Tumblr

Tumblr

Score 9.1 out of 10
Tumblr

Overview

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Tumblr for days

9 out of 10
June 24, 2016
I used to use Tumblr for my own personal work. It is interesting as a social media platform and allows for a lot more creative expression.
Continue reading

Out for a Tumblr

9 out of 10
June 24, 2016
I, personally, use Tumblr to review media, connect with friends through shared posts and images, and to follow crafters who make work that …
Continue reading

Tumblr!!!

10 out of 10
February 01, 2016
Tumbler is being used by a department. It allows for communication with customers and potential customers to learn about us.
Continue reading

Timely tumblr

6 out of 10
January 22, 2016
It is very simple and easy to use. My work is very visual and Tumblr provides a great platform for more visual posts.
Continue reading

Tumble into Tumblr

8 out of 10
August 25, 2015
Tumblr can actually be a fantastic tool for retail businesses . At our business, we have found it to be a great way to show new …
Continue reading

Tumblr for You!

9 out of 10
January 13, 2014
We use Tumblr for our internal blog. After setting up accounts and testing numerous blogging tools, we decided Tumblr was the quickest and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Tumblr, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

12 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Wix?

Wix is a free, hosted website builder, designed to be user-friendly and customizable without requiring coding from the user. It is well-known for its eCommerce solution, which allows users to build an online store.

What is Prezly?

Prezly is presented by the vendor as all-in-one public relations management tool that helps PR teams organise their workflow, collaborate and save time.Accessible through any browser, Prezly's key features are divided between three main areas:Contact managementFull PR CRM for managing your contacts…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Tumblr Integrations

Tumblr Competitors

Frequently Asked Questions

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Blogger and LiveJournal are common alternatives for Tumblr.

The most common users of Tumblr are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (64)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-14 of 14)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tumblr can be complicated when it comes to using it in a work setting. With the privacy options being somewhat limited, you will want to make sure that your staff are only sharing information that they are comfortable with in the public realm. You'll need to put some effort into designing an appropriate policy that covers the use of Tumblr and what content can be shared.

If you're simply finding a way to engage staff and perhaps show outsiders what it is like to work at your organization, it can be used quite effectively, but you have to be mindful of how involved it gets.
Mohit Goenka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tumblr is very suitable for presentation of free flow information. This includes creating blogs for specific topics or a stream of stories. It is also good for displaying a selection of photos.

Tumblr doesn't work very well if you want to categorize your information in multiple sections on the same page.
June 24, 2016

Out for a Tumblr

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Personal blogging is probably the most appropriate use of this website, though I have also seen it used as a dev blog service for games and films or as a storefront for craft-folks. The fact that you can set up timelines for future posts and can share images, text, videos, etc., makes it ideal for people who need to post products and link to external stores for purchases. The tagging features and universal ability to share personal content makes it great for fanbases/fan art and communities like that.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tumblr is great if you want to just share some images and small amounts of texts. However, since Twitter does the same thing, it wouldn't be fair to say that Tumblr is the better alternative. With a higher user base, Twitter could be a better alternative to any Tumblr users. The only factor by which Tumblr stands out would be the way people react and respond to posts.
Matthew Hardesty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tumblr is well suited for sharing media and short form content to a liberal, teen, and young adult audience. However, it's not well suited for B2B marketing. Also, if editorial control of comments and replies is important, another platform may be more appropriate. If your target demographic is center or conservative, you're likely to have better success elsewhere.
March 04, 2016

Tumblr is Trustworthy

Constance Conklin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Preparing for a creative meeting makes Tumblr a very helpful tool to ensure that participants are ready to work on the same task. Being able to contribute in advance saves folks a lot of time agreeing on "look and feel" issues, and allows greater productivity with in a team of like-minded professionals.
August 25, 2015

Tumble into Tumblr

Sara Gee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's well suited to promote retail, restaurant, and music venues. It can give potential clientele a sense of not only of your products, but the atmosphere and ambiance that your business reflects as well. I do feel that it is limited in the relevance that it has to certain types of businesses, and like many social media platforms there is more quantity and less quality on Tumblr. However, this could be an asset in that your particular business's Tumblr could have an opportunity to stand out from the crowd. Before using Tumblr to promote your business, its key to see if your clientele and the type of clientele that you are trying to attract would respond positively to Tumblr, otherwise it would be a waste of employee time.
April 08, 2015

Tumblr - worth a try!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think Tumblr is great and useful, but it depends on the situation and what a user needs from it. If you're a serious company that doesn't have room to be relaxed, loose and casual - than Tumblr most likely isn't the platform for you. If as a brand or company you have the ability to be more creative, use humor, engage directly with others than Tumblr would be a good platform to consider and it's a nice separation from a company's website.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think Tumblr is the perfect fit for a company or agency that deals in the visual arts or sciences. For advertising, in particular, Tumblr can be useful in helping an agency stake a claim and showcase the work they've done for their client-- which is not always demonstrated in other ways. Tumblr is also incredibly easy to use on-the-go, and is perfect for use in a fast-paced industry.
Carla Riseman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I would say it depends on the business and marketing objectives my colleague has. If my colleague works with lots of themed, visual or short form content, I would recommend a Tumblr blog. If my colleague works with long form, or highly theoretical content, I would not recommend a Tumblr blog.
January 13, 2014

Tumblr for You!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think Tumblr is well suited for someone focused on a more visual scenario. If your blogs contain large amounts of text, maybe Word Press is a better choice. Tumblr really made it easy to post very quickly which led to us posting more frequently since we just need to pop in a few explanatory sentences and then load the photos. I never really had to work with them directly or try to contact them for support.
Return to navigation