Viewpoint Spectrum

Viewpoint Spectrum

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 5.1 out of 100
Viewpoint Spectrum

Overview

Recent Reviews

[In My Opinion:] DON'T!!!!

1 out of 10
October 15, 2021
Our whole company switched to [Viewpoint] Spectrum last November. It is used for construction service, sales, part sales, receiving, …
Continue reading

Spectrum in accounting

10 out of 10
February 04, 2020
Viewpoint Spectrum is used by our accounting and finance departments to manage inventory, calculate sales/taxes, and create financials.
Continue reading

Viewpoint of a longterm user

6 out of 10
January 31, 2020

Viewpoint Spectrum is used to record and report the financial activities of several companies. Functionalities used are by us are:

  • Account…
Continue reading

A very good move for us

9 out of 10
January 24, 2020
We use it across all departments so things are seamlessly integrated. It gives a one-stop, all-encompassing environment to manage jobs and …
Continue reading

Overall a Happy Camper

9 out of 10
January 22, 2020
The software is primarily used for accounting purposes, payroll, customer contracts, receivables, payables and job costing. On a more …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 29 features

Jobsite reports (23)

3.1
31%

Job costing (27)

3.1
31%

Document sharing (24)

2.6
26%

Collaboration & approvals (22)

2.1
21%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Viewpoint Spectrum, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, resource management, and reporting and analytics. Key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI management tools.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Premier Construction Software?

Premier Construction Software is a true cloud, all in one accounting, job cost, project, document and drawing management solution, specifically designed to meet the needs of General Contractors, Land Developers, and Homebuilders. The cloud-based solution comprises of various integrated modules such…

What is NetSuite ERP?

NetSuite is a suite of ERP and accounting modules which is sold in various editions aimed at different size customers. The multi-country, multi-currency version is an additional module called OneWorld. Netsuite is a SaaS system and is not offered in an on-premise edition.

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

1.0
10%

Payroll Management

1.0
10%

Asset Management

2.0
20%

Reporting & Analytics

1.0
10%

Construction Project & Field Management

2.1
21%

Estimating

1.7
17%

Product Details

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, materials and equipment management, and reporting and analytics capabilities. Some key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI and submittal management tools. The vendor offers a free demo of the product and provides pricing information upon request.

Viewpoint Spectrum Video

Western Allied Mechanical Talks About Using Spectrum by Viewpoint

Viewpoint Spectrum Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile Application,

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Viewpoint Spectrum?

Viewpoint Spectrum is a cloud-based construction ERP suite with project management, accounting, resource management, and reporting and analytics. Key features include workflow automation and collaboration tools, document imaging and sharing, cost estimating tools, and RFI management tools.

What is Viewpoint Spectrum's best feature?

Reviewers rate Mobile app highest, with a score of 5.7.

Who uses Viewpoint Spectrum?

The most common users of Viewpoint Spectrum are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Construction industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (63)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 41)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole company switched to [Viewpoint] Spectrum last November. It is used for construction service, sales, part sales, receiving, everything. We realized, unanimously, that getting [Viewpoint] Spectrum was the absolute worst decision our company has EVER made [in our opinion]. None of us know how this decision got approved. [In our experience,] this software does absolutely nothing to help us do our jobs; it only adds work. The whole point of switching was to automate things and take some of the work away. BEWARE: [in our opinion,] this software WILL NOT help you calculate anything; [in our experience,] all sell and unit prices must be entered manually. [In our opinion,] everything is MUCH more manual than it was with our "ancient" system. Also, [in my opinion,] this program is bugged to hell. When you enter a contact name on an order, it NEVER sticks [in my experience], so now we have to print every order and write the names in. Another point of getting [Viewpoint] Spectrum was so that we [could] scan images into orders, so we don't have to print anything. However, unsurprisingly, [in our experience,] this doesn't work either. So now, we have to keep hard copies in a filing cabinet as well. When I have customers in front of me, I [feel I] look stupid because a lot of times the screen bugs out, the loading circle spins indefinitely, or records are "locked" and I can't access anything [in my experience using it]. I [feel like I] can't even put into words how inconvenient this is. [I believe that] [Viewpoint] Spectrum has known about these issues, and despite how easy of a fix it is, [I feel that] they simply do not care that they are burning businesses to the ground. [In my opinion,] not a day goes by where someone doesn't cuss out the system. [I believe] everyone [at my organization] absolutely hates it, and [I think] the CEO doesn't use it and doesn't know how bad we or the company is failing because of this. I [believe and] predict that if we don't change systems soon, we are going to suffer. [Personally,] I don't understand how there are ANY good reviews of this system... [I believe] they must have been written by CEOs who don't use the system at all. [In my opinion,] STEER CLEAR, or [I believe] you will regret getting this system!!!!!!!!!!! [In my experience,] it's not easy to make the switch twice...
Margaret Reams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spectrum was purchased by our organization in 2013. It was purchased to alleviate the cumbersome nature of a green screen legacy system. It was also purchased as a means to eliminate double entry as we have a service department and larger commercial division. It helped us do everything all in one system where everyone could access it. Mainly the biggest win for us is the double-entry.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Viewpoint Spectrum is used to record and report the financial activities of several companies. Functionalities used are by us are:

  • Accounts Receivable - For simple A/R invoicing, contract progress billing, and the invoicing for individual asphalt and ICC tickets that were entered into the material management module.
  • Accounts Payable - To process invoices entered directly into the A/P module and for invoices that are built by pulling in individual material and rental tickets that were first entered into the material management module.
  • The payroll module - To track employees and to pay for all direct and non-direct labor. Both the payroll and the accounts payable module also link to job and equipment cost.
  • The equipment module - To cost expenses to individual pieces of machinery and to charge jobs for their usage.
  • The job cost module - To track the estimated, projected and actual cost for individual (unit priced) jobs to generate a Work in Progress report.
  • Cash management - To reconcile AP and PR checking accounts.
  • Monthly financial reports are produced with the general ledger module.
  • We do utilize document imaging throughout the system.
January 24, 2020

Too Good to be TRUE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viewpoint Spectrum is used across our whole organization. It is the primary software for all of our business needs. We make sure that whatever software we are examining to use will be compatible with Viewpoint Spectrum. Viewpoint Spectrum solves our project managing, job costing, accounting, dispatching, and field support. We have been using Spectrum for over 25 years and it continues to support our needs.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The accounting department is the heaviest user, and Project Managers use invoice approval. It addresses our accounting needs most, but we are working towards Spectrum supporting the project managers. Our goal is for the project manager to rely on Spectrum as much as the accounting staff does. I would like to see the PM's move away from the excel spreadsheets.
January 24, 2020

A very good move for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across all departments so things are seamlessly integrated. It gives a one-stop, all-encompassing environment to manage jobs and the company. We can move a project through its life cycle integrating the various modules. They are all still linked to a spiderweb-like view of the project that can be seen and managed.
Robert J Friedman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our ERP primarily used for accounting. We are highly satisfied with accounting, WIP and job costing functionalities. Project managers use it at a minimum level and yearn for more and better features. Procore is their desire. HR is adequate but not their strongest area either.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well Viewpoint Spectrum started as Dexter-Chaney, where service was the #1 priority. We have had a few bumps with this software--addressed many of these bumps in 2003. We had Dexter-Chaney send one of their accountants out and in a couple days had the system working much better. The training is a key. We use the Viewpoint Spectrum system to track our job costs, payroll, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and to scan all invoices, time cards, and information that is needed to be saved without filing cabinets. There are still a few things we'd like it to do that we are doing by hand in spreadsheets.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viewpoint Spectrum is being used across our office to manage AP, AR, and project management. We use Spectrum to analyze project budgets to make certain we stay on track and we are warming on custom reporting for historical data analysis. We are also using Spectrum to monitor subcontractor safety and insurance compliance.
Les Papp II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Spectrum in all of our departments. It is used for our accounting and for cost tracking of the jobs we work on, as well as standard accounting and payroll. It does allow the importing of data, which we can integrate our different production systems into Spectrum to bring in data on production and inventory. Features of getting invoice approval out to the field for Supervisors has been a great help, as it expedites the process as opposed to email and phone call. Since it is an ERP system, it covers many areas that are needed to run a construction company in the accounting area, but lacked good production management tools. We continue to evolve and integrate Spectrum into our business and have pretty much integrated AP, AR & Payroll. We utilize the production data in our weekly meetings to determine the jobs' profitability, though we have had to create customized reports to fully utilize the data we are collecting. Overall, it will work in your construction environment.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viewpoint Spectrum is being used throughout our organization for Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, HR, Payroll, and for all SDB's projects. The business problems addressed are those where we need to find out certain information for a particular project such as costs. The reporting function solves a lot of our issues. Also, we process our own payroll so Viewpoint Spectrum helps us out immensely with this.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spectrum as our accounting software company-wide. We have three separate entities that we run so having Spectrum be the common denominator for all our accounting needs makes it easy for our management and staff to have info at their fingertips.
November 21, 2019

Spectrum Rules!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spectrum is being used across our entire construction company, both in-house and out in the field. Every department from Accounting, to HR, to Job Cost and Setup are utilizing Spectrums functions. Since switching over from Timberline, we've been very happy with what Spectrum has to offer. The transition has been easier than originally anticipated.
September 03, 2019

SPECTRUM ROCKS!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Viewpoint Spectrum is used in our company for our accounting/project management system. It is being used across our whole organization and it addresses our issue of having up-to-date costs in the system at any given time for anyone to view. We used to have duel systems that updated each night and didn't have true up-to-date costs in it. So, Spectrum has been a great asset to us for that reason (not for that reason alone but that is one of them).