TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0I/2D/LB25RQ82W2PF.PNGMultivariate and A/B Testing Done RightWe leverage VWO's multivariate and A/B testing capabilities to improve conversion rates for our clients across the country. The detailed analytics and high level of customization make VWO a great platform for our CRO services, and our clients appreciate the simple reporting we can provide on results and recommendations.,VWO's adaptability and customization options allow us to tailor our tests to very unique scenarios. The overall ease-of-use of the platform allows us to quickly build and implement tests, without specialized coding knowledge, which means faster results for our clients.,The user interface within VWO does take a bit of time to get used to, especially as it pertains to switching back and forth between tests. When running multiple experiments on a site at a time, a clear and succinct dashboard for everything in one place would be helpful (as opposed to needing to switch between A/B, multivariate, etc).,9,Our clients have seen significant increases in engagement and conversion rates through changes we recommended after using VWO to test our hypotheses. Our clients and internal teams have appreciated the level of granular detail available within the platform, as more information leads to more reliable optimization suggestions.,The ability to implement tests quickly, use the VWO platform to implement coding adjustments (rather than having to edit site code), and track multiple conversion and engagement goals at once has allowed us to be more nimble, move quicker, and get to conclusions faster than other testing platforms we have used.,We have not used user segmentation much in our testing to date, aside from splitting a percentage of the overall traffic to a site. However, this capability is something we plan to leverage in the future, and I believe there is even more capability we haven't discovered yet within the VWO platform.,Removing the obstacle of having a developer make coding changes and spin up landing page variations allows us to move much more rapidly in our testing cadence than some other platforms have. Our clients appreciate being able to move forward quicker, as the important results for most come *after* the testing is completed.,Google Optimize,Google Optimize, Optimizely, TaboolaVWO is great for well defined testsWe use VWO to split test for a range of clients across a range of B2B and B2C verticals.,Rapid deployment of tests outside the normal development cycle. Relatively affordable pricing.,Perhaps, streamline multi-device/browser QA process. Clean up UX internally, as it feels a bit cluttered and I suspect many people use just the A/B testing and not the other features, as we do.,9,A/B testing is absolutely vital for maximizing ROI and VWO supports this goal well.,I think these capabilities are overhyped and prefer instead to focus on smaller, more research-driven tests than to throw a hundred things at the wall. This is partially because of statistical concerns, and partially because the possible testing space is so large I want to test only business/marketing hypothesizes that are well founded in existing analytics, competitor sites, industry standards, or strong stakeholder intuition.,We've not used this much.,We tend to hand code the HTML/CSS and do not leverage this feature consistently.,,Google AnalyticsGreat tool CRO from A/B to Z ;-)VWO is used within Orangedotcom to analyze clients' websites and run A/B tests. Within our company, two departments make use of VWO: the SEO team and the SEA team. It helps us and our clients to get insights into how users navigate websites, and what we can do to improve their user experience.,Show clickmaps and heatmaps of specific pages, so that we can see how users interact with these pages. For example, we can see which element they click on - or don't click on - and use that information to try and improve the page. Run A/B tests to find out which version of a page gets the best results. It's easy to add or delete elements, change elements' colour or size, or change certain text on a page. When we have a question, the VWO team is always very quick to respond over the chat on the website. They are friendly and super helpful.,It's currently not easy to run a test on multiple pages at once. For instance to test something on 10 product pages at once. We ran out of credits used for heatmaps and clickmaps really fast, and I am not sure how this is possible. VWO could improve their user instruction/explenation on this specific subject, or create different packages that contain more credits for heatmaps in the first place.,8,With the use of VWO, we were able to successfully launch Conversion Rate Optimization as an extra service for our clients.,VWO A/B testing platform allowed us to:create multiple versions of a page rapidlytrack conversion goalsand understand the statistical validity of results. We have used VWO for the 3 means above. We did not create multiple websites, nor test hundreds of changes simultaneously. I am actually uncertain if creating another website is possible with VWO. I believe it is only possible to create versions of webpages - an important difference.,We have not used VWO for this.,The What You See Is What You Get editor of VWO works pretty well. It made it easy for us to create new tests for our clients websites. Only once in a while, the preview we saw in the WYSIWYG view was not the same as the actual variant we created.,Optimizely,Searchmetrics Suite, Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Majestic SEOWhy we have used VWO for many yearsVWO is being used by the marketing department to test websites in different countries that Laudius is active in. We coin a hypothesis and then set up the test through VWO. In our case, we mostly use A/B testing and split run testing. The main goal for us is to improve on mini conversions; for example: get more people from the product page to the signup page or get more people to sign up for information.,Setting it up is easy. You can do it either through Google Tag Manager or directly inside the code. Support is very good; we always get a fast and in depth response. The VWO editor is intuitive and is often easy to use,Some detailed parts of the editor are difficult to understand (regarding select parent). But after getting the explanations from the support it is solved and now we know how to set up that type of test.,9,By testing we have improved our conversion rate and hence our ROI,This is something that we still are planning to set up, but as for now, we have not used this.,The WYSIWIG editor of VWO is very user-friendly (already for many years). It is intuitive. When I explain testing, conversion rate optimization and VWO to non-marketing people they always are amazed with the way the editor looks. For them, it often looks like magic. I previouly pointed a small drawback which is the parenting part inside the setup of a test. But as I also stated it was quickly solved by the support department.,VWO is by far the most advanced tool for A/B testingWe use VWO to track conversion funnels and perform A/B testings mainly. We use it across departments but mainly most of the VWO's features are being used by the eCommerce team. They use it to track performance, conversion and so on, whereas the product design team uses mainly the A/B testing functionality to perform tests using the inbuilt editor to make small design or text changes. It helps us decide which idea leads to more conversion and which one doesn't work.,A/B Testing. The tool is very advanced and the editor allows you to make live changes to the existing website Heatmaps. We love to see where people click the most and which CTAs trigger the most conversion Funnels and Goals. You get clear details of what steps people take to reach the end goal,The recordings feature. It's practically useless. You have so many videos to go through to actually identify what is happening that it's a waste of time.,9,It helps us convert more people by helping us make the right decision for our target audience. I don't think there is a negative impact,Yes we have. We have performed multiple A/B tests, from small CTA color and text changes, to actually completely changing the designs and layout of the pages we are testing. The A/B testing tool is very powerful and one of the best I have used.,We haven't really used much of this feature. To create visitor segments we mostly use Google Analytics and take data from there. We haven't done anything in VWO that has required us to segment visitors, except perhaps allowing a certain % of the traffic to see a certain variation during an A/B test.,It has made things very easy. I think it's great and people with no prior coding knowledge can actually use it and achieve results.,Mixpanel, Google Analytics, Optimizely and HiConversion,Google Analytics, InVision
Unspecified
VWO
169 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

VWO Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
VWO
169 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 52 of 170 VWO ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joseph Collins profile photo
April 04, 2019

VWO Review: "Multivariate and A/B Testing Done Right"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage VWO's multivariate and A/B testing capabilities to improve conversion rates for our clients across the country. The detailed analytics and high level of customization make VWO a great platform for our CRO services, and our clients appreciate the simple reporting we can provide on results and recommendations.
  • VWO's adaptability and customization options allow us to tailor our tests to very unique scenarios.
  • The overall ease-of-use of the platform allows us to quickly build and implement tests, without specialized coding knowledge, which means faster results for our clients.
  • The user interface within VWO does take a bit of time to get used to, especially as it pertains to switching back and forth between tests. When running multiple experiments on a site at a time, a clear and succinct dashboard for everything in one place would be helpful (as opposed to needing to switch between A/B, multivariate, etc).
VWO is a great option for agencies when conducting conversion optimization testing, as it is a relatively intuitive and easy to use platform with a robust set of capabilities.
Read Joseph Collins's full review
Brian Toomey profile photo
February 23, 2019

User Review: "VWO is great for well defined tests"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to split test for a range of clients across a range of B2B and B2C verticals.
  • Rapid deployment of tests outside the normal development cycle.
  • Relatively affordable pricing.
  • Perhaps, streamline multi-device/browser QA process.
  • Clean up UX internally, as it feels a bit cluttered and I suspect many people use just the A/B testing and not the other features, as we do.
It's well suited for sites with clearly delineated HTML pages, sufficient traffic, and clearly defined KPIs which are measurable via Google Analytics. It's not well suited for mobile, sites with offline conversions, lower traffic, or web applications.
Read Brian Toomey's full review
Thomas Frenkiel profile photo
February 19, 2019

VWO Review: "Great tool CRO from A/B to Z ;-)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used within Orangedotcom to analyze clients' websites and run A/B tests. Within our company, two departments make use of VWO: the SEO team and the SEA team. It helps us and our clients to get insights into how users navigate websites, and what we can do to improve their user experience.
  • Show clickmaps and heatmaps of specific pages, so that we can see how users interact with these pages. For example, we can see which element they click on - or don't click on - and use that information to try and improve the page.
  • Run A/B tests to find out which version of a page gets the best results. It's easy to add or delete elements, change elements' colour or size, or change certain text on a page.
  • When we have a question, the VWO team is always very quick to respond over the chat on the website. They are friendly and super helpful.
  • It's currently not easy to run a test on multiple pages at once. For instance to test something on 10 product pages at once.
  • We ran out of credits used for heatmaps and clickmaps really fast, and I am not sure how this is possible. VWO could improve their user instruction/explenation on this specific subject, or create different packages that contain more credits for heatmaps in the first place.
VWO is really helpful to use if you want to test different headlines, Call to Action (CTA) texts, or CTA colours. It is also appropriate when you want to find out what the ideal structure is for a page or pages, or if you want to get a clear image on how your websites pages are used.
Read Thomas Frenkiel's full review
Bart Maas profile photo
November 16, 2018

User Review: "Why we have used VWO for many years"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by the marketing department to test websites in different countries that Laudius is active in.
We coin a hypothesis and then set up the test through VWO. In our case, we mostly use A/B testing and split run testing. The main goal for us is to improve on mini conversions; for example: get more people from the product page to the signup page or get more people to sign up for information.
  • Setting it up is easy. You can do it either through Google Tag Manager or directly inside the code.
  • Support is very good; we always get a fast and in depth response.
  • The VWO editor is intuitive and is often easy to use
  • Some detailed parts of the editor are difficult to understand (regarding select parent). But after getting the explanations from the support it is solved and now we know how to set up that type of test.
One test in which VWO came in very handy was when we were discussing the way the price block on the course page should be visible. We debated all possibilities, but agreed that the only way forward was to let the numbers speak. There were four or five different opinions and we decided to test them all by setting up a split run test. The outcome was surprising in terms of the best performing setup as well as the huge difference it made in terms of turnover.

Another good example of a test was the name of a certain product. Several possibilities were added and there was a clear winner with a much higher conversion rate (which wasn't the name we previously had).

We cannot do all tests because certain pages do not have enough traffic. It will take too long before any results will be ready.
Read Bart Maas's full review
Dobs Totev profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "VWO is by far the most advanced tool for A/B testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to track conversion funnels and perform A/B testings mainly. We use it across departments but mainly most of the VWO's features are being used by the eCommerce team. They use it to track performance, conversion and so on, whereas the product design team uses mainly the A/B testing functionality to perform tests using the inbuilt editor to make small design or text changes. It helps us decide which idea leads to more conversion and which one doesn't work.
  • A/B Testing. The tool is very advanced and the editor allows you to make live changes to the existing website
  • Heatmaps. We love to see where people click the most and which CTAs trigger the most conversion
  • Funnels and Goals. You get clear details of what steps people take to reach the end goal
  • The recordings feature. It's practically useless. You have so many videos to go through to actually identify what is happening that it's a waste of time.
I think it's suitable for web-based applications but I wouldn't use it for mobile apps. For mobile apps, I would use Mixpanel.
Read Dobs Totev's full review
kate ambrose profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "VWO Is The Best When It Comes To Easy To Use, Quick, and Effective Testing Platforms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use VWO for our e-commerce division. While it does solve intra-personal ideas on what designs work, it allows us to maximize our ability to provide a better customer experience. When we use testing, we aren't looking for little lifts in conversions but large leaps - and VWO allows us to do that easily and quickly.
  • Easy Set Up
  • Easy Modifications
  • Fantastic Support
  • With cons - keep in mind it may be we are just not aware of functionality. I would say targeting segments could be better
  • Better flexibility with 3P design integrations (to test their effectiveness)
  • Being able to see test elements in various screen sizes
It is well suited for quick & dirty user interface testing! Good for changing elements around on landing pages, change pricing etc.
Read kate ambrose's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Ups and Downs with VWO"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for A/B testing smaller features on site (e.g. hiding some text) and split testing with larger features (e.g. layout and image changes). It's primarily used by engineering currently, but we are trying to move priorities to product and marketing (with some constraints) for the majority of tests.

It allows us to make business decisions around the wording of text that's shown, or the user experience around a new UI.
  • General overview of which test variation is doing better
  • Simple A/B and Split URL tests
  • Simple testing mechanics (e.g. blanking the page before simple tests are run like with the WYSIWYG editor)
  • UI/UX for finding certain options are confusing. Even having used the tool for a bit, can't remember where certain editing options are .
  • Bugs with the visual editor and preview mode (having to refresh the page until it works)
  • More complicated tests (which may involve mechanics specific to certain companies)
Good:
Simple tests like hiding and showing a button, text, etc.
Adding text onto the page
Changing the color of things
Split tests where the whole page can change

Bad:
Complicated tests regarding custom JavaScript that's run (there may be asynchronous actions happening in that script that we need the page blank for until those actions finish)
Want a smarter visual editor (e.g. we can change the layout and the test would still work, by class or id selectors)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

User Review: "VWO is effective, but sometimes clunky"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses it to A/B test new website organizations, promotions, and product page layouts. It lets us make temporary changes to our website strategy, see the effects, and then decide whether or not to commit to them on the live site for our entire audience.
  • Live previews of changes as you make them
  • Direct HTML access or a simple UI, as needed
  • Google Analytics integration
  • The first-party analytics are harder to use than the Google Analytics integration and show more inconsistent results - would be nice if these were improved
  • The web editor is sometimes slow to load or reflect changes, and occasionally locks up
  • Preview screenshots seem to be spliced together, so they often show multiple instances of the site header spaced down the page
It's the best A/B testing solution we could find for our own website and it's mostly very good at what it does. It has some usability issues on occasion, and the interface can be clunky, so it's not the easiest thing to pick-up-and-go, despite appearances; simple changes should be easy enough for a beginner to make but it takes some time with the interface to understand all its quirks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

VWO Review: "Great product for getting started with web testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used primarily by a consultant agency of ours, who is using it to facilitate work on our website. My team has full access to the results, but we rely on the consultant to develop the tests and analyze the results. I personally access VWO mainly to dive deeper into the results and approve testing plans.
  • A/B testing in a way that does not require changes to the website instance itself.
  • Heatmap testing with minimal negative impact on load times and performance.
  • Specific user recordings for more information when desired.
  • We still have to rely on Google Analytics for a lot of user data and tracking.
  • No good way to connect to Google Analytics goals and funnels, so there are redundant options.
  • Forms do not provide better UX than other survey tools, so we have to choose UX over data collection.
An excellent product to bridge the gap if you want to create an environment of constant testing and tracking in a low-risk way, but don't have the tools to handle it within your core website development platform. It lacks integration options and the ability to push out changes, so there are still manual steps needed in both data analysis and web development.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

VWO Review: "Extremely robust website testing tool. Highly recommended!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to test new website designs and to tweak existing designs improve conversion rate.
  • We run A/B tests for page design changes.
  • We also run split URL tests for major page redesigns.
  • We run ongoing conversion campaigns.
  • I've found that creating a campaign which involves multiple pages is extremely time-consuming to set up. I haven't done this in a while so maybe the process has improved, but I'm not aware if it has.
I think it's well suited for many types of testing. I'm not sure where it would not be appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Iram Cesani profile photo
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Great for Enterpise and SMBs alike!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The VWO platform is being used across our entire organization. We are on eCommerce only business models so mastering the UX/UI is vital. We are using this to A/B test copy, visuals, check out, carts, and overall landing page experiences. We are narrowing down all the pain pints of our site as we go into a site re-design next year.
  • Images: Which pictures interact best with the end user over others
  • Copy: A/B testing copy as an overlay on top of photos or below. Placement of copy is crucial to mobile first strategies and above the fold landscapes.
  • Videos: A//B testing videos and video length. Trying to cap the engagement rate against time being watched. Also A/B testing where videos are best placed. Are they best used in the home page or product page or both.
  • Visually, for people who are not familiar with the platform- can be overwhelming. Copy outruns the visual capacity and can cause fear of use.
  • Training: a university type excercose is also recommended. Though VWO can be used for many functions- an in-depth course should be offered and/or required. Especially for how A/B tests run.
Functionality is great. Each test is its own environment. They are bracketed off and do areat job with which is active and non-active.
Read Iram Cesani's full review
Christopher Nheu profile photo
September 18, 2018

User Review: "A Candid Opinion on VWO from Mad Paws"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it primarily for Heatmaps and Session Recording. We want a bit of quantitative data to back up our user research which powers our product decisions. It hasn't quite spread beyond the product team yet.
  • Very powerful heatmaps and scrollmaps.
  • Great screen recording with segmentation capabilities.
  • Point and click interfaces for heatmaps. No need to use manual selectors or code.
  • Usability. There's so much to take in and what feels like a steep learning curve.
  • Performance. The app feels really clunky and slow.
Seems like it's built for the type of person who has 40 hrs to spend a week on CRO. I have 1-2 hours. I want to be in and out to create a test. Then back in when we have some data. Analyse it, and be out again. There's a huge cognitive load using it, especially as I don't use it daily.
Read Christopher Nheu's full review
Parth Shrivastava profile photo
August 21, 2018

"VWO helped me see a 200% increase in conversion rate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for our product's website. We started with a mere CTA button and A/B tests and now have moved on to Split URL and multivariate tests. Now, most of the things which go into the website are first thoroughly tested using VWO to make a data-driven decision rather than just relying on guts.
  • Their UI for creating tests is brilliant. Does not require coding knowledge to set up basic to intermediate tests.
  • VWO's support team is one of the primary reasons to stick with them. They are very fast and always provide an in-depth solution.
  • The targeting options are good too, they give you the liberty to test a different set of audiences as well.
  • There is a problem with creating responsive tests. The process involves creating two sets of test for mobile and web audiences. Which is time-consuming.
  • Their reporting could be better. At times there is just too much data to see on the reporting page and the viewer gets confused.
  • The tests are slow to load on slow networks. Which gives away the purpose at the start itself.
VWO is best suited for running fast and efficient A/B tests. If you are just starting with A/B testing, it is the easiest option out there. VWO is very cost efficient as well. Haven't worked too much to point out the flaws, but responsive tests are something which I am looking forward to.
Read Parth Shrivastava's full review
Brian Joyner profile photo
August 21, 2018

User Review: "VWO - A Great Value With Limitations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used throughout our company across multiple assets.

We use VWO as the primary A/B testing platform in our optimization efforts. This lets our product, optimization, and engineering teams test out anything from simple changes to large impact concepts with minimal resources.
  • Easy to use for most tests. The learning curve is generally low so we have been able to ramp up use quickly.
  • Multi-goal reporting. This is highly valuable and easy to setup.
  • Editor that allows for simple changes and major changes. With a bit of Javascript knowledge, the editor is quite robust.
  • Limited real time targeting. VWO lacks in behavioral segmentation such setting up segmentation by 'people who add something to their cart'.
  • Reporting at scale is a very manual process. The API allows access to data, but that requires more dev work to setup useful reporting at scale.
It's great for small to medium size businesses or really any business that needs page load level changes.

Enterprise level and highly mature companies that are at a point where they need real-time behavioral segmentation (user has an item in their cart) are out of luck with VWO.
Read Brian Joyner's full review
Michael Bausano profile photo
September 05, 2018

User Review: "VWO for browser extension"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a not-so-standard use case for VWO. Our product is a browser extension and we wanted to split test certain parts of it with having control on what was being split tested. It was used by our relatively small dev team and the results were handed to the business team to analyse.
  • Amazing and fast support team
  • Easy to use and very flexible solution for split testing
  • Well structured reports
  • Heatmaps looks really appealing even though we didn't use them
  • An option to load and send split testing data via APIs on front end would be appreciated
I believe that if you have enough traffic it's a great solution for split testing your website. In our case of a browser extension, VWO was more of a workaround which ended up working really great.
Read Michael Bausano's full review
Steve Burg profile photo
August 21, 2018

Review: "VWO: Definitley a buy at the price point."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is currently our base testing application for all things A/B and Multivariate testing. This is both on the WWW and within our web app.

Primarily, VWO is used by our product and marketing teams to test headlines, funnel changes, and changes in page design.

From a business perspective, we use it to test for conversion optimization. Essentially, we want to track how users convert, across multiple goals within our platform.
  • A/B Testing
  • Multivariate Testing
  • Funnel Tracking
  • Ease of implementation on advanced AB tests
  • Goal setup
VWO is appropriate for any company looking to engage in advanced testing based on user feedback.
Read Steve Burg's full review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

VWO Review: "Sometimes clunky, but always useful and valuable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our growth department works with clients using VWO to address potential areas in which their e-commerce sites could attract and keep more customers. It's the primary tool that we use to turn conversion rate optimization proposals into concrete data that we can then use to inform clients and make actionable recommendations.
  • Organization and management of multiple A/B tests paused or running at once is very well laid out and intuitive.
  • Heatmaps have provided a huge amount of actionable data in focused testing areas.
  • A/B test overview data is very easy to make inferences from because of its simple and visually outstanding presentation.
  • The Chrome extension tends to have issues loading Heatmaps. It's not uncommon to go to a Heatmaps page and have to refresh the page at least once in order for the extension to load correctly.
  • The visual editor for making variations for A/B tests feels clunky and often doesn't appear in the final version (previewing the variation as a page on its own) as it does in the editor. At times the undo button has caused erratic behavior such as duplicating or "redoing" several of the same action at once rather than stepping backward.
  • Overall, if there were any way to decrease the amount of time that the Chrome extension takes to load, I could see workflow across several areas being greatly improved.
I would say the primary determinant of Visual Website Optimizer's usefulness is the amount of data coming from the website(s) you're analyzing. In the case of sites less focused on conversions or those with less traffic, data can be volatile and/or confounding (your hypothesis might be strong but the data isn't actionable). I would recommend its use for any conversion-focused sites that have a relatively predictable and steady flow of traffic.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Great Website Optimisation Tool to help inform product decisions and improve user onboarding"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within the product development department to test new product ideas before implementing them and make data-driven decisions of changes to our e-commerce website. Only one person in the organisation uses VWO, but experiments and hypothesis are developed in collaboration with the CEO, CTO and Head of Customer Support. It helps us address the business problem of identifying what changes can have the most impact on increasing conversion rates, while prioritising new product ideas and validating assumptions.
  • Relatively easy for people without a developer background to make tactical changes to website content that may influence customer behaviour while comparing effects on both desktop and mobile.
  • VWO provides a good overview of results and data captured, allowing teams to collaborate and structure multiple tests simultaneously with endless segmentation options that are particularly useful when optimising certain user groups.
  • The A/B testing feature is particularly useful with clear indications of when results are significant and easy interfaces to compare versions.
  • I only use A/B testing because that's the only thing someone has taught me hands-on to do.
  • I know there is more functionality available but it is not clear when you're logged in which features require an upgrade vs. which ones you can access.
  • The Demo that was organised previously was not practical with poor connectivity and not tailored to the audience (ie. our CTO and Head of Customer support were attending but learned nothing useful other than the things I had already shared previously by going through the platform.)
Very well suited for running A/B tests that require no developer support/html/code editing. Our developer team is very time-poor so any experiments that can run without their input are much easier to implement.

A lot less suited for more advanced tests that require developer support/html/code editing. The Hypothesis tool is not very practical and could be a lot more user-friendly and should not be a premium tool...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

Review: "VWO is a reliable split testing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our front end design and development team. We split test new ideas frequently in hopes of increasing our overall conversion rate over time and we have recently contracted a conversion rate optimization company to provide additional ideas for tests. The 3rd party contractor has been using VWO to set up surveys and perform additional research through the platform to provide more insight into the visitors on our website which helps structures additional tests.
  • Allows for easy split URL testing and goal tracking through an intuitive user interface
  • Provides easy to interpret analytics and graphs on all the various research and testing components that the VWO platform offers
  • Includes a research component which tracks a subset of overall visitors which helps us decide what to test and why
  • The VWO team is very knowledgable and provides excellent customer support
  • Really easy to implement and start testing with their tracking code
  • Setting testing parameters can be confusing sometimes (or I just have no idea what I'm doing)
  • Billing and upgrading your account can be challenging, although it seems like they are figuring it out with the latest release of their platform
VWO is well suited to split url and a/b testing. Using this tool properly is key to improving conversion rates on your website. Performing research on your visitors is crucial to learning how people are interacting with your website and VWO's research and funnel platform have allowed for a much better analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 28, 2018

User Review: "VWO - Good A/B Testing Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Visual Website Optimizer for clients to test large business questions, test out new products and/or features, and continuously optimize and improve their websites and other marketing channels. The business problems vary from client to client and is very dependent upon the business context and particular industry.
  • When QAing experiments, it is extremely quick as goals fire immediately greatly reducing the time it takes to QA.
  • Dashboards are easy to understand.
  • The enterprise package has comprehensive add ons.
  • Redirect experiments are difficult to create and the wildcard rules are often incorrect and can create problems for the user of the platform as well as the visitors.
  • The main dashboard for experiments is actually based on cumulative transactions, not conversion rates of the specific variations which is confusing for newer users. Not communicated very well.
  • The support and resources center are not very robust and often I find myself with more questions than answers.
Basic A/B testing of websites as well as redirect experiments - If you are testing CTA colour, headlines, etc. and are just starting out your experimentation program, this will be very beneficial and help get you started. Conversely, if you are looking for a more robust solution, are more familiar with experimentation, and need more technical questions answered, it may not necessarily be the best place to start.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

VWO Review: "Easy to use A/B testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product team uses it to A/B test copy, images and design across our website. It allows us to roll out and test features quickly instead of having to go through the dev team for minor requests. Once the A/B test is concluded, we put the change in the dev queue.
  • Easy to design and implement tests
  • Hypothesis feature makes it easy to keep track of tests
  • The A/B test designer doesn't always work well with pages that involve multiple steps to get to (i.e., the last page of an order flow)
  • The dashboard doesn't seem to change based on what level subscription you have, which is confusing
Suitable for companies that have a decent amount of web traffic and want to quickly and easily test out new features without going through their dev team. Less appropriate for companies that with small web traffic (won't get statistical significance) or whose websites are very complex (in which case the tests may break design).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

VWO Review: "Great product for our A/B tests. Great support."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this as a simple way to A/B test our website in an effort to increase out e-commerce conversion rate. We also use this tool to gain some insight on where people are looking and clicking via the heatmap feature. We're a small business so there's not a particular department that uses this.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Super helpful and responsive support team.
  • Does exactly what it says it does.
  • None that I can think of honestly...
Only thing is pricing could be lower for a small company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "VWO is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Presently we use it for testing and heat mapping our weekly promotional landing pages.
  • Great customer support
  • Great Interface
  • Comprehensive testing quiver
  • I love all kinds of testing
  • We haven't been using it long enough to find holes.
  • Great documentation - I would expand on it a little though.
I can't think of anything it's not suited for, as far as testing your site, A/B testing, multivariate testing, or split URL testing. It's got all the tools you need for that. I wouldn't ask it to make me a club sandwich.
Read this authenticated review
Bill Finch profile photo
December 15, 2017

VWO Review: "Look no further than Visual Website Optimizer for an affordable, first-class tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize VWO for many of our site enhancements to better understand the impact on customers and ensure our hypothesis around each change is correct. It allows us to quickly set up and run two-tailed tests. Reaching significance is clearly defined with Revenue Per Visitor and Conversions and allows us to clearly see the chance to win or lose so we feel confident the new changes are warranted. We've been able to reduce abandonment rates and improve overall conversions by page and by product type with this service.
  • The set up, configuration and previewing of tests is quick and easy.
  • Checking results throughout the test cycle is clear and easy to report and understand how much more time is needed for the test to run.
  • Calling a test and implementing the changes is done with confidence.
  • There are some minor adjustments where changing the title of the control or variation or even the test can present an alert that a change was made which can't be cleared. I understand alerting when something may affect the data results but label changes in the VWO portal should not affect the metrics and therefore shouldn't add an alert message to the test.
  • We're just getting started with their analysis set of tools to better understand customer interactions through click and heat map data but there could be improvement. For example, I've had challenges ensuring the tool showed the total available data for a particular page which required some regular expressions to ensure the total was displayed. It's a bit awkward to get working properly.
Visual Website Optimizer is a great tool for anyone on the team to be able to set up and track multivariate changes. It has flexibility for more control and variations by front-end devs and engineers using JavaScript and CSS as well. The ability to segment tests to particular audiences is also very easy. It even provides an estimate based on the changes in a variation as to how long it will need to run to gain significance.
Read Bill Finch's full review
Robyn Benensohn profile photo
September 16, 2016

User Review: "My impressions of VWO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We develop test plans for clients. Our clients can select any testing tool they'd like, and when they select Visual Website Optimizer (VWO), we help implement and monitor the tests for them. We then analyze the results and create follow-up tests.
  • Easy to implement
  • Easy to monitor tests
  • Much simpler to learn than other testing tools
  • Affordable
It's perfect for a client who is just starting a testing program, or who wants to implement tests in-house rather than outsourcing. It's also priced affordably for entry-level clients.
Read Robyn Benensohn's full review

About VWO

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureMultivariate Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO Integrations

VWO Competitors

Adobe Target, Optimizely, AB Tasty, Omniconvert, Frosmo, Google Analytics, Convert.com, Adobe Test & Target

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities

For any additional information about pricing and plans, visit https://vwo.com/pricing/

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No