Tumblr

Tumblr

Score 9.1 out of 10
Tumblr

Overview

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Tumblr for days

9 out of 10
June 24, 2016
I used to use Tumblr for my own personal work. It is interesting as a social media platform and allows for a lot more creative expression.
Continue reading

Out for a Tumblr

9 out of 10
June 24, 2016
I, personally, use Tumblr to review media, connect with friends through shared posts and images, and to follow crafters who make work that …
Continue reading

Tumblr!!!

10 out of 10
February 01, 2016
Tumbler is being used by a department. It allows for communication with customers and potential customers to learn about us.
Continue reading

Timely tumblr

6 out of 10
January 22, 2016
It is very simple and easy to use. My work is very visual and Tumblr provides a great platform for more visual posts.
Continue reading

Tumble into Tumblr

8 out of 10
August 25, 2015
Tumblr can actually be a fantastic tool for retail businesses . At our business, we have found it to be a great way to show new …
Continue reading

Tumblr for You!

9 out of 10
January 13, 2014
We use Tumblr for our internal blog. After setting up accounts and testing numerous blogging tools, we decided Tumblr was the quickest and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Tumblr, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

12 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Wix?

Wix is a free, hosted website builder, designed to be user-friendly and customizable without requiring coding from the user. It is well-known for its eCommerce solution, which allows users to build an online store.

What is Prezly?

Prezly is presented by the vendor as all-in-one public relations management tool that helps PR teams organise their workflow, collaborate and save time.Accessible through any browser, Prezly's key features are divided between three main areas:Contact managementFull PR CRM for managing your contacts…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Tumblr?

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Tumblr Integrations

Tumblr Competitors

Frequently Asked Questions

Tumblr is a very easy to use microblogging platform and social networking website, owned and operated by Tumblr, Inc. The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog. Users can follow other users' blogs, as well as make their blogs private.

Blogger and LiveJournal are common alternatives for Tumblr.

The most common users of Tumblr are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (64)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-14 of 14)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Simple microblogging platform that is easy to use.
  • Easy to follow and share your own content.
  • Wide variety of content for users to link to and respond to.
  • Better filters to limit offensive or not safe for work content.
  • More options for responding to posts.
  • More robust privacy options to cater to a wider variety of users and needs.
June 24, 2016

Out for a Tumblr

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tagging posts - You can experiment with tags to get views and to organize your own posts for later review.
  • Variety of post options - You can upload a good variety of media (text, image, sound, video, links) and set them to post on a schedule or immediately. This gives you some flexibility when scheduling online campaigns or keeping up with followers.
  • Connecting communities - Tumblr is an informal network with a lot of followers, so it's a great platform for reaching out to youths and starting discussions. Many of the circles on this site involve information about news, culture, and activism while others serve as support groups or fanbases.
  • Trigger tags should be a thing - Many people on tumblr are vulnerable to certain content, and it can be hard to avoid it. Maybe some of these tags would help restrict content.
  • An in-line gif creator would be pretty cool.
  • Verify celebrity accounts. I haven't looked for one in a while, but I remember that being a concern.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tumblr is a great option for visual blogging and other posts with minimal texts.
  • Users tend to post interesting and catchy posts that even goes beyond the boundaries of Tumblr and into other social media.
  • Tumblr is free and can be used even by beginners. The user interface is very easy to learn and interact.
  • Tumblr can improve by providing users with more customization options for their posts.
  • It cannot be used as a complete alternative to other social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter.
  • Google photos and Facebook helps users improve their photos by showing filter suggestions or auto toning. Tumblr currently doesn't have this option and would be a great addition to it.
Matthew Hardesty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tumblr's demographics may serve some businesses very well.
  • We notice a higher rate of engagement with content shared on Tumblr vs. other leading social media.
  • It's very easy to build a Tumblr following (and typically quicker than Facebook).
  • Tumblr doesn't provide detailed engagement statistics (other than interactions over a predefined set of date ranges).
  • Reblogging items from another Tumblr blog is cumbersome and results in multiple page redirects/refreshes.
  • Tumblr's design and feature development is not well organized. These changes introduce variables that must be explained when reporting on KPIs.
March 04, 2016

Tumblr is Trustworthy

Constance Conklin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • The ability to follow blogs that deal with very specific topics and POV is very useful, as they are generally well written and highly on point.
  • Being able to use a visual example within a "digital community" to say "is this what you mean?" is priceless.
  • When a team is "word smithing" something, such as a mission statement, using examples from Tumblr is very effective.
  • The search function could be more robust and detailed.
  • I personally like the randomized visual layout of examples, but some team members found it to be annoying.
  • The "recommended for you" feature rarely makes a lot of sense to me...
February 01, 2016

Tumblr!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Image sharing
  • Content sharing
  • Community building
  • Consistent updates
  • Better theme creation tools
  • Cleaner chat interface
August 25, 2015

Tumble into Tumblr

Sara Gee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tumblr is very accessible as a download for cell phones.
  • It's free to use.
  • It allows for employees who might not otherwise have the opportunity to express creativity at work to do so for the benefit of your business.
  • It can be hard to get followers, similar to Twitter.
  • Also similar to Twitter, its possible to get followers that are in no way interested in your business and seeking to promote themselves.
  • If you want to use Tumblr to promote your products online, it can be a trial and error process that can be frustrating for businesses that have little experience with photography.
April 08, 2015

Tumblr - worth a try!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • I found Tumblr to be user friendly and quick to pick up.
  • Tumblr has a very helpful scheduling tool which allows you to create posts and schedule them for later dates and times. You can edit posts that are scheduled as well.
  • I really liked the ability to easily edit a post after it had already been posted.
  • The scheduling aspect is nice, but it would be better if you could choose a specific date and time rather than a block of time.
  • Sometimes I had issues when I would add a hyperlink.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Visually appealing: given that Tumblr is primarily a photo blog - although it has grown into so much more than that - there is an element of attractiveness and consistency to Tumblr. There are templates that you can use when creating your posts, like any user-friendly web tool, and I feel these are helpful in keeping that clean visual consistency.
  • Flexible: it may seem like a small thing, but Tumblr allows you to easily schedule or queue your blogs for future posting. You are able to schedule these posts in such an intuitive way (by typing, for example, "tomorrow, 9 AM" instead of "Thursday, 3/20, at 9:00 AM"), and ensure that your writing is being disseminated in exactly the way you choose.
  • At times, using Tumblr to post various media can feel a bit clumsy. There are some kinks that could be worked out in terms of how pictures are uploaded or copied over from another website, but I don't feel that this ever hinders my use of the tool.
Carla Riseman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tumblr integrates with other platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. This helps increase the reach of a piece of content.
  • Tumblr is easy to set up and use.
  • Tumblr is easily customizable.
  • Tumblr has a great mobile app for on-the-go publishing.
  • Tumblr has several free themes that suit many different types of publishing needs.
  • Tumblr doesn't pull the image thumbnail directly from a link, so the user has to manually input an image link as well when publishing a link post.
  • Some of Tumblr's themes have functionality issues (for instance, the tweets widget may not always work in some themes).
  • Tumblr does not support ads.
January 13, 2014

Tumblr for You!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Intuitive ease of use. It was easy to set up and get the account running immediately.
  • Simplicity. Adding text, pictures and video was easy.
  • Look & Feel. For the low maintenance approach we were aiming for, we were surprised that the site actually looked pretty slick.
  • Themes. Not a lot to choose from. I guess when it's free, you can't expect a lot of variety.
  • Videos. Occasionally, a video would take a long time to load or play.
Return to navigation