WooCommerce Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
111 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Wocommerce Makes eCommerce Easy and Affordable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I operate a Digital Marketing Agency where I've built many website for clients who use WooCommerce. I have built WooCommerce into sites to directly sell products, receive donations, process payments for services, and even to book hotel rooms. Not only have I built sites that use WooCommerce, I regularly market those products and services in ways that require integration of WooCommerce with Facebook and other third-party platforms. I've installed, used, and managed WooCommerce in just about every way possible.
  • WooCommerce is the most customizable option for self-hosted WordPress sites. It offers nearly unlimited customization options. From dozens of payment gateways to multiple shipping methods, WooCommerce has a customization for any situation.
  • WooCommerce is the easiest way to process payments online from a self-hosted WordPress site. The core plugin is free and the paid extensions are affordable and full-featured.
  • WooCommerce has actually come a long way recently in the areas that were previously lacking. They have recently added integrations for the Divi Theme along with a Chat-based support system that I love.
  • WooCommerce has shown that they are committed to continually developing integrations and functionality in order to remain number one in the world of online commerce.
WooCommerce is well-suited for selling products through your website, receiving donations to a non-profit online, or booking services. there's literally no scenario that I can think of where WooCommerce will not adequately handle an eCommerce transaction.
The core plugin is free and it will handle the simplest transactions. However, if you are going to need any kind of customization, you will need to purchase a plugin extension. They have a large library of extensions so that you only need to pay for the customization you need. This is good, because it keeps the cost down in the long run.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
Jim Nelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Makes e-commerce easy for WordPress

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have implemented WooCommerce to manage multiple stores on our own WordPress multisite network of more than 1500 member blogs. Through our featured store sites, we sell both physical goods and digital products. I have also installed and helped maintain WooCommerce stores for various other website clients selling a variety of products. WooCommerce is now my preferred e-commerce plugin for any WordPress sites I develop. Using WooCommerce and its various add-ons, I am able to quickly build out an online store and easily manage product inventory and sales.
  • Quick and intuitive install and configuration.
  • Sales tax management.
  • Shipping fee management when drop-shipping from multiple manufacturers.
  • Template customization requires technical capabilities.
WooCommerce is the most popular e-commerce WordPress plugin for a reason. It works great out of the box for simple stores and can be customized in seemingly unlimited ways, thanks to a vast array of add-ons, excellent documentation, and quality technical support. Anyone who is familiar with maintaining a WordPress site can easily integrate a WooCommerce store.
Read Jim Nelson's full review
Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

The Cost Effective eCommerce Plugin for the Tech Savvy Startup

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I discovered WooCommerce after someone recommended it in an online community as I was looking for a WordPress plugin that could help me set up my online store to sell digital resources via my website. The plugin makes it super easy to create a customised and branded online store with a variety of themes ensuring that your store does not look like anyone else's.
  • Provides a free plugin that integrates well with other plugins that improve the managing of your online store.
  • Allows you to sell not just digital products but physical items which means that your business is allowed to change direction or scale up without having to change your store management system.
  • For newbies that are not digital savvy WooCommerce has a massive learning curve even with the guides and many many YouTube videos providing tips and how-to tutorials.
  • Although it is a FREE plugin, to get the very best features and integrations for your store you many need a number of other premium plugins that in the long run can add up.
WooCommerce is that plugin I would recommend mainly to a start-up looking to create an online store on a zero budget on their WordPress website. I would not recommend the plugin for someone lacking digital tech skills and is looking for a fast and easy way to set up their online store.
Read Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc's full review
Ray Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Without WooCommerce there, no eCommerce happens

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WooCommerce is the eCommerce engine that drives online sales of either physical or digital goods for my company. It is used for transacting the relationship between my customers and my products and/or services offered. Without having to manually take customer orders and without having to touch the buying process, WooCommerce handles it all.
  • Extendability!
  • Free to start!
  • Themeing
  • Cart/Checkout blocks (Gutenberg )
From brick and mortar retail shops getting into online sales to wholesale distribution companies setting up distributors, I truly believe that WooCommerce could handle it all. I have suggested and used WooCommerce for sites that sell guns and ammo to extravagant vacation packages; there is not a single place where I do not see a fit.
Read Ray Flores's full review
Dan Hanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A better E Commerce Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am at a Start-Up Website Marketing company. We offer numerous different services to help Small Businesses achieve success. I currently use WooCommerce to sell full E-Commerce stores, as well as different marketing packages for Small Businesses. I am currently the only person working for my company. WooCommerce makes it possible for a small business such as myself to sell products and services.
  • It gives someone with limited web design experience the ability to easily sell products and services.
  • It easily integrates with Wordpress.
  • It is free to start and get set up.
  • It would be nice to have more access to tutorials on how to set up some of the more complicated features.
  • The shopping cart page itself would be a little challenging for a beginner to set up.
  • A larger variety of display options would be helpful.
WooCommerce is well suited for anyone who is looking to sell any product or service online. It is also easy to set up and transfer to another E-commerce website, making it ideal for someone who is in the web design or internet marketing space. It may not be the best solution for sites with a huge selection of products.
Read Dan Hanna's full review
Scott Lengacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

WooCommerce is the way to go

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this solution on the marketing side of our business. It is being used by vendors in a marketplace setting. It works great and, with a little knowledge, you can tweak it to fit a lot of different industries and applications. There are a lot of plugins that can integrate with it, so that is great as well.
  • Lots of options.
  • It's easy to use.
  • No great shipping options out of the box.
  • It can be complicated to use.
It is a great product to use if your website is built on WordPress. It will enable you to sell products or services to your clients.
Read Scott Lengacher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great WordPress eCommerce Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WooCommerce to power our online store. Our products include physical products, drop shipped products (with integration to our fulfillment partner), digital goods, and subscriptions. It solves our needs for managing products, displaying those products in a web-based shop, filtering by product type and category, as well as handling, check out, and delivery.
  • Manage products in a WordPress site.
  • Handle digital downloads.
  • Extensions can get costly.
  • Some third party integrations are buggy.
WooCommerce is the ideal solution if you have an existing WordPress site, know how to install and configure plugins yourself, and have the time and expertise to implement an online store. Users may consider an all-in-one alternative if they don't have the technical expertise or they want a simpler, standalone eCommerce solution that they can set up quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

There's a reason it powers more online stores than any competitor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WooCommerce on three of our websites to sell various physical and digital products. The huge level of flexibility available due to the extensions and other plugins, as well as its ability to connect with other apps and services, is really appealing.
  • Easy to use.
  • Extremely flexible.
  • Tons of available extensions.
  • Connects to third-party services.
  • Annual subscriptions can be expensive for small stores.
Most anyone running an online store should consider using WooCommerce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

WooCommerce is great - however, heavy customization is usually required.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the entire organization. Multiple users have access to the site - it runs the entire operation.
  • It's easy to get started.
  • The plugin ecosystem is well developed.
  • There is quite a bit of customization the front-end needs to work with most sites.
  • Most plugins provide just enough functionality before you have to pay.
WooCommerce is well suited for simple sites or businesses with a developer on hand who knows the ins and outs of WooCommerce. It's not well suited for a bootstrapped organization that doesn't have a developer on hand.
Read this authenticated review
Seth Paine | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

WooCommerce, powerful, flexible, and very customizable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WooCommerce for our online store to sell books and other materials that we use for our ministry. It is only being used in one department. We use it on the same website that our main website is on. Because it is built to work on WordPress it is easy to maintain and update. I maintain the website and because it is the same platform I can easily maintain the online store as well. It allows us to have an inexpensive online store solution.
  • Updating it is very easy because it runs on WordPress and you use WordPress' plugin update architecture.
  • There are lots of third party plugins to add whatever functionality you need. You also only install the add-ons that you need so you don't have a very bloated system.
  • There are many different payment systems that you can use with WooCommerce
  • It is easy to add new products because it uses Wordpress' editor.
  • It easily integrates with external services like print on demand services.
  • Because of the add-ons you need to install to expand the functionality, it takes time to research each add-on
  • It is not a "install and use right out of the box solution" like some online store services. You need to configure everything.
  • To get a nice store you also have to configure all the other Wordpress parts like choosing a good Wordpress theme.
  • It takes a lot of work to get a nice looking store
WooCommerce is a great platform to create an inexpensive if not free online store if you have the time to learn about it and configure it well. It is especially a great online store platform if you already are experienced using Wordpress since it incorporates so well into it. There are also many great plugins to help you integrate parts of your store into your other content pieces on your WordPress website.
Read Seth Paine's full review
Igor Neumann | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

The king of Wordpress-based e-commerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use WooCommerce, with sales disabled, as a product portfolio and information provider at our website. Our clients need to ask for a quote in order to buy it but we do plan to activate the e-commerce function in the near future. Our website is currently in 9 different languages and we offer our products in more than 90 countries.
  • Quick and easy e-commerce website for companies of any size.
  • Scalability and integration, being part of WordPress make adding new functions to your page a breeze.
  • Easy integration with translation plugins, making a multi-language website easy to build.
  • Some updates break the multilingual website, its necessary to rebuild permalinks after each major update.
  • Speed, when having many categories/products your performance can suffer.
  • Could include better multi-currency support out of the box.
  • We should be able to manually order taxonomies
  • Should include a way to hide prices and ask for a quote instead.
Woocommerce is the current king of WordPress based e-commerce, with numerous plugins to add any missing functionality you may need. That said, we currently use it in a different way than planned as an electronic catalog where users need to ask for a quote instead of pure e-commerce as it is designed to work. That shows some of its shortcomings for this specific use that we need to solve using 3rd party plugins to order taxonomies, hide prices, make clients ask for a quote, or to enable composite products.
Read Igor Neumann's full review
Eugenio Chessa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Use WooCommerce and you're ready to sell.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WooCommerce is used for the realization of e-commerce or simple online catalogs for products.
  • Simple
  • Robust
  • Easy to use
  • For the Italian market, we need some field for "Partita iva" & "Codice Fiscale" that are used for our invoices
The scenarios of use for WooCommerce are varied. I recommend it for medium/small catalogs because, with large catalogs, the system is not so efficient in loading the shop.
Read Eugenio Chessa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

WooCommerce an easy, free way to start selling online

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WooCommerce is used by our web design team. It is used to sell tours and promote events or sales. In selling travel, we don't have things that are purchased and shipped. The flexibility that WooCommerce has to sell products that are digital or linked to other sights is really beneficial. The products that we sell are travel packages. By using WooCommerce, we get the benefits of product custom post types, product tags and categories, and to arrange our tours in a way that the customer can search and find.
  • WooCommerce is a flexible e-commerce platform that allows for many types of products/goods to be sold. In a previous role, I have used it for products and digital downloads. Now, I use it to sell travel, more of an event-type product.
  • It is a free plugin for WordPress and is easy to install. Of course, there are paid upgrades and customization that you can do, but it is a really affordable way to get started in e-commerce.
  • When you install the program, it installs/creates the necessary cart and check out pages if you don't already have them.
  • There are a lot of features. If you are not using them, attributes, for example, you'll see them on every product backend page. A toggle in the setting would be nice to see.
  • It is widely used. If you don't customize your theme a lot of shops will look like yours.
WooCommerce by itself isn't good for selling time-based products or for booking appointments. Though there are add-ons you can purchase to make this easier. Other than that I love it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Most versatile web shop that you can build in-house

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have built an online parts store to sell hundreds of products through an online shop. The whole Export department works with this shop and it saves us so much time vs. the conventional method of quoting parts via email and doing the whole quoting/freight/shipping/invoicing/payment process via back-and-forth email correspondence. The benefits are a streamlined, uniform and professional business process.
  • Professional presentation
  • Automated processes
  • Expandable
  • Translatable
  • Improve integration with front end builders
  • Can get complex and expensive pretty quickly if you have to rely on multiple plugins
I would recommend WooCommerce for any webshop with local, international and even cross-cultural reach. It's very versatile and flexible and users around the globe know how to use it since they are all used to these kinds of systems. If you have a very large inventory of products, WC may not be the best match. Check first with the pre-sales staff to make sure the load can be handled smoothly.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Halstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Looking at WooCommerce? What Are You Waiting For?!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses WooCommerce to power multiple online storefronts. It allows us to sell everything from bowling shirts, bowling jerseys to memberships. The great thing about WooCommerce is the flexibility to customize the product pages and overall any aspect of the customer experience on the website. Adding additional plugins is usually very straight-forward, and unlike many other platforms, the plugins are more affordable.
  • WooCommerce pages are easy to customize and are optimized for mobile.
  • Ability to create global add-ons for specific product categories.
  • Adding additional plugins to optimize the site is generally affordable and can usually be done without a developer.
  • There's no cost to get started.
  • Compared against other platforms, you'll need to purchase your domain, SSL certificate, and hosting account.
  • Creating products, attributes, and categories may be tricky for inexperienced users (not hard once you get the hang of it).
  • Installing and configuring plugins may be tricky for inexperienced users.
  • Default reporting could be better, but additional plugins can be purchased.
WooCommerce is well suited for smaller companies looking to start selling their products and services online. We mainly sell apparel using WooCommerce, and the reason why we love it is using the global add-on feature. With this, you can specify size, color, style, etc. for specific product categories. Then when you create those products, all of the options are automatically applied to the product based on the category you put it in.
Read Brian Halstrom's full review
Franklin Wells | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2019

Simply the best e-commerce CMS that I have used.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a web developer with several years of experience, and WooCommerce has been a very important tool in my field. It has all the functions that are needed to develop an online store and without having to be an expert in programming. Almost everything is done and the work time is translated into filling the web content and fixing the visual part of it. In my organization, we use it throughout my department for the virtual stores that we are asked to develop.
  • It is the most customizable of all the e-commerce CMS that I have tried.
  • It is constantly updated to further increase the security of the site.
  • The code is very well optimized and has a good SEO, in fact, the sites that I have developed in WooCommerce are among the first places of the main search engines.
  • The installation is very simple and has few steps, so in a matter of minutes you can set up a whole WooCommerce site.
  • To use WooCommerce you must have previous knowledge of WordPress.
  • It is a WordPress plugin so it does not work independently.
  • Many themes are paid, especially those that are very attractive visually and adaptable to any mobile device.
It is very appropriate if you want to make an online store without having to waste a lot of time and work on a development from scratch. This platform comes with everything necessary to start the project at once. I do not see it as being appropriate if you want to make an online store that does not depend on WordPress.
Read Franklin Wells's full review
Abraham García | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Create a virtual store in less time than in other ecommerce CMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm in charge of a software development department and we do projects for third-party companies. Woocommerce has been very useful when we have developed websites dedicated to virtual stores since it is very easy to use and the interface is very nice for any user without experience. It is very easy to train any new staff in our company to be able to develop sites with Woocommerce.
  • Being a WordPress plugin, it has total and absolute compatibility, especially with any WordPress theme.
  • The functionality can be expanded through dedicated plugins, which is very helpful for the creation of more complex sites.
  • It is free and there is no need to pay for licenses to use, which leads to saving money.
  • Actually, there are no important contras except for being a WordPress plugin and not a CMS dedicated only to eCommerce.
  • By default, it has the most useful functions but there are situations in which it is necessary to install plugins to obtain certain functions.
  • Many plugins for WooCommerce are paid but it's worth paying for it.
WooCommerce is highly recommended for those sites that show a moderate amount of products. I would not recommend it for those sites that exceed 10,000 products as it usually decreases the overall performance and the site becomes very heavy. But for most situations, WooCommerce works in a very efficient way without performance problems.
Read Abraham García's full review
Matt Railey | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Easy and low overhead eCommerce solution for small to medium sized businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have implemented WooCommerce as the eCommerce solution for clients' WordPress (WP) based websites. It is a simple and easy to use solution for managing products, inventory, pricing, and easily integrates into WP's backend for managing the content of all of the above.
  • Managing product content including pricing, discounts, and descriptions
  • Managing inventory of physical products
  • Managing sales and access of digital products and subscriptions
  • Payment methods - for a native experience you're basically restricted to using Stripe, Paypal, or Square to accept payments. This has been an issue for clients I've worked with that already have a preferred payment gateway vendor. There are integrations you can use, but this leads to either an iFrame checkout experience, or worse a completely separate site - not ideal.
  • This is not strictly about WooCommerce, but the ease of use of the product management backend is very dependent on the how well your WP theme integrates with it. I'd recommend using Themes specifically built to be a WooCommerce Shop. Trying to fit WooCommerce in after the fact to a theme not designed for it initially can be a little confusing.
For a WP site, WooCommerce is basically the industry standard for eCommerce. If you've got an existing site that you're adding a shop, I'd recommend doing a major redesign to make the site a WooCommerce theme site.

I know Shopify has WP integration to let you sell products from your WP site, but I don't personally have experience doing that. I know Shopify has more native payment gateways than WooCommerce does, so if using your preferred payment gateway is a hard requirement, you may be better off exploring Shopify.
Read Matt Railey's full review
Rob Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

WooCommerce Helps Woo Customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WooCommerce is an eCommerce solution that my agency, Webidextrous.com, implements and supports for a variety of companies and organizations. It addresses the need many organizations have to sell physical, virtual, and downloadable goods and services online without overwhelming smaller budgets. Webidextrous clients are able to quickly roll out an online store that scales quickly and easily and connects to payment and fulfillment gateways with ease.
  • Easy to add and edit products via the WordPress editor or bulk editor.
  • Connect to multiple payment and shipping gateways
  • Customizable purchase process and user interface
  • Add product variations and product images for each variation
  • Filtered product search
  • Reliance on meta table for storing and accessing product and order data. (Coming soon)
  • Better reporting interface. (Coming soon)
  • Option to more easily choose between multi-page or single page cart/checkout.
  • Auto refresh the price totals on cart page when quantity changes using AJAX.
  • Show “-” and “+” buttons around the quantity field.
  • Show confirmation before user changes quantity to zero.
WooCommerce can support pretty much any website's eCommerce needs but may need heavy customization to achieve more complex and difficult use case scenarios. If you have millions of monthly users, WooCommerce tables and code will need to be heavily modified and tuned for an optimal experience. Clearing transients and other "housekeeping" data regularly is one way to improve performance.
Read Rob Watson's full review
Joseph Condon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

Most affordable way to open your own online shop - little experience required

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are able to list our items and display them in beautiful fashion. The site runs smoothly and the best part of all, I'm not paying monthly fees like you would with other eCommerce solutions. If you have a domain and a host, just sign up for WordPress and install woo-commerce today. We are using it for multiple purposes. On one site, we use it to sell our product. On an entire different domain, we have used it as a way to accept donations to specific cause. There are so many plugins that we can modify the use of WooCommerce on each domain to solve different business problems and address different needs. We use WooCommerce on any site we have that runs on the WordPress platform.
  • WooCommerce makes it extremely simple to list new products and update existing products. The layout is completely easy to understand and with a very light learning curve. On our very first store, we were able to have products listed in the first hour of going live.
  • Installation is rather simple. The first thing to know is that you must be running WordPress. After Once you have a host and a domain name, simply install WordPress. WooCommerce is a free plugin and it's incredibly simple to install.
  • Additional plugins may also be added to make WooCommerce even more powerful. WooCommerce on its own is extremely useful. However, once you add additional plugins, you can really unlock the full power of woocommerce. The best part is that it will not cost you an arm and a leg, and most plugins are completely free for the basic features.
  • Additional free themes. There seems to be a lack of free thremes that come with WooCommerce alrady built it. There are 3rd parties that have great one however. For now, we recommend sticking with the dedicated WooCommerce theme, Storefront.
  • WooCommerce has a feature that calculates shipping costs automatically. We have found these rates to not always be very accurate and some users often pay more or less than what it actually costs us to ship the product. These can be easily adjusted, however by a few settings changes.
  • I fee like the system gets a bit bogged down on resources due to all the additional free plugins I install to make WooCommerce more powerful. I feel as though many of these features should just come standard in the initial WooCommerce package, since they are usually very important.
WooCommerce is well suited for small shops. The site runs very smoothly with a small amount of products but can get a little bogged down the more products you add. I really cannot think of many situations where WooCommerce would be a poor choice other than if you have nothing to sell. The plugin is designed for ecommerce so any site that is looking to sell online is going to benefit from the ease of use included with WooCommerce.
Read Joseph Condon's full review
Joshua Burcham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2018

WooCommerce Hits the Sweet Spot

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I run a small web design studio that specializes in working with clients in the design field, including art and antique dealers. I use WooCommerce to add the ability to easily display their inventory on their websites. Some clients sell directly online, but most of my clients do not like to make the prices public. For those clients, WooCommerce makes it easy to display products and accept inquiries.
  • Very easy to set up. It takes less than hour to get the foundation for an online store together using their setup wizard.
  • The checkout process is very easy for customers.
  • The back-end is very easy for my clients to manage their inventory, customers, and order.
  • WooCommerce integrates well with several popular WordPress themes. They do a great job of making it technically possible to customize the look and style of your e-commerce store.
  • The search function is weak. By default, it only searches the product title, not SKU, description, etc.
  • You have to use a third-party plug-in to easily import products in bulk. It would be nice if that was in the WooCommerce core.
  • Small thing, but I'd like to be able to easily customize the columns in the back-end product listing; to be able to pick and choose which information shows for each product, including custom fields.
I think WooCommerce would work well for almost all small to medium size businesses. I have a customer with 8,000 products and it works very well. It is ideal when you have NON-e-commerce related content on your website and want to use the full power of WordPress to be able to make a website that is easy to update. Some of the hosted e-commerce solutions (like Shopify) are easy to set up (especially if you have a smaller number of products) but they don't offer the extensive content management system functions and the enormous community of support that WordPress does.
Read Joshua Burcham's full review
Arron Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

My Experience with WooCommerce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used WooCommerce in the past and I enjoyed it for the time that I had. It was a learning experience for me since I don't have a background in coding. Turns out, with WooCommerce you don't need those skills. I was able to import my products and edit them accordingly to work for my business. It's a great program to start you out, especially since it is very affordable to use.
  • It is very simple and basic. So you don't have to worry about advanced stuff that can bother your workflow.
  • I think WooCommerce can really excel by adding more apps to be able to work with the program.
  • I also think it should be a little more streamlined to increase workflow and functionality.
I think it is well suited for a site that doesn't have a lot of products because you wouldn't have to edit all your products and have it kept in a well organized manner. It takes some work but it can be done. When I was using WooCommerce I had issues with trying to bulk edit products and I thought it should've been included in the program. Other than that, the program worked fairly well for me.
Read Arron Davis's full review
Megan Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

WooCommerce can work for most shops and offers more features without the price tag

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used it in the past to try and sell digital products. I am coming back to it as the best option for compatibility with themes, builders, and plugins. I want to sell bundled graphics, themes, and templates, and WooCommerce offers the best solution for this. It allows for digital products and to denote whether it is completely virtual or not. I can customize how my products look, use galleries to give more product photos, and track my sales in real-time. When I first started using it years ago, the customization was lacking, but now it integrates with Elementor, giving me full control on how my pages look.
  • Offers integration with multiple payment gateways - This is especially nice if you don't want to be tied into Paypal. I use Square and was able to get a free add-on to connect my shop to Square.
  • Integrates with a number of themes and page builders - You don't need to get a specific theme to set up a shop. Most fully integrate with WooCommerce, which means keeping your existing website as it is.
  • The settings easily allow for different types of products out of the box. Want to sell books or T-shirts? You can set up shipping profiles, gather shipping information, and stay on top of order fulfillment. Selling digital goods? You can set the download link so that customers get their downloads immediately after purchase.
  • The emails that are auto-generated are customizable. Whether you just want to add branding colors or change the text, you can do it.
  • WooCommerce's interface looks very similar to what it did years ago. While features may have improved, sometimes finding where those features live to make changes can be a challenge.
  • While I can make larger changes to how my shop page looks, some of the actual product pages are set in stone. It takes knowledge of PHP and coding to make changes to the template or the purchase of WooCommerce's shortcode plugin to get more flexibility. Having some layout options for how the product page looks would be great from non-coders.
  • WooCommerce is still very much geared towards physical products. While it has a few options for digital products, expanding these features would make WooCommerce more competitive against other plugins such as Easy Digital Downloads.
If you are planning on selling physical goods, clothing, jewelry, etc, WooCommerce has all the features you could need. However, unless you are trying to stay away from Paypal, WooCommerce is not as feature-rich for digital goods. I personally use it so I can connect it to Square, which other options don't include as part of their free tier.
Read Megan Bailey's full review
Shehan Marasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Best E-Commerce Platform for SMEs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is a blog which is developed using WordPress. We wanted to add an online store to sell digital books. The WooCommerce plugin let us simply create an online store in the same WordPress installation and manage it along with the blog in a single dashboard. WooCommerce is an easy-to-use and stable solution for e-commerce.
  • It's a stable and easy-to-use e-commerce plugin with WordPress
  • WooCommerce is a free platform
  • WooCommerce supports almost every payment gateway providers
  • Making a digital product store is simple with WooCommerce
  • Some WooCommerce plugins are a bit expensive
  • Requires a good programming knowledge to do advanced developments
  • Need to have secured web hosting, which is costly
WooCommerce can be recommended for small and medium scale online stores. Especially for the existing WordPress users. But for sites that need a lot of security, WooCommerce won't be a cost-effective and easy to manage platform for e-commerce. WooCommerce is a great solution for creating digital and physical product stores, but having a good web hosting provider is the main thing to manage a hassle-free online store.
Read Shehan Marasinghe's full review
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

WooCommerce as an e-commerce platform should be everyone's first choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use WooCommerce for both my personal business websites as well as for the websites for my clients. WooCommerce is my first choice for e-commerce software.
  • Out of the box, WooCommerce gives you all the basics you need to get an e-commerce website up and running quickly and simply. Once you add some extensions, it's one of the most powerful e-commerce open-source software out there, and I've worked with all of the top software.
  • Basic configuration of a store with WooCommerce is easy and quick to understand, the user-friendly interface really makes it a no-brainer.
  • Thanks to the excellent integration with WordPress, WooCommerce makes extending easy with plugins that are really plug and play. Whether you need a simple basic or a complex advanced e-commerce platform, you can easily make it happen with WooCommerce.
  • The user-friendliness of WooCommerce really makes it easy for my clients to administrate their online stores once I've built their site....my clients love it, and so do I.
  • I would prefer to see more shipping plugins available in the core WooCommerce, as many of the shipping plugins are pricey. Sometimes my clients balk at the cost when adding more than 1 shipping option.
  • I'd like to see some more options for the reports section, as more advanced reporting would be awesome...though there are plugins for many things, it would be nice to see the core product offer it.
  • I'd also like to see the ability to customize design and layout without having to need additional plugins.
Honestly I think WooCommerce is the easiest open-source e-commerce platform to get up and running vs the competition. I highly recommend it to my clients/colleagues and anyone else that asks. It makes getting a basic online store up and running easy and quick, which means you can start getting orders sooner.
Read Jen Garfinkel-Canseco's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (50)
8.8
Product management (51)
8.6
Bulk product upload (39)
7.5
Branding (42)
8.6
Mobile storefront (45)
8.5
Product variations (48)
8.7
Website integration (51)
9.3
Visual customization (49)
7.4
CMS (37)
9.0
Abandoned cart recovery (29)
8.5
Checkout user experience (49)
8.2
eCommerce security (46)
9.0
Promotions & discounts (49)
8.8
Personalized recommendations (43)
7.6
SEO (45)
7.8
Multi-site management (23)
8.2
Order processing (48)
8.8
Inventory management (46)
8.0
Shipping (44)
7.9
Custom functionality (44)
8.0

About WooCommerce

WooCommerce is an eCommerce plugin for WordPress, developed by WooThemes (recently acquired by Automattic). Like WordPress, it is designed to be an extendable, adaptable, open-sourced platform. WooCommerce allows merchants to sell physical products, downloadables, or services. The free core includes: Storefront, a free WordPress theme designed for eCommerce, 5 pre-installed payment gateways (including PayPal and Direct Bank Transfer), coupons, shipping and cart calculators, product listing management and customer account registration, among other features. Many many extensions are available, such as WooCommerce Bookings, for e-merchants selling appointments, services, or rentals.

According to WooThemes (per Builtwith.com), WooCommerce has > 9,524,908 downloads and powers > 30% of online stores.
Categories:  eCommerce

WooCommerce Integrations

Sendinblue, Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik)

WooCommerce Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No