Vena Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
143 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 110)

Helen Coulson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

A great platform for budgeting and more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used within our business to create regular budgeting reports for any clients that we provide financial consulting to. It has allowed us to create a standardized report format that can be implemented across a number of different business types. We are able to use templates that we have created to regularly update our business reports and share them with our clients. If a client has a specific format or metric they would like included this can be added to their specific template, which really saves time during busy periods.
  • Template creation saves time and increases accuracy.
  • Data drill-down feature provides an incredible level of detail quickly.
  • Excel formulas mean that accounts are accurate.
  • Over time templates that have been used and edited multiple times seem to become slower to populate.
  • The user notification feature to alert users of a report deadline could be improved.
Vena is able to streamline our budget reporting process, as we are able to provide standardized reports to different stakeholders with increased accuracy and level of detail. The templating solutions it provides means we can create up to date reports without having to allocate massive amounts of resources, opening us up to client ad-hoc requests and improved analysis.
The response time of Vena's technical support team has always been quick and to-date there has been no issue that they have no been able to resolve with relative ease.
Read Helen Coulson's full review
Aaron Andersen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena offers power, flexibility, approachability, and value.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Vena across the entire organization for internal management reporting, monthly variance analysis, budgeting, reforecasting, project Pro-forma planning, and we are building three-year-plan capabilities now. We have separate models for attendance projection, personnel planning, Capex planning, and finally a financial model where it all rolls up, and where non-wage expenses are planned. The small FP&A team manages the platform, and we make everything as self-service as possible for end-users. It is our FP&A system for all but GAAP financial reports.
  • Vena provides all the customizable flexibility and advanced calculation that you can squeeze out of Excel because Excel is used as the front-end. You can tailor the reporting and budget templates to your exact needs and leverage your existing Excel skills.
  • Even though you work in Excel, the data is all controlled by a multi-dimensional cloud database. So your work is safe. Changes are auditable, and nobody has to rely on sharing Excel files between each other and tracking the latest version.
  • Vena's workflow system can be extremely simple if that's what you need. Or you can build some fairly complex process flows for any task.
  • While they are working hard to bring the Mac Excel experience up to parity with the Windows Excel experience, it's not there yet. Mac Excel templates can't leverage all the functions that Windows Excel templates can. This is changing; a lot of progress is being made in 2020 on this.
  • Integrations can be challenging to configure and update. Some rely on their own database language that is similar to SQL, but I don't know SQL. I work in Finance. Integrations are the area where I'm most likely to require support.
  • Some of our complex reports run and refresh quite slowly. Especially those that are very multi-dimensional and configured dynamically.
Vena is perfect when you can't work within a cookie-cutter budgeting system; when you have developed complex Excel budgeting/planning models that can't be duplicated in other affordable systems. Vena is right when you need enterprise-level customization, but don't have enterprise-level resources. Vena is right when you're an Excel wizard and have already figured out solutions to your modeling challenges in Excel, but you need the consistency and control of a database in the cloud. Vena is the wrong choice if you hate troubleshooting models and logic. Vena is unnecessary if your organization aligns neatly with competing products' case studies. Vena is perhaps not ideal if you need a turnkey implementation.
Support at Vena has been noticeably improving. When I have simple issues, they are resolved very quickly, with very friendly service. When I have a complex problem requiring tier 2 support, these situations generally take days to resolve. But the tier 2 support is always very knowledgeable about the product.
Read Aaron Andersen's full review
Alicia Scappe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena Solutions Rocks and Keeps Getting Better!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Vena Solutions is a technology that we partner with at our organization. We resell and implement the product for our customers. Our customers range from hospitality, health care, project management, manufacturing, and others. There are several big business problems that Vena addresses. First, everyone loves Excel and people are reluctant to change. Since Vena is Excel based, users feel more comfortable with it. There is less resistance to the change and less of a learning curve upon implementation. Second, Vena does not require constant and ongoing consulting time. Our customers are self sufficient with making changes to the model and templates. Third, Vena has an organized workflow process and status tracker. It allows the FP&A team to see where all contributors are in the process. In addition, the FP&A team is not trying to collect numerous Excel sheets via email or shared locations. Fourth, Vena has excellent audit capabilities. The solution audits data saves in cells and changes to templates (with the ability for comparison to prior versions). It's built in to the solution, which means there is no need to exhaustively dig through log files. It's just a few clicks!
  • Auditing is something Vena does extremely well. There is the ability to see data changes and template changes with just a few clicks. Most technologies have audit log files, which can be cumbersome to navigate.
  • Drilling to details is a feature available to users. A user can view all the general ledger transactions for a particular account, department, time period, etc. just by clicking on the intersection in Excel and using the Vena toolbar button Drill -> Transactions.
  • Comments and Attachments allows users to add a comment and/or insert an attachment such as a PO, invoice, or receipt for example. This way the contributor and reviewer can easily see the justification and support for a number that has been planned. It's all in one place and means there is no need to email the support as a separate file.
  • In Report Books, the option to run reports as PDF would be helpful.
  • In Report Books, the option to add more than one report to the book would be extremely useful. Currently, users receive multiple emails because we can only have one report per book.
  • In Report Books, the ability to output files to a directory rather than sending them via email would be a nice enhancement.
Overall, Vena has many great features and functions, and the Vena team is constantly improving the solution. The only scenarios where Vena is lacking is spreading data from a parent member to children. This can be accomplished with Vena, but it's a little more involved compared to other technologies.
Based on customer feedback, Vena Solutions is supported across their organizations.
Read Alicia Scappe's full review
jamie Luangaphay | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

viva VENA!!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena in our Financial Planning & Analysis Department in South Florida. We use this tool during our Forecasting and Budgeting times. Currently, I am more in the intermediate stages of more Vena report building and design. I adapted a bit quicker than others because I have many years of advanced Excel and VBA experiences. I am always ready to learn more about Vena's excellent compatibilities with tips and tricks during the yearly conference. Most importantly, I think it helped us a lot with streamlining multiple data sources into one area; and working with other departments such as the Accounting has been easier. Vena has made refreshing a common click practice to bring in new daily/weekly/monthly data in one report FASTER and EASIER.
  • When refreshing a report with new monthly data for P&L Data after closing month-end closing completed for 1 business unit or more business units, it is FAST at your fingertips, just click a button.
  • For sure, Vena Solutions provides us with the same Vena expert contact to help our team tremendously when we come to a data and reporting roadblock.
  • Vena Solutions integrated very well with our Data and IT teams in terms of implementation and end-user interface friendliness.
  • Vena Solutions has the capability of DRILL-down to the last account or invoice detail line item. It is helpful when you want to know the detail behind that number, for example, Travel Expenses, who, what, when, and how much.
  • Vena Solutions has the CASCADE capability which is helpful when you want to break down the SAME report for the Consolidated Totals into individual business unit totals.
  • I think there should be less time for the keynote speakers at the conferences and more time for instructional sessions. Several of the sessions, the presenters ZIP through so fast because they want to complete by a specific time. I do love the one-on-one 50 minute sessions whether via video or in-person.
  • Vena should continue to find ways to keep using Excel features so that they won't interfere much with performance such as VLookups, Indirect, Offset, etc. They are common and frequent usages in Excel.
  • Vena could write clear and brief usage instructions like examples in the HELP section, much like Microsoft has. Excel has a SHOW TRAINING button in the HELP section.
Vena Solutions currently is best suited for FP&A team and Accounting. We deal with all the company's numbers and analysis. I don't think it will help in the Marketing Department. For sure, it can work its way to be usable and helpful with the Sales Department (Sales Numbers), IT Department (trouble tickets opened closed) and Human Resources (Employee #'s) because they deal with numbers as well.
From what I heard, the Vena contact support that helped our in-house person was excellent. The person was always there to help and answered quickly with concerns and questions.
Read jamie Luangaphay's full review
Mary Goodridge | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2020

Vena Solutions Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Vena to provide budgeting and forecasting for our clients. Within my role, Vena is mainly used to create forecasting models and provide analysis to measure the impact of business decisions. With Vena's Excel-based interface it was easy to take our existing knowledge and use this to build upon, safe in the knowledge that our insights our accurate and continue to be data-driven.
  • Easy to adopt and use
  • Provides an up to date view as new data is imported into Cube structure
  • Easy integration with our current data solutions platform
  • Report creation can be slow - this is improved when using templates but ad-hoc reports can often be tedious to build.
  • The user notification system could be improved.
Vena is perfect for maintaining a view of financial data against KPIs and targets as well as predicting the impact of business decisions over time. Once you have set a report up, you can update it with relative ease. While Vena is perfectly capable of running ad-hoc analysis creating an initial report can be tedious but the results outweigh the time taken.
I have not personally been in contact with Vena's technical support team but I am aware that they have solved any issues colleagues have had in the past.
Read Mary Goodridge's full review
Jack Grifiths | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Great Data Integration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used from both an internal point of view and within our financial consulting division. Its primary use is financial forecasting and the analysis of monthly budgeting reports. We have found Vena to work well within these applications because we are able to standardize our monthly forecasting within an easy to understand report. We were able to hit the ground running with Vena thanks to the Excel-based interface, which has allowed departments that may not use it as regularly as others to adopt it without any problems.
  • Easy to use and understand
  • Excellent integration with external data sources
  • Active and in-depth knowledge hub to help get the most out of it
  • Complex features often need support from Vena
  • User setup was tedious and a little confusing
Vena is well suited for up to date financial forecasting that is based on regular data input, being able to import figures from multiple sources automatically has been a real benefit. We are now more confident in our insights and can complete analysis in the knowledge that no stone has been left unturned. It has improved the accuracy of our forecasting and saved time while doing it.
The Vena support team has been helpful whenever there has been a problem. There is also a very useful knowledge hub with users willing to help out, which has really been beneficial, especially when using some of the more complex features Vena has to offer.
Read Jack Grifiths's full review
Charlotte Byrne Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2020

With Vena Solutions, efficiency is in our hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena Solutions in many departments. We have always had knowledge of Excel, and that is why we quickly got used to using this software. We are always on the lookout for any unforeseen events that people who are unfamiliar with spreadsheets may have, but with constant training and existing Vena tutorials, we are happy because the data is recorded without problems.
  • Professional platform, pleasing to the eye of the user.
  • Great facility to unify team members in the cloud.
  • Quick communication with technical support, no matter if the problems are not resolved--they attend quickly and I like that.
  • We have consulted with team members and agree that the Vena Solutions team should think of something to improve and unify project management.
  • It takes time to create complex templates.
I recommend it without thinking twice because Vena is one of the best for keeping good control of budgets. It is predictive, it maintains control of accounts, and it creates the best solutions for financial data recording problems.
When we need to contact technical support, the response is always quick. We like it very much because we know that we are important as customers. They recognize our need and try to resolve it positively.
Read Charlotte Byrne Brown's full review
Prashant Dayal | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Rewire your Decision Making, Planning with this State of the Art Finance Process!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is used as part of our internal team and works wonderfully. It addresses the strategic planning aspects of our core team. It helps in profitability planning and analysis, even under dynamic automotive market conditions in the automotive sector and other related product launches. The tool has helped the team to come out with profitable products.
  • Revenue projections
  • Profitability analysis
  • Uncovering strategic co-relations
  • Monitoring dashboard could be modernized.
  • More compatibility needed with external reporting tools apart from Microsoft Excel.
  • Automation of report generation could be improved.
One of the best tools in strategic planning, forecasting, and reporting. It helps in uncovering marketing correlations. Monitoring the company's performance in real-time has also become a piece of cake.
Prompt customer support. Great and well built easy to understand tutorials makes the support ecosystem work quite well.
Read Prashant Dayal's full review
Liam Merson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

Improved workflow and results

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use Vena for financial forecasting although within the company we also use it for standard budget reporting. Vena works for me because of its flexibility, I can set up a number of regular forecasting reports using templates, this then gives me the time to create more ad-hoc and in-depth reporting for both our own company and external clients that we deal with. The fact that I can do both these things on one platform has helped my workflow massively.
  • Template creation saves massive amounts of time.
  • Powerful tool for in-depth financial analysis.
  • The collation of third party data sources in one place provides much more insight.
  • Set-up and implementation was slow.
  • Some more powerful features will require help from the Support Team.
Vena is incredibly versatile, which is what makes it work so well. I use it for basic financial forecasting and for detailed demand-based models. The fact that I can do all this within the one system really speeds up the process, not to mention that it works with an Excel-based interface so it is familiar to use from the start.
The Vena support team is incredibly knowledgable and always happy to help you out.
Read Liam Merson's full review
Manjeet Khatri | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

The Benefits of Vena

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used within our company for budget report building and financial forecasting. The cloud-based platform works perfectly for me. I often need to access multiple reports created by colleagues, now that we complete these reports within Vena, we have a central system in which you can access what you need to without having to request it.
  • Central system for accessing reports.
  • Cloud based so you an access data securely from anywhere.
  • Excel UI is familiar and easy to use.
  • Report template building is a manual process.
Vena is great for building reports and distributing reports. Regularly produced reports are now highly automated and easily accessible, removing the need for someone to create the report from scratch and distribute it accordingly. I think it has improved the collaborative process within the company and given colleagues better access to the data they need.
I have only had to use Vena's support team a couple of times but they have been able to resolve the issue on both occasions. Both issues were down to my own error but the team was happy to talk me through the solution.
Read Manjeet Khatri's full review
Pamela Mellor | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

Excel based reporting with more control

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena for basic and regular budgeting reports as well as financial forecasting and ad-hoc reporting. Vena has taken what we were able to complete within Excel and streamlined it. Our regular budget reports are now almost completely automated thanks to the template solutions Vena offers. This has given us more time for ad-hoc reporting, which Vena has also handled very well.
  • Excel interface.
  • Automation of common budgeting reports with templates.
  • Templates are slow to build but worth it once they are set up.
Vena is well suited if you are already familiar with Excel and is especially rewarding if you are using advanced Excel functions/VBA. It has really helped us streamline our budgeting report process. If you have the time to build all the templates that you will need for regular reporting, then you will reap the rewards in the long run.
I have not had to deal directly with their support team.
Read Pamela Mellor's full review
Carl Hartley | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Versatile Excel-based System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is being used for financial budgeting, both for our own finances and partners that we provide consultation for. We also use it to run forecasting models and reports, which we are able to complete more regularly and with much more accuracy with Vena. Since Vena Solutions's introduction, we have been able to place more emphasis on our in-depth forecasting models as we are more confident in their results.
  • Versatility - We can use Vena Solutions for basic budgeting and complex forecasting.
  • The interface meant that we could implement it across the department quickly.
  • Strong customer service support
  • Slow loading times when using multiple third-party data sources.
  • The training documentation could have a bigger focus on more complex features.
Vena Solutions is very flexible and therefore is great for a number of situations. I really like using it for basic budgeting because you can set up template reports for work that you have to complete regularly. This has saved a lot of time, and I imagine it has really cut down on user error. It also feels just as at home when completing ad hoc financial forecasting as is sometimes required.
On the occasion I have needed help with anything, Vena Solutions have always been able to help me out quickly and professionally.
Read Carl Hartley's full review
Katherine Raimond | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Vena Solutions Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is being used for our budgeting needs, as well as financial data consolidation. Vena is working well for us as a company as we can collate all data we need in the one place, with an easy to access portal and a familiar Excel style interface. The amount of time saved by having one central system has been significant.
  • Communication with third-party data sources
  • Excel interface is familiar.
  • Template creation is tedious and has a steep learning curve.
  • User task notification system could be improved.
Any Excel-based report translates perfectly to Vena Solutions, but you have the benefit of their brilliant cloud platform. Reports can be viewed by multiple users from any location. The benefit of templating reports has had a big impact as well.
The support documentation is great for the basic things but for more advanced features and use cases you will need to speak directly with their support team. From my experience they have been great to deal with.
Read Katherine Raimond's full review
Yvette Grayson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Financial Process made easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
From my areas of work, Vena is mainly being used for the collation of all our financial data, creating one place to access all our data sources and from there we can then use Vena to analyze this data. The Excel-based interface has made it easy to adapt to Vena and the cloud-based network has made it easy for me to input any new data we receive, safe in the knowledge that it is secure.
  • Cloud based system allows access to data from anywhere.
  • Excel UI is familiar and easy to adopt.
  • Using multiple data sources with the one platform.
  • Setup was slow.
  • The creation of report templates can be tedious but saves time overall.
Vena offers a solution for being able to access lots of different types of financial data within one place. From an administrative side, it has really streamlined our workflow and cut down on the amount of work we have to spend verifying data that is submitted from other areas of the business.
I have not needed to deal with Vena's team directly at this point.
Read Yvette Grayson's full review
Daniel Willstaff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Satisfied with Vena

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used within the company to satisfy a number of needs. For me, it is used to run regular financial forecasting models for external clients that we manage. Often a client will request a report and with Vena we are able to easily run these reports on short notice and share them effectively. It has also been effective for our own financial planning as we can import multiple data sources into one easy Excel-based platform. Allowing colleagues at every level of experience to handle different types of data.
  • Familiar Excel platform.
  • Easy sharing of reports with other users.
  • Compatibility with multiple third party data sources.
  • Import of data from external sources can be slow initially.
  • VBA experience required for more advanced use.
Vena is great for setting up regular report templates, this saves time and allows us to forecast much more often and at the request of our clients. The time the templates has saved has allowed our team more time to build out more complex forecasting models, which Vena has also handled with no issues.
Support from Vena has been easy to access, on occasion they have been slightly slow to reply but overall it has not affected the service.
Read Daniel Willstaff's full review
Jack Thwaite | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Vena is a great tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena in a number of departments, mainly with a focus on forecasting. I have found Vena helpful for me because I am able to access reports from other parts of the company without having to request them directly, this has saved a lot of time. As the process of making certain financial documents has been standardized I am now much more confident in the accuracy of any documents that are created using Vena.
  • Cloud based portal to access work from.
  • Version control is clean and easy to use.
  • An increase in the accuracy of financial reporting.
  • Template building can be time consuming.
Vena is great for creating and managing financial documents that more than one department will need to access, the template feature allows someone with less experience to take ownership of work while giving peace of mind to other colleagues who have more confidence that it will be correct. I have found it particularly helpful in my work as requesting a document is no longer a manual process and time and resource does not have to be allocated if I wish to run a fresh report.
Vena seems to have an easily contactable and reliable support team as well as a large document library for help with lots of the basics.
Read Jack Thwaite's full review
Niall Harrington | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

A comprehensive tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions is being used by our Accounting department for budgeting and forecasting, although we are starting to implement it in more areas that deal regularly with financial information regularly. From an administrative point of view it has helped standardize financial reports and moving forward we hope to have a completely streamlined workflow with standard documents and processes for all departments to submit accurate financial data with.
  • Excel integration gives you a great point to start off from.
  • Template and process mapping avoids any errors caused by lack of experience.
  • The cloud based security is both helpful and gives you peace of mind.
  • Setup was tedious but definitely worth it in the long run.
  • Using multiple data cubes can slow the system down.
Vena Solutions is perfect for creating budgeting templates, saving time on a day to day basis. These templates have also made the administration side much easier as there is less chance for error and all documents can be located within one place thanks to the cloud technology. This allows you to access what you need wherever you are without having to worry about a secure connection.
I have personally not had to use Vena's support but I understand that colleagues who have had any issues have had them resolved quickly.
Read Niall Harrington's full review
Katie Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Advanced Forecasting Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena is used within our team mainly for budgeting and forecasting although we believe there is scope to expand this into further areas and standardize financial report building across the company using Vena. The template building tool has saved massive amounts of time allowing us to focus on more in-depth reporting. It also provides us with confidence that each report built by one of our templates is 100% correct, something that we found was a massive positive.
  • The overall UI is fantastic, its integration with Excel means that it feels familiar right from the start.
  • Template creation is great for saving time and improving accuracy.
  • After sales support is really good, the team is always there should you have any issues or questions, which was especially helpful in the first week of implementation.
  • Loading times on our more complex templates can be slow.
  • Support documentation could be more detailed, especially for the more complex and niche features Vena offers.
The Excel based interface means that Vena is capable of pretty much anything you can dream up within Excel and the template reporting means that we can run forecasting models much more often and with greater accuracy than before, without having to dedicate more resources. If you are collecting data from multiple third-party sources then the system may struggle with the workload at first but I imagine this is to be expected of any platform handling requests from different data sources.
We have never had an issue contacting the support team, this was especially important during the first weeks of implementation. I do think that there could be improved support documentation to go along with their personal support, especially for their more complex features as some users may not know that these are available.
Read Katie Adams's full review
Danna Martins Wembley | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Good control of financial reports, really comfortable working with Vena Solutions.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ability to track data is what caught our attention about Vena Solutions because it is good that it is unified with Excel, as everything is very accurate and the configuration options are adequate. This software is being used by all the departments that require to keep track of the accounts, the selected data, and the customer data that are totally necessary to maintain order in the company.
  • Data is kept secure because it is stored in the cloud, which improves efficiency and speeds up internal processes.
  • The accounts are exact, as everything is calculated accurately with Excel formulas.
  • The weekly reports are very accurate and the control of administrative data means that all departments have great control.
  • There is a point when I try to add a complex template, the system becomes a little slow, and that frustrates me a bit.
  • For users who are inexperienced with Excel, the process of using this software will become a path you do not want to travel.
Vena Solutions is a totally necessary software if you want to keep accurate control of all financial data because the unification with Excel is very good, the spreadsheets are as they have always been in Excel, so when you work with Vena the adaptation is quick.
We have had a good response from the technical support service, I like that the chat is direct, because that way it helps us solve the problems we have at the time of communication, the responses have also been successful, the staff is very professional .
Read Danna Martins Wembley's full review
Samuel Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Such a Time Saver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vena Solutions has helped us to implement a tool efficient enough to visualise the business data and process being done in our organization. We were able to create visual information from huge piles of raw data in the form of dashboards and reports in a fraction of the time that we used to do before. It has made us more agile and has also helped the business stakeholders greatly as they no longer need to rely on an IT team for statistics, once the initial setup is done.
  • It has helped us cut down our time to categorising and organising data.
  • With the help of Vena Solutions we no longer need to maintain a version control across different users.
  • The tool is easy to use for even a non IT professional.
  • A few more tutorials for users on how to use not so common features would be helpful.
  • The performance of the tool needs to be improved, a lighter version would help.
  • The initial setup needs to be made a bit more simple.
Vena Solutions was highly efficient when we wanted to search data for finer details such as the business statistics for a specific day or so, but while searching for a similar statistics report ranging across multiple dates it became a bit tiring as we needed to download and work on multiple files.
Although the initial setup for Vena Solutions was pretty difficult, they helped our team throughout the whole setup process and answered all our queries as soon as they could. Every time we raise a request or an issue with the support team, they respond back instantly and follow up periodically till our issue gets solved.
Read Samuel Johnson's full review
Phillip Holmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Powerful and Familiar

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vena for budgeting and forecasting within my department with several other teams starting to use Vena within their workflow. Vena has allowed us to create a more uniform budgeting approach while still maintaining the familiarity of using Excel. Just in a much safer and more powerful way. It has allowed us to quickly share data with areas of the business that request it without the need for a complicated system in order to keep things secure.
  • Familiarity - Forecasting and mapping within Excel means you have a level of expertise with Vena right from the word go.
  • Web Based Working - The work process on the web allows you to open documents from anywhere, a real must in today's environment.
  • Template Creation - The ability to create mapping templates is perfect for saving time and ensuring greater accuracy.
  • The Setup - Although probably expected, there is a long set-up process.
  • Accessing a Pivot table through an external connection is very slow - to the point of struggling to use this feature.
The Excel interface means that Vena works really well with most Excel-based applications. This interface allows us to create more complex forecasting models without needing to roll out training company-wide for colleagues to understand them. We can use Vena and share our work with teams that have not yet adopted it.

One drawback we have found is that pivot table connections to external OLEDB is very slow - This is something that may not be an issue for all business depending on your own infrastructure.
This is almost the perfect product for us - it takes a familiar interface and builds upon it. There are many aspects that have improved the way we do things. Making our forecasting more secure and more in-depth. Like with anything there are aspects that can be improved - specifically connections to third-party data sources although this is such a broad feature.
Read Phillip Holmes's full review
Samantha Ellen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

Errors are a problem of the past thanks to Vena Solutions.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this time, the use of Vena Solutions is required in different departments for monthly data and budget management, eliminating our old manual information collection system, which only generated many technical errors, generally basic errors and very easy to solve. They were caused by not having an integration with Excel and ERP. All employees have access to data records on a monthly and permanent basis with Vena Solutions. All this translates into savings of time, effort, headaches and money. Finally I want to mention that not everything is perfect with Vena Solutions, the connection with the ERP requires a high technical knowledge and it took us more than a month to adapt.
  • Vena Solutions eliminates all manual errors that generally occur every month due to lack of experience.
  • Excel and ERP are fully integrated with Vena Solutions.
  • All financial reports can be viewed by different departments at the same time.
  • Managing workflow is difficult.
  • A lot of complexity to adapt our ERP with Vena Solutions. Operation is adequate, but setup can be very complex.
I have no hesitation in recommending Vena Solutions, it will not be easy to learn how to use Vena with ERP, but after going through this long and tedious process I can say that it is worth the effort. This process can be shorter by requesting specialized technical help from the Vena Solutions team.
Establishing communication with a Vena Solutios customer service agent is a very simple task. It is fast and fluid, generally you have to connect to a direct chat with its experts and solve live problems live or simply run Vena tools to optimize our work.
Read Samantha Ellen's full review
Henry Anthony Simmons Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

It allows us to create a multi-cube structure and this is what I like most about Vena Solutions.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With Vena Solutions, I have the knowledge of well-documented financial analysis. I can establish parameters for better compliance with our goals and cost savings. We use it for SOX compliance. We always viewed the daily data reports and monthly I have a good statistical analysis of the monthly reports. The only thing wrong with Vena is the long learning curve.
  • We use it for SOX compliance.
  • Daily and monthly financial analysis.
  • It allows us to create a multi-cube structure.
  • Long learning curve.
  • If you manage to overcome the long learning curve you will no longer have any problems.
Every company needs data analysis, with Vena the data reports can be daily, weekly, or monthly and this allows a detailed and useful statistical analysis. It allows us to create a multi-cube structure and we use it for SOX compliance. Simply, every company must use Vela daily and my opinion is positive in my direct experience.
The support with Excel and ERP are fantastic. In addition, we achieve better compliance with SOX. The customer service is totally live and with a technician specialized in the subject.
Read Henry Anthony Simmons Green's full review
Jeremiah Adrian Howard Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Vena Solutions fits perfectly with our ERP and this is of great help.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are various uses for Vena as well as financial analysis for the month-end mainly, we can establish advanced and detailed budget criteria. In addition, the data visualizations are very light and detailed, resulting in good access to financial data information, budgets, analysis, and we managed to complement and adapt solid strategies with our ERP system and its connection with Vena Solutions. We have only had a few delays in understanding all the features because not all users are EXCEL experts.
  • Optimal connection with our ERP system.
  • We perform detailed month-end analyzes to optimize our budget requirements.
  • Good data spectrum to model and map in Excel.
  • It is overwhelming for inexperienced users.
  • It takes a while to load the templates.
  • It can improve much more, but they are not serious problems that cannot be solved with a little training to all users.
I can recommend it because it can connect very well with our ERP system and this is a great advantage. In addition, Vena Solutions allows us to optimize our entire financial and budget system, which generates a positive ROI after the first few months using it. It is true that it is complex for many users, but this problem is solved simply with training, so I do not consider that the difficulty of using it is a serious problem.
It has detailed month closings and with good and extensive information that allows us to develop and innovate other areas of work. I have a duty to report that Vena Solutions support lives up to our highest standards. I can quickly communicate with your experts if any Vena function is difficult for me. This is something I really appreciate and think makes it a wonderful product. There are more virtues than failures.
Read Jeremiah Adrian Howard Ross's full review
Drew Stanecki | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena is a great value for many different accounting systems!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Vena for monthly board and department-level reporting. Using Microsoft Dynamics GP as our accounting system, adding new accounts always caused a lot of manual intervention in reports. Vena's more dynamic system helps better incorporate these new accounts as we go. It also gives the departments the ability to run reports themselves.

On the budgeting side, the automated workflows will make it much easier to track who has and hasn't completed their budget. We historically had to hire a temp each year to spread and input our budget into GP. We no longer have to do that, which will save us about $35,000 per year. The system is truly paying for itself, which is helpful in a nonprofit environment where budgets are tight.
  • The integration with Excel makes building reports really intuitive.
  • The process flows are easy to set up and manage.
  • The Modeler makes organizing accounts and dimensions really simple.
  • Compiling and exporting reports is not set up well and there are many glitches.
  • There is a process for automating budget spreads, but it does not work (and Vena will be the first to admit that).
  • The knowledge base is unorganized and hard to find things, but luckily the support team is responsive. It would just be nice to not always have to go to them for help!
This might seem basic, but having multiple advanced Excel users is critical. Vena Solutions works well for my organization as we have a fairly complex budget with many departments. An organization with fewer divisions might not need something this complex. You also need to have an IT resource that understands query building out of your general ledger system. An organization must be able to afford that type of resource.
Support is very responsive, though they don't seem to be armed with a ton of creative solutions. The implementation team is much better trained than the support team.
Read Drew Stanecki's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (25)
8.2
Customizable dashboards (38)
7.8
Report Formatting Templates (42)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (74)
8.9
Formatting capabilities (72)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (29)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (66)
8.5
Publish to Web (36)
7.8
Publish to PDF (50)
7.8
Report Versioning (55)
9.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (53)
9.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (40)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (28)
7.9
Predictive Analytics (34)
8.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (73)
9.4
Role-Based Security Model (72)
8.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (74)
9.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (46)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (41)
7.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (37)
7.8
Long-term financial planning (94)
8.6
Financial budgeting (100)
8.7
Forecasting (97)
8.6
Scenario modeling (90)
8.4
Management reporting (98)
8.3
Financial data consolidation (77)
8.9
Journal entries and reports (57)
8.0
Multi-currency management (57)
9.1
Intercompany Eliminations (54)
8.0
Minority Ownership (38)
7.4
Local and consolidated reporting (64)
9.1
Detailed Audit Trails (86)
8.9
Financial Statement Reporting (87)
9.1
Management Reporting (89)
9.3
Excel-based Reporting (95)
9.3
Automated board and financial reporting (70)
9.3
XBRL support for regulatory filing (30)
7.5
Personalized dashboards (64)
7.6
Color-coded scorecards (47)
7.9
KPIs (53)
8.7
Cost and profitability analysis (57)
9.6
Key Performance Indicator setting (56)
8.5
Benchmarking with external data (43)
7.9
Flat file integration (78)
9.3
Excel data integration (85)
9.5
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (75)
7.0

About Vena Solutions

Vena Solutions is a platform that connects people, process and technology to propel integrated business planning, boasting ease of use, reporting and analytics, and a connected platform of applications covering the full spectrum of FP&A—from account reconciliation and budgeting to scenario modeling, analytics and consolidation. The vendor states more than 800 companies around the world rely on Vena to measure and learn from their past performance and to plan confidently for a successful future.

For more information, visit: www.venasolutions.com

Vena Solutions Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Vena Solutions Screenshots

Vena Solutions Videos (3)

Watch How Vena can help you plan for today and tomorrow

Watch How Vena work in 5 Minutes

Watch AEG Presents Reduces Reporting Times by 99% with Vena

Vena Solutions Downloadables

Vena Solutions Integrations

Sage Intacct, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics, Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, Intuit Quickbooks, Deltek, FinancialForce

Vena Solutions Competitors

Workday Adaptive Planning, Prophix, Planful (formerly Host Analytics)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Vena Solutions Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
43%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
45%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
12%

Vena Solutions Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Support Portal

Vena Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:You don't need to download an app or change a setting to use Vena on your mobile device: just open your browser, go to Vena (vena.io), and log in as you normally do. The Contributor interface is fully responsive, so it can adjust to any size screen, regardless of the type of device you have.
Supported Countries:United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, South Africa, Europe
Supported Languages: Vena supports any localization capabilities already native within Excel. Vena Cloud supports English, Spanish, and French. If a specific language is required please don’t hesitate to ask.