Vimeo Reviews

69 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2020

Great Potential, But Fell Short. Customer Support Nonexistent

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Youtube does not have the ability to livestream from anything other than your computer unless you have more than 1,000 subscribers. Vimeo on the other hand allow you to livestream from mobile, camera etc, you just have to subscribe.

Wistia does not have livestream capability.
Read this authenticated review
Marissa Roth | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Vimeo was the best move for our company.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vimeo leaves ClickMeeting in the dust when comparing compatibility on social media and other platforms. Vimeo has also been proven to be much more customizable. In ClickMeeting for example, video formatting may be changed if a certain font is not recognized by ClickMeeting. It will find the closest font style to that in your document (unless you use a PDF). That issue has not presented itself in Vimeo. While ClickMeeting is much more tech-savvy, Vimeo is true to the services it provides without any hiccups.
Read Marissa Roth's full review
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Boutique Video Service Evokes Artsy Sophistication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For our business applications, the primary competitor to Vimeo is YouTube, although Dailymotion is arguably a competitor for some of our business applications, though not others. The most complete full-featured competitor for our business use cases is YouTube, and I think Vimeo stacks up very favorably against YouTube. Vimeo has much better UI and design, and overall a much higher production quality of videos. YouTube became notorious for having a low quality of user comments, although their filtering has gotten much better in recent years. Still, Vimeo gives the appearance of being a luxury, premium, boutique video delivery service. Whether it is for screencasting, product demos, instructional videos, or other content related to our business, Vimeo is preferred every time for its sleek elegance and above-average UI design.

However, there are some areas where Vimeo fails. One is search, and another is discovery. For consumer-facing videos aimed at garnering a wide audience, YouTube may be the better choice, as there are more chances for people to find your videos on there. Vimeo simply does not have good search and recommendation features for connecting videos to each other.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Marquita Angelina | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Highly disappointed with Vimeo

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are currently looking at Dacast as an alternative option to Vimeo for many obvious reasons. However, we have not tried Dacast yet, we will be doing a free trial next week. While they offer a lower storage that Vimeo, and cost about 400 more per year than Vimeo, they offer 24/7 live support, which to us, is paramount. So, we are willing to pay for their great customer support alone. They also have more sophisticated online tools than Vimeo. Once we have tried them, personally, I can update this section of my review.
Read Marquita Angelina's full review
Julianna Oates | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Why I love Vimeo!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also use YouTube to publish our films, but that is more for SEO sake than for everyday use. Vimeo is the primary way we share films whether via the direct URL or by sharing the video link on our social media.
Read Julianna Oates's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Vimeo has helped us find so much new work!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We publish our films to Vimeo and YouTube, but our films come first to Vimeo by way of Frame.io, which is our client editing platform. The videos move over from Frame.io to Vimeo effortlessly, with longer films moving slowly and shorter films moving quickly. After the films are in Vimeo, the tags added, the description added etc... we then share to YouTube. Compared to YouTube, Vimeo is AMAZING! YouTube is super cumbersome to use and not intuitive. Vimeo is the opposite in the best way, Vimeo is easy to use and easy to set up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Great full service video hosting and sharing product for (most of) your company's needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also use Youtube to host our videos, but rely principally on Vimeo for hosting them to our site and sharing them with others. Vimeo has a great feature where it allows you to update a video if you ever make changes to it. While the video file changes, the URL and all embeds created from that video remain the same. It works like magic, and is something that YouTube has never had.
Read this authenticated review
Hanaa Ibham | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Vimeo; A great platform for great videos!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

YouTube was the platform we primarily used previously, after having restrictions and having locked out of a couple of accounts we needed a better platform. We also lost some of our videos. We also have an internal app to track client videos and Vimeo supported it better. With the increased storage and the number of videos we create, we decided Vimeo would be better.
Read Hanaa Ibham's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Take Video Streaming to a higher level at a lower price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In higher ed we have a couple of options that integrate directly with our LMS (Blackboard/Canvas) that are comparable. Kaltura is outstanding but it's very expensive whereas I've found Viddler(and YouTube) to be much more simplistic. I've worked with other tools that want to charge based on the number of views or how much bandwidth you demand but I have always found that to be erratic. For budgeting purposes, I prefer to you just a sent annual fee like Vimeo.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Rajiv Chidambaram, BE, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Great hosting & sharing tool, but it could have more features available to PRO users!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Zoom
We use Zoom for a lot of recordings (webinars, videos, etc.) but it doesn't stack up to Vimeo Pro in terms of features and functionality. So we just use Zoom for recording purposes now.
Read Rajiv Chidambaram, BE, MBA's full review
Mike Wittenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

VimeoPro: Super valuable for non-pro professionals who use video

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my opinion, Vimeo Pro beats these competing products hands down because it has customizable features and just for video. The other services treat your videos only as files (indistinguishable from other file types except by their extension and preview). The ability to offer passwords, control playback speed’s, get review comments, and share quickly between these platforms (when necessary), makes Vimeo Pro my favorite.
Read Mike Wittenstein's full review
Rocky Kev | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Vimeo Pro works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wistia's pricing is so weird. They charge you monthly, and by how many videos you host.

Vimeo has a flat fee, with an upload limit (which I was close to hitting once in 4 years).

Wistia has better tracking and organization, and it's cleaner. But Wistia's embed is pretty heavy on a site.
Vimeo's embed was highly customizable, and I (the developer) was able to make my own version of the video player with it's own sets of features.
Read Rocky Kev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

High Quality Videos for the Creative Industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vimeo is best suited for internal video sharing and proofing as well as video storage for creatives, such as video editors and marketers. I think most organizations who need a simple, lightweight access-controlled video sharing platform should use Vimeo since it is easy enough to learn and implement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Vimeo Pro: A Must Have

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've tried YouTube in the past, and it's just not as good as Vimeo. Vimeo is a software that's built for professionals. And while it doesn't have the "marketability" of Youtube, it looks and FEELS better than a traditional YouTube setting, which is quickly becoming a platform that's phased out of our industry.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Vimeo is a solid offering for the right market use cases.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The only competitor we've used to Vimeo is YouTube. Both offer embedded players, basic view counts, etc... but Vimeo has (in my opinion) easier customization for embed options, security features, and thumbnail selection. Youtube has a better recommendation system and the ability for videos to be randomly seen. In our experience, Vimeo is great for an internal tool for storage and embedding and internal sharing, and YouTube is great for a social media platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

Vimeo is perfect for Video Freelancers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vimeo by far surpasses Dropbox. There aren't many options with Dropbox, and essentially it's used to store your videos. Although they just rolled out a new feature to allow timecoded edits, which is something Vimeo is lacking.
Frame.io is the best software to use for sending clients videos to comment on. You can write and draw on a still from the video and get immediate timecoded edits-- this is something Vimeo doesn't offer. But I can't use Frame.io as a good showcase of my work, it's simply to just get feedback. Vimeo is best for really showing everything you have in a clean way.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Vimeo Pro Makes You Look Like a Pro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For the reasons previously mentioned, both tools are useful ways for companies to get their message out to the public via video, but Vimeo Pro has a more professional approach with higher quality video, which is why we use it to display our internal and external videos. It's the best way to look like a professional to your audience.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2018

Vimeo Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wipster and Frame.io are two similar client review alternatives to Vimeo. These allow for easy customization of how to present your videos, organize them internally for ease of accessibility, and greatly document feedback from clients in a multitude of ways. Wipster isn't worth its salt. They've price-hiked users for no apparent reason and offer sort of useless features.

Frame.io is my preferred application. It's similarly priced, but fairer. It provides a slew of ways to interact with each frame of video, never has streaming issues, and doesn't feel convoluted.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
John Manuele | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Great video player

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Vimeo is more of a pure video streaming service, but G-suite and Dropbox have better pure file sharing capabilities. Vimeo is a superior player, though and also does provide a easy platform for storing and sharing professional quality videos. The Pro option also gives ample storage for those in need of sharing a large volume or higher quality videos.
Read John Manuele's full review
Jon Ackerman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2017

Vimeo Pro: Watch your video content in the most elegant platform available!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Youtube
Vimeo Pro is simpler to use, has a beautiful interface and is more customizable than Youtube. One big issue I have with YouTube is that you have little control over what content is shown before, during or after your videos. This can cause issues with clarity on who your brand does or doesn't support. Vimeo Pro doesn't have really give the ability to wander through other's content which limits your exposure from being found.
Read Jon Ackerman's full review
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Vimeo Pro - it doesn't suck!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wistia was significantly more expensive than Vimeo Pro. Budget played a huge factor in choosing Vimeo Pro over them. I also feel like the Vimeo player has greater aesthetic appeal than the Wistia player. If we needed more of the marketing automation integration features, then we might have more strongly considered using Wistia.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
Ross R. Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2017

Vimeo Pro Review by Video Production Agency publishing business client videos

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • YouTube, dailymotion, Facebook, Twitter, Slideshare, LinkedIn, Photobucket, metacafe and JW Player
Vimeo Pro stacks up quite well compared to each of the alternative services we have used. Since its integration was not as easily implemented for our own site for publishing client videos vs. JW Platform, we chose JW over Vimeo.
However, as a point of syndication so that each video is publicly hosted, listed and indexed by search engines automatically by Vimeo, it remains an obvious tool for our agency, and one we will recommend to clients whenever their needs are diverse enough to warrant consideration of the Vimeo Pro level agreement.
Read Ross R. Mason's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Lead generation (16)
7.4
Video personalization (25)
7.9
eCommerce (8)
6.0
Support for advertisements (9)
6.9
Video SEO (18)
7.8
Integration to Marketing Automation (14)
7.6
Integration to Salesforce.com (5)
5.3
Integration to Marketo (5)
5.8
Integration to HubSpot (5)
6.2
Integration to Eloqua (3)
5.9
Integration to LMS (6)
7.7
Video access controls (29)
9.2
User management (26)
9.1
Video link sharing (28)
9.7
Internal video (26)
9.4
External video (26)
9.3
Player customization (25)
8.5
Embedded videos (30)
9.6
Video quality / Bandwidth controls (28)
8.6
Mobile compatibility (30)
8.8
A/B testing (7)
6.6
Streaming quality reports (10)
7.7
Per viewer tracking (17)
8.3
Per video tracking (22)
9.3
Video analytics dashboard (20)
8.8
On-Demand video (18)
7.7
Live streaming (10)
7.4
Impact of streaming on network (17)
7.2
Video upload & format support (27)
7.9
Video library / File management (25)
8.6
Video portal (17)
9.0
Audience polling (3)
5.2
Audience Q&A / Live chat (4)
6.6
Video comments (21)
9.0

About Vimeo

Vimeo provides tools for creators to host, share and sell videos, as well as video solutions to businesses for their internal communications and marketing needs.

For enterprises:

  • Live video: High-quality streaming with features like polls, Q&A, and audience chat to keep viewers engaged wherever they are.

  • Branded private portal: Centralize organizations’ live and on-demand videos with Showcase, a secure viewing destination for mobile and desktop.

  • Enterprise-level security and privacy: Easily control who sees which videos with single sign-on (SSO), role-based access and more.

  • Advanced analytics: Track audience engagement with location analytics, engagement graphs, and user-level stats.

  • Dedicated support and services: Onboarding services and dedicated account management, plus access to Vimeo’s live production services and training.

Categories:  Video Editing,  Video Marketing,  Video

Vimeo Competitors

Vimeo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android