VMware vSAN Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 08, 2021
Chandrakandh Mouleeswaran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSAN is a hyper-converged solution and it is easy to set up and meets various workload requirements with support for all-flash. It is integrated with all VMware products and so it helps to achieve Day0/Day1 operations seamlessly. It scale-out and scale-up very well and would be a good choice for many organizations.
  • VMware runs VSAN certification programs to make sure the OEM sells validated nodes. It helps customers to select appropriate certified ready nodes like Lenovo ThinkAgile VX which comes factory configured and easy to set up.
  • Hyperconverged solutions reduce real estate space and networking costs when compare with shared storage. The host overhead also less.
  • Supports All-Flash (SATA and NVMe SSDs) and Hybrid vSAN with HDD and SSD. So customers can choose cost-effective solutions appropriate to their workloads.
  • Supports different storage policies, RAID and duplication, and compression features and it makes a complete storage solution.
  • vSAN is a single datastore or volume for the whole cluster and it makes less choice to isolate or group virtual machines.
  • Deduplication and compression is applied for the complete vSAN in the cluster and it cannot be done virtual machine level.
vSAN is well suited for many generic workloads and enterprise applications. The customer can easily start with a 2-3 node cluster and then scale out. Also, vSAN has to be considered along with other products such as VMware VCF and Horizon to get a complete solution from VMware and other benefits. vSAN uses FTT=1 and it requires double the amount of storage when RAID1 is used. Also, RAID5/6, deduplication, and compression have additional overhead and the customer has to exercise appropriately. Since HDD and SSD prices are comparable nowadays, vSAN All-Flash can provide seamless performance to many workloads such as VDI, SQL Server. Cloud, etc.
Read Chandrakandh Mouleeswaran's full review
June 24, 2021
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware vSAN is one of our storage tools and we use it for tier 2 storage. It is great in the scalability but not that great for high performance.

It is a great alternative for a homogenous environment with no high IOPS utilisation.

Sadly, it's too expensive.
  • Easy to implement
  • Scalability
  • Easy to manage
  • Support is very slow
  • Expensive
  • More expensive if you need to use advanced features
It dependents on what your needs are. I don't recommend it for high performance. But if you need a reliable easy SAN it's a great idea to use it.
It’s the worst from VMware, the best idea is to send your team to training.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
June 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company's infrastructure is fully built on top of VMware's EXSi/VSphere/NSX/VxRail stack, so VMware vSAN is part of this family. We had the HCI, and VMware vSAN is used to manage the storage pool, provisioned from SSD and HDD. Depending on the different use cases and application requirements, those storages are allocated to the VM instances. The integrated vCenter is being used to monitor and manage VMware vSAN together with other resources, and due to the recent adoption of TKG, new features of VMware vSAN 7 will be also embraced.
  • Combined with vSphere, VMware vSAN enables us to manage computing and storage with a single, integrated platform
  • It simplifies storage management and speeds up VM delivery speed from the infrastructure team to the application team
  • The professional support from VMware is great
  • Allows the hybrid mode of mixing the SSD and HDD, which is more attractive for low-cost projects
  • A new feature of VMware vSAN 7 supports file-based persistent volumes for Kubernetes on VMware vSAN data stores. So for TKG , the application team can dynamically create file shares for their applications and have multiple pods share data more easily
VMware vSAN is suitable for company that wants to provide better storage as service, and of course it is better when used together with all other VMware components to maximize benefits. Companies with legacy server nodes with storage attached can also consider using VMware vSAN to contribute those servers' storage to the virtual machine, instead of buying the new SAN just for capacity expansion.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2020
Dmitry Malafeev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used vSAN to test performance on VMware clusters for our Test/Dev Department. It is handy technology that provides fast and easy access to virtual storage on a VMware farm. Due to the high load of our current SAN for the production environment, we decided to test this possibility and it showed good outcomes.
  • Provide management for computing and storage in one place.
  • Improved business agility.
  • Unify resources under policy based management
  • Improve security for data.
  • License politic from VMware.
  • Hard to meet all hardware compatibility on old servers hardware.
  • Balancing the disk usage in the vSAN cluster is sometimes hard.
vSAN is well suited for small/mid-sized business implementation to reduce the cost for VMware clusters. It is a big savings to the company on SAN storage. Nowadays, most companies are going to cloud so implementation of vSAN or SAN on-premises is not more required.
VMware support is good. Really comfortable to use. Top educated VMware engineers solve any problems in 24x7 access.
Read Dmitry Malafeev's full review
September 14, 2020
Brent Runyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSAN in the College of Life Sciences at BYU. We have two VMware clusters with multiple hosts. vSAN allows us to utilize the storage of each host to create a virtual storage pool for our virtual machines. It has allowed us to eliminate our previous SAN and the administration that came with having a SAN. We no longer need a storage administrator.
  • It is built in vCenter so you don't need to run a virtual controller VM on each host.
  • Very easy to implement, it is just a matter of purchasing licenses and turning it on.
  • Simple to monitor within the vSphere console.
  • I have not found anything about VSAN that needs improvement. It does what it is supposed to do, and is easy to work with.
VMware vSAN is perfect in an environment where you have existing servers with storage and you would like to use them in a VMware environment. Also, for someone looking to build a VMware environment, they could purchase servers with storage and not have to worry about purchasing a separate SAN. vSAN would not be appropriate for someone who already has a SAN.
I have not had the need to call VMware for support on vSAN, but they have always been very responsive and competent when it came to supporting vSphere issues we have had in the past.
Read Brent Runyan's full review
September 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our current license is the standard ( we previously had an advanced license). Managing an increasingly complex storage infrastructure with proper efficiency and costs is not an easy task, but vSAN has proven remarkably helpful in order to do that. In conjunction with vCenter and vSphere, it has reduced our complexity and costs greatly.

Our vSAN deployment is currently being used as the main infrastructure solution. We use vSAN for virtual desktops, cluster management, and data warehouse support. We use an SSD disk and HD per each ESXi, vSAN uses the SSD for the cache and the HD for data storage. What I especially appreciate is the data deduplication and compression and the raid 5 versus erasure coding, since it enables higher consolidation ratios, reducing costs. (Sadly this feature is only enabled starting at advanced licenses). It holds the majority of our production virtual servers, It really helps us to solve multiple problems such as data integrity, system stability, and has improved hyper-convergence for speeds and workloads.
  • Very strong data integrity.
  • The portability of the VMs.
  • Dataflow is great without a lot of tweaking.
  • The in-place encryption is a strong layer of security and it is great for establishing multi-tenancy trust.
  • Ease of use from vCenter.
  • Great data compression, lowering costs.
  • Expensive, but it's worth it since it actually reduces costs (in addition, whichever vSphere licenses you need).
It's not that good performance-wise and sadly the cost on each processor quickly scales up. However, it's great for scalability and data integrity, easy to deploy and configure. If you need more power, buy more nodes. It's great for small data centers but I wouldn't personally use it for big ones. vSAN is a good, yet expensive (because of the cost for each processor will quickly add up), option for hyper-converged storage.

The only thing I disliked is that data deduplication and compression and the raid 5 erasure coding are only for licenses equal or higher than advanced.
Support isn't that great compared to other VMware products and is kinda slow But, I didn't have any issues with it, other than response speed.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using our VMware vSAN across the entire network for the majority of our VM, file, and backups storage at this time. Since all our user file shares live there, technically all our departments are using it too. We had many issues before with a physical SAN, but those are mostly a thing of the past.
  • Fastest SAN solution hands down.
  • Easy to connect hosts to LUNS/Datastores.
  • Great support staff and easy ticket system.
  • More direct integration with backup systems.
  • More user friendly interface.
  • Lower tier options for budget users would be nice.
VMware is widely known for their virtual server prowess and their vSAN implementation is just as good as their other products. It's easy to recommend this product to colleagues as everyone is using a SAN these days. I have already recommended this to others who are in the market for a new SAN or vSAN.
Support is (as always forVMware) top notch and easy to work with. The majority of computer companies are outsourcing their tech staff, and it seems they do as well. But their guys know the product well and are quick to respond to your ticket (if the severity is right!).
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using VMware ESX in a typical dedicated host and dedicated storage model using Dell hosts and Nimble Storage arrays several years ago. We figured out a few years back that a hyper-converged model seemed to make more sense for lower budget SMB users like us. Researching hyper-convergence led us to VMware vSAN. We currently are using vSAN in four datacenters and in several other locations leveraging their vSAN Robo product across our entire organization. vSAN seems to give us more flexibility in upgrades to our environment related to storage, compute, and RAM.
  • We are using VMware vSAN in our primary datacenters using relative in-expensive flash storage drives. This allowed us to really increase our storage performance over dedicated storage at a much lower overall price.
  • By buying ESX hosts that were only partially loaded with drives, we have great flexibility in adding additional capacity without much effort.
  • The volume management versus dedicated storage was greatly simplified. Each ESX cluster acts as one single large volume rather than having lots of carved up volumes all over the place as we did with dedicated storage.
  • Management is integrated directly into the vSphere client rather than having to go elsewhere.
  • We were a fairly early adopter of VMware vSAN and as such experienced several growing pains.
  • We experienced a few bugs that took a few software versions upgrades to go mostly away.
  • The biggest issue we had overall was with host drivers. Even with vSAN ready node compatible hosts, you have to be very careful that the drivers for NIC and RAID controllers are right.
For an SMB, vSAN and other hyper-converged products seem to provide a cost-benefit especially as it relates to future growth and reduced management. VMware vSAN is not, however, a simple-to-understand product. It can be easy to set up and deploy with the proper understanding, but there are serious complexities that need to be understood and mitigated for you to be successful and very happy with its long term care and operation.
VMware as a whole isn't our favorite at providing support. They seem generally hard to get help from and don't seem very responsive. The bright exception to this is a product they have called AppDefense which we've experienced great support around. VMware vSAN, in general, has followed the overall VMware trend. Luckily VMware mostly just works and you don't need a lot of support. vSAN is much the same. The few times we have used support it was generally not great, but ultimately got us passed the issue.
Read this authenticated review
July 04, 2019
Eric Garrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Departmentally for R&D to investigate how our product line interacts within its framework. It solves multiple business problems including data integrity, business continuity for the department, and hyper-convergence for speeds and workloads. We have found that the platform will significantly accelerate workloads with limited issues. We are always seeking solutions that provide optimal data throughput with non-hardware redundancy.
  • Data integrity in an all-flash environment is very strong. Once it is up and running in a "raid 6" type format it will stay running without issues for a long time
  • Data flow. VMs sometimes require a lot of tweaking and tuning to get optimal performance but this is to be expected. We found the performance to be exceptional.
  • Portability of the VMs was also an unexpected surprise. The ability to migrate the VMs across datacenters was appreciated.
  • It would be nice to have fabric-based storage acceptance to disaggregate storage and expand beyond the node concept. The assumption that increased storage needs require increased compute or ram is simply not true.
  • The licensing costs are high but you do get what you pay for.
High IO is excellent, but I was surprised by the performance in high write transactional testing. It performed well above my expectations. It performs well in environments with focused workloads and we recommend that each workload be its own cluster size-dependent of course. Again, assuming the workload needs the performance, you would be hard-pressed to find a better solution if you already have VMware in your environment.
Read Eric Garrison's full review
June 28, 2019
Philip Sellers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSAN is deployed in our branch locations with small vSphere clusters. It allows us to run storage within the same ESXi hosts without an external array required for shared storage. It has allowed us to use the existing drive bays in our ESXi hosts to create a software-defined SAN.
  • Creates a software-defined SAN in a hyper-converged form factor.
  • It's simple to deploy and configure.
  • It integrates into existing vSphere tools and consoles, decreasing the learning curve.
  • It allows us external access to storage with iSCSI connectivity.
  • An expanded HCL could assist with more compatibility, becoming less of a problem as new versions are released.
vSAN works very well in the branch or remote office use case. It is also well suited for smaller data center deployments.
Read Philip Sellers's full review
July 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our vSAN deployment is currently used as the main hyper-converged infrastructure solution at our main headquarters. It houses the bulk of our production virtual servers including a line of business and critical systems. We do not currently use it for SQL due to excessive licensing costs from Microsoft, but that is not VMware's fault. We do not use VDI but do host virtualized applications from it through Citrix presentation servers.
  • I have had zero problems with vSAN storage and don't even think about it on a day-to-day basis.
  • It allows me to throw a bunch of JBODs together and make an enterprise grade SAN out of it.
  • Allows a single pane of glass for managing our virtual infrastructure.
  • Original implementation was not bad, but we ran into some issues that could have been avoided.
  • Calculating disk space is funky and can be misleading.
If you're already a VMware shop, vSAN is a no-brainer, especially if you're looking to upgrade storage already. With the improvements in vSAN 6.7, it's really on par with the best storage solutions out there and can be really cost effective. Depending on your budget you can customize your solution to tailor your own needs whether it's a low-cost hybrid solution or an all-flash with NVMe screamer.
Read this authenticated review

What is VMware vSAN?

VMware's vSAN is hyper-converged infrastructure solution.

VMware vSAN Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is VMware vSAN?

VMware's vSAN is hyper-converged infrastructure solution.

What is VMware vSAN's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses VMware vSAN?

The most common users of VMware vSAN are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.