TrustRadius
Symantec Backup Exec is a backup and disaster recovery solution.Veritas Backup Exec review!Veritas Backup Exec has been used by our company for many years now. Our whole IT department uses it. It is extremely reliable, easy to install, configure and maintain. One of its strongest points would be that it supports an array of legacy devices. The GUI is very user-friendly, restore speeds are incredible!,Very easy to install and configure. Extremely user friendly. Restore speeds are incredible.,Very expensive. Could have more expanded features.,9,Backup Exec has made me and my company save countless hours, simply the best backup/restore program. Extremely user friendly. Price is very fair for the quality of features it comes with.,,MS SharePoint, Microsoft AccessBackup Exec - Latest thoughts from a longtime userWe use Backup Exec both for disk-to-tape and disk-to-disk backup. We back up to a Quantum tape autoloader, doing full server backups every weekend. We also to monthly database backups also to tape. We also use Backup Exec to backup our Hyper-V virtual machines to a NAS. We need a secure and inexpensive mode to backup our data and yet still have it readily available.,Manage agent based backups - It is easy to schedule and monitor backups. Verifying backups is done for all jobs. Backup performance is excellent. Provide a wide ranging contingent of backup options - Despite providing a dizzying array of backup options, it is easy to schedule individual or recurring jobs. Integrates well with our Active Directory - Restoring even individual Active Directory objects is possible.,Backup Exec was recently spun off from Symantec and is now back under the Veritas umbrella. Since the transition I have noted an increased number of anomalous errors occurring during backups. I think most of these have to do with an increased level of security built into the product, but attention needs to be paid by Veritas to eliminate these problems. Backup Exec has always had an annoying habit of making it very difficult to cancel a job in progress. This should be an easy thing to fix. For some reason they are unwilling or unable to correct the problem, making it frustrating for the user. Veritas has a rather confusing licensing scheme and it seems to cover up what is an expensive product.,7,As the person tasked with the job of protecting the company's data, I am glad that Backup Exec performs that job well. I am able to often set-it-and-forget-it and go about the rest of my duties. I have never had a situation where Backup Exec was called upon to restore data and it was unable to do so. This reflects well on both me and my department and provides a sense of security to the rest of the company. I am not making full use of the product and have not licensed a number of its features, but even the base feature set is impressive. To be clear, Backup Exec is no longer the only product we reply upon for data protection, but it is still a large part of that program. If an SMB can find the budget to afford to license the set of features meet its particular demands, Backup Exec will do what you need. As an industry leader, Backup Exec is well positioned to stay at the head of the pack (as they have done for many years) and provide their customers with a comprehensive set of capabilities that will always remain in the forefront of technology.,Barracuda Backup,Barracuda Backup, Barracuda Email Security Service, Microsoft Office 365BackupExecWe currently use Veritas Backup Exec for disaster recovery in our environment. We use it on a stand-alone server (R610) with a fiber channel connection to our EMC and our Tape Storage device. We use it to back up physical servers as well as our virtual environment.,Veritas Backup Exec's interface is very easy to use for a beginner to Disaster recovery. The storage targeting is very easy to set up and manage. It is very user-friendly to make changes to the preferences of each job or all of the jobs at once. The single file restores are very easy to set up and complete.,Job completion times could be improved. It sometimes takes a while to inventory a tape. Veritas Backup Exec requires you to install clients on all of your servers. A client less option would be appreciated/helpful. Sometimes jobs will fail for no particular reason. For example, we have an application server that will always get hung up unless we omit certain folders from the backup job.,2,Veritas Backup Exec is good for single file restores. We have had to restore files from a few months back without any problem. Veritas has saved us money by reverting work that was overwritten by a past employee. Sometimes tapes can be overwritten by accident when you inventory it for restore, which can be an issue.,Veeam Backup & Replication,EMC VNXBackup Exec is our single source for data backup.Symantec Backup Exec is being used on our server for the whole organization. BE provides protection for our data, gives us security knowing our information is being backed up safely and securely. Performance is excellent, restoring lost data is simple and accurate. Support for restoring downed servers by system recovery is a feature and process that is important to our organization.,Fast and accurate backups Easy to install, configure and manage Works well across many backup options,For our use, we are fine as it is.,9,The return has had a positive impact on our ROI. BE for our use is easy to deploy, manage and maintain.,,Microsoft SQL Server, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), QuickBooks ProBackup Exec - Market Leader Lost its Way?We use Backup Exec as one of our backup solutions. The server that the Backup Exec software is installed on has an attached tape library unit which allows tape backups. This in turn allows the backups to be taken off site. We also do off-site backup replications but network restrictions currently prevent all servers / backups to be replicated off-site. Thus, some locally based physical servers utilise the Symantec Backup Exec system.,Symantec is probably the best known and most widely use backup software - the benefit to this is that most IT staff of a certain level usually have had some exposure to one version of the software or another. Product Maturity - It is very intuitive, and because of the product's maturity the menus and options are laid out particularly well. Robust & reliable - the system is a proven solution with excellent support in place also.,The user interface can sometimes be sluggish and hang between options.The minimum spec is 2Gb but if running on a dedicated server I think 4Gb is recommended As more companies seem to be entering the backup software market, Acronis is very aggressive on pricing and even offer discounts if you are replacing other backup solutions, the Backup Exec pricing plans have become a more expensive Our version is an older 2014 version and has inadequate support for VM backs,8,Backups by their very nature are difficult to quantify when it comes to ROI. Any monies spent should be seen more as insurance . If you never have to claim on it then that is the best outcome. Backup Exec gives you comfort that you can meet any downtime recovery targets set by your business and this is how to benchmark your solution. Conduct regular DR tests and your this will be your ROI.,Acronis Backup,Acronis Backup, VMware vCenter Server, DameWare Remote Support
Unspecified
Veritas Backup Exec
68 Ratings
Score 7.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Veritas Backup Exec Reviews

Veritas Backup Exec
68 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 68 vetted Veritas Backup Exec reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
November 05, 2018

"Veritas Backup Exec review!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veritas Backup Exec has been used by our company for many years now. Our whole IT department uses it. It is extremely reliable, easy to install, configure and maintain. One of its strongest points would be that it supports an array of legacy devices. The GUI is very user-friendly, restore speeds are incredible!
  • Very easy to install and configure.
  • Extremely user friendly.
  • Restore speeds are incredible.
  • Very expensive.
  • Could have more expanded features.
Veritas Backup Exec is well suited for any type of business environment. It has saved me countless hours of time, the restore options and speeds are simply incredible. I would definitely recommend this backup/restore solution to any company IT department looking to upgrade their existing solution, especially if your company uses legacy hardware.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Daniels profile photo
February 01, 2018

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec - Latest thoughts from a longtime user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Backup Exec both for disk-to-tape and disk-to-disk backup. We back up to a Quantum tape autoloader, doing full server backups every weekend. We also to monthly database backups also to tape. We also use Backup Exec to backup our Hyper-V virtual machines to a NAS. We need a secure and inexpensive mode to backup our data and yet still have it readily available.
  • Manage agent based backups - It is easy to schedule and monitor backups. Verifying backups is done for all jobs. Backup performance is excellent.
  • Provide a wide ranging contingent of backup options - Despite providing a dizzying array of backup options, it is easy to schedule individual or recurring jobs.
  • Integrates well with our Active Directory - Restoring even individual Active Directory objects is possible.
  • Backup Exec was recently spun off from Symantec and is now back under the Veritas umbrella. Since the transition I have noted an increased number of anomalous errors occurring during backups. I think most of these have to do with an increased level of security built into the product, but attention needs to be paid by Veritas to eliminate these problems.
  • Backup Exec has always had an annoying habit of making it very difficult to cancel a job in progress. This should be an easy thing to fix. For some reason they are unwilling or unable to correct the problem, making it frustrating for the user.
  • Veritas has a rather confusing licensing scheme and it seems to cover up what is an expensive product.
My rating would have been higher a few years ago, but nagging problems, primarily noticed since the switch back to Veritas, has increased my dissatisfaction. It is still a solid product for the SMB market. It is a wide variety of options that will fit into just about any scenario that you can think of. Licensing complexity continues to be a issue. It offers solid performance, reasonably good support and a decent interface once you are used to it.
Read Jeff Daniels's full review
Michael Hylek profile photo
March 28, 2018

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "BackupExec"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Veritas Backup Exec for disaster recovery in our environment. We use it on a stand-alone server (R610) with a fiber channel connection to our EMC and our Tape Storage device. We use it to back up physical servers as well as our virtual environment.
  • Veritas Backup Exec's interface is very easy to use for a beginner to Disaster recovery.
  • The storage targeting is very easy to set up and manage. It is very user-friendly to make changes to the preferences of each job or all of the jobs at once.
  • The single file restores are very easy to set up and complete.
  • Job completion times could be improved. It sometimes takes a while to inventory a tape.
  • Veritas Backup Exec requires you to install clients on all of your servers. A client less option would be appreciated/helpful.
  • Sometimes jobs will fail for no particular reason. For example, we have an application server that will always get hung up unless we omit certain folders from the backup job.
Veritas is good for old school shops that don't want to move to the future with newer styled backup options. If you want any cloud backup options the industry is moving more towards Veeam.
Read Michael Hylek's full review
Bob Gregory profile photo
February 06, 2018

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec is our single source for data backup."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Symantec Backup Exec is being used on our server for the whole organization. BE provides protection for our data, gives us security knowing our information is being backed up safely and securely. Performance is excellent, restoring lost data is simple and accurate. Support for restoring downed servers by system recovery is a feature and process that is important to our organization.
  • Fast and accurate backups
  • Easy to install, configure and manage
  • Works well across many backup options
  • For our use, we are fine as it is.
Internal and external server backup as well as cloud solutions. Based on our needs BE is very well suited.
Read Bob Gregory's full review
No photo available
May 04, 2018

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec - Market Leader Lost its Way?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Backup Exec as one of our backup solutions. The server that the Backup Exec software is installed on has an attached tape library unit which allows tape backups. This in turn allows the backups to be taken off site. We also do off-site backup replications but network restrictions currently prevent all servers / backups to be replicated off-site. Thus, some locally based physical servers utilise the Symantec Backup Exec system.
  • Symantec is probably the best known and most widely use backup software - the benefit to this is that most IT staff of a certain level usually have had some exposure to one version of the software or another.
  • Product Maturity - It is very intuitive, and because of the product's maturity the menus and options are laid out particularly well.
  • Robust & reliable - the system is a proven solution with excellent support in place also.
  • The user interface can sometimes be sluggish and hang between options.The minimum spec is 2Gb but if running on a dedicated server I think 4Gb is recommended
  • As more companies seem to be entering the backup software market, Acronis is very aggressive on pricing and even offer discounts if you are replacing other backup solutions, the Backup Exec pricing plans have become a more expensive
  • Our version is an older 2014 version and has inadequate support for VM backs
Backup Exec is still a solid and reliable product with years of development behind it-using it for physical servers and pure data file backups is where it's currently best placed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2017

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Rolls"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Symantec Backup Exec to backup our Windows servers.
  • Backup Exec is good for defining backup strategy across multiple supports (external hdd and tapes for us).
  • Backup Exec is good at backing up all data including files with open handles.
  • Restoring a single file to a previous version is very easy.
  • Finding the most performant driver for our tape recorded in Windows Server environment was not easy.
  • It took several years with help of the Symantec support to find the appropriate driver.
  • Symantec support service was not so responsive and did not really provide a permanent solution to our problems, but it really improved in the last few years.
Backup Exec is a nice tool to backup Windows servers and workstations.
Read this authenticated review
Derek Schroeder profile photo
December 05, 2017

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec - affordable and useful for any amount of data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I support numerous clients that have Backup Exec and have used every version of the software since 2009. It is a great product that is flexible and reliable. It can backup to most types of media, including external hard drives, tape drives, and network shares. It also supports many operating systems and database systems.
  • Design jobs with unique schedules and times, with exceptions to avoid or run one-time jobs.
  • Backup any type of database across Windows servers, including granular restoration of mailboxes or SQL databases.
  • Customized retention of data to keep backup jobs depending on age or automatic overwrite of older data.
  • Overwrite and retention does not always work as efficiently as it should, leading to manual deletion of older jobs on the media.
  • Occasional glitches with backups to external disks, needing to recreate device folders and redirect jobs.
  • Licensing is based on server and database count, no total data. If you have numerous servers and SQL databases and Exchange databases, you will have to buy licenses for each individual machine and instance of database.
If you are looking for a cost-effective software to run backups with a standalone set of media (rotation of tapes, external drives, or NAS appliances) then Backup Exec is a great product. It sometimes needs some hands-on massaging when the software has trouble overwriting older data or writing to device folders, but overall it is very productive. If you have a lot of data, this tool is also very effective as it works based on number of agents and databases. If you have numerous servers and different types of databases (SQL, Exchange, etc.) then Backup Exec may not be best suited and another backup solution that's based on "total data" may be better suited.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Michael Jipping profile photo
December 05, 2017

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec for Simple Environments Only"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Backup Exec was used initially as our Complete Backup Solution for the enterprise. Currently we only used Backup Exec for File Level Backups of Radiology Images. We moved our complex Backup Solution for Virtual Deployments to other Vendor Software (VEEAM and REDGATE SQL). Backup Exec in its current capacity still does a great job of the traditional file level Backups.
  • Backup Exec has done a good job programing and managing the Physical Tape Libraries. This is always a tricky feature to provide great service on.
  • Backup Exec continues to do a great job Backing Up and Restoring Simple File Server Shares and Directories. This is all I would recommend using Backup Exec to accomplish.
  • Backup Exec needs to improve its Virtual /HyperVisor Backup Feature. We always had low success rates on the Virtual Server Backups and continual needed to troubleshoot the root causes.
  • Backup Exec needs to get away from the AGENT based Backup Software. Modern Backup software utilizes VSS and APIs to leverage efficiency and not create additional load on the systems.
  • Backup Exec needs to get better license management. It is always too confusing and difficult to upgrade your licenses or find details. Specifically they need to streamline their Var Re-sellers to not create a new customer account every time you order something new. The UI in the license portal has always been too complex or confusing.
Well suited for non-virtual environment or an environment that is a typical file server. I would not recommend using Backup Exec in most scenarios. It is just not nimble enough to compete with the competition.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Emily Sullivan profile photo
December 05, 2017

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Symantec Backup Exec - 4 stars out of 5"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Backup Exec for the whole agency's daily data back up.
  • Flexible scheduling
  • Easy access to any specific time point
  • Easy to retrieve data
  • Interface can be friendlier
  • Taping reading speed for data retrieval can be improved
  • Error message can be more specific
It is perfect for organizations that require data backup on a frequent basis. It is also perfect for when you need to retrieve data from a certain point of time/day. I don't think it does data encryption, so it will be less appropriate in situations where data requires encryption and backup all at once.
Read Emily Sullivan's full review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "A central management system with complete backups on heterogeneous environments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Backup Exec on multiple occasions, both on-site and on-customer side.
As for the on-site experience in the company where I worked, we needed to manage several local servers and we focused all backup policies on Backup Exec, as for customers we have proposed this software with customer satisfaction.
  • Physical server management
  • Virtual server management
  • Centralized management through a single interface
  • Some paid agents
  • Simple interface but needs a minimum of study about functionality before having full control
  • The interface could be al litte bit more attractive
The best scenario of using Backup Exec (in my opinion) is a very heterogeneous server infrastructure distributed across different environments. The strength of Backup Exec is to be able to intervene through a single tool and a single point of intervention different types of servers this helps a lot of troubleshooting and avoids waste of time.
It is certainly not appropriate to use Backup Exec for simple backups or poorly structured infrastructures.
Read this authenticated review
Todd Frazier profile photo
August 03, 2016

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "BACKUP NOW...YOU WILL NEED IT LATER!!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Symantec Backup Exec (SBE) to do our nightly tape backups. I have been using SBE for 15 years.
At one time when all our servers had tape drives SBE was installed and used for all backup purposes.
Now with new faster and larger backup appliances we are now down to two servers that are still being backed up by tape with SBE. It does well in is dependable in running tape backups which we then store off site. Is very good at restoring deleted or lost files for end users who sometime get happy fingers!
  • You are able to do a full system restore as long as you monitor and make sure you are getting good full backups
  • Is a great product for doing down to a single file level restore for users who may have accidentally deleted a file of their shared drive for department
  • Is good product to use to backup your Exchange Server, I know we had server crash last year and lose data base and I was able to restore and get email back online with in 4 hours!
  • Their Customer support for SBE is great had issue two years ago that maintenance had lapsed and I was able to renew and get support need all with in two hours!
  • Big area is now time to do a restore and since it is also limited by tape drive they could work on speeding up this process
  • Would like to see a more user friendly dashboard setup for SBE
  • Could add some more options to current setup like reporting and trouble shooting for issues with backups!
I gave it an 8 just because it can be troublesome in navigating around software. It does a
great job for backing up server with tape devices for us have had to use it several times when servers have crashed and we have had to rebuild and restore, but the one down fall is it is not fast like the new solid state drive backups, which we have procured, Unitrends!
Read Todd Frazier's full review
Cesare Arienti profile photo
May 03, 2016

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Backup Exec, try it before purchase it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Backup Exec is used on some IT applications of our clients. We use it to backup physical servers to NAS, USB HDD and tapes.
  • Tape backups
  • Client server development
  • Difficulties with troubleshooting problems
We use an old version of backup exec (2010 to 2012), but it was well suited for non virtual environments. It's good to backup on tapes or on any kind of device. You can backup multiple servers.
Read Cesare Arienti's full review
No photo available
June 30, 2014

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Symantec - Simple, Secure, Safe."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My organization does not currently use Symantec products. However, I have used it in the past for my own use as well as reselling the product. As a user, it was very effective and simple to use. The interface is very streamlined and the reputation based scanning was good at catching threats and reducing the false positives. As a reseller of the product, I always led with Symantec because of it's ease of use and the ability to manage multiple products from a single pane of glass.
  • Great name in the industry and and very effective security and backup products.
  • Easy to work with support staff at Symantec.
  • As a reseller, the resources that were dedicated to us were best in the industry making it easy to lead with them.
  • Sometimes difficult getting to the correct support staff. A more clear way to contact the right people for support would help.
  • As a reseller, the engagement process can sometimes be confusing. This happens very infrequently but it has happened.
  • Also as a reseller, there have been complaints that there is no uninstall tool when replacing another product with Symantec. Not sure if this has been fixed though.
Yes, in order for the right product to be selected, the size of the organization needs to be assessed to determine the proper product for the customer. For example, an understanding of the size and function of the company would determine whether the customer needs Backup Exec or Net Backup.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

Veritas Backup Exec Review: "Symantec Now, Symantec Forever!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I'm not sure how it's being used in my organization, but as an IT reseller it's being used in a number of my customers environments to protect their data from threats.
  • Email Security
  • Backup and recovery
  • Malware protection
  • Archiving
  • Symantec has a very competitive product. I never hear customer complaints around functionality or protection.
Can Symantec provide the protection I need as it relates to security? Then I would bullet those areas and align them with Symantec's products.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (10)
7.5
Live recovery (8)
7.5
Recovery verification (11)
7.6
Business application protection (9)
7.7
Multiple backup destinations (12)
7.4
Incremental backup identification (12)
8.0
Backup to the cloud (7)
6.5
Deduplication and file compression (8)
6.3
Snapshots (9)
6.5
Flexible deployment (9)
7.0
Management dashboard (10)
6.9
Platform support (9)
8.1
Retention options (8)
8.1
Encryption (6)
8.2

About Veritas Backup Exec

Symantec Backup Exec is a backup and disaster recovery solution.
Categories:  Data Center Backup

Veritas Backup Exec Competitors

Veritas Backup Exec Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No