Skip to main content
TrustRadius
TriNet

TriNet

Overview

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Read more
Recent Reviews

It's Been Challenging!

1 out of 10
February 26, 2024
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of …
Continue reading

TriNet

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are …
Continue reading

Optimistic for some improvement.

5 out of 10
February 19, 2024
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business …
Continue reading

TriNet.

10 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has …
Continue reading

TriNet is awesome!

10 out of 10
February 09, 2024
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are …
Continue reading

Review

7 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
I use Trinet for multiple purposes, for payroll, for time management and for hiring new employees and on boarding them
Continue reading

TriNet Review

3 out of 10
January 31, 2024
Incentivized
Our primary use is payroll. We are currently evaluating using it for its HRIS features such as; Recruiting, time off, performance …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 47 features
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (634)
    9.0
    90%
  • Update personal information (648)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (647)
    8.1
    81%
  • Benefit plan administration (658)
    7.8
    78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

What is Justworks?

Justworks offers a platform for payroll, benefits, compliance support, with HR tools. As a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), Justworks offers PEO solutions that can bundle payroll, compliance, HR, and benefits under the Justworks umbrella, and help to administer employment-related…

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

6.9
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

6.7
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.4
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.3
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

6.6
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

TriNet Competitors

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

ADP TotalSource and OASIS are common alternatives for TriNet.

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of TriNet are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1129)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 681)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • We've used TriNet to improve payroll accuracy and efficiencies.
  • We've used TriNet to maintain compliance across over 20 states with varying paid sick leave requirements.
  • We've used TriNet to ensure compliance with I-9 verifications in a fully remote setting.
  • We've used TriNet to support employee questions and employee training during benefits enrollment.
Gretchen Crist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • TriNet has allowed our company to operate with only 1 HR Professional.
  • Cost savings on benefits versus our previous broker arrangement is a double-digit % reduction.
  • Company benefits as perceived by employees as part of our annual survey have gone from being rated a 4 (on a scale of 10) to a 10.
Kristen Albertsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Minimized in-house resourcing for payroll and tax remittance
  • Eliminated need to procure stand-alone compliance trainings (particularly for key compliance items like harassement)
  • Generally streamlined compliance and reporting activities
January 31, 2024

TriNet Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • We are currently looking to move to a new HRIS and I feel TriNet doesn't seem to be able to accommodate many of our needs (Uploading of historical employee sdocuments for example)
January 05, 2024

Stay away from TriNet!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • TriNet has made too many mistakes from my experience. There is no accountability for anything they've done wrong in my opinion.
  • I feel TriNet doesn't take the time to explain things
  • TriNet reps dont get back to anyone in a timely manner from my experience
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • I am able to spend less time on administrative tasks and more time on strategic objectives.
  • I don't have to worry about making sure our company is in compliance from an HR standpoint. I trust but verify and haven't had any issues yet.
August 17, 2023

TriNet for the Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • TriNet has allowed us to keep a small team since they handle benefits and payroll.
  • TriNet keeps us in compliance since we utilize their HR.
  • TriNet gives us the ability to over great benefits to our employees at a very reasonable cost - something we wouldn't have been able to do on our own, considering we have less than 10 employees.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Seamless payroll processing, positive impact on employee satisfaction
  • Ease of use, quick and easy processing of new hires and terminations
  • Compliance concerns with inability to auto present required new hire documents
  • HR Support, inexperienced HR staff requires more in company HR support
Krystyna Hales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Before TriNet we were using Google sheets to track time; TriNet has real-time clock in/out to ensure accuracy, and a robust platform to edit/add entries as needed.
  • We are now confident wt are compliant with laws and regulation because of TriNet.
  • TriNet saves us time each week for HR admin tasks.
Return to navigation