Vista by Viewpoint Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
67 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Steve Bolton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Vista - A Good Tool For Your Toolbox

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being on a Microsoft SQL platform enables easier development and integration with 3rd party software.
  • It has a very flexible User Defined fields and tables system to allow customizing to the user's needs without breaking standard features.
  • Security management is very granular.
  • Its history is that most entries are transaction-based, requiring batch processing. Some of these could be moved to background batch processing so the batching would be more transparent to the user.
  • More data needs to be available on mobile devices. They are making a move in this direction, which is good.
  • Some screens allow flexibility of viewing data in grid views, but the export of this data to Excel could be improved. This is mostly seen in Workcenters.
Read Steve Bolton's full review
Mike McKeown | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2020

Vista by Viewpoint, Moving our company to bigger and better places

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows us to track change proposals to change orders.
  • See costs for different phase codes.
  • Review projections for costs and profit.
  • The change order numbering goes back to 1, this is very confusing.
  • There are times that you need to do extra steps to do one item.
  • Having to interface the costs before they all show up is tedious.
Read Mike McKeown's full review
Jessica Rondash | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

The usefulness of Viewpoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There are a lot of customization options, especially in the reporting function.
  • It links different modules together, I.E you can only write change orders to subcontractors that have subcontracts on your job.
  • It allows us to collect data and report on it, for example, we can see invoicing by business unit or by project executive, etc.
  • Some parts of Viewpoint are not the most user-friendly and it takes time to get used to the program in order to use it fully.
  • There are error loops you can get stuck in when making an accidental error.
  • Viewpoint works well for lump projects but the billing and invoicing does not lend itself to CM jobs.
Read Jessica Rondash's full review
Andy Gagliardi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Vista Reports: Functional and Robust!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lots of useful reports out of the box.
  • Ease of use and navigation.
  • Ease to modify existing reports to fit your needs.
  • Support can take some time to get back with you, but they are currently working on that.
  • The knowledge base is a real mess, unorganized, and it's sometimes hard to find the answers you are looking for.
Read Andy Gagliardi's full review
James Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Vista by Viewpoint Review - Developer's Haven

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vista's batch processing method makes it simple to locate issues and identify the root cause.
  • Customization with the core product, and more so with the UD module, are simple, maintainable throughout the upgrades and virtually self documenting.
  • Support for more complex issues could be addressed faster.
Read James Ward's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Vista by Viewpoint may be the right solution for you, but shop around before committing.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Uniform processes and controls between different parts of the company, and different projects
  • Customization and ability to provide as much or as little information as desired
  • Very outdated interface
  • Little to no onscreen help or directions to help guide users
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Good systems to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll system is outstanding. Easy to enter time and send out paycheck stubs.
  • Issuing purchase orders. Track budgets for individual jobs.
  • WIP reports, timely financial data.
  • Areas of improvement: equipment program use and trying to find solution through learning.
  • Imports: not as easy as the knowledge based leads on.
  • Crystal Reports is confusing even after completing the training on the subject.
Read this authenticated review
Lauren Hughes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Vista Is Great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fully customizable, it can do anything you want and be tailored to your business.
  • Real-time data.
  • Detailed data, you can see where every penny is going.
  • Takes a lot of time and effort to set up to get running.
  • Online answers can be a little difficult to find for the average user.
  • The non-computer person will need a LOT of training to use Vista.
  • There are quite a few bugs we run into but they are generally fixed on following releases.
Read Lauren Hughes's full review
Jon Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Vista (and Keystyle) review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customizable -- endless user defined fields and tables can be added, among other things.
  • Paperless -- eventually, but it's definitely helping!
  • Expense and invoice review process can be done from anywhere, anytime (formerly Keystyle)
  • Speed of major updates and fixes could be faster. Every 6-9 months for major updates is longer than I'd prefer.
  • Clearview, aka their knowledgebase, doesn't search very easily.
  • Crystal hasn't been updated in eons, which clashes with one of our other programs (FAS Asset Accounting).
  • Expensive! Great software, but it's expensive.
Read Jon Glenn's full review
Carrie Pipkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Honest Review - Not Happy

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Purchase orders by Job. You can manually upload large POs rather than typing them out line by line.
  • Reporting. Vista comes with many valuable reports. You can also create custom reports and design anything you might need.
  • AR/AP transactions are easy to create and track.
  • Security setup. There are many places to remember to add/remove and update securities. It would make more sense to have one place.
  • Standard Reports: depending upon the tables that are pulling data, the financial numbers can be different. You must really know what you are looking at and for to understand what the report is including.
  • Customer Support: Many times it takes several responses back and forth before the issue is escalated or resolved.
Read Carrie Pipkin's full review
Mary Soffner | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Vista by Viewpoint Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There is great flexibility with Vista. We are able to easily customize reports, fields, and tables to fit our needs.
  • The end user help website is a great tool to learn more.
  • Paperless. We have been able to go paperless. There is no longer a need to pull documents from a file to create reports.
  • Can be difficult to learn. There are a lot of fields and screens that need to be set up.
  • Help and support can be difficult to research.
  • There is a lot of room for errors if you do not understand the program.
Read Mary Soffner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

In the right environment, Vista is a solid solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Job Cost module is strong, many controls yet still user friendly and functional.
  • Certified payroll is done particularly well.
  • The cloud hosting solution has been a positive experience, eliminating much of our on-premise cost and headache.
  • PO module can be very 'sensitive' and problems/issues are hard to resolve.
  • 2-way communication with add-on solutions versus 1-way, can create out of sync data between Team and Vista PM.
  • Work Centers are horribly clunky and customization of views and grids doesn't work, especially for Service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Good Construction Management Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reports and report manipulation.
  • Organization of modules.
  • Customization of data entry programs.
  • Speed in loading programs (which may be a non-issue with current updates).
  • The ability (or lack of such in some cases) to interface easily with products that Viewpoint doesn't sponsor.
  • Customer service was poor in some cases but appears to be making special improvements.
Read this authenticated review
Amy Love | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

Couldn't be more pleased, unless you add chocolate.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time management for the foreman. They enter who is on job and what time. All on their iPad and we upload. It saves everyone time and its correct every time.
  • Receipts can be sent via phone or iPad and we can upload them to the system and attach them to their PO with no issues and makes it so easy to track and keep the budget under control not to mention hold everyone accountable for their spending.
  • Surveys and updated info requests can be emailed out, completed and returned via the cloud. Makes updates so much easier.
  • My only complaint and its nothing big. When entering vendor invoices it automatically goes to the invoice date which is the second line instead of defaulting to the first line (G/L date) so while entering invoices its not as smooth because I am backing up one with every invoice entry. Again not a big deal.
  • I really don't dislike anything about it. At times it can be a little slow which could be our server and not the system. There have been times when I have entered faster than it could upload and it causes me some errors. More of an issue of my impatience than anything else
  • Trying to get the correct report, or get a report that fits my needs can be a little trying at time.
Read Amy Love's full review
Grant Mongin | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Vista by Viewpoint is the only solution for Construction Accounting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization is as easy or as complicated as you like. You can get to the SQL tables/views if you want or go through Viewpoint to create customization in their software.
  • It's faster than competing products.
  • Their support team is fantastic. I use live chat and knowledge base daily and I always get answers.
  • Sometimes Vista has some bugs that should be worked out before general release so be careful when upgrading
  • Their TEAM platform is confusing
  • The interface for their product feels outdated
Read Grant Mongin's full review
Darrell Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Viewing Vista payroll

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vista by Viewpoint provides a large capacity for flexibility in job/phase coding and associated costs, by individual cost types. For example, if phases are set up based upon the 16 divisions of the CSI MasterFormat, sub and sub-sub phases can be added for individual jobs on an as-needed basis. Each phase can be further defined by which cost types are available on that phase. Lastly, billings can be done by contract item, which can include several different phases, from various divisions, without limits.
  • Vista by Viewpoint's payroll system allows for many different earnings codes, to define any type of pay imaginable. For example, my company uses 20 different earnings codes on a regular basis. These can be grouped into different earnings types, which then can be coded to different GL accounts as needed.
  • Payroll costs can be differentiated between job costs and non-job costs. Payroll burden can be added to job costs via several different methods, depending upon the company's needs. More or less detail can be available for viewing in the job cost system when T&M backup is needed. All of these are examples of the flexibility available with Vista by Viewpoint.
  • In the payroll arena, occasionally some combination of actions will cause a Payroll Timecard Entry batch to become stuck in a Status 4 - Posting in Progress. Vista by Viewpoint requires that Customer Support be contacted whenever a batch is stuck in Status 4, as it is unclear what parts of the batch have posted to the other modules, especially General Ledger. Support is a whiz at untangling these situations.
  • However, a Payroll Timecard Entry batch does not post anywhere except its' own table - Payroll only posts to GL and other modules when the PR Ledger Update process is run. Support could conceivably allow customers to change the Status of only these batches, as no other modules would be affected. Then the customer could fix their problem and move on without further delaying the payroll process.
  • The User Interface in the Payroll and Accounts Payable modules have traditionally been clunky for non-accounting personnel to use. The increase in non-accounting people using some aspects of the system - for instance, remote payroll entry or project staff reviewing AP invoices - used to cause some angst. This has been greatly alleviated by the advent of the KeyStyle modifications in these two areas.
  • The functionality of the Service Management module continues to be added with each new update. It would be even better if Service could function more like Job Cost in the way of tracking costs. There seems to be a lack of commonality between the two modules - though it is getting better.
Read Darrell Robinson's full review
CHE CHAVEZ | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2019

Vista Review - I like it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vista has the ability to customize columns, and this helps save time when processing charge items. It is valuable to be able to find the information that you want, where you want to find it.
  • When learning how to use the product it is very forgiving. If a mistake is made it can be easily fixed.
  • Approving invoices is a snap. The viewer in Vista allows me to see the invoice and approve or reject the invoice. I know that my company has worked hard to customize this feature for our needs. I know that the team involved with the transition to Vista worked closely with Vista and is still working to make enhancements for invoice tracking.
  • There are some redundant clicks that could be reduced. For instance, when adding an item while creating an ICO or XCO a popup window opens that says an item has been created with a close button. It's not a big deal, just an extra click or 2 that is not necessary.
  • Sometimes it is not clear if you are in the list pane of the item pane. Depending on which pane you are in certain features will not work, but the appearance does not change if you are in either pane. Again, not a big deal just a few unnecessary clicks.
  • When going to print out a report sometimes the form populates the wrong project information and you do not notice it until you have run the report.
Read CHE CHAVEZ's full review
Allison Whitman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Vista by Viewpoint-Complex but Excellent at Cost Tracking at the Job Level

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Support via Clearview. The ability to research issues we are having and try to resolve them ourselves through Clearview is invaluable. I have often been researching one issue or hang up I was having, and learned a few other things I didn't know through this system.
  • Customization of reports - the ability to have reports written in this system to give us access to information all on one report is great! There are so many standard Viewpoint reports as well.
  • Ease of fixing mistakes. Being able to bring something that has been posted back into a batch to fix has been wonderful as we are all human and make mistakes. There are not too many times that we actually have to call Viewpoint for support when we cannot fix something ourselves.
  • Writing Crystal Reports is not easy. You either have to have someone really knowledgeable on staff or source it out. Sometimes it can be pricey for custom reports.
  • Support callbacks. It depends on the time of year, but sometimes it takes a week to get a call back if it is not "Urgent".
  • PO Receipts Module. We gave this a try at our company and it has been a pretty big disaster. We are trying to "undo" it all now because it is not functioning how we envisioned. And there is not much information out there on it. It's almost as if it was an afterthought and not developed very far.
Read Allison Whitman's full review
Craig Lundskog | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Vista a viewpoint of the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Accountability through approvals - solutions are designed to easily approve all project costs by Projection Management.
  • Fully Integrated Solutions - from estimating, to engineering, to preconstruction, to job-kickoff, to hiring, to employee development, to job management, to financial controls, to financial report it is all integrated and "it all works together!"
  • Constant Improvement - Viewpoint is constantly staying up to date with new innovations.
  • APIs - easier application programming interface with the outside world.
  • Customer Serve - is improving, but not fast enough - love the new hire!
  • Can only think of 2 - sorry!
Read Craig Lundskog's full review
Chris Gibbons | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Vista by Viewpoint - A one-stop-shop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The one-stop-shop mentality has been the number one reason our organization continues to utilize Vista by Viewpoint.
  • We also appreciate the continued effort to become a more efficient platform with a shift to providing more resources for the field.
  • Lastly, we appreciate the customer support. It has come a long way in the last 10 years; however, their support has remained in line with their growth.
  • There are times, where I had a question on how to set something up because Vista is very customizable; however, it's considered billable time; so I end up having to figure it out on my own in order to avoid the added expense.
  • Sometimes I think there are too many forms in order to get something set up. There seems to be a lot of open and closing. It would be nice if some of the processes were consolidated into one form.
  • Sometimes the sales staff can be over the top. I probably get at least 3-5 sales calls from Viewpoint every month for additional features/products that they are offering.
Read Chris Gibbons's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Small company review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vista by Viewpoint understands how the flow of information needs to happen for construction. No matter how big or how small you want to track information, Vista by Viewpoint will have you covered.
  • Vista by Viewpoint keeps up on new legislative needs for the employers. When new laws or regulations are implemented, Vista is right there.
  • Vista by Viewpoint is a front runner on technology. They always seem to be right on time.
  • There are some state specific laws and regulations regarding employees that Vista by Viewpoint hasn't implemented the new changes. So a work around has to be done.
  • We are a small company and some of the products seem to be geared to larger companies. For a large company who will utilize all that Vista by Viewpoint has to offer, the pricing may seem small. We don't need all of the amenities, but pay for them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Trust Radius Review 2019

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sets up and organizes projects that we are currently working on. In PM Projects you can set up new jobs that we are working on in the field and can manipulate the breakdown of each cost code.
  • Make information easily accessible. Whether it's AP, job cost, or project management, all of the programs are available in the most convenient way.
  • Utilize crystal reports to create timely billing information that can be organized in whatever way you desire.
  • Needs more font sizes.
  • Undo options.
  • T&M customization options.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (12)
6.5
Plan markups & sharing (10)
6.5
Issue tracking & punchlists (19)
5.8
Photo documentation (13)
6.7
Jobsite reports (20)
6.6
Document sharing (20)
6.6
RFI tools (19)
6.3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
6.1
As-built drawings (8)
5.9
Mobile app (9)
6.3
Submittal design and management (14)
6.3
Takeoff tools (3)
8.3
Job costing (9)
8.5
Cost databases (7)
7.8
Cost calculator (6)
7.4
Bid creation (4)
8.1

About Vista by Viewpoint

Vista by Viewpoint is a comprehensive construction accounting software that is designed to help contractors manage all areas of their business.
Categories:  Construction

Vista by Viewpoint Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No