VNC Connect Reviews

83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

VNC Connect Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote connections in-house work flawlessly.
  • Remote connections offsite work well - dependent on internet connections.
  • Works extremely well with assisting remote presentations - no lag time.
  • Its a pretty straight forward product - I would like to see more tools with a "wow" factor.
  • Panel colors are blah - I would like more eye-catching colors.
  • A more consistent look with all platforms - like Mac & PC.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

VNC Connects You to the World

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VNC Connect does an excellent job in remotely connecting to a computer through either your local area network or even another computer on the internet. As long as the VNC Connect services is installed and the client is running in the background.
  • VNC Connect provides password protection to prevent unauthorized users from attempting to remotely access your computer. There's an option to have a separate password to remotely view vs view & access a computer. You can even add an additional level of security by turning on the feature to require Windows login credentials.
  • VNC Connect provides an additional set of controls after a remote connection has been established with another computer. You can have special keystrokes like Ctrl+Alt+Del sent as a command sequence to the other computer as well as access more than a single screen when in use at the remote computer location.
  • It would be nice for VNC Connect to add a feature to see multiple screens all in a single view. Then you can select which screen to look at to open as a second window. Currently, the multiple screen support only works by increasing the single window size.
  • VNC Connect should provide a feature at the connection window to list a set of computers that it can detect with the agent running. This could be an auto scan feature with a setting where it can be turned on or off. Also, there can be an option to select an IP address range for the scan to occur. Then you can visually see a set of computers to select from to perform a remote access.
  • VNC Connect should add a feature to remotely wake up/turn on computers that have the agent installed. It would be nice to be presented with a window showing a list of previously accessed computers with the agent. Computers that are on and running should have a different kind of icon compared to computers that are turned off. Then you can select the computer that is off and invoke a command to wake it up so you can remotely connect to it.
Read Paul Li's full review
William Waks | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Extremely helpful client support software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visually see their computer screens and the information needed to properly respond to their questions.
  • Transfer files that I might need to work on their financial statements and corporation income tax returns or other reports that they may require. Also to upload files from my computer to update their records.
  • Help train clients to use their own accounting software appropriately while having them see first hand on their screens the use of the software interface and how the data is entered and processed by their software.
  • It would be helpful to have the ability to see multiple screens as opposed to scrolling over to a second screen.
  • There have been times when the client's computer was requiring supervisor authorization to proceed and during this time, my screen was blacked out awaiting the client's computer to get past this authorization. It would be helpful to continue to see the screen and possibly be able to enter the supervisor password remotely.
Read William Waks's full review
Richard Russell | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

VNC Connect - Worth Your Time and Consideration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allow remote connection to pc and servers that are located within our WAN. The connection is stable with fast response (no lag)
  • Allow remote connection to pc and servers that are located outside. The connection is stable with fast response (no lag)
  • It allows chat function with the user, and pasting capability from local desktop and mapped a drive to the remote system.
  • There is nothing I can think of that I really dislike about the product.
Read Richard Russell's full review
Miguel Nuñez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2018

Here you go. If you need to connect quick to a PC in your own LAN, this is the easy way!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick connect, just type the IP or the computer ID name, and that's it, you are connected.
  • Fast response, but you can also adjust the quality of the connection on slower connections.
  • Sharing screen is quite easy.
  • More shortcuts if you are using a connecting tool inside another tool.
  • A more immersive tutorial, if the users do not know how to use it, figuring it out can be hard and frustrating
Read Miguel Nuñez's full review
Nicholas Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2018

RealVNC Allows Remote Access Wherever My Customer Is

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows remote access without the need for a pre-installed agent. Since our company has 4 sites located in Ohio, CA, and TX and outside sales that are always traveling, this means I can provide support right away instead of requiring a coordinated installation of an agent software.
  • Allows connection with users on or off the network. Some of the people that require support often travel and require support wherever they are. VNC makes this available.
  • Easy to use. The simple website and installer make remote support very simple to coordinate.
  • Some support requires the installation of software. This is restricted in our organization to personnel with administrative privileges. VNC is unable to show the prompts that require the entry of credentials. This is a major hold-back.
Read Nicholas Bates's full review
Samuel Dickinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

VNC Connect - A solid, robust VNC service.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great User Interface (UI): Compared to some its competitors, VNC Connect's UI is excellent. It is clean, simple and responsive and yet provides full access to all the required functionality.
  • Security & Encryption: VNC Connect provides password protection to prevent unauthorized users from attempting to remotely access your computer.
  • Easy Team Management: It is extremely quick and simple to add or remove devices to the VNC Connect service.
  • Billing/Licence Model: For some users the per device billing model may not be ideal.
  • Mobile Application: The mobile app can be a little clunky and unintuitive.
Read Samuel Dickinson's full review
Dr. Jim Bidlack | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2018

VNC Connect is GREAT!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VNC Connect can be used with many operating systems.
  • VNC Connect is fast.
  • VNC Connect is secure.
  • VNC Connect could be faster, but still very good.
  • VNC Connect needs to be used at more college campuses.
  • VNC Connect could benefit from more TV advertisement.
Read Dr. Jim Bidlack's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

VNC Got Me out of a Sticky Situation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VNC connections are very easy to understand and use.
  • Ease of operation for less computer savvy staff makes for a good software to deploy on many different levels of PCs and laptops.
  • The cost of VNC is not prohibitive.
  • Some of the confusion of VNC upon installation is you need to be connected to the internet for it to function. This is not the case, but is unclear upon installation.
  • The licensing model is not ideal for locations that do not use the internet and function off of the grid.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2018

Best remote support tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple and easy to deploy and use.
  • I can have the remote users to show me their issue while I am looking at their screen remotely, just like I am sitting in front of them.
  • Simple clean interface that is very easy to pick up and learn.
  • Reliable, fast, and relatively easy to use.
  • Very fast response, it connects to the VNC clients very fast.
  • Push out client update from a central management server.
  • VNC mobile app needs improvements, it crashes all the time.
Read this authenticated review
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2017

RealVNC really is the best of breed for remote machine access

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast, easy remote access - The footprint of VNC Server is very small, and so does not impose any performance or resource impact on the machines we run it on.
  • Robust console-level access - Unlike many remote support programs like LogMeIn or WebEx, VNC gives you console-level access to a machine, enabling you to do anything you can do if you are physically at the machine or logged into VMWare VSphere directly.
  • Low cost - VNC is extremely inexpensive for the level of access it offers, especially coupled with the awesome level of access it gives you.
  • File transfer - It would be nice if the software made transfer files from the viewer machine to the server machine more easily.
  • Modern UI - The UI of RealVNC is somewhat dated, so a refresh would certainly make the product look more modern.
  • Easier remote access - If it were easier to access machines with VNC Server installed when they are outside of your network without some kind of proxy/DMZ server, that would also be great.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
Rob Hamlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Real VNC Connect, Finally a single solution across several OS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to add and remove machines from Connect
  • Very easy to add machines of server OS versions to connect
  • Online portal for management of account is easily accessed with two factor authentication
  • There is nothing I do not love about RealVNC Connect.
Read Rob Hamlin's full review
David Whittaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

An excellent remote access tool.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remotely accessing workstations.
  • It's lightweight and easy to navigate.
  • Mobile access of other workstations allowed both parties to be away from the office and still get the IT support they needed.
  • License requirements may not be ideal for some parties.
  • VNC support hours aren't the best based on the requester's geographical location.
  • Upgrading end users is a little clunky.
Read David Whittaker's full review
Angel Swalve | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2017

VNC, reliable, user friendly, keeps us working quicker and more efficiently.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VNC works wonderfully for remote access for troubleshooting an end user's computer.
  • VNC allows seamless file transfers.
  • Can be used in the classroom to allow students to view what a teacher is doing on their computer.
  • Depending on the strength of the network, VNC does have an issue that it may run slow.
  • Some users have had concerns about security on VNC. If one end user has a virus, then it could cause a transfer, but our district has put in to place additional security procedures to prevent this issue.
  • Clipboard transfers don't always translate properly. It is better to transfer a file instead of copying and pasting between computers while using VNC.
Read Angel Swalve's full review
Scott Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2017

Stable and always working

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • RealVNC is very, very stable. Never dies or turns into a zombie. It just keeps going.
  • I like that updates are rare. I feel that gives a feeling of stability.
  • I like that RealVNC doesn't try to do too much. What it does, it does well.
  • I'm not sure I can think of anything RealVNC could do better. It's a simple program that does what it does very well.
Read Scott Cook's full review
Michael Mei | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2015

Feel like sitting next to the PC without sitting there physically? Try RealVNC.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We can connect to all the channel players.
  • Just like sitting in front of those players.
  • Only problem is that we can't remote to a computer if we are outside the local network, but can so do from home because I can just forward the port from the router. In the campus, it's too much trouble to get that configuration done.
Read Michael Mei's full review
Matt Medley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2015

Simple, Easy to understand review of RealVNC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • RealVNC handles PC authentication very well and generates easy to read and understand error messages if it has difficult connecting to a host.
  • RealVNC handles multiple desktop environments easily.
  • RealVNC makes it easy to switch between connected machines to manage multiple machines within one environment.
  • The only concerns I have about RealVNC in our environment is security.
  • We also have a concern about encryption across PCs that are outside of our HQ.
  • We'd like to see and hear about what RealVNC has planned for the next year.
Read Matt Medley's full review
Kevin Medeiros | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2015

Fantastic and affordable solution for a LAN, falls short elsewhere though

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • RealVNC's compatibility was fantastic. With RealVNC server running on a Windows PC you can connect to it using a number of various other clients, so you were not restricted client side to just one product.
  • RealVNC was stable and had a small memory footprint, unlike many other remote assistance programs.
  • RealVNC was very lightweight and had several options to make it work well on high latency, low throughput connections.
  • RealVNC could definitely come with native encryption built in.
  • RealVNC could use an overhaul with their UI in order to make it more user friendly.
Read Kevin Medeiros's full review
Shon Lindsay | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

14 year tech pro endorses REALVNC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows for security compliance with authenticated session which gives the user comfort that someone is not just logging into their machines anytime they want.
  • It allow's me to manage and prioritize from my desk in a high demand department and extends my capabilities of being everywhere at once while going nowhere.. Working from my desk.
  • You can solve minor or major issues and give the user the comfort of being at there desk on their computer.
  • The only problem I see with real vnc is a user not having it installed. Fortunately, VNC is a part of all company built machines.
  • I'd like the option to be able to view users with double screens involved without the users assistance of dragging items over to one screen.
Read Shon Lindsay's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (20)
9.6
File transfer (8)
7.9
Instant message (12)
7.7
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (4)
8.9
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (9)
7.2
Over-the-Internet remote session (22)
9.1
Initiate remote control from mobile (14)
7.6
Remote management of servers & workstations (6)
4.7
Centralized management dashboard (10)
7.7
Session record (1)
7
Annotations (6)
5.4
Monitoring and Alerts (3)
7.0
Multi-platform remote control (5)
8.0

About VNC Connect

VNC® Connect is a remote access desktop. It enables users to remotely access and control their devices wherever they are in the world, whenever they need to. VNC® Connect covers a wide range of remote access use cases with a single subscription.

VNC Connect Features

Remote Administration Features
Has featureScreen sharing
Has featureFile transfer
Has featureInstant message
Has featureSecure remote access with Smart Card authentication
Has featureAccess to sleeping/powered-off computers
Has featureOver-the-Internet remote session
Has featureInitiate remote control from mobile
Does not have featureRemote management of servers & workstations
Does not have featureRemote Active Directory® management
Has featureCentralized management dashboard
Does not have featureSession record
Has featureAnnotations
Does not have featureMonitoring and Alerts
Has featureMulti-platform remote control

VNC Connect Competitors

LogMeIn Central, TeamViewer, BeyondTrust Remote Support (formerly Bomgar)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Professional$40per remote computer
Enterprise$55per remote computer

VNC Connect Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Live Chat

VNC Connect Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android