VWO Reviews

176 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 99)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 04, 2019
Joseph Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VWO's adaptability and customization options allow us to tailor our tests to very unique scenarios.
  • The overall ease-of-use of the platform allows us to quickly build and implement tests, without specialized coding knowledge, which means faster results for our clients.
  • The user interface within VWO does take a bit of time to get used to, especially as it pertains to switching back and forth between tests. When running multiple experiments on a site at a time, a clear and succinct dashboard for everything in one place would be helpful (as opposed to needing to switch between A/B, multivariate, etc).
Read Joseph Collins's full review
March 01, 2019
Kevin McLallen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VWO has a strong support team willing to help provide answers to questions during the setup process. During setup, we had some questions regarding implementation across a significant number of sites and they were able to ease dev team concerns and provide detailed best practices to streamline integration.
  • Some of the initial results of a few of the initial tests raised some questions internally. We setup a call and were able to quickly address the questions and find some opportunities to leverage moving forward.
  • I discovered a bug within the UI that lead to some questions internally. I was able to report it and the problem was fixed rather quickly and their team followed up with a thank you for reporting it and to report the issue was now resolved.
  • The plans are constantly changing from a pricing and visitor perspective. This means that if you are trying to prove the product you will need to be ready for a long term commitment.
  • This platform tends to consume a large visitor allotment to find a result. In our initial tests, it took much longer than anticipated in order to find a reliable result.
  • If you pause a campaign or test, the UI creates a large red warning that indicates it has been paused. This notification is red with an large exclamation point that makes it appear as if something is wrong with the test. This notification is by design according to VWO cannot be dismissed. This creates some confusion when presenting or training new users.
Read Kevin McLallen's full review
March 01, 2019
Michel Zurkirchen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When designing A/B variations I can choose to either use the visual editor or to make the changes using code. I particularly like using jQuery.
  • VWO offers the ability to keep long term track of the performance of your goals.
  • I can easily identify recordings of users that dropped out of a funnel and watch those.
  • There is live chat to get support, with great response times and which is very helpful.
  • You are forced to create observations and hypotheses when creating a test, which is a great way to make sure that you are actually testing something worthwhile.
  • You can group tests together so that you can rule out interaction effects between tests that you are running at the same time.
  • The heatmaps within A/B tests are overlayed on the live website. Unfortunately, these don't work properly when scrolling down the site.
  • I am missing an overview of all my custom conversions. I can only see a list of frequently used goals while setting up an A/B test, which may or may not include all custom conversions.
Read Michel Zurkirchen's full review
March 04, 2019
Dominic Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good reporting tools.
  • Easy to use UI, you don't have to be a developer.
  • Reasonable pricing.
  • Any advancements on the split testing are also welcome.
  • Integration with Formissimo would be beneficial!
Read Dominic Walker's full review
March 01, 2019
Megan Lattanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VWO A/B tests are easy to set up. I like that we can input our own HTML/CSS/js.
  • Surveys are nice. I like the new feature of being able to see some recordings of sessions who answered the survey.
  • Overall, the recordings are very useful. We have set up some recordings to even verify/debug some issues we were seeing on our site.
  • Setting up specific goals or events is sometimes hard. our goals/events/clicks are not always straight forward as "if user clicks this thing" which means we have to do extra set up.
  • Form tracking has been a pain, especially with forms that don't have a "submit" button - our checkout process. being able to funnel from delivery/pickup, delivery address form, to payment type, payment form, and submit, it has been difficult. we have dynamic forms with unique id per each session, which also required extra set up. We had an issue with the form only capturing the latest submit, rather than all submits. Even with it set up, the form tracking doesn't seem to capture how we would want.
Read Megan Lattanzi's full review
February 23, 2019
Brian Toomey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rapid deployment of tests outside the normal development cycle.
  • Relatively affordable pricing.
  • Perhaps, streamline multi-device/browser QA process.
  • Clean up UX internally, as it feels a bit cluttered and I suspect many people use just the A/B testing and not the other features, as we do.
Read Brian Toomey's full review
February 22, 2019
Mark Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great customer service and support.
  • Easy to use testing tool.
  • Clear and simple reporting of stats/data.
  • There is a lot to the tool that can add confusion.
  • Lots of guides that sometimes are confusing too.
  • Although there's great service, sometimes you are dealing with different people about one issue. Might be the time difference.
Read Mark Harding's full review
February 20, 2019
David Lane | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple to create very detailed multivariant tests.
  • Good heatmapping and scroll depth software.
  • Easy to understand results and reporting.
  • Faster support.
  • Simplified segmentation.
  • Easier to use form testing tools.
Read David Lane's full review
February 19, 2019
Taylor Marmie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Nice data reporting.
  • Easy step-by-step instructions to set up your tests.
  • Easy to collaborate on tests other people on your team may have set up.
  • We would like the option to not add a hypothesis, as sometimes our tests aren't developed enough for one.
  • Date range on data reports.
  • Download screen recordings.
Read Taylor Marmie's full review
February 19, 2019
Ryan Bennion | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Recordings. Take a page, watch how your customers behave, and start making tests to reduce friction.
  • Heat Maps. We have long, evergreen content posts and we want to see how many people identify with the content, because then they will continue to scroll further on the page.
  • A/B Testing. If you have a simple website built on basic code, you should not have to integrate or bring on a developer. It's an easy drag-and-drop functionality. You can also request hours to have them help you if your IT resources are limited.
  • I think the UI could be a little more modern. At times, it can be touchy.
  • I would like it to be easier to export a customer recording into a small MP4 file. It's not the easiest way currently to export.
  • I think most of the company is based in India, which I don't have a problem with, but the time zones can make things a little challenging.
Read Ryan Bennion's full review
February 19, 2019
Thomas Frenkiel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Show clickmaps and heatmaps of specific pages, so that we can see how users interact with these pages. For example, we can see which element they click on - or don't click on - and use that information to try and improve the page.
  • Run A/B tests to find out which version of a page gets the best results. It's easy to add or delete elements, change elements' colour or size, or change certain text on a page.
  • When we have a question, the VWO team is always very quick to respond over the chat on the website. They are friendly and super helpful.
  • It's currently not easy to run a test on multiple pages at once. For instance to test something on 10 product pages at once.
  • We ran out of credits used for heatmaps and clickmaps really fast, and I am not sure how this is possible. VWO could improve their user instruction/explenation on this specific subject, or create different packages that contain more credits for heatmaps in the first place.
Read Thomas Frenkiel's full review
January 16, 2019
Marijn Tijhuis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive interface. Relatively easy entry level for creating experiments
  • Excellent support. Fast response times and explained in a clear way
  • Comes with a one-month trial version. Easy 'plug and play' - like implementation
  • Improve documentation and troubleshooting for Google Analytics integration
  • Lack of use of Artificial Intelligence. Some other providers are heavily experimenting with AI
Read Marijn Tijhuis's full review
September 18, 2018
Thomas (TJ) Tate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multivariant testing async. We have a limited development staff, so having our marketers be able to control experiments was a big plus.
  • Multiple dimensions for testing, allowing us to isolate tests based on device was a benefit.
  • Screen recordings, being able to view customer recordings was valuable to see what people are doing on our pages.
  • Heatmaps loaded very slow. We have very long form sales copy and VWO could not load the pages with a heatmap view a majority of the time.
  • Google and Facebook slap. We were shutdown from running ads to pages that had VWO embedded in them as it was perceived as cloaking. This was the biggest issue for us as we rely on optimizing for display spend.
Read Thomas (TJ) Tate's full review
September 17, 2018
Hovhannes Mkhitaryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Test set up is a breeze and settings are presented in a thought out sequence.
  • Recordings, Heatmaps, and other observation tools are easily segmented by audiences we care about, making observation simple for our UX team.
  • Our customer success manager is always available for meetings and proactive in his advocation for the platform.
  • Observations currently (9/14/18) don't support outside domains.
  • Observation collection sample rate is a little low (for the price) - takes a bit longer to collect meaningful amount of data.
Read Hovhannes Mkhitaryan's full review
September 17, 2018
Ricky Marshall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The dashboard and ease of setting up tests with VWO is particularly easy and intuitive.
  • VWO are constantly adding new features so we can analyse different parts of the customer journey and gain more insightful data on our customers.
  • The VWO conversion all-in-one platform is excellent for gathering insights on how customers use the website and backing up theories. It has helped us prioritise tests and identify issues we hadn't thought of.
  • We're on an Enterprise plan and there hasn't been much communication with our account manager. Suggestions for improvement and test ideas from the VWO team would be appreciated and would help to merit its cost and benefits over other competitor tools.
  • Adding more personalisation features to the tool would be very beneficial.
  • Observations and Hypothesis layouts and structure could be improved so this area of the platform is easier to manage. Checklists, outcomes and graphs would be advantageous.
Read Ricky Marshall's full review
September 14, 2018
Christian Betts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrated features and benefits between insight based tools and variate testing
  • Great UI for what is a pretty complex system
  • Really good support team, quick to answer and always find a solution
  • Auto report on activity, unless I'm not aware of this feature my reports are created manually
  • Grouping tests and analysis into folders, I have a lot of tests and analysis running so scanning and finding the right item can be tricky
  • Usage reports, a weekly or monthly report emailed from the platform on our usage stats
Read Christian Betts's full review
August 24, 2018
Iram Cesani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Images: Which pictures interact best with the end user over others
  • Copy: A/B testing copy as an overlay on top of photos or below. Placement of copy is crucial to mobile first strategies and above the fold landscapes.
  • Videos: A//B testing videos and video length. Trying to cap the engagement rate against time being watched. Also A/B testing where videos are best placed. Are they best used in the home page or product page or both.
  • Visually, for people who are not familiar with the platform- can be overwhelming. Copy outruns the visual capacity and can cause fear of use.
  • Training: a university type excercose is also recommended. Though VWO can be used for many functions- an in-depth course should be offered and/or required. Especially for how A/B tests run.
Read Iram Cesani's full review
August 21, 2018
Bianca Alexandra Darie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • All in one platform: The fact that Visual Website Optimizer offers all the features available in one platform facilitates the research work of marketers a lot.
  • A/B Test feature: Within the A/B test feature, users have the possibility to analyze the results not just on a summary level, but on a detailed one, too. The best part always comes from the detailed report, which offers a clearer view of the performance of the test.
  • Support team: Visual Website Optimizer has a great support team for their users. Fast, knowledgeable, friendly people that you can lay your trust in them that by the end of the day (if not quicker,) they will be there with a solution for you. The support team can assist you in any difficulty you might face at that specific moment with clear directions, both by email or a call.
  • Surveys are a great way to get insights from your website visitors. The current version offers you the possibility to do so, but in a very basic way: question -> answer -> the end. My recommendation would be to upgrade this feature by adding branching logic to each answer.
  • Customers of Visual Website Optimizer can allocate visitors to their sub-accounts by designating 'testing visitors' or 'research visitors'. Both of them are equally distributed among the different features. But my recommendation would be to have the option to allocate visitors from the 'research visitors', for example, by each individual feature. To know from the start that 100% of research visitors will be distributed depending your needs. e.g. 25% recordings + 25 heatmaps + 30% surveys + 5% forms + 15% Track features.
  • It would be great if the Heatmap feature would have the option to save the created reports in a PDF form. This will allow any additional user of the VWO account to overview them on a later point.
Read Bianca Alexandra Darie's full review
August 21, 2018
Jeff Blettner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automatically creates heatmaps of test variations, so no extra "syncing" work is needed to be done with Hotjar or other tools.
  • Easy to use interface that let's you quickly create, develop, implement, and start A/B tests.
  • Extremely cost-effective compared to Optimizely
  • A/B test analysis is not great. Instead of giving you a specific number on lift, it gives you a range and calculates "likeliness to beat control". This is due to the fact they use Bayesian statistics and not Frequentist. Though I don't think they need to move away from B Statistics, having a specific numbered lift, like X% better/worse, would be extremely helpful in communicating the effect a test has to clients.
  • No easy way to see how long a test has been running. Must look at the date range on a different view in analysis and then count the days. Very annoying since it could easily be solved by just listing the duration in days somewhere.
  • Cannot compare conversion rates over time. Optimizely and most other AB testing platforms create a nice chart that shows how the conversion rates of different variations have changed in relation to each other overtime. VWO does not. Instead it gives you a line chart of the amount of conversions per variation over time. So naturally the line chart just keeps growing because conversions keep coming in. But comparing amount of conversions is very misleading since its conversion rate we care about.
Read Jeff Blettner's full review
November 16, 2018
Bart Maas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Setting it up is easy. You can do it either through Google Tag Manager or directly inside the code.
  • Support is very good; we always get a fast and in depth response.
  • The VWO editor is intuitive and is often easy to use
  • Some detailed parts of the editor are difficult to understand (regarding select parent). But after getting the explanations from the support it is solved and now we know how to set up that type of test.
Read Bart Maas's full review
November 12, 2018
Dobs Totev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B Testing. The tool is very advanced and the editor allows you to make live changes to the existing website
  • Heatmaps. We love to see where people click the most and which CTAs trigger the most conversion
  • Funnels and Goals. You get clear details of what steps people take to reach the end goal
  • The recordings feature. It's practically useless. You have so many videos to go through to actually identify what is happening that it's a waste of time.
Read Dobs Totev's full review
September 18, 2018
Christopher Nheu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very powerful heatmaps and scrollmaps.
  • Great screen recording with segmentation capabilities.
  • Point and click interfaces for heatmaps. No need to use manual selectors or code.
  • Usability. There's so much to take in and what feels like a steep learning curve.
  • Performance. The app feels really clunky and slow.
Read Christopher Nheu's full review
September 17, 2018
Jeremy Kutner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • An inexpensive product allows small teams with limited budgets support the business with A/B testing, which is considered by some as a nice to have.
  • Very easy to deploy and use.
  • Visitor analysis tools give us more options for qualitative analysis.
  • I think some of the automated reporting could be more intuitive.
Read Jeremy Kutner's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (1)
8.2
Split URL testing (1)
9.1
Multivariate testing (2)
7.8
Multi-page/funnel testing (2)
6.4
Cross-browser testing (1)
8.2
Test significance (1)
7.3
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (1)
7.3
Advanced code editor (1)
9.1
Visitor recordings (1)
6.4
Preview mode (1)
6.4
Test duration calculator (1)
6.4
Standard visitor segmentation (1)
9.1
Behavioral visitor segmentation (1)
7.3
Traffic allocation control (1)
9.1
Website personalization (1)
7.3
Heatmap tool (1)
6.4
Click analytics (1)
6.4
Scroll maps (1)
6.4
Conversion tracking (1)
8.2
Goal tracking (1)
8.2
Test reporting (1)
7.3
Results segmentation (1)
5.5
Experiments results dashboard (1)
8.2

What is VWO?

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

Has featureMultivariate testing
Additional Features
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO is a leading website testing platform used by more than 3,600 brands in 75 countries to analyze Web activity and increase conversions. Companies including Microsoft, General Electric, Rackspace and the American Red Cross use VWO to understand how website visitors engage with their digital properties. VWO offers marketers an easy-to-implement and use, but highly effective A/B testing, Multivariate testing, behavioral targeting, usability and heat map testing solution that requires no coding knowledge. For more information, please visit: http://vwo.com/

VWO Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, BigCommerce, Mixpanel, Shopify, Google Analytics, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Joomla

VWO Competitors

VWO Pricing

Starting Price: $49

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities
Subscription$99.00Per Month

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does VWO cost?

VWO starts at $49.

What is VWO's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Support Rating and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses VWO?

The most common users of VWO are from Mid-size Companies and the Marketing & Advertising industry.