Vena Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
150 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 116)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 27, 2020
Darrell Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena for all budgeting, forecasting and 95% of Financial Reporting with the remaining 5% to be introduced in Q3 of 2021. Prior to Vena, our budget process was very manual and financial reporting cumbersome and and in some instances, non-existent. Vena has been transformational for Saint Mary's. We have reduced our budget cycle from Months to Weeks and our Executive review time from weeks to days. In addition, we use Vena to improve financial processes for month end close, reducing cumbersome activities from days to hours or minutes, and perform deep analysis. We have dramatically reduced or eliminated time to compile information and have instead repurposed that time to perform more value-added analysis. Vena has been used to identify ineffective pockets of budget allocation and allowed us to reallocate those pockets to more strategic needs. We are currently expanding the use case beyond the FInance office to include Enrolment Projection and Faculty accreditation. Since first becoming a Vena customer in 2014, the software has received continuous enhancements and it continues to get better each quarter. In short, we love it!
  • They are continually investing in the software.
  • They listen to their customers and incorporate their feedback.
  • They are fully engaged in their customers obtaining the maximum benefit from the software.
  • Their customer support team is very responsive and technically sound.
  • The introduction of Vena365Connect will solve a major weakness in the software as it will create a platform-agnostic environment allowing Mac users to finally use Vena to its full potential.
  • I would like to see more integration and more support with BI tools. They currently integrate with Power BI but beyond the bridge to link it, its really up to the customer after that. Easy linking to Tableau would be phenomenal.
  • More partner arrangements with clients to develop APIs for larger ERP systems to allow for the real time transfer for data into Vena.
  • Improved mobile experience for tablets.
Any organization that has the same P&L for multiple business units would benefit greatly!
Franchises, etc are a perfect fit.
Any organization that has multiple shadow systems in Excel can all be brought together in Vena.
Hotel management would be a great fit!
Reits and other infrastructure companies would be a great fit!
Read Darrell Rooney's full review
November 27, 2020
Avo Koulakian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is being used at our company as a financial reporting and consolidation tool. We have entities around the world, and tool helps us commonize and consolidate financials. We also use the tool to distribute various reports related to human resources, pricing, and inventory management. The flexibility of the tool allows for self-service and self-development of reports.
  • It is a familiar feeling as it uses excel as the front end.
  • The ability to develop reports in house makes the tool very flexible.
  • Powerful consolidation tool which allows for easy distribution of information.
  • Performance can be slow once reports get too complex.
  • Per user pricing can get expensive if users are not using the tool for a wide variety of purposes.
Vena is well suited for companies of all sizes as the tool is very scalable to your business size. It performs exceptionally well in an environment that is currently using an excel based solution, as the users will be familiar with the tool and can use existing knowledge to develop robust reporting.
Read Avo Koulakian's full review
November 13, 2020
Alicia Scappe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Vena Solutions is a technology that we partner with at our organization. We resell and implement the product for our customers. Our customers range from hospitality, health care, project management, manufacturing, and others. There are several big business problems that Vena addresses. First, everyone loves Excel and people are reluctant to change. Since Vena is Excel based, users feel more comfortable with it. There is less resistance to the change and less of a learning curve upon implementation. Second, Vena does not require constant and ongoing consulting time. Our customers are self sufficient with making changes to the model and templates. Third, Vena has an organized workflow process and status tracker. It allows the FP&A team to see where all contributors are in the process. In addition, the FP&A team is not trying to collect numerous Excel sheets via email or shared locations. Fourth, Vena has excellent audit capabilities. The solution audits data saves in cells and changes to templates (with the ability for comparison to prior versions). It's built in to the solution, which means there is no need to exhaustively dig through log files. It's just a few clicks!
  • Auditing is something Vena does extremely well. There is the ability to see data changes and template changes with just a few clicks. Most technologies have audit log files, which can be cumbersome to navigate.
  • Drilling to details is a feature available to users. A user can view all the general ledger transactions for a particular account, department, time period, etc. just by clicking on the intersection in Excel and using the Vena toolbar button Drill -> Transactions.
  • Comments and Attachments allows users to add a comment and/or insert an attachment such as a PO, invoice, or receipt for example. This way the contributor and reviewer can easily see the justification and support for a number that has been planned. It's all in one place and means there is no need to email the support as a separate file.
  • In Report Books, the option to run reports as PDF would be helpful.
  • In Report Books, the option to add more than one report to the book would be extremely useful. Currently, users receive multiple emails because we can only have one report per book.
  • In Report Books, the ability to output files to a directory rather than sending them via email would be a nice enhancement.
Overall, Vena has many great features and functions, and the Vena team is constantly improving the solution. The only scenarios where Vena is lacking is spreading data from a parent member to children. This can be accomplished with Vena, but it's a little more involved compared to other technologies.
Based on customer feedback, Vena Solutions is supported across their organizations.
Read Alicia Scappe's full review
February 14, 2021
Tanay Pahwa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is being used only in the finance department as of now, but more uses are being explored rapidly because of the wide support that Vena has to offer.
  • Financial reporting
  • Easy to use
  • Poor interface
  • Costly
Vena is certainly very well suited for financial purposes. It is good for creating financial reports, financial budgets and modelling. It reads transactions deeply which helps reduce time overall and reduces the burden greatly for the finance department. It is comparably easy to use which makes it a better choice over others.
Read Tanay Pahwa's full review
November 27, 2020
Mani Alkhafaji, CA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially we started using Vena among the FP&A team, then slowly started rolling it out to other departments. We have just completed our 2021 budget cycle and we have a range of departments across the organization using it to prepare their budgets, including: operations, IT, HR, finance, CSR, and other G&A departments.
  • Data integrity through database.
  • Standardized templates.
  • Workflow and delegation of approval.
  • Traceability and drill down functions.
  • Continue improving template performance and speed.
  • Improvement on dashboards.
Vena is perfect for anyone who wants to retain the flexibility and user adaptability of Excel, yet improve data integrity and utilize a database platform.
Read Mani Alkhafaji, CA's full review
October 18, 2020
Jeremiah Adrian Howard Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are various uses for Vena as well as financial analysis for the month-end mainly, we can establish advanced and detailed budget criteria. In addition, the data visualizations are very light and detailed, resulting in good access to financial data information, budgets, analysis, and we managed to complement and adapt solid strategies with our ERP system and its connection with Vena Solutions. We have only had a few delays in understanding all the features because not all users are EXCEL experts.
  • Optimal connection with our ERP system.
  • We perform detailed month-end analyzes to optimize our budget requirements.
  • Good data spectrum to model and map in Excel.
  • It is overwhelming for inexperienced users.
  • It takes a while to load the templates.
  • It can improve much more, but they are not serious problems that cannot be solved with a little training to all users.
I can recommend it because it can connect very well with our ERP system and this is a great advantage. In addition, Vena Solutions allows us to optimize our entire financial and budget system, which generates a positive ROI after the first few months using it. It is true that it is complex for many users, but this problem is solved simply with training, so I do not consider that the difficulty of using it is a serious problem.
Cuenta con cierres de mes detallados y con buena y amplia información que nos permite desarrollar e innovar otras áreas de trabajo. Tengo el deber de informar que el soporte de Vena Solutions cumple con nuestros más altos estándares. Puedo comunicarme rápidamente con sus expertos si alguna función de Vena me resulta difícil. Esto es algo que realmente aprecio y creo que lo convierte en un producto maravilloso. Hay más virtudes que fracasos.
It is a product that is well integrated and very easy to use for my entire team. Vena Solutions is really easy to use and no help from technical support is necessary because the functions are very simple. Vena Solutions does not require technical experience to be able to use it fluently.
Vena Solutions can be implemented in all the departments that we need, we would honestly carry out the implementation with immediate help from technical support because they give us confidence and know what is the best strategy to implement it and we know that with the technical support team we would save more than Half of the time. Vena Solutions can only be scalable if we are experts or requesting help, I think it is better with technical help.
Read Jeremiah Adrian Howard Ross's full review
October 17, 2020
Charlotte Byrne Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena Solutions in many departments. We have always had knowledge of Excel, so we quickly get used to using this software. We are always on the lookout for any unforeseen unforeseen people who are not familiar with spreadsheets, but with ongoing training and existing Vena tutorials, we are happy that the data is being recorded without a hitch.
  • Professional platform, pleasing to the eye of the user.
  • Great facility to unify team members in the cloud.
  • Quick communication with technical support, no matter if the problems are not resolved--they attend quickly and I like that.
  • We have consulted with team members and agree that the Vena Solutions team should think of something to improve and unify project management.
  • It takes time to create complex templates.
  • I would like to have a smaller configuration at startup.
I recommend it without thinking twice because Vena is one of the best to keep a good budget control. It is predictive, maintains control of accounts and creates the best solutions for financial data recording problems. Vena Solutions is the most reliable budgeting software on the market today and that is why I feel very confident recommending it to all businesses.
When we need to contact technical support, the response is always quick. We like it very much because we know that we are important as customers. They recognize our need and try to resolve it positively.
Vena Solutions has very easy-to-use tools for all users, it only has a complex configuration, but after solving this problem with Vena Solutions' technical support team, we can use all the functions without problems.
Vena solutios is a software that provides robust tools that help different departments in their statistics and we can visualize a lot of promising and visually attractive data. Vena Solutions' level of scalability is high and sustainable over time thanks to the fabulous technical support that is ready to help us at all times.
Read Charlotte Byrne Brown's full review
October 16, 2020
Christie Holmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business department heads are responsible for their budgets. So we are using this across the whole organization with our Corporate Accounting Department coordinating the activities with the administrators to execute the workflows. It resolves the issue of emailing and receiving back numerous Excel files and working tediously to be sure that everything is updated in the correct order.
  • Uses Excel as the primary user interface.
  • Allows business users to create templates and pull out the data easily.
  • Provides some reporting about when tasks are late.
  • Needs better reporting on the status of tasks.
  • Should notify users when they have a past due task.
  • Does not work well if you have too much data (intersection points).
  • Hard to audit user security when you have 200+ users.
  • Difficult to manage a large process with many activity blocks.
This is a great solution for a smaller to mid-sized company that does not have a large number of data points (tens of millions). Using Excel as the primary user interface helps with change management because users are already comfortable with that tool. It is less appropriate for very large companies, as there can be performance issues. And if you have a large number of users (100+) it becomes cumbersome to audit the security and manage the processes with that many tasks.
The help desk has been very responsive when we have reached out. But the implementation team brought the score down. We are now having to re-work some of the templates because they were not initially created with the most efficient methods. We are frustrated that time is being spent to make these updates when Vena's team created them.
We have many tasks and each has to be manually updated. This allows for nice customization but makes the administration of these tasks cumbersome as there are so many for us to manage and update. There is not great audit tools for us to review that everything was set up correctly. It has a great visual workflow so that you can see the structure of tasks leading to review but you must double click on each one to review the details. It does provide a table view of this visualization but that becomes cumbersome to try to audit. It is hard to restart tasks as the processes have to be paused (preventing the users from saving/updating data) before we can restart a particular task. The end user is not able to see the workflow and does not know who submitted the task. However, if the individual templates are set up well, it makes it easy for the users to update/view the data.
Read Christie Holmes's full review
October 16, 2020
Zahid Khandoker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Vena Solutions for Senior Leadership to provide budget information on a quarterly basis. Also, the finance department uses it for daily reporting. Having all the data centralized in one spot helps us generate reports much quicker than before.
  • Centralized Database where all the data is converted into your data model instead of the accounting software.
  • Workflow Management where input processes and review processes are predetermined.
  • Predetermined caritas for budget requirement.s
  • More detailed instruction manual to build personalized reports.
  • Live chat bar.
  • Daily Backup
All financial analysts will find Vena useful to be able to customize accounting data to any data model.
Instant support and around the clock feedback.
Very easy to use however no safeguards incorporated incase of errors.
Read Zahid Khandoker's full review
October 16, 2020
Radu Cocos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena Solutions to facilitate our annual budgeting and quarterly forecasting processes. With Vena, we were able to develop more flexible and dynamic input templates; for instance Vena operators which allow to hide or show rows and columns. We were also able to benefit from a quick consolidation process where we can see the results from different entities in seconds.
  • Dynamic functionalities in Excel
  • Fast consolidation
  • Scalable solution
  • Difficult to use if not an Excel pro
  • Mapping data points can be time consuming
Vena Solutions is well suited for companies that are looking for a dynamic ERP solution. The interface is well designed and relatively easy to use. Developing templates requires proficiency in Excel as well as a good understanding of how the database works. Vena works very well for the budgeting process; we have found it less useful in the month-end cycle.
Vena has a knowledge center with plenty of useful information (description of functionalities, case studies, FAQs) as well as a customer service ticket-based system. Customer Service is always responding promptly.
Read Radu Cocos's full review
October 13, 2020
Samuel Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions has helped us to implement a tool efficient enough to visualise the business data and process being done in our organization. We were able to create visual information from huge piles of raw data in the form of dashboards and reports in a fraction of the time that we used to do before. It has made us more agile and has also helped the business stakeholders greatly as they no longer need to rely on an IT team for statistics, once the initial setup is done.
  • It has helped us cut down our time to categorising and organising data.
  • With the help of Vena Solutions we no longer need to maintain a version control across different users.
  • The tool is easy to use for even a non IT professional.
  • A few more tutorials for users on how to use not so common features would be helpful.
  • The performance of the tool needs to be improved, a lighter version would help.
  • The initial setup needs to be made a bit more simple.
Vena Solutions was highly efficient when we wanted to search data for finer details such as the business statistics for a specific day or so, but while searching for a similar statistics report ranging across multiple dates it became a bit tiring as we needed to download and work on multiple files.
Although the initial setup for Vena Solutions was pretty difficult, they helped our team throughout the whole setup process and answered all our queries as soon as they could. Every time we raise a request or an issue with the support team, they respond back instantly and follow up periodically till our issue gets solved.
Their tool automatically recognises the crucial facts for the business such as budgeting, planning, resource and presents it in a dynamic presentable format in the dashboard which also gets updated in real time. It has filters which can be used to dial down to the required facts and focus on the data for the necessary section.
Read Samuel Johnson's full review
October 13, 2020
Kyle Cadeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is being used for budget and monthly analysis. My company is planning to broaden the range of the software globally for standardized budgeting.
  • Ability to connect to source data
  • Allows for quick analysis and internal development and enhancements of reports
  • Easy end-user interface with Excel functionality!
  • Internet access required to use the software but this is inevitable in our technological age.
Vena Solutions is well suited for companies that rely heavily on Excel. By creating standardized input forms and reports the user can feel confident that the Excel connections are correct and can be trusted.

Furthermore, with different users, access data can be well protected or shared as needed.
Always prompt and available at all hours of the day.
Very user friendly and easily customized by users within the organization with help form Vena support
Read Kyle Cadeau's full review
October 13, 2020
Shelley Chen, CPA, CGA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Vena Solutions last year. It is being used across the whole organization.
  • Standard across the organization
  • Central control
  • Departments own their plans
  • Learning curve
  • As a small finance team, building the model was not easy
The workflow feature in Vena Solutions that will remind the appropriate team member for the due date is amazing. It works so well and is so easy to use and powerful. However, mapping data points can be time-consuming.
Vena Solutions support is always helpful and provides extra resources. There is a lot of self-learning though.
It is great when the reports are all set up during the implantations, but after reports updates involve a little bit more technical side.
Read Shelley Chen, CPA, CGA's full review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Vena Solutions to project budgets, generate, and analyze our financial statements. Every department head has access to it in order to provide their inputs into the Budget. This minimizes the creation of multiple spreadsheets per department and saves time by streamlining the whole process. Producing the financial statements used to be a largely manual process and was prone to mistakes as a result. Vena's model has centralized the mapping to produce quicker and more accurate results. It is a major time saver for our overall month-end process.
  • Easy integration into MS Excel as an Add-In.
  • Organizes data into blocks that can be quickly modified to view data from multiple angles.
  • Knowledge base with both customer input and professional advice that can help with troubleshooting.
  • Vena is data driven. Without another software, you can not issue financials statements with an MD&A.
  • Inputs into Vena are helpful, but it can be complicated to build that into a template for updating by end users.
This is a good third party software that works to integrate data from an ERP to a manageable and easily modifiable excel format to generate budgets and financials.
From initiate setup to going live, Vena's customer representatives and technicians have proven to be responsive and enthusiastic in getting our company up and running. They have been patient with our questions and frustrations and worked to troubleshoot issues that have come up.
The software has been very well designed to easily leverage off user's preexisting excel skills. This greatly lessens the learning curve making it easy to navigate and use.
Read this authenticated review
October 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is being used as an enterprise budgeting and forecasting tool. It is primarily used during the budgeting season, but more recently, we are attempting to expand its use beyond the primarily yearly budgeting process. It addressed the largely spreadsheet based budgeting used prior to the introduction of Vena, which was difficult to manage.
  • Reasonably good Excel interface
  • Use of a dimensional style model was a good concept
  • Cloud-based tenants in theory minimize the amount of administration
  • The tool uses at least four different query and data manipulation languages, once you get your data to the tool. All of which are proprietary, limited flavors of other languages (such as SQL and MDX).
  • The use of a MongoDB back end has resulted in the ongoing use of floats for numeric data storage. This works fine if you are budgeting at a high level. However, if you are leveraging their transaction-level features, you will see divergence due to the inherent issues of floating point being unable to precisely represent decimal values.
  • There is very little community documentation around the tool, and the documentation provided by the vendor is sparse, poorly written, and often out of date or just plain wrong. This extends to their sample code as well
  • There is currently no direct way to feed data from your source system databases. The primary method is dumping data to flat files and either executing the uploads manually through the web UI or wrapping a java-based CLI with Powershell or windows batch for local execution. There is also a preview of a logic app if you have Azure as part of your infrastructure
Vena may be fine for a department or very small organizations. However, it is not an enterprise class tool. There is a reason they tend not to sell through IT or provide open access to their documentation and knowledge base (always a red flag in my opinion). A non-production tenant is not provided as part of the package. There is also only limited functionality for migrations between tenants. Migrating within a tenant is also challenging. There is no version control capability across the tool, and its own versioning is scattershot within it. Integrations have no version control at all, and some of the components code cannot even be copy-pasted to roll your own. I have resorted to copy-paste for scripts and accessible code, along with screenshots (yes, seriously) for other components with inaccessible code.

Additionally, integrations largely rely on the naming conventions of the objects. So even though there are folder structures, two objects in different folders cannot have the same names. This results in manual code changes when migrating from a non-production to a production model.

That said, the web interface isn't bad, and neither is the Excel add-in. The pieces your business users will see during the sales cycle. Excel-based reporting is robust. Web-based and ad-hoc reporting relies on Microsoft Power BI, licensed separately.
I will give Vena credit for at least trying and being initially responsive. However, it is clear that their attitude toward development is cavalier. We have engaged them both via helpdesk and on consulting engagements. The solutions provided are often given without proper testing, resulting in significant time spent on back-and-forth to get issues resolved, or fixing the code yourself. There does not seem to be much in the way of process or project management on their side for customer engagements.
This is split between usability from an end-user perspective and administrative.

Administrative - The tool is lacking in a cohesive way to administer the tool, both from more of a back-end perspective (ETL/Integrations, scripting, etc.) as well as from a business administrative (Processes, Models, etc.). On the more back-end IT related aspects, the tool is a mishmash of modules that were clearly developed in stovepipe fashion. Basic feature/functionality aspects such as version control, auto vs manual save, etc. differ between the code preparation components. It is also lacking in any sort of coherent version control. Not all pages display the context information, so extreme caution must be used. There is also no coherent migration strategy. The process and model navigation has been somewhat challenging for our business administrators, often requiring assistance from Vena when creating or altering templates. 2 of 10

End User - This is better. The Excel add-in generally functions well. Creating basic templates is straightforward, and there is a large degree of flexibility when creating reporting templates. Being part of Excel puts many users into a comfort zone. The toggle switch between template and data mode is not well conceived, and the add-in pop-ups occasionally have issues on multi-monitor displays. 6 of 10

Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is being used across the company. It has made dealing with the company's finances much easier and is very easy to use.
  • Finance management
  • Interface
  • Excel-like workspace
  • Takes time to load templates
  • Requires strong Excel knowledge
Vena Solutions suits our needs as a hotel. There are thousands of financial transactions day in and day out, and managing them becomes crucial. The best part about Vena is that it can be used even by interns with minimal training. The Excel-like workspace is great and provides a familiar interface for carrying out basic financial record keeping.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Vena is being used primarily by the Finance and Accounting department. Senior executives use the tool as a source for financial reports. It addresses problems of disparate spreadsheets and emailing reports. Vena has allowed us to transition to a self-service fully accessible model. We plan to extend Vena for use in inventory management as well as HR related data.
  • Easy to use.
  • Cloud based.
  • Neat yet powerful.
  • Improving minor glitches.
  • Availability for MAC users.
  • Improving Power BI connector to have full seamless version.
Specific scenarios where Vena is well suited would be for financial reporting. Any financial reporting including forecasting/budgeting can be done quickly and accurately using Vena and templates you build. Scenarios where it's less appropriate would be aggregating loads of data to present in concise, user friendly format (Power BI more appreciate).
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
- Primarily use was planning with input from all departments, reviews and approvals by heads of departments, and consolidation and analyses by finance.
- Now used for monthly reporting with monthly distribution of financial reports to users, analysis of results by finance, preparation of presentations for internal and external purposes.
- Currently implementing a rolling forecast.
  • Flexibility and easy to use, mostly thanks to Excel.
  • Easy access for users to high level financial information and detailed transactions.
  • Planning functionalities (full budget and rolling forecast).
  • Workflows.
  • Integration with other software.
  • Technical glitches.
Well suited for teams with a strong knowledge of Excel and skills to admin a data base.
It is really well suited for an organization with a limited volume of data but I could see how the system would become slower and more difficult to manage for a company with many entities, large amount of transactions, etc.
The implementation process was difficult. They did not have the resources to roll-out the product on time so our team had to do most of the work that was supposed to be done by Vena.
However, now that we are up and running, the support desk provides very quick solutions to technical issues and our account manager has been great.
It is extremely easy to use the software right away because:
- it is Excel-based, so there is little to no learning curve for creating templates and reports
- the admin of the tool itself is very simple and intuitive (processes, workflows, etc)
The downside to that flexibility is the increased risk of human error, which can be mitigated by additional control and check files.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena to facilitate our budgeting process. As this touches on all departments, it is used by department heads across the company. As a budgeting tool, Vena eliminates version control issues, and is able to integrate with our accounting ERP to bring data over easily.
  • Consolidated all budget inputs into various reports.
  • Once setup, it's easy for department heads to input their budgetary inputs.
  • The system's UI is a bit complicated and will take time to become familiar with.
  • Any significant changes will need to be handled by Vena's implementation team, which will incur additional costs.
  • As of May, 2020, Vena is not very compatible with Apple Computers.
I think if you have challenges creating your budgets, Vena can be a suitable solution. Where the existing budgetary process is extremely complex with lots of other ERPs and systems involved, it may be challenging to fully integrate Vena.
The few times we had to reach out to Vena's CS team, we received fairly quick responses. As part of these responses, we were able to setup screen share calls where the support team walked us through the issues. In some cases, the original implementation team also stepped in to assist.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Annual budget cycle: across the entire organization.
  • Financial reporting on a period basis: deploying across sections of the organization.
  • Forecasting: across portions of the organization.
  • Consolidation and aggregation
  • Full audit trail: Who changed what number when and what was it before the change?
  • Version control: One master template deployed across numerous users.
  • Faster report creation.
  • Post implementation provides periodic review of templates for performance updates.
  • Monitor template performance for the time of data calls that drastically increase over time. Investigate and assist the customer with issues consuming your server and the customer's time.
  • Internet connectivity backbone can be problematic for users who are used to being on wifi and pick up and move elsewhere in the middle of templates.
Vena is great to deploy one version of data and is customized to individual users using a standard template. Financial results, collecting budget data, forecasts, and notes for variance analysis from operational managers. It has been a great tool for my company. We keep improving our products to the customers of financial reporting. Users love the functionality.
They are quick to respond and allow users to self prioritize to help route questions to appropriate levels. They resolve or get me to the right person very quickly.
My users just see Excel, but as the admin I can do a lot to make my life easier. Templates, permissions, aggregations. If you are good with Excel Vena is awesome.
  • Online training
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide implementation services for Vena Solutions as a partner consulting firm and have successfully transformed financial management processes for many of our clients already. The most common processes are Financial Budgeting/Forecasting and Reporting, including detailed models for Demand and Revenue Planning, HR planning at Employee and Position level, Capex Planning, and different reporting packages for scenario analysis and variance comparisons.
  • Financial Modeling
  • Integration Capabilities
  • Workflow Management
  • Pre-configured Calculations
  • Standardization of interface
  • Cross-platform experience
Vena Solutions is appropriate for:
- Detailed Excel-based financial models/reports
- Advanced-data modeling requirements
- Multiple processes

It is inappropriate for:
- Those who lack Excel knowledge or want to move away from Excel

Vena's support team is generally responsive and they do get to the end solution in most cases quickly. There can be specific issues that tend to take a bit longer to be addressed.
Generally easy to use, some areas are a bit technical in nature. The complexity depends on the use cases implemented really.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used in our organization for FTE planning. Before we used Excel and now with Vena we have a monthly cycle with the Vena workflow functionality. It is mainly used in our team of consultants to plan colleagues on our projects to create more insight in things like availability, revenue, etc.
  • Flexibility
  • Front end in Excel
  • Cloud based
  • Easy user adoption
  • It can be too much Excel in some cases.
  • Real-time calculations with really really big data sets can have performance issues.
Planning, budgeting, and forecasting are perfect with Vena Solutions. Also, S&OP and Excel solutions usually fit well into Vena.
It is really good--quick reactions and friendly support. Also a lot of online articles on the support desk. The negative could be that it sometimes takes some time before your issue is really understood.
Really good in many situations.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently as using Vena within finance for budgetting purposes. The goal is to expand our usage of the software more into reporting operations. Vena address the challenges we face with our budgetting processes. The budget process is time consuming and our implementation of Vena was primarily to address this challenge.
  • Ease of Use
  • Intuitive
  • Time Savings
  • Reporting Capabilities
  • Learning Curve
  • Some Rigidity
  • UI for non-financial users
Vena allows for ease of complex reporting. Vena can implement with Power BI, another software crucial to our business. Vena allows finance to involve our operations staff especially in the budgetting process. It formalizes the budgetting process and adds ownership to it. We've been able to speed up our yearly budget process to deliver more effective budgets and save many man hours with manual work.
Customer service has been very helpful and quite swift in replying to questions or technical problems. They are committed to a good customer experience. Our direct liaison has been extremely effective in leverage his in depth knowledge to help us succeed. The Vena general support team has helped troubleshoot various issues as well quickly and effectively.
There is an initial learning curve to Vena, but it's inherit excel platform allows many users to hit the ground running. The learning resources and support are also an effective way to build knowledge. The software also has siloed testing processes for those who are inclined to "tinker" and learn it themselves.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We like that Vena is a one-platform solution with the features we need--account reconciliation, consolidation, cash management, FP&A Planning, and others.
  • Competitive pricing
  • Wide adoption
  • Professional support
  • Unable to try before you buy
Based on our limited experience, we believe Vena Solutions will be an effective product at a reasonable price.
Good so far. Timely responses to our questions.
Although we are still very fresh with our experience with Vena Solutions, we believe the usability to be intuitive and consistent with our expectations. I'm sure there are numerous other features we have yet to discover, but so far, we haven't had to crack open user guides, etc to figure something out.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2020
Helen Coulson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used within our business to create regular budgeting reports for any clients that we provide financial consulting to. It has allowed us to create a standardized report format that can be implemented across a number of different business types. We are able to use templates that we have created to regularly update our business reports and share them with our clients. If a client has a specific format or metric they would like included this can be added to their specific template, which really saves time during busy periods.
  • Template creation saves time and increases accuracy.
  • Data drill-down feature provides an incredible level of detail quickly.
  • Excel formulas mean that accounts are accurate.
  • Over time templates that have been used and edited multiple times seem to become slower to populate.
  • The user notification feature to alert users of a report deadline could be improved.
Vena is able to streamline our budget reporting process, as we are able to provide standardized reports to different stakeholders with increased accuracy and level of detail. The templating solutions it provides means we can create up to date reports without having to allocate massive amounts of resources, opening us up to client ad-hoc requests and improved analysis.
The response time of Vena's technical support team has always been quick and to-date there has been no issue that they have no been able to resolve with relative ease.
Read Helen Coulson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (42)
7.8
Report Formatting Templates (44)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (81)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (79)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (31)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (71)
8.4
Publish to Web (40)
7.8
Publish to PDF (54)
7.8
Report Versioning (59)
8.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (57)
9.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (45)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (32)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (36)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (77)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (77)
8.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (79)
9.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (51)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (43)
8.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (40)
7.8
Long-term financial planning (100)
8.2
Financial budgeting (106)
8.3
Forecasting (103)
8.2
Scenario modeling (96)
7.9
Management reporting (104)
8.1
Financial data consolidation (83)
8.1
Journal entries and reports (62)
7.1
Multi-currency management (62)
7.8
Intercompany Eliminations (58)
8.4
Minority Ownership (41)
7.6
Local and consolidated reporting (68)
9.1
Detailed Audit Trails (91)
8.6
Financial Statement Reporting (93)
8.4
Management Reporting (96)
8.8
Excel-based Reporting (101)
9.0
Automated board and financial reporting (75)
9.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (31)
7.6
Personalized dashboards (67)
8.0
Color-coded scorecards (49)
8.6
KPIs (58)
9.5
Cost and profitability analysis (63)
9.6
Key Performance Indicator setting (61)
9.1
Benchmarking with external data (45)
8.0
Flat file integration (84)
8.8
Excel data integration (91)
9.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (81)
6.2

What is Vena Solutions?

Vena Solutions is a platform that connects people, process and technology to propel integrated business planning, boasting ease of use, reporting and analytics, and a connected platform of applications covering the full spectrum of FP&A—from account reconciliation and budgeting to scenario modeling, analytics and consolidation. The vendor states more than 800 companies around the world rely on Vena to measure and learn from their past performance and to plan confidently for a successful future.

For more information, visit: www.venasolutions.com

Vena Solutions Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Vena Solutions Screenshots

Vena Solutions Videos (3)

Watch How Vena can help you plan for today and tomorrow

Watch How Vena work in 5 Minutes

Watch AEG Presents Reduces Reporting Times by 99% with Vena

Vena Solutions Downloadables

Vena Solutions Integrations

Sage Intacct, NetSuite ERP, Microsoft Dynamics, Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, Intuit Quickbooks, Deltek, FinancialForce

Vena Solutions Competitors

Workday Adaptive Planning, Prophix, Planful (formerly Host Analytics)

Vena Solutions Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Vena Solutions Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
43%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
45%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
12%

Vena Solutions Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Support Portal

Vena Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:You don't need to download an app or change a setting to use Vena on your mobile device: just open your browser, go to Vena (vena.io), and log in as you normally do. The Contributor interface is fully responsive, so it can adjust to any size screen, regardless of the type of device you have.
Supported Countries:United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, South Africa, Europe
Supported Languages: Vena supports any localization capabilities already native within Excel. Vena Cloud supports English, Spanish, and French. If a specific language is required please don’t hesitate to ask.