Vertex Cloud Reviews

34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Lisa Reid | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

On its way to becoming a great product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Company is currently in the process of integrating Workday Cloud ERP with Vertex Cloud and moving to Vertex Returns Cloud. We currently use Vertex 7 On Premise - Consumer's Use. Our goal is to automate the verification of supplier sales tax and automate the ledger entries to self-assess use tax. We would also like to bring in the outsourced returns process to Vertex Cloud Returns.
  • Product or purchasing code mapping.
  • Tax rates.
  • Tax research.
  • Support for Vertex Cloud is lacking.
  • The sales process around determining if on-demand vs. cloud would fit a client's needs.
  • Vertex Returns provided with the cloud lacks functionality when compared to the returns module used with on-premise or on-demand.
Vertex Cloud is more cost-effective and better for internal IT departments looking to decrease their efforts and time around the maintenance of an on-premise solution. If you are looking for an end to end solution, may not meet all of your requirements, if you are already using on-premise or on-demand.
Read Lisa Reid's full review
Damon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

On a cloud - Damon

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vertex Cloud for our online sales while use on-prem for our brick and mortar store sales.
  • User-friendly
  • Data updates
  • Importing
  • Tax assist rules
  • Customer support
  • User management
Vertex Cloud works well when we upload our exempt customers to the system so they won’t be taxed for their transactions. I also think the resource center helps with some things but could use more elaboration on things.
Read Damon Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Vertex Rocks

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex is being used across the United States entities to calculate accurate sales tax liabilities in real-time. Being in a complex environment where 90% of our sales are tax exempt, we need to ensure that we are taxing the correct products for customers. Vertex has helped us efficiently manage a previously manual process and provide more data to analyze results.
  • Provides a detailed tax matrix that helps properly categorize products.
  • Allows the flexibility that is required for our cumbersome business.
  • Automates the tax calculation process in real-time to ensure our tax return filings are accurate.
  • We would like to see a matrix that will help us better categorize our beer and wine ingredients.
  • There are invoices that have a disconnect between our ERP, Microsoft Dynamics, and Vertex. We are hopeful that an updated version will minimize these instances.
Vertex Cloud is well suited to allow companies of many sizes to automatically calculate and collect sales tax from customers. We were able to implement the solution in less than 4 months with minimal errors. This helped for a smooth transition from our manual process to a fully automated sales tax function.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Adapting to the world of Cloud

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the tax department and IT has access to make changes to products and mappings.
  • The transaction detail in the extract report is consistent with the Vertex O Series and provides great reliability.
  • The interface layout is very user friendly and it is simple to access reporting and mapping.
  • The system is reliable and consistent and provides easy access to data for compliance purposes.
  • Maybe a little more detail at the types of reports. It can be a little confusing as to which report is the TAX2000 vs. extract report.
We use this to maintain our internet sales portion of the businesses. It is currently in the startup phase and we know that Vertex Cloud will be able to handle the growth in the amount of transactions being processed. I think it will work for all types of businesses and will adapt to users needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Vertex is great if you stay out of its way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My whole organization uses Vertex Cloud to calculate retail and wholesale tax decisions (especially our department, Tax). We also use it internationally! I've only ever used Vertex and I like it.
  • Monthly tax rate updates are seamless.
  • Critical update information is easy to find.
  • More help with how to use the test transaction utility. Not really user-friendly with the steps to take to get a correct outcome.
  • Why do I have to go to MyVertex to enter a ticket? Can you add it to my instance so I don't have to login somewhere else?
Can't think of where it wouldn't be well suited or appropriate! I am happy with it and find it works well for me.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Manley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Vertex Cloud enabled us to go from manual spreadsheets to automated, streamlined processes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex Cloud is integrated into our LN Cloud ERP System to identify, calculate, and manage our US and Canadian taxes on our customer sales transactions. It will also be used to create our Tax Registers and filings after we have fully migrated our various business operations to our global ERP system.
  • Vertex Cloud calculates and manages our customer sales and use taxes for our various products and services for both our US and Canadian entities.
  • We are using Vertex to manage our Exempt Certificates and utilization by product, region, and services.
  • Vertex Cloud Tax Filings will initially be used to track and manage part of our business activities and reconcile certain business areas. We are excited about moving forward to relying on Vertex for the creation and of our tax filings and reporting data that will fill a large void in some areas of our business operations.
  • We have some issues with processing tax adjustments from our ERP system to Vertex that will need to be customized to support our business needs. This has been acknowledged as a weakness where many users will develop their own workaround or interface to resolve the issue.
We are a growing organization and our staff and knowledge haven't necessarily been growing as quickly as the business. We are using Vertex to enable more accurate tax decisions, managing and streamlining the update of tax rates and effective dates, as well as consistently and unilaterally identifying, calculating, adding taxes to our invoices when applicable, and managing our tax exemption certificates for a small 2 person tax and treasury team. The assistance and management of the tax filings will be real benefit we are looking forward to implementing in the near future.
Read Michael Manley's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

My Vertex Cloud Indirect Tax Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex Cloud is being utilized by the Tax Department for our Sales/Use Tax. The upgrade to the Cloud makes report extractions easy and it saves tons of time and money. Vertex Cloud also does the research for us and is always up to date with current regulations and tax laws.
  • Research: Up to date with current tax laws and regulations.
  • Saves users time: Compared to O Series, the extraction process is much shorter and convenient in the Cloud portal.
  • Help Center: The help center does a great job providing tons of information in regards to any topic you want to learn about in Vertex Cloud portal.
  • Compliance report is based on a calendar month end and not a fiscal month end. Both should be available.
  • Time it takes to download a detailed transaction report could be reduced within the Cloud portal.
Well fitted for users dealing more with "Sales" tax versus "Consumer Use" tax. Also, Vertex Cloud in my opinion is more user friendly and has just the right amounts of tabs.
Cloud Support is always supportive, just a little hard to get a hold of at times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Severe growing pains

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Vertex Cloud to collect sales tax from our customers in the US, and to manage customer exemptions.
  • We honestly haven't found one thing they do well, but they are good at passing the problems we bring to them onto someone else.
  • Related to that, they are very good at poor communication.
  • They excel at filing inaccurate tax returns, and especially at not checking to make sure the returns were accepted by the states.
  • It seems as though no one in the organization, from sales, implementation, or support, has a clear idea of how the system works.
  • Any US-based company that has a single company code, and plants abroad, is going to run into major problems when implementing Vertex.
  • We've discovered that Vertex isn't even able to keep up with the changing tax laws and rates.
  • The interface for setting up limited customer exemptions is just atrocious.
I'll give them a 4, which is being generous, because our company situation is somewhat unique in that we are dynamic, fast-changing, and take advantage of opportunities as they arise. Vertex, on the other hand, is slow, and really only understands the regular 'department store' type businesses that sells to taxable customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

Small business solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex is being used as a solution for sales tax collection in multiple states as a response to the Wayfair case.
  • Calculates tax
  • Reports sales for multiple states
  • Keeps up to date with changing legislation
  • Prepares returns
  • Less down time
  • More personalized support during implementation
  • More communication during down time
Good for sales tax calculation across multiple states.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Rowe | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2018

Vertex Gets it Done. Right Fit For the Right Website

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This cloud service is used to calculate the sales tax on the orders that we have on our website. Also, this service is used to file sales tax returns in multiple states. With this, it also gives us a funding report and lets us know what funds are required to go where at the conclusion of each period.
  • The calculation of sales tax - Vertex does this on the fly when you set up your products correctly on Vertex. It is used to collect the correct amount of sales tax to charge the customer.
  • The filing of your tax return - They complete this on a monthly basis for us, as we have the premium option. This saves time at the end of the month when it is time to file these reports.
  • Easy to navigate dashboard - All the information is easily accessible on your online dashboard.
  • Pricing - There are other services out there that charge a lot less - particularly to a website such as ours that has a low volume of sales per month (about 200-300 per month). The fixed cost they charge is too much for low volumes.
  • They charge extra for live phone support. Only email support. Although during the onboarding process I was able to get phone calls, you have to resolve your issue with email and not with a live person on the phone.
  • Reporting could be better in the way that you can not easily find the apportionment of your sales. (But it can be done).
Does Vertex do its job, and do its job well? Yes. But the truth of the matter is that Vertex Cloud is a system, and it will run the way it is programmed. The system is programmed great. My only spiff is that we can find the same systems out there at a more competitive rate. Bottom line is that yes it works correctly and I haven't had a problem but... I would tell my colleagues to also look at other options when looking for a sales tax solution.
The dashboard works well well in showing me frontline information that I can look to see how my business is doing at a low level. This also gives you an interactive map where you can hover over and see what sales are to where. This only does it for the month, not YTD.
Read Timothy Rowe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2018

Instant Tax Calculation within NetSuite

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex Cloud is used as a plugin within our NetSuite instance to calculate taxes. It is used by the whole organization as the only solution to calculate taxes on transactions.
  • Vertex provides accurate up-to-the-minute tax calculation on our AR transactions.
  • Vertex helps keep an AR team from having to constantly update tax rates for hordes of jurisdictions all over the U.S.
  • Vertex calculation within NetSuite is almost instantaneous.
  • Vertex should allow the use of more than one 'ship from' location.
  • On CREDIT MEMOs that are tied to INVOICEs, taxes should not be dynamically calculated, rather the CREDIT MEMO tax should reflect the same exact tax amount that was applied on the INVOICE.
Well suited for quick tax calculation upon saving the transaction record.
Ill-suited for scenarios where the customer is being refunded or credited money.
The Vertex Support team is ready to help and does offer assistance. Although sometimes their technical prowess may not be sufficient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2018

Works great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vertex Cloud to process our sales tax returns. It is currently only being used in our Finance Department by two of our employees. It saves us the time of creating our own sales tax returns by generating the returns for us.
  • Simple to use.
  • Returns are generated quickly.
  • Inexpensive.
  • Reporting is difficult to understand.
  • The system will generate returns for both sales and use tax when we are only set up for one tax in the system.
  • It takes too long to save a customer exemption certificate.
It works great for generating accurate sales tax returns in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (9)
7.6
Cross-border Taxes (1)
9.1
VAT / GST Taxes (1)
9.1
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (7)
7.5
3rd-Party Software Integrations (6)
6.7
Tax Data Reporting (8)
6.8
Compliance Administration Management (3)
6.3
Tax Exemption Processing (6)
7.2
Tax Document Management (3)
4.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (6)
5.3

About Vertex Cloud

Vertex is a provider of tax technology and services, helping to enable companies of all sizes to realize the full strategic potential of the tax function by automating and integrating tax processes, while leveraging advanced and predictive analytics of tax data.

Vertex Cloud Indirect Tax promises to help simplify and streamline the calculation and reporting of sales and use tax, improve audit performance and reduce tax risk for your business. That means faster startup, reduced (or eliminated) IT support needs, and accelerated access to continually expanding features and functionality.

Vertex Cloud Features

Has featureCalculations and Returns In One Solution: Perform tax calculations and generate signature-ready PDF returns in one solution.
Has featureAutomated Returns: Upload tax data files from any data source and generate signature-ready PDF returns. Access analytics to determine if tax calculations are accurate.
Has featureRate Files: Download rate files by location or upload addresses for specific business needs and access tax rate files.
Has featureConsumer Use Tax: Calculate and report consumer use tax.
Has featureExemption Certificate Management: Store, update, and maintain your exemption certificates.

Vertex Cloud Screenshots

Vertex Cloud Video

Vertex Cloud Indirect Tax Overview: a cloud-based solution to help any size business simplify tax and scale without compromise.

Vertex Cloud Downloadables

Vertex Cloud Integrations

Please visit www.vertexinc.com/integrations for a full list of Vertex integrations.

Vertex Cloud Competitors

Vertex Cloud Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Vertex Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English