Vonage Business Communications Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Andrea Vahoua | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Working well for us!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for any and all business calls. It allows us to pull any calls we make throughout the day. It allows us to pull and use calls for training. It allows us to be mobile with our business phone number taking calls on our laptops and phone. It's all synchronized perfectly.
  • Text messaging.
  • Seamless mobile to desktop transitions.
  • Available add-on apps.
  • CONSTANTLY needing an update almost daily.
  • User interface lags a lot.
  • Connective issues.
While it can be very faulty is does help on a daily basis being able to send a text to candidates straight from our desktops and call them from our phones in the same breath. It doesn't sync with your ATS yet but if it could that would for sure be a game-changer.
Read Andrea Vahoua's full review
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Vonage Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage Business Cloud is being used by most of our organization to help with softphones. It has helped with not being able to book a room that had a hard-line phone in there and now anyone can take a call from their personal device or computer regardless of where they are.
  • Soft phones.
  • Admin console.
  • Spam calls.
I highly recommend Vonage Business Cloud for any office to help with users having softphones and not having to give out the personal number. The only reason why I didn't give it a 10 was because all users got a huge influx of spam calls when we transitioned over. Overall, it has made a huge impact for all users.
Read Johann Davila's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Vonage Enterprise allows us to move!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
About 6 months ago, our company removed all landlines and moved our phone service to VoIP and Vonage Enterprise. Our company has a high percentage of employees who either telecommute or travel for work, and Vonage had more flexibility to allow calls to seamlessly follow our employees regardless of where they are working that day. It helps us meet our clients' needs more quickly.
  • The mobile app is easy to use.
  • Customized settings allow each user to get the most out of the software.
  • There is a slight delay in the audio, which can lead to people talking over each other.
Vonage is particularly well-suited for companies with people on the move. Unlike our former landline and traditional voicemail systems where we only had the ability to forward calls to one pre-determined phone and you had to physically push a button on the phone to activate the call forwarding (which necessitated finding someone in the office if your absence wasn't pre-planned), Vonage Enterprise allows users to make changes on the fly either from their computer or the mobile app and you can add as many phone numbers as you like and have a number of forwarding options.
Read this authenticated review
Elvin Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Why We Use VBC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage Business Cloud is being used by our US Offices. For end users, it gives us multiple options for making calls via phone, app, and/or online portal. For IT's, it gives us great options for supporting users on site. The admin portal allows us to make many changes/implementations without having to contact support.
  • Vonage Business Cloud makes it easy to make changes to user profiles, voicemail passwords, and other settings.
  • It gives users access to their phone whether they are with their physical phone or not.
  • Some international numbers are blocked until you request for them to be allowed.
Vonage Business Cloud is well suited for small and medium size businesses based on ease of use, price, and other factors. It may also be used on a larger scale, but, because of the industry, there may be other organizations that can give the same or more options for a cheaper price. Overall, it appears to be appropriate for businesses of any size.
Read Elvin Thomas's full review
Nate Casimiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Ditch Your Physical Phone Consoles and Never Look Back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization has replaced physical phone consoles for most employees and instead utilizes softphones from our computers. This allows us to accept and make calls as long as we have a built-in or external microphone, and there is also an app that lets us use our personal devices to check phone calls and make calls from our business numbers. Overall, it has been more cost-effective, considering many developers and other staff are not front-facing and sometimes never use a phone at all, yet are still accessible.
  • Eliminates physical phone consoles that can be pricey and unnecessary for staff.
  • Has a companion app that allows you to use your personal cell phone to check messages or make calls.
  • The desktop application is easy to use and has a number of customizable settings so that the app can be minimized but alert you of incoming calls.
  • I don't really have any criticism for this product. For the specific use case, we use it for softphones and it is highly effective and easy to use.
Use it to remove physical phone consoles for anyone who is not client-facing (perhaps even those who are client-facing). If you are like our business, we use web conferencing far more than having regular telephone phone conversations with our clients and customers, so this option packs all of the features with none of the extra cost physical phone consoles require. Not to mention the hassle of reprogramming and updating physical hardware. We never have issues with call quality or uptime either since it's reliant on our internet connection. Older employees might struggle to adapt to the change, but I've almost never heard any complaints.
Read Nate Casimiro's full review
Parker Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Professional, Practical, Clean & Intuitive Design!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is utilized for the phone systems within the office. Everyone has their own phone and a corresponding app on the computers that you can use to organize phone calls as well as conference clouds. It definitely seems to be quite modernized and the app on the computer seemed to be streamlined and intuitive for the most part, although I do find it to be a little bit challenging at times to navigate.
  • Modern Computer Application.
  • Clear audio for calls.
  • Cohesive design.
  • It's a little bit complex
  • It can be confusing at times.
  • It's sometimes hard to find who you're looking for.
It is well suited for phone calls as well as conference calls. It seems to serve its purpose very well. It is very useful in an office and a professional setting, but definitely isn't really important at all, and it doesn't seem to matter at all in a more personal setting. Other than that, it seems to be a great app and excellent contribution to an office environment.
Read Parker Green's full review
Matt Brosseau | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Vonage Business Essentials is Essential to my Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage Business has been implemented across my organization as our VoIP solution. It integrates with several of our other systems and is utilized as our core communication tool. Our team makes use of the DesktopConnect softphone solution, as well as Vonage's Business Essentials mobile app to keep connected while at the office and on the road.
  • Stability & Reliability
  • End-User Support
  • New Service Integration/Third Party APIs
  • Communication of new features
  • Availability of Training
I don't work in an enterprise environment, so I can't speak to Vonage's capabilities there. In a mid-size organization, however, Vonage Business is a magnificent solution for communication. It's flexible and can work on softphones, Polycom devices, and mobile phones so your team can use whatever means of connection they're most comfortable with.
Read Matt Brosseau's full review
Jay Donaldson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Vonage - Big Business Features, Small Business Prices

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage across our organization. We love the ease of setup, the phone systems, ease of use, and ability to handle conferences through Chime.
  • Chime - comes with our account, used to hold online meetings and screen share
  • Stable, consistant connections
  • Able to easily customize settings - personal and business-wide
  • We didn't know our clients can easily use screen share and take over the sharing for quite some time - we actually thought it didn't do it, but finally figured out that it did.
Big business features at small business prices.
Read Jay Donaldson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

No need for extra, unnecessary hardware!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage Business Cloud for their softphone service across the whole organization. Previously we were using voip/Mitel phones which were extremely expensive and quality of support did not reflect the amount we were paying. Vonage softphones doesn't require extra hardware and is easy to set up and use on our mobile devices. Vonage also has great customer support.
  • No need to purchase or set up extra hardware.
  • Convenient and easy to use.
  • User interface is easy for both end users and admins.
  • If wifi or cell service is poor, this affects the quality of calls.
Vonage Business Cloud is great for any business regardless of scale. Our end users find it easy to use and extremely convenient. With the desktop and mobile device application, users can make/receive business calls wherever they are.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Flexible, Expandable and Easy-To-Use Phone Service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Vonage Business Cloud deployed in two of our offices, for remote users, and are looking to add it to our HQ soon. We found our old provider very constricting in what they allowed us to do. We also used Vonage to replace on-prem systems. Moving to Vonage has allowed us to support our remote user base a lot easier than anything else we have used in the past.
  • Easy interface - both on user and admin side.
  • Flexible and easily expandable.
  • Reliable.
  • Relies on internet connectivity (no separate trunk like an on-prem system).
  • Phones can be on the expensive side if you purchase through the Vonage store, especially conference phones. Thankfully Vonage is so flexible and is compatible with phones purchased from other places.
Vonage Business Cloud is extremely strong when it comes to ease of use, as well as its flexibility. It's so easy to use I am confident in just sending a user the account setup email and letting them set it up, and 90% of the time, they get it all set up within minutes. There are tons of add-ons as well that add value to the system. We had a request for our sales team to add the ability to listen into phone calls and within minutes we had a solution deployed, including a required legal warning.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Vonage will free you up to concentrate on more important projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage Business Cloud across the whole organization. Vonage is the right fit for us since we are working from many different locations. Many work out of their home office or remote office. The ability to take Vonage wherever you can get an internet connection is what makes the product so great.

The smartphone apps work very well. Vonage has excellent documentation and customer service as well. Any time I have a problem I can call or chat and they are able to help me right away. Many of my counterparts in the industry feel that Vonage is too expensive but then use services that require administrative overhead, server maintenance and are complicated. Vonage is very easy to deploy.
  • Availability
  • Ease of Administration
  • Plans that fit your needs
  • The extension can only have three devices which is difficult if you work in multiple locations. Your cell phone is one of the three, so you really only get two. I have three office locations that I work out of and it would be nice to have my extension at each.
Vonage Business Cloud is well suited if you have small or limited IT staff and/or you have many remote workers and little or no on-prem hardware. I would recommend Vonage to small to medium-sized businesses. It would not be well suited to a large organization where everyone works in the same building and the IT staff has servers and staff to manage a VoIP system.
Read Brian Duffy's full review
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

The Best VoIP features for the price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage Business Cloud for all of our voice needs in our business. This includes remote staff, as well as our home office and a conference bridge. We also install and support Vonage Business Cloud for several clients. It is especially useful for organizations with a lot of remote staff.
  • Ease of administration: The admin website is extremely easy to use and is constantly updated, without making radical changes that interrupt established workflows.
  • Cost: While there are a host of options that can impact your total cost, the costs for an unlimited extension (usable with a desk phone) or a mobile extension (usable only with the Vonage app) are extremely competitive.
  • Reliability and call quality: As long as you have a reliable internet connection (and for large deployments, well-designed and implemented VLANs), the phone service is excellent.
  • Sales: Sales staff is helpful and responsive. Not too pushy.
  • Support: Documentation is good. The support staff is helpful, but sometimes complex issues don't get elevated to higher tier staff as quickly as they should. Their Porting department is the best I've ever dealt with. They are tenacious in dealing with losing carriers to get your numbers over to Vonage.
  • It's nice that they include Amazon Chime for "free" with extensions, but I wish there was a way to turn it off. It's very confusing for users when they receive a Chime welcome email.
  • For larger deployments, project managers I've dealt with can be simultaneously overbearing and seemingly oblivious to the details of a deployment. I'd assume they are a bit overworked and are juggling too many deployments at once. The good news is that it seems that they are willing to let you take tasks off their plate if you already know what you're doing.
  • Admin website can be slow/error out occasionally. This is usually only an issue when making large volumes of changes. Just adding/changing a single user, extension, etc, is not an issue.
  • The admin website could use a few more export/report settings. Dumping a list of all your phone numbers (not just those assigned to users/extensions), more flexible reports, etc
Vonage Business Cloud is great for small to medium businesses in just about any configuration. If you have a large traditional office, as long as you take the time to consider your network environment and internet connections, Vonage is a great alternative to a traditional PBX. If you have a lot of remote staff, it is dead simple to order service and have Vonage ship a preconfigured phone to staff that they can just plug into their home network. Lastly, for organizations with lots of road warriors, the Vonage app turns their smartphone into a fully functional VOIP phone. I have clients that have 50%+ of staff that travel regularly, and who were thrilled to not have to give out their cell numbers to colleagues and just give out their Vonage DIDs instead, and let colleagues know that they could always reach them at the same number.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Affordable VOIP system for a small business. Easy to use, no downtime, & great customer service.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage Business Cloud throughout our entire organization. Before switching, we used an old PBX system which was hard to program without paying a service tech to come in and charge us an hourly rate. Even just simple things like changing our answering machine greeting were hard since we didn't do it every day. Switching to Vonage was one of the best decisions we ever made. All of our users are now connected in an easy to manage portal and desk phones are a snap to set up.
  • User setup and direct calling number assignment was a snap
  • Easy to add and remove users and program extensions
  • The mobile app is great and functions just like a desk phone
  • Call forwarding to mobile devices and voicemail are all set up very easily by the end user
  • Documentation on router configuration could be a little more complete
  • Not may downsides to Vonage, it is just easy and it always works
If you have a small business and need an affordable VOIP phone system, I would highly recommend Vonage. They make transferring your current business number a very simple process, all done online without the need to take to a CSR. They include the phones for free with a 2 year service agreement which made this a no brainer for us. Very satisfied with our decision 2 years later.
Read this authenticated review
Derek Letellier | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2018

Reliable VoIP that constantly improves and evolves

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage Business is the phone provider for our company's two locations. We use Vonage Business as a VoIP provider for our desk phones for our employees, conference room phones, and virtual phones via their smartphone app for employees who work remotely. Vonage has been a great resource for high-quality calls at affordable rates, and we utilize their ever-growing suite of features.
  • Good audio quality, especially when using our Polycom SoundStation phones
  • Vonage continues to add new products and features all the time and are constantly innovating
  • Ease of setup allows us to place phones anywhere with an Ethernet connection, allowing us to easily add phone service anywhere in our office or even at different locations and remain connected to the same phone system
  • Vonage relies on your existing internet, so you are beholden to your existing internet service provider. They would be improved by having contingencies and backups in the event that a customer's internet service goes down
Vonage Business works great if you have a solid existing internet connection. It's a great way to save on existing landline services (we personally reduced our phone expenses 30 percent per month switching to them). We can rely on Vonage to work correctly in a lot of instances (especially compared to Comcast Business Voice, which had several recent nationwide outages), and there is no loss in sound quality.
Read Derek Letellier's full review
Corey Birkmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Vonage Business phone is a great on the go solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to have a larger workforce, but had recently decided to scale back our workforce & be a lot more lean and mobile, with users in multiple states as opposed to a single office. Having users being able to answer within our phone network from anywhere in the world was very important and this resolved the issue.
  • Softphone avilability
  • Good sound quality
  • Ability to import multiple hold music clips
  • Occasional disconnection
  • Web interface could be improved
  • Lack of physical app on desktop
If you are looking for a solution where you can have users on the go and answer the phone like it's in office, this is a great solution. The option to have your voicemail transcribed into an email is a great add on, and the softphone iOS app offers great integration with the native OS.
Read Corey Birkmann's full review
Rebecca Eide | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

Vonage...it is!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vonage when I am in the Philippines to get in touch and coordinate with our co-workers in the United Stares. It is being used by the whole organization. We never encountered any issues.
  • Well for me it has a best connection and is easy to set-up.
  • 24/7 Support.
  • Employees can always work on the go and by that being said they become efficient and effective.
  • Just improve the dropped calls.
It is well suited if the organizations are all over the world. Like us in the Philippines we we're able to coordinate and do meetings. As long as we do have a good internet connection, we're good with Vonage.
Read Rebecca Eide's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

Vonage - The right choice to make your international calls.... always.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage is used for using both domestic and international calls. It is used by the administration and management department of the organization. It is very easy to make the calls and the quality of the call is very good. Video conferencing would be an added advantage.
  • The call clarity. The quality of the call is so good and clear with crispness of voice.
  • Vonage is user-friendly. International calls are so easy to make and it is so easy that it sounds like calls.
  • The call charges are very competitive and the customer service is very good - they resolve our issues in no time.
  • International calls are made easy without boundaries with full sound clarity for cheaper rates.
  • The Vonage app is an added advantage - it is easy on the go and the data rates apply only when there is no wifi
  • The phone contacts are easily adopted by the vonage app and the data is not used unnecessarily.
  • Video calls would have been an added advantage.
  • I wish there are few conference bridges for more calls as the quality of calls are so good that these days I mostly make one on ones.
  • The extension voice calls are a plus, until it crashes with wifi on regular basis.
I would strongly recommend vonage because:
  • It made my international calls as my domestic calls - smooth
  • Rates are very competitive
  • Good customer care
  • User-friendly
  • Data is used only when there is no WIFI
  • Extension audio app does wonders and now I can make calls from anywhere through Vonage. It is worth every penny.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2017

The Orange Carrier in VoIP Remains Relevant

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vonage is being used as a communication facilitator between 2 offices located in separate counties. We depend on the reliability of VoIP and the clear transmission of voice using a landline functionality and not necessarily through the PC (like in other applications). We like the ease of use and the fact it's a recognizable brand (now used and functionally affordable on LinkNYC payphones on Broadway). We wonder at times how it will fair in the new roll-out of Amazon Chime with Vonage for Business built in. However, it sounds like it will always fair well on 2 mobile phones if installed on both to enhance communication even if the countries varied. The call will always be a local call.
  • Local U.S. Call anywhere in the United States or outside.
  • Reliable lines even if Caller is Overseas travelling with the use of a Mobile App.
  • Monthly recurrent charge with functionality that can be used on the Go.
  • Ability to be used with Video with Wi-Fi functionality with a Video Feed
  • Ability to be used on a 12-month agreement with less recurring charges compared to competition.
  • Ability to be used with a Complimentary video handset phone bundled in to remain competitive?
  • Perhaps there could be an added iWatch App that pulls video off VoIP?
Clear voice line are preferable. However what makes it more competitive if it can compete with Rebtel on a specific price point subscription.
Read this authenticated review

About Vonage Business Communications

Vonage Business Communications (VBC) activates conversations across voice, SMS, team messaging, fax, social, meetings, and more, providing a unified communication experience with elevated Quality of Service (QoS).¹
¹Not available in all locations. Please contact your sales representative for current availability

Key Features
Spam Shield
Call Queue
Company-Wide Call Recording
On-Demand Call Recording
Receptionist Console
Local or Geographic Number
Main Company Number
Toll-Free Numbers
Virtual Mailbox
Remote IT Support Add-On
Business Inbox
Paperless Fax
Vonage Visual Voicemail
Call Group
Call Monitoring
Conference Bridge
Paging Group

Vonage Business Communications Competitors

RingCentral, Jive Communications, 8x8

Vonage Business Communications Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android