Yahoo Gemini! (Verizon Media Native), formerly Yahoo! Advertising Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Nathan Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2020

Scalable to an Extent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would describe our usage of Yahoo Gemini! as a tangential, albeit ongoing, experiment with non-mainstream paid channels. I'd put it in the same paid category as Quora, Reddit, and other non-mainstream categories of paid ads. We have seen a certain degree of success with it, though I'll be the first to say that the interface isn't at all pleasant.
  • Less competition
  • Cost-effective bidding system
  • Great for that little bit of extra spend
  • Quality leads and MQLs
  • The interface is very poor
  • Feels like a dinosaur in some ways
  • Customer support is lacking
As I've alluded to before, Yahoo Gemini! is particularly well-suited for that extra bit of marketing spend and those last few needed leads and MQLs to get you over the hump. We definitely find that the ROI is well worth it, but it's also not the type of channel that we're gonna drop half of our budget on. The scalability is limited to an extent.
At times, the support feels non-existent for a somewhat complicated interface.
Read Nathan Richardson's full review
Garegin Baghdasaryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2020

Yahoo Gemini Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company used Gemini to drive in leads and traffic to our websites. We advertised on Gemini for over 8 years.
  • Easy to manage budgets
  • Easy campaign creation
  • Making changes were simple
  • Targeting
  • Call campaigns
The traffic is definitely cheaper than other platforms or other advertising options. It's the best way to get cheap but quality traffic.
When Gemini was newer the support was great. After a while support kind of stopped, account managers would stop contacting to help out. We had to start figuring out issues on our own without any help.
Read Garegin Baghdasaryan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2020

Good scope of unique, high-consumption impressions, limited way to receive them

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform to purchase ad inventory on Gemini. This is a decent & cheaper way to purchase native/brand awareness media.
  • Native advertising budget
  • Native advertising placements
  • Search engine marketing management
  • Clunky platform
It definitely doesn't belong with a paid search team. The native & search buys should be the responsibility of a display team. It frequently gets grouped into an SEM buy because of Yahoo's association with Bing. But that time is over now! All that said, it is very good for simple native buys and Yahoo properties have a ton of loyal content consumers that have great retention.
There is a ton of support that is willing to hold your hand through everything. However, the primary reason behind this is the very clunky UI that makes media buying and customized targets difficult for self-service. Even big fans of Gemini find it hard to advocate for a new client to purchase because the setup is convoluted and tricky.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2020

Yahoo! Advertising - Reseller Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We currently resell Yahoo Gemini to our clients and manage their advertising through their platform. This product is specifically used by our Ad Operations department and sold by our sales team. The Ad Ops team is the hands on keyboard type and manipulating campaigns, set up, reporting, etc. This allows us to provide our clients with an array of products to advertise on multiple platforms to get a greater exposure!
  • Good reporting.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Transparency.
  • Some parts of the entry are repetitive.
  • Could use some more robust options.
  • Could use some more granular reporting.
It clearly doesn't have as great of a reach as Google does, so it is sometimes hard to get clients on board with wanting to advertise there, but it is a good way to get all sorts of different demographics and a large reach if you're on all the different platforms available.
They don't really have a unique audience.
They were always super helpful during training and demoing and would answer any questions we had.
We didn't have a direct account manager, which would have been nice, but I just don't think their size accommodates for that type of set up.
They are very knowledgeable and help guide you through a set up for each particular client.
Read this authenticated review
Vincent Misiewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Yahoo Gemini, A Robust Native Platform

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our paid media team uses Yahoo Gemini for various clients in several different industries. It is mainly used for campaigns where the objective is general awareness, but have seen some converting traffic come through, although only to a limited degree. There is considerable space/ad formats available, and the interface is pretty easy to work with. It can also be used effectively when the product your running a campaign for has low search volume, or you're seeing a lot of unique informational queries that are hard to weed out.
  • Interface fairly easy to work with
  • Can show images, considerable copy, several ad formats available
  • Newly created/duplicated ads are put on "hold", which is actually approval (I think), but in general is unclear
  • Cannot directly download monthly invoices, which is a problem for our organization, actually the only platform I've seen that didn't have this option available
Good for instances where search campaigns are driving poor overall traffic. Campaigns for awareness work well, and you have pretty good control of how your ads look without having to do too much work. We've used this successfully for law, financial services, and political campaigns effectively. With Twitter banning political ads, and Facebook becoming increasingly strict on their approval guidelines, this may turn into the best alternative. Would not necessarily recommend for ecommerce campaigns, or lead based campaign where keeping cost per conversion down is a primary objective.
There is not really any support to think of. The only way I was able to talk to an actual person was through submitting a sales request to someone not even working for Gemini. This was about as helpful as you'd imagine. I still do not know how to download monthly invoices. They do have a decent knowledge base, which I guess would be good for beginners but if you have experience in the common advertising platforms and have a specific question, not really that great.
Read Vincent Misiewicz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Let Yahoo! Advertising "Yahoo!" Your Ads from the Mountains

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Yahoo! Advertising to promote our products, which comprise of online digital software for Music Production. Yahoo! Advertising has helped get our brand out there and using Yahoo! Advertising, as well as Bing and Google, help us set up an online presence.
  • Lower Costs to Run Ads
  • Accessible to Import Campaigns from other platforms.
  • UI Needs Improvement
  • With Google being King, It's ROI is not as good as Google's.
If you want to have a serious online presence, you might as well get on with Yahoo! Advertising in addition to Google and Bing!
I only spoke with Customer Support on a few occasions but never had any issues.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

Great ROI, Low Traffic - The Gemini Conundrum

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yahoo Gemini was used as another channel for our company's paid search efforts on behalf of our clients in addition to Bing and Google. It appears Gemini has since been integrated into Bing.
  • Similar interfaces compared to Bing and Google -- if you've operated one, you can operate any of the three.
  • Proactive Customer Support -- Yahoo was diligent about having contact with us about the platform.
  • Limited but strong ROI -- Gemini spent maybe a 10th of our Bing and Google budgets, but always performed well in terms of ROI.
  • No traffic -- despite a high ROI, the lack of overall spend led to us eventually remove support for the channel from our services.
  • Nothing to differentiate it from other paid platforms -- Gemini didn't particularly offer anything new or novel that made it worth using over Bing and Google.
If you're looking to get as much ROI as possible, this platform will afford you some minor successes. For that alone, it is worth considering.
Read Brandon Mitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Yahoo Gemini: Useful When Appropriate

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my company, my department used Yahoo Gemini to reach a unique target audience with native advertising. Gemini addresses the issue of reaching users who may not be ready to search for specific services, so a native advertising campaign helps to introduce an untapped audience to the services and brands that help to promote. Later, we target these users with paid search advertising.
  • Native advertising
  • Ability to reach untapped audience
  • Good customer service reps
  • Reach/volume of impressions
  • Quality of placements
  • Clarity of placements
Yahoo Gemini is appropriate for an awareness campaign that wants to reach a large number of users in a short time. Gemini's native advertising is also particularly useful if your advertising campaign has high quality and eye-catching visuals - the new carousel ad format is particularly useful for promoting good visuals that fit within an advertising campaign.
Read this authenticated review
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Great complement to other PPC platforms for the largest reach of prospective customers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yahoo Gemini is used as one of the search engine marketing platforms for paid search advertising campaigns. In addition to other SEM platforms, Yahoo Gemini is used to create and manage advertising campaigns for a variety of clients. In addition to branding and informational dissemination, Gemini helps drive potential customers to the clients' website or landing page. It is used across the entire organization for clients that want to cover advertising efforts on the three major search platforms. I specifically use it for reporting and analysis to drive optimization for clients.
  • Reporting: granular exports (summary, by week, by day, etc) of front end metrics (clicks, impressions, spend)
  • Easily build and launch campaigns specifically tailored to client needs
  • Intuitive interface and documentation to guide campaign prep and launches
  • More robust and sophisticated reporting capacity: front end metrics are available with different granularities, but lacking in insight to guide optimization strategy
  • No display/programmatic buying options as yet.
  • Audience targeting could be improved and audience / lookalike modeling could be improved. That said, geotargeting capabilities are very good.
Gemini is well suited to round out any PPC search campaign. It lags in audience size (compares to Google and Bing), but has respectable targeting abilities. Campaign design and launch are similar to other platforms and rely primarily on specific and broad matching terms.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Alexander Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2018

Yahoo Advertising! Solid product with Limitations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yahoo! Advertising is currently being used to promote our client’s tech products (consumer electronics and home appliances). It is used across the whole organization to solve numerous solutions such as capturing low funnel handraisers in search and increasing reach natively throughly Yahoo’s network.
  • Offers extensive solutions to reach a high volume of users and create new reach outside of major networks like Google and Bing.
  • Provides unique ways to differentiate advertisers in top positions on search results pages.
  • Creates unique tactics to utilize on display networks (carousel and video takeovers).
  • The Gemini platform needs to be more selective when pulling reporting and offer data further back than 1 year of performance.
  • The Gemini user interface does not do well with displaying unique metrics (impression share results, competitor results, etc).
  • Yahoo! Native compatibility with Doubleclick Search needs to improve instead of using dummy keywords to pull in total front end metrics.
It is well suited for using display advertising across wide range of Yahoo and Oath websites, and less appropriate for acquiring high search volume for limited reach.
Read Alexander Rodriguez's full review
Toni Reifsteck | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Yahoo Gemini

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yahoo Gemini is used by the marketing department for the entire organization. It is one of many tools we use in our digital marketing efforts specifically SEM and Display Marketing. We use Gemini for Service Line marketing e.g. Prostate Cancer, Lung Cancer, Cardiovascular Medicine. We also use Gemini for branding e.g. medical programs unique to our region. At this moment I am the only in-house SEM and Display marketing strategist. We occasionally use agencies for certain markets.
  • Low Spend: Our Search and Display spend has all AdWords. As many digital marketers know, AdWords is effective, yet expensive. I did some research and found out that Gemini and Yahoo Network is terribly underrated. The upside? We have been able to get moderate results using 5% of our AdWords spend. That's a drop in the bucket. The best part is that I have not seen a need to increase the spend because bids are ridiculously low.
  • Higher Conversion Rates: I believe Gemini’s users are very intent driven hence a smaller population is able to drive high conversion rates.
  • Platform: it is so streamlined and easier to use compared to AdWords. Yes, it lacks a lot of bells and whistles but with 5% spend, I don't really need it. Also, creatives are easier to put together. There are basic requirements like text length and minimum image dimensions but you can edit in the platform. AdWords on the other hand has a very rigid dimension requirement. It discourages using your own creatives. I find myself crossing my fingers and hoping the ads look okay.
  • Reporting: Not a lot of information with analytics.
  • Billing: There is no invoice or receipt. Your credit card is charged using thresholds. For instance, if your threshold is $250, your card is pre-charged $250 before your ads run. So if you have a $5000 budget, that means your card is charged 20 times! I hope this changes. It make cost center reconciliation super stressful.
Using Gemini alone means you miss out on users not on Yahoo or its partner networks and that's a lot of folks. I mean, Google AdWords is #1 for a reason. It is best to use Gemini with AdWords. The best part is you are able to export your AdWords campaigns directly into Gemini. Super nifty!
However, if you have a small budget and AdWords is cost prohibitive, then by all means use Gemini - you can run a moderate two-week campaign for $500 in Gemini, while that will get you a day and a half in AdWords.
Read Toni Reifsteck's full review
☕️ Darren Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

A low cost, high ROI, low traffic alternative to AdWords

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Yahoo! Advertising as a lead generation tool for some of our clients. We use Yahoo! Advertising as a supplement to achieve additional results when we are already seeing success on Google AdWords. For the most part, Yahoo! Advertising is straightforward: you set your targeting option and budget, make some ad copy, and you start getting clicks and traffic.
  • Cost is lower than AdWords
  • Easy to import campaigns from AdWords
  • ROI is high
  • Traffic volume can be quite low
  • The interface is not the best
  • Revenue tracking is not the best/easiest to set up for beginners
It's great for generating leads, e-commerce sales or makes for a good expansion platform. Cost is also low which allows you to generate leads at a great ROI.
Read ☕️ Darren Davis's full review
Ashley Grohoski | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

Yahoo Ads are Gold

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yahoo! Advertising for our artists to allow others to find tour dates or any upcoming events we may have. It allows for fans to be reminded of the events through Yahoo.
  • Doesn't allow our ads to get lost among other links
  • Easy to utilize
  • Easy to see results from Ads
  • The navigation could be a little simpler
Inexpensive and allows our ads to actually be seen by a broad audience
Read Ashley Grohoski's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2018

Gemini - Search & Native - Big on Oppurtunity - If You Work For It!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous organization, Yahoo Gemini was used for both promoting brand awareness and also performance marketing within multiple sectors including mortgages and life insurance. It was used alongside a host of other digital channels including SoMe and Paid Search.
  • The ability to sync campaigns from other digital platforms such as AdWords makes set-up and management much easier and quicker.
  • The interface is very familiar to those who may have worked in other disciplines such as Paid Search and it is very easy to navigate and also there is a wealth of information on how to create and deploy ads effectively.
  • Being able to apply ads across different formats such Search and Native from one platform and compare performance is a powerful solution and improves the overall reach making the time investment worthwhile.
  • There was an initial struggle to get started with certain billing options not being initially available (credit card only) and that providied further issues with perfectly common and standard credit cards being declined and then help not being particularly forthcoming and that assistance not being based in the same time-zone (UK)
  • There would be problems with getting reach in certain campaigns with little insight as to what might be causing the issue and the diagnosis tools sometimes leaving a bit to be desired. There is a lack of audience insights/targeting which probably causes this issue.
  • Some image sizes/types that were said to be available for Native advertising seemingly were not properly supported or would sometimes not display correctly when uploaded, there was not much information or explanation as to why this was the case.
Any company which has performance marketing or a brand awareness budget that can be dedicated out to Search/Native should definitely try Yahoo Gemini although results can be mixed depending on your region/market. If you get past stumbling blocks around reach and admin set-up then the results can be very good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Yahoo Gemini Is An Ad Platform Like None Other

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yahoo Gemini is an online digital advertising platform similar to that of Google Adwords and Bing Ads that allows individuals or businesses to easily market their products and services across various search engines and websites. It was fairly simple to use and integrate into the current advertising practices that we had already been using.
  • Yahoo Gemini is great for marketing in searches.
  • It allows you to show both text and display advertisements to specific locations and audiences around the world.
  • The platform and dashboard in which you operate in is fairly simple to use and understand.
  • Yahoo Gemini could make the ad creation process a bit more simple.
  • If there were more options to target specific audiences that would be helpful.
  • Importing lists of users to target could be easier.
Yahoo Gemini is the perfect advertising engine for both small businesses and larger businesses looking to start digitally advertising and marketing online to their specific target audiences. It is an easy-to-use platform and the dashboard is fairly simple to get used to, which makes managing your accounts and campaigns that much easier.
Read this authenticated review

Yahoo Gemini! (Verizon Media Native), formerly Yahoo! Advertising Scorecard Summary

About Yahoo Gemini! (Verizon Media Native), formerly Yahoo! Advertising

Yahoo Gemini was Yahoo's offering for mobile, native and search engine marketing and advertising (formerly Yahoo! Advertising and Yahoo! Search Marketing), for placing ads where visitors are, with an emphasis on mobile. Its former capabilities are now part of Verizon Media Native.

The vendor describes the current Verizon Media Native as a marketplace that offers search and native advertising in one advertising platform. They state their native solutions provide users with insights, brand-safe premium content, and technologies to deliver engaging advertising campaigns.

Yahoo Gemini! (Verizon Media Native), formerly Yahoo! Advertising Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No