VMware ESXi Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
572 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 91)

Tim Enders | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

VMWare ESXi is still the king of Hypervisors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Virtualization - it allows you to take full advantage of your hardware investments
  • Flexibility - it allows you to run services across disparate hardware types
  • Scalability - it allows you to expand and deploy new services rapidly
  • Complexity - if you're not familiar with the product there is a learning curve.
  • It does require other licensed VMWare products (vCenter Server, etc.) for full functionality.
Read Tim Enders's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

ESXi is the best in class hypervisor and VM platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • vMotion: the ability to move a VM from one place to another, even on disparate storage, works flawlessly and allows us to be agile and maintain performance.
  • PowerCli includes a robust set of PowerShell commands to be able to automate just about anything.
  • Integration with other products and vendors is sometimes complex.
  • Getting the right permissions configurations to allow certain actions is difficult.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

VMware ESXi for K12 Schools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Hugely reduces our need for physical hardware. Our four hosts handle over 130 virtual servers without any problems.
  • It is stable. I have not had an ESXi server crash in years, nor do I really ever have to reboot them for problems. They just run smoothly.
  • The HTML5 web interface has taken a while to be brought to parity with the old thick client, and a few features are sometimes tricky to find.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
Karen Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Well worth the investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VMware is not buggy. In IT we have to work around so many things for products to work the way we expect, or the way we want. I have not had to work around things with ESXi. It works as advertised.
  • Sever uptime. Even with hardware failures, and system bugs, VMware keeps our systems up. ESXi has been reliable. I never even think about the OS failing or having issues. That is one less thing to worry about.
  • Server deployment. We can deploy a new server in minutes. Some servers come preconfigured with OVF files where we just tell VMWare to set up a new server and point to the config file and tada there is a new server. We can create templates, where the OS and updates are already installed and we just create a new server from the template in minutes. I actually prefer creating one from scratch, and it only takes a few minutes to choose the hardware and start the OS installation. The longest part is installing the OS. It takes forever at my company to approve spending any money. With VMWare, I can set up new servers without any cost so there is no delay. When I want a server, I set it up. I don't have to wait over a month to design, get approval to order, wait for delivery, then set up the hardware, etc. It is fantastic, and such a time saver.
  • VMWare's Compatibility Guide on-line is excellent. It is very detailed and easy to discover if there will be any hardware issues. When adding or replacing hosts, this is a must-visit site. It has answered every question I've had without having to call support or talk to anyone to analyze if this hardware will match that one. It is a user-friendly site that gives you all the information you need. It has given me a starting point for buying new servers when my company changed its standard on server hardware. I would not have known where to start in configuring a new host, but this site told me what was compatible with what I had and it became an easy task.
  • The new interface for accessing the hosts directly doesn't work well with all browsers. We have restrictions at my company. We use Edge or IE. I had a lot of trouble uploading a file to the datastore because Edge and IE wouldn't play nice. The problem is probably mostly on MS's side, but it would be nice if it could work better with all browsers.
Read Karen Thompson's full review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

ESXi will save your employees time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It manages physical systems and resources.
  • It has a minimal footprint on hosts -- hundreds of megabytes, and very efficient code.
  • I have been using ESX since version 3.5 -- they have regular improvements, so while there has been "missing functionality," I have used it when it was very basic, and they keep adding features that have improved it.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Stefan Semo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Leveraging computing, storage and memory resources to the max with VMware ESXi

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very efficient on bare hardware
  • Installs a very small hypervisor footprint
  • The web management interface utilizing HTML 5 is still not fully mature.
  • Could use the ability to clone a host configuration in case the bootable media fails.
Read Stefan Semo's full review
Kyle Reyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

ESXi, a great product in the right environments!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Implementation of ESXi is extremely straightforward given the correct experience
  • The HA capabilities of ESXi are extremely hard to beat when compared to other Hypervisor options
  • As much as the upgrade path for newer versions of ESXi has improved, there is still room for improvement in the process
  • A better/easier way of handling some network features would be ideal
Read Kyle Reyes's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Must Needed Hypervisor Solution for all Data Center Administrators

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick and accessible to provision servers as needed. Templates can be configured in VMware ESXi.
  • VMware ESXi host software efficiently manages hardware resources so that a single-host server can support multiple virtual servers without causing resource contention.
  • Understanding Resource groups and resource reservations can be difficult and cause issues if not fully understood.
  • I would like to see better performance monitoring capabilities from the web GUI. The current options can be cumbersome, and many still need to be monitored from the command line.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Dan Lepinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware gives you flexibility and stability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • High availability. Clustered VMware ESXi hosts make it easy to take a host out of production.
  • Storage DRS helps balance virtual disks across the cluster.
  • The Flash and HTML5 web interfaces are missing simple sorting features for some lists.
  • Errors messages can be vague at times, which requires searching the community for answers.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware ESXi server save you time and money, now and down the road

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lets you run multiple virtual servers on one piece of server hardware.
  • Saves you money but minimizing the amount of server hardware you need to buy.
  • VMware ESXi can be hard to update to the newest versions.
  • Hardware compatibility with VMware ESXi can be confusing.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Ready to serve your enterprise needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to use a single server and run multiple virtual machines on it has allowed our enterprise to grow it's technology footprint while keeping cost low and administration functionality more simplified.
  • With features like High Availability in ESXi, we have been able to build out a resilient environment that, when issues occur at a hardware level, we can respond and be up and running more quickly than if a single application server failed.
  • ESXi seems to be written very well, and with years of experience behind them, they tend to be leaders and innovators also. With that, there are still areas that they fall short or could improve upon. One of those is the user interface. Having recently moved to a full HTML5 GUI, some of the interactions are not intuitive or lack in the way that the Flash GUI client would handle the request.
  • The Task area needs work. Being able to filter and configure what Task is running or completed should be more user-configurable. The lack of user control does make it hard when you are troubleshooting.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Eric Wyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

ESXi: Great for small and large businesses. Medium businesses, don't rush your decision.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ESXi is probably more diverse in the operating systems it supports than other offerings.
  • ESXi has a wide range of third party integrations to focus in on your businesses needs.
  • ESXi is very rigid in its manageability.
  • The management interface is not as simplistic as it could be.
Read Eric Wyman's full review
Rodney Barnhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

VMware ESXi is a Solid Product for the Enterprise Infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows quick and easy cloning and customization of new systems.
  • Provides the ability to move or transfer virtual machines between environments.
  • Upgrades could be made easier or more automated.
  • Prefer a thick client back. The web one still seems buggy at times.
Read Rodney Barnhardt's full review
Michael Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

VMware ESXi, still the market leader for a reason.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stability and maturity are key. VMware has been around for a long long time and continue to be a market leader by far.
  • The biggest differentiation versus competitors products are the performance and scalability of the VMFS file system as well as the vast library of integrated offerings in the marketplace.
  • They continue to improve on moving from Flash to HTML 5 based management.
  • I'd like to see more flexibility in how multi-site VCSA redundancy can be deployed.
  • I'd like to see some of the automation and orchestration tools become more affordable for the small to mid-sized business market. vRA/vRO/vCloud..
Read Michael Ward's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Fantastic Virtualization Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Resource management.
  • It's simple, yet offers loads of advanced features and settings if there is a need.
  • vCenter is great to manage multiple ESXi hosts.
  • GPU accelerated graphics are not the easiest to set up.
  • The UI is a bit on the slow side even with the new HTML5 client.
  • Licencing can get very expensive if you're using multi-processor servers and vCenter.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Tyler Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Best Hypervisor for on prem workloads

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This is the best product for on prem virtualization.
  • vMotions both storage and standard help us stay agile and helps us support our applications.
  • VMware can get complicated with all the add-on features.
  • Sometimes its hard to find a starting point between their other solutions.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

VMware ESXi delivers enterprise class virtualization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ESXi is a very stable hypervisor platform.
  • ESXi is relatively easy to use and vmotion between ESXi hosts allows for ease of maintenance and administration as well.
  • ESXi is easy to maintain for security updates and software upgrades as well.
  • ESXi is not cheap. There is definitely a premium to be paid for this software.
  • There are more internal appliances, certificates and overhead to run vSphere and ESXi on the 6.X platform than there as on 5.x
Read Mark McCully's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (81)
8.9
Management console (91)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (79)
8.8
Live virtual machine migration (83)
9.4
Hypervisor-level security (81)
8.9

About VMware ESXi

VMware ESXi is a popular hypervisor, from VMware.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware ESXi Integrations

VMware ESXi Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No