Vim Reviews

17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2020

Lighting fast editor with a steep learning curve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vim is very efficient in editing not only codes but all kinds of documents. Powered by lots of plugins, Vim can easily become a professional IDE for virtually any languages. With keyboard-centric design in mind, experienced users can always stick their hands in the keyboard, without moving their hands between the keyboard and the mouse, which greatly boost efficiency.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

VIM is the ultimate text editor!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vim is well suited to anyone who needs to quickly modify text (programmers, network engineers, systems administrators, etc). I would recommend Vim in any situation where you need a text editor that is lightweight, fast, and extensible. I would not recommend it in use cases where you'd use a word processor, or in a group where technical acumen isn't especially high.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

The only text editor you'll ever need!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend Vim in any scenario where text files have to be viewed, created, or edited on GNU/Linux computers. Regardless if you need to quickly change a few things in a configuration file, or you need to write up a full document, Vim is great.

I wouldn't use Vim to view, edit, or create anything that requires "rich-text". In other words, if you need to format the text (bolding, font colours, word-art, etc), then Vim isn't the tool to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Worth the learning curve

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It has a steep learning curve, but the increase in productivity is well worth it in my opinion. If you work with a fairly consistent set of languages and frameworks, the investment in setting up a quality environment will pay off over time. But if you jump around to many different projects with varying technologies, a more "plug and play" editor may be a better fit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Vim - Thinking With Text

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There is a big investment in learning Vim, but if your career is centered on editing text files there is no better option. If a user takes the time to become adept they can greatly increase their efficiency. It is also nice if you are routinely on different systems as it can be found on workstations and servers alike. If you learn it, you will always have your editor available.
Read this authenticated review
Jake Tolbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Despite the big learning curve, Vim is the best text editor.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're doing any sort of text editing, you should consider Vim--once you climb the learning curve, you'll be faster and more efficient at everything you do. Also, Vim is my default search/replace tool--whenever I need to make changes throughout a document, most often, I'll copy and paste into a Vim window so that I can take advantage of regexp-based replacements.

Vim isn't for the faint of heart, though--it's hard to learn and super complex. If you use a text editor once or twice a month, or just need a simple way to strip out formatting, Notepad will get you where you want to go without all the confusion.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Greg Garnhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Vim: Good for quick edits, not great for other things.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As I mentioned earlier in my review, Vim is great for quick edits and small file changes. It's a good way to do things quickly, but a bad way to do things accurately. Without autocomplete, spell check, and really any other sort of syntax checker, it can be easy to mess up.
Read Greg Garnhart's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Vim Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's very lightweight and works great if you're logged into some ssh terminal and you need to open some config or files. It really increases your productivity. It works great for someone working in languages like C/C++/Python. But for Scala/Java it might be bit overhead to use VIM unless all the plugins are well documented on how to install.
Read this authenticated review

About Vim

Vim is an open source configurable text editor.
Categories:  Text Editors

Vim Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No