TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tt/zF/D74HNCCX6XWO.JPEGPDS is money in the bank!It is used across the whole organization. It provides more detail to our users for payroll and benefits. It also allows us to use the data and integrate other data from other systems to report out information and tie in employment and demographic information. It allows our admins to spend less time manually updating data as well.,Security - flexibility to a wide variety of types of users. Expansion - When acquisitions happen it was quick to add a company. User Exp - Users find it easy to navigate and find what they need.,Job History - Too many areas that dates populate. ATS - There is a lack of flexibility for applicants when applying for multiple jobs. Searching - The functionality is a little limited, would be nice to type in any information on a person and search.,10,Automation of reporting has cut manual tracking down by 75% for benefits.,,ADP Vantage HCM, Paylocity Web PayGreat application and great serviceWe use PDS’ Vista HRMS application for HR, benefits, and payroll for ourselves (the Lee County Clerk of Courts) and also Lee County government, airport and court administration employees. Additionally, we track benefits for retirees and twelve other agencies that utilize the county’s benefit plans. All total, there are approximately 5,000 active employees and enrollees. The clerk of courts maintains the application and develops any custom programs.,Vista HRMS is very flexible, it does everything we need for HR, benefits and payroll. It’s user-friendly and intuitive to use, when we roll out new self-service items our employees have no problems and require minimal training or documentation. PDS has excellent customer service and support. We get answers to the majority of our questions and problems quickly, within the day that we call. More complex issues that may require PDS’ technical support are usually addressed within a few days. We were upgrading our production servers to Windows 2012 over a weekend and a key person in our organization was on leave. When we checked with PDS to see what cost would be involved if we needed their help, they said it was included in our regular maintenance, no extra cost. The PDS User’s Conference is an excellent learning opportunity for training on everything Vista does, including using Crystal Reports for custom reporting. You also get to meet and talk to the executive and development staff and have direct input into the future product development.,The time entry features historically weren’t robust enough for our needs so we went with a separate application. We haven’t evaluated Vista’s current improvements so it may be better now. We do use the leave accrual processing in Vista though and it works perfectly. Sometimes we have trouble reporting on our old historical data. PDS has improved their history and reporting on it, we need to review our data. We would like to have PDS add employer benefit costs to history though.,10,Increased efficiency for HR, benefits and payroll staff Employees are very happy to have immediate access to their data Our HR benefits staff saves a lot of time since we began using the employee self-service online Open Enrollment,,No,10,Yes,We were upgrading our production servers to Windows 2012 over a weekend and a key person in our organization was on leave. When we checked with PDS to see what cost would be involved if we needed their help, they said it was included in our regular maintenance, no extra cost.,Yes, but I don't use it,9PDS Vista's strong pointsWe use Vista for all HR and PR processing and record keeping. We have about 50 managers with access to see employee information but most of the managers have read only access. Hope to enhance the use of the system in the coming years. Right now we have a few users in the accounting PR department and a few users in the HR department which I manage.,Good at record retention and ease of historical data for recall and report writing. We use the entire employee benefits processing function and it works very well. Good flexibility for payroll processing and special pay runs and bonus calculations.,It's pretty stressful to get hit with multiple releases at the end of the calendar year when we are already stressed about getting our year end processes completed. One suggestion might be to rank the error warnings in some way that gives them a severity rating, or maybe something that tells you this is a recurring warning that you might have already reviewed at the last release, and this time around you can ignore it again rather than investigate it. Employee self-service is easy to use. We have challenges getting security to work properly for people who don't use the system on a regular basis. We are going to try giving our employees cards to write their log on and password on it.,9,Unfortunately, we do not measure, but I am sure it would be favorable if we did.,ADP and PaychexCPP has used Vista HRMS for payroll for over 18 yearsVista is the HRMS we currently use to produce our bi-weekly net payroll and W-2s. Everyone in the company has access to review individual payroll information. Payroll has enhanced reporting and interface capabilities that produce post processing journal entry interfaces, documentation to support account balances in our general ledger and all data necessary to stay compliant with federal and state agencies.,Vista allows us to have different "Distribution" areas within each FEIN. These distribution types sort and subtotal by type and then provide a grand total for the FEIN. We can organize more efficiently and have subtotals by distribution available to management in a very timely manner. Navigating through Vista is extremely intuitive. You don't have to memorize screen names, labels or numbers to find information. The standard report process quickly and can be save in excel for sorting and analysis.,Due to our established SOX requirements, we do a lot of screen prints. There are many screens that have a printer icon facilitate this process. There are instances in which we need to drill down and require a screen print from a different level, the printer icon is there, but it prints without the employee's name or number which is not adequate. There are times we would prefer to key specific information rather than choose a validated item from a drop down screen. We have multiple FEINs, companies, districts and distributions. There are a few areas/screens where it is difficult to see exactly what company, etc you are working on in the table set ups. We have gotten in the habit of triple checking the company.,10,It is currently allowing us to replace several software components with Vista functionality. Less to maintain and train.,TesserAct and Oracle PeopleSoft HCM,Kronos Workforce Central, Ventyx EllipseOverall SatisfactionWe use it for payroll and human resources within a department of 3.,User-friendly and easy to learn. Reporting options through Crystal Reporting. The best support team when something is not right, especially if they are aware that you are currently running payroll.,If you manually input a transaction into the payroll entry screen once payroll is run you can no longer see that transaction. It would be nice to be able to see a history of all transactions per employee. Future changes cannot be made on the HR side during the payroll processing time frame or the changes will occur during the current payroll. For example, if someone is getting a wage increase it cannot be future dated because payroll will pick it up even though it is future dated.,8,We are more organized and efficient in the HR/Payroll department now [that they are] using the system,None
Windows, Linux, Mac
Vista
27 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Vista Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Vista
27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 27 vetted Vista reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-23 of 23)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Cody Parker profile photo
November 29, 2017

Vista Review: "PDS is money in the bank!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It provides more detail to our users for payroll and benefits. It also allows us to use the data and integrate other data from other systems to report out information and tie in employment and demographic information. It allows our admins to spend less time manually updating data as well.
  • Security - flexibility to a wide variety of types of users.
  • Expansion - When acquisitions happen it was quick to add a company.
  • User Exp - Users find it easy to navigate and find what they need.
  • Job History - Too many areas that dates populate.
  • ATS - There is a lack of flexibility for applicants when applying for multiple jobs.
  • Searching - The functionality is a little limited, would be nice to type in any information on a person and search.
Vista has been great for our business as we expand and have to add in other company information but yet still be able to provide the tailored experience for the new company. I previously worked in ADP and Paylocity, having the ability to get in on the back end and make changes is a big plus.
Read Cody Parker's full review
Marcia Fenton profile photo
January 26, 2017

Vista Review: "Great application and great service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PDS’ Vista HRMS application for HR, benefits, and payroll for ourselves (the Lee County Clerk of Courts) and also Lee County government, airport and court administration employees. Additionally, we track benefits for retirees and twelve other agencies that utilize the county’s benefit plans. All total, there are approximately 5,000 active employees and enrollees. The clerk of courts maintains the application and develops any custom programs.
  • Vista HRMS is very flexible, it does everything we need for HR, benefits and payroll. It’s user-friendly and intuitive to use, when we roll out new self-service items our employees have no problems and require minimal training or documentation.
  • PDS has excellent customer service and support. We get answers to the majority of our questions and problems quickly, within the day that we call. More complex issues that may require PDS’ technical support are usually addressed within a few days. We were upgrading our production servers to Windows 2012 over a weekend and a key person in our organization was on leave. When we checked with PDS to see what cost would be involved if we needed their help, they said it was included in our regular maintenance, no extra cost.
  • The PDS User’s Conference is an excellent learning opportunity for training on everything Vista does, including using Crystal Reports for custom reporting. You also get to meet and talk to the executive and development staff and have direct input into the future product development.
  • The time entry features historically weren’t robust enough for our needs so we went with a separate application. We haven’t evaluated Vista’s current improvements so it may be better now. We do use the leave accrual processing in Vista though and it works perfectly.
  • Sometimes we have trouble reporting on our old historical data. PDS has improved their history and reporting on it, we need to review our data. We would like to have PDS add employer benefit costs to history though.
  • Self-service provides immediate access for employees

  • Open enrollment is so easy, our HR staff love it

  • Fully integrated HR, benefits and payroll information means less errors and saves time

Read Marcia Fenton's full review
Jim McKain  SPHR profile photo
March 03, 2017

User Review: "PDS Vista's strong points"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vista for all HR and PR processing and record keeping. We have about 50 managers with access to see employee information but most of the managers have read only access. Hope to enhance the use of the system in the coming years. Right now we have a few users in the accounting PR department and a few users in the HR department which I manage.
  • Good at record retention and ease of historical data for recall and report writing. We use the entire employee benefits processing function and it works very well.
  • Good flexibility for payroll processing and special pay runs and bonus calculations.
  • It's pretty stressful to get hit with multiple releases at the end of the calendar year when we are already stressed about getting our year end processes completed. One suggestion might be to rank the error warnings in some way that gives them a severity rating, or maybe something that tells you this is a recurring warning that you might have already reviewed at the last release, and this time around you can ignore it again rather than investigate it.
  • Employee self-service is easy to use. We have challenges getting security to work properly for people who don't use the system on a regular basis. We are going to try giving our employees cards to write their log on and password on it.
I think it is well suited for most any HR or PR application. The trick is to get the right orientation and training up front and then after implementation. We failed to set up several things properly and we are still playing catch up but that is most likely our own fault. Making sure companies have a realistic understanding of the resource commitment is critical. A comprehensive HRIS package is every bit as complicated as most MRP packages, but most IT managers and C-Suite executives will not agree that the resources dedicated to the success of the HRIS package may rival that of a good MRP package.
Read Jim McKain SPHR's full review
Becky Boyer profile photo
February 13, 2017

Review: "CPP has used Vista HRMS for payroll for over 18 years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista is the HRMS we currently use to produce our bi-weekly net payroll and W-2s. Everyone in the company has access to review individual payroll information. Payroll has enhanced reporting and interface capabilities that produce post processing journal entry interfaces, documentation to support account balances in our general ledger and all data necessary to stay compliant with federal and state agencies.
  • Vista allows us to have different "Distribution" areas within each FEIN. These distribution types sort and subtotal by type and then provide a grand total for the FEIN. We can organize more efficiently and have subtotals by distribution available to management in a very timely manner.
  • Navigating through Vista is extremely intuitive. You don't have to memorize screen names, labels or numbers to find information.
  • The standard report process quickly and can be save in excel for sorting and analysis.
  • Due to our established SOX requirements, we do a lot of screen prints. There are many screens that have a printer icon facilitate this process. There are instances in which we need to drill down and require a screen print from a different level, the printer icon is there, but it prints without the employee's name or number which is not adequate.
  • There are times we would prefer to key specific information rather than choose a validated item from a drop down screen.
  • We have multiple FEINs, companies, districts and distributions. There are a few areas/screens where it is difficult to see exactly what company, etc you are working on in the table set ups. We have gotten in the habit of triple checking the company.
It is well suited for any size organization. It has employee self-service capabilities that will allow an employee to view payroll details, W2s, change their individual addresses, change direct deposit information and make W-4 elections.
Read Becky Boyer's full review
Lisa Lange, CPHR Candidate, PCP profile photo
February 09, 2017

Vista Review: "Overall Satisfaction"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for payroll and human resources within a department of 3.
  • User-friendly and easy to learn.
  • Reporting options through Crystal Reporting.
  • The best support team when something is not right, especially if they are aware that you are currently running payroll.
  • If you manually input a transaction into the payroll entry screen once payroll is run you can no longer see that transaction. It would be nice to be able to see a history of all transactions per employee.
  • Future changes cannot be made on the HR side during the payroll processing time frame or the changes will occur during the current payroll. For example, if someone is getting a wage increase it cannot be future dated because payroll will pick it up even though it is future dated.
We like having the control of processing payroll on site, this is new for us. The system is efficient and user-friendly. We did not have an HRIS system before and did everything manually through spreadsheets. This system has brought our department to a new level of professionalism.
Read Lisa Lange, CPHR Candidate, PCP's full review
Nancy Thomopoulos Williams PHR, CBP,CCP profile photo
February 07, 2017

Vista Review: "Great Customer Service"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista is our HRIS and payroll system. In the future, we hope to use it for recruiting and performance management.
  • Reporting
  • Customer Service
  • Ease of using the system
For our size of a company (1000), Vista is the perfect tool and provides excellent customer service.
Read Nancy Thomopoulos Williams PHR, CBP,CCP's full review
No photo available
February 09, 2017

User Review: "PDS VistaHRMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PDS VistaHRMS for our core HR, Benefits, Payroll and Recruiting functions. Our main users are in the Human Resources area but all employees benefit from VistaHRMS due to the self-service functionality it provides as well as the ability to allow supervisors access to review applicants through recruiting..
  • VistaHRMS' open, customizable architecture which provides ultimate flexibility and opportunities for integration. We can use our technical development skills to create any new module we may need as well as extend the base system code to handle our unique requirements, special circumstances and processes. This also aids greatly in troubleshooting and identifying issues because you can get right down to the source code.
  • VistaHRMS provides flexibility for security so that any employee in the company can have access to the HR information that is pertinent to him or her.
  • PDS staff are spectacular to work with. They provide high-quality, timely support and are always willing to spend the time to get your questions answered.
  • PDS is deeply and sincerely interested in customer feedback. This is the best way to improve the product: listen to your customers. They not only listen to the request, they actually implement many of the changes in base system. PDS is a strategic partner for our organization based on the level of service they have provided and their willingness to act on our feedback.
  • Typical of any system built for the unknown requirements of hundreds or thousands of customers with varying needs, PDS sometimes doesn't fit our processes precisely out of the box. However, this con is far outweighed by the ability to configure and customize the system.
  • The most significant pet peeve of our users is the necessity for so many clicks to navigate between different areas or the system or to review applicants. These items are being addressed based on feedback from the user community in an upcoming release.
Having options for on-site, hosted or SaaS implementations, the VistaHRMS system can meet the needs of most organizations whether the organization has IT staff or not. There will be situations where unique requirements may require customizations to the system to accommodate the needs. However, with the open architecture and the consulting of PDS, most anything can be developed to suit your needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2017

"Vista HRMS Review - Perspective from an HR professional who is in process of modyfying modules"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it's being used in the HR department with the intention to deliver it across the organization shortly - opportunity to leverage operational factors such as analytics, leave accrual, emergency contacts, recruitment etc.
  • We can evolve reports to produce metrics that fit the specific needs of the organization. A user can define and create what they need, or contact PDS for assistance. Our ideas don't seem to be impossible - confident that the system can drill into any metric we can think of.
  • Customer support from PDS is fantastic. They respond to our inquiries quickly and professionally.
  • All-in-one package -- this is helpful with planning how to deploy modules without breaking the bank.
  • Visually, it can improve. It may not be as "cool" as other systems on the market, but the functionality makes up for that tenfold.
  • Upgrades do not always go smoothly on our end but there are diverse factors involved here. We also resolve the issues quickly with PDS.
It is well suited for providing a dashboard for your employees where analytics are presented and you can drill down into particular details; when you require workflow to occur (i.e. to manage leave accrual) for recruitment and succession planning; goal setting and performance reviews; etc. If you need a tool that looks "cool" and is not so dependent on your skills to develop the system, you may not feel this system is right for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2017

User Review: "I love VISTA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We selected Vista HRMS after a diligent evaluation process. We were looking for a flexible solution that could grow with us. Vista is highly customizable, and flexible. We have been able to customize screens, user fields and workflows. This was a critical part of our evaluation. Other providers "claimed" the ability to customize, but Vista delivered on it. Our sales team is fabulous and they are still able to assist with support. It's good to know that the sales team stands behind the product, and the product holds up to the promises of the sales team.
Vista is being used by our HR, PR and Recruiting teams. It has an easy self service interface for our employees. It's flexibility allowed us to rollout self service in stages, as we were ready. The security allows us to lock out or conceal certain screens or fields, which has allowed us to use Vista as an online employee directory in addition to an HR/PR solution. We are very pleased with the product and the company.
  • General HR--everything is there
  • Integration with SQL based systems
  • Integration with time systems
  • Processing our complicated PR
  • The recruiting feature is constantly being enhanced. It still has room to grow in order to compete with the industry leaders.
  • Adding an integrated On Boarding solution would be helpful.
  • I wish I was able to edit screens and employee self service without the need for SQL.
I would ensure that the company you choose is a good cultural fit for your environment. We spent a lot of time ensuring that our culture was compatible with Vista's. It's important to build a partnership.
Read this authenticated review
Amitai Levin profile photo
July 14, 2016

Review: "Vista HRMS: What more can a company hope for?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Vista HRMS for the past 3 years. The program has helped us better organize our HR, Payroll, Benefits and Staffing departments by consolidating our numerous databases and spreadsheets into one database that can be accessed by everyone. Now our employees, supervisor and office staff have a place they can go to for employee information and at the same time only accessing what they are allowed to see.
  • Vista HRMS is web-based; easy to navigate and easy to customize. If your company doesn't have a technically saavy individual, PDS can take care of it for you.
  • Their customer service is second to none. Reps can be contacted by phone or email with quick responses to resolve any question or issues quickly
  • Vista HRMS is constantly providing updates to the system, whether it is tax related issues or the latest regulation changes to the Affordable Care Act
  • Some customizations can be costly; although they are worth investing the money to further personalize the system to your specific needs
  • The recruiting module still needs further work for it to function as a true ATS.
  • In order to create your own custom reports, you will need someone knowledgeable in Crystal Reports.
As Vista HRMS is fully customizable to suit your needs, a company should determine if they have a current employee who can do the work themselves otherwise they will need to consider the additional cost of asking PDS to do the customizations for them.
There are additional modules that we aren't currently making use of, but each company should learn about the functionality of each of them as some may be more beneficial than others.
When gathering your questions, ask all potential users of the system what they would want to see in an HRMS. We did so before selecting Vista HRMS and we got pages and pages of questions and comments and made sure that each item was addressed beforehand and was something that we would be able to incorporate into the system.
You have the option of taking the system in house or being a hosted client. Make sure you figure out what resources your IT department has available. If you have a dedicated administrator who will do all the upgrades and enhancements great, otherwise you may need PDS to help out and having PDS host may be a better option.
Read Amitai Levin's full review
Carol Silverberg profile photo
December 25, 2015

User Review: "PDS Vista can do almost anything!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vista to store all of our employee demographic, benefits and payroll information. And on a bi-weekly basis, we process payroll for over 600 employees across 4 pay companies. Most of our employee-related reporting is produced through Crystal by querying the Vista database.

By utilizing a fully integrated HR/Payroll database, we have reduced data entry time, enhanced payroll accuracy and streamlined the entire HR/Payroll function.
  • Ability to customize. Many programs we've used previously do not have the ability to customize to the specific user's needs. Vista is extremely flexible and customizable, which has served our company well.
  • Automation of data entry. Many of our payroll adjustments impact multiple employees, so the ability to upload time card entries is a real time-saver!
  • Ability to interface easily with our Accounting software. Updating our General Ledger with the bi-weekly payroll amounts is a breeze!
  • Troubleshooting problems that cross modules (e.g.: HR/Benefits/Payroll) can be difficult, since each area has it's own specialist...who oftentimes is not proficient in the other modules.
  • The Help Screen within the program is not always updated, as new enhancements and upgrades are added. This makes it difficult to independently troubleshoot issues that may occur.
  • Some of the Vista reporting is a bit outdated. I would love to see the Payroll Registers updated, so they could be easily exported to Excel for sorting and manipulating.
How complicated is your payroll?
How much flexibility do you need?
Read Carol Silverberg's full review
Susan Shaw profile photo
July 08, 2015

User Review: "Vista - 5 years in and counting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS is our HR and Payroll system of record. When I first started, it was only our HR and Payroll departments that are using it. Now it is being used across the organization by implementing Self-Service where employees can go to view their paystubs, managers can do the employee performance reviews. In addition, I have made it the source of employee information in our desktop/web applications that we've written in-house
  • Vista HRMS is extremely configurable, from being able to update the webpages to adding additional columns in tables. No system is perfect right out of the box, but Visa HRMS gives us the tools to make it perfect.
  • Customer service is awesome. When I have a problem, they normally get back to me within a business day. If it's an emergency, they're there right away. Their reps do build a relationship with you
  • Updates to the system from Vista HRMS are very easy. They have a tool called VistaFresh that you use. You click a button and watch it spin. It handles everything from database updates to webpage updates
  • I think their interfaces could use some, I can't say improvement, but let us say robustness. Their interface mechanism lets you import or export data from the system. It seems to handle just about every datasource except Excel files, which my people live and die by. We don't want to have to convert Excel files, it makes the auditors take a second look and plus it's an extra step for some already very busy people.
  • More documentation. They have a very good technical resource, but I'd like to see a system user guide. There's many features, I just don't know what they do and having a user guide written for the end user would be very helpful. A lot of times, I receive this documentation after I have a problem and contact support.
  • They could do better capturing payroll history employer paid amounts. We have a home-grown way of doing it, but with ACA, we have found some new challenges with the way we're doing it. It would be nice if payroll processing would capture these amounts
  • Having to have a separate environment for Year End processing, it would be nice if we didn't have to have multiple production environments
I wasn't here when the company chose the product
Read Susan Shaw's full review
Philip Mowrey profile photo
January 27, 2015

Vista Review: "Established user perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS integrates our HR and Payroll functions nicely and has been used throughout the organization for over 15 years. While our benefit and timekeeping systems are handled by other systems, the control of our data through easily customizable interfaces allow these systems to be seamlessly integrated into our enterprise. Self-service allows our managers and employees access to information and key job functions and the Recruiting module will be implemented soon.
  • The core HR and Payroll functions work very well together out of the box but they can be modified to answer any business process. The system is completely configurable and will allow any number of custom fields not only to be created to capture data points, but to be used in custom procedures, wizards and reports. In the 7+ years I've been working with Vista HRMS, we have always been able to customize the application to meet our needs.
  • Custom reporting from the Vista HRMS database is easy and can be completely integrated into the front end user interface. We've gone from hundreds of custom reports stored on back office computers to a few dozen reports accessible by managers and employees directly through the application.
  • Interfacing with other systems is seamless and allows Vista HRMS to be our system of record. As of now, Vista HRMS is supporting 8 other business or 3rd party applications.
  • I manage several systems and the support we get from PDS is like no where else. The entire phone support team is great and we've got to know many of them on a first name basis. PDS expends a great effort on their Users Conferences which are highly valuable to the organization. The intimate gatherings are a great place to let them know what you think of their software and they listen by regularly adding in our suggestions.
  • We currently use another vendor for timekeeping and tracking. Our organization requires complex pay processing rules to handle both union and non-union employees and provides a scheduling component suitable for a 24hr healthcare facility. I understand that PDS has partnered with a vendor to provide a better timekeeping solution, but a few years back it still was not adequate for our needs. For the amount of time and investment it would cost to switch vendors and applications, the PDS offering would have to be spectacular.
  • We also outsource our benefits and online benefit enrollment. We had used the PDS Benefits module for two years (2010-11) but with limited online enrollment functionality, changing benefit plans each year, and bundled enrollment processing from our benefit vendor, it became too time intensive for us to manually build and change the configuration each year and reconcile charges monthly. I have heard of significant improvements to the Benefit module and the online enrollment capabilities in recent years but plan to stick with what we have for now.
For the most part, the Hosted version has all of the same benefits as the on-premise version. As a hosted client, we have direct VPN access to the database. Although access is read only, this is a huge benefit over most other SAAS or hosted applications. Bulk inserts and updates to the database are allowed, as are changes to the web front-end, you'll just need to submit your code to the hosting dept and have them review and execute it for you. The support team and hosting department are great and will help you do what you need to do.
Read Philip Mowrey's full review
Deedra Johnson profile photo
January 27, 2015

User Review: "New with VISTA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Alamo Area Council of Governments is currently utilizing VISTA HRMS for all HR Functions across the agency for benefits, employee personnel management, recruitment and payroll.
  • Benefit Module - Prior to VISTA, AACOG was unable to electronically allow employees to register or maintain their health benefits. The system has allowed for each employee to have a view access to their benefits and if changes are required, communication can be sent to their HR Specialist to request the change. This process has helped eliminate a paper process in which the employees and HR staff would have to manually register and track benefits. AWESOME
  • Payroll - Until the implementation of the Payroll Module, AACOG's employees had to complete a paper version of their work hours and submit to the payroll department. The VISTA Payroll Module allows each employee to enter their time into a system that allows the supervisors to approve and submit automatically to the payroll department. This process eliminates the payroll specialist from having to manually track down supervisor for the employee's paper time report. The system also tracks the employee leave accruals as well as leave that has been used. The system eliminates the need to have multiple tracking systems and all is maintained in one area.
  • This is a truly a hard question to fairly answer, due to our recent implementation of the VISTA HRMS system it would be unfair to say that the system is not meeting our expectations. There are so many areas and components that we are not utilizing or under utilizing that it will take some trial and errors before we are fully functioning to the best the system has to offer.
Make sure that you truly understand the undertaking of setting up your new VISTA HRMS system. Often people forget all the painstaking processes that their company has in place which can become troublesome when developing the processes for the new system. You will need all hands on deck, to include HR, Payroll, Accounting and IT departments along with the executives that make the financial decisions.
Read Deedra Johnson's full review
Ralph Jean Pierre Lavaud profile photo
January 26, 2015

"Quick Review of Vista HRMS: A great tool which brings values to our clients."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement Vista HRMS for our clients. Vista HRMS coupled with the interface with our own housing software provides our clients an integrated enterprise platform. By using Vista HRMS, our Housing and Financial management software does not have to reinvent the wheel but instead leverage an off the self robust platform for human resources and payroll. Our clients being spread across different states, have varied requirements and the flexibility of Vista HRMS makes the application a good solution for us across the board.
  • Self Service is a great module which helps to cut down on calls to both the HR team and the payroll teams
  • The benefits wizard is invaluable at the time of open enrollment. The ability to customize the wizard makes it very user friendly and flexible
  • Workflows when configured properly not only cuts down on paperwork, but also ensures that everyone is in the loop and nothing gets lost
  • With the proper technical know how, the PDS Enterprise server can be use in the back end to automated processes and run scheduled job
  • Reports generated by the PDS Enterprise server. It would be nice to have more ways to display and sort the generated data
Vista HRMS is very flexible and also very customizable, The question to ask is how far are you willing to customize the application to fit a particular set of requirements. Most of the time no customization is required except for some custom report. But at the of the day, many PDS customers have and continue to customize the application to fit niche requirements.
Read Ralph Jean Pierre Lavaud's full review
Trace Mangers profile photo
February 03, 2015

User Review: "Vista HRMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Vista HRMS is being used as an] HRMS for HR, benefits, and payroll. It is used across entire organization and is addressing the problem of customization.
  • Integration w/ other internal programs/software
  • Payroll Processing
  • Benefit Processing
  • Standard payroll reports could be cleaner
Read Trace Mangers's full review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

Review: "VIsta HRMS, is it right for your company?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On the front face of the business our employees would say that Vista HRMS is our time and attendance system. Behind the scenes, Human Resources and Payroll use it for our system of record. All employees are stored in Vista HRMS and our benefits, leave accruals, time keeping and payroll are run through Vista HRMS. This is good for us because it keeps all of our information on one platform and I am not having to toggle between programs to run payroll or check employee records and history. .
  • Vista HRMS is extremely configurable. It's completely adaptable to your specific business needs.
  • Security is very robust and you have the ability to easily create and adjust access amongst security groups
  • I feel like the payroll process is pretty simple and the system will generate multiple reports for each step so you are able to verify information along the way. You can rerun steps and processes as many times necessary until all your data is accurate and ties out to your business standards. This is always a welcome feature before you hit that magical 'pay' button!
  • Time entry is very manual, you have to be very specific in your time entry by inserting the colon and also the AM/PM. Military time entry will work if you're settings are set to accept military time entry. A time punch button would be a great addition to this module, or a quick drop down option of base hour or half hour entries.
  • Currently, the system allows employees to enter more leave accrual time then they have available. This error does generate on reports when payroll is run, however as a business rule we do follow up with each individual who has gone over and see if they would like those hours moved over to other available accruals or let them know that it will be unpaid if no other accrual balances exist. I believe you can configure a 'User Exit' to notify employees as soon as they enter the time in that those hours are not available, however it is not part of the base system. This would be a helpful addition and would save quite a bit of time on the follow up during payroll processing.
  • I was not here during implementation of this product, so I am not sure of the training that our administrators received at the time. However I have not had much luck in finding best practices for the system or training manuals. My knowledge has come through trial and error and calling our hosted support team to help walk me through issues. More FAQ material or even module training materials would be great for newly hired employees who need to have access to Vista HRMS in more than a basic time entry capacity.
You have the option of taking the system in house or being a hosted client. Figure out what resources your IT department has to spare, if you will have a dedicated administrator who will do all the upgrades and enhancements or if you will be job sharing those responsibilities. Like all software, Vista HRMS has multiple upgrades a year. You will need someone or a team of a few individuals to test these upgrades out and be able to take on a role of administrator, technology consultant or front end user and make sure these upgrades are working from all angles.
Vista HRMS really is a good product for keeping all HR and Payroll related records in one system, I just stress the fact that you have to have someone on hand who wants to own the product and be willing to learn as much as possible. The more you put into this product, the more you will get out of it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2015

User Review: "Happy with Vista HRMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS is being used across the whole organization. This is our HR/Payroll/Benefit/Absence Management solution for our company.
  • Their staff are available to talk to about existing issues.
  • Their open enrollment process was easy for employees to understand without a high amount of training. Our last software also had employees step through enrollment.
  • The database table names are pretty self explanatory, previous systems I have used this is not always the case.
  • The inplementation/training is when you are expected to 'set up' your organization etc.It is very difficult to make these decisions that later turn out to be incorrect and difficult to change when you are just being introduced to the system.
  • We had reviewed some very specific wants/needs with sales/demo staff, spent a lot of time filling out documentation that we believe were never passed on to the Implementation specialist so we had to start over at square one. Some of those items we found out in truth, the system could not do after all and we had to create work arounds.
  • We were leaving our last system partially because there always were patches needing tested and for our size company it is expensive to test all the time. We believed PDS did not have this same cycle of patches, but we have found their have been quite a few. Often until you can test a whole PTF they will send out scripts to fix one thing. Our company does not install things straight into production, so we spend a lot of time having to test the whole system.
All in all we have been happy with the product as a whole. As with any software nothing is perfect, but our belief that the company really does strive to listen to their users in making improvements to the system is great.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

"Vista HRMS Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS is used across our entire organization for HR data, benefits enrollment and payroll processing.
  • We have total control of our data. It's awesome having it in a single database! Custom reports through Crystal are easy to create, and to post on Vista for others to access.
  • Based upon their security level, managers can have access to data about their subordinates, without having to request this info from HR or Payroll
  • Annual Open Enrollment for benefits is completely on-line and easy for everyone to complete.
  • Payroll processing is easy to review and complete.
  • We have a large workforce in warehouse jobs where they receive auto increases based upon the time they are in their job. Vista HRMS easily tracks this, processes the auto increases on the correct dates and sends out an e-mail to HR and the manager when the increase was processed.
  • We do not utilize the performance appraisal process in Vista because our process requires our employees to have individual goals that are tracked and measured in addition to the traditional competencies.
  • We have a very involved bonus calculation process which Vista is not able to support
  • We currently use another product for Time and Attendance because we've been with that system well before Vista added it to their functionality.
The best feature of Vista HRMS, in my opinion, is the integration of data into a single database. You can easily generate reports and create metrics to compare or analyze anything that we chose to track within the system. We track everything from certification/education, drug tests, I-9 information, to position history and salary increase history.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 27, 2015

Vista Review: "Great system to meet your HRMS needs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS is used across our whole organization as our HR system of record, for all our payroll and tax filing requirements and for our benefits administration including annual enrollment. Vista has provided us an integrated solution for our HR, payroll and benefits requirements. We have implemented an in-house solution that allows us easy access to our data in a secure manner that allows us to develop interanl reports and modifications to meet our business needs.
  • I like the employee and manager self-service screens that are available to employees. They are straightforward and easy to use with little training needed.
  • From a technical point-of-view, I like the fact that we can make modifications to the system using built-in functionality that does not require us to modify the base code. Also, with the use of Crystal reports we are able to access the information we need for reporting.
  • Performance evaluation is one of the weaker areas, admittedly so by PDS, of the system. The delivered base system is quite simple for this area.
As with any system/company the salesman make everything sound easy and like there will be no issues. This is not true with PDS or any system that you implement. I have been involved with implementing many different systems (including several HRMS systems) and this was a typical implementation. There is a lot of work to install the software, configure it, test it and convert all of your data. Do not underestimate the amount of work involved. The one thing that was unique with the PDS implementation is that we had one dedicated resource to assist us with our system setup and testing. It is very difficult for one person to be a subject matter expert in HR, payroll, benefits and technical aspects of the system. She did a good job of managing all parts of the implementation but was stronger in certain areas than others. We looked at in-house implementation vs. a hosted solution. I am very glad we went with the in-house solution. It may be a little more work initially to setup servers but the ability to access data and maintain control of your application is well worth it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2015

User Review: "Vista from the eyes of HR!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Vista HRMS for Human Resource and Payroll functions. We also use the Recruiting tools within Vista to power our online application process. We use Vista across the entire company at different accesses/levels. For instance our HR and Accounting departments use all areas of Vista while a supervisor may use it to look at an employee's salary level, past performance review evaluations, safety training, etc. An employee uses Vista to check the benefits they are enrolled in, their pay information, and ensure that their personal information is up to date and accurate. It serves as a user friendly tool that all levels of computer users feel comfortable accessing.
  • The recruiting tab within the HR function of Vista proved to be a great asset to our organization. It makes reviewing resumes and posting jobs to our website very easy to do. The set up can take awhile and you need a great IT team to support you, but once it is up and running things work great. You are able to change an employee's status, schedule interviews with departments, and view their resumes/applications without having to print anything! You can also create an electronic flow chart to route new job postings for approval through the appropriate chain of command. If your HR department is looking to become leaner and go paperless this is a great tool to use.
  • Tracking of employee's education and courses/certifications. Our company likes to have a detailed trail of all courses/certifications/degrees that an employee has for performance review evaluations and for future career planning of individuals. Vista does a particularly good job of tracking courses and making this information easy to access for department supervisors and employees. It will also allow you to enter an expiration date of a certificate and notifies you when you are due to re-certify or take another safety course. It makes tracking this information very easy.
  • Review process. Every company, especially in the HR department, cringes at review time. It's a huge undertaking regardless of how many employees your organization has. With the Vista HRMS system, it allows department supervisors/managers to easily access a past employee review. It also allows the employee to read their past reviews to assist in writing their current one. It also allows for reviews, once completed, to be submitted electronically through an approval process and attached to the employee's record for future references.
  • Vista HRMS was written by IT-minded individuals which makes it sometimes difficult for someone who is not IT-minded to leverage the system to do the things you want/need it to do for your organization. If your company has a very strong IT department this may not be an issue. However, if you are a small organization who doesn't have a strong IT department, you will have to heavily rely on Vista to walk you through challenges or read up on their manuals (which can be difficult to understand since they are geared towards an IT professional).
  • Getting the proper reports that you need can be an issue. The system allows you to write new reports but can be very difficult to do and to export into a format that you are wanting. This is probably the area our organization struggled with the most. We knew the data was in their but had a hard time finding a way to get it out. Our IT department was gracious in helping us but often times had to find some sort of work-around to get the data we needed. This is definitely an area that Vista can approve.
If you are looking for a system to help you with less paper-trail and something that is all encompassing, Vista is a great system to use. Overall it is probably one of the best HR systems I have used. It is easy to access all areas (HR, Safety, Payroll) in one system. It makes working with other departments easy because everyone has the same information in front of them. It is also easy to grant different levels of access for all employees. If you are wanting to find a way to have your HR system speak with your online website in the form of recruiting, this is a great tool to use. I would ask yourself what do you need from a current HRIS system? Do you need departments to have access to similar information? If you have a large company and need your employees to be cross-trained in other areas, this system does a great job of that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2015

User Review: "Vista HRMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vista HRMS is used for payroll and as a central employee information database. It is used by our payroll department, human resources, health and safety, and training. In addition to payroll and basic HRIS, we use it to track training courses and occupational injuries. Our supervisors and managers all use it very minimally to record employee hours.
  • Vista HRMS tracks benefits accurately.
  • It allows us to provide accurate payroll to all of our employees with minimal resources.
  • As a US-based company, PDS supports Canadian clients very well. There are Canadian technical specialists and Canadian legislation is accommodated across all provincial jurisdictions.
  • Our company has struggled with upgrades in the past. We have worked with PDS to develop custom code but this has created issues in staying up to date. But to be fair, PDS has been willing to work with us to correct this.
  • We use Vista to track training courses in a basic way. However, as a LMS its functionality is limited. It specializes in payroll/HRMS.
  • In general, reporting could be more user-friendly. Basic functionality requires knowledge of Crystal Reports to prepare any kind of robust reporting. However, there have been imporvements in this regard in recent years.
We are a mid-sized company so the functionality and costs are suitable. I suggest asking if you are smaller or larger.

Also, I would ask about in-house technical resources needed. There are options to have the data hosted in-house or hosted centrally by PDS. I would explore both options.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 03, 2014

User Review: "VistaHRMS"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it for are HRIS in our HR department. It is used for payroll as well. We have rolled out self-service to a few of our employees. It helps bring all functions of the HR/Payroll together in one system.
  • User Friendly application.
  • All information for employees is a click away.
  • Customer Service for Vista is very helpful.
  • Reports are very useful and easy to pull.
  • Manual check process is very long and drawn out.
  • Importing a large batch from an excel spreadsheet - without having to ask someone to write a function for that.
  • It would be great if the system gave you some kind of an alert if something was wrong, without having to wait until the employee came to you.
  • Payroll reports that could be more user-friendly.
If you are not going to do taxes or checking printing in house, I am not sure this product would be best. It causes lots of issues when you have a 3rd party doing those things for you.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (17)
8.4
Employment history (18)
6.6
Job profiles and administration (14)
7.4
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (12)
7.2
Organizational charting (12)
5.0
Organization and location management (16)
7.7
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (10)
6.7
Pay calculation (17)
8.8
Support for external payroll vendors (9)
7.8
Benefit plan administration (17)
7.7
Direct deposit files (18)
8.0
Salary revision and increment management (14)
7.9
Reimbursement management (5)
8.2
Approval workflow (7)
7.1
Balance details (13)
7.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (12)
7.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (17)
8.2
Update personal information (15)
7.9
View company policy documentation (9)
7.3
Employee recognition (5)
6.8
View job history (4)
6.7
Tracking of all physical assets (7)
7.1
Report builder (14)
7.8
Pre-built reports (16)
7.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (13)
8.4
New hire portal (1)
7.3
Corporate goal setting (2)
5.8
Individual goal setting (2)
5.8
Performance tracking (2)
6.5
Performance plans (2)
7.6
Performance improvement plans (1)
7.3
Review status tracking (2)
7.4
Review reminders (3)
7.1
Multiple review frequency (2)
7.3
Create succession plans/pools (1)
3.6
Candidate ranking (1)
3.6
Candidate search (1)
3.6
Candidate development (1)
3.6
Job Requisition Management (3)
4.3
Company Website Posting (3)
4.3
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
2.3
Applicant Tracking (3)
3.7
Notifications and Alerts (2)
2.5

About Vista

Vista® is a feature-rich, completely integrated human resource, benefits, payroll, recruiting, and self-service software application that aims to enable organizations to minimize the time invested in administrative HCM and payroll activities by streamlining and automating those processes and facilitating strategic decision-making capabilities. Functional elements include workflow, tax management, recruitment, staffing, position and training management, OSHA, workers’ compensation compliance, and performance and compensation. In terms of benefits, according to the vendor, Vista offers important business value by furnishing vital information for strategic planning and decision-making, while self-service capabilities for employees and managers reduce the administrative burden on HR and payroll departments and increase productivity across the entire workforce.

Vista Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Does not have featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Does not have featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Does not have featurePublish to Social Media
Does not have featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureNatural Language Query Tool
Has featureConfigurable Analytics, Dashboards and KPIs
Has featureConfigurable Workflows
Has featureOn-Premise or Cloud deployment

Vista Integrations

Ceridian Tax Service, ADP Tax Service, EMPTrust, nettime solutions

Vista Competitors

ADP Vantage HCM, Kronos Workforce Central, Ultimate Software, Ultipro, Workday

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

License pricing is based on the number of full and part-time active employees within bands (e.g. 751-1,000). SaaS pricing is based on PEPM.

Vista Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
27%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
73%

Vista Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Vista Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:U.S. & Canada
Supported Languages: English