Wix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
205 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Erin Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Wix is an ok CMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WYSIWYG is great at placing things exactly where you want them to go.
  • The site is very easy to use.
  • Integrations work well.
  • SEO Tools
  • Image Library functions
Read Erin Harris's full review
Bryan Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Flip your university athletic class with Wix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The plug-and-play design makes it easy for most anyone to use.
  • The abundant variety of design tools Wix offers.
  • The templates aren't just functional, they're beautiful!
  • Although I've never used it, Wix's paid customer support seems easy to use and helpful.
  • I understand Wix's desire to prevent users from editing HTML, but it would be nice on occasion.
  • I'm reaching for things Wix could improve upon; I think their product meets my needs perfectly. I was going to say something about SEO training for site developers, but they do a great job with it too.
Read Bryan Tanner's full review
jacob rappeport | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Give your business an outstanding image.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wix provides an extremely user-friendly platform that makes it easy for someone with no experience to create a professional image for their business(es).
  • Wix is affordable.
  • Wix provides easy third party access to other appropriate services like claiming domains and Gsuite business email accounts.
  • Wix offers the ability to schedule bookings, receive payments, and even link your email messages through your customized website.
  • Wix can improve on the speed of their provided websites.
  • Wix can improve on the speed performance for users creating their websites on their platform.
  • I would like to see Wix keep me locked into the rate that I started with two years ago instead of incrementally raising the price, or at least advise upfront that over a period of time, the pricing can be expected to increase.
Read jacob rappeport's full review
Mildred M. Tassone | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Using Wix And Loving It

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Database integration - works really well and saves time for updating and making changes to data.
  • Forms - the ability to customize and collect the data easily is a time saver.
  • Could make the page setup for the dynamic pages a little simpler.
  • The repeater strips are good, but some are a little tricky to edit.
Read Mildred M. Tassone's full review
Julia Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Wix is a win-win for taking your business to the next level with an easy website builder.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a very user-friendly platform that even someone without experience can use.
  • Cost-effective website creator
  • They could work on the customer-service side.
  • Compatibility with the web search engine you're using--not friendly with Firefox
Read Julia Gonzalez's full review
Josh Kratovil | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2019

Wix Helped Get Us On Our Feet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to build pages and sites that look professional, even with little web design experience.
  • The graphical user interface lets you see in real-time how your site will look.
  • Easy to add applications with further enhance your site.
  • Good value for the price, especially if you can find a coupon code as we did.
  • Easy to add and manage users.
  • Easy to get people trained up on how to build a page.
  • We registered our domain from Wix, and are unable to easily set up a page-level redirect in order to funnel traffic to our new web presence.
  • While useful, the GUI can be a bandwidth hog - you need a robust internet connection for the best experience.
  • Very easy to hit a ceiling on what you can do to make the page look good; would be great to have more robust onboarding for enterprise-level businesses.
Read Josh Kratovil's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Great website creator for simple websites

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lot of tools available and integrated right in for marketing, messaging, etc. that you may need besides a website.
  • Just a few steps to get everything all set up once you've created your website. Very easy.
  • Not the greatest in terms of SEO with Google.
  • Lacks in-depth customization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Wix is great for new users but limiting for advanced users

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Friendly to never before web designers.
  • Can be a good free tool to create a starter site.
  • Good for students to learn the very basics.
  • When I last used it the websites created felt slow and bloated.
  • The SEO potential is just not there, it was not customisable enough.
  • Can be limiting in terms of design and functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Good options for beginners

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to use. Especially for those who can't code or haven't built websites before.
  • Cost effective
  • Less features than most site builders
  • Less integration options
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Makes it a breeze to have a professional web presence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rich set of templates that are very professional-looking
  • Exceedingly easy-to-use. It can be up and running in short order.
  • A powerful suite of advanced functionality
  • Not fully responsive design.
  • Templates, once chosen, can't be changed in a straightforward manner.
  • Not the fastest loading speeds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Stand Out With Wix

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Variety of templates to choose from.
  • Highly editable components to give your page the look and feel you desire.
  • Unclear how to edit some of the components.
Read this authenticated review
Heath Achatz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Wix Fast and Free to Start, But Should You?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wix makes it easy for users with no coding experience to create a visually appealing website.
  • Wix has a variety of plug-ins including, galleries, forums, chat, blogging, Instagram, counter, PDF viewer, and many more.
  • Wix is also connected with a large variety of third-party apps that can be used such as chatbot, contact form, Eventbrite, and Event Viewer.
  • While Wix appears to make itself user friendly, there is a lot of apps that are unnecessary that must be waded through. When you are trying something new it is actually complex, until you get the "hang of it".
  • Without a paid subscription Wix does not populate on Google searches very well.
  • Wix hosts its pages, and again if you do not have a paid subscription the loading can be slow and burdensome.
Read Heath Achatz's full review
Andrew Folts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Tons of customization, but far too easy to mess up.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good, simple on-boarding process.
  • Lots of visual customization options.
  • Many different themes to choose from.
  • It's too easy to mess up the design of your site...you can literally drag and drop elements anywhere, which looks awful!
  • The interface is messy and overwhelming for inexperienced clients.
  • The branding is inconsistent. Wix looks modern and polished in some areas and old and clunky in others.
Read Andrew Folts's full review
Uday Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

Penetrating your target market with a quick and professional website

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wix provides a complete platform with a short learning curve. As a technology professional, I don't have time to resolve website problems.
  • The resulting product is professional, allows for enough detail, and can be updated easily with new developments.
  • The ability to quickly add blogs is important to me, as we must frequently provide extensive and updated technical information to relate to a sophisticated audience.
  • A very useful feature is the ease with which we can insert video in the website.
  • Wix appears to have been designed for retail businesses, given the presence of a shopping cart. An alternative format for technology companies would be welcomed.
  • Because the work we do involves design drawings produced in DraftSight and other CAD software, it would be particularly useful if we could import such drawings into the website.
  • Although Wix provides a library of photographs, few are technology oriented. More, please.
Read Uday Singh's full review
Dan Hanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Great basic website designer!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wix makes it simple to set up a basic website in a matter of hours.
  • They have a lot of options in the free version.
  • It is super simple to create a website that is easy to use.
  • There are some extra features that are not available in the free version.
  • The user interface can use some improvement when it comes to the overall layout.
  • They could also add to the tutorial library to help new developers further.
Read Dan Hanna's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Wix - the last website authoring tool you will ever need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to setup
  • Help documentation is easy to access and detailed
  • Customization
  • See what your website will look like on a computer / tablet / mobile device
  • The blogging feature could be improved. I would like to see additional blogging layouts available.
Read this authenticated review
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Wix is the best for beginners in need of a beautiful website fast!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The most important strength of Wix is its simplicity and intuitive interface. Wix is, by far, the best web CMS that I've ever used because it's easier to navigate and understand than other CMS platforms. Once you start building your site, there are pop-ups explaining what to do next until your entire site is filled with content. Because it's so easy to get started, I've completed websites on the same day that I started them, which makes marketing managers and directors extremely surprised and excited.
  • Wix's design and theme options are the best I've seen. When using other CMS platforms, I've had a difficult time finding themes that fit the way that I want to organize the content on my website. I felt restricted because the themes were not editable. Wix, however, allows users to edit themes as much as they want. The platform will also take the information that you've already plugged into the site and find a theme that works, choose the best fonts, and even implement color schemes. Wix really gives you control over the way your site is organized but also provides a "hands-off" route for people who don't want to be too heavily involved in the design process. There are options for any and all levels of experience and involvement.
  • Wix has an option to add a contributor to a website, which I also have not seen on any other CMS platforms. In most cases, CMS users would need to create several logins to get their colleagues or partners to edit the site. But with Wix, I can have my own account with both personal and professional sites - and invite colleagues to edit a specific website without seeing anything else. It's similar to having a Google Drive of websites. I can see all of my Wix websites, but colleagues can only see or edit the websites that I invite them to.
  • One place where Wix falls short of other CMS's is with insights and analytics. On other platforms, I can instantly see how many page views I received, what time the pages were viewed, location, etc. But seeing this information on Wix requires a Google Analytics integration that is not automatically included when you make an account. You have to first go to Google Analytics to make an account, then come back to Wix to activate the integration, it's a little time-consuming for a feature that most CMS's come with instantly.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
Marian Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Best place to design a website for your business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to use and learn
  • There are a lot of great functions
  • Great customer support
  • Affordable
  • Lots of design maneuverability
  • Some of the features do not work consistently or they are not able to be seen at all times.
  • There are frequent bugs.
  • SEO optimization can be improved.
  • They removed some features that I cannot get back.
  • Form builder applications and plug ins can be slow to set up and slow to load.
  • Cannot customize certain features.
  • Handling the footer section can provide issues.
  • Event application / plug in has basic features but mostly not useful.
  • Paid plug ins don't work well or fast enough.
  • Paypal buttons take a long time to load.
  • Repeater boxes don't work well.
  • It doesn't allow you to copy and paste a section from one website design to another website design, which is an important function for saving time when managing multiple business websites.
Read Marian Lee's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (45)
8.4
API (30)
8.1
Internationalization / multi-language (21)
8.3
WYSIWYG editor (64)
8.7
Code quality / cleanliness (52)
7.8
Admin section (66)
8.3
Page templates (73)
8.4
Library of website themes (71)
8.2
Mobile optimization / responsive design (73)
8.1
Publishing workflow (60)
8.4
Form generator (57)
7.6
Content taxonomy (50)
7.9
SEO support (58)
7.2
Bulk management (35)
7.1
Availability / breadth of extensions (52)
7.6
Community / comment management (40)
8.0

About Wix

Wix is a free hosted website builder, designed to be user-friendly and highly customizable without requiring coding from the user. It is well-known for its eCommerce solution, which allows users to build an online store.

Wix includes customizable HTML5 templates that can be used with its drag n' drop website builder. The vendor also offers 24/7 support and an App Market with over 200 apps. (These paid apps, as well as professional services offered by Wix, allow the company to make money while keeping its hosting service free.)

Wix Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No