TrustRadius
VMware Horizon is desktop virtualization software, from VMware.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/YZ/ZY/B0EBLRNBCT09.pngExcellent tool for server access, especially for accessing files on local machineIn the lab, we use VMWare to access various software provided by the university but which we can't or don't want to install on the machines in the lab. Most commonly, we use VMware Horizon to access statistical analysis software, especially IBM SPSS. We use VMware Horizon to access software from on campus and off-campus (in conjunction with a VPN).,The ability to access local files is an excellent feature. The ability to preserve the state of logged-in users is also nice. In my experience, this is about as close as one can get to using Microsoft Remote Desktop.,The interface isn't always super straightforward and newer or less proficient users may need some detailed help getting it set up.,9,This makes it easy for us to access costly software from off-campus. Although I'm not sure about the administrative or implementation side of this software, there are no negatives for those of us who use software such as SPSS and want to be able to use it on our own machines, and off-site.,Chrome Remote Desktop, Remote Desktop Services and TeamViewer,Brightspace, Chrome Remote Desktop, Google Drive, IBM SPSS, Joomla!, OneDrive, Remote Desktop Services, Cisco Umbrella, Qualtrics, Slack, TeamViewer, ZoomAmazing product with easy setupIt is used at the moment to virtualize software and deliver to end users personal machines in a way that could not be done before. In the past users would need specific computers, maybe stronger hardware depending on software solution, and users would constantly need to switch their between personal and work machines in order to complete anything. This could be frustrating; what Horizon does is give access to everything you need in simpler way. On the other hand it simplifies work from the IT prospective, where in the past we had to update/upgrade each machine; here we upgrade the base and push to all users in few steps. It is great time saver.,Easy to use and setup Very robust set of features from end user and administrative perspective It solves many problems that Microsoft RDS cannot address Provides better support and performance when it comes to GPU intensive software solutions It can integrate with our ERP system in order to simplify user management and automate process,Move away from Adobe Flash version in UI, currently on the path but they need to hurry up Speed up the boot process of the environment when servers need maintenance Provide clear steps on what should be upgrade path in terms of components, the order price! A bit too much,10,ROI is good, but from calculations it takes time, you won't see benefits in a first year or two It will allow us to provide access to software on personal machines where it was not possible before It is hard hunting applications that are allowed to be virtualized,Virtual Success!!!!We are currently using VMWare Horizon View for approximately 200+ users in multiple departments. This has allowed us to control relevant content for the different departments and tailor their IT experience. It also allows us to manage the systems with less IT involvement/support and allows us to focus on other areas. Content delivery has been a snap since we moved to Horizon View and when system issues arise it is easy to get them back on track quickly.,It allows us to do more with less in creating an environment tailored for each department. The amount of technical knowledge needed to run and support from infrastructure means more focus can go to other areas. More personnel can easily be involved in support. Systems issues, windows problems, drivers etc, can all be easily addressed through the management console to keep end users up and running.,Some of the proprietary application delivery could be a bit better. Some additional single points of failure to consider. Roaming profile issues on a particular server can cause issues.,10,Keeping support costs lower has allowed us to spend more in greater need areas. Less time in troubleshooting individual hardware/software issues makes us more efficient. Network infrastructure needs to have adequate bandwidth and be well configured to minimize VDI issues that can arise.,Citrix Essentials,Citrix Essentials, Palo Alto Networks Traps, Forcepoint Web Security Suite, Mimecast Enterprise Information Archiving,Yes,10,When upgrading to a higher version of the software we encountered some issues that caused us to have to bring systems down. This was due to our fault, but VMWare not only got us up and running quickly they educated out IT staff as to better procedures. The knowledge transfer to make us more informed gave us the confidence that we had a product we could trust.VMware Horizon is OK if you have the resourcesWe use VMWare Horizon throughout our organization. It's used primarily for remote access purposes. This allows our users access to email, file shares, and certain applications on the go.,Secure. Doesn't allow copy and paste if configured. Allows for 2FA. Flexible. Allows you if you have the resources to setup different images for people. Seamless experience for users.,Setup can be cumbersome. Thin apps are hit or miss. Depends on licensing for the application. Administration site is based in Flash. Terrible and laggy.,7,Allows for remote access to files and applications Able to use this in a pinch if someone has a failed machine. Need to have a decent Internet connection otherwise, the connection to the VMS can be laggy.,Citrix EssentialsVMware Horizon View ReviewVMware Horizon View is being used by every employee in our operations department. We have also deployed it for parts of sales and product teams. It is used as a primary desktop for many users and as a remote desktop for other users. The product provides us with the ability to provide users that want the same desktop experience and applications when they move across all of our datacenter locations and offices.,Renders graphics using PCOIP and Blast protocols with great graphic quality. Provides users a persistent desktop experience without the need for persistent desktops using their linked clone or just in time technologies. User Environment Manager allows us to control registry values and other user and application specific needs that couldn't easily be done on a non persistent desktop before. App Volumes gives us the ability to virtualize the applications and then deliver then using GPO to our end users based upon location and permissions. It also give us the ability to only update a single copy of the application and push it live to our employees.,Monitoring of end user session details has been lacking in the product since its beginning. They are starting to work on modules to help this aspect but they are immature and slow to develop. Troubleshooting issues to the PCOIP protocol are not easy and usually require VMware assistance. Better logging and analysis of errors though the VMware admin utility would be beneficial. Many users when switched permanently to a Virtual Desktop have a predisposed feeling that they are going to have a slow and laggy experience. This is an issue from previous revisions or bad deployments, but once someones mind has been made up it is hard to sway them back into giving a technology another shot.,9,Has allowed users to use BYOD devices without sacrificing security into our network resources. Has simplified PC and OS life cycle upgrade processes greatly. Has provided the business a way to more accurately track assets, applications, and capacity.,Citrix User Profile Management, Citrix AppDNA, Citrix Essentials and ProfileUnity,Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, HP 3PAR StoreServ Flash Storage, Dell EMC Unity, Citrix NetScaler, Fortinet FortiGate, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager
Unspecified
VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View)
53 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

VMware Horizon Reviews

VMware Horizon
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 52 vetted VMware Horizon reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ho'omana Nathan Horton profile photo
November 16, 2018

VMware Horizon Review: "Excellent tool for server access, especially for accessing files on local machine"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the lab, we use VMWare to access various software provided by the university but which we can't or don't want to install on the machines in the lab. Most commonly, we use VMware Horizon to access statistical analysis software, especially IBM SPSS. We use VMware Horizon to access software from on campus and off-campus (in conjunction with a VPN).
  • The ability to access local files is an excellent feature.
  • The ability to preserve the state of logged-in users is also nice.
  • In my experience, this is about as close as one can get to using Microsoft Remote Desktop.
  • The interface isn't always super straightforward and newer or less proficient users may need some detailed help getting it set up.
In a situation like ours, where one hosts a server with software and wants to grant access (but not licenses) to others, this is a great solution. It's particularly nice in situations where the users may want to easily work with files on their local machines. It's also a little better in some cases than Microsoft's Remote Desktop because you don't have to worry about giving AD access to certain people. It can be a little clunky, so whenever you use it, it's probably best to give detailed walkthroughs, especially for less proficient computer users.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
No photo available
December 04, 2018

VMware Horizon Review: "Amazing product with easy setup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used at the moment to virtualize software and deliver to end users personal machines in a way that could not be done before. In the past users would need specific computers, maybe stronger hardware depending on software solution, and users would constantly need to switch their between personal and work machines in order to complete anything. This could be frustrating; what Horizon does is give access to everything you need in simpler way. On the other hand it simplifies work from the IT prospective, where in the past we had to update/upgrade each machine; here we upgrade the base and push to all users in few steps. It is great time saver.
  • Easy to use and setup
  • Very robust set of features from end user and administrative perspective
  • It solves many problems that Microsoft RDS cannot address
  • Provides better support and performance when it comes to GPU intensive software solutions
  • It can integrate with our ERP system in order to simplify user management and automate process
  • Move away from Adobe Flash version in UI, currently on the path but they need to hurry up
  • Speed up the boot process of the environment when servers need maintenance
  • Provide clear steps on what should be upgrade path in terms of components, the order
  • price! A bit too much
It is great for universities and the large corporate world, as it has a lot of control while giving users access on their own machines (BYOD), but the small business would not benefit as the solution is pricey, and if you have small number of users, like 30-50, it would cost you more than getting 50 PCs, server, support, license...
Read this authenticated review
Eric Krueger profile photo
June 06, 2018

VMware Horizon Review: "Virtual Success!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using VMWare Horizon View for approximately 200+ users in multiple departments. This has allowed us to control relevant content for the different departments and tailor their IT experience. It also allows us to manage the systems with less IT involvement/support and allows us to focus on other areas. Content delivery has been a snap since we moved to Horizon View and when system issues arise it is easy to get them back on track quickly.
  • It allows us to do more with less in creating an environment tailored for each department.
  • The amount of technical knowledge needed to run and support from infrastructure means more focus can go to other areas. More personnel can easily be involved in support.
  • Systems issues, windows problems, drivers etc, can all be easily addressed through the management console to keep end users up and running.
  • Some of the proprietary application delivery could be a bit better.
  • Some additional single points of failure to consider.
  • Roaming profile issues on a particular server can cause issues.
VMWare Horizon View works great in both an SMB or enterprise setting when configured correctly. From a support standpoint and cost savings it can make an IT department more efficient as well as increase productivity. That being said it needs to be set up well and network infrastructure needs to be taken into account for the number of users running a VDI system.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
Chris John profile photo
February 12, 2018

Review: "VMware Horizon is OK if you have the resources"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMWare Horizon throughout our organization. It's used primarily for remote access purposes. This allows our users access to email, file shares, and certain applications on the go.
  • Secure. Doesn't allow copy and paste if configured. Allows for 2FA.
  • Flexible. Allows you if you have the resources to setup different images for people.
  • Seamless experience for users.
  • Setup can be cumbersome.
  • Thin apps are hit or miss. Depends on licensing for the application.
  • Administration site is based in Flash. Terrible and laggy.
Suited for an environment that has the resources capable of standing up a full horizon environment. Can be pretty intense setup.
Read Chris John's full review
Brad Daugherty profile photo
February 09, 2018

"VMware Horizon View Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware Horizon View is being used by every employee in our operations department. We have also deployed it for parts of sales and product teams. It is used as a primary desktop for many users and as a remote desktop for other users. The product provides us with the ability to provide users that want the same desktop experience and applications when they move across all of our datacenter locations and offices.
  • Renders graphics using PCOIP and Blast protocols with great graphic quality.
  • Provides users a persistent desktop experience without the need for persistent desktops using their linked clone or just in time technologies.
  • User Environment Manager allows us to control registry values and other user and application specific needs that couldn't easily be done on a non persistent desktop before.
  • App Volumes gives us the ability to virtualize the applications and then deliver then using GPO to our end users based upon location and permissions. It also give us the ability to only update a single copy of the application and push it live to our employees.
  • Monitoring of end user session details has been lacking in the product since its beginning. They are starting to work on modules to help this aspect but they are immature and slow to develop.
  • Troubleshooting issues to the PCOIP protocol are not easy and usually require VMware assistance. Better logging and analysis of errors though the VMware admin utility would be beneficial.
  • Many users when switched permanently to a Virtual Desktop have a predisposed feeling that they are going to have a slow and laggy experience. This is an issue from previous revisions or bad deployments, but once someones mind has been made up it is hard to sway them back into giving a technology another shot.
  • Simple to install and manage the product.
  • Provides users with a great BYOD option to be able to use the desktop that they would like anywhere and on any device.
  • Great performance.
  • Can reduced overall costs after initial investment in the product and phase out of PC lifecycle.
  • Can reduce support tickets and calls if implemented properly.
Read Brad Daugherty's full review
Isaac Beyda profile photo
February 09, 2018

"Isaac's Review of VMware Horizon View"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware Horizon View is being used by the administrative department because they have virtual desktops. In addition to that, many of our clients use it because they have virtual desktops as well. It addresses all problems relating to having hardware failures, crashes, etc.
  • Management
  • Configuration
  • Console
  • User Interface
  • Connection
  • Support
  • Easier Access
  • Mobile Access
  • Better Access
It is well suited for an organization with virtual servers or virtual desktops even a mix of virtual and physical servers is OK.
Read Isaac Beyda's full review
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
September 14, 2017

VMware Horizon Review: "Best of breed VDI. There are none better."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is extremely VDI-heavy. We have nearly 400 employees. Most users (80%+) rely solely on VDI for access, with 50 or fewer users relying on local access on desktops or laptops. VMWare Horizon makes VDI very easy. The Horizon agent works much better than web access overall, and provides a very fast, reliable VDI connection. The versatility of being able to connect via VMWare Blast or PCoIP is also a great feature if users have trouble with one protocol at home or remotely.
  • Easy to use. It is very easy to access Virtual Desktops from VMWare Horizon View. Performance is great, and using the program is practically the same across multiple platforms.
  • Multiple platforms. VMWare Horizon View is available on Windows, OS X, Linux, Android, and iOS, amongst others. The user experience is very similar across these various platforms. This is crucially important, especially for unplanned access to VDI when a full fledged Windows/OS X machine isn't available.
  • Great performance - Even without especially robust internet connections, the VDI performance is typically very good. I've accessed it at work, in coffee shops, tethered to my phone, and at home. I can almost always get a usable connection regardless of the connection I am using.
  • Peripheral access - The peripheral access in VMWare Horizon Client is great! It isn't limited to simple keyboard and mouse access, which certainly does work seemlessly, but also allows multimedia peripherals. We actually have webcams attached to all of our thin and zero clients, and they are perfectly usable from inside VDI, be it in Skype for Business, WebEx, etc.
  • USB throughput - USB storage throughput over Horizon isn't great. It definitely needs some tweaking in that regard. It is acceptable for small file transfer from flash drives and the like, but far too slow for large file transfers.
  • More connection quality options - There are very limited options for adjusting the connection quality from the Horizon Client. These would be helpful especially when dealing with very low speed connections.
  • Resolve minor memory leak issues - The application does sometimes leak memory in Windows 10, causing it to consume more resources than it should.
VMWare Horizon View is really good for companies that invest in the VMWare Horizon environment. This is a fairly substantial investment since you have to have ESXi licenses and VMWare Horizon Server licenses, to have a functional VMWare Horizon environment. It's a fairly big upfront investment, so for very small companies with limited IT budgets, it may be a pretty tall order.

For an organization our size, we have benefited tremendously from using VMWare Horizon for VDI. It saves us quite a bit of money as we expand since we only really need to expand our ESX licensing to accommodate new ESX hosts or adding Horizon Connection/Security servers.

Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
Adam Borecki profile photo
October 12, 2016

Review: "VMware Horizon View - PCs of the Future!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

VMware Horizon View is being used for our employees to access their desktops. Half of our company is working off of VMware Horizon View.

This addresses the need for PCs to be deployed and accessed all over the company. We are no longer purchasing physical desktops for our users as everyone is now getting a Wyse P25 device as well as a virtual desktop. The Virtual Desktops are allowing our users access no matter where they are sitting. Huge help for IT as we do not have to move big desktops around anymore.

VMware Horizon View has allowed us to manage our PCs more efficiently and effectively. Users are organized into different groups called "Pools" and we can make sure that their desktops are running all the time or shut them down when they aren't being used.

  • Ability to set up new desktops quickly.
  • Faster boot times for PCs.
  • Virtual machines can grow in space and other resources as long as the ESXi Hosts have the resources.
  • Ability to create different types of desktop groups called pools and organize the different departments.
  • Floating Pools need a bit more configuration to get working properly.
  • Persona management for Floating Pools can be hit and miss depending on how big the users files are.
  • Need to have View Composer set up on a different server in order for it to be recognized.
  • VMware Horizon View has limited customizations.

VMware Horizon View is not appropriate for small deployments. I would not recommend it for anything less than 10 users. Users with big profiles may want to use dedicated desktops instead of non-dedicated desktops as it will help with loading times.

VMware Horizon View is greatly suited for more than 20 PCs that need to be deployed. VMs can be created from a template and built within 5 minutes. Pools can be used to organize your departments as well as meeting rooms. If setting up a floating pool all you need to do is create one master VM and all the others are linked to it. This allows you to only have to update one VM for updates and software. Everything is then pushed to the other linked clones once you refresh the pool.

Read Adam Borecki's full review
Shawn Umansky profile photo
September 06, 2016

"VMware Horizon View 6.2.2 Customer Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMware Horizon View for our VDI environment. It is used across our entire organization by faculty, staff, and students. The primary purpose is to provide easy access to the multitude of course applications that students use in classes. The secondary purpose is to provide employees easy access to network resources from offsite.
  • VMware Horizon View is great for quickly and easily provisioning non-persistent virtual machines with the ability to scale the environment with minimal effort. In our case, we have two non-persistent pools, one for students and one for employees.
  • It enables us to quickly deploy a new pool of virtual machines using a custom image with minimal effort. Sometimes we get last minute requests for a particular application or configuration, and this platform allows us to meet those requests.
  • VMware Horizon View integrates with Unidesk, which is our persistent virtual machine management system. So, we are able to use Unidesk to manage the applications inside of those persistent virtual machines, and still use View to manage the overall pool and associated configuration.
  • The upgrade process from year to year has been time consuming and somewhat arduous. Once we get things stabilized, they seem to work well, but the amount of time that goes into the upgrade process is rather significant.
It is a great solution for deploying and managing virtual desktop environments. The challenge is that it has a number of moving parts (i.e., security servers, external connection broker servers, internal connection broker servers, etc.) and when something goes wrong, troubleshooting can be difficult.
Read Shawn Umansky's full review
Kristofer French profile photo
April 18, 2016

Review: "VMware Horizon View - VDI on the Horizon"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used primarily in our callcenters. However we do have multiple active use cases across departments and physical locations. This has primarily allowed us to provide 'just-in-time' access to users without significant repetitive labor on the part of our team. It has also alleviated concerns with high risk users that may be prone to vulnerabilities. Their systems are recycled upon logoff, providing a clean slate on their next session.
  • Fast resolution to high volume user access demands.
  • Allows for rapid deployment of updates or updated desktops and new applications without user downtime, repetitive action, or physical access.
  • Dynamic options, allowing to cater needs to the user, role, or company expectations. This includes OS, application access avenues, and user management of resources.
  • VSAN -- This experience is from a pre-Horizon 7 deployment. While we have had redundancy issues in our deployment, the concerns we experience are said to be resolved in the latest VSAN release.
  • Persona Management can be troublesome, leading to mismatches in user data against the server. This requires manual interaction to resolve if a network or user error led to the two falling out of sync. The risk in this is user data loss. Again, new developments in user management is said to resolve these concerns in Horizon 7.
  • Security Servers and off-site access to VMware Horizon View has been difficult due to the problematic deployment scenario (a server inside the network with several external hooks). This is said to be resolved with the advent of EUC in Horizon 7. I'm excited to begin testing on this solution as feedback elsewhere has been positive.
VMware Horizon View is well suited for large companies with a wide and diverse user base. We've successfully used Horizon desktops with callcenter representatives, accountants, and even engineers that required high-performance graphics to perform their work (Ex: AutoCAD).

Aside from cost, I can see little negatives to the use of VDI. Demand on support and engineering staff is reduced, user concerns are more-quickly addressable, and hardware aging is less of a concern.
Read Kristofer French's full review
O'Brien Merrill, PMP, VCP5-DCV/DT profile photo
February 12, 2016

VMware Horizon Review: "Horizon View 6.1 a solid solution and getting better"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within cloud services, we use VMware Horizon View to access and manage our customer-facing private cloud solution.

I have recommended, designed and implemented VMware Horizon View for clients in their data centers, allowing them to provide standardized rich virtual desktops (available anywhere) for critical groups within the company (e.g. call center, tech/IT, consultants, management and administrative staff).

In both cases, VMware Horizon View allows access to internal systems and data with the flexibility that users need (time, location, device, application or full desktop) while maintaining the security required by IT (keep data in data center, manage and limit user access to specific systems and data, etc.).
  • Rich User Experience.
  • Flexible delivery of apps and/or desktops from one interface to any device.
  • Ability as a service provider to deliver virtual desktops to customers, while complying with Microsoft licensing agreements.
  • PCoIP performs VERY WELL over challenging network conditions, such as high latency/low bandwidth (India to US connections or Satellite ISP).
  • Maximize and optimize use of resources through Linked Clone technology, storage reclamation and capacity planning/management using vROPS for View.
  • Improved security with use of new Access Point, replacing Windows-based Security Server with a Linux based appliance, reducing the number of ports needing to be opened in the Firewall to allow access.
  • Delivery of Linux Desktops in Tech Preview in Horizon View 6.1, available with some limitations in 6.2
  • USB device support not yet as robust as Citrix in this release
  • Drive redirection for Windows only in Tech Preview in Horizon View 6.1, but seems to work well in 6.2
  • WINDOWS-based Security Server still required for external access in v6.1. Linux-based access point is now available in v6.2, but is not as easy to implement as the Security Server
Service providers who host and manage a customer's Infrastructure and Active Directory will find VMware Horizon View a very useful means to provide virtual desktops and applications to users. Although the remote apps is not yet as feature rich as its Citrix release counterpart, VMware is catching up quickly with each release. It is also excellent for conditions where high latency or rapidly changing network (WAN) conditions exist since PCoIP protocol adapts well to current network conditions.
Read O'Brien Merrill, PMP, VCP5-DCV/DT's full review
Gabriel Duff profile photo
June 03, 2016

Review: "Vmware Horizon View - Versatile Virtual Machine deployments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Vmware Horizon view in order to offer remote agents or offsite workers the option of using thin client units to connect remotely over VPN, we also use it to provide a windows application environment for our Macintosh users. It also has the ability to be used from Tablets and smartphones and pretty much any kind of computer which makes it very useful tool for on the go computing. It also features emulation options for connected USB devices to the host system and responsive rendering even with a high load of clients if configured correctly.
  • Operating system emulation for multiple users across a VPN network or local network with the correct confutation
  • Convince and cost saving for situations that you need to run windows Only applications without buying hardware to do it.
  • Small footprint for installing it on devices and support for encryption for passwords and certificate access.
  • Folder sharing to the host system using folder emulation options would be useful
  • Intensive graphic support using OPEN GL
  • Interface options to make it more integrated into the operating system or to be able to tell a certain type of file to open in the virtual machine your connecting to .
It is more suited for environments where you have a large user population that needs some of the same access to applications in a repetitive pattern. Meaning that most departments use the same type of software so its easy to deploy these specific Builds to most people. It would be harder to configure in environments that need to do graphic our sound editing in windows itself, as the emulated software cannot perform the same as actual hardware drivers for modern editing software.
Read Gabriel Duff's full review
Dan Forlano profile photo
April 08, 2016

VMware Horizon Review: "Replace VPN with View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was requested to come up with a solution for remote users to access our internal web applications. This solution was to replace VPN access. VMware Horizon View is also used for legacy windows XP applications that are still required for end of month finance reports. This solution is used across the entire organization and across the globe.
  • PCoIP is a fantastic protocol that really allow users good access.
  • Recomposing desktop pools is easy, allowing quick changes, updates or patching.
  • Multi platform solution - PC, laptop, MAC, tablets, the client works. Even on my phone (Samsung Note 4). The stylus makes this an option when no other device is available.
  • Logging - event log offers minimal information. It would be great to be able to generate reports for user activity, etc.
In addition to our current use, I see great advantages for call centers. In a disaster scenario, having the ability to continue to operate from remote locations is critical. In a DR recovery scenario, having multiple points of entry into your DR site would also improve your RTO. Production areas where validated systems must be documented and unaltered is also a prime or niche area. To have the ability to patch test and document these systems allows you to meet audit requirements with ease.
Read Dan Forlano's full review
Paul Pettit profile photo
October 19, 2015

"VMware Horizon View - Healthcare Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use VMware Horizon View to help enable our healthcare IT customers to improve end user productivity and user experience. The ability to roam desktops with Horizon View saves a tremendous amount of time for clinical task users, and is met with excitement in nearly every implementation we've done. Most IT organizations are already using VMware vCenter for server virtualization, which eases the VDI implementation over competitive products.
  • Integration with vSphere - Administrators who are already familiar with VMware vSphere are able to quickly grasp the management of Horizon View. Being able to modify master images directly from the vSphere console(s), then simply create a desktop pool based on a snapshot of that master image makes VDI desktop pool creation a breeze.
  • Zero Client Support - Teradici PCOIP zero clients are very mature and are a simple replacement for traditional windows based machines or thin clients when using Horizon View..In our testing we've seen a fairly significant performance improvement with Teradici based zero clients vs Linux or WIndows based Thin Clients.
  • Integration - Horizon View integrates well with the software our customers need like Imprivata OneSIgn, AppSense Desktop Now and line of business and EMR applications.
  • Microsoft Office License Control - Microsoft currently requires that every endpoint device that could potentially connect to a VMware Horizon View desktop with Microsoft Office installed be licensed for Office. This can become very expensive for organizations, and there currently isn't an included solution with Horizon View to address this. We typically use AppSense Application Manager for customers who wish to control Microsoft Office licensing based on endpoint. Microsoft has endorsed Application Manager for license control as it operates at the kernal level.
Traditionally, VMware Horizon View was best suited for task based workers where personalization of the environment wasn't required and a non-persistent desktop was the best value. Recent advances from storage vendors like inexpensive flash arrays, and hybrid RAM cache + shared storage have made high performance persistent desktops more affordable than traditional desktops.

VMWare Horizon View does have a slight learning curve because the delivery model of the desktop will change, so organizations need to be prepared to commit resources, and provide end user education to ensure a successful implementation and best return on technology investment.
Read Paul Pettit's full review
Tim Stockton profile photo
October 16, 2015

"VMware Horizon View REVIEW - 8 out of 10"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware Horizon View is currently being used by the IT staff at the VCCS System Office. It solves the problem of secure remote access without the need for VPN and/or remote desktop. There are also several employees using thin clients as their primary computing device and those users connect to virtual desktops running on the VMware Horizon View platform.
  • Integrates with Active Directory for single sign-on.
  • If you are already familiar with VMware infrastructure products, the installation process is fairly straightforward.
  • Linked clones simplifies management by giving you one place to make changes and the ability to deploy those changes to an entire pool of VMs.
  • Fine tuning needs to take place at the storage level to ensure optimal performance.
  • When using linked clones, you must refresh your master image periodically. The longer the clones run and grow, the more performance will degrade.
  • In order to have the best desktop experience possible, a GPU card needs to be added to each ESX host for video processing/offloading.
It comes down to user workloads. VMware Horizon View is not well suited for video editing or computer aided drafting (without additional graphics hardware). It is ideal for the average office worker as a desktop replacement. It is also viable for IT professionals, since most of the work we do involves a terminal emulation client or web-based administrative GUI interface.
Read Tim Stockton's full review
No photo available
March 03, 2016

Review: "VMware Horizon View - Powerful VDI Solution, Easy to Connect to the Cloud"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMWare Horizon View was used by my whole organization. The beauty of this technology is it allows you to work anywhere in the world with a simple internet connection and the Horizon View client installed on your laptop/workstation. Basically, it is better than a traditional VPN connection but much more security and with higher resolution video and high quality audio.
  • High resolution video and audio.
  • Simple to connect to the Horizon View client with all of your previous last windows/documents opened.
  • Secured using the PCoIP protocol.
  • Very fast and reliable connection as opposed to using a regular desktop over an internet connection.
  • Improving the Mac version of Horizon View as end-users have trouble installing the correct version.
VMware Horizon View is well suited with a small group of remote IT team supporting the whole organization. The technology is very flexible which provides high availability cloud desktops for the user. It is less appropriate for an IT team larger than 10.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 08, 2015

VMware Horizon Review: "vMware View - A Practical Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using this product for all of our offshore employees and contractors as a means for them to get into our infrastructure for their daily work needs. This product addresses one of the main business requirements of having every piece of data in-house. Giving users an option to log in to a VDI desktop and not having to ship laptops all across the globe is a win-win situation.
  • Availability - Desktops are always highly available to users when they need them.
  • Available across multiple devices. PCs, Laptops, iPad, Web or any other tablets. This is a pretty neat option.
  • Easy to Use - Users don't need to learn a whole lot on how to use View Client and connect to their desktops.
  • Harder to maintain linked clones - Certain features have their advantages and their disadvantages, where we save a disk space by using linked clones, its very hard to maintain or move these desktops across your datacenter.
  • Less number of self-service features for users.
  • Not able to share linked clones across multiple users.
I would definitely recommend VMware Horizon.
Read this authenticated review

VMware Horizon Scorecard Summary

About VMware Horizon

VMware Horizon is desktop virtualization software, from VMware.

VMware Horizon Competitors

VMware Horizon Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No