Microsoft Visio Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Powerful and versatile Diagramming tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flowcharts can be prepared very easily as it has stencils that can be used.
  • Use case diagrams can be prepared by use of predefined template.
  • Point connectors are suggested during the build of the models that make it easier to work in the canvas.
  • Ability to export to different formats supported by Design tools like Adobe XD, etc.
  • If more aesthetic suggestions can be provided inbuilt that may enhance the user experience.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
John Mota | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

Use Visio for ALL your diagram creation tasks. Great overall infrastructure design program.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automated linking of diagram objects based on rules.
  • Vast array of diagram objects.
  • Easiest software to use for organizational charts.
  • Remove the block for click-to-run installation when used in conjunction with Office 365.
  • Reduce pricing for the on-line version of Visio if this is going to be the wave of the future.
  • Have better definition and detail requirements for objects provided by third parties for import into Visio.
Read John Mota's full review
Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Microsoft Visio Helps Create Powerful Visualizations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Powerful and clean visualizations.
  • Large library of industry-recognized shapes to leverage in your visualizations.
  • Sharing your diagram is not easy; printing or publishing is unfortunately not as easy as it could be.
  • Keeping shapes aligned could be easier. You have to have a good eye for spatial design to keep complicated diagrams easy-on-the-eyes.
Read Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM's full review
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

A good diagramming tool that integrates well with other Microsoft software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visio is integrated with other Office suite products which is nice.
  • It is user-friendly. It doesn't take long to figure out how to get up and running while also providing advanced users options to add the bells and whistles they want.
  • The variety of standard templates is large and there are lots more custom templates you can download too.
  • It is an expensive license. I believe it's $500/person.
  • Not available for Mac/Linux users
  • Can't publish to certain web applications easily.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

A great process mapping toolset.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The templates for basic flowcharting are simple to use and cover most of the basic functions and touch points in a diagram.
  • The variety of included icons and connectors means it's very easy to create floor plans and/or network diagrams.
  • The ease at which you can customise connectors with different colours/thickness makes it very effective in overall presentation of a diagram.
  • For me personally I cannot highlight anything specific that has any bearing on how I use the product. Everything is very straightforward and clearly signposted including template desgins and categories. The layout is easy to navigate and as it's part of the MS Office ecosystem means there is less to learn as I'm used to a lot of the cross product functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Good tool for basic functions and needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use templates and UI.
  • Ability to work offline and one cloud support.
  • Infinite canvas and printing options makes it suitable for everyone to create and print.
  • The installer tool is clunky, rigid and uninviting.
  • The preloaded shapes and icons are limited in comparison to Lucidchart.
  • The user experience is not straightforward unless you take some basic tutorials.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

A Great tool for creating process diagrams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The library of icons and elements are big enough.
  • The predefined templates for projects are useful.
  • It makes the work fast and efficient.
  • It's easy to learn.
  • Sometimes auto-arrange does not correctly align the project diagrams.
  • Licence fees are expensive.
  • If you are doing projects for clients, your clients will not be able to change the process diagram if they do not have a Visio license.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Visio is an amazing tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flowcharts.
  • UML diagrams.
  • Ease of use.
  • Tons of supported design diagram templates.
  • Could be faster.
  • Could take less time to load.
  • Could make a online version of the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Amy Sternin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Decent product, but you really need to get proficient to be productive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visio provides a number of templates and a good selection of symbols and shapes to use.
  • The number of features and functionality is pretty robust, so you are not restricted in your ability to create with Visio how you visualize you want the results to be.
  • It is a commonly used product, so sharing with others is easy, plus since it integrates with other Microsoft products, that is helpful as well.
  • I find it not very intuitive, and that is after using it for a number of years.
  • I have difficulty formatting to a page for printing or even viewing in a presentation.
  • The ability to switch between text and textboxes and lines seems like it could be done easier. It seems like I am always in the wrong area.
  • It would be great if there was an easier way to find the correct symbol or icon you want. Often I can never find what I am looking for and need to improvise.
Read Amy Sternin's full review
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

Microsof Visio - The Diagram to Your Success!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Work together on Visio flowcharts to include insights from all stakeholders.
  • With Office 365*, multiple team members can work on diagrams at the same time.
  • Connect your flowcharts and diagrams to real-time data.
  • Applied shape formatting automatically updates your flowcharts to reflect changes in the underlying data, either in Visio or through Office 365*.
  • Its inability to delve deeply into micro information successfully.
  • It is a paid software which comes after paying a Microsoft licensing fee.
  • The cost is high and the integration of the stencil library is unnecessarily fragmented.
  • The more you use it, the faster and more effective you will get.
Read Richard Perroset's full review
Jerome Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Microsoft Visio Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to use with multiple diagram tools
  • Lots of built-in options and templates and it allows you to import many more.
  • Reliable program - I've used it Visio for many years and it gets easier to use with each revision.
  • Would like to see more animated tools that could be used in workflows
  • As its a Microsoft program - cost is always an issue.
Read Jerome Pierce's full review
Glen Tylee | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

A massive time saving tool that has shown to be invaluable in short and long term application.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visio is very easy to use for people of all skill levels
  • The ability to build and present complicated diagrams in a simplified format
  • Cost effective with little to no comparative competition in this space
  • More options for shapes and colours
  • Collaboration could be easier
  • Better FAQ and training documents would be better
Read Glen Tylee's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Microsoft Visio is the perfect tool for those looking to create advanced diagrams and layouts using pre-built templates.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the built-in capabilities which make it easier to connect diagrams to data sources and display data graphically.
  • I like the different templates and layouts you can leverage within Visio from basic to advanced.
  • Visio is very user-friendly, making it easy to use and collaborate with other users around shared diagrams etc.
  • While Visio is easy to use overall, it does have some quirks and can be a little limiting in what you can do within the tool itself and collaboration can sometimes be limited as a result.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Visio - excellent tool for creating process workflows

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • BPMN for creating process work flows, Visio does a great job at integrating this notation.
  • The availability of many different shapes that can be utilized to create different types of diagrams.
  • Easy to use, user-friendly.
  • I have nothing to suggest at this time.
Read this authenticated review
David Currier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Visio as design solution of choice for call flow documentation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visio is a highly flexible design and documentation platform that enables clear representation of systems and solutions
  • Visio is the digital version of a whiteboard that can be used to solidify an idea into a design
  • The ability to export a design to a PDF allows easy sharing with others that do not use Visio
  • Visio falls behind in the real-time collaboration department
  • I have always wished that Visio more easily enabled dynamic complex shapes - for example, a simple shape with menu of choices that would automatically expand/contract as items are added/deleted
Read David Currier's full review
Richard Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Visio is Amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love that Visio works for any level of user. I can create simplistic, high-level diagrams very quickly, or take my time and create more complex processes and diagrams using Visio's large shapes library. And if the icon or image I need isn't available, I can paste or import it into my diagram.
  • It gives me control to go outside what we'd consider best practices to create diagrams that have specific meaning to stakeholders. For example, some may like a particular color scheme, which I really don't care about, but if they want decisions to be yellow, start to be green, and end to be red, I can easily accommodate those requests.
  • I also love (love!) that it is so easy to use with SharePoint. I can virtually collaborate with my team to refine process flows and diagrams, and go back through my version control to see which changes have been made and by whom.
  • The shapes library can be a little daunting if you're unfamiliar. Unless you know what you're looking for and where to find it, you can spend a lot of time looking for a particular shape or icon. But once you find it, you can add it to your shapes menu for easy access.
  • You can also spend a lot of time selecting your defaults for shapes, arrows, font size, etc. But like the shapes library, once you get it down, it's locked in.
  • Be prepared to spend a few hours playing with Visio before figuring out all the nuances. But if you're a beginner and need to create a process flow or diagram, you can do it very quickly without a lot of effort or training. The fun stuff takes a little longer to master.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

The king but for how long?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For users who have been using it since the early versions, the changes between the years have been incremental and easy to pick up. It's an easy learning curve for longtime users.
  • A huge amount of different diagram options for every conceivable possibility. There isn't another tool with this much diagram versatility while maintaining a professional feel.
  • It's often bunched in with Office 365 Professional meaning that companies don't have to shell out too much.
  • It is not very user-friendly for first-time users, such as myself back in 2016. If you haven't had training in the area you will find producing professional diagrams difficult with Visio.
  • There are open source alternatives that are catching up with Visio's functionality for free. It may not be long until forking out for Visio may not be worth it.
  • Switching between open source software and Visio can cause compatibility issues, and diagrams may be ruined in the conversion.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Using Visio to help share your vision efficiently

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visio contains a very large collection of objects that you can add to your drawing. They are regrouped in themes which makes it more easy to select. It also allows for some standards in the drawings created.
  • Office integration is really awesome. You can integrate a Visio drawing in a Word document and people without Visio can still see it. Also, the users of Visio can edit the drawing from within Word which makes it very convenient.
  • Visio allows us to add new anchors to objects (to attach arrows and lines). This is really convenient as sometimes the default position of anchors on an object doesn't fit your needs.
  • If you can't find the object that fits your need, you can import pictures and put anchors on them. This helps you achieve the desired effect.
  • Often, I have the feeling that I'm using overly complex ways of doing some things that are basic. The tool is really easy to use and loaded with options so you can easily get lost in it. Looking for some training on the tool is probably a good idea if you want to use it fully.
  • When you are moving objects around, very often, your connectors will also move and won't arrange nicely.
  • For example, if three connectors leave an object to go to three different objects, I would like to see these three connectors joined (or overlapped) for as long as possible on the graph. Or if you manually change the path of a connector to go under an object, as soon as you move one of the two objects linked with that connector, this will usually revert the path of the connector to the original one. For people with OCD, this is triggering.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Explore Your Creativity in Designing Graphical Process Flow Diagrams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphical representation of processes through inserting a picture is one of the best things I experienced in Visio.
  • Very easy to work with the models given.
  • Visio gives templates in every aspect that a business analyst or a project manager needs in terms of process flow drawings or projects plannings.
  • The only difficulty I face when I'm using this is its size layout. It is difficult to get everything we put into a single A4 size layout.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2019

Visio to Ease the Life of a Business Analyst

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It gives you the ability to design every business analyzing diagram like process flow diagrams, workflows, activity, sequence, etc.
  • It helps the project managers to design project management documents like grant charts, etc.
  • Diagrams can be designed so that they are readable and pleasant. Can insert pictures instead of rectangles shapes to represent processes.
  • The only issue I find in working with Visio is the size layouts. It's very hard sometimes to design processes so that it fits the size of an A4.
Read this authenticated review

About Microsoft Visio

Microsoft offers Visio, a diagramming tool for building flowcharts, diagrams (e.g. network diagrams), org charts and floor plans, available online as a subscription and also in enterprise level packages (e.g. Visio Professional).
Categories:  Org Chart,  Diagramming

Microsoft Visio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No