TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/d7/Fw/0RW1ZGH1JU3A.JPEGI love TrendKite but I'm afraid of what will happen following the merger with CisionWe use TrendKite as a media-monitoring tool to create daily newsletters for clients and business associates. We also use the platform to track earned media on campaigns and press releases and to create reports for clients showing results. Finally, we use TrendKite to monitor media for reputational management and crisis communications purposes.,TrendKite does a great job at monitoring media worldwide — as long as you create effectively Boolean logic strings. TrendKite's interactive reports look great and are easy to understand for clients. TrendKite's widgets enable me to create reports that provide share of voice comparisons between my clients and their competitors.,Training/explanation of how to set up effective Boolean search strings could be better. The online help chat function is great, but I feel like too often the help staff are focused on solving the problem and not explaining the solution, so could avoid a similar situation in the future. I don't feel like my account representative is engaged with me to ensure that I am using TK to its full extent. I don't feel like I've received sufficient training to use the UnionMetrics functions to their full effect.,10,It enables us to report on earned media to our clients.,7,We don't really use TK for strategic purposes.,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform,4,1,Results reporting for individual press releases, ongoing campaigns and annual reports Content capture for newsletters Crisis and reputation issues management through media monitoring,Competitive comparison of media coverage among cruise line brands Media research on competitors Media research on prospective clients to help create effective pitches.,As the platform continues to develop, I'm sure new uses will become apparent As the integration with UnionMetrics improves I expect we'll be able to better use social media measurement along with earned-media assessments,7,The primary ROI we've achieved from TrendKite is in the form of client trust. Our clients have come to rely on the quality and speed with which we can produce reliable and useful reports that help them assess the effectiveness of their communications.,Yes,Product Features Product Usability,CustomScoop, Agility PR Solutions, GroupHigh,I wouldn't change a thing. I felt we were rigorous in evaluating TrendKite and did our due diligence is speaking to current users.TrendKite for a Global Software CompanyTrendkite is being used on a daily basis for Alerts on when our company appears in the news, as well as for internal reporting, since TrenKite is connected to our website and website traffic. Next step should be to 'link' it up to our social Media platforms, so that our reporting is even more complete.,Best thing is not actually the platform or Trendkite, but the people behind it. They are available it seems ALL THE TIME, so if you forget how to quickly retrieve something it is very easy to get in contact with any of the customer service people and they all seem to have the same high level of experience and knowledge with the platform. Interface usability - has the essentials and doesn't really let you get lost. There's room for improvement, of course, but all in all it's very straight forward. Being able to see the geographical scale of the news, by importance and geographical areas. That notion and vision is very important for ANY business that sells beyond borders. Limitless reports, to fit your every stake and shareholder needs - that can be replicated just by changing the dates - so you don't have to do a new one each time.,Specific Stake and Shareholder summary reporting examples: TrendKite has a lot of data and many times the question is more 'how to present' the data than the data itself. For that, it would be great (especially for professionals with fewer years of experience) to have some guidelines. For instance, if by answering 3-5 questions, like what is the main point you want to make of this report, who is your audience, etc, a report example would be suggested :-) USER INTERFACE: has room for improvement, graphically and also when it comes to getting quick queries answered 'in your palm', through a mobile app, for instance, instead of always having to login through your computer.,10,Quantification of our public and press relations has been from zero, none, NADA, to much. So 100% there! Realise than when efforts are low in therms of putting news and activity 'out there' that directly and negatively impacts our presence and website activity. Transparency in results - which is very difficult to do unless you work in Finance or Sales.,10,This point of how we use Trendkite to shape our messaging to the market has had less impact in our case. I think this really depends on the company and the organisational setup and behaviours. In terms of strategy itself, I think it will influence highly as we get into the marketing and PR strategy, after completion of a year of TrendKite (we are a couple of months still away).,Yay, TrendKite!We are using TrendKite to monitor our own, and our clients', PR impact. Having previously used a number of different platforms to generate valuable insights and showcase the results of our work, TrendKite is plugging the gap by bringing all of those analytics under one easy-to-use platform.,The dashboard - really straight forward to use, easy to explain to new starters how to use it and also switch around for clients depending on what campaigns / time frame you're monitoring The shareability - it's great to give clients an interactive report for them to go into themselves and click through to individual pieces of coverage The chat bot - always a quick, helpful response which is especially handy for us as we're in the UK and it's a US platform so when starting out our contact wasn't always available The share of voice tool - very accurate and good to be able to add a number of different charts to monitor different sectors / offerings,Integration with Google Analytics - this isn't always showing the most accurate results and it's not explained as well as the other widgets. Print coverage - it would be useful to have a manual way of adding in print coverage so we can evaluate all coverage on one dashboard. UK regional breakdown - there is a good breakdown for hotspots in US but not for UK regions.,9,For a recent campaign where a UK based client was launching into US markets, we were able to show how shares of voice in the US had increased significantly as a result of the PR efforts By splitting campaigns up by sector, we were able to show a significant increase in coverage and reach through targeted coverage We were able to show the direct impact of PR on sales through website conversions driven by PR traffic,9,We use TrendKite for new business purposes - it gives a real advantage to be able to check out a prospects competitors and how they are performing against them. It also allows us to do that competitor analysis for ourselves to benchmark against other PR agenciesA great tool fitted for any size of organisationWe use TrendKite to monitor our clients' press coverage in South-East Asia. It has proved a very user-friendly tool, with good ergonomics that also allows us to extract information in a convenient and elegant way. It facilitates sharing this information with our clients. We're very happy with the tool and learn more about it everyday. It's being used by our account servicing and project management departments in SEA only for the moment.,Centralise PR data in an efficient, consistent and user-friendly way Export this data in an easy, visually appealing, and professional manner into reports that can very quickly be integrated into agency decks Inform our clients in real time of their press coverage in an EDM form with the relevant metrics,Increase coverage of regional social platforms such as Line, WeChat, Weibo, etc. Easier to collect and treat data in foreign language Potentially - but not a priority - a more user-friendly way to write the code required to set-up a search,9,Helped us step-up our game in terms of monitoring, reducing "human" error or information-miss-out due to manual monitoring. The automation allowed by TrendKite also resulted in a gain in efficiency for the internal stakeholders. Eventually, we were able to show a lot more precise data and professionalism towards our clients.,9,We tend to use TrendKite more to address our clients needs rather than for our own organisation, but that's something we should look into in the future. But it's a decision I have no influence upon. Overall and as far as PR is concerned, TrendKite really helped to professionalize this part of our activity and digitalize it too.TrendKite soars!We are using TrendKite across our organization. Primary users are those working directly with clients to track news and show value added for our public relations efforts. As far as business problems it addresses, we feel that TrendKite is allowing us to show clients the bigger picture when it comes to how PR is affecting their bottom line, including web traffic, competitor analysis and share of voice. It is also helping our team when it comes to crafting better pitches and understanding what coverage is getting more traction and why.,News tracking. Competitive analysis. Social tracking. Influencer identification.,Pinpoint contacts. Dashboard set up can be tricky.,8,It's been valuable in terms of tracking coverage and showing us what kind of impact that coverage has that can be conveyed to the client. It's valuable for analyzing competitors and share of voice over time so we can convey to the client areas where they are excelling and areas where they may need improvement. I think it's also been helpful when it comes to developing PR strategy for teams.,9,We haven't used it too much for strategy yet, but I can see it working over time to improve our pitching -- helping us to identify what worked and what didn't.,Cision PR Software
Unspecified
TrendKite
191 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TrendKite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TrendKite
191 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 191 vetted TrendKite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 127)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Buck Banks profile photo
March 08, 2019

Review: "I love TrendKite but I'm afraid of what will happen following the merger with Cision"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite as a media-monitoring tool to create daily newsletters for clients and business associates. We also use the platform to track earned media on campaigns and press releases and to create reports for clients showing results. Finally, we use TrendKite to monitor media for reputational management and crisis communications purposes.
  • TrendKite does a great job at monitoring media worldwide — as long as you create effectively Boolean logic strings.
  • TrendKite's interactive reports look great and are easy to understand for clients.
  • TrendKite's widgets enable me to create reports that provide share of voice comparisons between my clients and their competitors.
  • Training/explanation of how to set up effective Boolean search strings could be better.
  • The online help chat function is great, but I feel like too often the help staff are focused on solving the problem and not explaining the solution, so could avoid a similar situation in the future.
  • I don't feel like my account representative is engaged with me to ensure that I am using TK to its full extent.
  • I don't feel like I've received sufficient training to use the UnionMetrics functions to their full effect.
TK is a great tool for public relations media monitoring and reporting. I have not used it for other applications. The integration of the Union Metrics results into the reports seems unfinished and not very useful at this time.
We don't really use TK for strategic purposes.
Read Buck Banks's full review
🔷 Inez Corrêa de Sá profile photo
February 26, 2019

Review: "TrendKite for a Global Software Company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trendkite is being used on a daily basis for Alerts on when our company appears in the news, as well as for internal reporting, since TrenKite is connected to our website and website traffic. Next step should be to 'link' it up to our social Media platforms, so that our reporting is even more complete.
  • Best thing is not actually the platform or Trendkite, but the people behind it. They are available it seems ALL THE TIME, so if you forget how to quickly retrieve something it is very easy to get in contact with any of the customer service people and they all seem to have the same high level of experience and knowledge with the platform.
  • Interface usability - has the essentials and doesn't really let you get lost. There's room for improvement, of course, but all in all it's very straight forward.
  • Being able to see the geographical scale of the news, by importance and geographical areas. That notion and vision is very important for ANY business that sells beyond borders.
  • Limitless reports, to fit your every stake and shareholder needs - that can be replicated just by changing the dates - so you don't have to do a new one each time.
  • Specific Stake and Shareholder summary reporting examples: TrendKite has a lot of data and many times the question is more 'how to present' the data than the data itself. For that, it would be great (especially for professionals with fewer years of experience) to have some guidelines. For instance, if by answering 3-5 questions, like what is the main point you want to make of this report, who is your audience, etc, a report example would be suggested :-)
  • USER INTERFACE: has room for improvement, graphically and also when it comes to getting quick queries answered 'in your palm', through a mobile app, for instance, instead of always having to login through your computer.
Any business that prides itself in building, maintaining and growing its knowledge in the market, brand and reputation should look into TrendKite. Any business needs to look at market trends and movements as well - TrendKite is key for that, also in the cases where you are a company that is involved (actively or passively) in mergers and / or acquisitions, new business streams, unprecedented opportunities.
This point of how we use Trendkite to shape our messaging to the market has had less impact in our case. I think this really depends on the company and the organisational setup and behaviours. In terms of strategy itself, I think it will influence highly as we get into the marketing and PR strategy, after completion of a year of TrendKite (we are a couple of months still away).
Read 🔷 Inez Corrêa de Sá's full review
Amy Cantrill profile photo
February 26, 2019

User Review: "Yay, TrendKite!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TrendKite to monitor our own, and our clients', PR impact. Having previously used a number of different platforms to generate valuable insights and showcase the results of our work, TrendKite is plugging the gap by bringing all of those analytics under one easy-to-use platform.
  • The dashboard - really straight forward to use, easy to explain to new starters how to use it and also switch around for clients depending on what campaigns / time frame you're monitoring
  • The shareability - it's great to give clients an interactive report for them to go into themselves and click through to individual pieces of coverage
  • The chat bot - always a quick, helpful response which is especially handy for us as we're in the UK and it's a US platform so when starting out our contact wasn't always available
  • The share of voice tool - very accurate and good to be able to add a number of different charts to monitor different sectors / offerings
  • Integration with Google Analytics - this isn't always showing the most accurate results and it's not explained as well as the other widgets.
  • Print coverage - it would be useful to have a manual way of adding in print coverage so we can evaluate all coverage on one dashboard.
  • UK regional breakdown - there is a good breakdown for hotspots in US but not for UK regions.
Great for growing PR agencies or companies looking to measure themselves against competitors. Good for campaign measurement / specific messaging or KPIs. Useful for agencies with clients who are very hands-on with the report and want to view analytics for themselves. It looks slick so a good way to impress clients with good, global PR tools.
We use TrendKite for new business purposes - it gives a real advantage to be able to check out a prospects competitors and how they are performing against them. It also allows us to do that competitor analysis for ourselves to benchmark against other PR agencies
Read Amy Cantrill's full review
Romain Lachevre profile photo
February 14, 2019

TrendKite Review: "A great tool fitted for any size of organisation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite to monitor our clients' press coverage in South-East Asia. It has proved a very user-friendly tool, with good ergonomics that also allows us to extract information in a convenient and elegant way. It facilitates sharing this information with our clients. We're very happy with the tool and learn more about it everyday. It's being used by our account servicing and project management departments in SEA only for the moment.
  • Centralise PR data in an efficient, consistent and user-friendly way
  • Export this data in an easy, visually appealing, and professional manner into reports that can very quickly be integrated into agency decks
  • Inform our clients in real time of their press coverage in an EDM form with the relevant metrics
  • Increase coverage of regional social platforms such as Line, WeChat, Weibo, etc.
  • Easier to collect and treat data in foreign language
  • Potentially - but not a priority - a more user-friendly way to write the code required to set-up a search
Well suited for projects with high coverage either in terms of titles covering or size of the company/subject being covered. Very useful when and where you need to collect a vast amount of data quickly and efficiently. Less appropriate, yet still satisfying, for more tailor-made/niche projects where the specificities of titles or platform targeted will not work as best as it could.
We tend to use TrendKite more to address our clients needs rather than for our own organisation, but that's something we should look into in the future. But it's a decision I have no influence upon. Overall and as far as PR is concerned, TrendKite really helped to professionalize this part of our activity and digitalize it too.
Read Romain Lachevre's full review
Katie Gallagher profile photo
March 09, 2019

User Review: "TrendKite soars!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TrendKite across our organization. Primary users are those working directly with clients to track news and show value added for our public relations efforts. As far as business problems it addresses, we feel that TrendKite is allowing us to show clients the bigger picture when it comes to how PR is affecting their bottom line, including web traffic, competitor analysis and share of voice. It is also helping our team when it comes to crafting better pitches and understanding what coverage is getting more traction and why.
  • News tracking.
  • Competitive analysis.
  • Social tracking.
  • Influencer identification.
  • Pinpoint contacts.
  • Dashboard set up can be tricky.
I do think it works better with larger companies, where you have more resources and time to spend on training and using the tools. For us, it does a good job tracking news, and reports can be produced fairly easily. However, there does need to be some manual labor used to tweak reports and build accurate dashboards. Overall, it does give us a value add for both our team and clients.
We haven't used it too much for strategy yet, but I can see it working over time to improve our pitching -- helping us to identify what worked and what didn't.
Read Katie Gallagher's full review
DeAira Anderson profile photo
March 09, 2019

Review: "TrendKite: Great Tool for Coverage Tracking"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses TrendKite as a media monitoring/reporting tool. We use it daily to build news scans to share with clients, and quarterly when we are building our 3-month dashboard. We use the searches to build reports that show the share of voice, how our key messages pull through, and general numbers of coverage.
  • TrendKite does a good job of providing various tools to measure your clients' media presence.
  • TrendKite employees are great at helping whenever you need them.
  • TrendKite's filters are great!
  • Some of the searches pull irrelevant coverage, no matter how many filters you apply.
  • TrendKite has an issue with recognizing scrolling webpages as separate pages, marking the same piece of coverage hundreds of times.
  • Some of the filters are not all-encompassing, like the Market Reports filter still allows some market reports, for example.
TrendKite is well suited in coverage monitoring and providing various widgets to help further analyze said coverage. An example of this is when I'm cross-referencing TrendKite with a simple google search for an organic milk client, I can see articles and syndication that google search engines omit due to duplication.
TrendKite helps inform our PR strategy by helping us monitor for competitor coverage. By having the ability to compare searches for competitor coverage to my client's, it allows us to see how well we are doing and pivot accordingly. Share of Voice is also a great tool to help us determine if we need to alter our program.
Read DeAira Anderson's full review
Jorge Altamirano profile photo
March 04, 2019

Review: "TrendKite helps me create a real newsletter that is more attractive to my readers while making it easier for them to follow and follow up."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use TrenKite in the creation of our newsletter. It's used both internally and externally with our donors and other prospects. I'm currently the only user at our organization but we hope to use it more widely within our marketing and communications department in the future in studying trends related to other foundations and non-profits.
  • TrendKite is good at identifying articles related to my organization, including issues we address and people related to those issues.
  • TrendKite groups articles into categories which allow me to easily compose our Newsletter and group related articles together for the people who read it.
  • I had a conference call with TrendKite staff and they created dashboards for me to query on the different articles I want to include in my newsletter. It makes the process a lot easier easier.
  • I would like for my dashboards to include articles by specific publications that I included in my newsletter before I started using TrendKite.
  • I would like to be able to somehow exclude articles I've used in past newsletters. I don't always remember them and need to go back to past newsletters to make sure I don't include past articles.
  • I would like to exclude articles from the last newsletter I sent without manually removing all the tags.
I currently only use TrendKite in composing my newsletter and feel it's well suited for that purpose because of the query function through dashboards and also because of how it groups articles together. I feel it is limited when it comes to specific publications. But I feel that working closely with TrendKite staff will help me figure out a solution to what may be limiting the process.
I use TrendKite to identify articles related to our organization, which is very much the interest of our donors and prospective donors. Development, Program and Communications and Marketing staff share the information with our constituents in ways that help them be better in their daily lives in and out of the office.
Read Jorge Altamirano's full review
Dominique Taylor profile photo
November 08, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite is helpful, but not perfect"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by the PR department, and the some of the data from TrendKite is also viewed by our C-suite. Regarding PR, we use it to see which media outlets write about us the most, what topics are most popular, how many people visit Bulletproof.com and the Bulletproof blog after reading a article about us, and much more. After the PR department analyzes this data, we then draft insights about what the PR department is doing right/wrong depending on how the data fluctuates from month-to-month. We also use this data to determine what topics we will pitch out to media depending on which ones TrendKite shows as most popular.

We show some TrendKite data to our C-suite so they know how effective the PR department is with its efforts.
  • TrendKite does a great job of presenting the data in a digestible format. I enjoy evaluating the bar graphics and other table formats.
  • TrendKite does a great job of providing all the information one would need to evaluate the efficacy of an organizations PR efforts.
  • TrendKite's customer service help is AMAZING. They are so helpful and will go above and beyond to solve a problem.
  • Unfortunately, TrendKite is very slow at times, sometimes hard to navigate and buggy. This is extremely frustrating and compromises user experience.
  • I feel like TrendKite's search option is hard to use and makes it more difficult than it should be to find an article that you want to locate. Also, a lot of the time an article that I want to locate won't even pop up in Trendkite. I have to ask the customer service representatives to manually add it. It would be okay if this was a rare occurrence, but it happens on a weekly basis.
  • TrendKite provides great data, but I find that it changes occasionally. For example, sometimes social shares for a month will change even when that month has passed! I could view June social shares on two different dates during the month of July, and the June social shares could be slightly different each time I view it. I don't understand how that can happen I'm viewing total shares during the month of July and the month of June has already passed.
TrendKite is well-suited for analyzing broad, over-arching metrics of PR efficacy. It allows PR professionals to use data to quantify their worth to C-suite professionals who may be skeptical of the need of PR. It allows us to come off polished and really show how our efforts benefit the company. However, I wish it was easier to find articles that mention the brand without having to scroll through total mentions. Also, the search option is difficult to use.
It helps quite a bit. We can research which topics our competitors are focusing on and how that compares to our strategy. We've used Trendkite to analyze what is working and what is not working. We can determine which activations garner the most coverage and formulate future plans to replicate those that were most successful.
Read Dominique Taylor's full review
Paul McGuinness profile photo
February 27, 2019

TrendKite Review: "Great team service & fantastic platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TrendKite in the marketing department to track our PR activity. It gives us a central place to view all our activity and give us a global picture of results over time.
  • The dashboards functionality are really visual and useful to use
  • The onboarding customer experience and account management from TrendKite was super friendly and efficient
  • The ability to quickly create custom reports is fantastic
  • I'd like to easily drill down into one athlete or social influencers impact on PR and social media over time
  • Our product has very specific search terms and it took some time to get our search queries working perfectly and removing the irrelevant mentions
  • I'd like to be able to monitor community user comments and feedback to view in one place and see if there are comments we need to respond to in a proactive way
  • I'd like to be able to harvest contacts when people speak positively about our brand or products on PR or social media to reach out to them proactively to enter our sales funnel
Great tool for PR tracking and has good social integration. I wish I had more time to spend on the platform to really maximise the benefits.
It helps us research our brand performance, competitor activity, and industry coverage to create a strategy for messaging, positioning and targeting.
Read Paul McGuinness's full review
Freek Wilkes profile photo
February 27, 2019

Review: "TrendKite helps us to better understand the media landscape."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite helped us to discover our main traffic generators, initiated by PR content. I am using this software to create a bridge between PR and MarCom. We were able to show the value of PR to our MarCom colleagues.
  • The customer care and help functions inside the TrendKite dashboard works really well. We normally receive answers within minutes.
  • Requests for new dashboards and updates are entered a few days after asking.
  • Sidelink content was the main issue we faced when creating useful dashboards.
  • The PR attribution part is not 99% accurate.
TrendKite is well suited for discovering your main PR partners. TrendKite is, in my opinion, not distinctive in its monitoring functionality. The reason we chose TrendKite as our monitoring and intelligence partner is because of the PR attribution.
The monitoring part is not what differs from its competitors. PR attribution is the USP of TrendKite's software. Our PR department will look different within a few years, partly because of TrendKite's insights.
Read Freek Wilkes's full review
Katrin Weissenborn profile photo
February 27, 2019

TrendKite Review: "Cutting-edge analytics for data-driven PR professionals"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite helps us to understand what the world is saying about our brands. With a portfolio of several well-known travel brands in over 40 countries, it used to be a challenge to keep track of all PR coverage and at the same time not miss out on what are the hot topics the travel industry is talking about.
  • TrendKite quantifies our PR impact and helps the team to optimize the PR strategy.
  • TrendKite analytics are the data basis to strategically shape our SEO-friendly PR approach.
  • TrendKite allows us to easily get an overview of what other travel brands are doing.
  • TrendKite is very strong in detecting coverage for our brands that operate in the English-speaking market, but it struggles with other languages e.g. Spanish.
  • TrendKite also does not always get the international media right. So sometimes coverage is missing or top media is categorized as a blog (which we filter out by default).
If the dashboards and searches are properly set up, you should find it easy to create nice reports that are easy to understand and updated automatically. However, if your brand name is an actual word in the local language, it takes a lot of time to remove articles, but this is a general problem of these kinds of tools.
We optimize our PR strategy based on TrendKite reports: what articles land on media that is beneficial for SEO, what kind of stories drive traffic to our site, what kind of coverage positions us as industry experts, what hot topics are there currently in the industry that we might not be covering etc.
Read Katrin Weissenborn's full review
Paul Doyle profile photo
February 26, 2019

TrendKite Review: "Great for earned media monitoring and insights!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite to monitor earned media for our clients or to gather intelligence to serve as the foundation for strategic recommendations for clients and prospective clients. We are a communications agency of about 20-25 practitioners, about 60% of which use TrendKite regularly.
  • Provides us insight into the reporters and/or media outlets that have the most impact.
  • Gives us a great sense of the geographical spread our clients are seeing with earned media coverage.
  • Allows us to pull out key messages from earned media coverage to ensure that our spokespersons are effectively delivering said key messages via media interviews and other communications.
  • Social media tracking
  • Pulling in all coverage/not missing key articles
Great for earned media tracking and reporting out findings to clients or internally.
Given the platform's ability to customize dashboards, dive into data provided via various unique widgets, we really rely on the data as a validator or proof point to the strategies we recommend to our clients.
Read Paul Doyle's full review
Chuck Sullivan profile photo
October 26, 2018

Review: "TrendKite - the best media monitoring platform for us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite for two primary functions: as a daily aggregation of relevant news items about our organization and its affiliates that we can cull and share with senior leadership; and to track the scope and effectiveness of specific marketing and branding campaigns across the earned media landscape. It is used only by our communications/external relations department.
  • The ability to easily define and refine specific search parameters allows us to access the stories and mentions that are most relevant to us
  • The Dashboard platform allows us to get a wide view of a campaign's effectiveness while providing access to more detailed analysis with one click
  • The daily email reports we receive are invaluable to monitoring our mentions. It is particularly helpful to be able to customize those reports based on frequency and to isolate mentions in top-tier publications
  • At times, getting a deep dive on a particular type of search (e.g., comparisons with competitors) can be a chore to set up manually. However, I am comfortable that TrendKite's staff support is always available to assist.
In our situation, we have a general idea of where our external media mentions will appear - so our needs are not necessarily the same as those of a corporate client looking to track the scope of a new marketing initiative. The value for us is that TrendKite is able to collect our mentions in a refined and efficient manner, saving our staff countless hours.
We use TrendKite regularly to reinforce claims that we make as part of our overall PR strategy. A large part of our strategy hinges on demonstrating favorable comparisons with peer organizations - and TrendKite equips us with the data to support those claims. It gives credibility to our existing strategy and allows us to back our reasoning with relevant external data.
Read Chuck Sullivan's full review
Taryn Tawoda profile photo
October 26, 2018

TrendKite: "Accurate, comprehensive, and integrated analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it within the media relations team to gauge Kellogg's share of voice in top tier business media, compared to our 6 competitors. This includes any time the school is profiled, any time our faculty are quoted, etc -- essentially any time where our name is mentioned compared to competitors' names. We obviously weed out press releases, obituaries, job announcements, etc.

We are also using it to slice and dice how many times our name is mentioned in conjunction with priority topics for the organization (e.g., healthcare, artificial intelligence, etc.). And we are comparing that with our peers to see who has the most significant reputation aligned with a specific topic.

Finally, we are collaborating with our donor relations team to set up TrendKite alerts for every time a prospective donor is mentioned in the news. This will allow the gift officers to ping the prospect with a congratulatory note, providing a nice touchpoint and relationship-builder.
  • Accuracy of media monitoring. We had significant accuracy issues with our prior vendor, Cision, which frequently missed clips and then required a laborious customer service process to attempt to reprogram our searches to recover those clips. We haven't run into this issue with TrendKite.
  • Responsiveness of customer service. We have a dedicated rep who always replies to communications quickly with helpful answers or tutorials.
  • Ease of use. We can easily create multiple dashboards and add/remove widgets, date ranges, topics, etc. This type of thing would have taken forever and required numerous special project tickets via Cision.
  • Onboarding experience. Very helpful to essentially get us playing around in TrendKite from the start.
  • It will be a tremendous value add if your monitoring capabilities can start scraping not only the text of an article, but also the byline (aka, who wrote the article). This would enable us to track op-eds that are written by Kellogg faculty. (Conducting an author search as a workaround does not work -- we need to be able to monitor for the term "Kellogg School" as part of the byline of an article.) This would be a significant value add for our company if this feature was added.
  • It would be helpful if you had industry-specific reps who might be able to walk us through a few suggested use cases for the platform, as part of the onboarding phase, to ensure we're really optimizing how we work with TrendKite. This could include an education rep who has seen other schools use the platform to do X, Y and Z.
Share of Voice is a significant metric for our media and reputation team -- both enterprise-wide, and topic-specific. Anything related to Share of Voice can easily be measured and analyzed by TrendKite. I'm not sure about use cases where it is less ideal, as our work within TrendKite has primarily focused on Share of Voice measurement so far.
It helps us understand where and how our competitors are being covered in the media, and in which media outlets and by which journalists. We can then start pitching those same journalists because we know, based on TrendKite data, that they like to interview other business school faculty as sources.
Read Taryn Tawoda's full review
David Scott profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Let's go fly a TrendKite"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TrendKite as our primary PR monitoring software. It addresses three key problems I face in my day-to-day role as a PR professional:
  • Discovering the blogs and news sites where our brand and products are mentioned
  • Understanding the impact of these mentions to our business
  • Providing an easy-to-use reporting tool to share results based off these mentions
  • Reporting: the interactive reports you can generate via TrendKite's home dashboard are easy to manipulate, a breeze to share and look terrific.
  • Evolving: I've been impressed with how the company has grown and evolved in the last two years, adding valuable products and services such as contact lists, landing page designs, social listening etc.
  • Data-lead: as someone who works in a business that prides itself on being data focussed, having my PR monitoring solution move easily in this world has been a big plus.
  • It's not the most intuitive UI - cluttered and sometimes confusing - so you'll need to be patient to wrap your head around its navigation and labelling.
  • You'll need to be good at boolean searches - or at least, have a grasp of how they work - to get the most out of the TrendKite dashboards. If not, you will be extra reliant on your account manager to get you going and keep your searches on track.
  • A minor quibble, but as an overseas customer (Australia), my access to the semi-regular webinars is very limited, as they are often run in a US-focussed time zone.
TrendKite has excelled for us precisely because its outputs and focus is on the data, which is synced with how the rest of our business and analytics teams like to operate. That it can be plugged into GA is also a big positive.

It would be less appropriate for an organisation with a low-yield of media mentions, or one that prioritises qualitative analysis over quantitative.
TrendKite has shaped the development and execution of our PR strategy in a number of ways, including:
  • allowing us to more easily benchmark our PR outcomes versus key competitors, across different industries
  • provided a more robust understanding of the impact of various publications, giving us a chance to better assess the likely outcome and reach of each pitch
  • given us greater insights into the international footprint of our mentions, enabling better targeting or PR outreach programs
  • helped surface and highlight customer success stories
Read David Scott's full review
Janice Woods profile photo
October 26, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Doing ok, room for improvement! Just like my hair!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its used to help our clients see how their PR has been received in the market, where and when it was used and the resulting audience we reached.
  • Its fairly comprehensive, love the dashboard.
  • Its easy to use, and easy to follow
  • The issues have been on the backend. There have been many issues with the results not being appropriate for the client. Its not been entirely "bankable". In other words, the results are somewhat questionable.
  • The people I have worked with are nice, but I don't believe that they have understood what the issues have been.
  • The accounting department has been a mess... missing my payments, issuing invoices 6 months late, just a mess.
I would recommend this to someone who has a cut and dry company that they want to measure. Its not really well suited to my clients. And its expensive for following print, broadcast and social.
Ordinarily I would have used this as a tool to show clients what worked and what wasn't working. But it just didn't get that far. Its been challenging to get information that was really helpful. I think that the value portion of the dashboard was great to show the overall benefit...as that is a tangible result.
Read Janice Woods's full review
Lauren Russ, CMP profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "TrendKite is the Right Choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TrendKite for client alerts and searches, monitoring and listening, and reporting. Each account person leverages TrendKite for their accounts. We specifically like the key message analysis, share of voice comparison against the competition or other brands within an organization, and social amplification. We also use the SEO score and like it's integrated with MOZ. It makes monitoring media coverage easier, pulling client results easier and really differentiates us from the competition when going after new business or helping guide clients with data-driven decisions.
  • Customer Service
  • Adding in new features
  • The platform is easy to use
  • Customization of reports
  • Not all placements are picked up or a lot of times the wrong placements are included.
  • Although you can add in placements/coverage - it does not always end up in your report.
  • If you want wire coverage (e.g. - PRNewswire, PRWeb, Businesswire) it won't capture the coverage if it is behind a firewall or taken off the site so you need to capture a report the day it runs or it skews the results if you are creating monthly reports.
TrendKite is great if you are looking for one place to set alerts, monitor coverage and pull results reports.
We use TrendKite for new business research, key message analysis looking at brand messages, keywords, competitive messaging and competitive keywords. We also use TrendKite to monitor competitors and their coverage. We also use the key message analysis to help us update messaging.
Read Lauren Russ, CMP's full review
Dan Howard profile photo
October 18, 2018

TrendKite Review: "A Slick and Sophisticated System"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by the Communications Department in order to provide monthly reporting on the destination's media presence. It enables the Board of Directors to quickly discern the brand's performance against stated objectives and to compare share of voice against our competitive set on a monthly basis. It provides earned media values so that the community recognizes the cost that would have been expended to achieve the media coverage generated.
  • Clear reports make it easy for any reader to recognize performance.
  • Story angle tracking enables the organization to track success against very specific campaigns.
  • Share of voice tools let the community know how successful the team has been versus main competitors tasked with the same objectives.
  • Search functions (for specific articles) are not straightforward.
  • Ad equivalency can be better measured - I believe it is currently being overstated and I am having to compensate by hand to deliver what I consider to be accurate results.
  • We still have a second tracking system in place because TrendKite doesn't cover every form of media we require to be reported.
When we launch a marketing campaign, TrendKite is well suited to track the success of the campaign by tracking global media outlets and reporting where the campaign has been published. If I were seeking out a specific article, I would have more difficulty searching it in TrendKite versus other platforms. It really is about the trend of the conversation in general and that is valuable for us.
Because TrendKite is all about industry trends, we are able to track how we perform in specific, strategic messaging versus our competitors to know whether we are investing in the messages that have the ability to resonate with audiences. We would like to think our messages are being heard, but TrendKite takes away the guess work and gives us hard numbers to share. Public Relations has too often been viewed as nebulous but there is nothing 'fuzzy' about the numbers that TrendKite allows us to share in terms of public consumption of our brand messaging.
Read Dan Howard's full review
Bill Fortune profile photo
January 30, 2019

User Review: "Staying on Top With TrendKite"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is used by the entire organization to monitor traditional and online media to maintain ensure public information is accurately disseminated and that brand is properly represented.
  • Tracking and alerting media output that might reflect on brand
  • Flexible output for reports to leadership
  • Easy to use tracking and reporting
  • Easy to customize output for my own use
  • Easy to share reports, searches and other information with communicators across the country
  • The campaign feature helps me organize media hits and that allows me to provide more accurate targeting.
  • For some reason the Newsletter feature is hidden under the Alert category but, knowing that I use it weekly to inform leadership about our media interactions
  • The search feature required a significant amount of effort to learn. Developing a plain language search method or employing AI might make it easier to use.
Tracking media output is critical for brand management. During disasters I use TrendKite for real time alerts. Likewise, TrendKite makes my life easier when it comes to tracking specific campaigns or when creating quarterly reports. Most importantly, when a negative comment is made I can respond quickly and confidently based on information I get from Trendkite.
Knowing what outlets we are reaching has helped us expand our coverage and helped us maintain a watch on our information. This is especially critical when providing public safety information. Trendkite has allowed us to recognize what outlets cover our information and those that we need to be in contact more frequently. Most importantly, it has allowed us to target specific outlets based on what that outlet likes to cover. It has strengthened our relationships.
Read Bill Fortune's full review
Kimberly Denman profile photo
December 22, 2018

TrendKite Review: "Pleased with the Platform and Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Trendkite to gather data from our PR efforts for multiple home service brands. We use it to analyze message pull through, impressions, comparison to competitors, and more.
  • Customer service
  • Training
  • Understanding of needs and requests
  • Comprehensive site filled with a database chock full of valuable data at our fingertips
  • Need to clean up some of the reports to remove unnecessary data
  • Ability to create widgets more easily on our own would be nice but they are great at creating them for us
Excellent measurement and comparison tool for PR, social media and keywords.
We enjoy having the capability to compare our brands to competitors and see how our PR efforts measure up to others.
Read Kimberly Denman's full review
Eva Egbert, PhD. profile photo
March 11, 2019

TrendKite Review: "Excellent tool to monitor and evaluate your PR impact"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our PR impacts - which campaigns resonate the most with highest SEO impact.
  • My favorite widget is the one for seeing SEO impact
  • Also it is great to see your trending vs. the competition
  • Positive vs. negative segment is good too - sometimes it surprises us. A campaign that we saw as super positive - actually had a negative impact on our reputation.
  • It is a pretty complex tool, so understanding each widget can be overwhelming, however the staff is very helpful in guiding you.
We have a relatively simple business model and are small company compared to what TrendKite can do for you if you are larger company with a lots of mentions.
We are monitoring our mentions daily and focus on the media that seem to show the highest potential.
Read Eva Egbert, PhD.'s full review
Sean Ireland profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "TrendKite does what I ask of it, which is saying something"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I monitor when Rutgers Business School (RBS) faculty are quoted in news articles, write pieces, and when RBS is mentioned. I report monthly on the significant sources, thereby showing the currency, relevancy, and expertise of our faculty. In years past, on different platforms, I used to total the number of mentions and compare to the previous period. However with the increase to approximately 85% of sources adopting a subscription model in the past five years, I can no longer see most of the instances. I now report on the quality of the source rather than the quantity. This works fine. Reporting quotes and articles in fewer "tier 1" sources is more meaningful than reporting hundreds more repeats of the same mention in sources of which we've never heard.
  • Daily email reports provide quick and easy skimming and posting media mentions on the RBS "In the News" webpage
  • Unlimited customizable dashboards and saved searches allow me to tailor reports
  • The support is outstanding. OK, it took many tries and actually a different tech support to understand and correct my search string that looked for "faculty name" AND "Rutgers Business School" and missed every instance when the article only said the faculty member works at Rutgers. But now I'm happy.
  • The interactive reports (for example) show a line graph of monthly total mentions, and when I hover my cursor over the point, the number of mentions shows. It would really be helpful if I could have all the labels show at the same time.
Good for reporting names or other key terms in media sources. While the interactive reports look terrific, senior leadership has no time to spend looking at them. I use the information to create simple PPT slides or other pages that can be printed and skimmed quickly on the way to the next meeting.
PR strategy isn’t part of my TK use.
Read Sean Ireland's full review
Harvey Henao profile photo
November 12, 2018

User Review: "Blown Away with TrendKite!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses TrendKite across the entire organization to provide a snapshot into the competitive share of voice and media landscape presence for our clients. This helps identify areas of opportunity for clients, as well as measure how effective their media communications strategies are in an executive-ready format that is easy to understand.
  • Easy-to-read graphs that show media performance over time
  • Clients love the amount of data TrendKite produces, and how easily it can be tailored to individual needs
  • TrendKite is great at producing measurable, insightful data, with the ability to hone in on a particular date and see all the coverage earned
  • Setting up dashboards could be easier from a boolean search perspective
  • I wish you could edit a report's data after you've already created it, instead of needing to start over
It is particularly well-suited for showing media competitive share of voice and performance over time. It's perhaps less suited to showing market analytic data and drawing a direct line between advertising spending and media coverage.
TrendKite has become our go-to when pitching new business and researching how the prospect measures up against their competitors, giving us a valuable leg-up.
Read Harvey Henao's full review
Susan Gold profile photo
November 02, 2018

User Review: "Trendkite for the newbie"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TrendKite is being used by a company I consult with for their marketing and PR purposes. It helps pinpoint our PR outreach and track that outreach along with adding to business development.
  • Tracking coverage
  • Completely providing all pertinent articles related to our targeted research
  • Providing the information on influencers that may help our goals
  • Clearly drawing a picture of our niche market within the industry
  • The platform is so comprehensive it is overwhelming to decipher use
  • Simple offers of help to pop up while at various portions of the platform
  • Breaking the platform down to the simplest of applications and then demonstrating the back flips and forward flips
The company I specifically recommended TrendKite for is quite small. TrendKite is almost too much of a stealth weapon for very small outlets; however, it's been tremendously helpful.
It helps us keep abreast of the industry on the whole and gives us ideas on how to devise a PR campaign because we literally can see and are completely educated to what's happening on the large scale.
Read Susan Gold's full review
Ashley Collins profile photo
October 26, 2018

Review: "TrendKite: Setting you up for greatness."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, TrendKite is used by the communications and marketing department. We use it to monitor our press mentions, keyword associations, ad equivalency and make data-based decisions. We also run reports for the Board of Trustees so that they know how we are doing.
  • TrendKite has a beautiful and beautifully easy user interface.
  • Their customer services is impeccable. They respond and take action very quickly to any request.
  • Their email notification system is excellent.
  • Sometimes the various modules seem disconnected: from Influencers to Social. I know they're growing and it's exciting to see things being added. But when those features cost more, it's just hard to make management see the benefits of the cost.
  • No real mobile support. An app would be incredibly helpful.
  • Limited number of users makes it difficult to work as a team.
This is a great system to start off with and get to know PR management for a small team. A larger, more integrated team with stronger goal setting might require a stronger, more complex system.
As we create our strategy, we look at comparable share of voice of other organizations, and keywords that are associated with our brand.
Read Ashley Collins's full review

About TrendKite

TrendKite is PR analytics software helping PR professionals quantify their true business impact. The vendor aims to go beyond legacy metrics such as readership, mentions and ad equivalency and provide PR professionals a concrete way to attribute their efforts to real business outcomes like brand value, web traffic, SEO, and revenue.

The TrendKite platform allows PR professionals to hone in on quality coverage with single-click filters, benchmark against competitors, and report the business impact of campaigns with beautiful interactive reports. PR pros can swifty respond to crises thanks to Spike Alerts, real-time alerts powered by artificial intelligence. And using Pinpoint Contacts, the next-generation of media contacts, PR pros can leverage a journalist discovery engine to uncover new high impact journalists.

According to the vendor, the product is used by more than 1300 clients, including brands and agencies such as Nike, Google, SXSW, Hershey's, John’s Hopkins, M&C Saatchi, and Mondelez.


TrendKite Features

Has featureTraffic, leads, and revenue from PR (via Google Analytics & Adobe Analytics integrations)
Has featurePR campaign measurement
Has featureSocial sharing of earned media
Has featureReadership (unique visitors per month)
Has featureShare of voice
Has featureTotal quality mentions
Has featureRegional mentions
Has featureKey message pull through
Has featureSentiment
Has featureInteractive drill-down dashboards
Has featureUnlimited dashboards & searches
Has featureOnline publication & blog monotiring
Has featureBroadcast & radio monitoring
Has featurePrint monitoring
Has featureLicensed content & paywall acess
Has featureSingle-click interactive reports
Has featureTailored daily digest emails
Has featureWeekly news snapshot emails
Has featureCurated PR newsletter
Has featureEnterprise onboarding & training
Has featureStrategy sessions with Customer Success Managers
Has featureBest practices enablement (content)
Has featureIn-app chat with >1 min response time
Has featureSEO impact of PR (Domain Authority of Publications)
Has featurePinpoint Contacts (media contact database)
Has featureSpike Alerts that detect anomalous spikes in coverage (powered by AI)

TrendKite Screenshots

TrendKite Videos (3)

Quick TrendKite Overview Video

Watch Quick Demo Video of TrendKite PR Newsletter

Watch Video of Pinpoint Contacts, TrendKite's next generation media contacts solution

TrendKite Downloadables

TrendKite Integrations

Google Analytics, Moz, Adobe Analytics, BurrellesLuce, TVEyes, NewsEdge

TrendKite Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

TrendKite Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TrendKite Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Chinese, German, Korean, French, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Vietnamese, Dutch, Bahasa, Indonesian, Czech, Russian, Hebrew, Polish, Romanian, Macedonian, Turkish, Arabic, Ukrainian, Greek, Croatian, Norwegian, Swedish, Estonian, Tagalog, Hungarian, Hindi, Bulgarian, Danish, Tamil, Afrikaans, Slovenian, Slovak, Finnish, Gujarati, Lithuanian, Swahili, Thai, Somali, Latvian, Nepali, Bengali, Marathi, Persian