Skip to main content
TrustRadius
TriNet

TriNet

Overview

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TriNet Review

9 out of 10
April 10, 2024
Incentivized
TriNet is our everyday HRIS, payroll and benefits platform. It addresses our issues by keeping everything in one place, making it a …
Continue reading

TriNet

7 out of 10
March 12, 2024
Payroll, benefits, and compliance in multi-state environment. The product addresses our ability to offer strong benefits to employees and …
Continue reading

TriNet User

8 out of 10
March 11, 2024
Incentivized
Human Resources - primarily payroll and benefits

Particularly helpful as we have a team comprised of both in-person and remote employees …
Continue reading

TriNet is a great platform!

8 out of 10
March 06, 2024
We use TriNet for payroll, benefits, and 401k administration. TriNet has been very helpful in easily administering benefits to all …
Continue reading

It's Been Challenging!

1 out of 10
February 26, 2024
TriNet is our PEO/HRIS system. We use TriNet in almost every aspect of our jobs. We have struggled with TriNet in almost every one of …
Continue reading

TriNet

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
PEO Partnership with TriNet. Payroll, HR, Workers Comp, Time & Attendance, benefits, Training, labor law compliance, etc, we are …
Continue reading

Optimistic for some improvement.

5 out of 10
February 19, 2024
We use TriNet as our PEO with a scope that includes payroll, employee benefits, time-tracking, among other things. The major business …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 47 features
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (641)
    9.1
    91%
  • Update personal information (655)
    8.3
    83%
  • Pay calculation (654)
    8.2
    82%
  • Benefit plan administration (665)
    7.9
    79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Gusto?

Gusto offers payroll, benefits and compliance capabilities. Gusto is scaled for small to mid-sized businesses, and emphasizes an easy to use interface.

What is Justworks?

Justworks offers a platform for payroll, benefits, compliance support, with HR tools. As a Professional Employer Organization (PEO), Justworks offers PEO solutions that can bundle payroll, compliance, HR, and benefits under the Justworks umbrella, and help to administer employment-related…

Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

7
Avg 8.1

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.1
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

1
Avg 7.7

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7.4
Avg 7.6

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8
Avg 8.0

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.3
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.2
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

6.5
Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is TriNet?

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders

Succession Planning Features

  • Supported: Candidate search
  • Supported: Candidate development

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Corporate goal setting
  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

TriNet Competitors

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR and payroll solutions tailored by industry. TriNet also offers specialized services through client access to HR representatives for advice and notifications on impactful regulatory changes.

ADP TotalSource, OASIS, and Insperity are common alternatives for TriNet.

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of TriNet are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1123)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 695)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
April 10, 2024

TriNet Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Communication
  • Problem solving
  • Reachable
  • Resolving tickets a bit quicker- sometimes we are on a time crunch and it's a bit difficult to wait on someone to respond.
  • Opting out of news from states where not located in. It would help reduce the number of communications that are not relevant to us.
March 12, 2024

TriNet

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Multi-State Payroll
  • Benefits Administration
  • I'd like to see them offer an ASO (Administrative Services Only) model for clients moving away from a PEO (professional employer organization).
  • Workday integration.
March 11, 2024

TriNet User

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Managing Remote Teams
  • Nuisances of each states legal requirements
  • Ease of payroll processing
  • Reporting
  • Customer support is good, but response times are lacking
  • Dedicated support specialists for smaller organizations
  • Ways to compare benefit offerings - but I also heard this may be coming
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Customer support
  • Time card and payroll cohesion
  • Their app
  • Their time card feature can be a bit glitchy. We’ve had numerous employees struggle with it.
  • Their system isn’t always intuitive. Trying to learn a new skill can be time consuming and it’s not always clear what the next step would be. A directory or learning center for processes would be great.
  • The wing is great but we need more challenges!
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Dashboard is user friendly
  • Most items are easy to update for Admins
  • Reporting feature is helpful
  • The system should allow Admins to update leave information without sending an email
  • The leave department itself could use training on regulations and overall customer service skills
  • The dashboard should update employees with custom details added to their records
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • TriNet has an expansive repository of resources, which is particularly helpful as a small organization.
  • TriNet provides support for a range of HR functions that allow us to have a go-to support option in one location.
  • TriNet utilizes webinars, newsletters, announcements, and other convenient and accessible avenues to stay up-to-date on the often-changing compliance measures, as well as feature announcements, trainings, and updates.
  • TriNet's customer service has always been respectful but nearly all interactions have had a point where there was follow-up promised and not received and where I'm unable to reach anyone or get a response mid-case. It's common that I'll finally get to someone that can help me, only for them to say they'll email me information. When that information is received, it's missing aspects of my question/need, and it takes several emails (and sometimes weeks/months of repeated follow up) to get the rest of the information needed.
  • TriNet's chat support almost always has to transfer me to another team, oftentimes 2-3 times because a representative transferred incorrectly. This is very frustrating and causes me to have to have longer wait times and repeated questions/explanations to get caught up.
February 26, 2024

It's Been Challenging!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Compliance
  • Non integrated time and attendance platform
  • Final pay - term process
  • Reports and analytics
  • Fees, so many fees
  • No job costing for multiple locations
Gretchen Crist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Extensive variety of benefit program plan designs and partners. Something for everyone.
  • One stop shopping for all health and wellness benefits.
  • Continue to add new offerings, such as access to Salary.com at a discount and access to Carta at a discount to manage employee stock programs.
  • On top of compliance by state.
  • Performance Management program functionality is "clunky" and not customizable.
  • You have to submit a ticket for almost every question or use the chatbot feature. Ticket timing turnaround is 24-36 hours.
  • They will not share all information regarding your employees. For example, your employee has a question about their W-2. TriNet will not share employee W-2s with you.
February 22, 2024

TriNet

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Time & Attendance weekly Time tracking & Meal Penalty tracking.
  • LOA management.
  • Payroll
  • Time Off
  • Integration with Accounting GL.
  • Time & Attendance Report that cover more than one pay period.
  • HR Specialist support on special cases and enquiry.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • They are very good at compliance, almost problematically so.
  • The open enrollment and benefits renewal processes are excellent.
  • Their employees are very kind and responsive.
  • The portal is often problematic: time-tracking has little to no flexibility; notifications on the dashboard never. go. away.; getting anything updated or implemented can take forever; and there are a lot of things in the payroll process that make absolutely no sense whatsoever (i.e. not being able to verify, even at an approximation, what the pay for an employee is on their final payroll after termination until the payroll has already been approved and processed.)
  • Administrators are entirely unable to make adjustments to employees in the system without strict oversight by TriNet. It is rather absurd considering that there has to be some amount of shared responsibility there.
  • TriNet reps told us what we wanted to hear in getting us to switch to their service. When we finally did switch, there was not nearly enough onboarding, and a few things that we were told would be possible were, in fact, not possible.
Judy Keesecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Payroll processing
  • Communication via email with their clients
  • payroll reports
  • Benefit process
  • onboarding new hire
  • Vacation and sick leave tracking etc
  • To have some reports readily available like SOC
  • Workers comp reporting to have access in the reports
  • Cobra information if former employees opt-in having that information available in the reports section would help
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Expense Reporting.
  • Compliance.
  • HR Notices.
  • Time Off has been finnicky. Currently, our entire staff shows negative time for sick time accruals.
  • The dashboard can be used in Dark mode, but the accessibility doesn't work in Dark Mode.
  • The UI can be clunky.
February 12, 2024

Thumbs up!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Payroll tracking and auditing, salary revision and increment management
  • Benefit synopsis
  • Providing employee and company reports
  • I would love to have one person to contact (account manager per say) that can point me in the right direction with any issue that arises.
  • Provide client notice of any charges/fees in a reasonable timeframe.
February 09, 2024

TriNet is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Recruitment
  • Benefits
  • Payroll
  • Leaves of Absences
  • Onboarding
  • Offboarding
  • Interface
  • Mobile access
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service
February 07, 2024

Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • payroll
  • time management
  • HR
  • The staff does not return call on time
  • the time keeping portal glitches a lot
  • the on boarding seems to complicated for some employees
January 31, 2024

TriNet Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Payroll processing is simple
  • Updates to federal/state/local requirements are conveyed to us via email.
  • Access to webinars and training are good.
  • Customer service from dedicated rep - Responses not timely, unclear responses, no follow up or confirmation from rep. Often times I need to follow up several times on emails. My rep has never picked up the phone when I called, or returned messages I've left. Lack of expertise in my opinion.
  • Text and phone support should be available for basic questions and they should have more knowledge so responses are available quickly. For general questions that I chat in or phone customer service about, they will simply create a ticket that goes back to my rep and then I still have to follow up to try and get assistance.
  • Training (such as performance reviews) should be recorded so that we can rewatch them. If there are concerns about changes affecting the info, there should be several disclaimers explaining that this information can change at any time and that it's highly suggested to watch the video within the next month of the recording date, for example.
January 31, 2024

More 4 Less

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Broad benefits offerings
  • Customer service with real time response
  • Training selections
  • Ability to upload tables and libraries for customized App Integration syncing
  • Podcast for community outreach and human resource channel
  • Career building tools that can help teams highlight and advance their skill sets
Return to navigation