Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Tricentis NeoLoad

Tricentis NeoLoad
Formerly Neotys NeoLoad

Overview

What is Tricentis NeoLoad?

Tricentis NeoLoad is a solution for continuous performance testing software to automate API and application load testing. It was developed by the French company Neotys and acquired by Tricentis, along with the company, in March 2021.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Users leverage Tricentis NeoLoad to accurately simulate realistic user interactions and behaviors in various load scenarios, aiding in …
Continue reading

Best testing tool

10 out of 10
January 26, 2024
Incentivized
It has features like auto-infra scaling for real-time simulations, collaborative test design methodology, real-time analytics, and …
Continue reading

Thumbs Up!

9 out of 10
July 30, 2021
Incentivized
We have found Neoload a very interesting tool work with. It is being used by the whole organization. It provides automated script creation …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.tricentis.com/products/perf…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $20,000 per year with 300 virtual users
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Starting a Load Test in NeoLoad

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Tricentis NeoLoad?

NeoLoad is a performance and load testing solution to help deliver responsive, scalable and reliable applications in production to avoid loss of customers and revenue. It works by testing for performance issues early into the development process at the API level to find issues when they are easy to fix. It also works by hitting the full application with high load in an end-to-end testing environment that simulates what the end user will experience, all while delivering the fastest approach to test design and test maintenance.

Tricentis NeoLoad Features

  • Supported: Performance test automation
  • Supported: Real time test analysis with APM data
  • Supported: Cloud based load generation
  • Supported: As-code performance testing for advances users
  • Supported: Resource reservation
  • Supported: Workspaces
  • Supported: Advanced protocol support
  • Supported: Browser-based testing

Tricentis NeoLoad Screenshots

Screenshot of Code-less design — loops, conditions, and other drag and drop controls simplify test design creation, and JavaScript can still be used for extremely advanced cases.Screenshot of CI/CD integrations — collaborate across dev, QA, operations, and business teams to create a standardized performance testing approach throughout the enterprise.Screenshot of Real-time test results — analyze test results live to react to an anomaly before the test is over. And leverage in-depth test reporting when the test is completed.Screenshot of Collaborate on test result as the test is runningScreenshot of Configure SaaS-based performance testScreenshot of Dashboard for team analysis

Tricentis NeoLoad Videos

How To Connect The Controller To NeoLoad Web
How To Export Project in NeoLoad Web
Create Cloud Based Test Settings
How to View and Share Dashboard Results

Watch Continuous performance testing with Tricentis NeoLoad

Watch Performance and load test in hybrid systems

Watch Introducing NeoLoad 9: Embedded support for browser-based testing

Tricentis NeoLoad Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French

Frequently Asked Questions

Tricentis NeoLoad is a solution for continuous performance testing software to automate API and application load testing. It was developed by the French company Neotys and acquired by Tricentis, along with the company, in March 2021.

Tricentis NeoLoad starts at $20000.

OpenText LoadRunner Professional, BlazeMeter, and Apache JMeter are common alternatives for Tricentis NeoLoad.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 7.3.

The most common users of Tricentis NeoLoad are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(41)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users leverage Tricentis NeoLoad to accurately simulate realistic user interactions and behaviors in various load scenarios, aiding in identifying bottlenecks and areas for development within their systems. With its user-friendly interface, non-technical users can easily create complex performance test scenarios, shifting from tools like JMeter for more maintainable test cases and automation capabilities.

Quality assurance teams rely on Tricentis NeoLoad to ensure that web applications and APIs can efficiently handle the anticipated traffic, especially in staging environments for SAP systems. The software's features like auto-infra scaling, collaborative test design, real-time analytics, and scripting-free testing significantly boost productivity during performance testing processes.

User-Friendly Interface: Users consistently praise the system's user-friendly interface for its intuitive design, smooth navigation, and efficient operation that enhances overall usability.

Comprehensive Test Scenarios: Reviewers appreciate the diverse range of test scenarios available in the system, offering a thorough testing environment for various real-world situations and ensuring comprehensive test coverage.

Detailed Reporting Feature: The detailed reporting feature is highly valued by users as it provides comprehensive insights into test results and performance metrics, aiding in informed decision-making processes and facilitating effective analysis.

High Cost and Licensing Restrictions: Some users have found the cost slightly high and have mentioned licensing restrictions as a drawback when using the application.

Resource-Intensive and Space Consuming: Reviewers have noted that the tool is resource-intensive, taking up a significant amount of space on their systems. This has led to concerns about system performance and efficiency.

Integration with Other tools: Tricentis NeoLoad struggles to integrate with other services. Adding more integrations with popular tools and platforms could make it easier for users to work with Tricentis NeoLoad as part of their overall workflow.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-22 of 22)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I would appreciate it if we could have a front end for Tricentis NeoLoad. Otherwise, it's a good product.
  • Shared features
  • Integration with Qtest
Tricentis NeoLoad is a good product if we have a front end for it, then it will be an awesome product
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tricentis NeoLoad offers a dependable, strong platform with good performance and an easy-to-use GUI. It is simple to utilize for both script automation and new technology innovation. It nearly possesses every important function needed in a professional performance tool. We prefer test scenarios that are simple to maintain, so we switched load and performance tests to Neoload.
  • Test case recording
  • presenting the results
  • Strong code-free design
  • virtual environment
Tricentis NeoLoad features an easy-to-use interface that allows us to record and run the script locally before attempting to run it through the NeoLoad website. To prevent errors while executing the script on several virtual users, we may also validate the user flow captured by running it against just one virtual user. During runtime, the correlation feature aids in handling dynamically changing values. Neoload's web portal also allows you to gather other types of graphs and matrices.
Hari Pal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tricentis Neoload offers an extensive feature set and a complete toolset that streamlines the performance testing process. Non-technical users can easily create complex performance test scenarios because of its user-friendly interface and intuitive design. Neoload helps us find possible bottlenecks or areas for development by simulating real-world settings, creating virtual users, and analyzing application performance under various loads.
  • Rich Test Scenarios.
  • Comprehensive Performance Testing.
  • Detailed Reporting.
  • Easy to Integrate.
  • Cost is little high.
  • It is resource intensive tool.
  • There are Licensing restrictions.
Neoload provides sophisticated load simulation features that faithfully mimic actual user behavior. We can evaluate your application's performance during periods of high traffic by creating realistic loads for it. This helps us to make sure the application can handle the anticipated user load without experiencing any lag or loss of responsiveness. By doing this, we can proactively fix performance problems before they affect end users.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have found that realistic user interactions and behaviors are simulated with Tricentis Neoload, giving us a more accurate picture of how an application operates under different load scenarios. Its versatility in supporting various web and mobile protocols allows it to be used for a variety of application testing scenarios.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Good HTML reporting presentation.
  • Integration is easy.
  • Cost is a little high.
  • Reporting needs improvement.
  • Application takes a lot of space.
Tricentis NeoLoad is a great solution with an easy-to-use GUI for customers. It is one of the applications that came with the latency feature meaning. This software is beneficial since it has a control agent feature that gathers data from many software, web servers, and data sources. To sum up, Tricentis NeoLoad is a strong and adaptable performance testing tool that enables businesses to proactively find and fix performance problems before they affect end customers.
Zishan Ali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tricentis NeoLoad is a great solution with an easy-to-use GUI for customers. It is one of the programs that has the latency function enabled. This software is highly helpful and beneficial since it has a control agent feature that gathers data from many software, web servers, and data sources which helps our organization.
  • Very simple user interface.
  • Very reliable open source system for testing applications.
  • It doesn’t provide detailed documentations.
  • The price is a little steep.
  • Application is bit too heavy.
Our testing environment has found NeoLoad to be an invaluable tool. It was mostly utilized for web load testing. Its upkeep and the way various features were implemented were excellent. Because of the test results and actions in various items, the majority of institutions use this program. Additionally, by investigating various load types, it enables developers to test heavy load applications and assist in analyzing the strength and performance of such apps.
February 06, 2024

Web functional testing

Sandeep Kamboj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tricentis NeoLoad has shown to be a really useful tool for our needs in performance testing. Because of its user-friendly interface, creating tests is simple and enables us to efficiently imitate real-world circumstances. It has features like auto infra scaling for real-time simulations, collaborative test design methodology, real-time analytics, and scripting-free testing, which makes creating tests easier and increases productivity.
  • Easy to maintenance.
  • Excellent HTML reporting presentation.
  • It is very intuitive interface
  • It is not a open source tool
  • Cost is little bit high
  • Lots of click
It offers a dependable, strong platform with good performance and an easy-to-use GUI. It is simple to utilize for both script automation and new technology innovation. It nearly possesses every important function that is needed in a professional performance tool.Tricentis NeoLoad's design and interface are incredibly user-friendly.One of the most widely used open-source platforms for testing desktop scripts and applications is Tricentis NeoLoad.
January 26, 2024

Best testing tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It has features like auto-infra scaling for real-time simulations, collaborative test design methodology, real-time analytics, and scripting-free testing, which makes creating tests easier and increases productivity.APIs, microservice-based applications, monolithic and packaged programs, and more need to all be tested for performance in the modern era.
  • Real time tracking
  • Browser-based testing
  • Nothing else that I could identify problems with.
I've been using NeoLoad for scripting for almost two years now, and it's far superior to the prior tool I was using.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Tricentis NeoLoad to identify and quantify performance issues within our document repository system for vendors to review and tune. We were able to load the system with various virtual users and identified the user count and duration of the load where the application no longer met our service level agreement.
  • Report
  • Real-time load monitoring
  • Dashboards
  • User interface
  • Version control
  • Repository
Focus on shorter tests because there is a limit on the amount (hours) of test results that can be uploaded and stored on the cloud. We needed to delete “old” results in order for the latest set to be uploaded. Being able to share results online is huge, especially to management but limiting the amount that can be stored online is disappointing.
Rohan Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Both seasoned and inexperienced performance testers can utilize Tricentis NeoLoad because of its user-friendly interface and straightforward design. We can construct performance tests utilizing Tricentis NeoLoad's script-less approach to test design, which eliminates the requirement for in-depth scripting knowledge. This can greatly quicken the testing procedure.
  • Real time test analysis
  • Workspaces are useful
  • Performance test automation is handy
  • It has integration challanges
  • Data privacy and security during testing can be challenging
  • Neolaod is relatively expensive
Tricentis Neoload offers thorough performance data and analytics to aid testers in efficiently locating bottlenecks and performance problems. Teams can collaborate on test design, execution, and analysis because to its support for collaboration features. In my opinion Neoload is a powerful performance testing tool with several advantages.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Tricentis NeoLoad for our performance testing and engineering requirements. As a Product based company, we develop and maintain multiple products that are being used by millions of users worldwide. Therefore it is in our culture to give extreme importance to Application Performance. That being said, I work in a centralized team that is responsible for measuring, identifying, and tuning performance issues across all the products that go out of the Company, and also addressing issues faced by the customers. We need a solid tool for recording the real-world use cases, scripting them, and designing performance scenarios that are as close to how it happens in production and Tricentis NeoLoad addresses our needs on a daily basis. Though Tricentis NeoLoad can also be used for other purposes such as functional and security testing, we use it extensively only for various types of performance testing.
  • User friendly GUI
  • Strong support for correlations
  • Minimal coding requirements
  • Stable, does not crash even under heavy load
  • Integration with third-party tools. I cannot stream NL test data to a third-party DB and then plot graphs out of it.
  • Keyboard shortcuts. It is tedious to use the mouse to click everywhere. I'd love to have some keyboard shortcuts
  • Reports and Analytics. Lacks intelligence in identifying patterns of problems
Before purchasing Tricentis NeoLoad, we were using a similar Javascript-based tool from another vendor for years. The major issue we were facing was it was very unstable. We were not confident that we would get a test run successfully, especially if the test is heavy. Ex: A 24-hour load test with 3500 users. It used to crash at the end of the test, trying to pull data points, and we'd lose our precious 24 hours! Tricentis NeoLoad totally aces when it comes to stability. I can easily run the same test without having to worry about crashes or slowness. It also reduces the amount of coding that I had to do with the previous tool and saves much time. However, what I miss compared to the previous tool was flexibility. I could plug the previous tool with any third-party DB, stream and store the test data in a time-series DB, and then plot-important graphs out of it. Though Tricentis NeoLoad provides visuals by default, it does not provide any support for third-party integration.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tricentis NeoLoad is typically used by quality assurance (QA) teams to ensure that web applications and APIs can handle the expected traffic and usage patterns. This is especially important for applications that are critical to the business, such as e-commerce websites or customer-facing applications that need to be available and responsive at all times. The scope of use for Tricentis NeoLoad can vary depending on the specific needs of each team. Some teams may use it for periodic testing to ensure ongoing performance and scalability, while others may use it as part of a continuous integration and delivery (CI/CD) pipeline to test performance at each stage of the development process.
  • Simulating realistic user behavior: Tricentis NeoLoad allows users to define the actions that simulated users will take when accessing a website or application. This can include clicking links, filling out forms, and accessing specific pages or resources. This allows organizations to test the performance of their applications under realistic conditions.
  • Testing the performance of APIs: Tricentis NeoLoad can be used to test the performance of APIs by simulating multiple requests and measuring the response times and error rates. This can help organizations ensure that their APIs can handle the expected traffic and usage patterns.
  • Identifying performance bottlenecks: Tricentis NeoLoad can identify performance bottlenecks by measuring response times, throughput, and error rates at various points in the application. This can help organizations pinpoint the specific parts of their applications that are causing performance issues and take steps to address them.
  • Testing the scalability of applications: Tricentis NeoLoad can simulate increasing loads on an application to test its scalability and identify the point at which it starts to degrade in performance. This can help organizations ensure that their applications can handle expected traffic growth and unexpected spikes in usage.
  • Generating detailed reports: Tricentis NeoLoad generates detailed reports that provide insights into the performance of an application, including response times, throughput, error rates, and other key metrics. These reports can be used to identify performance issues and track progress over time.
  • Ease of use: Some users find certain features or aspects of the interface to be confusing or hard to use. Improving the overall usability of the tool could make it more accessible and easier for users to get up and running with it.
  • Integration with other tools: Tricentis NeoLoad does not have many integrations with other tools. Adding more integrations with popular tools and platforms could make it easier for users to work with Tricentis NeoLoad as part of their overall workflow.
  • Mobile testing: Some users wish that Tricentis NeoLoad had more robust support for testing the performance of mobile applications. This could include the ability to simulate different mobile devices and networks, as well as the ability to test the performance of native mobile apps.
  • Cloud support: Tricentis NeoLoad does not have as much support for cloud-based applications and infrastructure. Adding more support for testing the performance of applications hosted in the cloud could be a useful feature for some users.
  • Advanced scripting capabilities: While Tricentis NeoLoad does offer some scripting capabilities, it would be nice to have more advanced options for customizing and automating load testing scenarios. Adding more advanced scripting capabilities could make it easier for users to create complex load testing scenarios.
Here are some specific scenarios where Tricentis NeoLoad might be well-suited:
  • Performance testing of web applications: Tricentis NeoLoad is well-suited for testing the performance of web applications under heavy loads. It can simulate multiple users accessing the application simultaneously and measure response times, throughput, and error rates to identify bottlenecks and potential failure points.
  • Testing the scalability of APIs: Tricentis NeoLoad is well-suited for testing the scalability of APIs. It can simulate increasing loads on an API and measure the response times and error rates to identify the point at which performance starts to degrade.
  • Identifying performance bottlenecks: Tricentis NeoLoad can be used to identify performance bottlenecks in web applications and APIs by measuring response times, throughput, and error rates at various points in the application. This can help organizations pinpoint the specific parts of their applications that are causing performance issues and take steps to address them.

Here are some scenarios where Tricentis NeoLoad might be less appropriate:
  • Testing the performance of native mobile applications: Tricentis NeoLoad is primarily focused on testing the performance of web applications and APIs. It does not have as much support for testing the performance of native mobile applications.
  • Testing the performance of applications hosted in the cloud: Tricentis NeoLoad does not have as much support for testing the performance of applications hosted in the cloud. It may be less well-suited for testing the performance of cloud-based applications and infrastructure.
  • Advanced scripting and customization: While Tricentis NeoLoad does offer some scripting and customization capabilities, it is not as well-suited for users who need more advanced options for customizing and automating load testing scenarios.
December 28, 2022

Tricentis NeoLoad

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Tricentis NeoLoad is one of the best automated performance testing tool available out there. It saves a lot of time due to its automation functionality. You can test the websites, Application programming interfaces under development. Due to its functionality, companies can grab multiple opportunities as it saves company's lot of times.
  • Website testing
  • API testing
  • Testing automation
  • Problem patterns are not identified using Tricentis NeoLoad
  • Reporting dashboard functionalities are limited. Analyzing test results can be difficult.
  • Premium Free version is not available.
Tricentis NeoLoad is best suitable for companies or organization who are working on multiple websites. Its functionality of Automated performance testing has allowed testers to deliver maximum projects in comparatively very less time giving an edge and advantage to the company. It's user interface is also very easy and friendly to use.
Wolfgang Gaida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We like to have easy-to-maintain test cases. That’s why we shifted load and performance tests from JMeter to Neoload. Currently, we are testing web applications automated. SAP is in the queue. But there are several learnings: In preparing the tests, we need a storybook or a TOSCA automated end-to-end test case to minimize the effort during scripting. This also contains login information and test data. No try and error during scripting! The execution phase is an online meeting that acts as a war room where all necessary stakeholders are invited. They are responsible for monitoring the systems and collecting traces. In the analysis phase, all collected information is consolidated into a report. The results are discussed in the result meeting. Here we decide on measures and next steps. We learned that load testing is a team sport.
  • Recording of test cases
  • Reporting the results
  • Maintaining the scripts
  • Usability of the GUI
  • Licence polica
Well suited: Web applications in intranet or internet - The results are reported in a well-organized report which can be the basis for further and deep analysis, which is the basis for defects and corrections resp. maintenance and some tuning measured by development. Less appropriate: We also tested SAP apps, but we have less experience here.
July 30, 2021

Thumbs Up!

Fahad Ali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have found Neoload a very interesting tool work with. It is being used by the whole organization. It provides automated script creation & the integration opportunities with several other products is a real good one. Its ease of setup & uses as well. Further; non-tech person can also easily use this tool without facing any sort of trouble.
  • Neoload's tool provide an interface to reuse the existing recording which is such a big relief to users.
  • It is also the ability to automate technologies such as SAP, Cicatrix & web sockets.
  • Apart from the update of recorded response after replay; log is one of the greatest feature. It helps in partial script creation & modification.
  • It takes longer than expect to connect with Load Generator machine, caused in failure of test launch.
  • It should support others languages apart from java-script.
  • Code based automation is missing, which leads little frustration.
Overall its great performance tool with easy GUI & improvements in the automation of script plus innovation in new technology. A robust & reliable platform that suits all our needs. I have been dealing with Neoload for about 3 years & have found the level of product support to be very high.
but in other view it doesn't fulfill the customize reports which is essential & trending.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for performance testing in staging environments for SAP systems. It helps preventing users from adopting the latest features that are deployed on our systems, and is part of our standard DevOps cycle. It's great to throw hundreds of simulated load on our systems and make sure they're still capable of running smoothly.
  • Niche experts on performance testing
  • Works across a wide range of technologies, including mobile
  • Easy script manipulation through xpath and JS
  • Limited capabilities on virtual environments
  • No autosave feature
  • Weak code editor for scripting
Because it supports a wide range of protocols, Neotys NeoLoad is a must for performance testing. While we use it primarily for SAP technologies ourselves, it can easy be used in end-to-end scenarios. It makes the staging a lot more secure and gives fundamental quality indicators to anyone involved during and after GoLive.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I've used it for load balance testing for user scenarios and api limit and stress testing.
  • You can build automated testing flows
  • You can hit apis with specific data requests
  • You can manage variables and data sets for your tests
  • NeoLoad is highly customizable. If anything having a faster way to load general testing templates or choose them from pre-made libraries might be helpful.
If you need to stress test an API or web app, or even for general automated testing, NeoLoad can handle anything you need.
Craig Solinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Developers use NeoLoad to identify points of failure or potential bottlenecks when placing their transactions under heavy load. Developers using NeoLoad were able to identify bottlenecks and fix/change the code, SQL, increase CPU/Memory, File Handles, Cluster VM's etc, that would not have been apparent under normal testing conditions BEFORE experiencing problems in Production. Also with Production code, we identified the true cause of unknown production slowness.
  • Ability to segment a 'Type' of users in a mix of users.
  • Ability to throttle transaction volume at increasing rates while identifying crucial throughput/failure points.
  • Ability to test changes like switching to a different Database with precise throughput transaction metrics.
  • Building Test Plans takes time. When the input fields of page changes it breaks the previous plan. The tool would be better if it had a way to migrate an existing plan and adapt to small changes.
  • Documentation is fair, but would be improved with more detailed screenshot by screenshot configuration changes rather than summation using words.
Using NeoLoad we were able to rapidly validate that a switch from an expensive Database product to a low-cost Database product was, in fact, viable. The maximum transaction capability was nearly identical, and the type of message the DB products would produce when exceeding their configured capability.
Using NeoLoad we are able to predict and tune/remedy high throughput transaction rate problems BEFORE they occur in Production.
Dirk Schweier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As performance test engineers we support our own software engineering and customers with performance testing.

In both cases, the stakeholders want to make sure that the software has a good performance. The performance is an important argument for customers to like or dislike an application. So more and more requirement engineers define performance requirements in an early stage of the project. Based on those requirements and formerly metrics we can provide reliable and reproducible performance results for the current version in various test environments. These results are used by software engineers and system administrators to optimize software and configuration.

The result of the next test run can demonstrate the effect of changes and this is also an important feedback to the team. So NeoLoad helps to improve the performance of web applications and also web services.
  • NeoLoad supports performance test engineers with a strong feature set to analyse the results. The first metric you have in mind is response time of the application. The metric satisfies the stakeholder if it meets the requirements. Otherwise, the stakeholder wants to know some comments and suggestions for improvement. I rely on the data gathered by monitoring agents when I analyse test results. The monitoring agent is a service which collects different counters from an operating system, databases, web server, etc. The results can be analysed in individual composed graphs. This is a powerful feature to deliver conclusive reports to stakeholders. Even the export of reports in various formats is helpful for communication with different stakeholders.
  • Our customers like the flexible license model of NeoLoad. A usual performance test project starts with the development of tests and configuration of the test environment. Finally, there is a first test execution followed by a couple of additional test executions. Usually, it is hard to say how long it takes to implement the issues based on the test results. So we usually do not know how long is the period between first and last test execution. It does not matter how long the period might be. In most of our projects we prefer daily licenses of NeoLoad. If you buy e.g. a four-day license you can use NeoLoad at four different days.
  • As a performance test engineer, I like the impressive APIs of NeoLoad. NeoLoad is just a performance test tool and the vendor Neotys is focused on this job. Whenever you would like to add something into a test scenario which is not mainly a performance issue you can integrate these parts by APIs which are easy to handle and very powerful. They also support you in case technologies which are not supported yet by NeoLoad. Maybe there is a new device which you want to monitor. Therefore you can report the measurements of the specific counters by the data exchange API during test execution. So you can analyse the data in the usual way. In our company we developed already a couple of features based on the APIs of NeoLoad and we are very happy with this flexibility.
  • NeoLoad allows the user many switches and options. Sometimes it is hard to understand dependencies. But the documentation and the support helps you.
  • In most projects it is necessary to develop small scripts. NeoLoad only supports JavaScript and the editor is weak. There is syntax highlighting but sometimes you can not see where the cursor is located exactly. NeoLoad supports a workaround if you register .js-files in Windows to a different editor.
NeoLoad is a very comprehensive tool if you are looking for a performance test tool for web applications and other applications using protocols like REST, SOAP, etc. The concepts are easy to understand and mostly clear. This enables you to develop very fast tests with a very good flexibility regarding the number of virtual users, the mixture of scripts, locations where load is generated or there is load variation. In consulting projects it is very helpful that project data and reports can be viewed by NeoLoad without the need of a license.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Neoload has been used across the university for performance and loading testing activities. Primarily it has been used to gauge application response time, bottlenecks like memory, disk, processor, process, cache, and network usage. In addition to the bottlenecks mentioned above, Neoload has been used for performance measurement with number of users.
  • Neoload is good for performance measurement of memory, CPU, and network usage.
  • Neoload cannot be for running performance testing on Citrix applications.

Neoload is suited for the following scenarios:

-Performance Testing of web based applications
-Check for application bottlenecks
-Performance measure of multiple users accessing an application
-Performance measurement of network activity
-Check for memory leakage
-Measure throughput

Neoload provides metrics that can be used to track the overall stability of the application before deploying it to production.
Arpita Choudhury | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
NeoLoad is used for the Genworth account for which Tata Consultancy Service has a contract for quality assurance. It is a user friendly tool and we did not encounter any problems. NeoLoad is now widely spread across various accounts in our company. The recent version of NeoLoad has all the properties which are needed to test an application.
  • NeoLoad does not require much of scripting efforts, and correlation and parameterization are quite easy.
  • It has some actions which are very useful like variable modifier and java scripts.
  • The data collection for monitors is easy and less time consuming.
  • The memory consumption is higher which slows down the system.
  • The concept of team server can be improved in such a way that every time we design a project, it doesn't need to be shared as it takes longer.
  • Results need to be published every time. It needs to be auto saved.
  • Sometimes the monitors become invisible after we check out the project in local.

Ask about:

  • The protocols which are easily supported by NeoLoad.
  • The license needs to include all the protocols.
  • The parameterization rules need to be improved and there needs to be a sample if we select a particular parameterization properties. Example: Sequential, each occurrence..something like that.

There needs to be a property to add different actions in a single script.

Michael Esposito | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
NeoLoad is being used by the Performance Engineering Team to execute performance testing on new releases of applications before they are moved into production. The purpose of the testing is to reduce the risk of performance issues under load in the production environment. My Performance Engineering Team tests all applications in the division.
  • Building performance testing scripts is easy. NeoLoad builds the scripts for you by recording your session as you navigate through the application under test.
  • NeoLoad works with mobile applications using the same recording technique.
  • NeoLoad has modules that permit gathering OS metrics from the target host and correlating the data with the load testing results. The modules are agentless, meaning that there no need to deploy NeoLoad code modules on the host to gather these metrics.
  • There is no support for VT3270 terminal emulation to support mainframe-hosted applications.
  • The ramp-up and ramp-down time data are not automatically excluded from the average response time calculations. Instead, you must exclude these times manually each time you run a test.
  • There is not a summary graphic that shows the distribution of all of the response times on a single graph. We currently export the data as a coma separated variable (CSV) file and import into Excel to generate this summary graph.
The most important question to ask in selecting a performance testing tool is - does it support the protocols that the applications to be tested use? NeoLoad supports all web-based protocols. It also supports Microsoft Silverlight and .net, and mobile applications. Unfortunately, NeoLoad does not support mainframe terminal protocols such as VT3270. Another key aspect is the ability to correlate host OS metrics with the results of the performance testing. NeoLoad supports this requirement through agentless monitoring. Finally, another key factor is ease of use. NeoLoad is easier to learn than a number of competitor products such as HP LoadRunner.
Saifur Rahman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
NeoLoad has been a great tool in our testing environment. The main purpose of using it was for web load testing. The easier maintenance and implementation of different features were satisfactory. My team and I loved it.
  • Very user friendly and easy to use.
  • Correlation cannot be simpler than the way NeoLoad does. You can even use XPATH.
  • Handling virual user in runtime such as kick out some and add them back in runtime or simply keep adding them to test the stress level of server is awesome.
  • The ability to manipulate the script by inserting JavaScript is also tremendous. It's one of the features few other tools have.
  • I am very much satisfied with this tool.
Monitoring is such a big factor in load testing. I believe NeoLoad does it nicely.
Return to navigation