Vimeo Reviews

69 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2020

Great Potential, But Fell Short. Customer Support Nonexistent

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is well suited for users who do not rely heavily on videos as a product. Perhaps if a company uses videos for marketing purposes. However, if the videos or live streams themselves are your product, I would tread carefully. We lost quite a few customers because the video and stream quality were less than desirable.
Read this authenticated review
Marissa Roth | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Vimeo was the best move for our company.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Vimeo is well-used by organizations or people interested in placing the videos within another platform (within an app, embedded in a website, etc.) rather than someone looking for a video platform for social media purposes. I would say Vimeo is a wonderful business solution rather than a personal outlet.
Read Marissa Roth's full review
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Boutique Video Service Evokes Artsy Sophistication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is perfect for content delivery from a business to a user where branding, design, and image is of the utmost importance. Vimeo is a boutique premium video delivery platform that puts a lot of care and attention to detail into their features, so choosing them as a service to deliver videos to customers shows that same care and concern. The brand has a luxury bespoke feel. It is suitable for small companies and content creators who are design-conscious, as well as larger companies for whom the branding fits. Vimeo has always had an artsy vibe, for lack of a better term, being the preferred video delivery platform for artists, musicians and videographers, compared to YouTube which is often joked about because of its notorious comments section, although this has gotten much better in recent years. There are other competitors to Vimeo as well, but none of them have the high-end, boutique branding that Vimeo has.

I would say Vimeo is less suitable for certain verticals like gaming (where Twitch and YouTube are more appropriate), or utilitarian purposes like instructional videos on how to fix your car, say. Vimeo is also not as suitable for applications where branding is not a concern.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Marquita Angelina | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Highly disappointed with Vimeo

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo's customer support has been quite disappointing. While their usual and customary canned responses are suitable for small tech issues, don't ever get into a real problem with their platform, because they will NOT respond to inquiring emails and continue to send canned responses. The only caveat is when I actually called Livestream's enterprise customer sales support, and the rep did help me, although we are NOT supposed to contact by phone. For that, I give them a 3, just for her kindness.

Our firm paid for the business pro for 900/year. Our firm also has a doctors newsletter subscription that thousands and thousands of doctors subscribe to nationwide, and we also host live webinars. Livestream/Vimeo has a significant deficit when it comes to any kind of editing capabilities and uploading (even just cutting out a frame or 2). For some reason, if our webinars were public and not exclusive to subscribers, we can place the video on YouTube without issue. Vimeo's platform is another story (for when we have to download, edit, and re-upload). We are now seeking out other (more proficient and better) platforms and WOULD NOT recommend Vimeo's Top Tiered Subscription for $900/year unless you're okay with no real help and canned responses when you actually need a person on the other end of that email. Again, we serve thousands of thousands of subscribers, don't charge as much as Vimeo, and provide much better customer support to our users/subscribers. Shame on you, Vimeo!!! Shame on you!
Read Marquita Angelina's full review
Julianna Oates | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Why I love Vimeo!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend Vimeo to colleagues who work in the video world. Vimeo allows for easy and relatively instant sharing of files that are linked back to the creator. The ability to add SEO tags is so helpful as well and helps establish better search engine recognition for my website.
Read Julianna Oates's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Vimeo has helped us find so much new work!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo has been great! It's so easy to use and the links always work. We love being able to set our back end settings like where our films can be embedded quickly and easily. Vimeo allows us to promote and protect our work all at the same time. I think Vimeo is suited for any media company or person who wants to share their films whether publicly or privately. There are settings for both options!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Vimeo for online courses!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is great for online businesses needing a place to store their videos. If you are looking to use it for a place to get your content out to new users, then it is more complicated.
Read this authenticated review
Matthew Dilworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Get ready to go with Vimeo

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Perfect solution for those just getting started building out their video library that plan to simply embed the video files or point traffic directly to the Vimeo page. Lacking advanced marketing toolsets like Vidyard and Brightcove might offer.
Read Matthew Dilworth's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Great full service video hosting and sharing product for (most of) your company's needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo (pro membership) is great for all of our mid-sized companies video hosting and sharing needs. We share our videos via our website (hosted by Vimeo) and share them directly to leads during the sales process. We also use the privacy sharing features to privately share works in progress between our design and marketing teams and key voices as they need to review them. The free version is very limited, and the social features of the site are not nearly as robust as YouTube. Unfortunately, their live streaming service is untenable for us. We looked into it but the support for our needs just isn't there yet.
Read this authenticated review
Hanaa Ibham | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Vimeo; A great platform for great videos!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo would be the best platform to store videos securely, share them with your audience. Definitely, the quality is ensured and uploading/downloading is very convenient. Specific purpose videos, where you share manually, this would be a great platform. I will not recommend Vimeo if you are hoping to get exposure using this, as search engines do not show Vimeo videos on results. One has to be using Vimeo to find Vimeo videos. And Vimeo is not ideal for in-mail videos, as the video does not play in the mail, but opens on a new tab.
Read Hanaa Ibham's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Take Video Streaming to a higher level at a lower price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think that if you're just starting out it's a great tool; it's cheap relatively speaking (there is a free/basic version but it's very limited). The UI is generally better than YouTube and I feel like the content in more secure. It also integrated well with video review tools such as Wipster and various captioning services. That said as your catalog begins to amass you may find the search feature to be a real limitation. If you are not smart about how you title your videos early on it can be nearly impossible to find an asset once you have a few 100 videos.

It is still far better for video hosting than streaming something off your own site or server. I've had no issues with sending Vimeo content to international users, even those in China or other countries that may have restricted internet.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Michael Ball-Marian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Great for embedded video hosting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is great if you are just embedding videos within your existing properties (website or app). There is a whole public side to the Vimeo platform (e.g., create your own programming channel, etc) that we didn't really explore. We just wanted a simple, powerful solution to host and embed high-def videos on our site -- Vimeo did that quickly, easily and affordably. If that is your usage scenario, Vimeo is great.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
Rajiv Chidambaram, BE, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Great hosting & sharing tool, but it could have more features available to PRO users!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for online video embedding and content management (1 TB storage is ample). Great for sharing internally and externally, with the library feature it is very simple to find relevant videos. The upload process can sometimes be quite long and there are some formats of video that are not accepted. We have had an instance where we tried to upload a video recording through a screen grab software, but Vimeo was unable to do it.
Read Rajiv Chidambaram, BE, MBA's full review
Mike Wittenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

VimeoPro: Super valuable for non-pro professionals who use video

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you want to make your valuable video assets available to a team, consider Vimeo Pro. If you’re ready to have your videos available anywhere (even if you’re working solo) consider Vimeo Pro. If you don’t want to purchase lots of storage (and make sure you’re backups never disappear), consider Vimeo Pro.
Read Mike Wittenstein's full review
Rocky Kev | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Vimeo Pro works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro is well suited if you need to host internal videos and don't want to do a lot of configurations to set it up. Once your videos are uploaded, you can then embed them or share them anywhere, and very quickly too. You can set the video to only show on specific sites, and organize your library of content in folders.

If the video is vital - like a sales video, where a error can cause a customer to never return - I recommend Wistia instead (even though it's more expensive.). Vimeo Pro is much more cost effective overall.
Read Rocky Kev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

High Quality Videos for the Creative Industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro is good for video storage and proofing for creatives, such as video editors and marketers. I particularly like it for access-controlled video sharing for internal product demonstrations and customer-facing demos. It is easy enough for the user in Product Management, Marketing Communication, and key Account Management who can seamlessly use it as administrators or as end users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Vimeo Pro: A Must Have

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're a production house who does a lot of video work, Vimeo Pro is a MUST HAVE. There's no loss in quality when uploading videos, the layout is easy to navigate and clean, and it's a much more professional setting than YouTube. The service, quality, and customer care that Vimeo offers its users is basically unparalleled.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

It does what I need it to do

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro is excellent when you want people to just watch and focus on your video and not be disturbed by ads. This is perfect for the nature of our church's usage -- we want our audience to watch the sermon without being bothered by ads. Plus, I feel that Vimeo Pro's interface is cleaner -- YouTube's interface can really be distracting!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Vimeo is a solid offering for the right market use cases.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is great for archiving and sharing videos to the web. It isn't great for anything that involves sharing to platforms that already integrate their own video players (like on Facebook). If you need a completely transparent (no overlays, play buttons, etc.) embed on a website, this won't work there either.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

Vimeo is perfect for Video Freelancers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro is great for anyone involved in freelance video production. It's a small fee to host all your videos, and they can easily link to your website and be perfectly embedded while keeping all your stats on views.
It is less appropriate to use the software for common edits from clients. Like I said previously, it's easier to use different software to allow the clients to add their input directly on to the timecode of the video. If you use Vimeo for client reviews, it essentially adds an extra step in the process-- having to take their written edits and find the timecodes yourself on the video.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Vimeo Pro Makes You Look Like a Pro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro is perfect if you want the audience to just focus on your specific video and not be inundated with ads from other companies that would distract from your overall message. However, if you are looking to get famous by just adding a ton of videos to amass a subscriber base, YouTube is probably best for you.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2018

Vimeo Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo is useful only if you are uploading a personal portfolio for clients to see. Vimeo has a knack for being the professionals YouTube, which is unfortunate because it has proven its mediocrity time and time again.

If you are doing more than hosting a portfolio or a few neat videos you've created, like presenting videos for clients, you need to look elsewhere. Vimeo won't cut it any longer while there are far better options available.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
John Manuele | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Great video player

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very good for internal collaboration and sharing. Becomes a little more problematic when sharing with people who don't have a Vimeo account. Overall it is a good way to share professional quality video both internally and with customers/prospects. Seems well suited for SAAS sales especially.
Read John Manuele's full review
Jon Ackerman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2017

Vimeo Pro: Watch your video content in the most elegant platform available!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vimeo Pro has a customizable, beautiful and simple interface. It's well suited for embeds in websites, on Facebook or in app. It gives you the ability to customize privacy of your videos, embed on only set URL's or be completely hidden and only viewable with a link and password. They also have VOD and the option to sell your videos through your channel.

One area that Vimeo Pro needs improvement is in its user base. It isn't as ubiquitous as Youtube and thus has challenges with a video being spread organically or through the volume of users, like Youtube can provide.

Read Jon Ackerman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Lead generation (16)
7.4
Video personalization (25)
7.9
eCommerce (8)
6.0
Support for advertisements (9)
6.9
Video SEO (18)
7.8
Integration to Marketing Automation (14)
7.6
Integration to Salesforce.com (5)
5.3
Integration to Marketo (5)
5.8
Integration to HubSpot (5)
6.2
Integration to Eloqua (3)
5.9
Integration to LMS (6)
7.7
Video access controls (29)
9.2
User management (26)
9.1
Video link sharing (28)
9.7
Internal video (26)
9.4
External video (26)
9.3
Player customization (25)
8.5
Embedded videos (30)
9.6
Video quality / Bandwidth controls (28)
8.6
Mobile compatibility (30)
8.8
A/B testing (7)
6.6
Streaming quality reports (10)
7.7
Per viewer tracking (17)
8.3
Per video tracking (22)
9.3
Video analytics dashboard (20)
8.8
On-Demand video (18)
7.7
Live streaming (10)
7.4
Impact of streaming on network (17)
7.2
Video upload & format support (27)
7.9
Video library / File management (25)
8.6
Video portal (17)
9.0
Audience polling (3)
5.2
Audience Q&A / Live chat (4)
6.6
Video comments (21)
9.0

About Vimeo

Vimeo provides tools for creators to host, share and sell videos, as well as video solutions to businesses for their internal communications and marketing needs.

For enterprises:

  • Live video: High-quality streaming with features like polls, Q&A, and audience chat to keep viewers engaged wherever they are.

  • Branded private portal: Centralize organizations’ live and on-demand videos with Showcase, a secure viewing destination for mobile and desktop.

  • Enterprise-level security and privacy: Easily control who sees which videos with single sign-on (SSO), role-based access and more.

  • Advanced analytics: Track audience engagement with location analytics, engagement graphs, and user-level stats.

  • Dedicated support and services: Onboarding services and dedicated account management, plus access to Vimeo’s live production services and training.

Categories:  Video Editing,  Video Marketing,  Video

Vimeo Competitors

Vimeo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android