VMware ESXi Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
572 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Tim Enders | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

VMWare ESXi is still the king of Hypervisors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
VMWare support has always been quite excellent over the years. They are generally prompt to respond, and when they do, their support engineers are knowledgeable and are usually able to resolve our problems quite quickly. On several occasions, they have gone above and beyond to make themselves available in off-hours to assist us.
Read Tim Enders's full review
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

ESXi has been a staple in our data center for a long time.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Just about every time I have used VMWare support they have been very knowledgeable and were able to fix my issue right away. I've only had a couple of times where I had to get my problem escalated to another higher level engineer. At the end of the day, they were always able to fix any problem I had.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

ESXi is the best in class hypervisor and VM platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
On several urgent issues, VMware support has been fast and effective at resolving problems impacting key production services. Their developers are always introducing new features and functionality and making ESXi more and more valuable to their customers. Upgrades have been fairly easy and straightforward, and compatibility with various hardware versions and ESXi versions has been effective.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

VMware ESXi for K12 Schools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
We never really have a problem getting support - they have always responded in the time constraints for the level of service we are paying for. We occasionally get a representative who has an accent thick enough to cause some slight communication difficulties, but we are always able to get the help we need, one way or another.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
Ashley Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

ESXi is the gold standard for business virtualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
There's little negative to say about VMware support. Generally speaking, no working knowledge of ESXi is required when working with a support tech, they can handle resolving almost any request from start to finish as long as you have the ability to log into the web client.
Read Ashley Davis's full review
Karen Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Well worth the investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
VMware has great support. Most of the time when I call, it is an emergency. At the time, when I open a ticket and a technician has to call me back, I think it is just too long of a wait. In reality, it's not that bad. They have always been able to help me resolve my issues, even when it involves a third-party product like backups or the server OS. For me, support is a major factor when choosing a product. VMware support has been great for me, especially in the beginning when I didn't understand everything about the product.
Read Karen Thompson's full review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

ESXi will save your employees time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
We had a case this week with our hosts and storage vendor -- with no prompting, the two began working behind the scenes on troubleshooting the root cause of the issue -- without our asking them to work together. That is rare; most of the time vendors point at the other vendor and say "good luck."
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

VMware ESXi is a must for every IT department

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
On the rare instance that I've had to call into VMware's support, they have gotten down to the bottom of the issue I was having. If you pick any random outsourced IT support department, chances are you will find an expert in VMware ESXi. There are tons of blogs and support sites on the internet that will help you out in case you run into an issue.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
Stefan Semo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Leveraging computing, storage and memory resources to the max with VMware ESXi

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
VMware ESXi support is very responsive in my experience and very knowledgeable. They are willing to remotely access a management system and troubleshoot live, which saves a lot of time. They have great flow-through for cases and a great SLA for response times. Always received outstanding support, and the engineers are very familiar with the product. Finally, escalation to a higher level engineer is very easy and frustration free.
Read Stefan Semo's full review
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

VMware ESXi is the top virtualization solution available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
Over the past few years, this is one area where VMware has started to fall short. VMware used to have top-notch (fast response times, very knowledgeable engineers). Recently, response times have suffered greatly, and first-level support engineers seem to be simply searching and reading the same knowledge-base articles that are publicly available.
Read Ben Moore's full review
Kyle Reyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

ESXi, a great product in the right environments!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
For any situation that has risen wherein I had the need to contact VMWare support, it has always been a great experience. The timeliness in replies, the level of the technicians knowledge, and the communication is without question some of the best in the business. This is by far one of the determining factors in continuing with ESXi, as well as a talking point when recommending to others.
Read Kyle Reyes's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Must Needed Hypervisor Solution for all Data Center Administrators

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
VMware ESXi is a reliable product and does not typically require a lot of support, but if you do VMware ESXi support team is very knowledgeable and quick to respond once a case is open. They will work with you from start to finish and provide detailed explanations of the issue and resolutions.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Dan Lepinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware gives you flexibility and stability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
VMware ESXi is a large organization. You can expect to go through the typical support channels starting from the bottom and working your way up the chain. This can be frustrating at times if you have an annoying issue you'd like solved. However, if your environment is complete down, they can be relatively quick to respond and resolve the issue.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware ESXi server save you time and money, now and down the road

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The user base for VMware ESXi is the biggest of all the virtualization platforms out there. So if you ever have an issue, you can always find someone else with your same problem in the forums on VMware's website and lots of solutions posted by other VMware ESXi users who have dealt with the same problems that you are dealing with. I have always been able to find an appropriate answer to my question on the VMware ESXi forums.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Ready to serve your enterprise needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We have had nothing but great experiences with VMware support when it comes to ESXi. They have been quick to respond, knowledgeable about the issues we have been presented with, and also have been able to find solutions to other vendors' issues before the actual vendor. We have used support to help with projects to make sure we are doing the process correctly, and also that it is the right thing to do.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Eric Wyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

ESXi: Great for small and large businesses. Medium businesses, don't rush your decision.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
With the exception of language barrier challenges, ESXi support is fantastic. The techs are extremely knowledgeable and courteous, to the point and can address most issues very quickly once you get them on the line. It is a bit of a challenge to get support initially. Waiting to get help when your environment is crippled or non-operational can be fairly stressful.
Read Eric Wyman's full review
Rodney Barnhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

VMware ESXi is a Solid Product for the Enterprise Infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
While customer support is good, there can be a longer wait time to get a response from support than I like. This does seem to be improving over the past year or so. I have not had to contact support in the last 6 months, so it may be even better now. However, in the past, it may be a day or more before I would get contacted. Even then, they may email or call after I had left the office. O one ticket I made a note that if I did not answer my desk, call my mobile number. However, they just left a message on my desk VM and never tried my mobile number.
Read Rodney Barnhardt's full review
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Esxi for Cloud Service Provider

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
VMware’s ESXi support is the best of all of its products, they have a lot of experience and well documented, they have support staff at any language at your time frame, when the use the follow the sun they lose all of his power, they only speak English and the experiences is less.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Fantastic Virtualization Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The support is generally great. However, their engineers are very specialized, so if the issue requires involvement from multiple teams, the case might end up being passed along from team to team without faster resolution. An example of this would be if support is engaged with the ESXi team, but the issue is determined to be network related, they will engage the networking team who will start troubleshooting from scratch. But if the issue resides in a single department, then their knowledgeable engineers usually resolve it rather quickly. Overall, ESXi has one of the better support programs than other IT vendors.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (81)
8.9
Management console (91)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (79)
8.8
Live virtual machine migration (83)
9.4
Hypervisor-level security (81)
8.9

About VMware ESXi

VMware ESXi is a popular hypervisor, from VMware.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware ESXi Integrations

VMware ESXi Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No