpful customer service -- answering questions in as little as 2 minutes. This is extremely helpful when putting together a report on a deadline. TrendKite's interface is very easy to use, easy to understand, and clean.,We have had many circumstances of TrendKite not monitoring specific outlets that we need monitored. This causes an issue with tracking the value of our work or the share of voice comparison for our clients, as results may not be all-encompassing. A good amount of advertising is included in the mentions brought in by TrendKite. While the team is very helpful in removing the advertisements upon request, it would be great to not have to worry about earned media and paid media being tracked as one and the same.,9,Before TrendKite, we were not able to track the value of our PR efforts at all. TrendKite has given us the ability to present a hard and fast number for our clients (total mentions, advertising value, aggregate readership). Key Terms has been a particularly helpful tool, as many of our clients have a specific goal to speak to only certain areas of culture. This graphic very easily allows us to ensure that we are not only getting them media, but getting them the RIGHT media. Sentiment has also been an insightful tool for our clients, as we can now track not only getting them into the news, but also how their specific clientele may be responding to the stories/interviews/etc.,9,As our PR firm has multiple clients, TrendKite is helpful for each client -- we are able to research the current trending topics in their fields and compare them to what their competitors may be talking about. This then gives us the ability to plan our with our clients the next area of the news cycle they would like to speak into OR even create the news themselves. Understanding the situation of their competitors -- whether it be the key terms they are discussing, the sentiment they are receiving from their target base, etc. is key to determining where the client should go next.,Cision PR SoftwareAfter researching 10 options, we are happy with our decision to use TrendKiteOur main HQ in San Bruno is using TrendKite. Each morning our entire office gets an alert for industry news and competitor news at 8 am. On top of that, we get the real-time alerts any time an article is published about our company. We also created custom searches for some of our sales reps to help them personalize their emails making their jobs easier as well. Lastly, having TrendKite really made pulling data for big meetings like sales kickoff, end of the quarterly meetings, and board meetings the best!! We were able to see a lot of trends and pull important data in a very timely manner, which would not do at all before having TrendKite. Before we had TrendKite we had no idea what articles were being published, what news outlets had the best readership, or how our press compared to our competitors. Now we have a clear view and can make data-driven decisions in a timely manner.,Sharing all of the information company-wide, whether as an alert, or end of the quarter data is super simple and easy to use and being able to share across email and slack is a great integration. Setting up alerts, dashboards, and searches are very user-friendly, especially when you have a customer success team that is as amazing as ours!! Having a database of all articles, and being able to see visual representations of the success of articles in the news about our company without spending hours of time creating it, makes my job super simple.,Having an export feature is great, however, one area that could improve is allowing the users to customize the reports we want to export. Ie. putting multiple dashboards on one page, or changing the order, or adding comments. At the very beginning of our contract, understanding the relationship of the diagrams took a little time to understand, so making those a little clearer would be great. Getting our searches and dashboards created took some time especially for someone who doesn't know the boolean code. Having an example of searches to go by would be super helpful (although our customer success team could set it up for us, I wanted to be involved as well) and honestly, I am knit-picking here. The only real thing that would be a nice change is a user-friendly export feature.,10,Before we could not see any articles published about us except through google alerts, now we can see the readership of each article and how many people are driven to our website. We were able to make a huge change in our PR department by being able to see the success of our articles over the past 6 months. We were also able to make a change to the news outlets we published articles in because we could see the readership of each news source.,10,Our CEO loves getting daily updates on competitors and industry news. It helps him make decisions on the future of the company knowing what topics are being discussed and has a big impact on the success of our business. Knowledge is power and having all of this information at our becking call is a huge advantage.,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform and Critical MentionTrendKite Stands OutTrendKite is used across the organization, but the use depends on the client account and specific project. I've personally used it on projects previously to monitor earned media coverage and to gain an understanding of a particular industry or topic's media coverage.,The flexibility and customization options for the dashboard The options for media coverage Reporting options,I don't have any off the top of my head - TrendKite has been a vast improvement from our previous software.,10,We've been able to bolster our monitoring capabilities since we've started using TrendKite.,10,We've previously used TrendKite for mainly monitoring (from my personal experiences). I do know we have used it to gain a better understanding of the industries of our clients and to determine what kind of media we could garner for them.,Meltwater Media Intelligence PlatformTrendKite is AMAZINGWe're using TrendKite to measure our PR and influencer mentions, social media shares of those mentions, and the traffic those mentions drive to our website. We have five users who access and use the system. This is the first time we've truly been able to capture and measure the effectiveness of our PR and content marketing strategies.,The dashboard is highly customizable and extraordinarily useful. You can create as many dashboards and campaigns as you wish for time periods going all the way back to 2013. The reporting is stellar. Fully interactive, allowing people who receive the report to not just see how much coverage, but actually visit the individual articles, and gain a deeper understanding of what's being presented. The customer service is truly outstanding. Our customer success team is always available to answer questions, help with searches, and do just about anything else I ask related to the product.,It's a newer tool, so they're always making improvements. I would love some more flexibility in how some of the widgets display information in the dashboards. The application can be a bit fussy in Safari. Chrome works much better.,10,The feedback from my colleagues has been nothing short of phenomenal. If I don't have their TrendKite report to them on time, they're often sending emails asking where it is. They find the information extremely valuable in determining strategies that are working and places where we can make improvements. We're discovering coverage we didn't even know existed on a daily basis. I'm not able to share that throughout our organization so everyone can get an idea of what's being said about us and what's resonating with people outside the company. The ability to see not just the amount of coverage, but the quality of that coverage is invaluable. We're also able to track and measure competitor coverage to see how it stacks up to our own.,9,TrendKite helps us track not only what coverage is working for us and what isn't, but helps us identify influencers and journalists who are already writing about our brand or within our domain. This helps us better target our outreach and messaging. It's also changing how we think about traditional PR vs. content marketing vs. influencer marketing, allowing us to truly see where these strategies converge and diverge.,Meltwater Media Intelligence PlatformStaying on Top With TrendKiteTrendKite is used by the entire organization to monitor traditional and online media to maintain ensure public information is accurately disseminated and that brand is properly represented.,Tracking and alerting media output that might reflect on brand Flexible output for reports to leadership Easy to use tracking and reporting Easy to customize output for my own use Easy to share reports, searches and other information with communicators across the country,I haven't used campaign feature but I think this will be an easy to use asset For some reason the Newsletter feature is hidden under the Alert category The search feature required a significant amount of effort to learn. Developing a plain language search method or employing AI might make it easier to use.,10,Reporting to leadership and tailoring that report to the needs of leadership helps show our effectiveness Using the output from real time alerts has kept us in the social conversation with respect to public opinion and brand awareness Knowing what outlets we are reaching and which outlets need more direct communication has expanded our reach,10,Knowing what outlets we are reaching has helped us expand our coverage and helped us maintain a watch on our information. This is especially critical when providing public safety information. IT has allowed us to recognize what outlets cover our information and those that we need to be in contact more frequently.,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform
Unspecified
TrendKite
111 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

TrendKite Reviews

TrendKite
111 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 111 vetted TrendKite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 76)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 08, 2018

User Review: "One TrendKite to Rule Them All"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses TrendKite across the entire team as a means of tracking the mentions in the press for each of our PR clients, staying alert on high volume mentions and potential crises, as well as keeping track of the value of our work for our clients.
  • TrendKite has detailed graphics to show in an easy-to-understand manner the comparison and status of each company/individual we are keeping track of.
  • TrendKite has wonderful, fast, helpful customer service -- answering questions in as little as 2 minutes. This is extremely helpful when putting together a report on a deadline.
  • TrendKite's interface is very easy to use, easy to understand, and clean.
  • We have had many circumstances of TrendKite not monitoring specific outlets that we need monitored. This causes an issue with tracking the value of our work or the share of voice comparison for our clients, as results may not be all-encompassing.
  • A good amount of advertising is included in the mentions brought in by TrendKite. While the team is very helpful in removing the advertisements upon request, it would be great to not have to worry about earned media and paid media being tracked as one and the same.
TrendKite is very well suited to monitor media voice over time (from days to weeks to years). It quickly shows the users the value of a specific brand, product, topic or pitch. It helps a PR firm easily measure the value that they are bringing to their clients -- a very difficult thing to do.
It is not as well suited as a media contact base, compared to some of its competitors. It may not be as appropriate for tracking mentions from smaller outlets, as they may not be covered by the TrendKite base.
As our PR firm has multiple clients, TrendKite is helpful for each client -- we are able to research the current trending topics in their fields and compare them to what their competitors may be talking about. This then gives us the ability to plan our with our clients the next area of the news cycle they would like to speak into OR even create the news themselves. Understanding the situation of their competitors -- whether it be the key terms they are discussing, the sentiment they are receiving from their target base, etc. is key to determining where the client should go next.
Read Melody Matzdorff's full review
May 24, 2018

Review: "After researching 10 options, we are happy with our decision to use TrendKite"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main HQ in San Bruno is using TrendKite. Each morning our entire office gets an alert for industry news and competitor news at 8 am. On top of that, we get the real-time alerts any time an article is published about our company. We also created custom searches for some of our sales reps to help them personalize their emails making their jobs easier as well. Lastly, having TrendKite really made pulling data for big meetings like sales kickoff, end of the quarterly meetings, and board meetings the best!! We were able to see a lot of trends and pull important data in a very timely manner, which would not do at all before having TrendKite.

Before we had TrendKite we had no idea what articles were being published, what news outlets had the best readership, or how our press compared to our competitors. Now we have a clear view and can make data-driven decisions in a timely manner.
  • Sharing all of the information company-wide, whether as an alert, or end of the quarter data is super simple and easy to use and being able to share across email and slack is a great integration.
  • Setting up alerts, dashboards, and searches are very user-friendly, especially when you have a customer success team that is as amazing as ours!!
  • Having a database of all articles, and being able to see visual representations of the success of articles in the news about our company without spending hours of time creating it, makes my job super simple.
  • Having an export feature is great, however, one area that could improve is allowing the users to customize the reports we want to export. Ie. putting multiple dashboards on one page, or changing the order, or adding comments.
  • At the very beginning of our contract, understanding the relationship of the diagrams took a little time to understand, so making those a little clearer would be great.
  • Getting our searches and dashboards created took some time especially for someone who doesn't know the boolean code. Having an example of searches to go by would be super helpful (although our customer success team could set it up for us, I wanted to be involved as well) and honestly, I am knit-picking here. The only real thing that would be a nice change is a user-friendly export feature.
If your company is like ours, with a limited budget, who was only using Google alerts to know when articles were being published about our company, then making the switch to TrendKite is a great decision. We looked into about 10 different options and narrowed down to 3. At the end of the day, it was TrendKites flexibility to work with us, and the joy we had working together to make this deal happen.
Our CEO loves getting daily updates on competitors and industry news. It helps him make decisions on the future of the company knowing what topics are being discussed and has a big impact on the success of our business. Knowledge is power and having all of this information at our becking call is a huge advantage.
Read Kristen Rumley's full review
March 29, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite Stands Out"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used across the organization, but the use depends on the client account and specific project. I've personally used it on projects previously to monitor earned media coverage and to gain an understanding of a particular industry or topic's media coverage.
  • The flexibility and customization options for the dashboard
  • The options for media coverage
  • Reporting options
  • I don't have any off the top of my head - TrendKite has been a vast improvement from our previous software.
TrendKite has been very useful for monitoring. We had to monitor several key topics for one client, and it was very easy for me to go in and set up several similar dashboards, and for my colleague to access and review the results.
We've previously used TrendKite for mainly monitoring (from my personal experiences). I do know we have used it to gain a better understanding of the industries of our clients and to determine what kind of media we could garner for them.
Read Michael Nge's full review
June 06, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite is AMAZING"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using TrendKite to measure our PR and influencer mentions, social media shares of those mentions, and the traffic those mentions drive to our website. We have five users who access and use the system. This is the first time we've truly been able to capture and measure the effectiveness of our PR and content marketing strategies.
  • The dashboard is highly customizable and extraordinarily useful. You can create as many dashboards and campaigns as you wish for time periods going all the way back to 2013.
  • The reporting is stellar. Fully interactive, allowing people who receive the report to not just see how much coverage, but actually visit the individual articles, and gain a deeper understanding of what's being presented.
  • The customer service is truly outstanding. Our customer success team is always available to answer questions, help with searches, and do just about anything else I ask related to the product.
  • It's a newer tool, so they're always making improvements. I would love some more flexibility in how some of the widgets display information in the dashboards.
  • The application can be a bit fussy in Safari. Chrome works much better.
TrendKite is perfect for any organization who wants to better track the coverage they're getting and be able to rate that coverage based on how well it's shared and its impact on your web traffic.

It's certainly not cheap, but it's well worth the price for any organization that can afford it.
TrendKite helps us track not only what coverage is working for us and what isn't, but helps us identify influencers and journalists who are already writing about our brand or within our domain. This helps us better target our outreach and messaging. It's also changing how we think about traditional PR vs. content marketing vs. influencer marketing, allowing us to truly see where these strategies converge and diverge.
Read Ryan Knott's full review
May 04, 2018

User Review: "Staying on Top With TrendKite"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by the entire organization to monitor traditional and online media to maintain ensure public information is accurately disseminated and that brand is properly represented.
  • Tracking and alerting media output that might reflect on brand
  • Flexible output for reports to leadership
  • Easy to use tracking and reporting
  • Easy to customize output for my own use
  • Easy to share reports, searches and other information with communicators across the country
  • I haven't used campaign feature but I think this will be an easy to use asset
  • For some reason the Newsletter feature is hidden under the Alert category
  • The search feature required a significant amount of effort to learn. Developing a plain language search method or employing AI might make it easier to use.
Tracking media output is critical for brand management. During disasters I use TrendKite for real time alerts. Likewise, TrendKite makes my life easier when it comes to tracking specific campaigns or when creating quarterly reports.
Knowing what outlets we are reaching has helped us expand our coverage and helped us maintain a watch on our information. This is especially critical when providing public safety information. IT has allowed us to recognize what outlets cover our information and those that we need to be in contact more frequently.
Read Bill Fortune's full review
April 15, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite's pros and cons"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team uses TrendKite to track various keywords and themes, as well as to create and distribute a brand reputation report to key stakeholders. It allows us to be daily involved in the tracking and monitoring of our company's name and our overall brand in the marketplace.
  • TrendKite is very easy to use, from the dashboard to the searches to the reports. After just a short amount of time, our team has been able to learn the functionalities it offers and use them, even at their most basic level.
  • I appreciate TrendKite's quick access to customer service. From reports not generating correctly to help creating a search term, a representative is always just a chat away.
  • Our team's onboarding was a bit of a hodge-podge and could have been more streamlined so that everyone felt equipped. It would be beneficial to have a complete guide to refer back to and share.
  • The search function works well, but I would like to have an up-to-the-minute or as-it-happens function that alerts me by email as soon as my search term pops up online (like Google Alerts).

TrendKite is well suited to track mentions of our brand and our competitors, but doesn't work very well for up-to-the-minute tracking of various crisis situations or as-it-happens industry news. I still need to use an additional tool like Google Alerts to do this.

TrendKite has great reporting capabilities and the interactive reports have been very beneficial to my team and stakeholders.

TrendKite does not currently shape our PR strategy.
Read Abbey Ramirez's full review
April 12, 2018

Review: "Great service - TrendKite is very user-friendly!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by account coordinators and account executives to create monthly and quarterly reports for clients. We are specifically in the media relations branch of our small company. It gives us the tools to demonstrate value to clients, especially those who might not understand the power of PR. We create reports on a monthly, quarterly and as needed basis. Sometimes clients ask for a custom report before a board meeting or for a specific launch.
  • I like that TrendKite gives us specific numbers (ad value, total readership, etc.) as many of our clients respond best to concrete facts like this.
  • TrendKite customer service is the best! I've never waited for more than 5 minutes for a response, they are always nice and willing to explain things to me clearly.
  • I like the real-time media alerts that you can sign up for, it helps me keep track of media hits when I'm not actively thinking about them.
  • TrendKite often picks up coverage that isn't from my clients, so I'll have to go in and delete them.
  • It would be nice to be able to edit the information from within a report and not have to go back to the dashboard and then re-pull the report.
TrendKite is great for pulling reports for a specific time period or launch. If your client has a product launch and wants to see all coverage (syndicated included) from that launch time period it works very well. Also works well for monthly/quarterly reports to demonstrate value for executives and board members who might not understand the value of PR. Probably not the best if you wanted to highlight ONLY work the agency has done and not include syndicated information.
It does make competitor analysis much easier. Seeing who has the largest share of voice and where they are being covered is awesome. We can determine if they are being covered in huge publications or if they are putting out a ton of press releases that get syndicated. It's also helpful to see if any of our articles got syndicated anywhere or picked up by sister publications.
Read Danielle Garton's full review
April 11, 2018

Review: "TrendKite is a comprehensive communication suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used mostly in the communication department, but it provides valuable insights for the whole company. Especially the reports feature.
  • Industry dashboard is a very comprehensive way to track the communication landscape around the company and brands.
  • Reporting features of TrendKite are very powerful. It creates reports in a snap and the reports can be easily modified.
  • I like the opportunity to drill-down on individual widgets to see the information in more detail.
  • It is tracking publicity globally and it is a bit hard to narrow searches just to one particular language or country.
  • I would like to use some other features, but I am lacking the budget for those. Maybe some option to buy services for shorter period, i.e. campaign, instead of yearly contract will help.
  • Sometimes I get lost in searches. I am not sure if they are still relevant over the time.
It saves a lot of time in coverage analysis. It does not track all the media, but it does well when providing a picture around the brand or company. Maybe the data is not perfect, but to have some data is much better than not have them.
TrendKite analysis helps to select the right messages and follow-up on competitors coverage. With TrendKite I am able to react faster and see the results of my efforts quickly. Therefore it helps to set realistic objectives during the PR planning.
Read Stefan Vadocz's full review
April 03, 2018

"TrendKite Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite in the PR department here at the company to monitor mentions across both national and international media and to produce coverage reports for the senior management. It's a big time saver for us as a department given that we have control over the search criteria and the ease in which you can customise and produce the reports using TrendKite.
  • Reporting - Quick, easy to use and the reports are fully customisable and interactive
  • Mention Tracking - Detailed and interactive breakdown of mentions day-by-day that has replaced our previous tracker
  • Searches - Very helpful when tracking different products that have different target audiences and media
  • Filtering out content - Difficult to filter out some mentions that are irrelevant to the product in question, particularly when there is just a passing mention
It is very useful.
Our PR strategy works in two separate phases. Pre-product release we work to a thoroughly developed strategy with clear target media in mind - usually close contacts in the mainstream media that we have worked with for many years previously. Post-release we are heavily reactive to meet the needs of our audience and to fit in with the relevant conversations in the media. TrendKite enables us to track both, in separate searches, but to the same level of detail.
Read Tom Davidson's full review
March 23, 2018

TrendKite Review: "A multifaceted tool for multitaskers!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is managed by the marketing and communications team at my organization and we use it to share news in the nanotechnology field. Media monitoring is a time-consuming task for public relations professionals like myself. TrendKite is not only useful, it is a necessity that literally saves hours of work every day.
  • TrendKite is able to tailor your search query to your specific needs
  • TrendKite is entirely automated once set up which makes it easier for your organization.
  • TrendKite has a terrific earned media coverage estimator.
  • TrendKite can sometimes send irrelevant articles that drive employees away from actually reading email notifications.
  • TrendKite is expensive for start-up organizations, making it difficult to justify its subscription to senior management.
TrendKite is a brilliant tool for large organizations that need to monitor positive and negative articles through a media monitoring system. It is less viable for small organizations because of the cost.
TrendKite helps us monitor our brand so we can highlight positive articles in the news. It is also important for our organization to monitor competition that may be competing in the same market as us. The nanotechnology and metamaterial industry is emerging and our company is positioned to come out on top, however there are other organizations that compete for the same space as us. With TrendKite, we can accurately monitor their progress and report it to senior management.
Read Mitchell Thompson's full review
March 21, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Trust Trending"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used by the Marketing & PR department.

It helped us measure the return on investment on our media relations efforts and prove the value of PR efforts to the organization.
  • Beautiful interactive reports.
  • Easy to use.
  • Responsive to specific needs of our organization.
  • I'd like to be able to archive Critical Mention TV clips.
  • The dashboard could be easier to use - not always as intuitive.
  • It is well suited for reporting media coverage on specific media campaigns, whether you want an overview or deep analysis.
  • It is well suited for looking at media coverage results compared to competitors
  • I use the alerts and spikes in coverage alerts almost daily.
  • The newsletter feature is a good way to report media coverage to our stakeholders - wish it was more visually appealing.
We use it to look back at worked so that we can make informed decisions for the future.
We get alerted about industry trends.
Read Gina Bericchia, APR's full review
March 19, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Better Than The Others"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Southwestern University’s Office of Marketing and Communications uses TrendKite in our public relations efforts. It’s a great tool to find influencers to write stories about SU, monitor the chatter about SU and show our public relations ROI to our executives.
  • Giving your public relations efforts an actual ROI
  • Customer service (super quick and easy to work with)
  • Competitor analysis. It’s great to see how we stack up agains our like schools.
  • Dashboard customization. Would love the ability to change the colors so it’s easy for an executive to see SU vs our competitors on graphs.
Great for measuring Public Relations ROI, not great for true marketing initiatives.
We use TrendKite to see who is writing about other like schools and try to get them to write about us.
Read Dinah Ritchie's full review
March 08, 2018

"Trendkite Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite on our communications team for media tracking and analysis.
  • We find the tool to be very comprehensive and useful and the support team to be a great resource, quick to respond to any issues and a pleasure to work with.
  • We love the tools for showing social shares and for setting up key messages and alerts.
  • I'd like to be able to search the coverage for specific words rather than always setting up the key words widget.
Competitive coverage, key messages and hot topics, etc.
Read Tessa Byars's full review
June 26, 2018

TrendKite Review: "I love TK!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Weber Shandwick uses Trendkite across analytics, client experience, PR... we track earned media coverage for clients.
  • SOV analysis
  • Trending earned media coverage over time
  • Geographic coverage
  • Not having to create so many searches
  • When exporting, it would be nice to be able to export individual widgets instead of the whole dashboard. Within the widget export, having all data exported (including the number of mentions, totals, percentages etc.) not just the data displayed in the widget
Tracking earned media coverage. Social shares are tracked but I wouldn't use this tool for social listening.
Read Margaret Hansen's full review
May 21, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Results = Very Happy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using TrendKite for our APAC digital marketing needs; mainly to keep an eye on any notable local news spikes.
  • Customer service is excellent; they respond immediately.
  • The platform is very easy to understand and use.
  • The onboard process was quick and painless.
  • Including Baidu and Naver and international search engines in country specific results.
Very well suited for keeping an eye on trends and finding relevant brand articles.
Competitive research, industry coverage and brand sentiment.
Read Michele Gottlieb's full review
May 04, 2018

Review: "TrendKite: It does what you need it to do"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our PR team uses TrendKite to monitor media coverage in real time and generate timely media coverage reports for executives and other key stakeholders.
  • Tracks media coverage in near real time.
  • Easy to use dashboards and reports.
  • Great customer service.
  • TrendKite is starting to offer services that allow users to track actions taken based on coverage, but the platform is a little behind the curve compared to AirPR.
TrendKite is great for tracking and reporting media coverage.
TrendKite helps us shape our PR strategy by enabling us to to compare our coverage to that of key competitors.
Read Aaron Searle's full review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Why we chose Trendkite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Augusta University Division of Communications & Marketing uses TrendKite to communicate the value and impact of earned media.
  • The searches, dashboards, reports and alerts are easy to create and refine.
  • Customer service is accessible and almost always immediate.
  • Most importantly for us, TrendKite is always expanding and improving the platform based off of our needs and feedback.
  • Some of the items that are undergoing refinement and could use further update include auto-generated newsletters. Daily alerts are automatic, but for the most professional and useful round-ups of media, we find that they have to be hand-crafted.
TrendKite is well suited to PR organizations and communication offices looking to quantify, report and share their news coverage.
TrendKite gives us real-time data on our pick-up to shape our strategy.
Read Kelly Jasper's full review
June 07, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Great people, great product!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Trendkite for several accounts. It started as a tool used primarily by our analytics team, but now more and more account teams want to access as well, as their clients expect more rigorous KPI reporting. It's great because it's both a media monitoring platform and an analysis platform. We all love being able to quickly visualize our data via customized widgets, but the hands-down best feature is the customer service/support. We love that they will build our keywords for us and are quick to respond when we reach out for help. There really isn't a comparable product that suits the needs of a modern PR firm like Trendkite- they get what we're trying to do.
  • keyword support- initial setup & refining via customer support. They're Boolean wizards!
  • data visualization via widget-based dashboards- great for quick reference.
  • PR Attribution offering is very useful if driving to a website is a communications goal- no one else really does this!
  • slack integration for alerting!!
  • international coverage is spotty but improving; you'd need a local market representative to QA the data & translate the keywords
  • the instant reports are not customizable so not useful from a client services perspective
  • alerting could be more customizable- like basic volume thresholds or something, rather than for every article
It's great for media monitoring when you need data associated with each article and you want to be able to quickly visualize the data to make decisions. My only hesitation is when you're working in a wide range of countries and languages- you'll need to count on supporting the platform in the non-English speaking markets, and their coverage isn't as developed as it is in the US.
We use Trendkite to help identify white space and trends so we know how to position a story or initiative.
Read this authenticated review
May 30, 2018

Review: "Use of Trendkite as a secondary research tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trendkite is used in our organization to gather secondary research data to get an understanding on what is happening in the market or an industry and to solidify any research hypotheses we are exploring for a topic. Trendkite provides great social amplification data which helps to determine the content that resonates the most with the audience.
  • Trendkite covers a wide range of news sources
  • Trendkite provides an easy and quick snapshot of what is happening in the industry/brand by providing the findings through easy to digest charts.
  • Trendkite is user-friendly and you don't need to wait for your data to load - it is available to you as soon as you save your search.
  • It would be great to be able to export the data from the widgets into excel so that you can easily adapt it to the format you need
  • It would good to have the ability to organize your searches better (into folders)
  • More user-friendly search building practices. Get rid of commands you use to clean up the search results and come up with the easier way to do so. In the short term, it would be good to have the list of the commands easily accessible.
Well suited: get a quick understanding of how much is being talked about a brand/industry, understand what is driving the buzz about a brand/industry, what content resonates, understand how the volume of news compares to the competition. Less appropriate: To understand the sentiment the news is generating in the general audience. Social listening tools would be more appropriate.
We use Trendkite primarily as a secondary research tool to see if any particular news shapes or shifts perceptions of the brands within an industry. The tool has proven to be helpful - with the quantifiable results (like social shares, number of articles, article impact, etc.) we are able to pinpoint where some of the data shifts are coming from.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Excellent Account Management and Slick Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Corporate Communications team (which manages PR, Investor Relations, and Corp Comms) uses Trendkite to evaluate Evolent's public relations presence. For instance, we're always interested to get a sense of how many media mentions our company gets, and which of those are based more on the financial side (e.g. earnings) and how many are focused more on earned media focused on our business and clients. We also use Trendkite to see which stories about health care policy legislation are read the most online and to stay on top of value-based and healthcare policy and other news.
  • Slick interface, very user-friendly
  • Attentive and responsive account management
  • Clear interest in making sure our company gets what we need out of the product.
  • Still getting a lot of irrelevant search terms coming up
  • The search term (Boolean) setup requires account management involvement
  • The email digest formatting could be a bit easier to read or have some headlines, something that draws the eye
Trendkite is well suited as a supplement to a PR agency or Corp. Communications team's analytics focused on media mentions and other PR spotlights. It can also be well suited for Marketing to see what competitors are up to in the marketplace. That said, Trendkite has a slick interface but does seem to stumble a bit with some search terms. I think it's mostly a situation where you need to work closely with your account manager to uncover any issues and ensure your search terms are correct and aren't pulling in irrelevant results.

So far, I'd say it didn't shape our PR strategy but it's adding useful metrics we can use when we rethink our strategy next year. Right now, some of our earned media and sponsored content didn't get picked up in Trendkite, so that limits our ability to see how many people are actually reading those pieces. We're working with the team on that.

From a marketing perspective, the team does appreciate getting insight into competitors and other brands. I wonder, though, whether they can achieve the same insights from Google Alerts. From my perspective, Trendkite gives much more insight into which clients and customers and competitors are being mentioned the most.

Read this authenticated review
April 20, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Helpful tool for finding ad equivalency of media coverage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used exclusively by our communications and marketing department to determine ad equivalency of our media coverage.
  • Customer service - very responsive and flexible!
  • Ad equivalency - a great metric to show to our board members and agency-wide what our coverage looks like in terms of ad $$
  • Highest readership - we are easily able to find articles that are making the biggest impact
  • Sometimes toggling between dashboards can get confusing
  • There are a few widgets we don't benefit from
TrendKite is great for organizations that have a strict ad budget, but would like to know how editorials/coverage play into viability. Our organization was able to secure a discount on TrendKite, which was extremely helpful as we have a small department budget for resources like this.
We are easily able to identify when we need to pick up the pace on our earned media and when articles about us are making a good impression.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite + PR = Awesome!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by across our whole organization to help quantify our PR efforts.
  • TrendKite aggregates coverage, so you never miss an article that mentions a client or a client's competitor.
  • TrendKite makes it easy to present media mentions by making it easy to build graphs that can then be presented.
  • TrendKite customer service is exceptional and can really help with anything. They are on 24/7 and are always friendly and ready to help.
  • TrendKite's platform seems to work a tad slow at times.
  • TrendKite needs a better method to measure ad equivalency and distinguish between print and online.
TrendKite worked for our company because it was able to quantify PR, which has been a real problem for the industry. The platform has allowed us to track not just our earned mentions, but also syndicated mentions, so we have a better view of a client's share of voice and awareness. You can also easily build graphs on the site which make it easy to showcase and present your data.
We useTrendKite coverage reports to help determine our PR strategy. We do this by reviewing competitor coverage and reviewing all of the mentions they have received in the media. This helps us determine what a competitors messaging is and their key verticals. We also use use TrendKite data to reach out to media that have covered a competitor to make sure they are also aware of our client.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2017

TrendKite Review: "The Cadillac of PR Monitoring and Reporting Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had several departments using different software to execute, monitor and track PR efforts. I had been using another PR software when the decision was made to have our department use TrendKite. So, yes, it was a decision to implement it across several areas, but not the whole organization. The problems it addressed were: helping various departments navigate a matrixed environment for reporting purposes (PR analytics); visibility for various roles (external PR agencies, internal management, etc.); mobility of pulling daily reports (digital component) since we had various people located globally needing to see the metrics in different time zones.
  • Very robust analytics dashboards with the ability to make on the spot tweaks at any time
  • Comprehensive monitoring system that can pull in various forms of coverage or mentions in key media outlets
  • Capability to add as many filters, key words and dashboards as you need to follow key campaigns or thought leaders being mentioned in daily media outlets
  • Not able to execute a media blast or build a media list of outlets with this software - it's more for monitoring and reporting
  • Lacks a comprehensive tracking/monitoring system for specialized trade press (E.g., If you have a list of online media trade pubs that are your "go to's" for your PR efforts, I'd suggest having the assistant working on your account cross-check to see if they can be added so you can get an accurate pull of coverage each day)
  • Still tends to pull in non-relevant coverage even when key words and certain "opt out" boxes have been checked to not pull in coverage, such as: financial news where your company was mentioned, job postings where your company was mentioned, etc.
Depending on what is important for your PR software needs, TrendKite is a powerful technology stack that pulls in analytics and the capability of getting granular on things like a social media rating of a particular journalist, and/or a ranking of the type of mention you received in that particular outlet. It is also great for being able to track particular campaigns or share of voice against your competition. If you are needing a more comprehensive program to help with execution (sending out news blasts or issuing news releases) and building media lists; TrendKite isn't appropriate and I'd recommend looking into either supplementing your PR software subscriptions with both TrendKite and another program that can pick up where it leaves off...or go with another platform that provides "okay" analytics yet can do the heavy lifting for execution of PR efforts.
For us, we had several divisions and often times were challenged with monitoring how effective PR efforts were - especially when it involved maybe a certain product that was launched in more than one division. TrendKite informed messaging, positioning and targeting efforts during these times where our teams were challenged with figuring out the most effective approach.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2017

Review: "TrendKite offers powerful, user-friendly media monitoring and superb customer service"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite to track and analyze media mentions of Wesleyan University, our faculty and alumni. It is used primarily by myself and a colleague in the office of communications. It allows us to better understand how Wesleyan and its people are being talked about in the world and follow coverage trends.
  • TrendKite does a great job of finding media mentions in a wide range of media, from TV and radio to major newspapers and small blogs.
  • TrendKite offers easy and attractive reporting features to share analysis over time with others in an organization.
  • TrendKite is always innovating, and is highly responsive to customer feedback.
  • TrendKite's customer support is extremely quick and helpful.
  • TrendKite's platform can be a bit slow and finicky at times. Some of its features are difficult to use on a small laptop screen.
  • TrendKite does still miss some media mentions, including those in major publications.
  • TrendKite's radio capturing technology does not seem to be functioning properly. I have difficulty locating the mention of Wesleyan within the audio clip.
  • I wish it was possible to see how many readers a particular article has, rather than an average of monthly visitors to a general website.
  • Some of the new features introduced by TrendKite (eg. SEO impact, total coverage vs. total web traffic) are not easy to understand, or I don't feel they relate important or usable information.
I find TrendKite very useful for keeping on top of media mentions of Wesleyan. It can also be helpful in making PR decisions regarding which media outlets to target, though this information is harder to come by.
At this point, TrendKite does not play a huge role in shaping PR strategy, but rather allows us to see the results of our efforts. It does give insights into which outlets have the largest readerships and social shares, which can be helpful in targeting particular outlets.
Read Lauren Rubenstein's full review
March 28, 2017

User Review: "TrendKite: Awesome."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by our PR team both in North America and internationally to track how effective our press releases and responses to media queries are in furthering our brand's exposure. We also use the platform's benchmarking function to compare how our share of voice ranks against our competitors. While we use it internally, we've shared plenty of these insights with our whole company.
  • Interactive reporting - This is the single best feature of TrendKite, as it has allowed us to communicate our PR efforts with our broader team and show how much our company is mentioned in the media.
  • Competitor analysis - Being able to see how our efforts are not only generating great exposure for our company, but seeing how these efforts have set us aside from the competition has been incredibly valuable in showing us that our efforts are working.
  • Support - The team always responds very quickly and handles all queries very quickly. They are incredibly understanding with any issues that come up, and handle things very creatively and are extremely polite.
  • Generating reports - this is one area where the process could be simplified. While the output is great, there are quite a few steps to get there which are easy to forget, so hopefully this is something that can be streamlined a bit more in the near future.
  • It would be great if there was some sort of function to see "trending topics" - it's likely hard to do that by keywords since so many articles will have a lot of crossover and not be about the same topic in the end, but that could be a really helpful insight down the road.
I would say it's extremely well suited for both a large company and a small company. It tracks global mentions and it's easy to see where coverage is being generated, but for a smaller brand I could see it being very helpful for tracking how well PR efforts are at driving local coverage.
TrendKite has helped us keep an eye on what days of the week are working well for distributing our press releases and is also very helpful for seeing which countries are generating a lot of media mentions for us. The link with Anewstip has also been very helpful since it's a very comprehensive database of journalists, so it's been helfpul for targeting individual reporters with relevant story ideas.
Read Alex Anstett's full review

About TrendKite

TrendKite is PR analytics software helping PR professionals quantify their true business impact. The vendor aims to go beyond legacy metrics such as readership, mentions and ad equivalency and provide PR professionals a concrete way to attribute their efforts to real business outcomes like brand value, web traffic, SEO, and revenue.

The TrendKite platform allows PR professionals to hone in on quality coverage with single-click filters, benchmark against competitors, and report the business impact of campaigns with beautiful interactive reports. PR pros can swifty respond to crises thanks to Spike Alerts, real-time alerts powered by artificial intelligence. And using Pinpoint Contacts, the next-generation of media contacts, PR pros can leverage a journalist discovery engine to uncover new high impact journalists.

According to the vendor, the product is used by more than 1300 clients, including brands and agencies such as Nike, Google, SXSW, Hershey's, John’s Hopkins, M&C Saatchi, and Mondelez.


TrendKite Features

Has featureTraffic, leads, and revenue from PR (via Google Analytics & Adobe Analytics integrations)
Has featurePR campaign measurement
Has featureSocial sharing of earned media
Has featureReadership (unique visitors per month)
Has featureShare of voice
Has featureTotal quality mentions
Has featureRegional mentions
Has featureKey message pull through
Has featureSentiment
Has featureInteractive drill-down dashboards
Has featureUnlimited dashboards & searches
Has featureOnline publication & blog monotiring
Has featureBroadcast & radio monitoring
Has featurePrint monitoring
Has featureLicensed content & paywall acess
Has featureSingle-click interactive reports
Has featureTailored daily digest emails
Has featureWeekly news snapshot emails
Has featureCurated PR newsletter
Has featureEnterprise onboarding & training
Has featureStrategy sessions with Customer Success Managers
Has featureBest practices enablement (content)
Has featureIn-app chat with >1 min response time
Has featureSEO impact of PR (Domain Authority of Publications)
Has featurePinpoint Contacts (media contact database)
Has featureSpike Alerts that detect anomalous spikes in coverage (powered by AI)

TrendKite Screenshots

TrendKite Videos (3)

Quick TrendKite Overview Video

Watch Quick Demo Video of TrendKite PR Newsletter

Watch Video of Pinpoint Contacts, TrendKite's next generation media contacts solution

TrendKite Downloadables

TrendKite Integrations

Google Analytics, Moz, Adobe Analytics, BurrellesLuce, TVEyes, NewsEdge

TrendKite Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

TrendKite Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TrendKite Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Chinese, German, Korean, French, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Vietnamese, Dutch, Bahasa, Indonesian, Czech, Russian, Hebrew, Polish, Romanian, Macedonian, Turkish, Arabic, Ukrainian, Greek, Croatian, Norwegian, Swedish, Estonian, Tagalog, Hungarian, Hindi, Bulgarian, Danish, Tamil, Afrikaans, Slovenian, Slovak, Finnish, Gujarati, Lithuanian, Swahili, Thai, Somali, Latvian, Nepali, Bengali, Marathi, Persian