UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Reviews

107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Becca Guler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Kronos: A Step (or 2) Up from PeopleSoft HCM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The time card interface is fairly intuitive and easy to read.
  • Updates to time are reflected immediately.
  • Tabs other than the time card tab are not so user friendly.
  • A prompt function reminding managers to approve time on the deadline would be helpful (to my knowledge, this function does not exist. If it did, organizations could load those deadlines, and it could auto-generate from there).
Read Becca Guler's full review
Katie vonErden | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Kronos Workforce Central is Customizable and Robust

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support is very helpful in solving configuration problems.
  • Payroll taxes calculate correctly and without any doubts or confusion.
  • The building block type of structure allows for easy customization.
  • ATK functionality is not user-friendly at all.
  • Reporting tools are not where the organization needed them to be.
  • The organization experienced some slow processing and glitchiness.
Read Katie vonErden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Kronos Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Timeclock.
  • Adds and deducts PTO or sick time.
  • Small glitches with which week the employees are on.
  • Does not update every minute.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Does the job... but a lot to be desired

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One source for all leave/time card needs
  • Everyone needs to use it so there are trainings periodically
  • Severely outdated UI (at least the version our org is using)
  • Core features are unnecessarily buried
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

Kronos would be good for a company with an HRIS team

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking Punches
  • One data entry point for Timekeeper, HR & Payroll
  • Reporting in WC 8.0
  • Difficult to set-up: not a good canned system. Many hours of programming required for set-up
  • Not as integrated as led to believe: there are issues with integration of data at times
  • Difficult to set-up interfaces: the system is not friendly for interfaces
Read this authenticated review
Jo Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Overall we are very pleased with Kronos and it handles all aspects of our timekeeping.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking of punches
  • Tracking of accrued hours
  • With the help of Kronos we were able to create some custom processes that work very well for us.
  • In order to keep things separated for our individual work places for some reporting we had to create multiple versions of the same report with the different location parameters.
  • There are areas that we do not use that I think would be beneficial to our company.
  • While not the fault of Kronos, we do have interfaces both into and out of Kronos, and these do sometimes cause us problems.
Read Jo Fowler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2018

Kronos - Could Be Better. Could Be Worse.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting - reports run quickly once scheduled
  • Time editing - it is quite simple to edit someone's time when necessary
  • Accruals - Kronos correctly calculates our employees' vacation and PTO accruals 99% of the time
  • Reporting - some of the reports' names do not coincide with the data that is pulled from the system
  • System errors - the system crashes regularly on us with no real explanation why
  • Punch accuracy - sometimes the punches from the timeclocks do not feed into the system
Read this authenticated review
John Pavarini | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2018

Solid Tool for Large Organization

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As a full service hospital there can be demands of staff to respond to high census or staffing shortages. Kronos has offered great utilization in floating hours between units and departments, identifying direct or indirect patient care hours, and ultimately offering analytics to clinical and operational leaders. This ability to specifically move hours while at work is exceptional for reporting and planning purposes across the organization.
  • The self-managed and leader managed options of an employee’s time card is of huge benefit. As a 24/7 hour operation it is critical that each individual is accountable for their own timekeeping. Kronos allows each employee to manage and submit adjustment, updates, and changes while at work without having to have their manager do it for them. The proceeding approval/acceptance process with these changes is well established and easy to authenticate.
  • The ability to access and navigate the user interface is very friendly and forgiving. Other systems can be quite cumbersome and hard to navigate, update, and easily change, but Kronos is pretty straight forward both for users and administrators. This ability to easily orient new team members and managers has been a great benefit to the organization.
  • Without proper implementation and guidelines around accountability Kronos can become a burden just like any other misused system. With that said, there are managers who manage near 50 people in our organization and if employees don’t manage/update their time cards a manager will be overwhelmed to keep it accurate for them. When it comes to floating hours and tying it to new locations or cost centers via pay codes it can be a challenge to correct mismanaged time cards.
  • One complaint is that that timecards don’t always update in live time when approving or adjusting hours or time off. When in a crunch to approve timecards prior to payroll being run it can be a little intimidating to submit a timecard that doesn’t represent a full-week of work although you entered or approved the correct hours. Speed and processing of the system lags, so can cause frustration.
  • More automation around requests and approvals would be beneficial to high volume managers. Having to manually approve each request or change can be very time consuming for leaders who must log into the system to do so. Automation around holiday or sick time requests would be nice and would provide some relief to teams. Additionally, creating features to approve such requests visa email link or similar would save the time of having to log into the application.
Read John Pavarini's full review
Elaine Foster | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

Kronos Workforce Central Usage

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Accessible online and through a mobile app outside of work
  • Utilizes the same login system as the rest of our software so we don't have to remember multiple passwords
  • Simple user interface
  • The user interface is simple but it's outdated and doesn't run very smoothly. Sometimes it takes multiple clicks to get the page to change and the password often has to be entered twice.
  • Once you have logged in to the Kronos app for the first time, it stays calibrated to your employer, but the setup requires a set of codes and other info to log in for the first time.
Read Elaine Foster's full review
Juan Osegueda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Kronos Workforce Central... First time user, and I'm Impressed!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and navigate
  • Web-based, can be accessed anywhere, anytime
  • Quick Links makes it easy to find frequently-used options
  • Extensive range of setup tools to customize user experience
  • Training required to use the product effectively, not simple at first
  • Dependent on Java, frequent updates to Java necessary to continue using the Kronos platform
  • Reporting tools are extensive and solid, though some reports can only be extracted in PDF, not in the more usable Excel format. How Kronos determines which can be extracted in Excel vs. PDF, I can't tell.
Read Juan Osegueda's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2018

Kronos provides timekeeping and forecasting capabilites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I personally feel like timekeeping is very well thought out and has some powerful tools built in. There is a bit of a learning curve but with strategically placed SMEs we were able to get the use and functionality we needed out of the system.
  • Workforce planning has been crucial in planning operational support in our retail and customer service centers. It is also editable and modifiable as needed.
  • While it is a pro that the system allows us to do all we need on the timekeeping front, the con is that it requires SMEs to ensure our workforce knows how to do it effectively.
  • The requesting of time off through the calendar/schedule could use some work. It's not intuitive for most of our workforce (regardless if they are retail associates or software engineers) and we frequently run into issues. Our SMEs and guides are able to sort out most issues.
  • I am not a fan of Kronos using FLASH and I find the system to be slow.
Read this authenticated review
Spencer Hamons, MSOL, CHCIO | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2015

Kronos Workforce Central - Works even in the Bush of Alaska

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time and Attendance integration is exceptional, whether using time clocks on online clocking capabilities at off-site locations that lack physical time clocks
  • The ability to track details from an HR perspective, such as educational requirements (and expirations), immunization status, etc was well built
  • Security is very granular, so you can give certain users access to certain pieces of the application, while maintaining security in other areas.
  • Administration of the system is complex. There is no way that an organization with no formal IT department will be able to effectively able to manage the complexity of the system without some outside assistance. This wasn't a problem for our organization as we had a large, formal IT department, but we had four people involved in the build process and one person dedicating approximately 30% of their time to the day-to-day management of the system.
  • The server requirements are extremely robust for the system, utilizing more resources than I really think should be required. Although the system does support virtualization, you have to dedicate a significant amount of CPU and memory to each virtual machine to obtain peak performance.
  • Although you can import data from an extract, this is complex to do. Even if you have someone who is a SQL (this is the version we used) expert, developing importation scripts is difficult. Most likely, if you are doing a switch from a previous system, you will need third party assistance to develop the import / validation scripts.
Read Spencer Hamons, MSOL, CHCIO's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2018

Kronos is not all that it promises to be

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rolling the timekeeping into the payroll system is much easier than with our previous system.
  • Kronos is extremely robust and has many features that we have not begin to use.
  • Kronos can take a simple task and make it overly complicated. This is the problem when the program is so incredibly robust.
  • All of the tax withholding and filing was handled autonomously by our previous payroll company. We had little knowledge of what they were doing. With Kronos, we are required to provide filing schedules, specific EIN for each locality, etc. This is something we would have preferred not to concern ourselves with and was much easier on us when the previous company was handling.
  • Kronos seems to be geared toward large organizations with a payroll department, accounting department, HR department, etc. Our company is small and has only one employee in each of those roles. As such, Kronos can be a real burden on that one employee to do a lot of work that should be handled by a team of people, especially in the implementation phase.
Read this authenticated review
Scott Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2015

WFC Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WFC helps to provide a single point of view into your timekeeping and employee data and information for management.
  • We have found the WFC in the timekeeping arena helps managers make superior staffing decisions based on the use of Hyperfinds queries in conjunction with excellent reporting capabilities.
  • Our employees find the intuitive and informative user interface very easy to navigate.
  • Simple guided " in product" how to's -- hover over help with more of a " Would you like to see more ... " style of help
  • How about large " Task buttons" that walk through steps ....
  • More concise UI
Read Scott Richardson's full review
Melody Dickes | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2015

Why choose Kronos

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This product allows for keeping track of time and attendance a lot better than papertime cards. We have found that being able to setup rules for lunches and breaks will keep people from abusing these privileges. The ability to request time off and get manager approval allows for accurate times taken from employees.
  • I think that the supersearch feature when trying to troubleshoot something can be a bit frustrating to get what you are looking for. Once you do find the information it is very helpful but can be very hard to get the right wording for what you are looking for.
Read Melody Dickes's full review
Chris Page, RN | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Kronos Workforce Central

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fully integrated suite - Timekeeping, Scheduling, Staffing, and Business Analytics.
  • Meeting the need through technology - Workforce Mobile.
  • User Friendly.
  • Java Is- Soon to be addressed in upcoming releases - Moving away from a Java based platform
  • Predictive Demand - Health Trending Need yet to be met by Kronos
Read Chris Page, RN's full review
Dan Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2014

Kronos Oversees Your Staff for Improved Efficiency

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Prevents others from punching an employee IN/OUT by requiring biometric validation
  • Alerts the supervisor of schedule variances and discourages employees from taking long lunches and stealing time by punching in early or out late.
  • Maintains detailed records of who, when and where a punch was created.
  • Reduces errors for Payroll by requiring supervisor review of timecards prior to extractions.
  • Access to timeclocks through Device Manager, web browser and GuiSim provide a variety of tools for resolving issues as they arise.
  • Pay codes are provided to supervisors for their use, but, restrictions do not exist that prevent the application to inappropriate groups.
  • Timeclock devices and annual maintenance fees are expensive.
  • Timeclock devices do have limitations to firmware updates based upon motherboard version. This can have an effect on functionality. Depot Exchange for problem devices does not upgrade the board.
  • Detergents/cleansers do erode some employees' fingerprints.
Read Dan Hill's full review
Raul Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2014

The Backbone of Hourly HR Payroll

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kronos is the market leader when it comes to timekeeping and the devices used to support it. There is a reason for that: They work as designed, and they work well.
  • Once configured properly, the stability of a WFC server is admirable, considering that the majority of deployments are on Windows Server
  • The layout of WFC is very well thought out. It is easy for non-technical personnel to navigate with minor training
  • Product Support can be difficult from a back end perspective. Questions regarding database and network infrastructure (network load balancers/VIPs) can drag as it is hard to get their L2 Support team to engage them
  • Although this is true of any application that requires a JRE installed to use from the desktop, Kronos is very sensitive to what version of Java you use. Be warned: delay or cancel any updates until they have been vetted on Kronos
  • The Kronos devices are great. However, the Workforce Device Manager module is not as hardy and foolproof as the clocks. Good idea, but still needs work.
Read Raul Rodriguez's full review
James Hunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2014

WFC is a terrific tool for managing your workforce!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WFC aggregates the entire timekeeping and management in one system.
  • The software makes scheduling very easy according to staffing and workforce needs, and will do some of the work for you.
  • Edits are incredibly easy to make.
  • There are some areas and situations where management and technical staff are locked out of editing or correcting an error, and this should be addressed.
  • The ability to view workforce by department and by department needs can be useful for more thorough scheduling.
  • Designations for FT and PT workstaff and those with specific scheduling restrictions should be more pronounced.
Read James Hunt's full review
Jeremy Vivace | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2014

Workforce Central - Its Time to Consider It

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Timekeeping including clock punching, web punching, and cell app punching
  • PTO management -- submission, review, auto deduction
  • Pay rules - ability to designate rules based on groups, individuals, and more
  • As a web-based solution, Workforce Payroll requires internet connectivity for data access – offline capabilities are not available.
  • Being Microsoft-based, browser support is limited to Internet Explorer.
  • Kronos’ international presence will always be restricted as long as Workforce Payroll (and HR) is only available in the English language.
Read Jeremy Vivace's full review
Brooke A. Holt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2014

Kronos Smonos!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kronos is user friendly. you dont have to have studied rocket science to get it.
  • Kronos accuracy is impeaccable. When clocking in and or out accuracy can be the difference between a few cents to a dollar. :)
  • Kronos would oftentime not detect a punch in or punch out. This became extremely frustrating as that would result in extra paperwork on the employee's part.
  • Kronos would time out within 2 minutes or in the midst of a punch in/out.
Read Brooke A. Holt's full review

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Scorecard Summary

About UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central)

UKG Workforce Central is a full workforce management suite of solutions for scheduling, absence management and timekeeping boasting powerful reporting and analytics functionality. The vendor says Workforce Central can be optimized to an organization's particular industry, and can scale globally. It can be implemented in the cloud or on premise. Workforce Central is designed to help users automate, optimize, and simplify the management of their organization’s workforce. According to the vendor, the solution enables organizations to reduce labor costs, improve productivity, minimize compliance risk and improve employee engagement.

Robust reporting and analytics provide visibility into real-time and accurate data, via alerts and dashboards, which aim to help make informed decisions. Self-service capabilities allow access at any time from PC or via the mobile app.

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Features

Has featureCore HR
Has featureScheduling
Has featureAbsence management
Has featureTime and Attendance
Has featurePayroll
Has featureAnalytics

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Screenshots

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Integrations

Payroll, HR, CRM, POS, ERP, General Ledger

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Competitors

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Contact sales for pricing information at 1 (800)-225-1561.

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

UKG Workforce Central (formerly Kronos Workforce Central) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Middle East/Africa, Asia/Pacific
Supported Languages: US English, French Canadian, French-France, Italian, Korean, Polish, Spanish-Mexico, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, German, Dutch, Brazilian, Portuguese, Japanese