Skip to main content
TrustRadius
WatchGuard Network Security

WatchGuard Network Security

Overview

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

Read more
Recent Reviews

WatchGuard appliances

10 out of 10
April 15, 2024
Incentivized
These devices provide the first line of defense for all web traffic into and out of the offices I manage. Traffic is scanned for viruses, …
Continue reading

Great Product

9 out of 10
April 13, 2024
Use several NGFW clustered in different countries, physical and virtual appliances as well. Same interface, with no learning curves. Used …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Policy-based Controls (412)
    8.7
    87%
  • Firewall Management Console (406)
    8.7
    87%
  • Content Inspection (399)
    8.6
    86%
  • Reporting and Logging (403)
    8.1
    81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Features

Firewall

A firewall is a filter that stands between a computer or computer network and the Internet. Each firewall can be programmed to keep specific traffic in or out

8.6
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard's advanced network security platform offers IT security professionals enterprise-grade security and threat visibility tools suitable for all organization. In addition to network security, WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services.

WatchGuard Network Security Features

Firewall Features

  • Supported: Identification Technologies
  • Supported: Visualization Tools
  • Supported: Content Inspection
  • Supported: Policy-based Controls
  • Supported: Active Directory and LDAP
  • Supported: Firewall Management Console
  • Supported: Reporting and Logging
  • Supported: VPN
  • Supported: High Availability
  • Supported: Stateful Inspection
  • Supported: Proxy Server

WatchGuard Network Security Screenshots

Screenshot of Subscription DashboardScreenshot of Subscriber Device SummaryScreenshot of Subscription DashboardScreenshot of Executive Dashboard

WatchGuard Network Security Videos

Watchguard Security
WatchGuard Network Security

WatchGuard Network Security Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Chinese

Frequently Asked Questions

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

Fortinet FortiGate, Sophos SG Firewall Appliances, and Cisco Meraki MX are common alternatives for WatchGuard Network Security.

Reviewers rate Stateful Inspection highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of WatchGuard Network Security are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(788)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 430)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • A complete MFA solution to secure workstations, servers, and firewalls
  • Cloud based management
  • A subscription service that's worth our clients money and our time
  • Cloud management + on-prem sync
  • MFA for requiring domain credentials
  • Ability to turn poe on and off
April 15, 2024

Loving my WatchGuard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Geo Blocking allows me to use a VPN and only allow Geo Specific access.
  • IPS - gives me peace of mind that the baddies are not on my network.
  • with Traffic monitoring, I can easily troubleshoot connectivity issues.
  • I cannot think if anything that I could improve upon.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • They are quick to provide solutions to zero-day exploits.
  • They quickly replace warranted hardware.
  • Technical support will continue to provide good service, even when there is not a fast solution.
  • There have been occasions where a basic functionality such as having two DHCP servers was not supported and required a feature request to address the issue.
  • There are somewhat limited routing functions in the devices that we use.
  • The secondary units sold in a cluster cannot be repurposed as a stand-alone unit. This lowers the cost but limits any future uses.
April 13, 2024

Great Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Firewall rules with auto-ordering
  • Bandwidth consistency
  • Branch Office VPN
  • Centralized appliance (Dimension) at no cost is a great solution to consolidate reports from several appliances
  • No possibility to negate terms in rules such as "allow everything from x.x.x.x/yy except x.x.x.z"
  • Mixing rules of pure firewalling with those concerning VPN SSL ends up in something not pleasant and not easily readable, should have a dedicated tab for VPN SSL rules, as the one for IPSEC VPN rules
  • No proxy support for SFTP or FTPS (I know it's quite hard to achieve that)
  • The embedded rule for NTP has never been corrected to remove TCP for port 123
Joe Cullen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Blocks unknown traffic
  • Flexible policy setups
  • Bespoke requirements always accommodated
  • Reporting has gotten much better since the Cloud portal became available, however, it still feels limited
  • Monitoring can be very hard to filter and identify problems when lots of traffic is going through the Firebox - A better way to filter, search, and trace
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • VPN Tunnel setup
  • Firewall policy setup for port based internal service
  • Remote VPN User Setup
  • The number of DNS servers supported is only 2 or 3 depending on the model, 4 or more could make it easier for network clients who want to set up redundant DNS environment
  • I can use more tools to help analysis of incoming and outgoing traffic
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Support is extremely quick to respond
  • The System Manager application is very easy to use.
  • When something goes wrong, it gives good error codes to be able to troubleshoot with
  • Integration of the system manager with policy manager.
  • Better/more clear explanation of saving a file (policy change) to the box. Sometimes it is hard to know which files are from what changes.
  • More notice of when updates are required. A few times our VPN has gone down only to find out we were missing a firmware update that we were unaware of.
March 20, 2024

WatchGuard Security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Specific Traffic Control with Policy Manager
  • Device Control with Mac Access Control
  • Multi Firebox control with Device Templates
  • I have been noticing in some instances, I need to release the firebox from Full Management in order for the changes to get applied. I would be nice to avoid that.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • Outstanding firewall management both detailed and easy to understand
  • Endpoint cloud management that enabled customized settings based on roles
  • Keeps the "bad guys" out of our network
  • VLANs done right keeps departments partitioned where it makes sense
  • Comprehensive VPN support lets me use VPNs my way
  • WatchGuard Network Security WiFi access points are very good but also very expensive
  • Webblocker can sometimes be too aggressive at blocking
February 20, 2024

Firebox

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • The interface is easy to navigate.
  • The mobile VPN is easy to config and very stable.
  • Content filtering is very reliable.
  • Add chat support option.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Updates
  • No access unless you create a rule to allow it
  • Geo Blocking, IP Blocking
  • VLAN's
  • DHCP
  • DNS Forwarding
  • When trying to access from external side and no rule is set to allow connection, you get a SSL sign in page. I would rather I just got a 404 error or some other message stating the site is not available
  • Cost, for business its not to bad. But for home use it is too much
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to deploy
  • Licensing/activation seamless
  • Fits in nicely with other solutions
  • We have not experienced any pain points
  • A lot easier to manage than other solutions
February 16, 2024

WatchGuard Security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Variety through various models dependent on business needs
  • Ease of use whether updating, configuring, or logging
  • Support has always been great
February 09, 2024

WatchGuard Firewalls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Cloud Management
  • VPN Security with AuthPoint
  • Firewall Rules
  • Customer Support / Product Issues
  • Cloud Based online help and instructions
  • Customer Support - Cloud Issues
  • Customer Support - License Issues
Return to navigation