Whereby Reviews

29 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 11, 2021
Sandeep Reyyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Whereby within our sprint team. Its the quickest way to create or join meeting. It doesn't require any additional downloads to get started. We can use this straight from our browser. Hence it doesn't require any additional memory to run. It supports up to 50 members which works great for our sprint team of 30 members. UI is simple as intended to be. Its great for quick and short meetings.
Read Sandeep Reyyi's full review
April 24, 2021
Omer Yaqoob | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is being used all across our company for external and internal communications. Since covid is everywhere, we use it to conduct meetings across our teams and clients worldwide. It keeps us connected and coherent. We can create our own rooms and share the links to individuals to jump in instantly and discuss day-to-day progress and issues.
Read Omer Yaqoob's full review
April 23, 2021
Patrice Tanguay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our HR department uses Whereby when recruiting (interviews). It is also used by our marketing department with external partners. It addresses the simplicity of a virtual meeting with just one click--simple and user-friendly, screen sharing, no downloads required. Overall, Whereby is a viable contender as an alternative for Zoom or Webex for those who simply need a basic video conferencing solution.
Read Patrice Tanguay's full review
April 20, 2021
Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Whereby to conduct videoconferences with few participants. It's a great tool. Very intuitive and very simple to use. Sometimes we do more than one complex videoconference simultaneously and Whereby helps a lot as a second option, especially with few participants. In these pandemic times, it is the tool I use most for family reunions.
Read Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa's full review
February 17, 2021
Sara Marie Ambjørndalen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Movel is using Whereby for meetings internally and with external actors. With our specific URL, it is really a no-brainer to have meetings with the board, internally as well as externally. Externals who come to our tailor-designed meeting room are always impressed and get that aha moment when they realize how easy it is to use.
Read Sara Marie Ambjørndalen's full review
April 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is used only by some company employees, to meet a specific demand, which called for the use of this solution, to the detriment of the others. Despite this point, he successfully met our expectations about the solution. It looks like the other solutions on the market, but I noticed that the quality of video and audio is very good, in addition to the need to install plugins.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used in different departments on its own. The good thing about Whereby is the straightforward URL reservation, so you can have YOURCOMPANY-DEPARTMENT name reserved and everyone knows where to join when needed to have a talk with that certain department or person.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2020
John Flett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Whereby for coaching clients, both nationally and internationally. Having had the standard version when it was then known as Appear.In, and then in the last year or so the paid option, which has the handy record feature. Clients appreciate it that I can send them a recording of the session for them to review at their leisure.
Read John Flett's full review
February 14, 2020
Alvin Landicho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby (formerly Appear.in) has been used as a quick video call connection to our team members in other office locations. The user experience is quick and simple. Simply double-click a desktop shortcut to the unique room URL. It is used for all team meetings, several times a day. No logging in, no forgotten passwords, or extra steps required. Simple!
Read Alvin Landicho's full review
February 13, 2020
Michelle Sexton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I oversee our Recruiting department and we currently use Whereby every now and then for conducting our virtual interviews with candidates if we're having difficulty with some of the other virtual resources that we use. It helps us with our interviews and being able to interview candidates who do not have a smartphone.
Read Michelle Sexton's full review
February 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a fully remote team. We use Whereby for daily stand-ups and one-on-one meetings across the organization. As a distributed team, Whereby lets us have ad hoc and scheduled face-to-face meetings and working sessions with employees who are spread across two continents and three countries.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to connect different team members located around the world for training and meeting. These meetings are often recorded, which makes the meeting space twice as valuable. It connects our managers and new trainees, as well as existing team members. In addition, we use it for interviews and face to face testing and quizzing pre-onboarding.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company has mostly remote workers (working from home) and we use Whereby for almost all of our team meetings. We tried several other video meeting services and we choose Whereby because everyone appears in similarly sized windows no matter how many people are in the meeting. Other services only show you the last three people to talk or show you a big window for the person currently talking (or just making noise). We feel like we are in a conference room sitting around a table with Whereby. Another great feature is the ease of use. We use it with outside clients and job candidates because there is no software to install or set up. It just works on any device that can go to a website.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Michael Ball-Marian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I've used Whereby off and on at this company and my previous company (when the product was called Appear.in). In both cases, we have used it as a sort of "gap" filler solution for ad-hoc meetings. In both cases, we had other core teleconference solutions that we used for "bigger" more official purposes. Whereby is a nice solution because it doesn't require an install, and pretty much just works.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
December 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is used by our organization to host small group video conferences. It is particularly helpful for individuals to set up their own named whereby video meetings, to have face-to-face collaborations internally and externally. The fact that whereby does not require any plug-ins or downloads from guests is very convenient, which has made it popular with us.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is one of many tools we use to connect our team. We're a distributed team across various geographies, so we rely on technology to connect us for our daily work needs. Specifically, our Marketing Team uses whereby for individual calls and video conferences with smaller groups. It's really easy to just share your link and have everyone hop on.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (17)
8.7
High quality video (17)
8.7
Low bandwidth requirements (15)
8.4
Mobile support (14)
6.7
Desktop sharing (16)
8.8
Whiteboards (6)
6.7
Calendar integration (7)
6.9
Meeting initiation (13)
9.2
Integrates with social media (3)
8.1
Record meetings / events (9)
6.7
Slideshows (8)
8.2
Live chat (11)
8.6
Audience polling (3)
6.5
Q&A (4)
6.7
User authentication (8)
7.4
Participant roles & permissions (10)
7.6
Confidential attendee list (6)
6.5

What is Whereby?

Whereby is presented as an easy way to meet over video. With no app or installs required, and the same meeting link every time, the video meeting platform gives users the freedom to work from anywhere.

Whereby users can invite colleagues, clients and friends to meet over mobile or desktop, by sharing a link which sends guests into a personalized meeting room. There’s no registration or downloads required, and it is designed so that anyone can easily join or host a call with no technical experience needed.

it features screen and audio sharing, meeting recording, branded rooms and customizable room links. Integrations like Trello, Google Docs and Miro Whiteboard give teams the tools they need to collaborate remotely.

With Whereby’s new API product, Whereby Embedded, companies can add video meetings to their website or app. Boasting a quick turnaround time and minimal coding requirements, it’s presented as ideal for connecting with consultants, clinicians, teachers, students, sales teams, and other specialists.


The vendor offers the following tiers (and differentiators):

Free: A tool designed to introduce video meetings into your daily workflow.
Pro: For freelance professionals who conduct business over video.
Business: Connect customers or manage a remote workforce.

Whereby Screenshots

Whereby Downloadables

Whereby Integrations

Trello, Slack, Google Docs, Youtube

Whereby Competitors

Zoom, GoToMeeting, Skype, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)

Whereby Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per user
Pro$9.99per user
Business$59.99 and upper user/room

Whereby Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Whereby Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Whereby?

Norwegian company appear.in offers their flagship video conferencing platform to small teams, both in a free edition hosting up to 4 guests simultaneously in a session or a paid edition that supports up to 12 simultaneous meeting guests, among other features.

What are Whereby's top competitors?

Zoom, GoToMeeting, and Skype are common alternatives for Whereby.

What is Whereby's best feature?

Reviewers rate Meeting initiation highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Whereby?

The most common users of Whereby are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.