VMware ESXi Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
572 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 91)

Tim Enders | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

VMWare ESXi is still the king of Hypervisors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VMWare ESXi as the virtualization platform for our entire production environment across the University. This includes all on-premises production, test, and development servers, as well as our remote application delivery and VDI environments. It allows us to design and rapidly deploy environments that are flexible, redundant, and efficient. We have used VMware ESXi for over ten years and are quite happy with the product. It is essential to everything that we do.
Read Tim Enders's full review
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

ESXi has been a staple in our data center for a long time.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VMware ESXi to host all of our virtual servers around the district and also in our data center. It's also being used by other departments to access virtual servers in our environment. Each location has 1 ESXi host that runs multiple virtual servers. Those virtual servers are used for caching images and updates for workstations at each location.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

ESXi is the best in class hypervisor and VM platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is being used to host applications and VMs that support the entire university. ESXi is the primary hypervisor in use in our organization, and has been primary for over 10 years now. It allows us to provide computer and storage resources to our users and departments in an extremely efficient way with many functions that facilitate availability and uptime.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

VMware ESXi for K12 Schools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VMware for almost all of our entire server infrastructure. The only servers we don't have virtualized are backup and video servers. It would be difficult to manage the number of physical servers it would take to server the school district at this point. It saves us a lot of time and money by keeping our physical server infrastructure small and easily manageable.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
Ashley Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

ESXi is the gold standard for business virtualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

vSphere ESXi is a hypervisor similar to HyperV or Xen, essentially a platform for running many virtual servers on one hardware server or cluster. Primarily it allows you to build out one hardware server on which you virtualize your application and/or role servers. It provides a layer of abstraction between the hardware itself and the application layer that gives you the ability to allocate and reallocate hardware resources and perform actions like cold reboots without having access to a power button or cable.
Read Ashley Davis's full review
Karen Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Well worth the investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is used to host most servers at my site. It is the company standard for virtualization across my company, at least in North America. It allows us to save costs on hardware and licensing for hosting servers and workstations. We can test development, upgrades, and changes on copies of servers before having to do it on a production/live server. Since we can copy an actual server, we know exactly how it will respond to changes. This helps us save on trouble-shooting, save on server recovery, and so many other things.
Read Karen Thompson's full review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

ESXi will save your employees time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to consolidate our servers and infrastructure. It is being used across the company to better use assets. Ultimately, it is used to take anywhere from four or five systems and consolidate them to 1 host, or on the other extreme 60 plus systems combined down to one host.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

VMware ESXi is a must for every IT department

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is being used by our IT department to deploy servers and services across our entire organization. The software such a game-changer, it's difficult to state how life-changing the software is. On the simple side of things, our IT Department is able to quickly spin up virtual machines at a moments notice. Additionally, ESXi allows us to add additional server resources at a moment's notice, rather than having to go through the cost and process of purchasing new hardware. ESXi allows us to take backup snapshots of servers in the blink of an eye, providing a safety net, unlike anything a physical server can typically do.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
Stefan Semo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Leveraging computing, storage and memory resources to the max with VMware ESXi

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization makes extensive use of a datacenter and has virtualized hundreds of Windows servers on bare metal hardware. These servers work to process logins, provide access to our student information and registration data, hold and manage email, provide shared drives for file exchanges, websites for access by our schools and parents, etc.
Read Stefan Semo's full review
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

VMware ESXi is the top virtualization solution available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ESXi is utilized to host our entire server infrastructure, as well as our virtual desktop environment. It allows us to perform hardware maintenance and upgrades with zero downtime. We are also able to replicate our infrastructure to our secondary DR location without the need to have identical hardware available and maintain a very low RTO.
Read Ben Moore's full review
Kyle Reyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

ESXi, a great product in the right environments!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At present we are utilizing VMware ESXi across the entire organization. We are utilizing this for our entire Production & Development Windows environment, as well as some Linux implementation. There are also various VM appliances in place via VMware ESXi service various functions within the organization. ESXi allows us a dynamic & "easy" way to manage our infrastructure environment.
Read Kyle Reyes's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Must Needed Hypervisor Solution for all Data Center Administrators

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have implemented VMware ESXi at our primary data center and all of our remote office locations. It is being used across our whole organization and provides a quick and easy way to provision servers as needed. VMware ESXi has consolidated our server footprint from racks of physical servers to only a few VMware ESXi hosts that can support hundreds of virtual servers. Servers can now be provisioned in a matter of minutes rather than days.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Dan Lepinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware gives you flexibility and stability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VMware ESXi across our global organization. It's managed by our System Administrators and leveraged by our DevOps teams to help automate business processes. It gives us flexibility and stability for testing. We have multi-ESXi host clusters for high availability. VMware ESXi has allowed us to virtualize most of our physical server infrastructure which has allowed us to work remotely from our data centers. It removes the need to lifecycle 100's of physical servers in favor of a simple lifecycle of a few VMware ESXi hosts.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware ESXi server save you time and money, now and down the road

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Vmware ESXi is being used company-wide at our business. We decided to use it because we had limited space in our server room but need multiple servers for different purposes. So we virtualized the various servers on one piece of server hardware and were able to keep our hardware use low while getting the number of servers we needed.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Ready to serve your enterprise needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been a VMware ESXi shop for well over a decade. We use it across the whole enterprise to run 99% of our environment. There are exceptions where we do run physical servers and/or appliances outside of our virtual environment. By using ESXi, we have been able to stretch the resource requirements for applications across fewer physical hardware points. We have also been able to leverage features and functions like High-Availability and Replication due to using ESXi. It has also made the administration of our environment much easier and centralized.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Eric Wyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

ESXi: Great for small and large businesses. Medium businesses, don't rush your decision.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use ESXi to run administrative virtual appliances that are not currently supported by our primary hyper-converged hypervisor. This setup includes three virtual appliances, vCenter to manage two host machines located in two physical locations. The second host is a replication target for the primary host to assure business continuity in a disaster recovery event.
Read Eric Wyman's full review
Rodney Barnhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

VMware ESXi is a Solid Product for the Enterprise Infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is the product that hosts the majority of our virtual server environment. There are several environments set up at several different locations. Managing the environments is easy through the use of vCenter. Having the ability to quickly adjust the needed resources of each virtual machine, provides us the ability to address performance problems as they arise. It does not matter if the system needs an increase in memory, CPU, or disk space, the changes or new resources can be added in a matter of minutes.
Read Rodney Barnhardt's full review
Shawn Karr | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

VMware ESXi in the Eyes of An Administrator and End-User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been administering VMware ESXi since version 2.0. It has evolved over the years to be a very robust hypervisor that in my opinion is the best on the market. Our company is running VMware both in production and in the test. We have 150-200 virtual machines. ESXi helps our IT department to easily spin up servers and meet the demands of the company as well as its executives. Without VMware, we would not be as efficient and quite honestly may even fail on the delivery of projects.
Read Shawn Karr's full review
Michael Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

VMware ESXi, still the market leader for a reason.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is the hypervisor OS of choice for our organization. We use it to host virtualized servers and appliances and improve the efficiency of the consumption of our hardware. By virtualizing your environment you are able to get the most out of your investment in physical compute resources. VMWare can be run from as small as a single host all they way up to a multi-site cloud configuration. It is a fit for any size environment and various IT budgets.
Read Michael Ward's full review
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Esxi for Cloud Service Provider

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a Cloud Service Provider for us it's fundamental to have a reliable tool to provide our services, in this case, ESXi is the most significant tool cause it allows us to handle the very large and complex multi-tenant environment.

A hypervisor has a very small footprint and runs perfectly from hard drives, SAN, SSD or BOSS cards.

The VMware support for this is great.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Fantastic Virtualization Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire environment is running on ESXi, including a DR site. Having all the servers be virtual allows for flexibility in resource allocation and overall ease of management. This also reduces maintenance downtime, as VMs can be migrated using vMotion without any downtime. Because everything is virtual, DR scenarios are also very easy to perform.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Tyler Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Best Hypervisor for on prem workloads

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VMware ESXi to run on on prem compute workloads. We use VMware across the board on our on prem footprint. VMware helps us keep our servers running dense and enables ease of server deployment, backup, recovery, and migrations. This keeps the business up and running with minimal downtime thanks to all the virtualization features.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

VMware ESXi delivers enterprise class virtualization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

VMware ESXi is our enterprise virtualization platform. All of our Tier 1 applications along with our non-prod environments run on ESXi and have been for many years. ESXi & vSphere have provided Vizient with a stable hypervisor platform that allows flexibility and scalability in our growing business.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

VMware ESXi Tops All Hypervisors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ESXi extensively across our entire enterprise. We first deployed it as a server consolidation project, but now it's a critical business function tying two data centers together in separate cities for high availability and disaster recovery.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Easy to scale with excellent community support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used VMware to support almost all of our workload and critical servers. Almost all of our infrastructure is virtual and running on VMware ESXi. We used VMware to take optimize the physical resources and take advantage of the fast deploy of servers over virtual infrastructure. The time it took to deploy a server went from days and hours to mere minutes.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (81)
8.9
Management console (91)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (79)
8.8
Live virtual machine migration (83)
9.4
Hypervisor-level security (81)
8.9

About VMware ESXi

VMware ESXi is a popular hypervisor, from VMware.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware ESXi Integrations

VMware ESXi Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No