Vena Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 54)

Aaron Andersen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena offers power, flexibility, approachability, and value.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Prophix is powerful, and structures data on the back-end in a very similar way with multiple data models, and I have used it before. But the learning curve is steep. Building complex rules, e.g. for a union personnel model, was much harder than designing the same logic in Excel. The learning curve was steep and put off end-users, and even other Finance professionals. By working within Excel, Vena starts you higher up the learning curve.

Adaptive is very user friendly, but the solution is much less flexible. One of my models uses a custom daily time hierarchy with day of week comparability across multiple years. In Vena, you can make a hierarchy however you like. That's not true in Adaptive. And security can only be applied along one dimension. With Vena, you can use task-binding to control access differently from one process to another.

Host Analytics (now called Planful) was similar to Prophix in terms of power and maturity. It was more user friendly, but still didn't offer the combination of flexibility and approachability that Vena offers, and it was much more expensive.







Read Aaron Andersen's full review
Alicia Scappe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena Solutions Rocks and Keeps Getting Better!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We partnered with Vena Solutions because our customers love Excel. This solution provides the ability for our customers to have an integrated and collaborative planning process while still leveraging the tool they love so much.
Read Alicia Scappe's full review
Drew Stanecki | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Vena is a great value for many different accounting systems!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Currently, my organization uses Microsoft Dynamics GP, but given that system is pretty dated, we wanted a solution that both integrated with our current solution as well as other top solutions on the market (like Intacct, etc.). The Excel-based report building was much easier for the user than other solutions we reviewed.
Read Drew Stanecki's full review
Jamie Killpack, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Fantastic company, even better product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Clearly a better fit for our company from a culture perspective. Adaptive sales team was super pushy and not a good fit for us. Also, the system would have LET us work in Excel, but that was not its main interface.
Read Jamie Killpack, CPA's full review
Samy Ma | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

New User to Vena Solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vena Solutions is far beyond Yardi Voyager because Vena can put a custom report together in a few minutes instead of hours. You don't have to do a lot of drilling to get the details of the amount and you can see all the history of the amount by click on the cell. It makes the agile reporting and analysis much easier.
Read Samy Ma's full review
Eric French | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Vena Solutions - Excel-based FP & A

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using Dynamic Budgets before we moved over to Vena and researched many, many, many other products before settling on Vena in the end. One of the things that quickly knocked out other vendors was our unique fiscal calendar. We have 13 periods (4 weeks each) and that additional period was just not an option with most products at the time we were looking for a new product.
Read Eric French's full review
Ben White | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Great tool for the price for business embarking on their data/information journeys

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Selected based on ROI for the size of business we were and where we were on our data journey. Vena still has great functionality for where it is positioned and the additional functionality we can get from other tools is not quite justified for the jump in cost as yet.
Read Ben White's full review
Brendon Suggett | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

If Budgeting/Forecasting/Reporting is a painful process for you, Vena is a great solution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I truly feel that Vena is the best of the bunch. Not only does it provide superior user experience, but it also costs less than these competitors.
Read Brendon Suggett's full review
Christie Holmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Easy to deploy

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At the end of the day, Vena offered great value without having to involve IT. It was an easy to implement system for us. We could query the data from our financial system and created a process to send it to Vena using Box and Microsoft Power Automation (formerly Flow). Because of the extensive use of Excel and the primary end-user interface, it helped with the change management so that we did not have to do extensive training with the roll-out of the new process.
Read Christie Holmes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Vena wins with low learning curve and ease of use.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vena's unique format and excel add in are far superior to Hubble for running reports that are readily customizable and user friendly. While my experience with Hubble was limited to exporting live data from JDE, I have been able to create queries that are both simple and complex to suit my needs along with generate the balance sheet, income statement and statement of cash flows with user inputs. As far as I am aware, I was not able to input data into Hubble nor generate any reports. I appreciate the ability to do this via excel versus a dedicated program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Satisfied

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vena was chosen for its flexibility, capabilities, and current growth. The product is constantly being updated. User management was better. The Excel user interface was a major factor in user adoption. Hyperion seemed to be a new interface to an old product (Oracle).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Vena for Excel lovers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had Prophix (old version) for planning and budgeting and it was way less user-friendly and flexible than Vena.
We always had to go back to Excel to build more complex reports and share them.
And we extended the use of Vena to monthly reporting, which could not have been done with Prophix.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

New User, Great Product! So Much Room for Company Growth!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have looked at NetSuite ODBC, which is a connector from NetSuite straight to Excel. This was a one time cost to us which was enticing, but once we dug into it, there was quite a bit of maintenance needed with scripting. Unlike Vena, where the setup is once, searches did not have to be scripted but could be created in the search function instead. the option to grow with Vena was quite larger than with the NetSuite option as well.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (25)
8.2
Customizable dashboards (38)
7.8
Report Formatting Templates (42)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (75)
8.9
Formatting capabilities (73)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (29)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (66)
8.5
Publish to Web (37)
7.9
Publish to PDF (51)
7.9
Report Versioning (56)
9.2
Report Delivery Scheduling (54)
9.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (40)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (29)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (35)
8.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (74)
9.4
Role-Based Security Model (73)
8.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (75)
9.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (46)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (42)
8.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (38)
7.8
Long-term financial planning (95)
8.7
Financial budgeting (101)
8.7
Forecasting (98)
8.6
Scenario modeling (91)
8.4
Management reporting (99)
8.3
Financial data consolidation (78)
8.9
Journal entries and reports (57)
8.0
Multi-currency management (58)
9.3
Intercompany Eliminations (54)
8.0
Minority Ownership (38)
7.4
Local and consolidated reporting (64)
9.1
Detailed Audit Trails (86)
8.9
Financial Statement Reporting (88)
9.2
Management Reporting (90)
9.2
Excel-based Reporting (96)
9.4
Automated board and financial reporting (70)
9.3
XBRL support for regulatory filing (30)
7.5
Personalized dashboards (65)
7.8
Color-coded scorecards (48)
8.1
KPIs (53)
8.7
Cost and profitability analysis (58)
9.7
Key Performance Indicator setting (57)
8.7
Benchmarking with external data (44)
8.0
Flat file integration (79)
9.2
Excel data integration (86)
9.4
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (76)
7.1

About Vena Solutions

Vena Solutions is a platform that connects people, process and technology to propel integrated business planning, boasting ease of use, reporting and analytics, and a connected platform of applications covering the full spectrum of FP&A—from account reconciliation and budgeting to scenario modeling, analytics and consolidation. The vendor states more than 800 companies around the world rely on Vena to measure and learn from their past performance and to plan confidently for a successful future.

For more information, visit: www.venasolutions.com

Vena Solutions Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Vena Solutions Screenshots

Vena Solutions Videos (3)

Watch How Vena can help you plan for today and tomorrow

Watch How Vena work in 5 Minutes

Watch AEG Presents Reduces Reporting Times by 99% with Vena

Vena Solutions Downloadables

Vena Solutions Integrations

Sage Intacct, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics, Oracle, SAP, Salesforce, Intuit Quickbooks, Deltek, FinancialForce

Vena Solutions Competitors

Workday Adaptive Planning, Prophix, Planful (formerly Host Analytics)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Vena Solutions Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
43%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
45%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
12%

Vena Solutions Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Support Portal

Vena Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:You don't need to download an app or change a setting to use Vena on your mobile device: just open your browser, go to Vena (vena.io), and log in as you normally do. The Contributor interface is fully responsive, so it can adjust to any size screen, regardless of the type of device you have.
Supported Countries:United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, South Africa, Europe
Supported Languages: Vena supports any localization capabilities already native within Excel. Vena Cloud supports English, Spanish, and French. If a specific language is required please don’t hesitate to ask.