Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Viewpoint Spectrum

Viewpoint Spectrum

Overview

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, resource management, and reporting and analytics. Key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI management tools.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Viewpoint Spectrum Review

1 out of 10
March 16, 2023
We signed a contract to move our company to Viewpoint Spectrum software from Quickbooks and it was a disaster. The software: in my opinion …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 37 features
  • Role-based user permissions (27)
    7.8
    78%
  • Dashboards (29)
    6.9
    69%
  • Standard reports (30)
    6.4
    64%
  • Custom reports (28)
    5.9
    59%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, resource management, and reporting and analytics. Key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI management tools.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

12 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Genius Solutions?

Genius Solutions delivers a complete enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution, including software, implementation services, and field expertise for small to mid-sized custom manufacturers across the US and Canada. Genius ERP is built for SME manufacturers handling make-to-order, engineer-to…

What is Cetec ERP?

Cetec ERP offers manufacturing web-native ERP As A Service for $40/user. Its design and delivery provide manufacturers with a platform built to increase both capacity and efficiency. The vendor states that companies will run faster on Cetec ERP. By providing a single, integrated platform that can…

Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

4.9
Avg 7.2

Customization

This addresses a company’s ability to configure the software to fit its specific use case and workflow.

6.1
Avg 7.3

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

5.1
Avg 7.0

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

Financial management solution, including capabilities for general ledger and configurable accounting

7.6
Avg 7.6

Inventory Management

The ability to track and manage the flow of goods or materials into and out of an inventory.

6.1
Avg 7.8

Order Management

The ability to process orders, and track them from quote to cash.

8.6
Avg 7.8

Subledger and Financial Process

Revenue management solution including capabilities for subledgers and financial processes

7.6
Avg 7.4

Project Execution Management

Project execution management solution including capabilities for project scheduling, resource management, and team member task management.

6.8
Avg 6.8

Procurement

Procurement management solution with capabilities for sourcing, contracting, procure-to-pay and supplier management

7
Avg 6.9
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Web-based construction ERP solution with tools for accounting, project management, equipment and materials management, service management, document control, HR and payroll, inventory, and reporting. Spectrum allows contractors to work in real-time, no matter where work takes them. With interactive dashboards and responsive information, users access detailed data when they need it, with no complex menus to master, and applications that provide organizational intelligence. Built to facilitate employee engagement and collaboration, Spectrum provides organizations with an integrated payroll and onboarding experience, helping contractors meet seasonal and project hiring demands while improving back office efficiency.

Viewpoint Spectrum Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

  • Supported: Accounts payable
  • Supported: Accounts receivable
  • Supported: Global Financial Support
  • Supported: Primary and Secondary Ledgers
  • Supported: Journals and Reconciliations
  • Supported: Configurable Accounting
  • Supported: Standardized Processes

Subledger and Financial Process Features

  • Supported: Billing Management
  • Supported: Cash and Asset Management
  • Supported: Period Close

Inventory Management Features

  • Supported: Inventory tracking
  • Supported: Location management

Order Management Features

  • Supported: Pricing
  • Supported: Order entry
  • Supported: Cost of goods sold

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Customization Features

  • Supported: API for custom integration

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: Single sign-on capability
  • Supported: Multi-factor authentication
  • Supported: User-level audit trail

Project Financial Management Features

  • Supported: Budgeting and Forecasting
  • Supported: Project Costing
  • Supported: Cost Capture
  • Supported: Capital Project Management
  • Supported: Customer Contract Compliance
  • Supported: Project Revenue Recognition

Project Execution Management Features

  • Supported: Task Insight for Project Managers
  • Supported: Project Mobile Functionality
  • Supported: Definable Resource Pools

Procurement Features

  • Supported: Bids Analyzed and Compared
  • Supported: Contract Authoring
  • Supported: Contract Repository
  • Supported: Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated
  • Supported: Supplier Management

Additional Features

  • Supported: Purchase Orders
  • Supported: Work Order/Service Tech
  • Supported: Business Intelligence
  • Supported: Cash Management
  • Supported: Document Management
  • Supported: Job Costing
  • Supported: Jobsite Reports
  • Supported: RFI Tools
  • Supported: As-built drawings
  • Supported: Submittal design and management
  • Supported: Specifications
  • Supported: Plan markups & sharing
  • Supported: Photo documentation
  • Supported: Document sharing
  • Supported: Collaboration & approvals
  • Supported: Mobile App
  • Supported: Meeting Minutes
  • Supported: Change Orders
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Compliance data

Viewpoint Spectrum Video

Western Allied Mechanical Talks About Using Spectrum by Viewpoint

Viewpoint Spectrum Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, ,

Frequently Asked Questions

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, resource management, and reporting and analytics. Key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI management tools.

Procore, Acumatica, and Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate are common alternatives for Viewpoint Spectrum.

Reviewers rate Cost of goods sold highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Viewpoint Spectrum are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(115)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 69)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Viewpoint Spectrum is used in our corporate office for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Payroll, Human Resources. We have been a Viewpoint Spectrum user since 2014. It continues to grow alongside our rapidly growing construction business. There is an incredible support network that continues to help us meet our needs. It continues to impress us.
  • Support Networking
  • Continuous Improvements
  • Listens to Feedback
  • Document Imaging
Viewpoint Spectrum is well suited for all levels of accounts payable from date entry to invoice approval. It is consistent and allows for memos and notes and document imaging. Viewpoint Spectrum is less appropriate for some payroll situations. We use an outside source to digitally send paycheck information to customers.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I personally use the HR components of Spectrum. HR Module and Onboarding.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Can search with any keyword.
  • Links people to items or equipment and jobs.
  • The onboarding has a few glitches, and not everything transfers to the spectrum—some manual steps are still required to enter.
  • Have item tracking not linked directly in HR - so non-HR members can issue and return items.
The financial portion is great - they are continuing to improve the HR functions, and I believe it will get there with time.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a general contractor, we manage all subcontracts, change orders, and invoices to clients through the Viewpoint Spectrum platform.
  • Creating Reports about our profits for our different office locations
  • Tracking change orders
  • Customization of status for COs & Subcontracts
  • The user interface is a bit rough, and can be difficult to find things/navigate through the pages.
  • Would be nice to have the option to have a separate page for Sub COs & Client COs, right now they are all tracked on the same page.
  • Signature lines on the Purchase Orders would be beneficial because we currently have to add them to the PDF in a different software.
It is well suited for any company that is tracking the cost of a project where subcontracts and purchase orders are heavily used such as our company.
March 14, 2024

Spectrum review.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We recently switched to Viewpoint Spectrum and are currently using accounting and project management software because of its simplicity and the reports it can provide. We have been very pleased with the process, from the sales team to the implementation and install team to the support team, which helped us specialize the system to our needs.
  • Implementation
  • Providing assistance.
  • Simplicity of navigating through the programs.
  • Support creating new reports.
  • Support merging spectrum and powerfab.
  • Powerfab installation.
The Installation team is amazing. They provide clear guidance at the beginning of the process regarding what is expected and what needs to be done. The implementation manager follows up monthly with you to make sure you are on track and if you need additional help. They are very helpful and responsive in resolving issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Spectrum is used on a daily basis for all aspects of construction projects, large and small, as well as daily T&M. The software is integral in our process from start to finish. For the last five years, it has streamlined our processes, eliminating the need for duplication of entries in multiple programs; it achieves a more accurate and concise project viewing.
  • Document Imaging.
  • Accounts Payable.
  • Project Management.
  • Accounts Receivable.
  • Work Order Billing.
  • Integrating modules.
  • Decrease the amount of screens required when processing and updating.
Spectrum has been able to streamline and eliminate previous programs used to be able to complete our processes. The live updates are essential to tracking expenses and progress with our ongoing jobs. Our deployment was fast, six weeks, and our trainer was knowledgeable, providing clear and concise information.
February 08, 2024

Viewpoint Spectrum Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use the accounting and purchasing portions of Viewpoint Spectrum. For my purpose, it makes entering/finding invoices and purchase orders very easy. The project managers are able to find what they need easily once a purchase order/invoice is entered. This saves time when they can find things needed to update their customers.
  • Easy to use
  • User-friendly
  • The software is laid out well
  • Customer Service
  • I would like to be able to see an image of a check once it has been printed
  • Imaging - issues with timing out are ongoing
  • Reporting a problem or issue could be streamlined
The software is well suited for our needs as an electrical contractor. The accounting portion, which I use, works pretty seamlessly with the other parts of Viewpoint Spectrum that the warehouse and project managers use. If a project manager needs to see what the job cost is on a certain job, Viewpoint Spectrum pulls it all together so they can see what items have been ordered, and what has already been paid for.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for payroll, management, accounting, writing checks, logging accidents and test results and inventory. It keeps everything in line, making spreadsheets and tracking things so easy. I personally use it to enter invoices and receipts, managing what is bought and how much and for writing checks to pay mentioned invoices.
  • pull together equipment and inventory results
  • makes writing and tracking checks so easy
  • Detailed reports makes finding specifics very easy
  • The order of things could be better sometimes I'm working backwards
  • document imaging isn't always clear and working
  • I wish I could just delete mistakes liek erase them instead of reversing them
In the construction industry (Road construction) it is a great tool, it fits all of our needs from what I can see and every year it seems there is an improvement when you didn't know it needed it. Gets better all the time, they think of things we need before we do. The community is amazing and fun to work with
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm accounts receivable for a general engineering contractor (which you don't have a box for) I've been working in Construction accounting over 35 years. Viewpoint Spectrum in my opinion is the worst accounting program I've ever used! The training was an absolute waste of time in my opinion as I believe the "trainers" didn't have a clue as to what we do and what our needs are. Nor did they even appear to care in my opinion. I found emails sent to them requesting help with reports (which are also useless) and we were sent "suggestions" instead of anyone taking the extra step to address our needs. I believe we were sold garbage. In my opinion, the help menus are difficult, clunky and cumbersome. I would not recommend Viewpoint Spectrum to anyone in my opinion.
  • nothing in my opinion
  • help menus
  • reporting
  • In my opinion, un-user friendly
  • In my opinion, the initial set-up and training a joke
  • Had to "pay" for help that we shouldn't have to pay for in my opinion.
  • Screens can't tab to fields; non existent shortcuts; have to "mouse" fields and hilight or nothing can be entered in my experience. Extremely inefficient in my opinion.
  • In my experience, Retention doesn't show on Draw Billing screen unless you "override" retention on every line item. Otherwise, you can't see the amounts on the screen in my experience.
  • In my experience I can't adjust "templates" to delete fields not used; e.i tax
In my opinion, None for "well suited" Too many for "less appropriate"
July 24, 2023

Viewpoint Spectrum

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Viewpoint Spectrum has been subscribed for few years but not used till recently. We feel that support and documentation is lacking ( either in general or our access to it) There is also not clarity on permissions and the permissions are more of "canned" product with not much room to manipulate or create your own! In my experience, user invitation and adding is cumbersome.
  • Uploading documents
  • Dashboards
  • Data from Spectrum
  • Permissions
  • Switching modes as Administrator does not has access to what other see unless role is applied.
  • Slowness and syncing
  • Contacts creation and adminstration
Viewpoint Spectrum is better interface to Spectrum and does the job well for user friendly access. Service Tech app and Viewpoint Spectrum integration is seamless and works very well. New AP Automation is work in progress and works to some extent, but, in my experience, no one thought about Canadian customers and how to deal with GST and PST! RFI and Change Orders work much better on Viewpoint Spectrum side. BI reports are insufficient and user roles are canned without much room to customize. One cannot even create user role.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Spectrum for accounting, material POs, and inventory, labor, customer info, work orders, etc. Multiple departments use it, and several users are in different roles.
  • You can make different note sections.
  • You can rearrange columns to show the data you want.
  • Inefficient (think multiple things have to be clicked to view/edit).
  • In my opinion little to no automation or notification capacity.
  • The search function rarely yields the results you want.
I tihnk Spectrum isn't terribly dynamic or adaptable. It's more of a record software than anything else, and it necessitates other product integrations to be able to conduct business in 2023. From its interface to its useability, it's not intuitive or user-friendly. No one I know likes using it. In my opinion, if you just need records that don't require frequent updating or collaboration, it might work for you.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Spectrum has truly been an asset to our company. It really streamlines the accounting operations and makes budgeting and tracking expenses and costs so much easier. The integrated payroll application is incredibly helpful as well when it comes to ensuring the labor costs are recorded and booked correctly. I highly recommend this software to anyone in the construction industry.
  • Phases
  • Expense tracking
  • Payroll
  • Searching for applications within the modules
Spectrum is very easy to use, and the integration with The Network and the learning academy is incredibly helpful when it comes to training new employees.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are an electrical contractor that use Spectrum for all of our business needs from AP, AR, to Payroll, Project Management and Work Orders. We use ADP as our payroll provider for documents like W2 and filing our taxes. We have not made the jump yet to get ADP to calculate our taxes yet but something we are looking into.
  • Helps us track job related cost and billings
  • handles accounts payable in accurate formate
  • works well with security management
  • Reporting of finanicals
  • Better integration with outside software to help with reporting payroll and other areas of the business
  • quicker processing of internal reports and being able to create ad hoc reports without using crystal reports.
This is suited for a smaller company that is just getting off the ground. We have issue with locking and blocking all the time with that amount of users we have.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for scheduling, billing, and record keeping. We use the app for the field staff to log notes and time.
  • Scheduling - being able to drag items around and drop into a schedule is nice
  • Having an app to go with the computer software
  • Being able to search by name, address or anything
  • The app seems to have a lot of issues currently. It likes to log people out and lock them out, especially when bouncing from wifi to cell service
  • The billing can be cumbersome
  • Looking at images takes a long time to load each one, cant just download all of them
The app isn't very user-friendly. It does fine for POs and other office items, but for the field staff, it needs a lot of work.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company uses Spectrum for construction management, and accounting.
  • Well organized job layout/Easy to navigate to necessary components of a project
  • Comprehensive accounting software
  • Construction management software provides easy access to drawings & specifications for field employees.
  • UI is fairly bland and monotonous, so it is easy to get lost in drop down menus
Spectrum is will suited for a company of average size that is looking to lay the necessary software foundation for expansion. This software is well suited for companies of all sizes, but is a bridge for growth.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We signed a contract to move our company to Viewpoint Spectrum software from Quickbooks and it was a disaster. The software: in my opinion is extremely not user-friendly. In my experience, there are so many different check boxes on every single module and if you don't have one set right you get errors. The accounting side is okay, but the order entry, project management side is extremely tough to use, in my opinion, to get the right information to report on. I believe the consultant is happy to design work arounds at the rate of $250 an hour. In my experience there are no stock invoices to use...so oh by the way, you have to buy Crystal Reports and design them yourself...or through the consulatant at $250 an hour. I believe nothing flows easily like they said it would. I expected this software to replace several others and work as a cohesive business portal. In my experience, it didn't. I believe the farther we got along the more we were just taking our information from our other software and exporting them to excel and then to Viewpoint Spectrum. We ended up staying with Quickbooks but upgrading to Enterprise.
  • Accounting
  • Web access
  • Order Entry Module
  • Payroll
  • Workorder Module
It is great if you want to piece every part of the software together with your more modern app/cloud systems via Excel.

I wouldn't recommend it to any Construction company unless you have armies of people to implement it and it will still be kind of behind the technology that is available today.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Viewpoint Spectrum is our main accounting system. We utilize all aspects General Ledger, Job Cost, AP, AR, Cash Management, Purchase Orders, as well as Service Work Orders.
  • Easy to navigate
  • Document Imaging
  • Database tools like info-link
  • Crashes when too many tabs are open
  • Split screen would be a good feature, as we're limited to one monitor in Viewpoint.
Viewpoint is user friendly. As the Controller, I appreciate that it prevents users from making too many errors, unlike other software solutions I've used. There are a limited number of ways to do things, which is great for preventing errors, but then it is not flexible to do things "outside the box".
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Viewpoint Spectrum is our primary ERP system; we use it for both accounting and project management. We're a larger company than most of Viewpoint Spectrum's customers, and as such, we've noticed greater impacts when running reports or processing data. We also have had to integrate other products in order to get all of the features we were looking for. Thankfully, Spectrum's API is fairly well documented and makes it easier to import data into the Spectrum system from other products.
  • Security is well thought out, users can be extremely locked down or have very specific access down to a certain job or department.
  • They're trying to expand so that users don't need to integrate other products
  • Support isn't readily available. You can submit a ticket and wait days before it's picked up. Even critical issues (system outages) can wait an hour or two before someone responds.
  • Large companies will feel limited. This product wasn't designed to handle large amounts of data, and performance seems to slow when there are more than 80 concurrent users.
  • The new developments are limited. HR Management is less robust than a third-party product specializing in HR Management. Viewpoint Analytics is nowhere near as robust as Power BI or Tableau.
Viewpoint Spectrum would be fine for small to medium-sized companies. It would be great for transitioning from an in-house paper-based process, especially since it's designed with small construction companies in mind. They're making it even easier for smaller companies by offering additional features that you'd normally have to find in other products.
However, companies can easily outgrow this system. We have about 15 years of data in the system, over 300 active jobs, and nearly 1,500 employees. In the past 3 years we've noticed slower performance and frequent locks in the system that require intervention from a system administrator. We moved to the cloud about 2 years ago and this has made troubleshooting even more difficult as we don't have the same access that we did before to resolve performance issues.
February 14, 2023

Viewpoint Spectrum Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Spectrum in several different aspects. Payroll is the main and most important area, and Spectrum is good at helping to correct errors from previous weeks.
  • AP tracking
  • Invoicing
  • Payroll
  • HR
  • Platform could be more user friendly and easy to navigate.
  • Document imaging doesn't always work.
Overall I don't have any problems other than the document imaging not always working, which requires me to log back out and in to get the images to capture. Once you learn to navigate the site maps things become much easier.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Viewpoint Spectrum is our primary ERP system for accounting and job costing.
  • The software has a great user interface and new users find the software easy to learn.
  • Importing data is relatively straightforward with the use of data exchange.
  • There are a variety of third-party applications that integrate well with the software.
  • The user interface for job cost projections seems to not have been updated for decades and is very difficult to use.
  • There is no way to automatically allocate overhead cost to jobs based on hours charged or percentage of cost.
  • Most users purchase third-party financial reporting software.
Spectrum is an overall easy to use/implement software that works well for small to medium sized businesses, but it also can scale for larger businesses.
February 08, 2023

Viewpoint Spectrum

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WE use Viewpoint Spectrum for all of our Accounting needs for our Electrical company. This system makes Job Costing a lot easier!
  • Job Costing
  • Vehicle Maintenence and Tracking
  • Organization
  • Purchase Orders can be messy and Confusing
  • Finance Reports could be more user friendly
  • Cost of software
Job Costing is great, if you don't want as much detailed breakdown for your jobs though this software might be a pain.
February 08, 2023

Daily User

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Daily operations for accounting and project management. All data in one location.
  • AP Invoice Approval Process
  • Job Cost Tracking
  • Equipment Revenue Billings
  • Financial reports
  • Simpler process for revising a subcontract
  • Ability to remove a PO revision
Accounting areas work well in connection with job costing. Job management tasks could be simpler. Hate Crystal Reports. Need to easily be able to customize all reports more like QuickBooks. More drill down capibilities.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Viewpoint Spectrum to manage our construction accounting as well as the Sub Kiosk to manage subcontractor invoicing. Spectrum provides us with insight across the company of how we are performing collectively, how our jobs are doing, and overall cash flow. By using Spectrum, we have connected visibility into all of these items, within one platform.
  • Module Integration
  • Clear, concise reporting
  • Secure Single Sign On Capability
  • Subcontract Kiosk can be glitchy - allows subs to overbill on subcontract billing items
  • Document Imaging can be glitchy - often says users do not have adequate security to view/add documents, but they do - if they sign out and back in, it works fine
  • At times, support can be lacking - sometimes case responses are delayed or you get an incorrect answer
Spectrum is great for users who need to have visibility across job costs as well as financial modules (AP/AR, etc.) - honestly, Spectrum is scalable for both small and large companies. It's especially good for companies that are starting out, who want to plan for growth, without having to upgrade software down the line when they're bigger.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Spectrum is our accounting software.
  • Accounts Receivable
  • Accounts Payable
  • Payroll
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE/SUPPORT
  • Report Generation
  • Online support/portal
  • Help function
  • CUSTOMER/SUPPORT
Basis of Spectrum (data entry) is fairly easy to use. However extremely difficult to extract information for reports and analysis. Customer Portal, The Network, etc is cumbersome as you need to go to multiple sites to try to resolve issues. Customer Support is a major weakness of Spectrum, as response times are intolerable and knowledge base of the support team is lacking. I should not have to wait hours/days to address support issues for my accounting software. In fact, when asked about Spectrum, the lack of timely Customer Support is generally the first thing mentioned.
February 07, 2023

Hands On Controller

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have responsibility for financial statements & risk management.
  • Multiple entities
  • Dashboard
  • Reporting and Formatting
  • Analytics allowing for more fields
  • Packing Slip Accrual Reporting
  • Using multiple screens
Our biggest issue now is the packing list entry accrual. The system accrues to a balance sheet account. It should be a subledger like AP or AR. There is no report that lists the items that are accrued. I have never seen a system that doesn't have a report for this. I have a balance sheet account with 700k+ and no report to show for it. We are required to complete many forms in the field for compliance with OSHA. There is no ledger by company to list the reports that were completed. In order to see the list, we have to drill into each job. We have too many projects to do this efficiently. The analytics would be great if it allowed all the fields to be selected. It is usually missing a key field that makes it useless. We could address our forms issue if the Forms fields were available. We have had to develop a lot of forms and work arounds in Excel because the standard reports are not useful and generally have really bad formatting causing a single page of information to be displayed on 10 pages.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use all the included Spectrum modules (have not purchased the HR and Service Tech modules) and I find it to be a very powerful ERP. We are slowing learning how to use the software to streamline our processes and simplify our accounting systems. I was part of the purchasing decision team, and we chose this software over 3 other top programs. I'm very happy with it and I'm excited to continue to use it to grow our company.
  • All Accounting procedures
  • Help menu and support
This software is excellent for managing off-site jobs by keeping everything in one place. We are learning how to minimize our dependence on external spreadsheets and other programs by customizing Spectrum to our business. We have chosen the Cloud-based hosted option and that is really helping with our employees trusting the backups and reducing our production of paper reports.

This is so much more than an accounting software!! If you are just looking for that - save your money and buy something else. If you are looking to integrate your field with your office, this is perfect for you.
Return to navigation