WatchGuard Network Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
195 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 99)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
August 26, 2020
James Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
I first started using WatchGuard firewalls about 20 years ago and found them easy to pick up and learn. Since then I have had experience with many other types--Sonicwalls, Palo Altos, and Cisco Meraki, just to name a few--and I still find the that WatchGuard is the easiest to deploy and work with. I still use the management software (vs. the newer web interface) and it's just very easy to find what I need and to make changes.
Read James Graham's full review
September 04, 2020
James Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

10
It is complex, but anything of this nature will be. The basic setup was simple. The complexity comes in when implementing network security features. WatchGuard support was able to give us much needed help in getting these items implemented in a way where we feel our network is very well secured.
Read James Chapman's full review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
The WatchGuard Network Security Device is intuitive, configured fairly easily with knowledge of the product and settings. It is not something you can configure without knowledge of the WatchGuard system or the specific device configuration.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
Overall usability is what I like best in the product. I can see what is happening now instead of running reports later.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
WatchGuard Products do have a very good usability. If you are fit in other firewalls you don´t need much training to work with a WatchGuard Firebox
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Miguel Letona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
Accessing devices is easy, one has two different options, desktop app or web app. Creating and modifying rules with desktop app is very easy, with web app is a little cumbersome. Getting results with Dimension reports is easy but lacks report diversity; also, some report data doesn't match with real data. Have to improve report filtering options.
Read Miguel Letona's full review
April 14, 2020
Mauro Biefeni | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
The WatchGuard interface was actually fairly intuitive and even though we had a dedicated network admin, quite possibly a technically savvy user would be able to administer most of the required functions of the firewall. Again, the only issue to me would be the catch-22 when you discontinue certain add on applications, this can cause serious problems without explanation as it just blocks all data flow.
Read Mauro Biefeni's full review
April 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
The product is very easy to get into and modify. The UI is fast, although a little confusing at times. I can get new users created within a few minutes. Knowing how to make new policies or apply requirements can be a little daunting and the in-UI help system for explanations is a little lacking.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
This is overall a user-friendly product.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
Overall very logically designed and easy to configure/maintain.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2019
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

8
The overall usability gets a good rating as the WatchGuard firewalls are fairly easy to deploy. One does not have to have knowledge of their CLI structure to deploy it which makes it easier for a wider range of people. I would prefer to have a more in-depth CLI myself, however, the lack of requirement to use it for deployment, in my opinion, makes the usability easier for more people.
Read Steve Davis's full review
December 04, 2019
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
The feature set you get is fantastic, and there has been a great investment in various areas to cover all angles. I was blown away by various features on offer, and after getting it set up, a few more acquisitions were made by WatchGuard and as we had total security suite we got to enable them on our devices.
Read James Martin's full review
September 05, 2019
Tracy Atwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

9
WatchGuard Network Security usability isn't perfect, but we feel that they are a significant competitor in the network security world. They are constantly improving on their shortcomings and have proven time and time again that they are the vendor for our organization and our clients. Their interface has improved greatly, as well as their ability to log, track and monitor network events.
Read Tracy Atwood's full review
August 12, 2019
Greg College | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

8
Usability is generally very good, with a few exceptions. The WatchGuard Policy Manager makes it incredibly easy for anyone with a little bit of know-how to create good policies and utilize features. However, the web interface is sometimes a bit lacking, in my opinion, and is more difficult to use. Setting up some features (such as AuthPoint) can be difficult for a novice, and online documentation is sometimes unavailable or out-of-date.

However, compared to other brands (such as SonicWALL), getting what you want done is infinitely easier, and requires far less navigation of menus. Setting up branch office VPNs with a WatchGuard is the easiest of any products I've used.
Read Greg College's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (89)
8.5
Visualization Tools (96)
7.2
Content Inspection (102)
8.1
Policy-based Controls (106)
8.8
Active Directory and LDAP (88)
8.2
Firewall Management Console (104)
9.0
Reporting and Logging (102)
7.4
VPN (102)
8.1
High Availability (87)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (92)
8.2
Proxy Server (65)
7.9

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard has been in the cyber security technology space for over 20 years. The vendor sees itself as a pioneer in the space, and aims to deliver easy-to-deploy and easy-to-manage solutions. WatchGuard offer a comprehensive advanced network security platform that puts IT security professionals back in charge of their network with widely deployable, enterprise-grade security and threat visibility tools suitable for an organization, regardless of budget, size or complexity. In addition to network security, WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services. The vendor says this is important because the cyber security landscape is constantly evolving, and new threats emerge each day. WatchGuard's goal is to make enterprise-grade cyber security technology accessible for every company. The vendor reports that WatchGuard serves more than 80,000 small and midsize enterprises around the globe and is headquartered in Seattle, Washington, with offices throughout North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, and Latin America.
Categories:  Network Security,  Firewall

WatchGuard Network Security Features

Firewall Features

Has featureIdentification Technologies
Has featureVisualization Tools
Has featureContent Inspection
Has featurePolicy-based Controls
Has featureActive Directory and LDAP
Has featureFirewall Management Console
Has featureReporting and Logging
Has featureVPN
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureStateful Inspection
Has featureProxy Server

WatchGuard Network Security Screenshots

WatchGuard Network Security Videos (4)

WatchGuard Network Security Downloadables

WatchGuard Network Security Integrations

Review Product Integrations: www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard Network Security Competitors

WatchGuard Network Security Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SupportContact sales teamContact sales team
Basic SecurityContact sales teamContact sales team
Total SecurityContact sales teamContact sales team

WatchGuard Network Security Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

WatchGuard Network Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Chinese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

What is WatchGuard Network Security's best feature?

Reviewers rate Firewall Management Console highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses WatchGuard Network Security?

The most common users of WatchGuard Network Security are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.