TriNet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
813 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 500)

David Sayroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Try TriNet and you'll have no regrets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communication. the quality of Human Capital within the TriNet family.
  • Providing current and applicable HR and market information to businesses in many different industries.
  • Reporting information and availability of data that help to analyze all aspects of HR related issues and costs.
  • We recently had an instance of separation from the parent company retirement program and the migration from their platform to a new, stand-alone platform took months longer than expected.
  • The recent change in market/economic conditions has caused a loss of Human Capital within TriNet causing some extended wait times and a slight loss in communication as compared to 4+ months ago.
Read David Sayroo's full review
Devin Schubbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Review of TriNet's services for a small investment banking firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ease and ability to edit payroll and create additional payroll entries
  • The interface for users and administrators is very easy to navigate
  • Account managers are always quick to respond to answer questions
  • When we first signed on, the insurance carrier transfers during the fall was a bit difficult for some and could have been given more guidance on that.
  • Wish there were more carrier options for our area for healthcare benefits.
  • Wish the credit threshold for payroll and commissions was higher to avoid doing a separate wire as getting a reverse wire set up with major banks is very difficult.
Read Devin Schubbe's full review
Kathleen Zero | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Truly Happy with TriNet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Response Time
  • Keep us updated on new benefits for employees
  • Coverage
  • Increases in benefits, each year it just goes up a small amount
  • When you dial into the 800 number for assistance, they really want you to speak with your rep but sometimes the rep is busy and we need an answer quickly.
Read Kathleen Zero's full review
Rebecca Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

TriNet is a must-have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll - make a mistake? They can fix it.
  • Human resources - not sure what to do? TriNet has all the answers.
  • Customer service - need help? Your TriNet rep is ALWAYS available.
  • The TriNet Expense app could be more user friendly.
Read Rebecca Lopez's full review
Selene Benavides | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

TriNet can save you time and money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and navigate platform.
  • Responds to questions quickly.
  • Provides detailed reporting access when needed.
  • Gives guidance on HR issues and concerns.
  • Proactively makes you aware of changes in states where your employees resides.
  • Keeps you in compliance with state employment requirements.
  • When asking for guidance on particular issues, they can be vague.
  • Turn around time can sometimes be slow.
  • Fees go up every year.
Read Selene Benavides's full review
Karen Cabral | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Only TriNet!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to complete payroll ahead of time and having Trinet grab the information on the date it is due is a great tool. Being a small company sometimes it is difficult to process on the exact day.
  • Having access to our representative to answer HR questions so I do not need to continuously go to updated classes is also valuble.
  • Having the employees have access to online check-stubes and W2 for the entire time they have worked for the company is a benefit.
  • Notices in advance for open enrollment is a benefit for all employees.
  • In almost all cases the response for questions asked and things needed has been quick.
  • I have to deal with management from another state that is one of our investors and at times the questions or items they needed were not able to be answered through Trinet but I do not believe this was Trinet's fault.
  • My consultant/representative is wonderful and very quick to respond and helpful.
Read Karen Cabral's full review
Kasia Doyle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

great service, but phone number for Europe would be also fantastic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Specialised in HR topics
  • Everything can be done online, great system, easy payroll input, great reports, self-service for employees
  • Quick response time to emails
  • Phone number that can be used when calling from outside the U.S. could be provided
Read Kasia Doyle's full review
Steve Kirstiuk | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support during COVID-19 when we required more urgent advice
  • Benefit related support
  • Portal for employees to track payroll and benefit related information
  • Specific support to employees requiring clarity in how they file for unemployment in their state
  • Support is highly dependent on the quality of your representatives. Our current advisor, Becky, has done a very good job but we have had representatives in the past that have not provided proper advice on specific matters, which has resulted in some inefficiencies.
  • Signing into the portal can be more frustrating than it should be.
Read Steve Kirstiuk's full review
Annie Erner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Insurance benefits made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provided in-depth training on using their systems to review the alternative insurance choices.
  • Excellent support along the process.
  • Provided timely emails when re-enrollment was required.
  • The re-enrollment was a little confusing and required phone support which they were happy to provide.
Read Annie Erner's full review
Teresa Bowmar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Promises not kept!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Melissa, our Human Capital Partner is as helpful as possible.
  • Generally TriNet is run very poorly, their response time is slow at best.
  • We carved out workers comp insurance because TriNet's rates were much higher then ours.
  • The biggest disappointment is the rates on our health insurance compared to my husband's company. My husband's company is also with TriNet, in the same town, about the same size, our demo graphs may be older, however, he is 8 years older then I and his company pay half as much for a better plan (Kaiser HMO1 vs Kaiser HMO3). It's not right no matter how TriNet tries to explain it away.
  • Tiffany, our Client Success Partner is particularly useless, as was her predecessor. TriNet will mess up benefit deductions and take 4 months to correct them. The annual CA Labor and IWC posters we need in Spanish, every year it's a battle we still do not have 2020 correct posters.
  • Our health insurance is no longer a savings. I received a quote TriNet would not match; therefore it would be more efficient to go back to performing HR, payroll, and insurance on our own. Come next Jan 1st this is likely what we will do.
Read Teresa Bowmar's full review
Judith Logsdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

The Most Viable Management Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Benefits - Volume purchasing power allows TriNet to put together extensive plan choices; benefit expertise saves client time and money in both shopping for and administering benefit plans.
  • Payroll - TriNet will always ensure that employees are paid appropriately and timely and that all payroll taxes are submitted appropriately and timely.
  • Because TriNet corporate employees cannot be named as trusted advisors at a client location, HR Passport is not designed well to accommodate the former corporate employee who later becomes an employee of a client. With the number of work-site employees now co-employed under the TriNet umbrella, this issue needs to be corrected, as it will happen with more frequency.
Read Judith Logsdon's full review
Kimberly Schick | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll is great and very easy to process.
  • PTO is easy to use, our employees and managers love the ease of it and the email notifications.
  • My payroll admin from TriNet is very attentive to me and replies to my questions in a timely manner.
  • Allowing the Admin User Company to correct PTO in the system directly and not relying on TriNet to correct the starting balances.
  • Allowing the Admin User Company to enter deductions into the system directly and not relying on TriNet to do it.
Read Kimberly Schick's full review
LEE SMITH | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The timekeeping module and mobile application is a big plus for us.
  • Benefit selection was an easy understandable process for me.
  • The payroll is a bit restrictive. I couldn't seem to get my first PR Rep to understand a deduction I needed for the company officer on the payroll. I gave up then was shortly transferred to a new rep. I haven't brought up the issue again.
  • Currently not using the Paid Time off module. I was given 2 choices and have not chosen either yet. I am still approving time off internally, but the application on the paychecks works fine.
Read LEE SMITH's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Excellent combined HR & benefits management solution for our growing business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works seamlessly with our accounting team to run payroll.
  • Employees can easily access and track payroll and benefits info online.
  • Live support services are very good, especially for employees.
  • May be cost prohibitive for some small companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2020

Useful, especially for smaller companies!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having a dedicated representative.
  • Payroll processor.
  • Assists with benefits and renewal.
  • If the representative is away, new ones might not always know the situation.
  • General contact email isn't often helpful.
  • The new reports system isn't as good as the one before.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

Not on par!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Responsive Payroll, Business Partner and Senior level TriNet staff.
  • Payroll representative is amazing to help find solutions in her wheelhouse.
  • Business Partner works to find solutions and is great at researching answers as needed.
  • Based on years in business, there are a number of PEO functionality and services that are not in place or just starting to be considered. Example: This is our HRIS and TriNet is not positioned to connect with other 3rd party vendors that we use. We either have to manually upload the report to a 3rd party or pay extra for API development. My experience at other companies with a PEO, it is the PEO's role (ie. ADP PEO does this).
  • Legal guidance - (handbook development, legal guidance, org changes guidance) these are services that you have to ask for, hope for, and ultimately use an external counsel. (ADP does this work for you as a co-employer.)
  • Recommend Stratustime - but it is not integrated with TriNet. So we have to manually upload data. This is the time and attendance product and labor-intensive!
  • Resources for TriNet Business partner is challenging for them, so as a client, we have to wait until the TriNet BP can get someone in-house to give them info and directions (Legal, STD info, TriNet platform, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

TriNet Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll is easy
  • Offers great health insurance plans and a variety to suite employee needs
  • Are available to answer questions pretty quickly
  • We have to micromanage to ensure that when things deviate from the usual/normal, those things get taken care of correctly.
  • The front line workers tend to not be the best trained so we sometimes have to ask to speak to managers or other people to ensure that the information we receive is correct.
  • TriNet is pretty siloed, so it can be hard to get information from more than one department if there is an issue that spans more than one department (401k issue that needs the 401k team and payroll team to work together as an example).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

TriNet is great in theory, with a good interface for employee experience.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Account Management- Nicole P. is absolutely amazing and so supportive! Helps us tackle any hurdles that come our way!
  • Employee Experience on the App- TriNet's app is very user friendly and has a great layout to provide a good UX.
  • Operations- Alecia J. is full of knowledge to help us and is very quick to follow up and execute requests, which is always appreciated!
  • Benefits- TriNet benefits are a bit tough. The site used to create and compare models in preparation to select a funding strategy is severely outdated and not user friendly. Additionally, for two years running, we have seen increases in our plan rates of 15%+ which is unmanageable in the long term for a smaller company like us.
  • HR Support- In the last year, we have had 3 different HR Partners assigned to us. Two of the three created more problems than they solved and proved to be quite disorganized, unreliable, and lacked the knowledge to support our business effectively. That being said, Whitney M. is supporting us currently and she has been great to work with!
  • Resources for Employees- TriNet has many resources for Employers on how things work, but I've noticed that many times when we request promotional materials for employees, they don't exist (i.e. a flyer for the EAP or tips on utilizing benefits properly, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

The Value TriNet provides to my Firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TriNet sets up our benefits options so that they are easy to understand. This is important because our employees rely on these benefits to keep themselves and their families healthy.
  • Through TriNet, we have access to clear and concise payroll reports that we have used for various purposes.
  • TriNet has helped us facilitate family leave for some of our employees, which alleviated the stress these employees were facing.
  • When our payroll is larger than usual, the process and deadlines for submitting it can be stressful.
  • It would be helpful to be able to talk directly to certain experts that are addressing our questions rather than always having to communicate through our appointed representative.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Not Worth the Cash and Time - Beware Small Businesses

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Benefits options are very good with many options for choice on dental and vision.
  • Transition services from your current system is a nightmare. They are not well equipped to do this well.
  • If you are a government contractor and all of the rules and regs that go with that, this PEO is NOT for you.
  • Customer service is laughable.
  • The TriNet timekeeping system and its integration back into their payroll platform is terrible and that is being generous.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Quality with room to improve

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The payroll submission process is user-friendly.
  • PTO accrual and usage is handled well and removes the need for manual tracking on my end.
  • When I have special HR requests, I typically get quick and detailed responses and support.
  • When I request information from my rep, there are time when they place the burden of research back on me instead of doing the leg work themselves.
  • I would like to see better response times when I have questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Great offering for a small company or startup

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TriNet provides small employers with cost-effective access to health and medical plans that would be difficult or expensive to obtain otherwise.
  • TriNet's recruiting platform creates a seamless workflow between candidates, recruiting, hiring managers and human resources, saving significant time in managing the hiring and onboarding process.
  • As the co-employer, TriNet handles many of the administrative tasks necessary to comply with state laws, specifically as it relates to the handling of various state and/or local payroll taxes.
  • TriNet Expense, used for reimbursement of employee expenses, is significantly behind top class providers, such as Concur or Expensify. TriNet would be better off partnering with an existing quality provider.
  • While responsive to questions, the account management or client management process seems nonexistent.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (280)
8.4
Employment history (311)
8.3
Job profiles and administration (295)
8.1
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (361)
8.0
Organizational charting (250)
7.2
Organization and location management (247)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (337)
8.0
Pay calculation (473)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (5)
8.0
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (13)
8.2
Benefit plan administration (481)
8.7
Direct deposit files (444)
9.2
Salary revision and increment management (385)
8.8
Reimbursement management (229)
7.8
Approval workflow (237)
8.0
Balance details (292)
8.2
Annual carry-forward and encashment (230)
8.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (455)
8.8
Update personal information (466)
8.9
View company policy documentation (394)
8.4
Employee recognition (125)
7.9
View job history (327)
8.2
Tracking of all physical assets (1)
1
Report builder (315)
7.2
Pre-built reports (365)
7.4
Ability to combine HR data with external data (177)
6.6
New hire portal (387)
8.5
Manager tracking tools (223)
8.5
Corporate goal setting (40)
7.9
Individual goal setting (43)
8.0
Line-of sight-visibility (41)
7.5
Performance tracking (42)
7.9
Performance plans (82)
6.1
Performance improvement plans (81)
6.3
Review status tracking (78)
7.1
Review reminders (82)
5.7
Multiple review frequency (3)
7.2
Candidate ranking (1)
8.2
Candidate search (31)
6.4
Candidate development (28)
6.9
Job Requisition Management (32)
6.5
Company Website Posting (1)
5.5
Publish to Social Media (26)
6.4
Job Search Site Posting (34)
6.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (1)
9.1
Applicant Tracking (36)
6.6
Notifications and Alerts (40)
6.7

About TriNet

TriNet provides small and medium size businesses (SMBs) with full-service HR solutions tailored by industry. The vendor aims to free SMBs from HR complexities by offering access to human capital expertise, benefits, risk mitigation and compliance, payroll and real-time technology. From Main Street to Wall Street, TriNet's goal is to empower SMBs to focus on what matters most—growing their business.
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

TriNet Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Does not have featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

TriNet Videos (2)

TriNet Integrations

TriNet Competitors

ADP TotalSource, Insperity, Paychex PEO, Oasis

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

TriNet Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TriNet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android