Skip to main content
TrustRadius
TriNet

TriNet

Overview

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Read more
Recent Reviews

It's Been Challenging!

1 out of 10
February 26, 2024
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of …
Continue reading

TriNet

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are …
Continue reading

Optimistic for some improvement.

5 out of 10
February 19, 2024
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business …
Continue reading

TriNet.

10 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has …
Continue reading

TriNet is awesome!

10 out of 10
February 09, 2024
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are …
Continue reading

Review

7 out of 10
February 07, 2024
Incentivized
I use Trinet for multiple purposes, for payroll, for time management and for hiring new employees and on boarding them
Continue reading

TriNet Review

3 out of 10
January 31, 2024
Incentivized
Our primary use is payroll. We are currently evaluating using it for its HRIS features such as; Recruiting, time off, performance …
Continue reading

More 4 Less

10 out of 10
January 31, 2024
HarvestIQ uses TriNet as our one stop shop for people related needs, from payroll to benefits and inclusivity within our organization. As …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 47 features
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (632)
    9.0
    90%
  • Update personal information (646)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (645)
    8.1
    81%
  • Benefit plan administration (656)
    7.8
    78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

What is Justworks?

Justworks offers a platform for payroll, benefits, compliance support, with HR tools. As a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), Justworks offers PEO solutions that can bundle payroll, compliance, HR, and benefits under the Justworks umbrella, and help to administer employment-related…

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

6.9
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

6.7
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.1
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1
Avg 7.8

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.4
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.3
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.1
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

6.6
Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

TriNet Competitors

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

ADP TotalSource and OASIS are common alternatives for TriNet.

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of TriNet are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1124)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 687)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 26, 2024

It's Been Challenging!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of these aspects. We have also had to create extensive work around for many of the processes in TriNet. Over all I would say TriNet has added an extensive amount of admin time on to my teams plates. We also feel that we have to constantly audit the system as it seems to fail at odd time in odd ways. For instance, a team member takes vacation, it shows paid in the system, but their taken balance shows 0. Or even though we set the system up upon implementation to not allow team members to go into the negative on their leave balances, after over a year they still do. When we bring it up, there is no good explanation or it is indicated that it must some how be our fault. We also have issues with response time, the understaffed leave team, the seemingly understaffed tax team, the time and attendance platform, the training platform, the reports and analytics platform, etc.
Gretchen Crist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet is an excellent partner for small to medium-sized businesses - 10-250+ employees and a company that cannot invest in experienced HR talent. TriNet is a one-stop shop for all your HR operational needs, such as benefits, payroll, recruiting, compliance, employee training, etc. The model is designed to be self-service. They have significantly improved their 24/7 chatbot feature, which can get you answers to most questions quickly. You do, however, have to be comfortable with not being able to have individually customized benefits and programs for your employees. But, TriNet has an expansive list of benefit program designs and providers, and the overall cost is far more effective than going through a broker. I highly recommend it to small to medium-sized businesses.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business problems that I was hoping TriNet would address as we switched from ADP (please note that we have only been with TriNet for approximately seven months) were skyrocketing health care premiums, employee relations issues, issues of implementation, and assistance with ongoing tax issues that were the fault of ADP and not our organization. When we switched, we were happy to find an absolute bevy of healthcare options that were much more appropriate to our needs at better pricing, but the other issues are ongoing.
Judy Keesecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Trinet for our payroll processing, Medical and Dental Benefits, 401K, and HR for assistance. I have been with my company for over 4 years and the company has been using Trinet since 2016. The online processing is simple along with the onboarding of new employees. Of all the payroll companies I have used in other jobs this one is simple and straightforward. They answer questions as they arise. Very professional with their clients. Trinet being a PEO company is best to use as the HR laws are cumbersome and keep changing. They have all the tools we need available to use. They take care of the taxes and reporting. Their reports are simple to use and during PPP they had sample reports to use and enter our information. They keep their clients apprised of new laws or changes for HR or Payroll.
Kristen Albertsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are an organization of about 50 employees nationwide (~25 states), and TriNet is our PEO (professional employer organization). TriNet manages our payroll, state and federal tax filings, I-9 and W2 reporting; benefits (and acts as insurance broker); handbooks and record keeping. We also leverage TriNet Expense for our expense submission and reimbursement ; TriNet Perform for our annual Performance Reviews, and TriNet Hire for our Applicant Tracking.
February 12, 2024

TriNet.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
TriNet is something I use every day for our company, from processing payroll to updating all employee files. The knowledge center has amazing resources. We have been able to use the handbook wizard to create our company's handbook and make sure it is very comprehensive. The customer support that we have with TriNet is top-notch. They always are available to assist, and if they don't have the answer, they will reach back out to you. I think every company should invest in this platform.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work with TriNet as our HR system. TriNet makes it easy to stay in compliance when we have employees scattered around the U.S. and different state compliances to be in line with. We also use TriNet to pay our employees as well as capture Time off and Expense reports. The expense reporting is much easier to gather data with and get approvals.
February 12, 2024

Thumbs up!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small business that uses TriNet for payroll and benefits for our employees. TriNet services make labor management both time and cost effective. TriNet offers a number of HR and benefits tools and features including PTO, health insurance, 401(k) plans, life and disability insurance, etc. The onboarding process is simple and allows a smooth transition for new employees to become engaged.
February 09, 2024

TriNet is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Benefits, Payroll, Onboarding/Offboarding, Recruitment, Leaves of Absences.

The business problems that the product addresses are streamlining our organization's operations, as well as ensuring that we are operating at maximum efficiency. TriNet has been a huge help to us in every single way imaginable from an HR perspective. The PEO model is the way to go in my opinion.
February 03, 2024

Honest Review of Trinet

Sue Hemmer, MA, SPHR, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Trinet is used as a PEO for our organization. We utilize the benefits, performance, hiring, employee, and reporting functions daily. I love the chat because it is real time answers for most questions I have. Trinet allows us to house all of our needs for business within one entity.
October 17, 2023

New To TriNet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small startup with a team of around ten employees. TriNet offers incredible support and tools for us to provide to our employees. We are able to get the help we need when we need it. We are also able to understand what is considered competitive in benefit markets. The only downside is the platform is quite expensive compared to others that offer the same or better
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as our HRIS, applicant tracking system, payroll provider, benefits broker, and I'm sure some other things that I can't think of off the top of my head! Our headquarters are located in a different country and our team in the US is small, so we have a limited number of employees on each team. I'm an HR department of one, so having the support of TriNet on the administrative side of things has been great so that I can also focus on the strategic side of my job.
October 02, 2023

All-In-One

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Trinet is used by our organization to run payroll for approx. 18 employees. I frequently use the Chat for Admin questions about handling new hires, terminations, pay codes, etc. <br>However, the one key concern that employees have is understanding what benefits are available to them for their state. These information on their specific/unique coverage, premiums, and deductibles should be available and easy to access.
September 30, 2023

Happy we switched to TriNet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet for our Payroll, HR and Benefits. We are a smaller company, so being able to use TriNet's benefits selection makes it affordable and work for all the employees. TriNet makes the payroll process seamless!! I had an employee tell me the other day "switching to TriNet was the best thing we could have done". So not only do the managers appreciate TriNet and the solutions they offer, but so do the employees.
August 17, 2023

TriNet for the Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet for processing payroll and providing benefits to our employees. We also use it for HR functionality. As a very small company with less than 10 employees, TriNet allows us to have the bargaining power of a much larger company and enables us to provide very competitive benefits to our employees. It also allows us to maintain a small team since TriNet can assist in areas where we do not currently have a dedicated team lead - such as for HR.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize many of the solutions and tools TriNet has to offer. The primary use is to manage payroll, benefits, employee relations and compliance. We leverage forms, policies, library for advice and guidance. We have a great business partners supporting us in payroll and HR needs. The support teams are outstanding as well.
Krystyna Hales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small remote organization and had been managing all HR, payroll, etc. in house and we outgrew ourselves. TriNet has made managing hiring, exits, payroll, and insurance very smooth as has brought piece of mind that we're with complying with all employment laws across the several states we employ people in.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet to host our payroll, administer all our benefits, and as an HR Consulting tool to navigate new cases within our team.

TriNet helps streamline our processes for onboarding and new employees.

Their workforce analytics tools help us often when we need to pull reports and is very intuitive
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use TriNet for HR, benefits, reports and payroll. I have called them numerous times about HR concerns, termination, platform support, help with benefits, where to find different reports for data analytics etc. Every time I call the general support line any tech I speak to is so helpful, polite, patient and professional. They know where the items are and walk me through on where to find them or step by step instructions on how to terminate or promote or increase pay. I cannot say enough good things about how easy it is to work with them!
Return to navigation