Skip to main content
TrustRadius
WatchGuard Network Security

WatchGuard Network Security

Overview

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

Read more
Recent Reviews

great product

7 out of 10
May 06, 2024
Incentivized
We love WatchGuard products. It is easy to renew the license each year, and when it's time to replace them I have had great success with …
Continue reading

Experience with WatchGuard products

10 out of 10
May 02, 2024
In our organization, WatchGuard network security products are used to protect the perimeter and protect endpoints. Every day we filter out …
Continue reading

Great for SMBs

9 out of 10
April 22, 2024
Incentivized
We are an SMB and have been using WatchGuard products across Canada to secure our headquarters, branch offices, and remote workers. …
Continue reading

WatchGuard appliances

10 out of 10
April 15, 2024
Incentivized
These devices provide the first line of defense for all web traffic into and out of the offices I manage. Traffic is scanned for viruses, …
Continue reading

Great Product

9 out of 10
April 13, 2024
Use several NGFW clustered in different countries, physical and virtual appliances as well. Same interface, with no learning curves. Used …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Policy-based Controls (418)
    8.7
    87%
  • Firewall Management Console (412)
    8.6
    86%
  • Content Inspection (406)
    8.6
    86%
  • Reporting and Logging (409)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Support

Contact sales team

On Premise
Contact sales team

Basic Security

Contact sales team

On Premise
Contact sales team

Total Security

Contact sales team

On Premise
Contact sales team

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.watchguard.com/wgrd…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Tutorial: Get Started with a WatchGuard Firebox

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Firewall

A firewall is a filter that stands between a computer or computer network and the Internet. Each firewall can be programmed to keep specific traffic in or out

8.6
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

The WatchGuard Firebox family of firewalls offers critical network security solutions for businesses of all types and sizes, including tabletop and 1U rack-mounted appliances to Cloud and virtual firewalls. Firebox appliances deliver critical security services from standard IPS, URL filtering, gateway AV, application control, and antispam, to advanced protections such as file sandboxing, and DNS filtering. High-performance deep packet inspection (DPI) means users can leverage these security services against attacks attempting to hide in encrypted channels like HTTPS. Additionally, every Firebox offers SD-WAN right out of the box for improved network resiliency and performance.

WatchGuard Network Security Features

Firewall Features

  • Supported: Identification Technologies
  • Supported: Visualization Tools
  • Supported: Content Inspection
  • Supported: Policy-based Controls
  • Supported: Active Directory and LDAP
  • Supported: Firewall Management Console
  • Supported: Reporting and Logging
  • Supported: VPN
  • Supported: High Availability
  • Supported: Stateful Inspection
  • Supported: Proxy Server

WatchGuard Network Security Screenshots

Screenshot of WatchGuard Cloud Customizable DashboardScreenshot of Threat Monitoring SummaryScreenshot of Device Security SummaryScreenshot of Automated ReportingScreenshot of User Authentication SummaryScreenshot of Endpoint Protection Summary

WatchGuard Network Security Video

WatchGuard Network Security

WatchGuard Network Security Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, French, German, Japanese

Frequently Asked Questions

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

Fortinet FortiGate, Sophos SG Firewall Appliances, and Cisco Meraki MX are common alternatives for WatchGuard Network Security.

Reviewers rate Stateful Inspection highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of WatchGuard Network Security are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(798)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 337)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
April 22, 2024

WatchGuard 2024

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Compared to the meraki that I've worked with in the past, I like that I'm not paying Cisco tax and there is a lot more functionality with WG. For me, the Sophos Hardware is not hefty enough to handle their OS because the UI is so slow. Ubiquiti doesn't even compete and shouldn't even be on the list. Cyberoam and Sonicwall I haven't worked with for long enough that I don't feel comfortable commenting.
April 22, 2024

The right value!

Bradley Breedlove | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I would much prefer utilizing WatchGuard Network Security. When stacked against any Unifi product, WatchGuard Network Security is vastly superior. When compared with Meraki, I have much greater control over WatchGuard Network Security Fireboxes. When compared to fortinet or other cisco products, I believe the value and ROI is much more tangible.
April 15, 2024

Loving my WatchGuard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WatchGuard was far easier to configure that my Fortinet or Sophos, the D-Link routers are just as easy as the WatchGuard to set up since the DSR series, but do not offer the security of the WatchGuard.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The WatchGuard Network Security interface does not require command line configuration, which was not the case when I last used a Cisco ASA. The UI is very powerful and easy to use and from what we can tell has provided a similar level of security, with a lower level of complexity. Although I was skeptical of the WatchGuard systems having come from a Cisco background, I have been impressed with the capabilities that WatchGuard firewalls provide.
April 09, 2024

Security = WatchGuard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WatchGuard offers a wide range of security products and services, including firewalls, endpoint security, secure Wi-Fi solutions, multi-factor authentication, and network visibility tools. By choosing WatchGuard, you can implement a comprehensive security strategy that protects your organization from various cyber threats.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
All around appliance with attractive cost and maintenance expense. Easy setup for simple or simpler networks with limited sites and remote users. Complex network configuration could be challenging.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WatchGuard Network Security has shown me much more value than Azure Firewall to the extent that I have used it. The most prominent thing I have noticed is from the pricing perspective. WatchGuard Network Security costs for a year what Azure Firewall costs for a month. For smaller businesses, this is a huge bonus being able to have this control for this price.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We used to use Symantec Endpoint Security. We felt that when acquired by Broadcom they lost interest in small business sales and became a pain to work with. WatchGuard Network Security solutions gave us everything we liked about Symantec and a whole lot more with a better interface.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WatchGuard is a lot easier to use in addition a decent amount less expensive than thew mentioned solutions. With those you almost need special training or certifications to get your head around them, whereas WatchGuard is a lot more user friendly.
February 05, 2024

WatchGuard just Works

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I find the WatchGuard products easier to configure than the similar SonicWall and Cisco products. I would rather spend time securing the rest of my network, than trying to get a network setup with the non-WatchGuard devices. SonicWall is not that complex either, but I trust WatchGuard more from personal experience. As for Cisco, if I wanted to waste time on setting up a network with software that doesn't work the way it says it should or something more complex than it needs to be, I would rather bang my head against the wall and expect the same results as using their security product with just a little less effort on my part. WatchGuard just works, as long as it is updated on a regular basis.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
SonicWall devices have some of the same features as WatchGuard Network Security but I feel the interface is harder to navigate. Also they do not have the management app available to manage their devices so the only option is the web client.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At 3 of my locations I use both a Sonic Wall and a watch guard. In my experience, the sonic wall has a much better interface. I feel it was much easier for someone that has never accessed a fire wall to be able to make changes and learn very quickly. I feel the Watchguard has better built in applications and the VPN was easier to use and access.
February 03, 2024

My Watchguard Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I find the watchguard interface and central management much more intuitive and informative. The ease of use of the watchguard products and services are second to none. The support behind their products also adds a value that is indispensable. The hardware itself has always been very reliable and has performed as expected.
Anders Gidlund | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We have also worked a lot with Unifi and their cloud Unifi Cloud. It works well but it feels like a solution for a bit smaller businesses. Some customer have grown out of their Unifi solutions and there WatchGuard Network Security is ready to take over and fill a gap.
Return to navigation