TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/d7/Fw/0RW1ZGH1JU3A.JPEGTrendKite is helpful, but not perfectTrendKite is being used by the PR department, and the some of the data from TrendKite is also viewed by our C-suite. Regarding PR, we use it to see which media outlets write about us the most, what topics are most popular, how many people visit Bulletproof.com and the Bulletproof blog after reading a article about us, and much more. After the PR department analyzes this data, we then draft insights about what the PR department is doing right/wrong depending on how the data fluctuates from month-to-month. We also use this data to determine what topics we will pitch out to media depending on which ones TrendKite shows as most popular. We show some TrendKite data to our C-suite so they know how effective the PR department is with its efforts.,TrendKite does a great job of presenting the data in a digestible format. I enjoy evaluating the bar graphics and other table formats. TrendKite does a great job of providing all the information one would need to evaluate the efficacy of an organizations PR efforts. TrendKite's customer service help is AMAZING. They are so helpful and will go above and beyond to solve a problem.,Unfortunately, TrendKite is very slow at times, sometimes hard to navigate and buggy. This is extremely frustrating and compromises user experience. I feel like TrendKite's search option is hard to use and makes it more difficult than it should be to find an article that you want to locate. Also, a lot of the time an article that I want to locate won't even pop up in Trendkite. I have to ask the customer service representatives to manually add it. It would be okay if this was a rare occurrence, but it happens on a weekly basis. TrendKite provides great data, but I find that it changes occasionally. For example, sometimes social shares for a month will change even when that month has passed! I could view June social shares on two different dates during the month of July, and the June social shares could be slightly different each time I view it. I don't understand how that can happen I'm viewing total shares during the month of July and the month of June has already passed.,6,It's allowed us to determine which media write about our brand the most. This allows us to pitch relevant topics to outlets who view us in a favorable light. Instead of sending broad pitches to a variety of media, Trendkite really allows us to hone in on who is important. TrendKite allows us to see which proactively driven announcements garner the most coverage. For example, we can determine if a press-release, a pop-up event or a feature story is the best method by examining stats from TrendKite.,10,It helps quite a bit. We can research which topics our competitors are focusing on and how that compares to our strategy. We've used Trendkite to analyze what is working and what is not working. We can determine which activations garner the most coverage and formulate future plans to replicate those that were most successful.,TrendKite - the best media monitoring platform for usWe use TrendKite for two primary functions: as a daily aggregation of relevant news items about our organization and its affiliates that we can cull and share with senior leadership; and to track the scope and effectiveness of specific marketing and branding campaigns across the earned media landscape. It is used only by our communications/external relations department.,The ability to easily define and refine specific search parameters allows us to access the stories and mentions that are most relevant to us The Dashboard platform allows us to get a wide view of a campaign's effectiveness while providing access to more detailed analysis with one click The daily email reports we receive are invaluable to monitoring our mentions. It is particularly helpful to be able to customize those reports based on frequency and to isolate mentions in top-tier publications,At times, getting a deep dive on a particular type of search (e.g., comparisons with competitors) can be a chore to set up manually. However, I am comfortable that TrendKite's staff support is always available to assist.,8,TrendKite's ability to monitor the sentiment of our mentions has had a strong impact on our decisions to move forward with a number of initiatives. After seeing the favorable response to the initial launch of particular campaigns, we were empowered with real data to support the advancement of those campaigns, and influence significant business decisions.,9,We use TrendKite regularly to reinforce claims that we make as part of our overall PR strategy. A large part of our strategy hinges on demonstrating favorable comparisons with peer organizations - and TrendKite equips us with the data to support those claims. It gives credibility to our existing strategy and allows us to back our reasoning with relevant external data.,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform and iQ Media cliQAccurate, comprehensive, and integrated analyticsWe're using it within the media relations team to gauge Kellogg's share of voice in top tier business media, compared to our 6 competitors. This includes any time the school is profiled, any time our faculty are quoted, etc -- essentially any time where our name is mentioned compared to competitors' names. We obviously weed out press releases, obituaries, job announcements, etc. We are also using it to slice and dice how many times our name is mentioned in conjunction with priority topics for the organization (e.g., healthcare, artificial intelligence, etc.). And we are comparing that with our peers to see who has the most significant reputation aligned with a specific topic. Finally, we are collaborating with our donor relations team to set up TrendKite alerts for every time a prospective donor is mentioned in the news. This will allow the gift officers to ping the prospect with a congratulatory note, providing a nice touchpoint and relationship-builder.,Accuracy of media monitoring. We had significant accuracy issues with our prior vendor, Cision, which frequently missed clips and then required a laborious customer service process to attempt to reprogram our searches to recover those clips. We haven't run into this issue with TrendKite. Responsiveness of customer service. We have a dedicated rep who always replies to communications quickly with helpful answers or tutorials. Ease of use. We can easily create multiple dashboards and add/remove widgets, date ranges, topics, etc. This type of thing would have taken forever and required numerous special project tickets via Cision. Onboarding experience. Very helpful to essentially get us playing around in TrendKite from the start.,It will be a tremendous value add if your monitoring capabilities can start scraping not only the text of an article, but also the byline (aka, who wrote the article). This would enable us to track op-eds that are written by Kellogg faculty. (Conducting an author search as a workaround does not work -- we need to be able to monitor for the term "Kellogg School" as part of the byline of an article.) This would be a significant value add for our company if this feature was added. It would be helpful if you had industry-specific reps who might be able to walk us through a few suggested use cases for the platform, as part of the onboarding phase, to ensure we're really optimizing how we work with TrendKite. This could include an education rep who has seen other schools use the platform to do X, Y and Z.,10,We've been able to capture enterprise-wise and topic-specific Share of Voice very effectively. We've been able to measure the social media impact/engagement on articles published by Kellogg Insight, our in-house thought leadership publication that is picked up on TrendKite and can therefore be analyzed on an article-by-article basis. We've been able to track which topics are more commonly associated with Kellogg media coverage than others.,10,It helps us understand where and how our competitors are being covered in the media, and in which media outlets and by which journalists. We can then start pitching those same journalists because we know, based on TrendKite data, that they like to interview other business school faculty as sources.,Cision PR Software, Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform and Critical MentionLet's go fly a TrendKiteI use TrendKite as our primary PR monitoring software. It addresses three key problems I face in my day-to-day role as a PR professional: Discovering the blogs and news sites where our brand and products are mentionedUnderstanding the impact of these mentions to our businessProviding an easy-to-use reporting tool to share results based off these mentions,Reporting: the interactive reports you can generate via TrendKite's home dashboard are easy to manipulate, a breeze to share and look terrific. Evolving: I've been impressed with how the company has grown and evolved in the last two years, adding valuable products and services such as contact lists, landing page designs, social listening etc. Data-lead: as someone who works in a business that prides itself on being data focussed, having my PR monitoring solution move easily in this world has been a big plus.,It's not the most intuitive UI - cluttered and sometimes confusing - so you'll need to be patient to wrap your head around its navigation and labelling. You'll need to be good at boolean searches - or at least, have a grasp of how they work - to get the most out of the TrendKite dashboards. If not, you will be extra reliant on your account manager to get you going and keep your searches on track. A minor quibble, but as an overseas customer (Australia), my access to the semi-regular webinars is very limited, as they are often run in a US-focussed time zone.,8,Prior to having TrendKite, our monitoring was decidedly low-tech; we measured total hits, regional variances, clip URLs and that's about it. Now, I am in a position to report on SEO impact, social shares of relevant articles, the share of voice versus major competitors. Not only this, it's given me the ability to drill down into every hit at a greater level of detail than ever before. It's meant we've had a much better understanding of the impact of our PR performance, which has allowed us to be increasingly strategic with our PR interventions and planning.,7,TrendKite has shaped the development and execution of our PR strategy in a number of ways, including: allowing us to more easily benchmark our PR outcomes versus key competitors, across different industriesprovided a more robust understanding of the impact of various publications, giving us a chance to better assess the likely outcome and reach of each pitchgiven us greater insights into the international footprint of our mentions, enabling better targeting or PR outreach programshelped surface and highlight customer success stories,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform and Isentia.MediaportalDoing ok, room for improvement! Just like my hair!Its used to help our clients see how their PR has been received in the market, where and when it was used and the resulting audience we reached.,Its fairly comprehensive, love the dashboard. Its easy to use, and easy to follow,The issues have been on the backend. There have been many issues with the results not being appropriate for the client. Its not been entirely "bankable". In other words, the results are somewhat questionable. The people I have worked with are nice, but I don't believe that they have understood what the issues have been. The accounting department has been a mess... missing my payments, issuing invoices 6 months late, just a mess.,6,I would say that the reports are easy to make and share. They look impressive but its information that is questionable. I don't have time to go through every single story to see if its about real estate or job changes etc. Its too bad. Its not been helpful for me in demonstrating value.,5,Ordinarily I would have used this as a tool to show clients what worked and what wasn't working. But it just didn't get that far. Its been challenging to get information that was really helpful. I think that the value portion of the dashboard was great to show the overall benefit...as that is a tangible result.,
Unspecified
TrendKite
162 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TrendKite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TrendKite
162 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 162 vetted TrendKite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 107)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dominique Taylor profile photo
November 08, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite is helpful, but not perfect"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by the PR department, and the some of the data from TrendKite is also viewed by our C-suite. Regarding PR, we use it to see which media outlets write about us the most, what topics are most popular, how many people visit Bulletproof.com and the Bulletproof blog after reading a article about us, and much more. After the PR department analyzes this data, we then draft insights about what the PR department is doing right/wrong depending on how the data fluctuates from month-to-month. We also use this data to determine what topics we will pitch out to media depending on which ones TrendKite shows as most popular.

We show some TrendKite data to our C-suite so they know how effective the PR department is with its efforts.
  • TrendKite does a great job of presenting the data in a digestible format. I enjoy evaluating the bar graphics and other table formats.
  • TrendKite does a great job of providing all the information one would need to evaluate the efficacy of an organizations PR efforts.
  • TrendKite's customer service help is AMAZING. They are so helpful and will go above and beyond to solve a problem.
  • Unfortunately, TrendKite is very slow at times, sometimes hard to navigate and buggy. This is extremely frustrating and compromises user experience.
  • I feel like TrendKite's search option is hard to use and makes it more difficult than it should be to find an article that you want to locate. Also, a lot of the time an article that I want to locate won't even pop up in Trendkite. I have to ask the customer service representatives to manually add it. It would be okay if this was a rare occurrence, but it happens on a weekly basis.
  • TrendKite provides great data, but I find that it changes occasionally. For example, sometimes social shares for a month will change even when that month has passed! I could view June social shares on two different dates during the month of July, and the June social shares could be slightly different each time I view it. I don't understand how that can happen I'm viewing total shares during the month of July and the month of June has already passed.
TrendKite is well-suited for analyzing broad, over-arching metrics of PR efficacy. It allows PR professionals to use data to quantify their worth to C-suite professionals who may be skeptical of the need of PR. It allows us to come off polished and really show how our efforts benefit the company. However, I wish it was easier to find articles that mention the brand without having to scroll through total mentions. Also, the search option is difficult to use.
It helps quite a bit. We can research which topics our competitors are focusing on and how that compares to our strategy. We've used Trendkite to analyze what is working and what is not working. We can determine which activations garner the most coverage and formulate future plans to replicate those that were most successful.
Read Dominique Taylor's full review
Chuck Sullivan profile photo
October 26, 2018

Review: "TrendKite - the best media monitoring platform for us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite for two primary functions: as a daily aggregation of relevant news items about our organization and its affiliates that we can cull and share with senior leadership; and to track the scope and effectiveness of specific marketing and branding campaigns across the earned media landscape. It is used only by our communications/external relations department.
  • The ability to easily define and refine specific search parameters allows us to access the stories and mentions that are most relevant to us
  • The Dashboard platform allows us to get a wide view of a campaign's effectiveness while providing access to more detailed analysis with one click
  • The daily email reports we receive are invaluable to monitoring our mentions. It is particularly helpful to be able to customize those reports based on frequency and to isolate mentions in top-tier publications
  • At times, getting a deep dive on a particular type of search (e.g., comparisons with competitors) can be a chore to set up manually. However, I am comfortable that TrendKite's staff support is always available to assist.
In our situation, we have a general idea of where our external media mentions will appear - so our needs are not necessarily the same as those of a corporate client looking to track the scope of a new marketing initiative. The value for us is that TrendKite is able to collect our mentions in a refined and efficient manner, saving our staff countless hours.
We use TrendKite regularly to reinforce claims that we make as part of our overall PR strategy. A large part of our strategy hinges on demonstrating favorable comparisons with peer organizations - and TrendKite equips us with the data to support those claims. It gives credibility to our existing strategy and allows us to back our reasoning with relevant external data.
Read Chuck Sullivan's full review
Taryn Tawoda profile photo
October 26, 2018

TrendKite: "Accurate, comprehensive, and integrated analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it within the media relations team to gauge Kellogg's share of voice in top tier business media, compared to our 6 competitors. This includes any time the school is profiled, any time our faculty are quoted, etc -- essentially any time where our name is mentioned compared to competitors' names. We obviously weed out press releases, obituaries, job announcements, etc.

We are also using it to slice and dice how many times our name is mentioned in conjunction with priority topics for the organization (e.g., healthcare, artificial intelligence, etc.). And we are comparing that with our peers to see who has the most significant reputation aligned with a specific topic.

Finally, we are collaborating with our donor relations team to set up TrendKite alerts for every time a prospective donor is mentioned in the news. This will allow the gift officers to ping the prospect with a congratulatory note, providing a nice touchpoint and relationship-builder.
  • Accuracy of media monitoring. We had significant accuracy issues with our prior vendor, Cision, which frequently missed clips and then required a laborious customer service process to attempt to reprogram our searches to recover those clips. We haven't run into this issue with TrendKite.
  • Responsiveness of customer service. We have a dedicated rep who always replies to communications quickly with helpful answers or tutorials.
  • Ease of use. We can easily create multiple dashboards and add/remove widgets, date ranges, topics, etc. This type of thing would have taken forever and required numerous special project tickets via Cision.
  • Onboarding experience. Very helpful to essentially get us playing around in TrendKite from the start.
  • It will be a tremendous value add if your monitoring capabilities can start scraping not only the text of an article, but also the byline (aka, who wrote the article). This would enable us to track op-eds that are written by Kellogg faculty. (Conducting an author search as a workaround does not work -- we need to be able to monitor for the term "Kellogg School" as part of the byline of an article.) This would be a significant value add for our company if this feature was added.
  • It would be helpful if you had industry-specific reps who might be able to walk us through a few suggested use cases for the platform, as part of the onboarding phase, to ensure we're really optimizing how we work with TrendKite. This could include an education rep who has seen other schools use the platform to do X, Y and Z.
Share of Voice is a significant metric for our media and reputation team -- both enterprise-wide, and topic-specific. Anything related to Share of Voice can easily be measured and analyzed by TrendKite. I'm not sure about use cases where it is less ideal, as our work within TrendKite has primarily focused on Share of Voice measurement so far.
It helps us understand where and how our competitors are being covered in the media, and in which media outlets and by which journalists. We can then start pitching those same journalists because we know, based on TrendKite data, that they like to interview other business school faculty as sources.
Read Taryn Tawoda's full review
David Scott profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Let's go fly a TrendKite"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TrendKite as our primary PR monitoring software. It addresses three key problems I face in my day-to-day role as a PR professional:
  • Discovering the blogs and news sites where our brand and products are mentioned
  • Understanding the impact of these mentions to our business
  • Providing an easy-to-use reporting tool to share results based off these mentions
  • Reporting: the interactive reports you can generate via TrendKite's home dashboard are easy to manipulate, a breeze to share and look terrific.
  • Evolving: I've been impressed with how the company has grown and evolved in the last two years, adding valuable products and services such as contact lists, landing page designs, social listening etc.
  • Data-lead: as someone who works in a business that prides itself on being data focussed, having my PR monitoring solution move easily in this world has been a big plus.
  • It's not the most intuitive UI - cluttered and sometimes confusing - so you'll need to be patient to wrap your head around its navigation and labelling.
  • You'll need to be good at boolean searches - or at least, have a grasp of how they work - to get the most out of the TrendKite dashboards. If not, you will be extra reliant on your account manager to get you going and keep your searches on track.
  • A minor quibble, but as an overseas customer (Australia), my access to the semi-regular webinars is very limited, as they are often run in a US-focussed time zone.
TrendKite has excelled for us precisely because its outputs and focus is on the data, which is synced with how the rest of our business and analytics teams like to operate. That it can be plugged into GA is also a big positive.

It would be less appropriate for an organisation with a low-yield of media mentions, or one that prioritises qualitative analysis over quantitative.
TrendKite has shaped the development and execution of our PR strategy in a number of ways, including:
  • allowing us to more easily benchmark our PR outcomes versus key competitors, across different industries
  • provided a more robust understanding of the impact of various publications, giving us a chance to better assess the likely outcome and reach of each pitch
  • given us greater insights into the international footprint of our mentions, enabling better targeting or PR outreach programs
  • helped surface and highlight customer success stories
Read David Scott's full review
Janice Woods profile photo
October 26, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Doing ok, room for improvement! Just like my hair!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its used to help our clients see how their PR has been received in the market, where and when it was used and the resulting audience we reached.
  • Its fairly comprehensive, love the dashboard.
  • Its easy to use, and easy to follow
  • The issues have been on the backend. There have been many issues with the results not being appropriate for the client. Its not been entirely "bankable". In other words, the results are somewhat questionable.
  • The people I have worked with are nice, but I don't believe that they have understood what the issues have been.
  • The accounting department has been a mess... missing my payments, issuing invoices 6 months late, just a mess.
I would recommend this to someone who has a cut and dry company that they want to measure. Its not really well suited to my clients. And its expensive for following print, broadcast and social.
Ordinarily I would have used this as a tool to show clients what worked and what wasn't working. But it just didn't get that far. Its been challenging to get information that was really helpful. I think that the value portion of the dashboard was great to show the overall benefit...as that is a tangible result.
Read Janice Woods's full review
Lauren Russ, CMP profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite is the Right Choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite for client alerts and searches, monitoring and listening, and reporting. Each account person leverages TrendKite for their accounts. We specifically like the key message analysis, share of voice comparison against the competition or other brands within an organization, and social amplification. We also use the SEO score and like it's integrated with MOZ. It makes monitoring media coverage easier, pulling client results easier and really differentiates us from the competition when going after new business or helping guide clients with data-driven decisions.
  • Customer Service
  • Adding in new features
  • The platform is easy to use
  • Customization of reports
  • Not all placements are picked up or a lot of times the wrong placements are included.
  • Although you can add in placements/coverage - it does not always end up in your report.
  • If you want wire coverage (e.g. - PRNewswire, PRWeb, Businesswire) it won't capture the coverage if it is behind a firewall or taken off the site so you need to capture a report the day it runs or it skews the results if you are creating monthly reports.
TrendKite is great if you are looking for one place to set alerts, monitor coverage and pull results reports.
We use TrendKite for new business research, key message analysis looking at brand messages, keywords, competitive messaging and competitive keywords. We also use TrendKite to monitor competitors and their coverage. We also use the key message analysis to help us update messaging.
Read Lauren Russ, CMP's full review
Dan Howard profile photo
October 18, 2018

TrendKite Review: "A Slick and Sophisticated System"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by the Communications Department in order to provide monthly reporting on the destination's media presence. It enables the Board of Directors to quickly discern the brand's performance against stated objectives and to compare share of voice against our competitive set on a monthly basis. It provides earned media values so that the community recognizes the cost that would have been expended to achieve the media coverage generated.
  • Clear reports make it easy for any reader to recognize performance.
  • Story angle tracking enables the organization to track success against very specific campaigns.
  • Share of voice tools let the community know how successful the team has been versus main competitors tasked with the same objectives.
  • Search functions (for specific articles) are not straightforward.
  • Ad equivalency can be better measured - I believe it is currently being overstated and I am having to compensate by hand to deliver what I consider to be accurate results.
  • We still have a second tracking system in place because TrendKite doesn't cover every form of media we require to be reported.
When we launch a marketing campaign, TrendKite is well suited to track the success of the campaign by tracking global media outlets and reporting where the campaign has been published. If I were seeking out a specific article, I would have more difficulty searching it in TrendKite versus other platforms. It really is about the trend of the conversation in general and that is valuable for us.
Because TrendKite is all about industry trends, we are able to track how we perform in specific, strategic messaging versus our competitors to know whether we are investing in the messages that have the ability to resonate with audiences. We would like to think our messages are being heard, but TrendKite takes away the guess work and gives us hard numbers to share. Public Relations has too often been viewed as nebulous but there is nothing 'fuzzy' about the numbers that TrendKite allows us to share in terms of public consumption of our brand messaging.
Read Dan Howard's full review
Kimberly Denman profile photo
December 22, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Pleased with the Platform and Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Trendkite to gather data from our PR efforts for multiple home service brands. We use it to analyze message pull through, impressions, comparison to competitors, and more.
  • Customer service
  • Training
  • Understanding of needs and requests
  • Comprehensive site filled with a database chock full of valuable data at our fingertips
  • Need to clean up some of the reports to remove unnecessary data
  • Ability to create widgets more easily on our own would be nice but they are great at creating them for us
Excellent measurement and comparison tool for PR, social media and keywords.
We enjoy having the capability to compare our brands to competitors and see how our PR efforts measure up to others.
Read Kimberly Denman's full review
Sean Ireland profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "TrendKite does what I ask of it, which is saying something"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I monitor when Rutgers Business School (RBS) faculty are quoted in news articles, write pieces, and when RBS is mentioned. I report monthly on the significant sources, thereby showing the currency, relevancy, and expertise of our faculty. In years past, on different platforms, I used to total the number of mentions and compare to the previous period. However with the increase to approximately 85% of sources adopting a subscription model in the past five years, I can no longer see most of the instances. I now report on the quality of the source rather than the quantity. This works fine. Reporting quotes and articles in fewer "tier 1" sources is more meaningful than reporting hundreds more repeats of the same mention in sources of which we've never heard.
  • Daily email reports provide quick and easy skimming and posting media mentions on the RBS "In the News" webpage
  • Unlimited customizable dashboards and saved searches allow me to tailor reports
  • The support is outstanding. OK, it took many tries and actually a different tech support to understand and correct my search string that looked for "faculty name" AND "Rutgers Business School" and missed every instance when the article only said the faculty member works at Rutgers. But now I'm happy.
  • The interactive reports (for example) show a line graph of monthly total mentions, and when I hover my cursor over the point, the number of mentions shows. It would really be helpful if I could have all the labels show at the same time.
Good for reporting names or other key terms in media sources. While the interactive reports look terrific, senior leadership has no time to spend looking at them. I use the information to create simple PPT slides or other pages that can be printed and skimmed quickly on the way to the next meeting.
PR strategy isn’t part of my TK use.
Read Sean Ireland's full review
Harvey Henao profile photo
November 12, 2018

User Review: "Blown Away with TrendKite!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses TrendKite across the entire organization to provide a snapshot into the competitive share of voice and media landscape presence for our clients. This helps identify areas of opportunity for clients, as well as measure how effective their media communications strategies are in an executive-ready format that is easy to understand.
  • Easy-to-read graphs that show media performance over time
  • Clients love the amount of data TrendKite produces, and how easily it can be tailored to individual needs
  • TrendKite is great at producing measurable, insightful data, with the ability to hone in on a particular date and see all the coverage earned
  • Setting up dashboards could be easier from a boolean search perspective
  • I wish you could edit a report's data after you've already created it, instead of needing to start over
It is particularly well-suited for showing media competitive share of voice and performance over time. It's perhaps less suited to showing market analytic data and drawing a direct line between advertising spending and media coverage.
TrendKite has become our go-to when pitching new business and researching how the prospect measures up against their competitors, giving us a valuable leg-up.
Read Harvey Henao's full review
Susan Gold profile photo
November 02, 2018

User Review: "Trendkite for the newbie"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by a company I consult with for their marketing and PR purposes. It helps pinpoint our PR outreach and track that outreach along with adding to business development.
  • Tracking coverage
  • Completely providing all pertinent articles related to our targeted research
  • Providing the information on influencers that may help our goals
  • Clearly drawing a picture of our niche market within the industry
  • The platform is so comprehensive it is overwhelming to decipher use
  • Simple offers of help to pop up while at various portions of the platform
  • Breaking the platform down to the simplest of applications and then demonstrating the back flips and forward flips
The company I specifically recommended TrendKite for is quite small. TrendKite is almost too much of a stealth weapon for very small outlets; however, it's been tremendously helpful.
It helps us keep abreast of the industry on the whole and gives us ideas on how to devise a PR campaign because we literally can see and are completely educated to what's happening on the large scale.
Read Susan Gold's full review
Bill Fortune profile photo
November 02, 2018

User Review: "Staying on Top With TrendKite"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by the entire organization to monitor traditional and online media to maintain ensure public information is accurately disseminated and that brand is properly represented.
  • Tracking and alerting media output that might reflect on brand
  • Flexible output for reports to leadership
  • Easy to use tracking and reporting
  • Easy to customize output for my own use
  • Easy to share reports, searches and other information with communicators across the country
  • The campaign feature helps me organize media hits and that allows me to provide more accurate targeting.
  • For some reason the Newsletter feature is hidden under the Alert category but, knowing that I use it weekly to inform leadership about our media interactions
  • The search feature required a significant amount of effort to learn. Developing a plain language search method or employing AI might make it easier to use.
Tracking media output is critical for brand management. During disasters I use TrendKite for real time alerts. Likewise, TrendKite makes my life easier when it comes to tracking specific campaigns or when creating quarterly reports. Most importantly, when a negative comment is made I can respond quickly and confidently based on information I get from Trendkite.
Knowing what outlets we are reaching has helped us expand our coverage and helped us maintain a watch on our information. This is especially critical when providing public safety information. Trendkite has allowed us to recognize what outlets cover our information and those that we need to be in contact more frequently. Most importantly, it has allowed us to target specific outlets based on what that outlet likes to cover. It has strengthened our relationships.
Read Bill Fortune's full review
Ashley Collins profile photo
October 26, 2018

Review: "TrendKite: Setting you up for greatness."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, TrendKite is used by the communications and marketing department. We use it to monitor our press mentions, keyword associations, ad equivalency and make data-based decisions. We also run reports for the Board of Trustees so that they know how we are doing.
  • TrendKite has a beautiful and beautifully easy user interface.
  • Their customer services is impeccable. They respond and take action very quickly to any request.
  • Their email notification system is excellent.
  • Sometimes the various modules seem disconnected: from Influencers to Social. I know they're growing and it's exciting to see things being added. But when those features cost more, it's just hard to make management see the benefits of the cost.
  • No real mobile support. An app would be incredibly helpful.
  • Limited number of users makes it difficult to work as a team.
This is a great system to start off with and get to know PR management for a small team. A larger, more integrated team with stronger goal setting might require a stronger, more complex system.
As we create our strategy, we look at comparable share of voice of other organizations, and keywords that are associated with our brand.
Read Ashley Collins's full review
Sverrir Falur Björnsson profile photo
October 26, 2018

TrendKite Review: "A relatively happy costumer."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We monitor the coverage for the company for each month. We then put the data it provides us into Excel where we track how we're trending. I create monthly reports that I distribute to the senior staff and my co-workers. We use Spike alerts to see when other airlines are being covered. We monitor each product launch, many marketing campaigns and even some other topics related to us.
  • Very good costumer service. All problems I've had so far have been solved quickly.
  • Easy to create searches and get quite detailed overviews of what you're diving into.
  • You don't have to have a TrendKite account to enjoy the interactivity in the reports.
  • The interface is heavy and often takes a while to load completely. As well when you've loaded a list of more then 200 results the whole screen becomes sluggish and difficult to navigate
  • A lot of noise within the results. Every time we get a spike in our mentions I have to manually remove articles that are not relevant but might have a mention of us in a side link somewhere on the page.
  • More customization of the reports would be welcome. No one is interested in the reports I send because they've looked more or less identical for two years.
It is well suited for internal comparisons, for example, your own mentions between months. The results are so diluted with noise though that you have to be careful before sharing them with other people. It doesn't look good when you send out false information or measurements that are inflated by data that isn't relevant.
It doesn't shape our PR strategy much yet. We still do most things as we did before we got TrendKite but now I can then take a look at what was successful and what wasn't. We haven't used that much to steer our operations though.
Read Sverrir Falur Björnsson's full review
Kristen Heintz profile photo
October 17, 2018

Review: "Trendkite for Public Relations Agencies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite to measure earned media placements for a variety of business-to-business and nonprofit clients. The entire company has access to and uses TrendKite on a daily basis.
  • Really great for tracking earned media placements.
  • Love that it provides readership numbers, even for blogs.
  • Creates detailed, interactive reports to really demonstrate our value to clients.
  • The customer support is excellent. They are quick to help with problem through an easy-to-use chat function.
  • The Newsletters function in Alerts doesn't automatically order article placements by date (and lacks a feature that would quickly do this) so you have to manually put them into date order.
TrendKite is great for Public Relations agencies looking to demonstrate value to clients.
We haven't really used TrendKite in this way, more for just reporting, but I would be interested in learning more about this functionality.
Read Kristen Heintz's full review
Kimberly Couzens profile photo
October 04, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Strong capabilities and support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department is using TrendKite to measure our media mentions and the success of our PR campaigns. We had previously used Google Alerts and manual metrics to quantify how many articles our brand and faculty members were mentioned in on an annual basis. It also replaces a media contacts database we used previously.
  • Captures all media coverage across online outlets
  • Boolean searches are fully customizable
  • Attentive account supervisors and support team
  • The "reports" feature could be more user-friendly and easier to customize
  • Dashboard widgets could offer more options for measurement
  • I'd like to navigate to my newsletters and searches directly from my dashboard
If I proactively pitch media and secure coverage of a piece of research, book, etc, I can use TrendKite to capture all of the coverage in one place and quantify how many people it reached and how many times it was shared on social media.

If I am going to draft a proactive media pitch, I can use TrendKite's pinpoint contact feature to find the most impactful journalists to pitch.
Right now we are still conducting a competitive analysis of our brand against our peers, so I can't comment on what our strategy will be, but the analysis of the landscape is definitely helpful.
Read Kimberly Couzens's full review
Caitlin Copple Masingill profile photo
September 14, 2018

Review: "TrendKite is not your granddaddy's database, and that's a good thing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Trendkite for our creative agency, and for most of our PR clients. It's a great tool for PR monitoring, reporting, and targeting reporters and we plan to continue using it next year. I like that it has a strong digital PR and social media component to help demonstrate reach across all platforms. We have recommended it to larger clients who would benefit from having their own PR database. I also appreciate the customer service at Trendkite. Since they are a newer company, it feels like they actually care about me, and they are way more responsive than our previous solution. I also find that while their database of reporters is smaller, the contact information is actually accurate, which goes a long way in my book!
  • Customer service and responsiveness
  • Working to customize a solution within your budget
  • Media monitoring and reporting
  • A larger and more detailed reporter database.
Trendkite is useful for agencies with a smaller number of PR clients who don't already have their own PR databases. It's expensive for agencies to have many seats for multiple clients.
It helps us set reasonable goals and measure our PR success as an agency and for clients.
Read Caitlin Copple Masingill's full review
Eric Jones profile photo
August 29, 2018

User Review: "Trust TrendKite!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use TrendKite for all our reporting requirements as far as earned media is concerned. It solves the issue for us of measuring all important share of voice versus competitors; it helps us track our mentions on a week to week basis, it provides sentiment analysis, social amplification and lastly ad equivalency - all in real time. In prior roles at agencies, this type of analysis would have taken a team at least a week to pull together from disparate systems. With TrendKite - it's all available instantly and in a beautiful, visual interface.
  • Instant reporting and real-time tracking of earned media coverage.
  • The ability to customize reporting in many, many different ways - some key ones for us are share of voice, mentions, social amplification, key stories and sentiment analysis.
  • Beautiful visual reports.
  • Pinpoint Contacts is a good solution - better than other similar products on the market from Cision and Meltwater, however, with the constant shifts in reporters - there's always room for improvement in terms of contact information and which publication the reporter is currently writing for.
Well suited for earned media reporting - across nearly any scenario (SOV, mentions, ad equivalency, sentiment, social amplification) and if there's something else that you need typically their support organization will help you build a report that will get you the information you need. They recently did this for us with a report that examines PR Referral Web Traffic.
We use it to shape our PR, comms and content strategies on a near-daily basis. We've created a series of dashboard reports that examine our share of voice across a number of key areas: blog (earned media), top-tier mentions (these are articles that have 100K readership). This informs our pitching and also our content approach.
Read Eric Jones's full review
Joel Hoffmann profile photo
August 10, 2018

Review: "Increasing Share of Voice using TrendKite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have developed a product called MarkInTell which is service for companies to increase Share of Voice through Influencer Management. I operate as a small agency for smaller organizations that need to increase their voice among targeted industry consultants, writers, speakers and analysts. I treat these influencers as major accounts and track communication with them using CRM tools and a sales funnel.
  • The tool is very high quality and produces an impressive report
  • The data captured is right up to date and in real time
  • The support team is very responsive and delivers on schedule
  • The price of the service is rather high, I'd prefer an all-encompassing price model similar to how Adobe prices
  • The learning curve is a bit steep until one becomes more familiar with the terminology such as earned media and other PR expressions
I think the agency model makes a lot of sense as most enterprises will not take the time to interpret the analytics and act on them. I find companies have PR and marketing teams that focus on events and delivery of messages, but not on the audience. TrendKite will help them find a specific audience that matters.
TrendKite is best at identifying influencers that move SOV conversations beyond press releases and helps me see what messages are working. I can do an experimental campaign by testing the messages others are using and seeing how they move the needle for them. This allows developing a sharper counter approach that picks up shares.
Read Joel Hoffmann's full review
Aaron Searle profile photo
October 23, 2018

Review: "TrendKite: It does what you need it to do"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our PR team uses TrendKite to monitor media coverage in real time and generate timely media coverage reports for executives and other key stakeholders. It also helps us identify industry and competitor trends.
  • Tracks media coverage in near real time.
  • Easy to use dashboards and reports.
  • Great customer service.
  • TrendKite is starting to offer services that allow users to track actions taken based on coverage, but the platform is a little behind the curve compared to AirPR.
TrendKite is great for tracking and reporting media coverage and identifying media, industry and competitor trends.
TrendKite helps us shape our PR strategy by enabling us to to compare our coverage to that of key competitors.
Read Aaron Searle's full review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

TrendKite Review: "A good media monitoring platform which is resonable easy to use but with plenty of room for improvements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by all business units in the organization for regular media monitoring and Share of Voice vs. competitors on key topics. It’s also used in crisis situations or when we temporarily have to track specific hot topics.
  • Very good chat functionality; you can always get quick help when needed.
  • The interactive reports that can be easily shared with non-users is a good feature.
  • Easy to quickly set up a dashboard in a crisis situation or whenever time is an important factor.
  • Export functionality could be improved; ideally it should be possible to schedule automatic exports and should have more possibilities on how the output .csv file is formatted. Would be great if it was possible to export directly to .xls format to not have to deal with importing and formatting .csv files.
  • Social shares data is very unreliable and not really anything that can be used since it’s not updated automatically. It requires that you hover over each individual article to trigger an update—not feasible when you have hundreds of articles to update.
  • The Knowledge Center should be improved. A doc containing all operators that can be used in Boolean queries and how to use them would be very helpful.
Good for quickly setting up a dashboard for media monitoring in, e.g., a crisis situation. Good for YoY comparison for Share of Voice since it’s easy to choose any date range. Less appropriate for accurate media coverage in non-US and non-English countries. It feels a bit too US focused.
We use it to see how we and our main competitors are visible on key topics. This helps us identify which key topics we need to identify our PR efforts for.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

Review: "TrendKite met our needs to drop our PR firm and bring PR in-house without missing a beat."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used within the marketing organization. We're a relatively small company (40ish people) and very small marketing team (2 people). We started using TrendKite to replace a PR firm and bring PR activities in-house. It helps us track and quantify our PR coverage and impact in a meaningful way.
  • Tracking and providing alerts on media coverage in a flexible, comprehensive way.
  • Helps quantify the impact media is having on our business and provide insights on trends in that impact.
  • Helps us find the right media and influencers who are covering our space.
  • The improvements to the media lists, particularly in sharing media lists with colleagues, has been valuable, but it would be great to allow multiple people to update those shared lists, not just the person who created the list.
  • Streamline the trending reporting. Right now you have to create multiple widgets in a dashboard with different timeframes in order to see changes over time. You should be able to look at and update different timeframes for metrics in the same widget.
  • The Coverage report should allow you to adjust how many articles you see at a time. Right now it defaults to 12 and so you have to click on the next page to see another batch of 12 results.
I have already recommended TrendKite to multiple peers and other marketers. TrendKite is well suited to companies and marketing groups that are looking to streamline their PR efforts (outreach, tracking, reporting, etc), quantify those efforts, and providing an easy way to communicate to other parts of the organization the impact PR is having.
I think of TrendKite as shaping more PR tactics than strategy - for example, in enabling rapid response to media who are covering our space. With that said, we do find TrendKite has streamlined our ability to see trends in coverage topics and media covering our space, which allows us to adjust tactics accordingly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Great tool for PR measurement"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by the public relations team to monitor and analyze media coverage. We track daily media mentions with the newsletter tool and then analyze on a weekly and monthly basis. We're particularly interested in looking at volume of coverage, share of voice, competitor news, key message pull through, sentiment and SEO value. It is currently only used by the marketing team. For PR, it allows us to understand how we're positioned in the media and what messages are resonating organically.
  • TrendKite does a really great job with data visualizations and communicating numbers in an easy to understand method.
  • The platform is really user friendly and easy to use.
  • The support team at TrendKite is great, they are highly responsive - especially on chat. We're able to resolve issues quickly.
  • The ability for non-subscribers to click through the data visualizations has been great. It makes it easy to share with others and for leaders to click through and read the associated coverage.
  • The search tools don't always pick up all of the coverage or will sometimes pull in irrelevant content, which requires more clean up from our team to make sure the numbers are accurate.
  • The account teams have had a lot of turnover so it can be difficult to know who to reach out to via email.
TrendKite is great a PR measurement tool, it has lots of functionality and really focuses on helping you show the value of PR in terms of SEO, site traffic and company positioning. It works well if you want to look at metrics and quantify the role of PR. If you're interested in social media or non-traditional media sites, or print news it isn't a great tool for those things, but there may be add-on services you can purchase to collect that data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Good for Small/Quick Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by the Corporate Communications department. We use it to measure the earned media reach of the company on specific initiatives and campaigns, as well as monthly reporting.
  • Comparative analysis between similar topics
  • Setting up dashboards quickly
  • Good user interface
  • Often pulls in some irrelevant content due to the crawlers searching everything on the page, not just the content of the actual article
  • Can be slow to load when dashboards get bigger
  • Sometimes hard to toggle back and forth between widgets and overall dashboard
  • Would like for the Reports section to have better presentation. I actually prefer showing leaders the dashboard graphs themselves
It's appropriate for quick analyses.
Allows us to have a more quantitative focus when measuring results of campaigns. Will hopefully allow us to do more research pre-launch of future campaigns by examining past media coverage of similar topics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "Trendkite is flexible, intuitive, easy to use and its customer support is second to none"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by some product groups within Nokia.
  • Boolean searches for topics. Most of the tools are intuitive and effective
  • Preparing quarter end share of voice reports
  • Measure the media coverage success of specific campaigns
  • The ability to go back and do historical searches is a huge bonus
  • Being able to easily create multiple searches.
  • We sometimes pull results that are not relevant to our search. Somehow they fall through the filters.
  • Some of the tools are not intuitive.
TrendKite is well suited for Share of Voice (SoV) and for coverage as a KPI for campaigns.
Again, SOV is a key metric for all campaigns/launches. In the same vein, coverage is also a KPI for press releases, launches and events. I also search our top competitors to see what journalists are saying about them. And that helps shape the topics I pitch. TrendKite is a fundamental part of my measurement.
Read this authenticated review

About TrendKite

TrendKite is PR analytics software helping PR professionals quantify their true business impact. The vendor aims to go beyond legacy metrics such as readership, mentions and ad equivalency and provide PR professionals a concrete way to attribute their efforts to real business outcomes like brand value, web traffic, SEO, and revenue.

The TrendKite platform allows PR professionals to hone in on quality coverage with single-click filters, benchmark against competitors, and report the business impact of campaigns with beautiful interactive reports. PR pros can swifty respond to crises thanks to Spike Alerts, real-time alerts powered by artificial intelligence. And using Pinpoint Contacts, the next-generation of media contacts, PR pros can leverage a journalist discovery engine to uncover new high impact journalists.

According to the vendor, the product is used by more than 1300 clients, including brands and agencies such as Nike, Google, SXSW, Hershey's, John’s Hopkins, M&C Saatchi, and Mondelez.


TrendKite Features

Has featureTraffic, leads, and revenue from PR (via Google Analytics & Adobe Analytics integrations)
Has featurePR campaign measurement
Has featureSocial sharing of earned media
Has featureReadership (unique visitors per month)
Has featureShare of voice
Has featureTotal quality mentions
Has featureRegional mentions
Has featureKey message pull through
Has featureSentiment
Has featureInteractive drill-down dashboards
Has featureUnlimited dashboards & searches
Has featureOnline publication & blog monotiring
Has featureBroadcast & radio monitoring
Has featurePrint monitoring
Has featureLicensed content & paywall acess
Has featureSingle-click interactive reports
Has featureTailored daily digest emails
Has featureWeekly news snapshot emails
Has featureCurated PR newsletter
Has featureEnterprise onboarding & training
Has featureStrategy sessions with Customer Success Managers
Has featureBest practices enablement (content)
Has featureIn-app chat with >1 min response time
Has featureSEO impact of PR (Domain Authority of Publications)
Has featurePinpoint Contacts (media contact database)
Has featureSpike Alerts that detect anomalous spikes in coverage (powered by AI)

TrendKite Screenshots

TrendKite Videos (3)

Quick TrendKite Overview Video

Watch Quick Demo Video of TrendKite PR Newsletter

Watch Video of Pinpoint Contacts, TrendKite's next generation media contacts solution

TrendKite Downloadables

TrendKite Integrations

Google Analytics, Moz, Adobe Analytics, BurrellesLuce, TVEyes, NewsEdge

TrendKite Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

TrendKite Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TrendKite Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Chinese, German, Korean, French, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Vietnamese, Dutch, Bahasa, Indonesian, Czech, Russian, Hebrew, Polish, Romanian, Macedonian, Turkish, Arabic, Ukrainian, Greek, Croatian, Norwegian, Swedish, Estonian, Tagalog, Hungarian, Hindi, Bulgarian, Danish, Tamil, Afrikaans, Slovenian, Slovak, Finnish, Gujarati, Lithuanian, Swahili, Thai, Somali, Latvian, Nepali, Bengali, Marathi, Persian