Whereby Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

John Flett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Give it a go--easy-peasy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Whereby for coaching clients, both nationally and internationally. Having had the standard version when it was then known as Appear.In, and then in the last year or so the paid option, which has the handy record feature. Clients appreciate it that I can send them a recording of the session for them to review at their leisure.
Read John Flett's full review
Alvin Landicho | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Simple, one-click access to an always on video meeting room.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby (formerly Appear.in) has been used as a quick video call connection to our team members in other office locations. The user experience is quick and simple. Simply double-click a desktop shortcut to the unique room URL. It is used for all team meetings, several times a day. No logging in, no forgotten passwords, or extra steps required. Simple!
Read Alvin Landicho's full review
Michelle Sexton | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

It has been a great experience!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I oversee our Recruiting department and we currently use Whereby every now and then for conducting our virtual interviews with candidates if we're having difficulty with some of the other virtual resources that we use. It helps us with our interviews and being able to interview candidates who do not have a smartphone.
Read Michelle Sexton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Great video conferencing and live collaboration tool for small remote teams.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a fully remote team. We use Whereby for daily stand-ups and one-on-one meetings across the organization. As a distributed team, Whereby lets us have ad hoc and scheduled face-to-face meetings and working sessions with employees who are spread across two continents and three countries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

A great video meeting product at a great price!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to connect different team members located around the world for training and meeting. These meetings are often recorded, which makes the meeting space twice as valuable. It connects our managers and new trainees, as well as existing team members. In addition, we use it for interviews and face to face testing and quizzing pre-onboarding.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Allows us to have the best of working remotely and working in an office

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company has mostly remote workers (working from home) and we use Whereby for almost all of our team meetings. We tried several other video meeting services and we choose Whereby because everyone appears in similarly sized windows no matter how many people are in the meeting. Other services only show you the last three people to talk or show you a big window for the person currently talking (or just making noise). We feel like we are in a conference room sitting around a table with Whereby. Another great feature is the ease of use. We use it with outside clients and job candidates because there is no software to install or set up. It just works on any device that can go to a website.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Ball-Marian | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Whereby is a great product, particularly for impromptu calls and small meetings

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I've used Whereby off and on at this company and my previous company (when the product was called Appear.in). In both cases, we have used it as a sort of "gap" filler solution for ad-hoc meetings. In both cases, we had other core teleconference solutions that we used for "bigger" more official purposes. Whereby is a nice solution because it doesn't require an install, and pretty much just works.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Possibly the smoothest video conferencing experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is used by our organization to host small group video conferences. It is particularly helpful for individuals to set up their own named whereby video meetings, to have face-to-face collaborations internally and externally. The fact that whereby does not require any plug-ins or downloads from guests is very convenient, which has made it popular with us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

A great video tool for small teams and individuals to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Whereby is one of many tools we use to connect our team. We're a distributed team across various geographies, so we rely on technology to connect us for our daily work needs. Specifically, our Marketing Team uses whereby for individual calls and video conferences with smaller groups. It's really easy to just share your link and have everyone hop on.
Read this authenticated review
Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

appear.in. has all the features of other more robust programs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use appear.in to conduct videoconferences with few participants. It's a great tool. very intuitive and very simple to use. Sometimes we do more than one complex videoconference simultaneously and appear.in helps a lot as a second option, especially with few participants.
Read Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (11)
8.2
High quality video (11)
8.6
Low bandwidth requirements (9)
7.9
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Desktop sharing (10)
8.8
Whiteboards (4)
6.2
Calendar integration (3)
6.6
Meeting initiation (8)
9.1
Integrates with social media (2)
9.0
Record meetings / events (7)
7.3
Slideshows (4)
8.3
Live chat (7)
8.0
Audience polling (1)
7
Q&A (2)
9.0
User authentication (4)
7.0
Participant roles & permissions (6)
6.8
Confidential attendee list (3)
8.0

About Whereby

Whereby is a video conferencing tool that allows users to conduct simple and reliable video meetings. All meetings are browser based - no downloads, and no login for guests.

Whereby serves SMB markets for various industries, including; IT, sales, marketing, education, recruiting, financial services, and more.

The vendor offers the following tiers (and differentiators):

Free: A tool designed to introduce video meetings into your daily workflow.
Pro: For freelance professionals who conduct business over video.
Business: Connect customers or manage a remote workforce.

Whereby Features

Has featureScreen sharing
Has featureCustom URLs
Has featureRecording
Has featureRoom branding
Has featureChat
Has featureCalendar integration (Business plans)

Whereby Screenshots

Whereby Integrations

Trello, Slack, Google Docs

Whereby Competitors

Zoom, GoToMeeting, Skype, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per user
Pro$9.99per user
Business$59.99 and upper user/room

Whereby Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Whereby Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English