UserTesting Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Kane Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Not using UserTesting? Your customers probably aren't as happy as they could be. Stop leaving money on the table.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UserTesting is currently used by the CX/UX department for a huge variety of uses, from prototype testing to market research. UserTesting has proven so useful, though, that the entire organization realizes the benefits that it brings to the table. It helps solve one of the most important business problems any company will face -- connecting directly with customers and users to uncover their struggles, needs, and desires.
  • Prototype and design testing.
  • Live conversations (remote interviews).
  • Ease of also using 3rd party tools like Optimal Workshop.
  • The Knowledge Base/learning section needs a little improvement, but at the time of writing this they are currently focused on improving that.
Honestly, this is a tough question to answer. UserTesting isn't a magic bullet. For maximum effectiveness, you still need to know how to write surveys and ask questions in a non-leading manner. So UT is maybe less appropriate if you have no idea what you are doing or why (i.e. you don't have any sort of research background). But even still, UT includes a TON of prewritten test templates, so even novice researchers (or people with no research background whatsoever) are able to use the product.

In addition to this, UT has been built in such a way that you can actually funnel your testers into 3rd party tools like Optimal Workshop. This alone makes UserTesting applicable to TONS of scenarios, as you can always leverage an outside tool to cover any testing types that UT doesn't provide out of the box. For example, we use UT a lot for card sorting... but that's not part of the core UT capabilities. Instead, we send users from our UT pool over to Optimal Workshop to perform card sorting and tree testing and such -- and UT records all of it! So even if there is a scenario where UT won't handle things by itself, you can always make it work with other tools.
Read Kane Ford's full review
Lexie Courtney | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Need to make data driven decisions? UserTesting is the product for you

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using UserTesting for the past two years to conduct research to understand our users, empathize with them, and make data-driven decisions. User testing allows us to do this very quickly and efficiently often returning results within hours.
  • Able to get a very specific users for testing.
  • Fast results.
  • Simple UI.
  • More enhanced metrics.
  • Larger variety of questions.
  • Speech analytics.
It is great for:
  • Functionality Testing
  • Preference testing
  • Marketing testing
  • Content and copy testing

It's ok for:
  • Sentiment Testing
  • Surveys
Read Lexie Courtney's full review
Suzanne Scharlock | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

UserTesting delivers value quickly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the sole user researcher at my organization, however, I use UserTesting to validate many aspects of the business. I use the tool to validate UX through prototype testing. I also use the tool to gather feedback on product-market fit for new directions to take business from live 1:1 interviews with our target market. This tool allows us to have the voice of the customer amplified throughout our org.
  • Live 1:1 interviews with target market.
  • Sources participants in your target market for you.
  • Sourcing very niche participants is difficult (ex: specific city and specific job title).
  • The tool is very expensive for a startup.
Well-suited:
  • Live 1:1 interviews with the target market.
  • Prototype testing with moderated tests.
  • Gathering impressions on new product ideas.
Less appropriate:
  • Gathering quantitative feedback from a large pool of testers (ex: surveys).
Read Suzanne Scharlock's full review
Kelsey Rivers | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Want some valuable insight? You've come to the right place.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used UserTesting on the Marketing Team to test what we are putting out to our users, from websites to apps. We have gotten valuable insight, especially as you're able to hear the user struggle with tasks and watch as they complete tasks more easily than we thought. It's great to see their screen and hear their voice. It gives insight into problem areas.
  • User Insight
  • Usability Testing
  • Content Testing
  • Currently, you can't edit the screener questions after you have run the test.
If you would like to see how the real-life audience of your sites interact with what you offer, then I would highly recommend UserTesting.
Read Kelsey Rivers's full review
Lexie Lawrence | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Effective testing tool to quickly get data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UserTesting on a daily bases to conduct a wide variety of tests from sentiment, design validation, functionality. It helps teams make data-driven decisions and work at a fast pace. It helps teams and business units empathize with their users overall creating more effective products.
  • Fast turnaround for results.
  • Allows for self-serve options.
  • Expanding the set of questions.
  • Better metrics.
UserTesting is best suited for functional testing of mocks or live designs. It is effective at competitive analysis.
It is less suited for card sorting and survey type tests.
Read Lexie Lawrence's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Great platform to obtain site UX info

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UserTesting has been an integral part of the company's marketing and optimization team for quite a while. A handful of other internal teams have also started making use of it.

The product is invaluable for getting more in-depth feedback from actual site visitors and customers than we are able to gather from web analytics and surveys. Seeing and hearing customer experiences on our site has been a real eye opener and has prompted many UX changes.
  • Great array of tester demographics to choose from when setting up UX scenarios. We're able to get a fairly close representation of our target audience from their available demographics.
  • They have a pool of 2M+ testers so we generally always get our tests completed the same day we submit them.
  • The viewing interface is very robust and makes it easy to view and listen to each test result, easily capturing snippets of dialog and video as needed. These make for great proof points to insert into presentations to execs afterwards.
  • Pricing: They generally want you to sign up for high dollar packages on an annual basis. Not so easy to get started for smaller companies on limited budgets.
  • Occasionally you get some sub-par testers that waste your time by not really fitting the demographic profile requested or being well versed in the subject matter within the test. On the flip-side, UserTesting is good about getting a retake at no cost.
  • Support can be a little slow sometimes.
Very well suited for obtaining honest feedback from real world site visitors regarding interactions with your site, processes, or funnel flow. You create the steps that a tester will walk through and they deliver (generally) constructive feedback that sometimes uncovers information and roadblocks that internal teams may have missed or didn't consider.

Not good for getting large-scale opinions or quantitative data due to price or the amount of time it takes to sift through the audio/video results.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

If you're doing qualitative research, you need UserTesting!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In marketing, we utilize UserTesting to better understand our prospective students and their needs, as well as understand how different concepts, designs and messages might appeal to them.
  • Qualitative data from our target audience
  • The "why" behind users' actions
  • Deep insights into our customers' mindset
  • Onboarding is hard without a qualitative background
UserTesting is qualitative. So, if you are looking for qualitative (the "why") insights, UserTesting is amazing. If you want quantitative data, UserTesting will not be the best resource.

Some examples:
Use UserTesting for: concept tests to understand how users react to concepts. Gain feedback from target audience similar to a focus group. Ask participants questions and even have conversations with them about your idea or product.

UserTesting would not be as helpful for: AB testing, or gaining a statistically significant winning option. Gaining quantitative data. For this, an AB testing platform or survey tool would be better.
Read this authenticated review
Nicole Nagy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

UserResting Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we have 5 User Experience Researchers at CareerBuilder that utilize User Testing for unmoderated product testing. There have been situations where we have placed links for Optimal Sort and Heat Mapping through tests. This is an integral part of our process specifically because we only have a few researchers on our team, and a lot of products to support. So the functionality of usertesting allows us to do more work, that takes us less time to analyze!
  • Clipping! We love taking clips out of the video segments and showing our product owners what the users are saying.
  • Organizing tests. The fact that I can save sceener questions is amazing, as well creating a number of different tasks. The data provided back to us is also organized in a very neat and clean way in excel which is very helpful in cutting time.
  • Taking the participants words and putting them into text is a spectacular new innovation that is also helpful for our team.
  • PDFs. We would love the availability to test PDF files.
  • Easier functionality for A/B testing; I feel like most the time I do the testing participants get confused.
If you're trying to get quick feedback on a product or site, Usertesting is absolutely the way to go. Most the time UXR is looked at as a bottleneck at certain companies and with usertesting we've increased our speed to getting feedback down to under two weeks on specific projects. Product owners love it, and it makes our team happy!
Read Nicole Nagy's full review
Tom Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

UserTesting gives the qualitative feedback you need to understand your data.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use UserTesting for adding to our quantitative research with qualitative feedback from customers and people who may use our tool around the world. We test out new user flows and landing pages, and ask users to review in depth how they might navigate and explore and use the features we're proposing to them.
  • Incredibly fast turn around. There are so many qualified testers out there that if you post a test in the evening, you'll wake up to 5 quality reviews from users who fit your exact demographic.
  • The UI for creating the tests is easy and copying existing tests is easy.
  • Watching and taking notes on the tests is great.
  • The flow for creating tests with the drop boxes can be confusing.
  • Grouping and putting tests into folders isn't made possible.
If you have a workflow in your mobile app or desktop, UserTesting is an excellent way to see how potential users understand and navigate your service.
Read Tom Davies's full review
Angie Amon | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

Usertesting.com is a great tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily using it for our consumer facing digital platforms
  • It's very fast. I'm completing 5-10 interviews within 24 hours or less
  • It's easy to create videos from the interviews to tell a story
  • You can easily test mobile apps and prototypes as well as live sites
  • We've been on a credits-based contract and will be moving to unlimited testing but can only run 2 tests at a time. Just hope that works well
It's great for quick usability issues where you can easily set up and explain scenarios. It's best for relatively simple interactions. It's less helpful for more complex or multi faceted interactions. Because the core use case is unmoderated testing, if a user gets stuck or doesn't follow directions, you can't help them and sometimes the session is useless. User testing.com will replace the user but you can't get that time back.
Read Angie Amon's full review
Charles A. Walsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

UserTesting is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have no real feedback from Users for our social media publisher software other than support tickets. I used it to prove the need for more user research and specifically usability testing. It's just me, and I'm using UT to address how our new features and flows function "In the Wild."
  • Cheap: For 50 dollars you get real insight into how people use your product instead of guesswork.
  • They make it easy to get real results without having to write your own questions
  • It's great for validating assumptions
  • The UI for registering the test is a bit overwhelming—there's side bars, tables, top navigation, etc.
Testing prototypes, MVPs, getting feedback on your user flows/experience, etc.

As a tester, you get to pick your audience down to specifics so the tests aren't just for play, but give real world use and experience to your product, service, or app. I suggest using it to test assumptions for anyone starting out with early phase software.
Read Charles A. Walsh's full review
Jim Hostetler | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2014

Real Users, Real Results, with UserTesting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our E-commerce group uses UserTesting to put live and prototype experiences in front of our users. These experiences come from both our site and from others in similar industries. We use their panel of users and put them on tasks ranging from simple 5-seconds tests, all the way through completing MOST of a transaction with our website. UserTesting helps us to validate concepts, test for usability, and learn more about general users who haven't necessarily been exposed to our business previously and have a fresh perspective.
  • UserTesting's panel of users comes from a wide variety of backgrounds and levels of internet experience. This helps to get a diverse set of users in front of your product before you put it out to the general population.
  • UserTesting has a simple set up process. This allows people from all different disciplines to set up and run user tests. Given this, we're able to look at business challenges from a variety of angles and allow many different types of business units answer their own unique questions.
  • UserTesting has awesome service and makes sure that we get what we ask for. Sometimes there are technical challenges with using an online product (both on our end and theirs), especially one that requires users to record their screen and voice. When these problems arise, UserTesting is great about working to resolve them and providing credit to give it another shot.
  • While the users are diverse, they are, after all, basically professional testers. This gives them a seed of information and a wide range of experience in dealing with different experiences, probably more than the average web user. The challenge here is that they may be "average web users" but are "expert user testers" and provide feedback that is deeper that you would expect from a general user. While this SEEMS good, it can lose focus on the areas that we're looking to target specifically.
  • For the users, UserTesting does require installing software. They mention using your own users via their platform, but it essentially goes through another tool and becomes a moderated test. While this is ok, it's something that we do ourselves anyway and don't really have use of their platform for.
  • There's no way to manage your team's permissions. Everyone gets added as an administrator. That doesn't have major impacts within our organization at current scale, but being able to limit permissions would be nice so we could better track and control who has access to doing user tests.
UserTesting allows you to put your concepts, mock ups, wireframes, prototypes or live code in front of users for unmoderated feedback. This is great if you have either questions so specific that you can ask direct questions to answer them, or so broad that you only need general information. For the middle ground where you want to get some broad information with the ability to drill down in response to what users encounter, UserTesting's unmoderated platform falls short and can show you HOW people use things but often misses the details of why.
Read Jim Hostetler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2017

UserTesting.com is great for functionality usability testing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The UX department uses UserTesting.com to see how users react to prototypes, as well as conducting interviews and filling out surveys.
  • It's really easy to annotate videos.
  • They have a great pool to recruit from. I never have to wait more than a few hours to get results to tests.
  • Their customer service is great. We have a designated project manager to our account that is very helpful.
  • The users are a self selected group of "professional testers," so they're not always the best surrogate for the general population or target audience.
UserTesting.com is great for testing new functionality for usability. It's not the best for getting insight from a specific target audience. It's not ideal for getting emotional response where you need to gauge something like that.
Read this authenticated review

About UserTesting

UserTesting Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

UserTesting Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No