TrustRadius
Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private. https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/NK/UX/ETABGXCDP4TT.pngGreat for reaching liberal teens and young adults. Not recommended for B2B use. Ever.Tumblr is a widely used blogging platform that's simple to use. We use Tumblr specifically for clients since, internally, we don't have much use for it. We implement it for clients that create shareable content that appeals to the Tumblr user demographic (teens and young adults interested in self-expression and an income of $75k or less, slightly skewed toward females).,Tumblr's demographics may serve some businesses very well. We notice a higher rate of engagement with content shared on Tumblr vs. other leading social media. It's very easy to build a Tumblr following (and typically quicker than Facebook).,Tumblr doesn't provide detailed engagement statistics (other than interactions over a predefined set of date ranges). Reblogging items from another Tumblr blog is cumbersome and results in multiple page redirects/refreshes. Tumblr's design and feature development is not well organized. These changes introduce variables that must be explained when reporting on KPIs.,6,Tumblr takes time to manage and, thus, the way many clients evaluate ROI is subjectively based on brand impression.,Blogger, Facebook, Twitter and Twitter,Facebook for Business, Hootsuite Pro, IFTTTTumblr is TrustworthySince Tumblr is capable of supporting so many functions, it's a useful tool within a group of people to ensure that we are all "on the same page" regarding issues at hand. The support of blogs and samples/examples of product categories is a great feature for people who think visually.,The ability to follow blogs that deal with very specific topics and POV is very useful, as they are generally well written and highly on point. Being able to use a visual example within a "digital community" to say "is this what you mean?" is priceless. When a team is "word smithing" something, such as a mission statement, using examples from Tumblr is very effective.,The search function could be more robust and detailed. I personally like the randomized visual layout of examples, but some team members found it to be annoying. The "recommended for you" feature rarely makes a lot of sense to me...,10,Saves time and effort by not wasting efforts on untenable issues. Helps creative thinkers get to the point rapidly. Brings multiple approaches/ideas to the virtual table.,Google BigQuery,Adobe Analytics, Microsoft Application Virtualization,50Tumble into TumblrTumblr can actually be a fantastic tool for retail businesses . At our business, we have found it to be a great way to show new merchandise to attract more younger customers to our store. Depending upon what type of merchandise you wish to showcase to your followers, you really need to do testing with different types of effects that show the product that you are offering in such a way that your customers are more likely to find appealing. It really doesn't hurt to have someone that you may already have on staff with a photography or design background do the initial photographs for you. By creating a Tumblr for your business, it opens up a new avenue to bring in new clientele, which is great for businesses both large and small. I would caution that some of the photo effects that you use on Tumblr can help or harm your business depending upon how you use them. Make sure to give a flattering, but accurate portrayal of your merchandise so that customers do not feel misled. Also, make sure that your regular customers can be made aware of your business Tumblr when they come into the store.This way they can encourage their own followers to seek out your Tumblr and increase the chance of bringing in new business from your Tumblr account.,Tumblr is very accessible as a download for cell phones. It's free to use. It allows for employees who might not otherwise have the opportunity to express creativity at work to do so for the benefit of your business.,It can be hard to get followers, similar to Twitter. Also similar to Twitter, its possible to get followers that are in no way interested in your business and seeking to promote themselves. If you want to use Tumblr to promote your products online, it can be a trial and error process that can be frustrating for businesses that have little experience with photography.,8,It has increased the visibility of our business overall. We are able to tell which items are clients are more likely to buy before we even put them on display. It give employees an opportunity to use their own creativity to help generate revenue for the business.,Facebook, Twitter and InstagramI'm Head Over Heels for TumblrI use Tumblr for several of my clients. It is great for clients who want to share short form and visual content (like lifestyle, fashion and design industry clients). It's usually used by one or more people on the content marketing team of an organization. I also have several online personality clients who use the platform.,Tumblr integrates with other platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. This helps increase the reach of a piece of content. Tumblr is easy to set up and use. Tumblr is easily customizable. Tumblr has a great mobile app for on-the-go publishing. Tumblr has several free themes that suit many different types of publishing needs.,Tumblr doesn't pull the image thumbnail directly from a link, so the user has to manually input an image link as well when publishing a link post. Some of Tumblr's themes have functionality issues (for instance, the tweets widget may not always work in some themes). Tumblr does not support ads.,10,Increased traffic to websites Increased reach for marketing content Increased brand recognition,,10Out for a TumblrI, personally, use Tumblr to review media, connect with friends through shared posts and images, and to follow crafters who make work that I'm interested in. It acts as an easy-to-update starting platform for new business to reach out to consumers through tagging, spotlighted posts, and fanbases in a way that business websites cannot. It also allows people to connect one on one in an informal blog setting with direct messaging and links to external sites or services.,Tagging posts - You can experiment with tags to get views and to organize your own posts for later review. Variety of post options - You can upload a good variety of media (text, image, sound, video, links) and set them to post on a schedule or immediately. This gives you some flexibility when scheduling online campaigns or keeping up with followers. Connecting communities - Tumblr is an informal network with a lot of followers, so it's a great platform for reaching out to youths and starting discussions. Many of the circles on this site involve information about news, culture, and activism while others serve as support groups or fanbases.,Trigger tags should be a thing - Many people on tumblr are vulnerable to certain content, and it can be hard to avoid it. Maybe some of these tags would help restrict content. An in-line gif creator would be pretty cool. Verify celebrity accounts. I haven't looked for one in a while, but I remember that being a concern.,9,Tumblr has helped me meet new people with similar interests. I used it for development blog postings for a game we worked on in college. N/A- Not really business oriented beyond linking to pages, but I don't have one of those businesses. I've just seen people use it for that.,blogspot
Unspecified
Tumblr
56 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tumblr Reviews

Tumblr
56 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 56 vetted Tumblr reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Matthew Hardesty profile photo
April 30, 2016

Tumblr Review: "Great for reaching liberal teens and young adults. Not recommended for B2B use. Ever."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tumblr is a widely used blogging platform that's simple to use. We use Tumblr specifically for clients since, internally, we don't have much use for it. We implement it for clients that create shareable content that appeals to the Tumblr user demographic (teens and young adults interested in self-expression and an income of $75k or less, slightly skewed toward females).
  • Tumblr's demographics may serve some businesses very well.
  • We notice a higher rate of engagement with content shared on Tumblr vs. other leading social media.
  • It's very easy to build a Tumblr following (and typically quicker than Facebook).
  • Tumblr doesn't provide detailed engagement statistics (other than interactions over a predefined set of date ranges).
  • Reblogging items from another Tumblr blog is cumbersome and results in multiple page redirects/refreshes.
  • Tumblr's design and feature development is not well organized. These changes introduce variables that must be explained when reporting on KPIs.
Tumblr is well suited for sharing media and short form content to a liberal, teen, and young adult audience. However, it's not well suited for B2B marketing. Also, if editorial control of comments and replies is important, another platform may be more appropriate. If your target demographic is center or conservative, you're likely to have better success elsewhere.
Read Matthew Hardesty's full review
Constance Conklin profile photo
March 04, 2016

User Review: "Tumblr is Trustworthy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since Tumblr is capable of supporting so many functions, it's a useful tool within a group of people to ensure that we are all "on the same page" regarding issues at hand. The support of blogs and samples/examples of product categories is a great feature for people who think visually.
  • The ability to follow blogs that deal with very specific topics and POV is very useful, as they are generally well written and highly on point.
  • Being able to use a visual example within a "digital community" to say "is this what you mean?" is priceless.
  • When a team is "word smithing" something, such as a mission statement, using examples from Tumblr is very effective.
  • The search function could be more robust and detailed.
  • I personally like the randomized visual layout of examples, but some team members found it to be annoying.
  • The "recommended for you" feature rarely makes a lot of sense to me...
Preparing for a creative meeting makes Tumblr a very helpful tool to ensure that participants are ready to work on the same task. Being able to contribute in advance saves folks a lot of time agreeing on "look and feel" issues, and allows greater productivity with in a team of like-minded professionals.
Read Constance Conklin's full review
Sara Gee profile photo
August 25, 2015

User Review: "Tumble into Tumblr"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tumblr can actually be a fantastic tool for retail businesses . At our business, we have found it to be a great way to show new merchandise to attract more younger customers to our store. Depending upon what type of merchandise you wish to showcase to your followers, you really need to do testing with different types of effects that show the product that you are offering in such a way that your customers are more likely to find appealing. It really doesn't hurt to have someone that you may already have on staff with a photography or design background do the initial photographs for you. By creating a Tumblr for your business, it opens up a new avenue to bring in new clientele, which is great for businesses both large and small. I would caution that some of the photo effects that you use on Tumblr can help or harm your business depending upon how you use them. Make sure to give a flattering, but accurate portrayal of your merchandise so that customers do not feel misled. Also, make sure that your regular customers can be made aware of your business Tumblr when they come into the store.This way they can encourage their own followers to seek out your Tumblr and increase the chance of bringing in new business from your Tumblr account.
  • Tumblr is very accessible as a download for cell phones.
  • It's free to use.
  • It allows for employees who might not otherwise have the opportunity to express creativity at work to do so for the benefit of your business.
  • It can be hard to get followers, similar to Twitter.
  • Also similar to Twitter, its possible to get followers that are in no way interested in your business and seeking to promote themselves.
  • If you want to use Tumblr to promote your products online, it can be a trial and error process that can be frustrating for businesses that have little experience with photography.
It's well suited to promote retail, restaurant, and music venues. It can give potential clientele a sense of not only of your products, but the atmosphere and ambiance that your business reflects as well.
I do feel that it is limited in the relevance that it has to certain types of businesses, and like many social media platforms there is more quantity and less quality on Tumblr. However, this could be an asset in that your particular business's Tumblr could have an opportunity to stand out from the crowd.
Before using Tumblr to promote your business, its key to see if your clientele and the type of clientele that you are trying to attract would respond positively to Tumblr, otherwise it would be a waste of employee time.
Read Sara Gee's full review
Carla Riseman profile photo
March 11, 2014

User Review: "I'm Head Over Heels for Tumblr"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Tumblr for several of my clients. It is great for clients who want to share short form and visual content (like lifestyle, fashion and design industry clients). It's usually used by one or more people on the content marketing team of an organization. I also have several online personality clients who use the platform.
  • Tumblr integrates with other platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. This helps increase the reach of a piece of content.
  • Tumblr is easy to set up and use.
  • Tumblr is easily customizable.
  • Tumblr has a great mobile app for on-the-go publishing.
  • Tumblr has several free themes that suit many different types of publishing needs.
  • Tumblr doesn't pull the image thumbnail directly from a link, so the user has to manually input an image link as well when publishing a link post.
  • Some of Tumblr's themes have functionality issues (for instance, the tweets widget may not always work in some themes).
  • Tumblr does not support ads.
I would say it depends on the business and marketing objectives my colleague has. If my colleague works with lots of themed, visual or short form content, I would recommend a Tumblr blog. If my colleague works with long form, or highly theoretical content, I would not recommend a Tumblr blog.
Read Carla Riseman's full review
No photo available
June 24, 2016

User Review: "Out for a Tumblr"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I, personally, use Tumblr to review media, connect with friends through shared posts and images, and to follow crafters who make work that I'm interested in. It acts as an easy-to-update starting platform for new business to reach out to consumers through tagging, spotlighted posts, and fanbases in a way that business websites cannot. It also allows people to connect one on one in an informal blog setting with direct messaging and links to external sites or services.
  • Tagging posts - You can experiment with tags to get views and to organize your own posts for later review.
  • Variety of post options - You can upload a good variety of media (text, image, sound, video, links) and set them to post on a schedule or immediately. This gives you some flexibility when scheduling online campaigns or keeping up with followers.
  • Connecting communities - Tumblr is an informal network with a lot of followers, so it's a great platform for reaching out to youths and starting discussions. Many of the circles on this site involve information about news, culture, and activism while others serve as support groups or fanbases.
  • Trigger tags should be a thing - Many people on tumblr are vulnerable to certain content, and it can be hard to avoid it. Maybe some of these tags would help restrict content.
  • An in-line gif creator would be pretty cool.
  • Verify celebrity accounts. I haven't looked for one in a while, but I remember that being a concern.
Personal blogging is probably the most appropriate use of this website, though I have also seen it used as a dev blog service for games and films or as a storefront for craft-folks. The fact that you can set up timelines for future posts and can share images, text, videos, etc., makes it ideal for people who need to post products and link to external stores for purchases. The tagging features and universal ability to share personal content makes it great for fanbases/fan art and communities like that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 24, 2016

Review: "Tumblr - Stacking up against other social media"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tumblr is used by myself and not for the organization. I use it to share interesting photos and also to follow other users who have interesting content. I once had to use it for a project where social media integration was needed. This helped me familiarize myself with the developer API.
  • Tumblr is a great option for visual blogging and other posts with minimal texts.
  • Users tend to post interesting and catchy posts that even goes beyond the boundaries of Tumblr and into other social media.
  • Tumblr is free and can be used even by beginners. The user interface is very easy to learn and interact.
  • Tumblr can improve by providing users with more customization options for their posts.
  • It cannot be used as a complete alternative to other social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter.
  • Google photos and Facebook helps users improve their photos by showing filter suggestions or auto toning. Tumblr currently doesn't have this option and would be a great addition to it.
Tumblr is great if you want to just share some images and small amounts of texts. However, since Twitter does the same thing, it wouldn't be fair to say that Tumblr is the better alternative. With a higher user base, Twitter could be a better alternative to any Tumblr users. The only factor by which Tumblr stands out would be the way people react and respond to posts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 24, 2016

User Review: "Tumblr for days"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used to use Tumblr for my own personal work. It is interesting as a social media platform and allows for a lot more creative expression.
  • Very user friendly
  • Easy set-up and account management
  • Very personalization friendly
  • No cons really
Tumblr is great for personal use and perhaps the promotion of an artist or artistic brand.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2016

User Review: "Timely tumblr"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very simple and easy to use. My work is very visual and Tumblr provides a great platform for more visual posts.
  • Easy to post visuals
  • Easy to search tags
  • Easy to implement
  • More professional options
  • Better personalization
  • More font options
Tumblr is well suited for short posts with visuals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2016

User Review: "Tumblr!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tumbler is being used by a department. It allows for communication with customers and potential customers to learn about us.
  • Image sharing
  • Content sharing
  • Community building
  • Consistent updates
  • Better theme creation tools
  • Cleaner chat interface
Approaching young people is a strength.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2015

User Review: "Tumblr - worth a try!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tumblr provided a creative and more relaxed blog atmosphere for the PR, Communications company I used it for. It was in addition to a traditional blog featured on their website. Tumblr was a place where they could post more general content that wasn't as client focused as their other blog. Tumblr also has a lot of great blogs to share and engage with unlike a company website blog.
  • I found Tumblr to be user friendly and quick to pick up.
  • Tumblr has a very helpful scheduling tool which allows you to create posts and schedule them for later dates and times. You can edit posts that are scheduled as well.
  • I really liked the ability to easily edit a post after it had already been posted.
  • The scheduling aspect is nice, but it would be better if you could choose a specific date and time rather than a block of time.
  • Sometimes I had issues when I would add a hyperlink.
I think Tumblr is great and useful, but it depends on the situation and what a user needs from it. If you're a serious company that doesn't have room to be relaxed, loose and casual - than Tumblr most likely isn't the platform for you. If as a brand or company you have the ability to be more creative, use humor, engage directly with others than Tumblr would be a good platform to consider and it's a nice separation from a company's website.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2014

Review: "Tumblr makes it easy to blog in real time"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my ad agency, we use Tumblr as a vehicle for writing about media and technology in-the-moment. We encourage the younger members of our staff to create posts about anything they see fit-- innovative new technology (i.e. shoppable billboards), cool activations being executed by our clients, or truly any other advertising or media news that interests them. It's being used across our organization, and the hope is that Tumblr will help continue to build our credibility as an expert in our field.
  • Visually appealing: given that Tumblr is primarily a photo blog - although it has grown into so much more than that - there is an element of attractiveness and consistency to Tumblr. There are templates that you can use when creating your posts, like any user-friendly web tool, and I feel these are helpful in keeping that clean visual consistency.
  • Flexible: it may seem like a small thing, but Tumblr allows you to easily schedule or queue your blogs for future posting. You are able to schedule these posts in such an intuitive way (by typing, for example, "tomorrow, 9 AM" instead of "Thursday, 3/20, at 9:00 AM"), and ensure that your writing is being disseminated in exactly the way you choose.
  • At times, using Tumblr to post various media can feel a bit clumsy. There are some kinks that could be worked out in terms of how pictures are uploaded or copied over from another website, but I don't feel that this ever hinders my use of the tool.
I think Tumblr is the perfect fit for a company or agency that deals in the visual arts or sciences. For advertising, in particular, Tumblr can be useful in helping an agency stake a claim and showcase the work they've done for their client-- which is not always demonstrated in other ways. Tumblr is also incredibly easy to use on-the-go, and is perfect for use in a fast-paced industry.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2014

User Review: "Tumblr for You!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tumblr for our internal blog. After setting up accounts and testing numerous blogging tools, we decided Tumblr was the quickest and easiest to use for easy postings that included text, photos and occasionally video. Tumblr was extraordinarily user friendly and very intuitive.
  • Intuitive ease of use. It was easy to set up and get the account running immediately.
  • Simplicity. Adding text, pictures and video was easy.
  • Look & Feel. For the low maintenance approach we were aiming for, we were surprised that the site actually looked pretty slick.
  • Themes. Not a lot to choose from. I guess when it's free, you can't expect a lot of variety.
  • Videos. Occasionally, a video would take a long time to load or play.
I think Tumblr is well suited for someone focused on a more visual scenario. If your blogs contain large amounts of text, maybe Word Press is a better choice. Tumblr really made it easy to post very quickly which led to us posting more frequently since we just need to pop in a few explanatory sentences and then load the photos. I never really had to work with them directly or try to contact them for support.
Read this authenticated review

About Tumblr

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.
Categories:  Blogging

Tumblr Integrations

Tumblr Competitors